Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Grove House Hotel 3 stars

Grove Road, Wallasey, CH45 3HF, United Kingdom

#2 of 5 hotels in Wallasey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 106 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main problem was that they did not read my message, so my disabled husband was forced to climb stairs to get to the room. There are no bedrooms on the ground floor, so I feel they should have refused the booking. The best room they could give us overlooked the main road, which was noisy until late and from around 6.30 the following morning and opposite a noisy pub until around midnight.

    Hotel has been well fitted, with a comfortable bed, wifi, TV etc. Restaurant very good, with a good choice of food and wines and helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room.

    The room size was amazing, bath and walk in shower, very spacious room, really comfortable four poster bed, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff with nothing appearing to be too much trouble for them. We wanted a slightly early breakfast and they were extremely helpful with that. Rest of the stay was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn’t very powerful and took quite a while to warm up. Also lots of steps up to our room.

    Lovely character building with very well kept gardens. The room was lovely and peaceful. Very clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    When we walked into the hotel it had a very cosy feel to it. Ali the staff were extremely friendly and even though we arrived later than the normal lunchtime the chef prepared us a lovely lunch which we ate in the comfortable bar area. Wish we had been able to stay for longer than one night. We would definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too soft.

    Great cooked and continental breakfasts, nice bar, helpful staff, very clean and within easy walking distance of promenade and sea. Also good to have a room with an iron, trouser press and hairdryer!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not so good. My laptop was buffering. Shower a bit dribble and not very powerful.

    Bed comfy, clean and smart and spacious. Good tea making facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a great little family hotel, very pleasant staff, and very accommodating. The room was large, spotlessly clean and quiet. The bathroom is modern, clean and very warm, loads of quality towels. Perfect !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service a little fragmented this could have been our fault as didn't know we needed to book.

    The Room had every thing we would ever need including a TEAPOT.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was excellent. I had a steak, and it was one of the best I've ever had. Breakfast was good too, and the room was comfortable. Staff were also friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi could be improved. It didn't reach my room, but not the end of the world as I have data.

    The Grove House Hotel has always been known for it's quality food & did not disappoint. The train station is a 3 minute walk from the hotel where you can get to New Brighton in a few minutes & Liverpool City Centre in less than 20 minutes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great stay, value for money. They had thought of everything you could need for a comfortable stay and more. Bathroom was beautiful. Food was good. Staff were great. All positive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extraction fan in bathroom was very noisy.

    Good size, comfortable room and bed. Complimentary fruit,, crisps and bottled water was a nice touch. Tea and coffee facilities also available. Staff particularly helpful and friendly. Food in restaurant was excellent and good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent, but the quantity of food was less on the second day which seemed strange ....two eggs, full toast rack each on day one.....with half that served the next day. Then by the time the second breakfast arrived, we did not have enough time to request additional food. As we expected the same quantity as the previous day, we never thought to request two eggs, extra toast etc.

    Very friendly and welcoming personnel. The bar staff remained available and friendly late into the evening even though we were the only two guests. Very soft bed mattress was changed without asking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Friendly staff. Excellent restaurant (you'll need to book if planning to dine here at the weekends). Comfortable rooms where you'll also discover quality biscuits, bottle of water & an apple - replenished each day!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit too soft.

    Very nice, friendly staff and nice relaxed atmosphere in the Hotel. This Hotel was ideally located for the needs of this particular visit to Wallasey.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excessive noise from some very drunk other guests in the middle of the night. Not the hotel's fault though!

    Great location for us near family we visit regularly. Comfortable quiet room and excellent breakfast. The hotel has a lovely garden too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was excellent. The staff were really friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. The owner was a lovely man, really personable and makes a point of greeting, chatting to his guests and making them feel better welcome. We had a lovely time and drank a lot of their wholesome wine!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smaller than average room, but very comfortable and clean.

    Very friendly staff and management. Old fashioned customer service and a 'can-do' attitude prevails here. Arrived much too late for an evening meal, but I wish I had been able to try the dinner menu as the breakfast the next morning was superb. Maybe have dinner there too next time. Special mention to the receptionist who printed some documents for me (around 12 pages) that I had forgotten. Did not charge any extra for this, where a chain hotel would charge at least £10 for this service. Very helpful and friendly. Thank you again. I will definitely stay here again and I can highly recommend the place to others.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had continued problems with the TV

    The restaurant facility was excellent both for breakfast and dinner. The staff were very attentive. Our room was very spacious and it was nice to have a bath and separate shower.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. We didn't take breakfast due to tee times but seemed quite pricey. Our room on the front of the hotel had a large window which felt a little overlooked from the outside. An inner blind or gauze would have helped.

    Excellent location for golf course and getting into Liverpool - station 5 minute walk, very convenient for city centre. Large room, good evening meal. Helpful staff and nice bar.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few minor issues with the room but didn't spoil our stay. I would suggest brighter light bulbs especially in the bathroom.

    The staff were lovely, the food was excellent. Our room was very spacious. Would definitely stay again and hope to return for a meal some time soon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are not suitable for anyone who isnt fit

    Love this little hotel. The staff and service is second to non. Staying at The Grove House Hotel is a real treat.The garden is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no complaints.Relaxing and enjoyable.

    Our stay was completely fulfilling. Easy access to the surrounding area. Wonderful staff. If you are traveling from overseas don't scare the night porter Domanic as we did at three in the morning.(Time adjustment takes about three days to get use to.) Sorry Domanic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in was the front, a large pub across the road and there was no net curtain.

    The young lad that worked in the night was extra helpful and cleaning when it was quiet. He was very good. The lady the next day could have been a bit more helpful although I gave full marks. Very reasonably priced, and very clean. Good selection of nibbles in the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough shelf space in the bathroom

    We had a comfortable room, the food was excellent and the staff friendly, capable and professional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble. I ate in the dining room and also the bar (both superb).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was first class

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing :)

    Super comfy beds, extra towels and pillows without asking! It was like staying "at home"

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from city centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    So friendly and welcoming staff With a relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Everything was wonderful. The staff, rooms, cleanliness and food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely spot on will use again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me the bed was too soft

    Just liked everything.Food was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor shower facilities

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant and lovely large rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expected breakfast to have been included for rate charged.

    Large comfortable and quiet room. Excellent parking and location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean, with friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always happy to stay here. Evening meal and wine selection great too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most enjoyable stay in a clean and what appears to be a very well run Hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm service in this lovely family-run hotel. A great choice for hotel or restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff attention to detail for family wake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bigger car park

    WE had Sunday lunch for 6 people it was perfect and the staff did a excellent job. fully recommend and will return again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress in room 3 was damp on one side and stained

    Didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are lovely and there's a very friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    No breakfast rather pricey

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful rooms. Everything you need supplied. Fantastic food. Exceptionally comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent friendly service. Good food, fresh ingredients.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing to dislike

    location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, great staff and value for money

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Clean room, comfy bed decent shower and food was excellent. All staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was on the small side and I'm only 5ft 9

    Very friendly staff, lovely small hotel and great service.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel and very comfortable. Made to feel very welcome. Food is superb. I recommmend the dessert trolley.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High standard of toiletries

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the station. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent standard. Superb food. Friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Couple

    We were fine walking upstairs but a lift would be an advantage for less able clients.When we checked our bill at home we discovered that we had been overcharged for our Continental breakfast.

    The Hotel was very professionally run and there was a high standard of attention to detail.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After using the sink it seemed to leak out onto the floor. Nothing major but all of a sudden noticed I was standing in a bit of water. The toiletries there were all shampoo rather than a mixture like usual. Plugs are randomly located in the room so working from there was a bit of an issue but ideal if staying for leisure as opposed to business.

    Stayed in the four poster room (16) and it was immaculate. The bed was so comfortable. Decor was pretty. Bathroom had a bath and separate shower. Good facilities in the room - iron/fan/kettle etc. Although located on a main road the noise is minimal really. Lovely food downstairs, great menu. Nice bar. Staff told me it got busy but it didn't (it was a Wednesday) free parking located behind the house itself. Would recommend this place and stay again.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Excellent service , staff are fantastic nothing is too much trouble. We had a family meal in the restaurant on the Saturday night everything was fantastic can't praise them enough

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to fault. Less able-bodied guests may have difficulty getting to their room if situated on an upper floor but the staff are only too willing to carry your luggage.

    The restaurant is excellent - no need to leave the comfort of the hotel to find somewhere to dine. Have never tried their breakfast as too full from dining in their restaurant the night before! Comfortable room & complimentary bottle of water, biscuits & apple in the room every morning.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was facing the road which was a little noisy with early morning traffic, but short of fitting triple glazing that's out of their control.

    Comfortable room, nicely furnished, friendly staff, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only thing to let this hotel down was that the bed was extremely uncomfortable the mattresses need replacing in our room i think!

    Staff very friendly and our room was really nice

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I could not find anything adverse.

    It was a very suitable location for what we had come for. Close to the railway station and close proximity to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I'd prefer a bath to a shower cubicle

    Large comfy room. Food was excellent. Bar staff googled a cocktail he wasn't sure of and made it perfectly. Staff friendly and polite. I'd deffo stay again.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice clean spacious room and a comfy bed. Good shower. Nice pub directly opposite which was handy as I met up with an old friend. Close to New Brighton beach, the area has been developed and was pleasant, with a good Weatherspoons.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The receptionist when we arrived wasnt the friendliest she was probably very busy due to the wedding but she was a bit cold

    The bed was super comfy and the room we had overlooked the gardens. It was very spacious and lovely

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Attention to detail, facilities, friendly staff.

    Stayed one night, my brothers wedding was there. I recommend anyone thinking of having an event here not to hesitate.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not impressed with the bowl of fruit on arrival in your room which consisted of 1 apple & 1 bag of crisps

    The staff were excellent & couldn't help you enough

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location - a bit out of the way from Liverpool but quiet and peaceful nevertheless.

    The quality of provision, from fruit and chocolate in the room to crisp white bed linen - great!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I am gluten egg and lactose intolerant I took my own bread and had 2 slices toasted I had a pot of hot water and half a bowl of fruit salad and for that I was charged 8.99 I felt that was excessive

    well furnished nipping clean comfortable rooms and very friendly staff make for a great stay

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    That some of the guests forgot how to be polite and keep the noise down while going to and from room at night. Myself and kids woken up a few times due to noisy guests

    I thought the hotel and staff where very friendly and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food a little pricey

    Welcome, friendly and attentive Food, tasty and well-presented Comfort, good Lovely view over the Wirral and towards Formby and Welsh mountains from top floor rooms

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Everything, from a warm welcome on arrival to a convivial check out. The excellent standards are maintained through out your stay.

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: