Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Hambrough 5 stars

Hambrough Road, Ventnor, PO38 1SQ, United Kingdom

#2 of 6 hotels in Ventnor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 230 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant hotel friendly staff and good views of the seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been helpful to be aware of the car parking issues . Very limited space outside the hotel ( road used regularly) car parking was available outside Pavilion from 1600 with hotel pass.

    The Hotel was well located and the staff very helpful. The room was clean and well laid out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Hamborough experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking was a problem. Dinner in the evening was not served at the hotel whereas at the time of booking evening menus were advertised.

    The breakfasts were good with a wide choice on offer. The toiletries were of a high standard and replaced each day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.0
    It was very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Worn furniture in the room. Tea bags not replaced. Soap removed and not replaced.

    Breakfasts were very good, except the scrambled egg was a bit runny. Manx kippers were a rare treat, but suggest boiling them rather than frying them. Home made shortbread biscuits at the reception desk were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    We had high expectations - the Hambrough exceeded them
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was too short..........

    Excellent and spacious room; friendly informal staff; great location with wonderful sea views; comfortable bed; very clean; outstanding breakfast. Thoroughly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    The Hambrrugh Ventnor - highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really.

    Great location, brilliant staff and a very good room containing everything we needed, pretty faultless really and very good value. The views are stunning and the beach is a very short walk away with shops on the doorstep, the perfect get away !. PS: the breakfast is awesome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Bed comfortable and room clean with good view of sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General state of decoration and general maintenance of room poor. Bath huge and very difficult to get in and out. Light fittings in bathroom hanging out of ceiling. Adequate hanging space but no drawers for clothes. The presence of water and expensive toiletries did not compensate for above. Not worthy of 5 star rating.

    Bed comfortable and room clean with good view of sea. In a rather tired location, sadly. Staff cheerful and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Go straight to the top of the class!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb spot - lovely staff and super comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the sea. Tasty breakfast, a great little bar and easy walk to the sea front. Highly recommend and look forward to staying there again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    Not worth money we paid. Have had better service in local B& B's. Paid £50 too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given the smallest room without a seaview which was probably as we had a deal with Booking.com for £135.00 per night and the hotel was clearly not full. Not replacing things such as soap and tissues. Description of services misleading such as clarity of the secret garden as not even shown garden until I asked or told about afternoon tea, bar and nibbles open from 11a.m. No porters to help with luggage. Only persons we saw were receptionists. Was overcharged on the bill for the ferry for which I had already paid in March with the deposit and am awaiting a refund. Relying on reputation when chef Robert Thompson was involved.

    Comfortable bed. Breakfast sufficed but not worth the money we paid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Accommodation good, breakfast must be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were waiting over 45 minutes for breakfast to be served, and when it eventually arrived the poached eggs were like hard boiled eggs. The toast was just warmed bread. It is a shame that the breakfast let the place down. There were only six couples for breakfast and they all experienced similar delays.

    A fabulous room in a great location. The room was spacious and tastefully furnished with a front balcony and panoramic sea views. A large bathroom with separate shower and bath, a seating area in the bedroom and a large walk in wardrobe were all very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    A truly wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hambrough is a wonderful place to stay, the rooms are lovely, with lots of added little touches ( products, dressing gowns etc) for comfort and enjoyment. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the views are out of the this world ( in the suite room i stayed in). I enjoyed a lovely room service breakfast on the balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    We really needed a break and felt that we couldn't have chosen a better place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfy bed, spacious bathroom, fresh milk for our tea, great coffee machine. Excellent breakfast both in range of choices and presentation. Friendly welcoming staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    interesting. Eat at the Smoking Lobster on the waterfront. Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No overnight staff. Rowdy guests arriving home late. Difficult to access. Needs some maintenance.8.30 am start to breakfast. Too late for our schedule but there was no reduction in room tariff.

    View is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very little, although if being picky the breakfast sausage wasn't up to the standard of the rest of the food

    Fantastic hotel, excellent location and lovely staff, couldn't have been more helpful, great views from the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    More attention to detail needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed with the room. Considering you advertise as a "Luxury Bed & Breakfast" some attention was needed to the cleanliness of the room E.G Table dusty, Balcony table and chairs with bird poo and had been there for some time so unable to use that facility. Difficulty with TV in that I could only get BBC 1

    On seeing I was disabled the receptionist and with our allocated room being on the top floor, upgraded us to a suite on the first floor which was both helpful and much appreciated. Choice at breakfast was good and all staff professional yet friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Was a lovely place to stay and I would love to go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the toilet wasn’t clean from the last persons use and the shower floor had dirt mark on it .

    I like the size of the room and the amazing view from the balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, awesome staff and a very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an early check out and breakfast starting at 830am was a bit late for us.

    Great breakfast with freshly baked pastries and an excellent selection of cooked options - best way to start the day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    comfy. clean and great position. But over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Over priced for a B&B. It should have been a hotel, but the chef had left so no evening meals were served. Hence it became a B&B. Not good. On a positive note the cooked breakfast was historic! P

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable but disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet location and town very run down which was disappointing, no evening diner available in the hotel which it was offered when we booked so not sold as seen !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay but hotel certainly overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed in the hotel I don’t think website reflected a true representation! Certainly not worth £210 a night!!! The bar didn’t even have Ice and very poorly stocked!!

    The staff were lovely and rooms comfortable - nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful escape from London. Fantastic deco and really pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault.

    The beds were very firm and comfortable. The overall bed linen crispy and new. I slept on the sofa bed which was of high quality. The staff were all very friendly. Our room 5 was on the top floor with wonderful views to the sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay in Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Absolutely gorgeous room - the luxury room. Huge bath where you can sit and gaze out to sea. Lovely comfy bed, very large room. Breakfast ( in our room) was amazing. Really fantastic place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We discussed shortcomings with the General Manager who reduced the bill. People should be aware that the star rating is not for a hotel as it's Guest Accommodation, therefore it has few facilities, for example no night staff. The TVs are so difficult to work the staff keep them on all day! No biscuits in the rooms and bring a mug if you prefer to drink out of anything other than a small cup!

    The staff were friendly and the beds comfortable. Breakfast deserved the awards and the location was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant and enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit pricey, but lovely room with sea view. Car parking would be difficult in the season; only street parking possible

    Excellent breakfast; freshly cooked. Commanding view of sea/pier area; but this cost extra.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    The View.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service could have been better Toilet in room constantly running, noisy at night, was reported but nothing done. No porter for bags as mentioned on the web page. No bottle opener in room, when asked for one the answer was sorry we don't have anymore. Breakfast a bit unorganized, often the toast turned up early or they forgot all together.

    The View.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    I really enjoyed the short break away from it all The Hambrough Hotel offered me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar I thought a tad impersonal and could have been made more appealing.

    Lovely bedroom beautifully appointed. Heated floor in the bathroom a joy to encounter when taking a shower. Very comfortable bed. Attractive area with a sofa and footrest for relaxing. Wonderful sea view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay in lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid (substantially) more for a room with ocean view but this view was really very limited (room on the side of the house with main view on the outside wall of the next 'ocean view' room). Were disappointed with that but the room itself was extermely nice. The bathroom could have been cleaner.

    The hotel was much nicer than anything we looked up on-line and lived up to expectations. The room was very nice and the staff very friendly. The breakfast was great. Didn't try the restaurant but looked good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Shame breakfast was not included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame breakfast was not included. Booking.com showed breakfast included when booked, it said no meals. Both parties need to be clear at the outset before reserving!!! Breakfast included was the reason to book this hotel even though we know the room probably didn’t have the seaview. Will visit this hotel again if there is a deal but would not book through booking.com.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    The property is in a fantastic location and is very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The property is in a fantastic location and is very well maintained. The staff are very friendly and attentive without being "over the top". Breakfast was first class and the dinner menu was good too although not quite to our style of food. First class stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Probably the best boutique style suites on the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of cleanliness has dropped, -mould in shower.

    Probably the best boutique style suites on the island. Excellent Georgian features tied with modern convienience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Very relaxing, thoroughly enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't keen on the beetroot ice cream. A very minor thing. And I stil ate it!!!

    Food was lovely. Nice to have such a good restaurant on site. Excellent breakfasts all beautifully presented. When we needed an early start for ferry staff were very accommodating and breakfast was provided outside normal service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely views, big comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely views, big comfy bed. The Italian filter coffee maker was a bonus. Loved the freestanding bath with views. Very decadent! Breakfast was outstanding. Just wish the weather had been better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    We have stayed here before about 9 years ago, which is why we returned. To be honest we were a littl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet seat in ridiculous position to the door! Television a nightmare to work with two controls with complicated sequences. Even being showed, not memorable and we really wanted the news as family members out in the Caribbean helping with rescue operations. Perhaps proper instructions would be helpful for those not gadget savvy?

    Super breakfasts! Lovely quiet room and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Superb and friendly service from start to finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving!

    Superb and friendly service from start to finish. It's nice to walk in to a hotel and be treated as a long lost friend rather than a wallet to empty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    The facility of room and bathroom was all in great condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility of room and bathroom was all in great condition. Also the delicious breakfast is also recommended with fresh-cooked dishes. Wonderful staff and good location with seashore view from room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.3
    What a joke this is never a 5 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our two day stay started with the parking... After spending 1 hour looking for a parking space driving around Ventnor we then decided to go to the hotel and ask for assistance with the WIFI so we could pay for the only parking that we could find in a 24hr car park about 10 min walk away from the hotel. Due to the parking machine in the car park not working we could only pay for the parking with the mobile never easy with no network signal hence the need for the WIFI. On entering the hotel I asked for the password for the WIFI and this was given with a response I will explain the parking in a minute. So on asking again finally it was given by the lady that sat next to the stairs in the corner. I guess that this was the best place for her going on her attitude with her guests. I was then given a piece of paper and told to park 150 meters down the hill in another pubs carpark well at that point it was parking and that was ok. The bags were carried into the hotel and 1 bag was taken upstairs the rest we carried ourselves. Our room was on the top floor and unless you know Mo Farrow you will have problems with the assent to the top. It's like climbing Everest to get to the room. The room is of a good size and with a great View however the sofa needs replacing, The blind was broken, The chairs are very hard and bad to sit on if only for a few minutes you have had enough. The alarm clock was broken, The TV has a poor signal also, We did have a menu and fridge in the room with drinks at a very high price of course. .......... We decided to use the restaurant in the hotel well don't go in if your hungry is all I can say we made a mistake and Breakfast is the same performance very small portions of everything gives a new meaning to fine dining. This should be very fine dining at it's best. We found an Indian restaurant the following night just up the road on 5 minute walk save yourself 100.00 and go there great place.

    View

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just as stated above

    Stayed at the Hambrough, as we were going to a wedding, booked three rooms, And we have to say for us it was perfect, The hotel, the rooms, the breakfast and the staff were all excellent, wonderful location, with great sea access and views, just lovely. Honestly for the room prices the decor and some furnishings, do need some attention, other wise a wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel. Will be staying there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My tall son found the 2 linked single beds quite uncomfortable. Avoid rooms 3 and 7 if you are extra tall! All the other rooms have Queen sized beds!

    Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. They provided Gluten-free toast which I had not pre-ordered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no disabled parking facilities close to hotel. parking near but on a steep slope at the Winter Garden. The many steps up to the top floor.

    Décor, views, staff and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel with fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there wasn't any onsite parking. We always managed to find a parking space nearby but I imagine this could be a problem and would perhaps put people off.

    Brilliant service and staff that went above and beyond.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Spacious accommodation with sea views and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sofa in our "luxury" room had seen much better days and should have been replaced by now.

    The Hambrough is a handsome "boutique" hotel overlooking the sea. Our spacious room had a sea view, as did the breakfast room on the ground floor. Our room contained a Nespresso machine and, although I have my doubts about the eco-friendliness of said machines, it did mean that we had access to delicious coffee when chilling out in our seating area. But the two outstanding features of The Hambrough are the friendly staff and the excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Peace and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had breakfast in bed every day but one during our stay and they were excellent. Not only that, they were delivered bang on time every day. The staff at the Hambrough are lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Good boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel just lacked a bit of character, some pictures in the room would have just made all the difference.

    Very clean hotel and great location with large sized rooms. A great breakfast with lots of choices. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Stunning bedroom at the top of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a few problems with the blinds and there was some mould in the tiles around the bath which could have been addressed It was disappointing that the restaurant wasnt open as, apart from the wonderful bistro around the corner, we struggled to find good places to eat in Ventnor.

    The view from our window was stunning. The accommodation was spacious with a walk in wardrobe. The bed was modern and comfortable. There were bottles of water by the bed and fresh milk in the fridge. The good breakfast was served in a lovely room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely room, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had great expectations of the 'award winning' breakfast however we were a little disappointed as it took 15-20 mins to arrive and we were the only 2 guests in the dining room when we placed the order. The chef forgot to add the sausages to the plate too. Overall it was OK and staff were lovely.

    Lovely room, friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Highly recommended for short breaks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking outside in the road can be a bit of a lottery at busy times.

    Very comfortable spacious accommodation with spectacular sea views. Rooms 1 and 2 enjoy a large balcony with lounger and chairs. Breakfast can be taken in a pleasant front ground floor room or in bedroom. The food is excellent and nicely presented. All staff are very friendly and most helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is not great. You can't adjust it at all and it's not very powerful.

    I'm so glad we upgraded to the room with the balcony. Having the delicious breakfast there each morning was a highlight.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    A seagull' view of the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing.

    I had a fantastic view of the ocean from all the windows. The staff was always friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the coastal footpath every day, for long hikes or just a short stroll after dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only decaffeinated coffee in the room and the milk was off in the mini bar. These problems were both rectified very quickly.

    The breakfast was lovely and the view from our room was incredible.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful landscapes and great food; too much of a trek to get here though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Considering it was 'a room with a view' they could have cleaned the window of old pigeon droppings; though the breakfast was great it took about 20 mins to arrive; there is a local pub nearby called 'Winter Gardens' which played loud music on the Sat and Sun night we were there (past 11) not exactly the peace and quiet we had hoped for. The room brochure said breakfast was at 8 but in fact it had been changed to 8.30, so we were packed off back to our room! The manager said they needed to update the brochure (just put a note in it). Let's also be clear THERE IS NO MICHELIN STARRED RESTAURANT HERE ANYMORE. Overall we enjoyed stay but at £190 per night, no value for money in my opinion. It's more of an upmarket B and B.

    Superb breakfast; plush bathroom; friendly and polite staff; view of the sea. The surrounding area of Bonchurch is wonderful to walk to.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    What a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    very expensive stay but certainly one of the nicest views in the IOW.

    Fantastic location with spectacular views of the English Channel. Very tasty breakfast with lots of choice and all local ingredients. Sadly the restaurant was shut in the evening although apparently the food is amazing when open. All the staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Brilliant staff, lovely boutique hotel, couldn't be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Weather!!

    Lots of choice at breakfast, the staff booked us a taxi and a table at a recommended restaurant out of town, even had a glass of prosecco at the small bar before we went, can not fault our stay at the Hambrough, a great find.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.3
    The location with the stunning view from the balcony made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel itself feels that it needs some refreshing ... the sofa in the bedroom could not be sat on as it was so worn out and even had torn material on its base. Considering the rate for the 'suite' room, it was disappointing. The sink had a problem with water drainage. The shower required a new head as the water flow is poor. The balcony door difficult to open and close as it was stiff and seemed to be stuck at times.

    The location with the stunning view from the balcony made the visit worthwhile. Thank goodness for the lovely large bath and lovely towels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Friendly - good location - nice breakfast plenty to est if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    little tired in places within the rooms they could do with an update, as clean as could be be though, given it needs an update.

    Friendly - good location - nice breakfast plenty to est if you want - nice little additions to room - robes - bar

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.3
    Lovely boutique hotel in a good spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the suite so paid extra for a bit more room and the balcony and I do think it was a little on the expensive side in hindsight. Did enjoy the stay but perhaps a little too costly for what you get if you go for the suite. Did not find the beds very comfy.

    Lovely location and we had a suite so the view from balcony was beautiful. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good. Nice little touches like Molton brown products.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Very nice, hotel with a personal feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great room, but on the top floor with no lift! We would still stay in the same room though it's was great! Just lazy!

    Great quiet hotel on the seafront, reasonable mini bar pricing, good coffee making facilities with fresh milk daily.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    What a fantastic hotel with sea views to die for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None of the following affected us but be aware,car parking is on street or Winter Gardens about 70 yards away. I don't think there is an elevator so its stairs to the rooms.

    Wow what a hotel to stay in Ventnor! View from the rooms is fantastic, great size rooms, tastefully decorated and very clean. Room service breakfast was probably the best I have had in 20 years and I spend 2 weeks a month in hotels!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel in a beautiful spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little confusion and delay on access on arrival, but the fantastic hospitality outweighed such a small detail.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast in bed for no extra charge and willing to change their menu to suit. There was little open when we visited, over Christmas period, but the staff rang round to see what was open and when, great recommendations!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.9
    A nice hotel just a little adjustment and then perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower mat in bath to stop you slipping hurt your feet.No hand rail to help you in and out of the bath i.e. Shower .

    The room was a good size nice to have chairs to sit in to watch tv Food good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel, wonderful seaview location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all lovely!

    Seaview room had an amazing view, beautiful bath overlooking the water and was lovely to hear the sea in the morning. Very clean, relaxing and comfortable. Nicely styled and the staff were warm, friendly and welcoming without being too eager. Would love to come back :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfect weekend in a peaceful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hair dryer in the room looked like it had seen better days and it would have been nice to have a safe in the room. That's really it.

    Stayed in Room 1 (1st floor) and the view of the sea from the room was amazing. The staff were perfect and room felt homely. Great location for a peaceful weekend break.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    So good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start! The hotel staff were lovely and let us store our bikes inside away from the rain. Our room was beautiful, with a sea view and super comfy bed. Breakfast was delivered to our room and it was amazing!! We asked to check out a little late because we didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Outstanding venue, Outstanding people and Outstanding value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stay could have been longer....but that was in my gift not theirs.

    The Staff were extremely helpful and went over and beyond expectations to ensure our stay, which was for our anniversary, was a stay to remember for all of the right reasons. Left a lasting impression of the IOW.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic boutique hotel in lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the balcony was magnificent and the room was spacious and well furnished. The breakfast was memorable with lovely local produce and their own recipe granola! Excellent customer service and friendly owner?

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    6.7
    Nice hotel but expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    when I travel I don't like to lower the standard of my home. The Hamborough offered this. But that is not exceptional and it isn't opulent. It is very nice. at £120 per night it was very expensive. There was no parking only at the nearby Winter Gardens which was full on the Friday night. The breakfast was very good albeit small; I suppose it is trying to offer Haute Cuisine ie super quality and small portions. Well the quality was good and the portion was rather small. There are many b&bs on the island offering the same quality at half this price. There wasn't even an offering of biscuits in the room or instructions for the coffee machine. But there was a sewing kit to mend my socks! This is the Isle of Wight remember not London! Cleaners need to look under lamps for dusty cables as not cleaned in ages. It they want to charge these amounts it has to be exceptional. hence my observations. I'd forgive if it were £60.

    comfortable room very homely. Lovely bathroom and comfy bed. Plush carpet generally very clean. Colour scheme looked professional. Nice view at breakfast apart from cars and work vans. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.5
    The room was comfortable and the breakfast very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was comfortable and the breakfast very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Great view and breakfast and the free and very delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view and breakfast and the free and very delicious shortbread was a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Thanks for making every thing easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thanks for making every thing easy..!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location & the suite was large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion it was a little over priced, but I would stay again despite this.

    Great location & the suite was large.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, great views, superb breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, staff were friendly and the luxury room was very nice with a fantastic view of the English Channel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had the impression of a hotel on its return

    the view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Great views, spacious room, comfortable bed, large balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views, spacious room, comfortable bed, large balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Awesome stay. We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been bettered

    everything is/was fabulous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    establishment without lift, guest parking, or offering evening meal, is a guesthouse not an hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no evening meal, no guest parking, no lift

    room and, breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced for what it is.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Weekend to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NA

    Excellent Service with very friendly staff. Beds were very comfy and rooms very clean. Good location as well. We'll certainly come back.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: