Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Grove Ferry Inn

Grove Rd, Upstreet, Chislet, CT3 4BP, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Chislet

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 245 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was opposite the supply cupboard so we were woken up by heavy footsteps going in and out, and could hear things being dragged across the floor.

    Overall comfort and easy communication

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Shower was ridiculously small, once in it was impossible to bend down. Whilst the food was OK the menu could have contained some lighter options.

    Good value for money. The location was lovely, The food good and the staff very friendly. The room we got was large and even had a balcony overlooking the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    maintenace poor -cold tap dripping, basin plug had no means of pulling out of plughole Toilet cistern ran continuously and inspection fo the tank showed long term build up of calcium. no hot water for 24 hours heavy fire door under our room consistently slammed very loudly at all hours of day and night - scarry in the night -no sign to ask to close carefully

    the bed was comfortable shower was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought the lighting in the room was a bit poor but not helped by dark painted furniture. Restaurant food on site was very good and a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite basic and the tv too small,needs a overall. The food evening and breakfast wasnt good ,menu not very appetising. Wouldn't stay again

    The staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor amenities, small shower, toilet smelt of sewer, main light in bedroom was not working. No information regarding breakfast times. I paid for a room upgrade which gave us a balcony the door to the balcony was difficult to open and close, there was one very rusty chair and table that was unusable it was not worth the money for the upgrade.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a pot of tea/ coffee, also maybe yoghurt or choice of cereal/ fruit & chance of toast. The porridge was very sweet & needed further heating

    Choice of cooked breakfasts & what we chose was beautifully cooked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait for evening meal, didn't have mashed potato but didn't tell us till we'd waited 50 mins for food, so substituted for chips but no tomato ketchup as they'd run out!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, really friendly attentive staff and a relaxing slightly quirky vibe. Much more interesting than the chain hotels! I would be happy to stay there again at any time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    after we left we checked the booking and we had been put i n a different room to the one we purchased although as it was after we hhad left it was not much a problem although we are only unsure if it changed the price of if there was anything else going on but the other room was just as nice potentially nicer although a balcony was part of the other room. and the window was a bit dirty

    the food was very good the bed was comfy there was a lot of personal touches to the place which gave it character and the front of house was welcoming and lovely and we felt very homely the bathroom was nice and the furnishing and wallpaper was distinctly quirky

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed very early in the evening. The breakfast was pretty poor. The staff were friendly but not very organised.

    The room was lovely, good size and comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little limited, not much choice for young kids, no fruit etc. We ate at the restaurant for dinner but unfortunately most items on the menu were not available.

    Lovely property in a stunning setting right on the river, room lovely and staff very friendly. We would happily stay here again :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait almost an hour for breakfast, when given a menu and ordered we were then told we couldn't have it as the menu had been changed however there was no menu for us to Look at. Food arrived eventually, full English had an onion baji with it. Our order was mixed up, huge plates and tiny portions, asked for some marmalade but didn't have any so I was given a large pot of jam! Evening meal the night before, again the menu had changed and we were told the steak of £19.50 came with salad if we wanted mushrooms and chips it was extra. The shower screen had moss growing between the panes of glass and our "room with a view" was the car park!

    Bed was extremely comfortable and location was lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was lumpy. Summer staff had obviously left leaving a not very competent cook in charge of the kitchen. Breakfast was dreadful. Burned with very stale toast

    Nice location by the river. Good country inn and convenient for Canterbury. Excellent parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism was that their car park was full and we couldn't park there and had to pay to park in a public car park but not the end of the world it was £2.00 a day...

    Loved staying here .. Beautiful rooms and location.. The staff were excellent and nothing was to much trouble... We only had breakfast but couldn't fault it.. Would definitely recommend..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience from check in to check out was so easy and the staff even remembered my name from the word go. I would happily stay there again and recommend them to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You'll need the car to visit other places - not a problem for our stay.

    Great place to stay, on the river which you can walk along. Playground available and pigs 🐷 to feed. Great food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit of a nightmare as we arrived on a Sunday afternoon. And the hotel / pub isn't very easy to find: you need to drive in to the Grove Ferry picnic parking to find the pub. But that isnt a fault of the pub, just an observation for anyone travelling there in future.

    The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. The family room we were in was very big and well decorated. The food was very delicious, especially the breakfast the next morning - such a fantastic variety of food. There isn't much to do around the hotel, but there is a park / picnic area within walking distance. Also there are a few pigs in the garden, lovely for children to see.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All night air con below the bedrooms windows (Juniper room) Automatic air vent lasts 30 mins after switiching off bathroom light Extremely noisy early leaving family from room next door

    Peaceful location and the mini farm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great....well if I was going to be picky the people next to our room were SO loud but that's not the pubs fault!

    Everything! Perfect location, perfect setting, chilled out!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Connecting door was prone to slam.

    Comfy bed, pretty decor, lovely view and balcony. Nice hot shower and deep bath. Interesting menu not overpriced. Very warm cheery welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish they were not so fabulous as they are fully booked for the next time that we are in the area.

    I highly recommend The Grove Ferry. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The hotel has an abundance of character. The staff are the unique selling point for The Grove Ferry. They combine a highly professional approach with a wonderfully personable manner. This was our first trip to a hotel with our little baby girl. I was a bit apprehensive about how she would settle in a hotel room and whether we would have space for all of her 'kit' (the travel cot, bottle steriliser, formula, the buggy and so on). When we arrived, the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. It was easy to park and we received a very warm welcome. Our room was lovely, bright, clean and spacious with plenty of room for the travel cot and all of the baby entourage. Outside The Grove Ferry there were a selection of pigs, which our little baby found most entertaining. The Grove Ferry has plenty of character and it is in a beautiful location by the river. The food was excellent and the menu was varied. The staff were extremely accommodating and they were happy for my husband and I to take our meals up to our room if our baby was asleep or unsettled. It was a wonderful weekend made possible by The Grove Ferry.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not served until 0830 but the hotel did offer cereal and toast with a poached egg. This is really late for breakfast - only place we have stayed where it is served this late. To exit hotel to put cases in car (before breakfast) we had to go round the back and the boarding very slippery after rain. Would be helpful if the front door was opened earlier for those people who want to leave early.

    Welcome very good in that we were spotted immediately despite the bar area being busy. Food in evening was excellent. Bathroom was up to date and clean. Room was shabby/chic and huge (compared to most hotel rooms). Outside space excellent, however it was pouring down so unable to use. Service was excellent and staff very friendly (not in your face).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms need re-vamping, redecorating and re-furnishing. I mention the quirky late night entry-way because it took me some time to find it !! The Riverside deck is a nice feature. I don't understand the purpose of the pigs.

    The Riverside deck is a nice feature.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for the quality of the bedroom and bathroom. Our bedroom was on top of the restaurant and we were woken up many times early in the morning while the staff was getting the restaurant ready. The bed was very uncomfortable and the room was very noisy due to the wooden floor and old doors.

    Nice location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The message that we needed an early (apparently 8am is early) breakfast was not transmitted from the evening to the morning staff, so the morning staff were initially rather surly. Some noise from the adjacent railway and river traffic, but it was rodent scurrying in the roof space which mainly spoiled our sleep.

    Pleasant riverside location, very convenient for Canterbury, channel ferries and Eurotunnel. Tasty cooked breakfast. Though we did not take an evening meal we know from previous experience that the restaurant is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Did not have breakfast because was not till 8 and we had to leave at 8 for my daughter graduation. Had a chat to manager and explained our situation , he still refused to allow and us an early breakfast he said he would put some cereal on the window seal somewhere so we can it in our room but by the time I got to it it was cleared away , room was too basic no wardrobe no shelve no chair , same it bathroom no where to put toiletries or make up

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The last (first) time we stayed at this hotel we wanted a full English breakfast only to be told that they had "run out of eggs" ! This time we chose to have cereal and toast. It would appear that this hotel really doesn't care much about breakfast. The staff at dinner the previous evening were far more helpful although the food we selected could have been better and was considered over-priced.

    We were told that breakfast was available from 8am which is late compared with other places we have stayed at. We had to attend a funeral early in the day and this meant we would be rather short of time. The lady who was looking after the breakfast arrived after 8 am and simply said "you'll have to wait, breakfast will be late as I've only just arrived !" No granulated sugar available for cereals - this happened on a previous visit - and her response "well, people don't have sugar on cereals these days !!" We were offered cube sugar which was totally inappropriate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like it was a complete fantastic stay from the minute we walked in to the minute we left .

    WE loved all of it it was warm and welcoming , pretty and authentic and the food was a1 , every room was done completely different but with authentic vintage or shabby chic design. You could even borrow wellies and brollies for long walks in the lanes and fields they'd also do river trips from the back of the pub. A trully different relaxing break.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel, both inside and out could do with a paint up. We were quite amazed that we did not have a wardrobe or ample hanging space. At breakfast the bacon was hard and extremely over cooked, ok if you like eating cardboard. No marmalade or jam out and no offer of more tea or coffee. It would have ben nice to have a bread plate to butter the toast. We did not realise that the hotel was quite a way from any shops etc, it wasn't until we asked about getting a newspaper for the next morning that we found out there weren't any shops etc within walking distance.

    The staff were all friendly and helpful and Billy the manager came over to speak to us whilst we were waiting for dinner. The dinner was very good and plentiful. Despite the comments below if we were in the area again we think that we wouldn't mind going back to this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's right next to a railway line with trains passing every 20 minutes or so right up to midnight and again from about 6am. We stayed in a king room (Elder-flower) with river view and the train line and road is adjacent to the river so it's very noisy and impossible to sleep well. The river view is more like a view of the weeping willows rather than the river itself as they block the view of the river. The room was nice but, let down by a cheap mattress and no wardrobe, there was hooks on the wall which, would be fine for 1 or 2 nights perhaps. Good size tv in the room with freeview channels. Tea and coffee in room but no biscuits. The crisp White bedding was nice but we did notice some nasty stains on the actual duvet which was off-putting! We weren't looking for these but the end of the duvet cover was unfastened and it was easy to see. The quality of the full English Breakfast was a disappointment. Staff lovely. Overall we wouldn't stay again I'm afraid ☹️

    Very inviting from the outside and in a pleasant setting next to the river Stour. Also, some nice walks right outside. Midway between Canterbury and the coast (about 8 miles each way) so could be considered convenient for some. Also has a nice bar and restaurant on site which is convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was a business trip and I would have liked a desk to work from.

    A client rural location by the river very comfortable and spacious room with a balcony! Restaurant food was very good and the service and staff were good and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was poor, the service was non existent, no visible sign of anyone managing the place or the staff and for the price it was very expensive for what it was.

    Absolutely nothing other than the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed very squishy.

    The manager waited for our late arrival then served us late night refreshments. Really nice decor in the rooms and pretty location. Amazing service especially for the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok so the bacon was a tad over crispy in the morning (but we were late for breakfast...)

    Made us welcome from the start, great food, great beer, great staff - enjoy (oh and the pigs and boat ride were a bonus)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That only there 1 night

    Beautiful hotel room amazing staff wonderful best breakfast ever had big thanks to staff member Billy so helpful and also read the reviews before we went and they must of been eating somewhere else as our lunch was perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nit-picking. The parking wasn't the best signposted as you have to drive past the pub to get to the car park. So I ended up mistaking that somebody had blocked the access to the car parking.

    The property is full of character and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Really comfortable bed and shower was great! Couldn't say a bad word about them!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed very uncomfortable, very soft and felt like hammock. Very heavy duvet - probably maximum tog, totally excessive for time of year and one pillow each both rock hard. Decoration of room rather strange -walls looked just like the paper had been stripped and plaster filled including some holes still and water stain. Sash window which only opened at bottom and to a maximum of 10cms which was the width of wedge provided. All in all the accommodation and public rooms looked very tired

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a bit tatty, dusty and cobwebs in places. No air conditioning in rooms. Food was edible but not the best I have tasted. It was also very very expensive for what you get.

    Situated on the banks of the river Stour . Quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor in room not to our taste, walls bare plaster with chunks missing. Told the room had been designed to look 'distressed' To us just looked rather shabby & undecorated. Bar prices & food prices expensive & felt I was ignored at bar (only 2 other customers in bar at time but had to wait while bar staff were having conversation with these 2 customers. No shower gel provided. With regard to breakfast would have liked to have included toast.

    Comfortable bed, very clean,location on river quite good. Discounted price through Booking.com not bad but would not be happy paying full price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to leave at 7.45am and breakfast didn't start to 8.30am

    Excellent food. Perfect room - very large with the addition of the balcony overlooking the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to offer a "Full English Breakfast" when you run out of eggs !!!!!! Cress piled high on the plate was no substitute and no toast available.

    A very nice location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism I would have liked more traditional food with seasonal vegetables, the menus was geared to continental food

    Staff brilliant and lovely surroundings room comfortable and clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to have a family room which cost us £130. Which we accepted as we wanted to stay in that area. The room however was very shabby. There was mould between the sliding doors in the shower. The bed springs creaked every time you moved. The room was 'Gooseberry'. We had dinner there in a party of 15. I had fish and chips. I thought being near the coast this would be excellent. I was cooked in gluten free batter this was like concrete. A great disappointment. The next day breakfast was a disaster the food was O.K. The service was a disaster. There were only four people in the Breakfast room while we were there. Coffee was served by the cup and after a long wait for service my wife had to go and ask for a second cup of coffer. The other two people had sour milk in there tea and had to have it changed.

    The property had a good position next to the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this is a unique place, the decor is shall we say shabby chic , comfortable unpretentious clean room , the outside space is lovely in the sunshine with boats moored up next to the garden , one boat was playing nostalgic wartime music, which enhanced the experience with a couple of glasses of wine in the evening sun before retiring . I didn t sample the food as we had been booked elsewhere in Canterbury, and were let down at late notice but had a table booking in town but what food i saw looked delicious, a great find for me and one i hope to visit again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outdoor banquette pub style seating was not very comfortable for my 85 year old Mum. Could have been cleaner in general.

    Very friendly staff and even though we had a bad meal they took it off the bill and apologized. They made up for it with a great breakfast! Lovely location by the river and river boat trips available on the doorstep

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The water could've been hotter but that's a minor problem.

    The staff were very friendly, the food was fantastic and the room was wonderful. Can't fault it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room nothing like advertised. Walls were left bare after scrapping wallpaper off and damp patches. Furniture and decor very old and dull. Old photos on walls of somebodies great great granny on wall. Didn't get a river view as we'd booked (room facing the pigs- nothing against pigs) Food greasy (needs a chef who can cook tasty food). Curtains paper thin - awake since dawn with the light. Breakfast waited ages even though nobody else was in restaurant when we ordered. Coffee cold (drunk it straight off).

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to be able to make a filter coffee in our room.

    The food was excellent, the room was spacious and the bed was large and very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are in need of refurbishment - but don't lose the character - they're lovely!

    Beautiful location and old building. The nature reserve next door was incredible. Food was nice and the staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some cosmetic updating . No bath only a shower . Food a bit overpriced for a very quiet restaurant where we were the only people eating .

    Friendly staff . Nice view overlooking river .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After dark finding the door of the property was difficult, could do with lights on path.

    Service - Polite, relaxed, efficient. Breakfast choice was good. Setting, next to NNR, was brilliant. Love the pigs!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shortcomings.

    Lovely old quirky pub with character bedroom and well stocked bar. Good food choice and well presented. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Lovely riverside location with nice beer garden and an array of pigs and ducks!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints about the accommodation, however if you need to use a taxi be warned. I ordered a taxi it was Easter Friday they told me the journey would cost 50% more as it was a bank holiday, I agreed to this. However on arrival at my destination (I travelled 3.5 miles) I was charged £30 (should be no more than £18 over a bank holiday weekend). Beware of LANGLEYS cabs. They justified the cost by saying I had to pay for the cab to get to the hotel in the first place to pick me up!!! The cab on the way back actually said the same thing (a different company) but they charged me £20!!! NOT IMPRESSED WITH LANGLEY CABs avoid them if you can and always get a price for the journey before you set off.

    Very comfortable room with feather pillows on the bed, which is always a plus. Was able to feed the pet pigs and ducks in the mornings (stayed three nights) very therapeutic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't a good hanging space other than hooks on the wall and the door didn't fit the doorframe properly which meant you could see into the corridor at the bottom of the door. This also meant noise travelled easily.

    The breakfast was very good, the staff were attentive and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I could fault if I really had to fault something would be 1. The price of the main evening meals were a little high for OUR budget. 2 adult meals and 2 tapas with a drink each (3 people) came to just under £50.00. This may be fine for you, and certainly would not stop us from going again. 2. There should be a few children's meals on the menu i.e. Tuna, pasta, sweetcorn and mayonnaise or chicken nuggets or maybe even lasagne or similar. Although the staff did state that the adult meals can be ordered as a smaller children's sized meal, the meals were not really suitable for our 8 year old.

    Absolutely loved everything about this property. The building itself has loads of character, staff greeted myself, partner and Daughter in a very friendly and helpful manner. Our Family room was a nice size, which was decorated in a really cool and trendy fashion. I especially like the Japanese Anime wallpaper - I want some! TV and Wi-Fi were excellent - plenty of coffee, tea and milk provided. Shower and water were very good and hot enough. The rear garden was amazing, right next to the canal, plenty of seating (54 benches) with ducks, pigs and a friendly dog who is there once a week. Food was really nice in the evening with a really nice breakfast included in our deal in the morning. We are already planning to visit again for a longer period with our Son!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hot water on two nights, less than half the menu was available on our three night stay. Breakfast ok but very small tea & coffee is out of a machine & you don't even get offered a second, rooms are ok shower room a bit tatty shower only works for a couple of minutes then just dribbles that's if the hot water is working. You have to pay in full before you see the room, the staff are friendly but the decor is very tired in places not worth the money will not be returning.

    The garden and the decking area overlooking the river. The pigs and chickens, nice looking building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed with our stay, we arrived and were met with quite an unfriendly member of staff, we were told check out the next day would be 11.30 and that check out was quite flexible all sounds good but then fast forward to the next day and we get a knock on our door at 11.15. There was a member of staff there who asked if we were staying another night and when we said no she said "well then you have to get out." A very rude response and before the 'flexible' check out time we had been given the day before. Also the night before we had gone down to dinner at 8, bear in mind this is quite an isolated location and they had run out of half of items on the menu. Very disappointing stay with bad customer service being the worst of its issues.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your beds NEED mattress protectors. Sleeping with just a sheet over a well used and stained mattress is quite frankly disgusting. Breakfast was a half hearted affair with little to appeal...a few packets on a table..large jars of used jams that people will have dipped dirty knives into. The scrambled egg was flavourless and the toast came out semi stacked with big clods of butter on each slice..which half melted making it a mess to eat. The stairs to the rooms is tired and in need of a coat of paint. I was disappointed..charge me £10 a night more and fix these things. It's a lovely house in a beautiful location that feels neglected.

    The view

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms were in a very poor state of repair, and they were not clean. The shower had black mould all along the bottom where the door met the shower basin. Our room had been recently redecorated -- it seemed odd they hadn't done the bathroom at the same time. Not worth £100 a night.

    The location is lovely, right on the river.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was fantastic. Couldn't have wished for better. The breakfast was also amazing - couldn't quite believe it was included in the price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was gorgeous, very large room, superb views, the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. What a great place to stay , wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Fantastic bohemian feel to room which was large, warm with very comfortable bed, good view of the 4 pigs in their pen! Shower excellent, good choice of beers in welcoming bar and good food. Lovely riverside pub with nature reserve opposite, what more could you need.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to hang anything in the room. The Evening meal was overpriced and although my husbands sticky ribs were ok my 'messy hog' was a soggy tasteless mess - the meat could have been anything including paper mashier!

    The pub was lovely they served a good Sauvignon blanc- there was a lovely snug where we relaxed chatted and drank on comfy sofas. The breakfast was ok but on a Sunday morning with a full house they ran out of bacon!! However I thought the pancakes were lovely and fruit compote was very tasty

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints! Amazing room, amazing pub and grounds. The balcony is an amazing touch and me and my boyfriend will be returning!

    Love the area and the river was gorgeous! Loved the piggies!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu was a bit limited

    Lovely location . Room was big . comfy bed. Had a balcony which over looked river . Very comfortable place to stay . Quite quirky . Nice breakfast. Friendly staff .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BED! Gooseberry room. The bed Mattress was past it, the springs, so noisy, they kept us awake, all night, asked next morning, if we had a good night, said no, the bed was terrible, was told, they are about to replace it, bit late for us, old fogies, who could not wait to get home for a good nights sleep! Felt this Hotel was a little over priced, for the Winter Season.

    Lovely Breakfast, room very large and clean, bit of a damp problem, upper wall blown, lovely fresh clean bathroom, and towels. Would have stayed another night, This Hotel is in a beautiful setting, Riverside location, lovely gardens, and animals. We would have stayed another night, if it was not for the Bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of reviews seem to moan about the slightly cranky, even bizarre, styling of the bedrooms. It's clear that these people have never stayed in an interesting hotel before.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little small and butter laid on top of toast

    Dinner was very tasty food was homemade and fresh Bed was comfortable and plenty of tea coffee and toiletries in room enjoyable stay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half the menu was unavailable at 9pm on a quiet night in the restaurant. The shower in the bedroom didn't drain, this meant you had to be quick of it would flow out over the top of the tray and onto the floor. The TV in the bedroom had a terrible signal meaning it was pretty unwatchable as it pixelated and made that screeching noise every 30 seconds or so.

    The location was beautiful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it was fairly cold in the restaurant and bar area as my partner had to wear her coat in both areas.

    Very nice people and nice hotel/pub

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a bit missing from menu even early in evening..could of been warmer in bar area n restaurant..food was just okay nothing special..breakfast bacon was hard as was fried egg yolk .. bit tight with toast too..

    Liked the cosy feel and decor..staff were friendly..rooms were lovely. Bed very comfy..overall satisfied and had a lovely time.. would recommend it for a relaxing night away

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly we had to leave before eight the next day and they were not able to provide even a slice of toast before we left

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms quirky but comfortable. The bathroom was adequate for our needs but if I was staying for longer than one night a little more space would be pleasant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in disrepair with water damage from the roof and down the wall, curtains didn't fit properly and neither did the window which allowed cold air to blow in onto the bed which was very close resulting in a disrupted nights sleep. I couldn't get a separate receipt for room and food as receptionist didn't know how.

    Very nice building and parking was good. Staff were very friendly, food was really good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Money was taken for rooms before we saw them and before they (finally) admitted we had been given 2 doubles instead of a twin and a double! Just told it wasn't his fault- it was a computer problem and said if we don't want the rooms then go to premier inn instead! No reduction given or any apology. Pub is directly below bedrooms - no soundproof at all, heard a mouse? running under floorboards, door into hotel area very loud, railway line nearby, rooms looking tatty and balcony with chairs were filthy and moss ridden ( slippery?) , shower worked for a second and then turned into a dribble....

    Location. Had a nice big bed. Had gluten free bread.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: