Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Hand Hotel 3 stars

Bridge Street, Llangollen, LL20 8PL, United Kingdom

#6 of 9 hotels in Llangollen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 989 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A twin room is for 2 people and not for 1 with an extra charge for 2,very misleading and all pice for twin and doubles should include 2 people. Terrible wifi .

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent, bar prices reasonable. Location great, near centre of town but didn't get noisy at night. Wonderful garden at the front of hotel to relax in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was bit poor and staff apart from the young lady on the sunday were poor but this young lady was only friendly person

    the location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't the comfiest, but was ok.

    Bedroom was large and had great views, and service was excel,ant, room was kept very clean a d tidy throughout our stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smokers outside in the doorway caused the smell of smoke to drift up into the bedroom as I had the window open as it was a very warm evening. Car Park filled up - maybe spaces need marking out better as large gaps were left where it may have been possible to fit 3 cars there were only 2.

    Brilliant breakfast but would it be possible to start at 07:30hrs on Sundays as I had to be somewhere and was a little rushed going for breakfast at 08:00hrs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the breakfast was good, everything that I needed was not always to hand, such as: glasses for the fruit juice, teaspoons for the hot drinks, butter and spreads for my toast actually on *my* table. Another guest even had to ask for a plate for his cooked breakfast. Management need to get staff to be more proactive and take more care of the details.

    Very good location in the centre of town and by the river. Handy to have a car park. I liked to be able to mix and match the ingredients of the cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely view from the room over looking the river. The room was very spacious and relaxing. We did not dine in the restaurant in the evening but had a more than adequate breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints.

    Stunning location.Beside the river. The sound of a running river is so relaxing, have'nt been so chilled out in years! The town of Llangollen like somewhere out of a fairytale .Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift to any upper floors requiring all luggage to be carried up and down staircase. Location of rooms overlooking the hotel entrance was extremely noisy especially during late hours causing severe disruption to sleep. Bar and restaurant - not at all impressed with the service we received and expensive!

    Central location ideal, bedrooms were very comfortable and housekeeping was of a good standard. The self service buffet breakfast was extremely good with well organised seating arrangements.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Hand. It was our second visit and did not disappoint. It is in the perfect location with the river and bars and restaurants very close. Room was comfortable and the buffet breakfast was hot and tasty. There is no lift as it is a very old building. We will return. Location was perfect sitting in the garden by the river. Free car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a lovely hotel, in a good spot by the river and having their own car park is brill. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms are lovely. The breakfast is very nice and the bar meals are good too. Overall it was a very pleasant stay. Its peaceful and we really like it. We will definitely go back a third time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All a bit tired. The bed was particularly uncomfortable and my wife slept poorly. (She was the designated driver, I was a bit more anaesthetised.). Bathroom was clean but in need of refresh and shower slow to warm up. Staff were very keen to be helpful, but there was not quite enough of them. It took about 20 minutes to check in.

    This is a busy bar and hotel. The impromptu sing along on Friday night was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms up lots of stairs . No one to help with cases .given a box room for 95 pound that was smaller than a small child’s bedroom. With a view of a grave yard . Which was not something u want to look at for a 2 day stay .

    Location was good . Food ok . Staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good parking area,location just around corner of main street (without the traffic noise)👍great scenic view of vale a river with Wonderfully great cooked breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at the breakfast at the stated time on both mornings the first morning everything was as we expected but on the second morning it was total chaos. No hot food for 20mins then when it did arrive it was either burnt or like cardboard SHAME

    The restaurant staff were amazing making our first night magical and a memory we will treasure. Camille is an asset to the hotel she went the extra mile to make our stay special and her fellow staff member (we never got his name sorry) was extremely professional and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud electrical hum coming from light fitting in bathroom Missing drawer in desk Decorations quite shabby No net curtains/blinds Water pressure in shower was weak

    Lady serving breakfast was lovely. Toiletries in bathroom were nice Bathroom much bigger than expected Great location in town centre Room was quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room tiny, tired and shabby walls thin and noise was disturbing dinner made me ill. Staff at breakfast totally dis- interested, most information came from a long term guest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was extra busy when we went with a moped convention and the bar was a bit too noisy for us to enjoy a meal so we ate out instead as we enjoy a more relaxed atomosphere but the hotel cannot do anything about that other than maybe open another room as a quiet lounge which would be ideal x

    We enjoyed our stay and the facilities and location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The band playing in the bar on Saturday evening were much too loud .

    We had a large and comfortable room overlooking the river and the castle ruins on the hill. The large garden by the river was very welcome as the weather was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chaotic service in the bar at times, but if you don't want to go there there are many other alternatives nearby.

    Great location. Best value for money at the price Luis the beer garden is a great place to relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really that I didn’t like. I know we booked a double but would of liked a king size bed. As most hotels I’ve stayed at have them in most rooms.

    Good food. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy, clean and excellent breakfast. Not the Ritz but excellent value for money paid. Staff very pleasant. Only stayed the one night but felt quite at home there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower and water pressure in the room were not good. Restaurant closed on the Friday evening which meant we couldn't eat at the hotel but found a lovely restaurant just round the corner.

    my request for a high quiet room overlooking the river was met and it was really good. There were 2 windows which allowed in plenty of light. Staff very friendly and helpful and we loved the terrace overlooking the river for drinks. Great location in centre of town and easy access to the railway and canal trips.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was a bit small but that’s not a deal breaker.

    Great location and much needed free parking as Llangollen is very busy. Clean, pleasant staff and good bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very tired and in need of updating. A shortage of drawers in the room. A general lack of care as in pictures hung upside down. One evening there were only two staff on, that we could find, the chef and a lady who was receptionist, waitress in the dining room and barmaid. We waited15 minutes to be buy a drink in the bar, eventually the chef came to serve us.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We appreciated that the hotel was open to the general public. However, the swearing and sometimes drunken behaviour was not dealt with and was not appreciated especially when having a meal.

    The room and en suite were comfortable, clean and warm. Facilities were good as were the views. I would come again to this hotel. Breakfasts were very good. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small Towels small also Had to be sparing with bar of soap to make it last two days

    All breakfast food cooked well Generous portions Very helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way into the Car Park and Reception wasn't clear. I drove along one of the side streets to be met with bollards/chain which at first I thought was the car park entrance. Only when I got out of my car did I find Reception and that the entrance to the car park was off the main A5 road. The car park had no lighting - or non working anyway and was very dark at night. The shower in the morning wasn't getting hot, even after running it for some time. I rang Reception who told me to keep it running and it would eventually get hot. I ran the water for 10mins before it was hot. Quite a waste of water I would have thought.

    I slept well and didn't hear the town clock chiming every hour overnight. Would have liked an armchair rather than watching television from my bed. Breakfast was good with the exception of the bacon which was a bit 'stringy'.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in my room never closed properly so there was a nasty draft. The Wifi was very poor connection, dipping in and out, the rooter was outside my room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facilities and staff. Restaurant and bar was fantastic and fairly priced. The hotel is located in the centre of the town so is perfectly placed for exploring.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was near the cleaning storage cupboard. Every morning there were very loud conversations just outside my door which made it difficult to work. Breakfast never seemed to start at the time listed in guest information - I'd come downstairs and there would be nothing out.

    Very affordable, great location. Clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar meals - limited choice and not very exciting.

    Excellent room, fabulous view of the River Dee and Castell Dinas Bran! Friendly welcolming staff - nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms need updating , the showers need replacing you had to stand close to the taps to feel the water, beds too hard and dogs barking in rooms

    staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole place could do with a upgrade carpets in the rooms are tired vinyl in the bathroom torn and badly fitted the whole room looked like it had not been decorated in 20 years

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area very cold, I needed a wrap for shoulders, bath towels too small. Couldn’t get WI FI in bedroom

    Lovely hotel, bed so comfy, bedroom nice and warm and spacious. Bathroom bit dark. Restaurant closed had meal in bar, chicken very dry, not value for money. Steak n ale pie delicious. Entertainment wonderful, breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a little uncomfortable. The hot water took a while to come through in the morning but once it did it was plentiful.

    The staff are wonderful. The room was compact but had everything that we needed. Room was toasty warm when we arrived, which was very welcome as it was snowing and freezing cold outside. We turned the heater off when we slept. Very reasonably priced bar. Great breakfast with good choices for a continental or a full fry up. We asked for a broom just before checking out, to help clear the snow from our car and it was no problem to borrow one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a criticism but our room was smaller than an average room, however it was warm and clean with en-suite facilities.

    Friendly & polite staff, decent bar prices, car parking, free entertainment on Fri/Sat evenings. Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving to go home!

    The buffet breakfast is very good and the staff very helpful and attentive.The gentlemen that checked us in on Sunday afternoon was fantastic.We had a lovely room at front of hotel overlooking the river.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, meaning a lot of stair climbing. Breakfast room was rather cool, (probably due to lack of central heating).

    Superior room with lovely view of river. Paper delivery service. Hot shower. Excellent position of hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very cold on arrival,insect on pillow,stains on blanket. Blanket changed this blanket also had stains on it.bedroom chair had stains on seat.sash on window was broken.window drafty Breakfast was a shambles on arriving for breakfast, no orange juice, no milk for cereals. Had to ask four times for tea ,then it was grudgingly bought to the table,had to ask for fresh fried eggs ,black pudding was stuck to the base of the container which also had the bacon and sausage in the same container. No staff in breakfast room on arrival had to go to reception to ask for juice and milk

    Hotel position

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was immediately above the Pub doorway and there were lots of drunken people who were stood outside talking very loudly until the very small hours. Not the fault of the hotel whatsoever but having stayed at the Hand previously I know that the other side of the hotel is far more quiet and I will ask for a quiet room the next time we go

    The Hand is in ideal location with plenty of parking. The room was very nice and so was breakfast. The staff are very professional and welcoming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here with my wife on a Saturday night staff were really friendly & helpful, the car park was a big plus at the back of the hotel too. Our room was over looking the river Dee nice view. The hotel has a band on , on Saturday nights at 9pm till around 12 the band was really good done all the 50's / 60's stuff they were really good think they were called Coast ? Bar was busy too good Friendly atmosphere we had a really good night. Breakfast the next day was great as well had a full English , marvellous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff, clean bedding with mattress protector! Comfortable bed, room slightly dated but good! Breakfast was tasty and hot! Car park a bit chaotic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast time having to wait gor certain thing. And also having to ask for watwr as there was none with the juices.

    Clean bedroom. Receptionist staff helped us book a taxi as we was away for a wedding. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was fine, suited us as a place to stay to do a quick tour of the area. Even the weather was good the decorators were in but they didn't spoil it for us, by the evening they had disappeared leaving a cosy bar. Bathroom was cold only heated towel rail for warmth in a very large bathroom. only real moan

    very helpful lady served at the bar and was in the breakfast room. lovely buffet breakfast eat as much as you like. Clean and Warm in the centre of Llangollen with a large carpark. We had a room with a view over the hills and river... Very large room plenty of room for a small family.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unmanned reception. Tiny cheap tv. Noise levels from down stairs in bar area. Rowdy, organ playing and depressing music. Came away for peaceful break as not been well.

    River view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We met our family for an evening meal. The one problem was that we had to wait an hour for the food to arrive.

    Lovely staff, lovely room, very cosy and welcoming. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, very helpful and pleasant staff. I highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed before and my husband fishes the river Dee have stayed in a lot of hotels in Llangollen but The Hands is by far the best for all our needs .We love the location and the town is so friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been good to have biscuits with the tea making facilities. However, this was compensated for by toiletries being provided in the bathroom.

    The room was clean, cosy and comfortable and everything worked. There were reading lights above each of the twin beds. The shower, though not very spacious, was adequate, efficient and easy to operate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the cold side!

    Staff were very helpful and polite. They interacted with guests well and made us feel comfortable. The food was excellent and it was a lovely overnight stay for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all, it was perfect.

    Lovely old building in the centre of Llangollen. Great touring base, excellent breakfast and friendly attentive staff. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little basic.

    The location is great. The rooms are basic but reflect the price and are very clean ,comfortable and cosy. The staff are great especially the staff who work in the restaurant at breakfast time. The hotel and the staff were very accommodating with our dog, he was treated like a guest too even being allowed to come into the bar area at breakfast. Really lovely hotel with lots of history.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a real disappointment. Very noisy because it was overlooking the main hotel entrance and room had louvred window which did nothing to insulate noise from loud smokers and leavers. There wasn't any photographs or paintings on the wall so emphasized the drabness. The bathroom was extremely outdated and the shower didn't work. The remnants of a soap dish was still attached to the wall above the bath and had very sharp edges, which caused a nasty cut on my arm.

    Good breakfast, fan location, food tasty despite portions being on the small side

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with money being spent to up grade,you can see what a beautiful and grand hotel this was but sadly looks a little tired and needs some tlc.

    Location was excellent and good parking at rear of hotel,good bar and very reasonable prices for food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked dinner for the 5 of us in the hotel restaurant. We were the only guests in there. The waitress was very friendly and attentive throughout and the food really good and excellent value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, very comfy bed, lovely room (33) which exceeded our expectations. Breakfasts were lovely and the location is superb. Been before and will visit again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not particularly comfortable and the bathroom was so cold it was almost unusable. The wind whipped in around the edges of the window and there was no heating in the bathroom. The hotel is very tired around the edges and could do with a complete refurb.

    The young man on reception when I arrived was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a bit small and not a great layout. (Towel rail right above the toilet!) Shower was lukewarm. Breakfast buffet was OK but the toast machine just churned out burnt toast.

    Nice central location, right by the river, and good value for money. Local Welsh Male Voice Choir sing in the bar on a Friday night! Interesting to read about the history of the hotel, and the famous people who've stayed there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was hard, the shower was small and although the bathroom was very small the floor was on 2 levels and very uneven. The room had dated decor, a noisy blown air heater and single glazed windows which made it very chilly to sit and watch the river.

    The staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was very well cooked and they had everything you could want. The open fire was a place we gravitated to after being out walking along the river and the stunning river view sold this hotel to us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room are a little basic. We were placed in a room near the reception area which was very noisy during the night .

    The hotel has a nice atmosphere.Breakfast is lovely. Location is great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place to stay, Stayed on New Year's Eve with my boyfriend and had a meal at the Gala. Food was amazing and staff very friendly. Band was brilliant and at 1am the hotel offered everyone hot pot! Would 1000% recommend. Breakfast the next day was great too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Time for breakfast was changed on2nd day,8-10 on first day0730-0930 on 2nd day so we missed it, was disappointed because it was lovely the first day, went down at 0930 2nd day and everything had been put away,had to go to local cafe.

    Had xmas dinner and it was fab couldn’t fault it and staff were very accommodating Thanks to all

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and room was cold when we arrived,we had the heater on all the time.The bathroom only had a heated towel rail so that room was cold but the rooms got warmer throughout our stay but it was December.

    Location good right in the town.Good view of the river from our window.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pressure in the shower could have been better it was hard to get a hot shower with the amount of pressure needed to wash you well enough.

    The general atmosphere location, comfort of the bed and the staff also live music on the night we were there although it had been busier earlier it was a very friendly atmosphere and made to feel welcome

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room did not have the view we wanted. Considering the price we paid,it was rather disappointing and when we arrived,the room was freezing cold. It took forever to heat up. It is not the quietest hotel. They had a band on Saturday night which was overly loud for a small hotel.

    Nice location. The buffet breakfast was nice. Not much left by the time we got down but they made us extra bacon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * Old hotel looking a little tired & in need of some maintenance & TLC in places. * TV reception in room is poor. * Dated décor & fittings - bathroom functional but could do with updating. * Rooms overlooking street get some noise from passing drunks at night.

    * Great location, a variety of pubs, restaurants & Llangollen attractions all within short walking distance. * Friendly & helpful reception & bar staff. * Free parking on site (important in Llangollen). * Decent breakfast (served "help yourself" buffet style). * Live band on Saturday night - decent 60s/70s/80s covers * Value for Money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small but I am sure if we asked it could have been changed only stayed a few days so was not to much of a problem .

    The hotel location is great and being so close to the river for us was lovely to walk along shops really pretty .Parking was good we could leave the car and walk to the little railway just a really relaxed and lovely Hotel .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small tv, could of made more of the room ie design, small heater for so large a room that made a noise when on don't know if very cold in depths of winter? bed could have been more comfortable made our backs hurt a bit.

    nice view, clean room,good location, can walk by river, and drive to scenic places close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff are pleasant. clean and comfortable rooms. good and varied breakfast. plenty of parking. good location. wouldn't go anywhere else in Llangollen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - no dislikes.

    Some rooms are smaller than others, but we were moved to a much larger room with a river view after our first night at the owner's suggestion. Much appreciated. Nice breakfast. Good location. Parking right outside the front door of the hotel in a private yard. The village, the railway station, the canal and the plas newwydd house of the ladies of llangollen are all within walkable distance of the hotel, athough driving up the hill and parking at plas newydd is the best option.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a beautiful old hotel right by the river with a great breakfast, a nice bar area, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. The showers are hot, the tea is on hand and it is really close to the center of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only things that aren't perfect was the band on the Saturday night was so loud that there was no chance of a normal conversation without shouting. On a table if 9 all the meals were served the later 1 plate of vegetables was placed at one end of the ling table. Lots of passing around,it would have been so much easier just to serve in two separate dishes.

    The Hand hotel could not be in a better location for access to Llangollen town centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Live music in the bar on a Saturday which we knew beforehand - we had no issues with this. However a) the band played on (very, very loudly) until 12 midnight in what is b) a very old building with walls and ceilings that were not designed for 100 decibels booming out of the amps! Some of us turn the lights off at 11/11:30pm at we felt that playing on until 12am for the whole hotel to hear - voluntary or otherwise - was a little excessive. An 11pm curfew would make sense. My grandfather also felt the shower left a lot to be desired (tiny shower head, difficult to configure temperature, low pressure etc). There was no obvious switch for the extractor fan either. Finally, and whilst this isn't really the hotel's fault (though they could make efforts), our 1st floor room was directly above reception, and even with the single glazed window shut you could hear the conversations of all coming and going through the front door. Thus, at 12:30am on Saturday we were awoken by a Cockney gentleman having a thoroughly foul-mouthed and expletive-laden phone conversation directly beneath our window - which was, I must add, closed. I appreciate that the hotel is not able to control the actions of its guests, but at least please consider putting up some signs outside of the front door to keep the noise down as people will be sleeping just yards away. I was also unsure if the night porter was in reception at that time but if we could hear this foul torrent of language they I am certain that so would he - a polite request to the Cockney lout wouldn't have hurt. This really left a sour note the following day in all honesty.

    All you can eat Full English breakfast buffet great. Great location. Nice bar. Parking free, secure and substantial. Staff were helpful - particularly at breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff, especially the breakfast staff and cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel had a cosy, comfy, welcoming feeling to it. We have stayed at this hotel before and always had a lovely time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quirky, great hotel - we enjoyed a Welsh Male Voice Choir on Friday night, local rock band Saturday night, what else to come? Friendly helpful staff, early breakfast accommodated . Comfy bed, good blackout curtains. Great location for touring.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: