Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Guards Hotel 3 stars

1 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh, EH12 5DR, United Kingdom

#155 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 538 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being up 5 flights of stairs Bathroom done hall Tiles held together with duct tape Having 2 keys “normal “ key for bathroom and magnetic key for room

    The reception staff Miles and Louisa both helped me with my bags up 5 flights of stairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift . Loads of stairs no food . Bar is next door in guards club which is a nice place It is more of a hostel to be telling the truth But a top of range one with on suites

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures looked like a very pretty and comfortable place however the whole experience went wrong. The bed very old and uncomfortable, upper floor noisy, alarm turned on at the middle of the night, the room extremely dirty, scary stains in the carpet, shower not cleaned properly, dust, hairs in the bathroom floor! Check the pictures... sadly was horrible :(

    The staff was really friendly and nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was incredibly rude and lied to.me over the phone when his assistant said i wouldn't be charged extra for late check in which i wasn't warned at the time of booking but with booking confirmation.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fairly basic but was perfect for the price.

    Location and price. Really nice little room. Room didn’t have an ensuite but had its own bathroom along the corridor which was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too soft. My single room was not ensuite, although there was a sink in there and an exclusive bathroom just outside the room. WiFi was OK, but not great. No dining facilities.

    The location is very good for getting to central Edinburgh - just outside Haymarket station and the tram stop. There's quite a few places to eat and drink nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked to have mugs instead of the very small cups.

    I liked the fact that the manager was very helpful indeed, and nothing was too much trouble for him.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise can travel in this style of building. Rooms (that we had) a little bit small -so no room for things like a dressing table or a 2nd bedside table

    Just spent 3 nights here. Location is excellent, just a few meters from Haymarket tram /bus stop (2 tram stops from Princes Street where mist of the shops bars restaurants are).Rooms are small and basic but clean and comfortable which suits us as we spent all our time sightseeing so we only needed a clean comfy room to sleep in. After reading other reviews which say it’s dated I can understand this view, but it’s a very old building so yes it does have an old feel to the place (tho our room had a new ensuite). The nights we stayed were quiet..so as with any hotel if you have noisy guests in the building you would have heard them as the sound would travel in this building. Rooms had a small tv, WiFi ,hairdryer, towels and small bars of soap (so pack your shower gels/ shampoo) So to sum up, it was reasonably priced for a very good location as long as you are content with basic but clean and comfy rooms/ bed. The club /pub next door is welcoming and drinks are discounted if you are staying in the hotel. Staff were friendly and accommodating. We’d stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The skirting on the bath was missing, the toilet seat came off, the shower was a trickle, the curtains were thin so the room wasn't as dark as I like to sleep in. Drunks were passing by until the early hours, the trams made a rattle as they passed

    Very close to the train station with some good eating places close by. There was no noise from neighbouring guests and the hotel itself was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very congested. Not enough space in the room given to us for 3. There was only space of 1 person to stand between the walls and bed.cramped bathroom too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed to ask a question and couldn't find anyone. Also a little more cleaning of the room would have been appreciated.

    The value for money is fantastic and such a good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No breakfast include. Shower hard to operate. Double bed room ok but no double glazing and window rattled in the wind. Twin bed room very, very small, beds very narrow (this room should have been a single),one mattress slanted and felt could roll out. Both rooms overpriced, especially on the weekend, which was considered to run from Friday through Monday..

    The double bed room was ok. Both rooms were clean. The location was excellent for getting around Edinburgh and the staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t have a seat which wasn’t a problem for us but had they been wheelchair bound it could pose a problem unless the hotel had a stool that you could ask for or the person brought their own as you can get travel shower seats

    That we asked for a ground floor room with walk in shower which we got infact the bathroom was a wet room & a very good size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was a little weak - but the views over the cityscape from the shower made up for this!

    We stayed in the twin room overlooking Haymarket and it was excellent. Comfortable, spacious and friendly staff. Good value for money and the location is perfect for concerts at the Usher Hall - with the added bonus of being just a few metres away from the railway station at Haymarket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went out for a cigarette in the front porch and since it was cold stubbed it out and went back inside. The Hotel proceeded to take €300 from my card and made a false claim of a smell of a cigarette in the room. I doubt very much this will be refunded after speaking to them. A nice way to get extra money for the hotel. Not a way to treat your guests tho.

    Location and Adam at check in was very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room like a hospital ward, but functional TV, functional bed, functional shower, so it was ok.

    Very basic. Almost hospital-like, but you get what you pay for, and it was the cheapest room in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating non-existent in our bedroom as radiator not working. Asked for a heater and there were none available. Two single beds one of which was next to old-fashioned window from which there was a permanent draft. The other was next to the wall and had a 'shelf' at head height which could have meant anyone turning to face the wall was in danger of hitting their head - health and safety hazard. The duvet on one bed was dirty. For a price of £80, this was exceedingly below expectation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy but the pillows were a let down.

    The option to leave luggage behind after checkout and collect it on way to airport and at no charge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were cold. The shower in my room was shocking in terms of water pressure. One of the beds in the other rooms was broken was comfy at all. Over all just wasn't a good experience. Certainly a full refund is what I would be looking for. I certainly would not be staying there again and I will certainly not be telling all my friends and family about the place. Cause it was shocking. Certainly not worth the money I'm sorry.

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room 1. Although the room was tidy, we had a difficult time. It was super cold (partly because the exceptional snow storm called "Beast from the East"). The heater in the bathroom was totally useless (the electronic engineer who mounted it absolutely had no idea what he was doing). Briefly, the room itself didn't deserve 3*

    The staffs were super friendly and helpful. I definitely give them 10/10

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are travelling with big luggage, bear in mind, there isn’t any lift, the hotel has 3 floors. Not breakfast facility. The Central heating was switched off during the night. Cold night.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and outdated hotel however great location. Door were loud from other guests and the windows ratted in the wind quite a bit.

    Bed was comfortable yet it creaked, bath was absolutely brilliant and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really uncomfortable, and there was no elevator so we had to carry our bags to the top floor.

    It was very close to Haymarket and Prince's Street

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was tired and dilapidated. The room was freezing when we arrived. The bathroom stayed that way for the whole visit - not a pleasant experience in winter.

    The room was clean and the staff friendly and polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price charged you could not improve this plus they are very fortunate to have a receptionist like Richard.

    Very welcoming Very cosy Very central and close to the airport shuttles

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses are way to old and need replacing and for this time of year better heating or turn it up.

    Central to everything, clean and nice comfy bedding

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked my stay and don't have any negatives about staying there.

    I had a comfy nights sleep, it was easily accessible to get to Edinburgh city centre. The staff that I met were extremely helpful and friendly also. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely freezing throughout the whole stay even with radiators on full, think just due to room size

    Walk in shower was nice and room was quite welcoming

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been better with a breakfast.

    Bed was really comfortable and there was loads of space to spread out in the room plus plenty of storage. Loved the bathroom, big shower and double basins

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with the toilet but this wasn't really an issue as the staff were great at sorting it out.

    Comfy bed and friendly staff great location opposite Haymarket train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi didn't work for us this time.

    Richard is lovely. Bedroom was smaller than we got last time but was big enough for what we needed. Comfy bed. Just a lovely place to sleep. A stone's throw from Haymarket train station too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This room (the 4-poster suite) was large and impressive at first glance and some parts of the room seemed new, but other parts were tatty and dated, and in reality everything was neglected and run down. No curtains (just flimsy blinds) and windows that rattled every time a large vehicle went past (which was alot, because of the central location on a main road!) Basic maintenance was neglected - damp patches, scuffed lampshades, flakey paint, rotten windows, cracked shower casing, cistern lid that got knocked every time the toilet was flushed. The shower only partially worked - lovely rain head shower so it wasn't a problem, but why go to the trouble of installing an amazing shower but then not bother with basic repairs so it can't be used properly?? (The handle had snapped off the knob for the side jets so it couldn't be turned.) Bed was lumpy and creaked every time one of us moved. Similar feel around the rest of the hotel. Appreciate it's an old building but for £150 (room only!!) we expected something a bit more 'cared for'. The icing on the cake was being told we'd have to pay £10 to leave our small bags in a room for a few hours. I have never stayed in a hotel that charges for that basic courtesy before. Won't be back :(

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was good

    My flight was late and I rang ahead to warn them .late arrival charge £10 . Nice helpful guy on reception . Good clean warm room with very comfortable bed . Arrived after 11 so too late for pubs opposite but very central and on airport bus route . Building is a little worn but very iconic with each room being named after Guards regiment battle honours!! Will definitely stay again but for longer

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Filthy pillows hidden under clean bedding!? Dodgy electrics, no working shaved lights in room or bathroom, dirty floor in room, old water in kettle. The kind of place you keep your socks on for fear of catching something. Looked like refurbishment was in process but no excuses. It's so random, a collapsing bed with a new mattress, clean new looking towels and bedding and pillows that were beyond disgusting. Trying to hide them too with the double pillow case trick. Nice!

    The welcome was pleasant and professional, Location excellent, heating adequate. I feel aggrieved to be negative paying only £30 but the pillows and general cleanliness was absolutely appalling and I would not stay again even at that rate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable, it dipped quite a lot in the middle. There was no shampoo. All of the milk provided for tea and coffee had solidified.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no widow in the room I stayed in

    I liked how close to public transportation and the train station it was staff were amazing hotel was clean was made to feel welcome

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating lovley old building But needs updating. Decor heating etc No breakfast avilable

    Location easy to get from airport And city on tram lots of places to eat Around hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pay on arrival, bathroom was tiny, carpets and edge of beds were filthy....payed for bed and breakfast but got room only ...total rip off wont be using booking dot com again if this is the standard of accommodation.

    close to Edinburgh and staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we had to leave. . . Should have stayed longer. Will be booking again but for longer.

    Easy to find. Very close to Haymarket train station and not too far away from the shopping at Princes Street. Trams and buses passed frequently, and although we had a room at the front of the house it was quiet enough. Richard was amazing; very friendly, very welcoming and knew his stuff - nothing was too much for Richard. Defo the best reception we've ever had. Rooms had names instead of numbers which was an interesting twist. I liked it. Our room had enough space, and there was a bath in the bathroom, which was a decent size also. WiFi was fast and free, and TV and alarm clock did their job well. The kettle was tiny and cute, and again did it's job. Such a lovely hotel. A very pleasant stay and the best host in the world. Thank you, Richard!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me an extra £30 for late arrival but they do not clearly state this when booking if you put in late arrival it should automatically change the price from £40 to £70

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OK.

    Large room with luxury double bed, comfortable armchair and sofa, mini fridge. Staff was very helpful. Hotel next to all public transport, good walking distance to the Royal Mile and Princes Street. Reasonable prices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    power of water from shower pretty low and took some time for hot water too arrive in the morning. bed very soft in this particular room.

    Value for money - no frills if you want clean and cheap place to stay this is it - if you are looking for the Ritz its not - great location for transportation to / from the airport - very close to the front door. Plenty of nearby bars and restaurants to choose from. Great access into city centre. Tea and coffee facilities but never used them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Clean little hotel/guesthouse with friendly staff. No reasonable parking options in the vicinity so be warned if you, like us, want to get to Edinburgh by car - just part in the residential subburbs and get a cab back as it would still be much cheaper than parking in the centre. Few nice pubs, cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood - the vietnameese one was especially good. Rooms were slightly small but clean and with nice tea/coffee facilities. Walking distance to the royal mile and new town. We didn't use public transport - walked everywhere and occasionally took a cab which was also reasonably priced due to small distances involved.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager woke us up at 1am, shouting and swearing directly outside our door on the phone for 45minutes. I had to go out and politely ask him to take his problem elsewhere was he was waking us up. He then professed to try and kick down the door to his own hotel, which vibrated through our whole room. Following day no staff even acknowledged the situation in the early hours, I asked for compensation and to speak to the manager for an apology at the very least... still waiting to hear from him!

    N/A

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in the suite we were in, looked like it had seen better days. It was however clean.

    was located virtually cross the road from Haymarket train station, so was very easy to find. Warm welcome from the duty manager. Explained about acesss to hotel and where to catch Airlink bus from. Check out was simple too, at 03:30 in the morning. Hotel is an old building. However it has been tastefully modernised over the years. But still retained a lot of the features which gives the rooms character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Delightful welcome from Richard who could not have been more helpful. I was given a choice of rooms and chose a cosy one with no window but en suite facilities. It was nothing fancy and looked a bit tired but was very comfortable and had all one required for a restful night. The secure entry system to the hotel and its rooms is excellent using a proximity sensor card. All in all, the hotel offers excellent value for money and is in a very convenient location especially for access to the city’s busses, trams and trains.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room close to the noisy main road junction, very noisy at night. No breakfast option though plenty of cafe's close by. There was a problem with the booking and one of our party was not booked in and had to stay elsewhere, no prior notice given from booking.com

    Clean and good quality bed linen and great fluffy white towels. Room and bathroom very clean. Excellent location near Haymarket station, 15 min stroll to Princess Street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed not very comfy. No breakfast even though I booked it (Kitchen being renovated). Not worth the money but a very nice place to stay.

    Walk in shower room. Ideally located. Friendly staff. Lots of bars and places to eat very close by. Public transport very good. Murrayfield stadium and zoo very close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot and cold water in the bathroom was OK, with mixing tap (not two separate taps on two sides of the washbasin like in many British hotels) but you can't regulate the strength of the waterflow at the basin and it splashes everywhere. Otherwise everything was OK. :-)

    Lovely old building very close to railway station and city public transport, comfortable large room on ground floor, nice and helpful staff. A few minutes walking distance from both New Town and Old Town. Direct bus and tran link to Edinburgh Airport, too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabric of the building, room carpet and damp ceiling in poor condition. Certainly would benefit from redecorating.

    Comfy clean bed and renovated bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast, but plenty local availability of good value.

    Richard was very pleasant and helpful, my room was on the top floor and he carried my bag up on arrival and back down in the morning. I can not fault this hotel at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor in room sash rope visible in bedroom no plug in sink in bathroom chair in room ripped carpet was not clean friends room was small for twin room and found rooms a bit pricey

    Friendly manager and friendly people in Scots guard club

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are a couple of rooms with problems like one with no window, one where you have to go out on the hall to go to shower and loo. My friend said the ground floor room was noisy from people coming in late at night. But we booked early and got great low prices so I guess it balances out.

    The building is nice ole style (victorian?) Rooms have good quality clean white linens and comfy carpets. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never in much no complaints nothing bad apart from bush near the gate which I pointed out

    Easy access to train station been buses an close to cafe an platform 5 which you can have a drink an get food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a hit of decorating and a new carpet due to stains, but still a lovely hotel.

    The staff were fantastic. Very helpful and friendly. The hotel was in a great location and was clean. Bathroom was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't comfortable , could do with a painting and staff banging on doors at 10am to check out , not much grace giving and were banging again on doors 10mins later . There was also a charge of 10pounds to hold bag in storage

    Good location , train and bus stop to airport 150 yards away , 15min walk into center of town .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were MOST obliging about my very late arrival (around 1am). I paid extra but it was a pain for them and they did not complain - I did give a lot of advance warning. Room was basic but price was low for Festival period, so that is OK.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet was more stained than not. Ground floor room that faced the main road with almost floor to ceiling windows meant that we could not open the curtains without giving the fine folk of Edinburgh a good view of us and the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a disgrace. Carpet badly stained and dirty looking. wouldn't walk in room in bare feet. There was staining on ceiling and wall after what looked like a bad leak. It would have been easy to fix with some paint and a new carpet without spending a lot of money. Quite expensive for this.

    The toilet was very clean and fresh as was the bed. The staff were very pleasant. Plenty of eating places around the area. Good size garden but could be tidied to make the front of hotel nice looking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not having an en-suite. I was in a single room and the bathroom I used was between two other rooms so I was worried about disturbing other people if I needed to use the loo or take a shower. Also the bed was extremely soft, when I went to sit down, I went woosh, however I slept like a log and that was probably due to travelling, walking at the Zoo, around the city and attending the Military Tattoo. The Room and Bathroom were clean but as the room had wooden flooring, it would be nice if there were a small/mat or rug if you wanted to go bare feet. Aside from this, no complaints.

    Location - Haymarket is not far from Princes Street, there are many transport options, the Rail, the Tram or bus. It is also a short walk - I'd say 15-20 mins depending how fast you walk. Price - Couldn't find anywhere else affordable for a short stay which was good. Short walk from the amazing Donaldson School which is now defunct and being used for redevelopment for something else - Amazing building and architecture.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we did not get a room that look like the photo displayed ,it was the ground floor room (post 1 ). This room is supposed to be equipped for a disabled person , firstly the furniture ,it s a mish mash of bits ,a bedside table on one side and a wonky shelf on the other , the bed is metal framed and not suitable for a disabled person and there is no room to get a wheel chair between the wall and the bed ,the floor has not been finished with gaps around the edges and the curtains were dirty .The bathroom is a wet room with a sink so small and a tap so big you crack your head to wash your face and you can not get a plug in the sink,if you are disabld and can not stand under the shower there is no shower seat ,and look out for the small glass shelf if you slip . NOT WORTH £120 ,If your going to do disabled rooms then do it right, P S I am not disabled ,but I have worked in the hotel trade

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was perfectly comfortable and clean but the carpet had seen better days.

    Perfect location, friendly helpful staff and the fact that it was dog friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price. Staff were virtually non existent. The price. No food available. The price.

    Not much. My room was on the ground floor. Shower room was ok. wifi was ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obvious leak from above and not painted over. Decor of room very poor and required a paint to freshen up. Carpet very badly stained , did not want to walk on it without shoes on. Generally room needed a make over.

    Bed comfy,sheets clean. Good position for train travel and walk to Edinburgh attractions

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was good for what it is.

    Convenient to Haymarket station. All buses trams and trains stop next to it. Airport bus and tram is over the road. Buses runs 24 hours to a'port

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had mould in it and the mat on the floor was damp. A extension lead was taped on the wall to supply the kettle. Complained the next morning and the manager said it was the worse room but still charged us full price! He didn't charge us the £10 to store our luggage for the day (but shouldn't really have to pay that anyway). Won't be staying again!

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpet, mould on ceiling & wall, hole in door plugged with toilet paper, virtually no water pressure in shower, very small room. Ripped off with price with excuse of it being festival time in Edinburgh.

    Richard went up of his way to help with everything. Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been difficult to find a parking spot, but we got lucky with our arrival time.

    Very helpful staff--regarding parking, where to eat, safety of area. Breakfast was tasty. Nice restaurants and pubs within a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very soft which some people might like but I like a firm mattress so for me, it wasn't very comfortable.

    Located by Haymarket station so very convenient. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel as a whole slightly tired

    Surprisingly comfy bed, quiet room, lovely bathroom, absolutely superb staff, great location right opposite Haymarket railway station and tram stop

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only worked on the first night. Actual room is very small. Sink in the bathroom is small.

    Location is near the city. Very quiet. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and mattress very Saggy and worn out, gave a sore neck and back. Some bugs in the room. Very basic toiletries.

    Hotel at prime location at a cheaper price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I has was very nice but no window. The second night was in a much better room.

    Very friendly staff and very good value for money in a great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decoration was very tired and we hardly saw a member of staff. Some improvements definitely needed

    The location was fab and directly across the road from the tram straight into the city centre, very safe area and I went out walking on my own.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room not carpeted. Not en suite which was fine, but separate bathroom for exclusive use was used by another guest who left their property in the bathroom- but this was quickly resolved by hotel staff who were fantastic.

    Lovely helpful staff and great location. Great price for room and although close to some pubs no late night disturbances. Had a great night of sleep!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Guards Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: