Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Hall Park Hotel

23 Carlton Road, Workington, CA14 4BX, United Kingdom

#5 of 8 hotels in Workington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Place of choice to stay in Workington
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited parking, but not a problem. I would have to be very critical to find any negative points.

    Very clean and comfortable room on ground floor. Beds very comfortable. Good shower. Little noise. A66 passed hotel but little noise from traffic - two very good nights sleep. Excellent breakfast served by pleasant staff. Coffee/tea could be better served in pot but sufficient for breakfast. Staff very good, welcoming and chatty. Few minutes walk from town centre. Took longer to cross road than to walk to town. Lovely park opposite hotel. Would be pleased to stay here again in this part of the country. Looking forward to next visit to Workington. Bar looked good but did not use. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    A day trip to Workington
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road can be noisy. The property could do with a bit of TLC but it's not bad.

    The Staff were welcoming, great VFM, spacious room, good breakfast and it's in a good location with some but limited off street parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was in a great location just 5 minutes walk to the city centre. The room was very big and very clean and the staff were very friendly. Highly recommended 10 out of 10

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Friendly, comfortable, welcoming and staff who go out of their way to see you have a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as far as we were concerned.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much for them to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The bed was very comfy and we slept very well. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We were treated like friends right from the moment we entered the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    A very good and resful time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very attentive and helpful, I arrived at around 4.30 pm and was shown to my room asked if it was satisfactory. I went to the bar and was met with excellent service, offered a good range of drink and asked if I wished to go to the dinning room or eat in the bar, the food was excellent and I had a good evening, I will definitely be going there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    What can one say, excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, totally perfect stay.

    Very professional staff with a special mention of Kerry, the lady was hands on and nothing was a problem. Will stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Staff were all very friendly and most helpful even providing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were all very friendly and most helpful even providing us with help in retrieving our car and parking position and a lift to a local venue in the evening. Overall very enjoyable stay would recommend to others.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for money hotel, clean, friendly, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t let the fact it’s older premises put you off. If I were still contracting it would definitely be on my list to go back to regularly.

    Warm and friendly reception. Room and bathroom especially very clean. Friendly reception by owner and regular local customers in bar despite it being late evening when we got back, no rush to finish our drink. Excellent full English breakfast, fast efficient service. Efficient check out with a hope to see you back, and if we need to we will go back. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm rather decor-conscious and the room needed some nice art on the walls and some colorful throw pillows instead of the thin, floppy brown ones. Also the bathroom was so stark white, almost blinding, and one longed for just a dash of color. But, as I said, everything else about the hotel left me quite happy.

    What this hotel lacked in decor it more than made up for in value, comfort, friendliness and a great location. The eggs: well, they were from a mix and not fresh, but the food in the bar/restaurant was quite good and large portions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay run by friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed rooms were very comfortable and well equipped. The food - cooked breakfast and bar meal were freshly made and the ingredients were of a high quality.. Staff were friendly and very helpful, going out of their way to help us solve a problem that came up suddenly ( not related to the hotel ).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Very homey, comfortable and reasonable place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were so comfy. Owner and staff were great and very accommodating. Couldn't do enough to ensure we had a great stay. Hated to leave!! Would never consider staying anywhere else in the Workington area. Best value, great location, great hotel!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    Not 4 star.. 2 to 3 Overpriced.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds not very comfy. Had more hammer than a bag of nails.

    ideally located for town centre. 5 min walk .Found a brilliant weatherspoons to eat in with friendly staff. 5 min walk. Recommend half chicken and chips. Finest pint of Guinness tasted for years A bar on site , really friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    A good standard hotel for B&B at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Workington town is very quiet in the evenings with limited restaurant and pub facilities early in the week I understand that the best nights are Thursday through to Sunday. Not the most scenic area of the Lake District but serves well as a base for travel to Whitehaven, Cockermouth, and Keswick.

    Hotel very close to the town less than five minutes walk. Warm welcome and friendly helpful staff. Large double bed room with large modern en-suite, good shower. Large TV with good reception and a comfy chair. Pleasant dining room and great breakfast, good choice of cereals, fruit and hot food menu. The Hotel is a good value for money B&B.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Lovely stay at lovely venue!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything you could want, food was very good and breakfast had everything you could want. The rooms were clean and comfortable with everything you could have needed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Quiet, lovely room, lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival the tea service had not been finished in set up, one cup with residue of tea and teaspoon "stuck" to inside bottom of cup. This was likely a simple oversight of human error given everything else was very clean, nicely prepared, and a good choice of biscuits with the tea and instant coffee service. An older building with modern improvements, the room doors use skeleton keys but no worries on security. A modern key code security lock to house entrance after hours; however, our room's door would not stay shut unless locked. With one key between us we locked ourselves inside by night and had to coordinate who had key by day, locking the other inside to keep door from slightly swinging open. For those needing special or disability access, while there exist rooms on main floor, most rooms are up narrow stairs. Ring to arrange.

    Sue, the owner, was as warm and welcoming as you can imagine, clearly working very hard to make guests feel completely at home. The on-site pub open to non-guests was a nice feature and owners worked late to serve even one person. Room had all comforts, good television, wardrobe with hangers for clothes, and strong easy wi-fi connection. The shower was ultra-modern, hot, and spacious whilst toilet area a bit small but no problems. Everything working well, easy to open windows and blinds, portable electric heater for English summer nights on the coast, and bed was slightly squeaky and worn but slept well with comfortable large extra pillows and warm duvet. Parking on street, or in 3 bays of property off street, and easy walk down to town where we found a number of restaurant choices ranging in quality and price. There is a large lovely park grove across the street for walking and makes the property quiet being away from the Workington city centre. The Hall Park Hotel provided a lovely cooked breakfast quickly served to order, but within narrow serving hours which is understandable with over a dozen rooms for proprietors and a helper to make up, laundry, etc., every day. Although we could not attend, with business in nearby Maryport all day, a surprise roast dinner offered on Sunday evening! Told we had missed a real treat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Weekend visit on coast near the Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Opposite the lovely park,which has a medieval Manor House , unfortunately unsafe ,but easily viewed from outside. The town and local pubs and restaurants are near you, and easy walking distance. The staff are all friendly and nothing is too troublesome. Breakfast is buffet cereals fruit and juices, but freshly cooked hot food to order. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Excellent hosts make you feel welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Excellent in every aspect and by far the best hotel I have stayed at in Workington - even upgraded my room free of charge. Only problem is no parking, there is street parking but is a permit zone between 8.30am and 6pm - but only a small problem if you're there working.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Extremely welcoming and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A shelf in the bathroom and a couple of hooks for dressing gown/coats would have been useful. Also I took my own hairdryer because that was not specified as being available on the room facilities, but there was one there after all.

    Very welcoming and friendly. Super breakfast. Cosy bar area. En suite bathroom good - with a bath which is always a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.9
    Hall Park hotel --- well worth a visit!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower! It's just a small electric shower so not much pressure. However it did the job.

    Friendliness of staff! We were made to feel most welcome. The location of the hotel is excellent as well as the prices on food and drink. If I'm down there on business again I would make a point of staying there.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.3
    Second Annual Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor cleanliness issue was the tea splattered radiator. And I must question the lack of a table or shelf for the kettle, which was on the floor. Bathroom needed a bin.

    Overall a nice stay and a lift to our party by the hotel staff was appreciated full breakfast was also good The bathroom was very clean if a little too stark white.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Great hotel, fantastic customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic customer service. Evening meal and breakfast delicious and good portions. Bed super comfortable. Photos on web site don't do it justice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Friendly in a good location so if we were going to stay in the area we would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neither myself or my wife had any complaints.The windows etc could benefit from maintenance.

    On arrival we were made to feel welcome and arrangement made to suit our late return at night. The welcome nature continued at the excellent breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    Workington holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Parking was a concern as only 3 parking bays and street parking on a parking disk by the hour.

    Friendly staff always ready to help - enjoyable stay and food was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    LOVELY PLACE, FRIENDLY WARM ATMOSHERE ,STAFF GREAT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room lovely, very clean and comfortable , the staff were helpful friendly, lovely atmosphere made us very welcome . would love to stay there again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Friendliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having people banging on the main doors at 3am.. not much sleep that night!

    Friendliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    They were very friendly and accommodating.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were very friendly and accommodating. Very down to earth nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Very tasty and substantial breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very tasty and substantial breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok without being anything special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings very tired and worn. Bathroom fittings loose and very dated.

    Breakfast staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Good affordable and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was on and it was quite warm

    Friendly staff, lovely room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for any business trip in the Workington area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great toast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable bed ,superb breakfast,sue was a nice host...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable bed ,superb breakfast,sue was a nice host,felt like home from home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit tight

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    i will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could not find fault

    full english breakfast was huge roomsizewasgood power shower was hot and strong

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable retreat after a hard day outdoors on site.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and accommodating staff, convivial bar and home cooked food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor definitely needs updating

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking facilities but that is not the fault of the hotel.

    Good clean and comfortable room. Good food. Cheerful and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Nice to meet Leon and the Workington Rfl staff, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice to meet Leon and the Workington Rfl staff, excellent weekend apart from the result.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    4.6
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - room was spacious & clean and food was delicious. Staff went out of their way to help

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel, staff & hosts
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Superb freshly cooked full english breakfast, nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.4
    Not great value compared to other accommodations that we have visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was rather low which could be a problem for older guests. Check out a bit early!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable great food friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Stayed here for second time and was great once again , friendly staff ,great food/drink and very comfortable , highly Reccomend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    fantastic stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the family owned and warm welcome and the above and behold help we had

    I enjoyed the whole experience and the fresh and the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    Double glazed windows
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double glazed windows

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Great full breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great full breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Worth a walk from the station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the railway station

    Helpfull and friendly staff Close to the Park Nice bar with friendly locals Clean and spacious rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.8
    Excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water tap in sink not working.

    Excellent staff, very helpful to my specific needs. Offered me a free evening meal as I could not have breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    The hotel went out of it's way to cater for our stay...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel went out of it's way to cater for our stay with our large dog, including setting up a separate area in the bar for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    birthday treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and a cracking breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Easy location to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Welcoming staff, clean and warm room, good breakfast. Bike friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar being closed one night when coming back from a meal nothing major.

    All of the breakfast and staff were on point

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    The fact we could take our dog and she was more than welcome.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky bed

    The fact we could take our dog and she was more than welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Comfortable, clean, relaxed
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Manager & Owner - hospitable and accommodating; GREAT breakfasts!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    6.3
    Very helpful staff and regular stayers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the radiators in room didnt work so quite cold in room but there was a plug in in the cupboard

    Very helpful staff and regular stayers

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hospitality.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great staff, friendly and very helpful. We always stay at this hotel when visiting family in the area, can't wait to stop again soon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    Great value comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotless sizable room. Comfortable bed. Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    4.5
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very basic and very uncomfortable.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    warm welcome, comfy room, friendly atmosphere & a great English breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    A lovely short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything, friendly staff, lovely food , nice room .evening meal and breakfast all home cooking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Everything great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All we could wish for in a bed and breakfast hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.1
    Parking was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding a chip in bedroom floor

    Parking was ok breakfast was good. Bar. beer was in good condition

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    spot on!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Everything, hospitality fantastic

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    6.3
    Great staff and good location, could be cleaner however.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable and general state of repair and cleanliness of room and hotel a little questionable.

    Breakfast was great and staff excellent!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.8
    Accommodation was perfect for the night before we started...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodation was perfect for the night before we started our C2C adventure. My wife who often finds it difficult to sleep in new surroundings claims to have had her best nights sleep for ages. Bikes were stored safely. Breakfast set us up well for the ride.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy occupant of adjoining room banging doors at 2am. No toiletries in the bathroom. Weak electric shower - could do with power shower.

    Excellent breakfast. Very welcoming. Comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    3.3
    One member of staff friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cigarrette bucket outside the entrance. Hair in bed and hair in shower. Would not recommend this at all. Worst hotel I have stayed in.

    One member of staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    10
    Very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little too warm. Maybe I should have had the sense to turn the radiator off.

    Very friendly. Comfortable room. Evening meal was lovely and good value and the breakfast was one of the best I've ever had. The dog was made very welcome in the room and in the bar. A large park across the road was perfect for walking the dog.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    10
    On arrival, we received a very warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only one thing really. The car park is small but there is on street parking outside the hotel and we were given a parking clock for use during our stay. Better use of the small park could be made by simply painting white lines. This would avoid cars taking up the area of two spaces by poor parking.

    On arrival, we received a very warm welcome. All of the staff we met were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were a very good start to the day. Whilst not overly large, the twin room was well laid out and equipped with all we needed for our stay. A very pleasant hotel which we shall certainly use again and would recommend to anyone. Well done. Thank You.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.2
    Really friendly staff, personal approach and very good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast generally good, would have liked nicer bread for toast.

    Really friendly staff, personal approach and very good value for money in easy walking distance of the town.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    6.7
    Staff extremely helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unable to open windows.Hotel could have been cleaner ie towel rail was dusty and carpet needed cleaned.No bin in bathroom and mirror beside plug socket would help

    Staff extremely helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.1
    Friendly helpful reception staff, very welcoming,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Decor was looking tired especially in the en-suite. Promised early breakfast never materialised

    Friendly helpful reception staff, very welcoming, An early breakfast was arranged

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Please don't leave confidential customer information on show in Reception.

    Good breakfast. Rare to find such a good cup of tea! Thank you. Excellent staff.

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: