Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Court Palace Hotel 3 stars

35 Hampton Street, Southwark, London, SE17 3AN, United Kingdom

#272 of 356 B&Bs and Inns in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 974 B&B reviews

5.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    5.9

  • Value for money

    5.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    3.8
    Worst hotel by frequent traveller point of view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In rough part of town with no parking. Poor staff trying to re-charge the room and change the amount it was. No control over heating, was boiling hot. Shower head didnt work and bath plugs had been removed for some odd hotel reasons. One bed in our triple room was broken in half, staff would not let us relocate to a vacant room of equal value. Friends could not visit for a drink before an event and was forced to book a room or we would all be kicked out. Building looked condemned, signs of asbestos and other health and safety hazards.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.0
    It was rubbish do not book this so called hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar (as advertised) No food (as advertised) Rooms old and dated Shower rubbish, had to hold to shower head at me to get a splattering of water Too hot Bed uncomfortable Only 3 channels on the TV Door only locked by a Yale lock (not at all secure) Reception was rubbish

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.3
    Third world standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is very run down in a quite run down area. Though I never felt threatened there. The carpets were grubby and stained. Furniture similar. The place felt unbearably hot, though the radiators were off. Some staff either could not or would not speak English. That's not to say they were rude or threatening but were of minimal help. The building needs to be completely refurbished.

    Linen seemed clean and the en suite bathroom was clean and usable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.0
    Won't be coming back
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was no bar as advertised.was shut down . Looking really worn out & tired inside & out. Kettle had a massive in the side. Not safe. Mirror came off the wall whilst was doing my hair. Bath plug didn't fit the bath . Very disappointed overall not as it seems on the website at all

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.2
    I regret booking this hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude and unprofessional. There were no lift and I had to carry the baby's stroller and suitcases up 3 stairs. They had no baby bed. Not suitable for children/babies. People running around shouting and slamming doors at night. No guests allowed in your room.

    Nothing..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    3.3
    Horror hotel, run away.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was rude and almost ignoring you. The state of the facilities is terrible. The carpet and the walls were full of stains. The furniture was in a terrible state. Shower's hot water had no pressure. Room's walls were paper thin, you could here EVERYTHING from the next-by rooms (even the TV at low volume).

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Very close to the tube and in a quiet area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room seemed to have a weird smell think it was fan in bathroom but having stayed for 5 days didn't seem as bad and the rooms are well cleaned. Also thought pub was open below but it's closed.

    Very close to the tube and in a quiet area. There is a lovely cafe with craft beers and ciders under the railway round the corner. The bed was comfortable. I needed somewhere to stay close to the tube and this place although old provided me with a great clean comfortable place to put my head down at night. Thanks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.8
    The location suited us well being close to ministry of sound. Apart from that it was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall condition of the building was poor. Very dated and in need of a major renovation. The same experience carried over into our room where again it was very dated and very used. The blood on the walls was a nice touch...

    Erm.... I'm struggling here. The surrounding roads were free to park on the weekend if you found a space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel looked very outdated. Broken shower. The heater was all the way on and it was not possible to lower the temperature in the room, so it was very hot. Very basic breakfast. Bar on the ground floor is no longer in use.

    Very convenient location. Spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    3.3
    Awful!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THE PLACE IN GENERAL The place was dark. They had low Watt bulbs everywhere. In the "restaurant" they had lamp holders for two lights and they had taken out one bulb in each holder! The wall-to-wall carpets on the stairs, well everywhere, were heavily worn out. The only place outside the room to sit down was in the lobby. It was freezing cold and everything was worn out. Wires (for modems?) were hanging here and there in a disorderly way. THE ROOM The door to the room let in both light and sound from the corridor. The bed in the room had no bedside lighting. There was one (!) chair only in the room, a kitchen type chair, exactly the same kind as in the ”restaurant”. Again, the light was so dim that it was impossible to read. The wall-to-wall carpet was so ugly I didn’t want to step on it bare feet. There was a TV but a very small one, far below normal standard. There was Wi-fi but slow. THE BATHROOM The two-faucet basin had no stopper, nor did the bath tub. The toilet itself had a kind of ventilator which had the effect that noises from other bathrooms were heard and smells entered. The defect ceiling bulbs were not replaced and the light dim, too dim for shaving THE ”RESTAURANT” FOR BREAKFAST The breakfast itself was descent, but … All the chairs, all the tables were worn out, ugly looking. The carpets were worn out. In the bar area, also used to display the breakfast items, was also the storage area for cleaning equipment!! It was cold. Dear Booking.com, what went wrong?!! This was in no way a three star hotel!! I stayed one night and will accept that I paid for it. On arrival the first evening I was asked to pay for the full four nights and did. In the morning I checked out and asked for money back. The receptionist referred to the manager who was not their or to booking.com.

    Nothing. Absolutely NOTHING!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Cozy, cleand and spacious accomodation in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not ask for a change of towels and yet we had new ones daily.

    We had a spacious room - an upgrade, just because it was available. The receptionists were helpful and very kind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.3
    Confortable bed, good breakfast and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no TV remote and two of the lights in the bathroom were not working. When we reported this to the staff they never show any interest or intention to fix anything so it was a bit disappointing.The room was also quite small for a double bedroom.

    Confortable bed, good breakfast and excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.8
    it was a leisure break for our Birthdays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is very tired, Bathroom although a decent size the shower facility was very poor and really needs replacing.

    Location to the tube station was good and it was easy to get around town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    3.8
    dissapointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lovely building however it was falling apart, first room did not have any light bulbs in any of the lights. Then got moved to a better room and was told we were not aloud to use any of the baths and all plugs had been removed. In the breakfast room men's toilet had a padlock on it so you couldn't use it. Doors on bedrooms didn't close properly. Could not get down corridor because laundry was lying all over the floor. These are just the highlights of a 2 night stay.

    Good location, 10 minute walk from South Bank and 1 minute from elephant and castle station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.8
    - thin blanket and no extra one in the room, it was cold
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - thin blanket and no extra one in the room, it was cold - the tap (hot water) was not working well, both from sink and shower - breakfast NOT before 8am, which is late compared to most hotels (not convenient when you come for business purpose and you have to wake up early).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    3.3
    Don't bother
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No welcome on arrival. No breakfast before 8am. No help up the many stairs with luggage. No thank you on leaving. Outside and surrounding area quite frightening. Nothing like advertised. Would not go out without taxi waiting. Would not stay again

    Very basic but room was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.0
    A disappointment as not a cheap place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very tatty and lots of plugs and furniture was broken . The shower didn’t work and we were not allowed to use the bath as no plug and when I asked was told I was not allowed to have one .

    The location of the hotel was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Overall, value for money compared to most other accommodation in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were at the top of the building in the farthest room, the number of steps at our age (late 60/early 70) were a little daunting - good job we're reasonably fit! Also in the room WiFi was intermittent.

    Although the hotel was basic, the room was clean & comfortable with fresh towels & linen each day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    3.8
    Bloody nightmare!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Nothing,the place should be pulled down or renovated,in the middle of a run down council estate. You should visit the hotels that you are offering.!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    3.3
    Cheap but not cheerful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems to be more as though it is used to house homeless people. Facilities poor shower stuck on 40degrees no heating In the evening bathroom ceiling lights and vent hanging down. Hole in electric kettle (pat test expired 2017) bed a very small double bed.

    Nothing much

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    Shall not book again or recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blanket had a stain!! Remote control for the TV didnt work, receptionist said he shall come to fix it....thanx God i wasnt holding my breath!! Staff unfriendly! Could use some renovation!

    Excellent location Warm rooms Room was clean other than the blanket stain

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    It was clean and although had a lived in feel it was cosy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint I have really is lack of plug sockets in the room.

    It was clean and although had a lived in feel it was cosy and warm. Two of the staff I met were very friendly and helpful however the one who checked us in didn’t appear to speak much English.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    4.6
    it was not expensive but not so cheap for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worst breakfast ever in my Life. I do not recommend there to eat. Rooms are a little wretched.. I could not sleep well.

    it was not expensive but not so cheap for a night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.4
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has seen better days, room basic but tired. Bathroom needs a few repairs, a new high rise building is going up so the window needs a curtain!. As a plumber I would recommend getting the toilet cistern fixed to the wall to support the weight, if someone should lean on the cistern it could snap of the pan because of the gap.

    Cheapish for London

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    3.3
    It may have been reasonably cheap, but it was grim! Never again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room. The hotel is above a closed down pub. Wasn't keen on the vomit on the pavement outside.

    Room was grim, radiators valves were broken and stuck on, like a sauna. The sheet on the bed was cigarette paper thin, no mattress protector, old uncomfortable mattress.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.0
    The location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was on the second floor and I was not offered any help with my luggage. I am sure this hotel was wonderful in its day but it is well past its sell by date. Breakfast is included in the price but do go expecting an English Breakfast, instead you get stale coffee, the thinnest bread you ever saw to make your own toast and the croissants were not fresh and crusty but stale and soggy and put into the fridge for the next day.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.6
    Depressing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the receptionist/manager was incredibly rude and reluctant to help.

    instead of just one double bed we got 4 beds so we're able to push them all together.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.3
    Does the job for a single night for a single person.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were visibly miserable upon arrival and whenever I wanted to go out. Place is a bit run down especially outside the rooms. Just straight up avoid breakfast unless you don't mind cereal, toast or dry and stale croissants.

    Does the job for a single night for a single person. Close to the center and public transport. Comfy bed with extra pillows included. Washing and lavatory facilities were clean and modern.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.6
    A last resort place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The non existent customer service. On my arrival the owner insisted so much that I pay for the three nights rather than one night. He even said that if I don't pay the room might be given to someone else!! In summary this place is in dire need of refurbishment and some basic customer service. The room was clean and comfortable though the shower is rather a drip. Breakfast consisting of cereals, bread and croissants is too late starting at 8am!

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    2.5
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty, moyesty, smelled funny, breakfast was dry toast and jam... we went out to eat something else out of safety reasons. We will never use this hotel again. Just dirty, smelly and all throug bad standard. If you have options, use somewhere else!

    Absolutly nothing. But the pub doen street, The tankard was really nice ;-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    5.0
    In summary it was what i expected for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi worked 2 of 3 days Heater worked 1 of 3 days Shower worked 1.5 of 3 days

    Yes its well priced and well positioned within easy walking distance of the train

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Clean, fine, cozy stay. Lovely people (although not very communicative). Cheap thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was a bit suprised of attitude that was nice but very confused - the staff doesn't speak very good English (wanted me to pay twice) and are rather introvert. The towels were changed every day despite a sticker on a mirror that says to save environment and not to put towels to certain places (that we did). Also bed was made every day - in spite of our things on it that were simply put aside somewhere else...... Lights in the bathroom: 1/3 working.

    Bed good, everything clean. Cozy rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    2.9
    Appalling
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. It’s filthy. The springs in the mattress on the bed were damaged. No bath but shower which was filthy, so l gave it a miss. If you have any mobility problems forget it. I ended up with my leg being in so much pain l could just about walk.There’s no lift, you don’t even get any assistance. The staff either didn’t speak or they were totally abrupt. Everything was too much trouble 😡😡😡

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable, Good location, VERY GOOD PRICE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was no toilet roll in the room, so I had to go downstairs and ask for some toilet roll. However, the gentlemen at the reception was very attentive and kind and gave me one. the tv was very small but thats just something minor. Breakfast was continental, which is very easy and plain. I would've expected full English and a proper sit down breakfast. But it was a quick one. When I had a shower the following morning, it was just a drip coming out of the shower. wasn't very pleasant

    The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and pleasant. I had no doubts and the bathroom was clean. very nice mirror in the bedroom and bathroom. From the outside of the hotel, it is in a pub. however its still really nice, clean and cute inside. don't be fooled by the outside look of it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Great value, clean and comfy room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower could have been better pressure.

    Great value for money, clean and comfy room. Simple but perfect breakfast. Only complaint was the shower which was more of a drip than a shower, but otherwise a great place to stay and I would return if the price is right!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.8
    It’s a good deal economically for london but expected a bit better service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn’t explain amenities very well, impatient, didn’t offer a map or explain surroundings in any way. Not very friendly except for a few people.

    Clean enough, easy access to city center, breakfast more or less expected for economic price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    2.9
    Nothing good to say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long overdue any update or paint, mattress was awful and unusable, sockets hanging off wall in bathroom. Shower trickled very hot scalding water, then to tip it off, the long life milk was off when making a brew! Would not recommend anyone stay!

    Nothing good to say

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    2.5
    Horror Hotel - Manager Neil Croker, I hope you get this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    HORROR HOTEL!!! Extremely RUDE staff (one arabic man, recommended himself as Amin), did not want to speak to my wife because he's a muslim and she's a female!! He had the same argument, about a BROKEN window (could not close, it was DUCT TAPED (we have photos), and would randomly open during the night, mid winter!) in our room with another couple who booked a room with them. He would NOT offer a complaint file even though we insisted. There were four guests asking to see the manager and he insulted us then THREATENED us, telling that he's the Manager. When we would insist he called the police ! trying to intimidate us. The police took our side and told him to take a break. It ruined our holiday! Avoid at all costs!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.0
    Basic and rather dilapidated, but would be okay if the fire precautions were up to scratch.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities basic, and a bit dilapidated, but the main concern was that all the fire doors were wedged open, in breach of fire safety regulations. Raised my concerns with staff but these were not dealt with, so I removed the wedges myself.

    Well located for central London, and cheap, but at a price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    5.4
    I don’t think I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception were beyond unhelpful and not approachable. Other guests were loud and the walls are paper thin. The shower hardly worked and was luke warm and had weak pressure. The breakfast was not worth it.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    4.2
    The staff were friendly but I wouldn’t stay there again
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren’t anything like the picture on booking site and we could here the front door opening and shutting all night long, as our room was above the front of the building. The bath tile were chipped and the grout was very patchy.

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.8
    My stay was okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs. Too many of them which wasn't great as I had heavy luggage. I was also charged an extra £10 different to what was advertised on Booking.com. I have been told I will be issued a refund which I have not yet received.

    Room was well cleaned.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    Adequate for the price
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too hard. We didn’t watch the television but it only had 2 channels if we did want to watch something. The shower kept going hot and cold and there was no plug for the bath.

    The bathroom was clean. The breakfast was simple but adequate (cereal, toast and croissants)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    4.6
    Do not plug the Palace!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath plug and no sink plug! How the hell do you have a wash or bath with no plug? Very poor TV reception also rubbish . Should be given a refund.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Great value for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exterior looks a little tired - I think the pub downstairs is no longer in use - but dont be put off as inside its great

    The hotel was very comfy - and extrmeley clean - great value for money for a london hotel and very close to Elephant and Castle tube. Breakfast was included but I was too hungover to try it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    3.3
    Rundown. Go elsewhere!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 8 smelt like feces. Got moved to room 10. This was a bit better. Inconsistent toiletries. One day no soap, next day 3?? Cleaners cleaned rooms in BEAR feet. Not enough pillows. No door handle.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    2.5
    We had a horrible stay and even left a day early and sought another place.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our visitors who were local were shouted at, breakfast was poor and staff communication with us was appalling.

    Not much to say apart from the extra bed to spread out personal belongs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    2.5
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got there at 10 PM. The streets did not have any light, no light at the windows, the main entrance was closed, it was pretty creepy and looked deserted. The room was freezing cold (room 5, after reading the reviews, I noticed that the same issue had been going on for ages, with the same room, same conditions). One window had duck tape on it and the other one could not be closed, leaving about a palm open with cold slipping in. The heaters were turned off. We asked to receive a different room, they said they only have one with a shared bathroom. I went on Booking.com and noticed they had several others available, with private bathroom. We asked to talk to a manager, they said they cannot call him, as it was late in the night. we then asked for our money back, we were told to come back in the morning, as the manager would be there and would refund us. It was already late to go somewhere else and we asked them to turn on the heating. They did and promised it would be turned on until 9 AM. So we decided to make a concession and sleep there, hoping that we would get something back in the morning. We woke up at 5 AM, freezing cold. the heating was turned off for some hours, as the radiator was cold as ice. We went to the reception and they said it was turned off by mistake. We went back to sleep and got to the restaurant for breakfast 15 minutes before closing time. The doors were closed and we couldn`t get anything, not even a coffee. The manager was not there, but a different Indian receptionist. He denied us the right to talk to a manager and did not refund us anything. He said we engage Booking.com for this. We asked a simple question: why don`t you fix the windows as several guests have complained about this. They said the hotel will be demolished in a month so there is no use to make any improvements to it. We then turned to Booking.com for justice. The investigation was complete and they only sent us the hotel`s response to our accusations.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    Close to elephant and castle stn.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window was not in good ... as it's was not closed.... Cleaning staff twice miss the cleaning and toiletries stuff to put in my room.

    Close to elephant and castle stn.. and other points... like London eye and etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.3
    Apart from the problem serious prob with the door, it was much as I expected from a previous visit.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast gave little choice. All I saw was cereals, bread, orange juice and tea. There was nothing special for a gluten free-diet, nor anything cooked for vegetarians. The inner door handle of the bedroom was missing and it was very difficult to open the door from the inside. When I left I had to pull so hard on the lock that it nearly came away from the door, leaving it hanging on by two screws that would not secure it to the door much longer. I did report this.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.3
    put it down to experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entrance dingy with a very loud creaky front door (? security system). Carpets throughout had spillage marks, some noise in the night from next room, but night porter quite helpful.

    bed linen and bathroom were clean but in general the building was run down. We did notice a planning application on the lamppost outside, so someone wants to improve things. Breakfast continental but perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    Would stay there again despite the issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They say you get what you pay for and in this case it's true, what did i expect for a very convenient location for my needs at such a cheap price!! While it was clean enough and the staff were friendly, there was no plug for the bath and after a couple of requests to staff for one, none emerged. The shower head did not fit into the holder so i had to hold it while i showered. There were laundry bags on the landing awaiting collection and the carpets in the halls were thread bare.

    It was very convenient for my needs regarding location, couldnt have been more perfect for an event at Corsica Studios just around the corner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.0
    I would not stay there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not comfortable for a woman alone. Rooms all on 2nd floor, no lift. No toilet paper in room (provided on request). Room a bit smelly and too hot (no controls).

    Staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    Fine for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt of the bathroom but not in a good way It wasn't possible to have breakfast before 8am

    The receptionist was very friendly The bed clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    2.9
    It was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is extremly unfriendly. If you come back later at night you will see that they put the cushions from the lobby sofa on the floor and a pillow to sleep on. One of the staff members offered me in the first night to come up to my room with me, highly unprofessional. The windows were broken and they tried to fix it with tape, the TV was only in audio available (you basically could only listen to it), there are only 2 power outlets in the room and the matresses feel like you lay in a bathtub. Very old and poor mantained hotel. Nice coffee shop around the corner though. Not recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    4.6
    It wasn't a bit like I'd been led to believe and I wouldn't return and definitely wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, threadbare carpets, the pub which was supposed to be part of it had been closed for 3 years, general shabbiness everywhere.

    The towels were white and fluffy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    Was out of the rain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ok only there one night it was enough

    At first appearance bleak once inside just ok room not to bad whole place needs up dating, value for money? Its London and you don't get a lot for £100 plus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    2.9
    Hotel desperately needs refurbished, location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in room 5 on the second floor. The double bed frame was broken, the matress was very soft, so it sunk in the middle. One of the window frames was broken, it was held in place by sellotape. The carpet was dirty - under the bin, and between the bed bedside cabinet hadnt been hoovered in months. There was no hot water in the bathroom tap at any point during my stay. I had to use the bath faucet for hot water. The floor squeeks alot. Not a problem for me, but the person below is likely to have heard me.

    Great location within Elephant and Castle, 24 hour reception. TV gets local channels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    No parking, rude housekeeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping banged on my door at 9.30am to tell me check out was now because it was 10. 10am check out is ridiculous so don’t be banging on my door lying and telling me it’s 10am to try and push me out earlier.

    The guy at check in was very helpful and friendly. The rest of the staff not so much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    A good deal. Will use it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance and lobby need a substantial face lift, and don't reflect the much better quality of the rest of the structure.

    Very clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hairdryer (box with it) was drilled to the drawer in the bedroom - I really couldn't understood it - it was little bit complicated to dry my hair. I think it would be better if it was in the bathroom.

    Breakfast was really tasty (toast bread, croissants, jam, cereals), staff was nice and room was clean. Wifi worked good. I regret that I spent only one night there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    favourable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    receptionists could be friendlier and breakfast could include some fruit / vegetables

    location is great, place is quiet at night, and prize / output ratio more than favourable - I generally enjoyed my stay here! after reading few comment here I was worried about quality of the breakfast, but for 3 day I spend there it was ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    Not happy. 3 stars?? Why 3 should be one.
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff don't speak english, i asked for a spoon one staff said we dont have spoons other said no speak english. Breakfast for 3 Stars was bad! No spoons no eggs all bread..

    Just the beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.0
    Don't recommand the hotel, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, smelly, strange facillity, door doesn't lock, bathroom outside the room, no ac, effectivlly no tv . Poor wifi, hot and cold water seperatlly on sink.

    The beds were ok and the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.0
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing had there been another hotel i could of found i would of been gone

    Disgusting rooms sticky tape holding the windows together smelt disgusting and was dirty i could not wait to get out of this hell hole evert thing in the room was in a poor state from the shower on

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    2.5
    Horrific!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t allowed a plug for the sink or the bath, cleaner walked into my room at 8am while I was in bed which when your travelling alone is horrific. Hot and cold taps are labelled incorrectly so burnt myself. No tea or coffee given with the kettle and cups. Spoke to the manager on leaving as do not believe I got what I paid for and basically hospitality is not in his vocabulary let alone his training! Do not stay here!

    Bedding and towels were clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    2.9
    I want my money back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty, mildewed bathroom, broken tv, stained dirty carpet, broken toilet seat, etc

    Absolutely nothing. Checked out 1 day early as property not as advertised.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.6
    Would not return, felt uncomfortable all night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor was old & tatty. Shower did not work. Rooms were too large, 2 double beds & 1 single bed for one person to stay? Carpets were very dirty. Did not want the condoms. Paintings were freaky.

    The price...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    2.9
    Find somewhere else
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So much that wasn't good - the cleanliness as there was no mattress or pillow protectors, filthy where furniture hadn't been moved, shower unreliable - hot then cold, pressure then no pressure at all, stair & hallway carpet threadbare. Breakfast so basic but worst is the customer service as the staff are rude, dismissive and don't care if the kettle is broken as they 'all are'! Hotel is apparently up for sale and no money is being spent on it at all so very, very tired..... they also take your money up front and request 'you take them to court' if you don't like it.

    Oh this is difficult as not a lot to like - location to LBC is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    2.9
    Dreadful
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a shocking place to stay. Dirty, shabby and run down. The sheets were stained. The staff were sullen. The bar is permanently closed. The breakfast was minimal. Do not stay here under any circumstances. I've used your website to book many hotels. In future I may use another to find accomodation. This should not be on your website.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.3
    I wouldn’t stay here again couldn’t wait to check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren’t very friendly and there was a noisy boiler that made a noise all day and night. The place really needed a good makeover. The carpets were very dirty. The plugs didn’t all work there was no aerial lead for the tv and you had to put the kettle on the floor so that it reached the plug.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.2
    Not planning to return
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked a family room, but room access and overall standard meant they did not stay. Bathroom not sufficiently clean - other peoples hair in bathtub, yuk Toilet flushing mechanism stuck - constant water flowing when used Bathtub plug blocked - Rising tide when taking a short shower Room door did not appear secure Laundry delivery blocked access for prolonged periods

    Clean bedsheets, polite staff, close to Elephant & Castle tube, newly decorated bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    Terrible. Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was run down, terrible. Dirty, we had a mouse poison trap in our room. None of the lights worked. The bathroom was mouldy. Breakfast stale bread and croissants. Ran out of plates. Staff arguing.

    There was nothing good about this hotel other than the location with regards to where I was going.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.4
    Good location - hotel run down and a bit shabby
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled mouldy No plug in sink Taps labelled incorrectly (hot was cold) some sockets didn't work Hot water went on and off in shower carpets frayed Hot water in sink taps scalding hot

    Location and price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.6
    extremely dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is ridiculously dated all over, in definite need of a referb, the staff made crude jokes which were completely unnecessary, the 'double bed' was two single beds pushed together and four out of the eight wheels that hold the bed off the floor were broken so the bed dipped dramatically in the middle, there was only one thin pillow each on the bed, the shower didn't work properly as there was a hole so the water leaked out rather than out of the shower head and next to no water pressure so only a dribble to wash your entire body, the hot water was scolding hot in the sink and the cold tap was warm however the shower was cold!

    That is was very close to the elephant and castle tube station

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hampton Court Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: