Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Hand Hotel 2 stars

Church Street, Chirk, LL14 5EY, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Chirk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 452 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable. the food was very good. the staff were very helpful and friendly. and after a 22 hour flight i was happy i picked this hotel to umwind

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older looking hotel but good inside - nice charm. This was a late afternoon booking after another provider let us down so great to find a room available. The breakfast was very good. Handy free parking at rear of building. Staff helpfully made us aware of some attractions to see in area so that was appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great food great value for your money, Staff helpful. Hotel looks good inside We stayed in a room called Edward v1 which is my husband first name. Close to diiferent places for sightseeing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a minor thing but the shower caused a leak in the ceiling below our room.

    Great hotel, great price and very very clean. Didn't see anyone on check out but definitely would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of sleep, we were in an annex next to a room with no number that was so noisy, they kept talking and banging till past 2am. we left early so we could go home and sleep properly.

    the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no slip mats in the bath. Water pressure was a bit low.wifi good but hardly any internet.

    For its age the condition of the rooms were fantastic. Best night's sleep that I have had since my hip op.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unable to sit in the dining room for dinner and had to sit in the bar area and eat off a low table Breakfast was very dry and no prices were advertised for the cost of breakfast .

    Large garden area Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very noisy due to the next room toilet being a pump type toilet. When flushed it sounded like a lorry passing the front of the hotel. Also the rooms are in need of a spruce up - they are a little tired.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming ambience but challenging for older travellers ... stairs but no lift, shower in bath, constrained space around bed.

    Good price, sleep, bar, dinner, breakfast, location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I always look forward to staying at hotels in older buildings, and this certainly didn't disappoint. Food was good, all the staff friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very tired, particularly bathroom. Mould on walls, bath panel yellow and cracked, some tiles in ceiling coming down

    Staff were very friendly and helpful and meal in restaurant was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be cleaned more carefully, had some bunches of hair left on bed and bathroom, dirty cups and dirty wet cupboard. Heard every sound from other rooms so we could not go to sleep without plugs because of really big noises for eg. someone taking shower. Maids start to tidy rooms at 8am talking very loud to everyone on the hall so you don't need to set your alarm. Also room from side of street is very loud due to very old windows. It's fine just for 1 night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy! The other guests were LOUD! Could hear everything from outside even with windows closed. Guests were apparently long term guests working in a nearby factory. Extremely noisy and inconsiderate. The location of the hotel also right on a busy road and could hear the traffic through the night. I thought £80 for one night was overpriced, not because of the lack of sleep, just wasn’t value for money especially considering breakfast was not included. Personally wouldn’t stay here again.

    Food in the restaurant was tasty and plentiful, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (no 8) was very tired and did not match the photograph on the booking.com web site. The mattress on the bed was really uncomfortable and the TV (which was tiny) was in poor condition (sound quality v poor). The room was reasonably priced but work needed to up grade rooms and en suite completely. There was also a problem with paying our bill which involved us leaving without paying (despite checking this with staff on a number of occasions) - requiring the hotel to contact us. Some problems here with procedures within Hotel.

    We eat in the restaurant in the evening. Good value, good portions - nothing to complain about. Also good breakfast. Restaurant service also good. We were travelling by train - location very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room/flat had another door into it which led down a back staircase which could only be locked from the other side to us. We were told the room had just been redecorated. If so, it was of low standard and looked liked an amateurs attempt at painting. The carpet had not been replaced and was 'tired'. The area with the breakfast bar, fridge etc had no natural daylight. The windows didn't open in the bedroom area and behind the glazing a window pane was broken. There was no way of controlling the temperature in the room as the radiators had no thermostatic valves fitted. When we arrived all the radiators were on and were not able to be adjusted by us. We had to ask reception to turn them down which you could only do with a pair of pliers. We slept on the top of the bed for most of the night. The pillows were very thin. We slept on 3/4 each. Breakfast wasn't included in the room rate of £80.00. It would have cost us approximately £21.00 extra for 3 people.

    Room was spacious and in a good location. The bed linen and towels were of a good standard. The entrance and bars were pleasantly decorated and we were quickly booked into our room. The staff and guests were very friendly. Our dog was allowed into the café part of the bar and you can have a dog with you in the room for a supplement.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the building was full of character the room was not. Washed out decor, one of plugs by kettle not working. Really think room rate excessive when not including breakfast. £7.5 is an excessive supplement for a standard but good veggie breakfast ps only a minor fail cereal choice didn’t include a good bowl cleanser like Bran Flakes or Muesli was just Kellogg’s sugar options.

    The facilities of the building where great nice character and great food in restaurant down stairs with very attentive friendly staff both in restaurant and reception . Location of hotel great base for range of walks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a used plaster in the bathroom bin, which made me question the cleanliness of the hotel. Although that was the only thing wrong with the room. Unfourtunately on my way home, I got really sick and still feel ill a day later and I'm wondering if that had anything to do with breakfast.

    I thought the location was lovely. Very quiet and looked beautiful in the summer. The staff at the hotel were really friendly and the room was pleasant. Great value for money in my opinion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room 7 was extremely hot even the room heater was off. Small bathroom 'a heater was on and no clue of turn off so it need a patient to use it in the extremely warm room. The fan makes a little bit better but not enough to stay comfortable even with opening the window. Bed mattress is time of replacing I'm afraid. As a one of oldest hotel, the building is good enough but room temperature and beds was uncomfortable.

    Great location and pub foods.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was boiling hot, there was a fan already in there and the window was open but it didn’t help, both me and my husband barely slept because it was so warm. We raised it as a concern the next day staff handled the complaint well and said they would report it but some compensation for our lack of sleep would have been nice.

    Staff were excellent, lovely location and great facilities, bedroom was big. Excellent customer service. Bar area lovely, lots of drink selection especially gins! Amazing welsh breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and furnishings a bit tired in the room. But this didn’t effect the comfort of our stay. And was definitely great value for money.

    Very helpful staff, great tasty breakfast, later than normal checkout. Lovely and cosy communal areas with nice places to relax.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room quality, rooms were 'tatty' at best. The first room had a bathroom door that would not close and stank of sewerage. We were moved but both of the rooms we stayed in were in dire need of updating (stuck in the 1970s). The rooms were in need of paint, flooring and new bathrooms. A shame because the bar, restaurant and reception area were really nice. We would not stay here again as the standard of rooms was sub-standard.

    Restaurant and bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were cold when we arrived but soon heated up when the radiators were turned on.

    We stayed in room 17, which is an anex off the main hotel, the room had three beds a 3/4 and two singles one of which was a 'put me up'. The bedroom was long and narrow, the bathroom was basic but clean with a bath. The bar and food were very good, with a good choice. All the staff were friendly and helpful. breakfast was good with plenty of choice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet wasn't working, but I believe this was a one-off problem and they were trying to get it fixed asap.

    All the staff we talked to were lovely and helpful. We arrived just at the cut-off point for dinner and they kept the kitchen open a little longer to accommodate us and didn't hurry us at all with our meal. We then moved from the dining area to some comfy sofas by a roaring fire, which was just what we needed after a long drive in the snow!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A refurbishment would definalty give it more of a wow factor .Heating must have been set to full possibly due to recent bad weather but couldnt keep sash window open to let some air into the room

    Basic room but for one night Ideal for our needs . Clean warm . Staff friendly ,Helpful and informative . Breakfast spot on . Beer Spot on

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water boiler made strange loud noises whenever we used the water in the room, very small tv in the 4 person room (19 inch I think).

    Great staff, excellent food, brilliant location, nice private parking facility, building was very old so gave it some quirky character.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have done with a re-furb but for one night it was comfy ,clean and warm so no real complaints .

    Friendly Staff ,Imformative and helpful.enjoyable breakfast . Good beer . Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were uncomfortable but that is just our personal preference.

    The breakfast was outstanding!! Staff were friendly and welcoming and the location was perfect for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have nothing to add.

    The hotel is a very old one, thus we didn't expect modern facilities and the bathroom was rather basic (with a very modest show). But the room was clean, quiet (safe for people selebrating in the restaurant) and cozy. The hotel has a character for sure and it's worth the money paid. Extra bonus was a dinner we decided to try there and really happy we made that choice! Highly recommended☺

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room temperature too hot and no way of adjusting it. Unable to open window in room. En-suite bathroom in need of some TLC.

    Comfortable hotel with very friendly and efficient staff. Food in Castle Bistro in the hotel reasonable in price and very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    council need to fix loose manhole cover on main road outside hotel as made banging noise all night as cars drove over it. one guest did not use shower as tiles/grouting needed "a good scrub". Breakfast on 2nd day -served undrinkable coffee, did not taste of coffee and smelt awful. Not sure what it was. Also butter pat was rancid. Both were replaced quickly but literally left a sour taste. Very hot in bedrooms.

    Assistant manager extremely helpful,welcoming,friendly. Responsive to all requests and excellent interaction with us as guests. Very informative over menus,wine lists. Made my elderly parents feel valued and respected.Very good customer services and attitude.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clientele in the hotel lounges could have been encouraged to move into the sports bar. Steak rather tough.

    Very nice staff. Hotel of character. Comfortable bed, well heated room. Good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy plumbing, it was like a aircraft landing every time someone flushed the loo. radiator stuck on full, it was soooo warm and couldn't adjust it. Window wouldn't open!!

    staff very friendly/

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy rooms/ sounds coming from adjacent and even room below., No internal phone system (Had to contact reception by using my Mobile to call their landline) "Language" (Not Welsh) can be heard from the Public Bar in the mext two bar areas.

    Staff, food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central heating didn’t work in the bedroom, even though it did downstairs in the lounge and reception. There was an electric fan heater in the bedroom, and they did get another when I asked. Cos it was freezing, being the middle of January

    It’s a lovely old hotel, full of character

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor pillows, poor decor on second floor generally (room ok but corridor and stairs in poor condition). Breakfast didn't have the stated fruit and juice choices - because there were only two rooms let. That is irrelevant, either provide what you say or don't say it. Incorrect meal information in the room folder re prices and breakfast tables not properly set. Heating not working properly and poor shower.

    Staff were very amenable and pleasant and the hotel has a good atmosphere. The food was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good quality older style pub / B&B - comfortable rooms, clean, and staff were friendly and efficient. A little "tired" in places but that didn't affect our stay - would book again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all good for me.

    The welcome from the staff all so helpful. When I asked for the menu Joe recommended house specials both days and they where great. And the local beer was great as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed up dating and the bathroom.

    The food was very reasonable.and very nice. The bar/lounge area was lovely and cosy. The hotel was lovely and warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light on bathroom mirror didn't work. Everything else was super.

    The staff members were all very friendly but still professional. Location was superb. Prices very reasonable. Bed was bouncy, which personally I quite enjoyed. Warm a cosy. Thinking of coming back someday soon!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels where small

    Shower was not bad but not amazing, bed was comfortable enough Friendly staff, quiet location, homely, beautiful area, welcoming and cozy well worth the price i paid. Will book again when needed. Would recommend to anyone who asks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two locals drinking in the lobby area who made us very uncomfortable, the woman told my grown up son some vulgar things and some not very nice things about me, they both kept saying nasty things about other people who came into the hotel loud enough for them to hear and quietly arguing with each other. We only spent about 20 minutes with them until our room was ready but we avoided going back into the downstairs area of the hotel because we felt they would probably start an argument with us because they were intoxicated, so ended up stuck in the bedroom. The bedroom wasn't much to look at compared to how lovely the rest of the hotel was so that was a bit of a letdown. My bed was broken and on a slant, I would have gone back down to the lobby area to see if they had a replacement but didn't want to risk running into the local couple again.

    The hotel looked beautiful inside and all the staff were the nicest I've ever met in any hotel or holiday place. They were helpful, happy and polite. I give the staff and the look of the inside of the hotel 10/10 . Not including the bedroom!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room very hot, when adjusted to cool the flow of water was very limited

    Bar areas, warm fires, welcoming staff, very handy for Chirk Castle and couple of restaurants and shops on main road, easy access to aquaduct and a walk by canal

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in need of some tlc. There were areas downstairs that needed some repair. Our room was dated and needed to be updated. The toilet in the next room was very noisy. The Wi-Fi didn't work in the room (but did downstairs in the bar when it wasn't busy). Must be difficult to stay on top of the maintenance for this historic building.

    The building had character being one of the original coaching houses. There were a choice of bars to sit in and relax. There were also different eating areas. Everywhere was clean and tidy. Our room was warm and the bed very comfortable. There were tea and coffee making facilities, tv and hair dryer. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble for them. The hotel has parking available with a permit issued on arrival. The food was home made and delicious and served hot unlike some restaurants I have visited. They serve real ales and have a good selection of Gins. Would thoroughly recommended a visit even if only to sample the food and drink.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found breakfast very limited,room was ok beds were comfy but bathroom very dated...Had no heating in rooms as radiators had been turned off in room and bathroom considering it was 18 th November..complained to reception and was given a small electric heater !!!!

    Food served in hotel restaurant was good, felt very homely in bar area . Found car park very spacious and location of hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt cheated by standard and location of room. Room was outside of Hotel main building. We where locked out of the Hotel over night with no reception or overnight staff. Unofficial smoking area at the bottom of our stairs. Some staff smoking there. Smell went up to our room. Door to stairs accommodation left unlocked all our stay. Think our room is only used when Hotel is fully booked . Standard of room was not as good as rest of the Hotel.

    Wedding Reception was great and Staff very good. Nice Breakfast. Listened to my complaint that was given by phone after my stay and gave a small refund.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food in the restaurant in the evening was adequate - would have been good to have seen something than just very standard pub food.

    Quirky place to stay. Friendly staff. Good beer. Great position for exploring North Wales.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the shower next door was very loud, like a washing machine in a cupboard. Not good if you fancy a lie in.

    Staff were really friendly. Booking in was easy. Indian restaurant across the road was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One downside was the shower unfortunately. Not enough water flow, and plumbing was a bit noisy.

    Our stay there was very nice. Lovely relaxed , staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large and very clean and comfortable. Best nights sleep we've had for a while. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t too comfortable and when we left at 7am we had to unlock the front door ourselves as there was no one to be seen.

    We booked a double room instead of a twin room and the staff changed that without a problem

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our second floor bedroom's bathroom was very poor. Clearly in need of some major refurbishment, unfortunately we did not appreciate how much attention it needed until the morning of our departure when we discovered that the shower did not produce any hot water and the bath taps were so slow that there was only about an inch of water in the bath despite running the taps for about 40 minutes (the plug was in the bath).

    The location with a bus stop almost directly outside and the station a few minutes walk away. The ground level of the hotel was vastly improved upon when we visited several years previously with a comfortable bar area/lounge. The food in the restaurant was very good and good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift - but in an historic hotel it wouldn't fit!

    Location is excellent- just a brief walk to railway. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Met a lovely couple from Cornwall who have been staying at the Hand at least every other month for years! That loyalty speaks in shouts!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately in our bathroom there was an unpleasant smell with the saniflow type toilet. Informed staff who were very apologetic and they were dealing with the problem. Glad we were there for only one night. Would not stop us staying again at this hotel.

    Very friendly staff. Evening meal excellent as was the freshly cooked breakfast. Bedroom good size with comfy bed. Good value for money all round.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was old & smelled like sewers. Hotel was run down & definitely in need of a face lift. On the other hand the staff were generally very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dated and a bit run down. The macerator attached to the toilet didn't even have a cover on one of its opening and the smell in the bathroom was terrible. TV very small and the Wifi did not work in the room only in the downstairs lobby, Window in need of repair and road noise instrusive. Noise (talking) from adjacent rooms could be heard. Heaters (radiatiors) in room / bathroom didn't work when turned on.

    Breakfast was good, and restaurant for even meal was also good. Close to supermarket

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a little tired & parking area could do with a clean up.

    Excellent breakfast, good location & really pleasant staff. Lovely old building with character (wonky floors).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed had a really old mattress that you could feel all the springs, if we had been staying for more than one night I would have complained and asked to be moved.

    It has really friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was of poor quality. The fan in the en-suite was noisy. The plumbing was quite extraordinary. ok it was an old building but every time we use the water for showering, toilet or wash basin it was like an aircraft was landing, never heard anything like it. the bed was not the best either, lumpy. outside the general state of decoration was dreadful, badly needed painting.

    staff were friendly and welcoming.evening meal was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the Hand prior to a narrow boat trip from the marina at Chirk. We were provided a place to store our bags after checkout prior to our report time at the marina. The Hand staff arranged our transport to the marina when it was time. After our narrow boat trip we had a few hours to spend in Chirk prior to our train. The hand staff generously allowed us to store our bags as we wondered about town and lunched at the Hand. Frank and Lou took very good care of us and our traveling partners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Primarily seems to be a commercial hotel. Rooms are adequate and bed comfortable, but bathroom a little tired.

    Interesting old coaching hotel. Good reasonably priced food in restaurant. Comfortable bed Excellent breakfast Quiet location despite being on High Street in Chirk. Very convenient location for Chirk Aqueduct, Chirk Castle, Llangollen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming, comfy lounge and fire. Bed was very comfortable. Food in restaurant was freshly cooked and the breakfast was good. Next to bus stop and shops and station was within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need updating, the bathroom was horrible mold all over the walls, the shower cubicle was dirty,very horrible bathroom, the rooms were really cold & alot of noise sounded like funiture been moved above us from 11:30 till about 1ish in the morning

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hand is well located right in the centre of Chirk; whilst on the Main Street, it was quiet overnight. All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful. My room was spacious and comfortable, though the decor was a little dated. The bar is lively and welcoming. Food in the bar was excellent and good value; the mega-burger with all the trimmings was delicious and massive! Breakfast is served buffet style with plenty of hot choices, though the cereal and fruit selection was a little more limited. Overall, pretty good. The friendly atmosphere and food in the bar really made it for me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit old fashioned. Could do with revamping.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Close to A5 and easy access to Llangollan. Food was excellent and quickly served

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly helpful staff. The bar was comfy and welcoming with some good beers and a huge choice of gins. Large comfy room and a good breakfast. Will stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, we were told we have to pay in full straight away due to other guests (quote) "doing a runner". We were given our key to room 11 (main road facing, second floor). Our journey from reception to our room was very interesting (see attached photos). Every fire exit was wedged open by either a wedge, cardboard or fire extinguisher, followed by bare wires which protruded at head height and within easy reach. When questioned at reception to the manager and the owner of the business I was told the electrician had to rush off and left it like that along with the cleaners had secured the doors open to assist the cleaning duties. On entering the room, as you can see by the photos of the mattress, having pulled back the sheet (2 brown patches above the 500mm radius yellow stain and a select number of short and curlies. These rooms are dog friendly rooms which evidence can be seen on the bottom base of the bed, in the way of stains on the outside corners and joints (Well, I hope it was from the dogs!!). The building is single glazed with badly fitted windows and broken catches. The rest of the hotel seemed tired, tatty and unloved. Watch out for the wood processing plant which operated the whole time we were in Chirk, kicking out clouds of fragranced steam. Apart from that........

    Easy to find, ample parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating,as with the pub Funny stale smell throughout the whole building Towel need to be bigger , unless your a size 8/10 they don't cover all It states that wifi cannot sometimes operate upstairs, I'm not sure why as I could hear the people in the rooms either side using the toilets as the walls were so thin.

    Friendly staff Comfy bed with clean crisp sheets Nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite bathroom was poorly designed and took up a significant amount of room space. Perfectly usable just not very well laid out, but it's only a minor criticism.

    Lovely staff, very characterful as befits a 400 year old property. Location is superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small and the walls thin - and some of the other guests had no concept of regard for other patrons. But this is a pub, and some noise is to be expected. We managed.

    This hotel is not for everyone - it was built in the 1600s and is one of the oldest pubs in Britain. We were there because we wanted to do some family history research in the area and this hotel was ideally situated. The town of Chirk had all the facilities we required, and not as much traffic as other larger towns in the area. We found the Chirk viaduct quite by accident and had a very enjoyable afternoon walk along it - recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the starter at the evening meal was very skimpy, I asked for the breaded cheese and chutney and that is all you got - 2 small pieces of deep fried cheese in breadcrumbs with a small pot of chutney on a plate. there is normally a minimum of at least 3 pieces wherever else I have eaten plus a bed of rocket or salad leaves not just these on their own.

    The Hand is a 400 years old building so there are going to be little problems here and there but nothing the staff can't sort out. the friendliness of the staff is superb, they are most helpful and the banter between them and the public is great. the breakfast is excellent value for money, it is self service on a Sunday so things can be less than optimum heat but it is still good. the main evening meals and desserts are also excellent value. the locality is great, a short walk down the road to the aqueduct on the canal and only a couple of miles to the heritage site where the other aqueduct is. you are within striking distance of several historic towns plus the Cheshire Oaks shopping center near Ellesmere Port if you fancy checking out the latest styles and foods.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine. The hotel is old but very charming and has significant historical credentials.

    Location is great, right in the middle of all things Chirk. We walked to the castle from the Hand! Staying at the Hand is going back to be a part of history. Staff very friendly and helpful, exceeding expectations. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed-would have preferred twin or king. Had to find a stick to prop open the window in a room that was too warm, and which faced a wall-Room 4. This is no doubt because we booked a cheap room through Booking.com! No comfortable lounge area to sit with the dog if the weather had been poor.

    We took a dog. The beer garden, dog friendly, was the best we've seen. Tasty food. Steak not tender on second night and they didn't charge for that meal at all. Some downstairs refurbished and modernised.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit untidy to the rear of the property. Always of concern when there is food served.

    Old but well presented and a great atmosphere. Bad a little hard but that's obviously a persona;l opinion. Would book there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with a fresh bit of paint, an shower was poor, not much power an didnt get hot?

    Very friendly staff. Helped us out to get early breakfast. Good evening meals too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light in the bathroom was a bit dim. Reported that the bathroom door stuck and the kettle only worked if you held the button down - small problems that didn't spoil our stay

    All round nice hotel... liked the history behind it too as it's the oldest hotel in Wales

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stain on the side of the bed. The leak in the bathroom. The shower had a shelf I kept knocking my arm on. The smokers and loud night life under the window that we could hear and smell.

    The restaurant meal was absolutely superb!! 10/10 The staff were very helpful and courteous. The history of the hotel that you could read as you explored. Free parking. The selection of gins and the staff's knowledge of them.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: