Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Hafod Hotel 3 stars

Devil's Bridge, Devils Bridge, SY23 3JL, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Devils Bridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 272 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An over zealous waiter who was patronising about our food and wine choice. If we had asked for his opinion it would have been fine but we didn’t. On entering the restaurant there was a large puddle of water, an overpowering smell of cooking fat pervaded the ground floor, at breakfast I was served a slice of porridge ie too thick. The hotel is generally tatty, worn carpets, smashed glass in a door, cleaning equipment, chairs, pillows, blankets stored in th corridor......a trip hazard.

    The location for access to the waterfall trail

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Modern comforts in historic hotel close to Devil's Bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in the room could have been brighter, especially for reading in bed.

    Modern room and bathroom in an historic hotel. Towels and toiletries provided were excellent. Very comfortable bed. Ideal location for doing the Devil's Bridge walks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Relaxed atmosphere, Good Food ,Great Location Loved Our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant food is Excellent, The Bedroom was fantastic, Nice Hot shower with good pressure, Very happy Freindly staff, Excellent service , Huge comfy bed, Big TV with cable We had everything we needed Brilliant Thank you TERRY & Tracy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place to visit with great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wardrobe in the room so no where to hang clothes . However, for one night this did not cause a big problem.

    Excellent location with an added bonus of a great pub and restaurant where you can get a great meal with great service at a great price. Room was great with a nice view of the falls. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Pleasantly surprised, definitely would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable and room looked shabby( tbf, they are slowly doing it up). Decor in all of the hotel tired, but again, I believe they are working their way through it. Landing light glared through the glass above our bedroom door all night & kept me awake-needs sorting. No wardrobe in room.

    Modern bathroom & clean. Friendly staff, food excellent and served efficiently. Quiet location. Excellent breakfast! Nice to see welsh tea, coffee & hot chocolate in room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Great looking rooms, loved the shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obviously undergoing some renovations. Some parts of the hotel were a little dated and shabby. Our room and the bar/restaurant were lovely.

    Great looking rooms, loved the shower! Comfy beds and lovely linen

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the falls and the bridges and the hotel was a bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike1

    The bed was comfy and clean, the bathroom looked like it had been re-furbished and was exceptional! The staff could not have been more attentive if they tried, excellent service! The food was outstanding, from the meal in the evening to the breakfast in the morning, there was always someone to hand to get anything you needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay in a historical hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only concern is the parking, but having said that the main road is fairly wide and for the most part quite.

    Great food with a very good mix of traditional and modern cusine. With a nice selection of veggie dishes. Bar prices also reasonable. Our room was nice.fab bed best night's sleep for ages. The staff were very welcomeing and genuine. Lovely location next to exciting waterfalls.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.0
    The bar and waiting on staff were brilliant and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not at all like the pictures on booking.com. It was dirty and mouldy in our rooms. You could taste the dust. Not worth £90 at all. There's only four refurished rooms and they are what are adertised. Overall disappointed in a stay we were looking forward to.

    The bar and waiting on staff were brilliant and friendly. Enjoyed having a laugh with them. Good was amazing. The views and location are what well this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Not an ideal stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not worth £90. Could feel springs in mattress. Could not use TV as Ariel cable was on other side of room. Had to boil the kettle on the floor, that's how low the sockets were ! All in all, staff very pleasant and helpful , the food , fair ! The carpark was 200 yards away and did not have any security by means of cameras or guards, a car thiefs paradise ! I won't be staying in this particular hotel a second time.

    Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too impressed with car parking, it was on the side of a road, which had a very narrow tight bend on it and had the occasional very big lorry travelling along it.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room had the best shower you could ever ask for

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The location of the hotel was fantastic, our room was at the front of the hotel with gorgeous views. The staff were pleasant and the room we had was good. The food was really good. We had cooked breakfast and we also had roast beef dinner which was delicious. The devils bridge was the reason we booked the hotel, the waterfalls were amazing and we also went on the steam train which had fantastic views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff were new and didn't know basic details like check out time or what time is breakfast but were happy to go and find that out for you. Other than that liked everything.

    This hotel is in a wonderful lovation just steps away from Devil's Bridge and the waterfalls. Our room was not one of the refurbished rooms (though the bathroom had been done) but was perfectly adequate for our needs with the most wonderful view out of the window. The bed was very comfy. A two minute stroll to the bridge and the waterfalls which were outstanding. The food was very nice and the staff were also very pleasant. All in all a fabulous couple of nights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the twin room I think it was comfortable but dated we were hoping for the suite but they were booked up already the dinning area was lovely amazing food. The staff were very helpful and could help notice how the manager of the property was doing an amazing job always busy helping which was lovely to see well done the Hafod will definitely return

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your room pictures were nothing like the old dark dingy room we were put in, which was on the 3rd floor and no lift. No signal for TV or WiFi in the bedroom.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    Staff were lovely , location was good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated except for the bathroom which was fine . Tv didn’t work at all nor WiFi. No where to hang any clothes. We were on the 3 rd floor . Car parking at the hotel was very limited because of all the rubbish in the yard . Could be magnificent if some more money was spent on refurb .

    Staff were lovely , location was good .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    A lively and relaxing enjoyable few days- some interesting long cycle routes easily available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place seems to be currently uprated - I hope the balance is kept between its peculiarities and newness

    I liked the feel of the place- the bar/eating area felt open with its victorian wall of windows and doors. We were able to eat outside and with the canopy cover gave a chance to talk and meet other guests if wanted. We were able to watch the coming and goings on the road outside looking out to the ravine and woods. It was quiet but active. The rooms had opening windows at the front . We were able to eat outside at the end of the day when we returned. Staff were very pleasant and sociable, The building itself is impressive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    You have to go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really I recommend it to all my friends will definitely go there again

    Idyllic location best breakfast ever!eveing meal very good staff couldn’t do enough for you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: fresh, rich, very diverse. Dinner: great. The surrounding of the hotel is beautiful, great walks, short and long ones. Steam railway to the coast. The staff is very helpful, funny and knows how to cope with various situations (for example with raindrops in the wrong place) 😉

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.3
    False advertising
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Falsely advertised rooms. Our 1st room was really grotty and last decorated at least 35 years ago. Newly do e out roo. Very small.1 lamp 1 chair and broken bathroom fittings.poor lighting

    The area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    Halfbaked(Hafod) Hotel, Devils Bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being misled by the pictures of the room and the cost attached, which didn't match either my expectations and left me feeling taken advantage of

    The evening meal and the hardworking Manager and his staff. The attempt at providing quality wines and spirits etc..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is being renovated so the corridors, stairs and some of the rooms are still dated ! For us that is outweighed by the Staff,food and location!

    The staff were excellent! The location of the hotel is stunning and the food was great. Our room was modern and comfortable with a stunning view,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Lovely area- weather permitting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where fantastic and tried there hardest to ensure a quality stay. Also catered for a large party of guest for lunch. Make sure you request a new room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    2.5
    The worst hotel I have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dirty, mouldy shower head, dirty and dusty carpets, very old and worn out furniture, damp on the walls, broken window fixed with tape, window didn’t open, cobwebs and several spiders! Even the key ring was broken in half and taped back together! Would score less than 2.5 but booking.com wouldn’t let me. Half a star.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    character building and good restaurant. good to watch the sun set and rise form the front.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road noise as it passes very close to the front of the property. Nothing can be done by the management about this, as its an old property and the area was designed before large lorries. look for upper rooms to the front as floor do transmit noise from above.

    Good location for the steam railway and waterfalls. Great place to see sun rise and sets. Friendliness of staff and willing to help, with a good sense of humour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    The setting of this hotel is lovely with fabulous views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little dated but that was expected as it is a traditional old fashioned building. There were lots of flies around but that was just time of year.. nothing else we didn’t like.

    All the staff were friendly and attentive, The new restaurant/ bar manager was Brilliant.. Our evening meal and breakfast were well presented and tasty. The location was fantastic and while they are still renovating the hotel, our new superior double room was perfect with amazing views. The outside area to have a drink or eat was an added bonus..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Please make sure that that you ask for an updated room -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift in the hotel and the toilets are on the first floor - not suitable for the elderly.

    Please make sure that that you ask for an updated room - they're lovely. The rooms on the 2nd floor are currently not upgraded and are much smaller.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and communal areas were clean and tidy but the decoration was very tired and in desperate need of redecorating. The bed was comfortable but a little small for a double.

    The staff were very friendly and food were very good and not to expensive either.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    a good weekend food.very good breakfast allso wellworth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rate for room no 5 was rather expensive as rather run down and in need of re furb tv channel's not working only itv no milk in tray. This possabley a 65pounds room at best

    Staff on arrival exalant. Bar staff first class and welsh speaking could not doo enough to make your stay. A pleasant one

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    First class. The staff were very helpful particularly finding me a walking skin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The food was really good and we all enjoyed the choices we made. The accommodation was superb and very well laid out as a family room/s. This is perfect for a walking or o relaxing holiday. We will definitely rreturn.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    location, breakfast included in the price of the room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was in fact 2 single beds,there was a space in between them so it wasn't very comfortanle. Pictures of the room on booking.com were different to the one we got.

    location, breakfast included in the price of the room, morning staff was very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing and wouldn’t stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation was a shocker!! Room from 1960’s nothing like on website. Room was dirty, stains on cushions, dead insects, old cigarette butts on window ledge, window wouldn’t stay open so had to wedge it. Windows dirty, peeling paint! Public toilets were a disgrace! Party going on until 1 in the morning, which we weren’t told about, all guests had to eat in a small dining room because of it and not main room. Bathroom door handle was broken, broken glass in fire doors. At breakfast juice glasses were filthy, yoghurts left out in full sun. Thread bare carpets. This hotel needs a lot of money spent on it and the stay wasn’t worth the money.

    Staff pleasant, food good, location is nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Clean but rooms out dated ,if you want a good meal this is the place to go.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a little dated ,no phone signal (Vodafone),breakfast was not until 8am (not good when you need an early start). Although when they came in they made us a packed lunch,this was much appreciated.

    The staff were excellent , food great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    Expected a much nicer room and facilities as shown on hotel web site and felt overcharged at £150..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel web site is completely a misrepresentation of how it is. Refurbishment is going on and maybe some rooms are as shown but our family room was a shocker! I’ve taken some photos which I can forward. Public rooms are poor and thread bear carpets everywhere.

    Friendly staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had no water and felt the price was a little high - although small discount was given- we would’ve expected a better reduction and perhaps an offer of hot water in a bowl or something to wash with. Fully realise it was a problem that occurred but water came through ceiling also and felt we were quite reasonable about the situation.

    Lovely location. Good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Totally exceeded our expectations and can’t wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little more storage would have been good but we overcame the problem. WiFi a bit hit and miss; no phone signal (mentioned this to staff who offered use of the landline if needed)

    Fabulous location, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food and beer. Loved the hotel, modern twist to historic building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing hotel - tired and in much need of some TLC and serious renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only four of the bedrooms have actually been refurbished - a fact which does not seem to have been made very clear from the website or booking sites. I travelled with my 14 year old son, who immediately registered disappointment when he walked into the room (No.23). Headboards of both beds were drooping at desperate angles, burned carpet/hole, very old furniture (but not antique!) and not one piece matched another - it looked like they'd just thrown some random odd pieces of furniture into the room to 'make do'. Old fashioned beige coloured bathroom suite with poor shower over bath. Loose toilet seat. Roller blind (not curtains!) for the bedroom window was not long enough to actually cover the window! Not a single picture on any wall. Generally a very unloved and desperately neglected room. It's a characterful old historic building but the pictures of the refurbished rooms on the various websites and booking sites do not paint an accurate picture of the rest of the building/rooms. Beware! I am told that the owners are aware that the place is in much need of TLC - it's generally old, tired and worn. People stay there because of the location and generally good food - but really it's nothing that special. Overall we were both very disappointed - I would have been much better off spending my £92 per night on a Premier Inn - it would have been clean, tidy, comfortable, modern and consistent.

    Good location near to the Waterfalls at Devil's Bridge. Food is good - in fact it seems clear that this is a major factor in the popularity of this pub/hotel. Lots of day visitors to the area have lunch or dinner here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Lovely room, rest needs work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public areas are in need of redecoration, and the staff, although friendly varied a lot in competence.

    The room was lovely, modern styling. Very good shower. Breakfast tasty but slow service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel we've ever stayed it, avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was disgusting. Unclean, old, mouldy, holes in the wall. Shower sounded like it was going to explode. Expensive. Dusty, spiders everywhere and cobwebs, the carpet hadn't been hoovered or cleaned in years. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Also it made my partners asthma very bad.

    The location, that's it. Do not go with the pictures on this website, only 4/5 rooms have actually been refurbished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable. Definitely opt for a refurbished room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com offered a twin which was booked, this was in the area of hotel that required refurbishment. Was offered a double room which had been upgraded no comparison.

    Location and view. Room was excellent once upgraded. We were informed whole hotel is in the progress of being refurbished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed it. We shall go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we could have done with a hook on the inside of the bathroom door.no residents lounge, Only one chair in the bedroom and no where to put the case

    Great welcome and the bed was lovely and comfortable. Food was good too. We shall definately go back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the pictures reflect the older rooms which have t yet been modernised. That's fine our room although tired was clean and tidy but the pictures were misleading. I'm sure all rooms will be done so in the future would stay again

    Fantastic setting friendly helpful staff who went out of their way to help even though they were extremely busy xxx lovely people obviously working hard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Memorable part of a tour through mid-Wales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After staying in sister hotel 'Cross Foxes' expected same standard of bed room. But accept does take some time and money to achieve this.

    All meals were very good and good selection of beers. Excellent location, views and wildlife. Great for local steam railway and top chocolate shop near station. Kindly let us check in very early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room, friendly staff and nice restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room, friendly staff and nice restaurant. Great location with wonderful views from the rooms. Great to wake up to the sound of the waterfall and the birds :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely nothing, it was not as described and by a long...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking wasn’t noted The champagne and note i asked to be put in the room not done The room was not as described and in a very poor state There was the two singles to make up a twin room with a mattress on the floor in the middle Staff complained about having to make the third bed for no reason (all because they over booked) The room we stayed in was not listed on the website as a room just a spare room of the hotel No chef to cook breakfast And overcharged for the privilege by £10 on booking.com than what is stated on their website for a room that we didn’t get. Ran by children and fools stay well clear!

    Absolutely nothing, it was not as described and by a long shot the worst experience i’ve ever had in and with hotel staff. Period.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Change false advertising and be honest when peope book....Discount the old rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable, hard, with springs pinging on the bed. The quilt was paper thin. The room was unwelcoming and not one of the beautiful renovated rooms which appear on the booking site. This is false advertising and definitely a let down and not worth the price. So check when booking where you are allocated to sleep. Big Disappointment and no discount. When all rooms are completed it will be a superb place to stay

    Aspect and view was amazing from the room and hotel is perfectly situated. The people were lovely and service was great. Manageress was friendly, fun and welcoming. Breakfast was great - well cooked veggie breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice place needs a few refinements
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shelf in the shower no toilet tissue holder, it was stacked on what I thought was a holder for spare tissue but then I realised it was the toilet brush. I felt it was not very hygienic 🤢

    Friendly helpful staff nice room good bar and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    We love the Hafod!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've stayed here multiple times before but this was the best trip yet! The rooms are clean and lovely, the staff couldn't be more helpful, it's peaceful even though there's work currently been done to the hotel and the food was amazing. We'll be back soon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    An enjoyable break in stunning surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was in need of refurbishment and the shower didn't work very well. It was also next to the stair case so we had people stomping up and down past our room. The room however was very clean and the bed was comfortable.

    The views from the hotel are stunning and the staff are welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    A mixed bag, but friendly owners and lots of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The unrefurbished rooms are not so good. Breakfast service a bit lacklustre. I ordered Welsh breakfast, but not asked what eggs I wanted, or what bread. Service also very slow.

    Nice dinner, good location, great history. Friendly staff and owners over dinner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    The food was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty bed sheets, mold in the wardrobes and wall, dirty nappy left in the bin in the room and cleaning products left in the family room.

    The food was lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Scenery and surrounding areas were amazing and the Hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe better sings for the car park. We didn't know if we were parking in the right place.

    Scenery and surrounding areas were amazing and the Hotel was cosy and very welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    heating not on in room on arrival on very cold February heated towel rail in bathroom not working no TV not wardrobe or coat hangers / hooks

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Great walking in immediate vicinity and loved Elan Valley. Felt very welcomed, esp by Heather :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV not working first night, but soon resolved and full explanation given. Areas of the hotel looked tired and in need of modernisation, however our room had been done and was very good and comfortable. Small observation, tap on sink too long and difficult to fill kettle or avoid splashing water on surface and floor when using.

    Food was excellent, sitting by roaring fire in the evening after a lovely walk to see falls and Devils Bridge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    A lovely break in a very pretty, friendly part of Wales. Excellent hostelry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise there were unrefurbished rooms. When I booked with booking.com I thought I had a good 2 night deal. Seams I bought a 2 night deal in unrefurbished room and couldn't be upgraded as there were no rooms available. I could have got a better deal booking direct with the hotel?

    The hotel was very clean, and for a 300 years old building was in good state of repair. They are in the process of updating the rooms. Hottest water I have ever encountered in a hotel! The hotel is full of character, not a modern overheated box. Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent food and beers. Brilliant location. Would recommend this hotel. I would book direct in future, the hotel have better deals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in a perfect location.
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above about the bathroom.

    Stayed in a suite. Only complaint was the bathroom was cold due to the original window and also the cold tiles and the radiator did not ryth8ng else was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    A traditional and classic local icon... good luck with the makeover
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We really missed a quiet cosy lounge area to relax together after dinner... especially during your darts/snooker competition on Friday night.

    The staff were very accommodating, and made our stay very pleasant - in particular Chris. The owners also appear to be committed to renovating and restoring this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    a great short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i would have preferred a buffet breakfast with hash browns available :)

    it's a wonderful historic building in a superb location.friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Will be perfect when it's all complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on booking.com were very deceiving. We weren't aware that there were new and old rooms as this site only showed off the newer rooms. Luckily we were upgraded but wouldn't of been happy if we had paid £90 for a dated room.

    The renovated areas were absolutely lovely. Quirky but comfortable. The food was superb and really good value for money, it was £17 for two courses. We were upgraded into one of the new rooms which was very nicely furnished. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing on many levels, but a good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and restaurant areas were very cold and it was a real effort for the lone girl servicing the bar to light the fire. The pub food served was not the best, although the good breakfast was some compensation. The rooms we were allotted looked nothing like those featured on the Internet and the photography flattered the establishment markedly. Bathroom shower curtain was mouldy

    Good breakfast and lovely, cheery breakfast hostess, Jo! Large and thick towels!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Had a lovely time, will definitely reccommend and be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tea bags in the room-but the welsh brew tea bags that were there were good!

    The building was stunning the food was amazing- best burger ever and the staff were really accommadating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel car park not adjoined to the hotel and a little remote so would worry about security.

    Great evening meal and made to feel welcome by the owners and their team. Room was as expected and priced OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    One night in historic coaching house. Great location, staff attentive, fayre very agreable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is part way through refurbishment. Our room hadn't been done yet, but was still very clean, warm and comfy. Nice bathroom too, with bath and endless hot water.

    Dining room really nice space, interesting decor based on the Hotel's historic past. Menu good, food lovely. Good drinks choice too, local ales etc. Building interesting, location picturesque and quite dramatic. Motorcycle friendly!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Idyllic stay on top of a waterfall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absoutley nothing

    The suite was absolutely amazing, and knew we were in for a treat when the receptionist who took us to our room said she was jealous! We arrived late on a Friday evening, with the reception duties moved behind the bar, which was no issue at all, as meant we had no choice but to take some drinks back to our room! The room itself was idyllic, made even better by the view from our room being that of stunning valleys, including the sound of the Devils Bridge waterfalls. Everything was catered for in the room, with nice little touches all over, from the quaint tea cups, to the exposed stone wall, and Full Welsh Breakfast in the morning. It is very difficult for me to fault our stay, and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.6
    The room was dated and not nice to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needed upgrading.The hotel is being upgraded but we were placed in a room which is yet to be modernised. We should have asked for another room.

    The vegetarian and full Welsh breakfast's were very good.The evening meals were also good. The staff were ok.The hotel is in a nice location.Plenty of space for parking the car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.4
    We will think carefully before booking there again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had not been cleaned by the time we arrived (15.30). The bed was way past it's throw out date, therefore most uncomfortable. There was a function on the first night (which we were part of) and we feel it was a little more than the level of staffing could cope with. As a result, a very disturbed night due to children playing football in the corridor. TV provided but no signal - kettle stolen and not replaced until requested. Seat on the toilet very wonky - as was the hot tap in the hand basin.

    The food was excellent and staff attentive - cannot fault that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.2
    Shabby and deff not value for money
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the second floor and had not been re furbed for quite a long time. The bed was lumpy, the bedside light did not work, the TV had no BBC channels, in the morning the window was running in condensation, the carpet was threadbare. The hotel advertises on its stylish rooms some of which we saw, it was my sister's wedding that we were attending, their rooms cost less than ours and were stunning. We have complained directly to the hotel and they have not had the courtesy to reply. This is the first time we have ever had to complain about a stay with booking.com.

    the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    A relaxing, step back in time. Would love to see this place in five years time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No mobile telephone contact which could be a blessing to some!

    This is an old hotel which has recently been acquired by the present owners. It is in the state of refurbishment and we were offered an upgrade in room. Glad we accepted. The staff were fantastic - Iola in particular. The food is out of this world. Five stars IMHO.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant location. Very tasty food. Lovely refurbished room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not fair to comment as the whole place is being done up.

    The location was spectacular. The Sunday dinner was fabulous and the portions were very generous. We had the Earl of Newcastle room and it was finished to a very high standard. The hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment and will become the go-to hotel for the area It was an excellent base for a family wedding in Ysbyty Ystwyth.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Value for money, beautiful location, dog friendly, everything an outdoor person could want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like, can't wait for it to be totally refurbed as my mum had one of the refurbished rooms and it was amazing.

    The bathroom was exceptional, better than some of the more expensive hotels we've stayed in. The staff were extremely helpful, offering to carry our bags up to our rooms, and when there was a little mix up with the bookings, they sorted it out immediately, without fuss. The breakfast was immense, never tasted anything so delicious and so much of it too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    In spite of its great location I didn't find this good value for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an amazing view from window but although the beds were comfortable the decor was very dated and the beds didn't even have valances. There was a shortage of staff which meant a long wait at breakfast, nobody at reception and a general lack of attentiveness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    was quite disapointed for the price 100 pounds a night we wont stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms were dated and damp,the windows were not double glazed so you could here traffic noise

    the food was qu[te good. the service was slow thou and nothing seemed to arrive the same the coffee at breakfast was not drinkable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had had not been refurbished (apart from the bathroom ) and the decor was tired and old fashioned. The walls were thin and sound proof an issue, we could hear conversations in the hallway and we're woken by someone else's alarm.

    The food was very good with good vegetarian choices. Location perfect. Bed comfortable but squeaky! Bathroom modern with nice smelling toiletries.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable 2 night break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a little dated but very clean & tidy, breakfast room nice & bright, the breakfast menu had a good choice & the food was tasty, staff very helpful & friendly & you could have late night drink at bar before bedtime, overall a lovely 2 night break with fabulous views over Devils Bridge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    The food is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, the room we were originally given was not a refurbished room and of a very tired low standard & not worth the £100 price point. I asked to be moved. Apparenty the word "standard" was used in the room spec online. To methough, standard should not mean old, tired, mouldy tiles and flaking wall paper. I do realise however, that refurbishment is in process and the rooms completed are wonderful.

    The food is excellent. The refurbished room i had asked for prior trip was lovely once i asked for it.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: