Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Harboro Hotel

Burton Street, Melton Mowbray, LE13 1AF, United Kingdom

#6 of 8 hotels in Melton Mowbray

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 745 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from guests talking outside; when windows closed because of this rooms got a bit hot

    Very friendly staff; comfortable beds and well appointed rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to carry my heavy bag up, although it’s understandable due to the age.

    I mostly liked its close proximity to the train station. The place was quiet, clean and upgraded.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was modern, bathroom was great (even had a tv over the bath!). Are my evening meal in the restaurant and it was good. Free car park at the rear of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room had no chair(s) so obviously guests would sit on edge of bed making the mattress slope to one side giving you a slight feeling of falling out of bed. A very minor point.

    Food & Drink excellent. Service prompt. Could not be faulted. Very satisfied Customer

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar could have been open longer to residents, but it wasn't a problem.

    The experience exceeded my expectations and I would recommend it to family. I had previous knowledge of the Harboro and the staff were really welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel. The room was lovely and very clean as was everywhere else in the hotel. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent and as was the service. Prices were excellent. The owner was very friendly and very hands on which is nice to see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    either air con or a better cooling system in the room other than one fan

    Everything, the room was spotless and comfy, the food excellent and the staff were first class.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    whilst the room was comfortable, the weather was hot and humid, the lack of a viable aircon, meant had to open the window, which then put the road noise in play as an annouance

    Good parking, room was comfortable ( see below comment). Bar noise was not an issue.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for one night, whilst attending a family party nearby. Our party were put in 2 old rooms (106 and 107) - nothing like the pictures on booking.com. Upon checking in we were told 'sorry you're in an old room because you booked through booking.com'. As compensation they offered us a free breakfast. Our room hadn't been decorated since the early 80s at best and was stiflingly hot. The ceiling fan wobbled precariously, as though it was about to fly off the ceiling. It did not work without having the light on, so during the night we had to have the window open. The room was at the front of the pub and was therefore incredibly noisy as traffic went past. I'm pretty sure I could hear trains all through the night too. As a result, I barely slept and we checked out early in the morning. We didn't even bother to have the breakfast as we just wanted to get home as soon as possible. Thankfully, we had already got mostly ready for the party before arriving - I wouldn't have fancied using the shower/bath as it was pretty grim.

    The bed was reasonably comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the fact is was on the road side and heavy trucks went through all night some even shook the room. The shower was not great. Very hot despite having a fan which you thought would fly off the ceiling .

    The room was big and spacious with desk plus table and chairs . Had a comfortable double bed and single bed . Bath was great for those who like a soak including head rest and tv in bath . Very clean . Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were not very comfortable for us as they were a bit hard. The pressure in the shower was not good - perhaps because the building is quite old. Rooms were good though

    The food was good and served hot and really good value. Staff were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the room was pretty bad, although I could have had a bath. There were no instructions on how to use the T.V properly as it interconnected with the bathroom; I'm sure it would have worked well; but it just didn't work for me; as I was only using room as a base; (I was there with friends and we were out all night) Check out is to early and you had to pay extra if you wanted breakfast, which at the price they charge for a room; should be complementary; in my opinion.

    2 Minutes walk from train station, near the Town center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room hadn’t been refurbished and they hadn’t informed me that , the room looked like a seventys through back but falling apart , it was just sleepable

    The property was clean and modern except some of the rooms were still to be refurbished, which was our room , they never mentioned it on the phone but they did knock some money so I was happy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You couldn't get the window to stay open in our bedroom and as it was very hot the room was unbearably stuffy and hot. However it was very clean. The double bed is very small and as my hubby is 6ft we weren't all that comfortable. Bigger beds would be great!

    It was ideally situated for our needs and the staff were lovely and friendly. We were only there for a short visit so didn't get to enjoy the food but it looked very good and reasonably priced. There was a lot of local people eating and drinking in the bar which was a good sign. There is no lift so if you have disability issues this is not the hotel for you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very hard and the room was very warm so we didn't sleep well.

    Bar and restaurant area is nice and open with good beers and food at reasonable prices The room we had was nicely decorated and clean - it looked like it had been recently refurbished. The hotel has free parking around the back and is close to the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the rooms could do with a few improvements but there is ongoing upgrading work on an old listed property.

    The staff are always great here - really helpful and friendly - can't do enough for you! The food is great and the breakfasts are really good - fried bread in particular!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed seemed a little small and room too warm, fan installed but too noisy to have on at night. Traffic noise if at front of hotel.

    Location, cleanliness. Great bar and restaurant and outside seating are.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault this place one bit just maybe if the bar stayed open longer

    Facilities, staff, food, drink, distance from train station. Everything ideal for what u need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard not comfortable the room was very hot and you couldn’t open the windows they did give you a fan but it was to noisy and didn’t help and there was the sound of water trickling down a pipe all night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impression on arrival was a very noisy bar but I think there were some functions going on, this soon subsided and we had a very pleasant evening and meal in the restaurant.

    Hotel located in the centre of town, comfortable bed and good clean room with good en-suite facilities, extensive food menu with traditional British and Indian food available, food and drink very reasonably priced, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was very low and the temperature control was hit and miss. There was no window in our room and it was far too hot, there was a fan however this just circulated the already hot air. An air conditioning unit would really be required.

    The location was ideal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was very uncomfortable, could feel the spring cage inside it so ended up putting a couple of towels on it too soften the cage feeling!

    Room was a fair size, friendly staff, all facilities you need and good sized portions in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starting earlier would have been good and would have liked croissants etc to have. Some of the logging in the bedroom didn't work.

    Loved everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of breakfast it used to be included.

    The rooms were comfortable and clean the staff ameanable.The evening meal was good and convenient for a family get together.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was first given a room with no windows and it smelt musty. Then I was given a room where the blinds were full of dust and falling down on one side. Could not open the window.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, every thing was spot on for our needs

    Room very clean, and reception very helpful when booking in. Restaurant meal was very good, and terrific value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had difficulty in operating shower but having reported it,the problem was corrected.

    I was originally allocated a twin room,whereupon the receptionist changed it to a double.Comfy bed and tv that worked straight away!! Superb quality breakfast. They serve my favourite beer,Timothy Taylor’s Landlord at £2:80 a pint!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard and very small. The water pressure in the shower and basin was terrible ( hot and cold and dribbled out ). The jug needed replacing ( had to fiddle with it to make it work ).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and no wardrobe to hang clothes and no where to put suitcase, so it sat on floor at end of bed, resulting in having to step over it on way to bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating in our room was initially turned off, but this was quickly sorted out. The restaurant closes at 5 PM on Sunday's this caught us out!

    The staff were very helpful and the food was very good and also very good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a family room for 3 guests. We checked in and went up to room to find that the room only had a double bed in. Went back to reception to be met with a rather rude and abrupt member of staff who tried to blame me and booking.com????

    Very clean and modern. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 116, which was a bit small, had nowhere to put our cases.

    It's hard to think of anything I could fault, to be honest I was amazed how good EVERTHING was, nothing was too much for the staff, I was attending a reunion and I hope that if we have another next year it's in the same place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea at breakfast comes through a filter machine and was awful. Luckily our waitress was lovely and brought us a teapot to the table.

    We asked for, and received, a newly refurbished room. The room was good with the exception of the lighting; one bulb was out and the area by the mirror was very dark. The bar area was modern and showed sport on the TVs which suited our party The full breakfast was very good. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were unable to lock our bedroom door from the inside. We did not realise this until both our children were asleep so we just wedged it closed with a chair which was not ideal or very safe. Room 209.

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent and lovely clean facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    window that wouldn't close so welcomed to a cold room .. staff came to fix but still had a small gap hot water that spurted so a shower was either red hot or freezing and no real power to it

    staff all lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath was stuck tightly between two walls, and the only way to access it was from one end. When I did manage to get into it, the water pressure of the shower was poor, and the temperature varied depending on how high I held the shower head.

    Clean and extremely friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was not very good if your were late of getting back your were lucky to get a parking space.

    Good only trouble is the parking the meals were very good and the services first class

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to the fact I was traveling with my 86 year old mum it was unfortunate that the hotel didn't have a lift or a walk in shower. (both of which I should have checked before booking)

    Hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff on check in were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are much smaller than others, beds are brand new but not that comfortable. Rooms at the front of hotel suffer from traffic noise.

    Centre of town location. On site free car park. Good wi fi. Rooms are refurbished to a very good standard. There is a large bar and restaurant as part of the hotel with a large menu and good quality food and value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 114 quite small with no window compared to say room 111 which was very good and a room in which my 2 friends stayed

    Eating area and bar and Indian food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a minor issue with the showers.

    The staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble. They even booked a table in the restaurant for 10 of us at short notice when they were extremely busy. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small with very little storage for clothes. Needed member of staff to fix shower before we could use it, and it wasn't very good even then: small shower head, and water temperature fluctuated considerably. Window timbers were rotting and in need of replacement.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was internal with no natural light. The window into the corridor meant every time someone was in the corridor the light flooded into the room. The walls were very thin I had to ask the porter to tell the person next door to turn their tv of after midnight. The room was far too hot and the air con didn’t work. The WiFi didn’t work. One of the bedside lights didn’t work. Very poor experience. I would not go back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom - no tissues Busy road outside and as no double glazing it was little noisy in day , but they are putting in secondary double glazing soon which will be better.

    Great location. Comfortable room. Warm room. Friendly staff. Good cooked breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Convenient. Near to the train station. Rooms recently refurbished and include all extras, don’t have to get from reception (iron + board; fan; etc)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful selection of food and were able to eat from an extensive and authentic curry menu or British style menu ....My Vindaloo was top-notch ...Well done chef Two local bars serving local ales on the door-step too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature on the room floor and in the room was a lot lower than I'd have liked.

    The staff were approachable, friendly and helpful, even at 1 in the morning! The room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the shower in the room, we had trouble getting the temperature right. We mentioned to staff at breakfast but they were not able to help, they said no one from maintenance was around on a Saturday!

    Room was clean, breakfast was excellent. Location was good for our trip, short drive to Twin Lakes and to Oakham/Rutland Water area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard but that's really nit picking to try and find something wrong. Was lovely all rounder

    Nice property with good facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Burton Road noisy after 5am

    Really superb room lots of comfort, well set out and designed Real ales in the bar Friendly no hassle welcome Value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold as radiator was not working it was obviously an ongoing issue and I was given a small fan heater. This was ok but was not man enough to hear the bathroom as well and was noisey. Not what you expect of what was described as a deluxe double room

    Good food and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, bathroom, although nice, water pressure was rubbish especially in the shower. It's the same for alot of places in Leicester.

    Modern room, nicely decorated, comfortable bed decent tv, staff were pleasant, food was nice and plenty of choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs to explain about the refurbishment, that some rooms do not have a window, or some rooms do not have a wardrobe but a hanging rail. Only two hangers! No hooks to hang coats, No shelves or hooks in bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 103 has the kitchen extractor out side the window. Very noisy like an airplane background noise as only single glassed window and the room fills with chip fat smell....had to wash all my clothes when i got home. Wifi signal strong but connection very slow.... 0.8mbs - to slow for some apps to work. Sometimes wouldn't work at all. VERY POOR WIFI

    The price and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 121 overlooking a boiler/plant room - very noisy though the night - avoid! It is understood, however, that some form of sound proofing/insulation is to be installed to reduce noise levels.

    A refurbished, clean hotel with friendly staff and very good food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfy bed, small clean room, shower nice and hot, shame about the nice, modern chrome rads, they were stone cold!! pleased there was a small portable heater in the room which blew out warm air! Breakfast was excellent!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit chilly and draughty

    The evening meal was excellent quality and superb value for money. The 2 for £10 deal was great Breakfast very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally a good hotel. But on this occasion the room had so many faults with it, toilet never flushed, shower was slow, room was cold due to poor window installation, we had to use a fan heater to stay warm. When checking out and after being asked how was your stay by the girl at the desk instead of dealing with a complaint the young girl said to a member of staff you can deal with this and walked away

    Staff are good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was a lift for those of us with mobility difficulties. Also, wish that the rooms had better glazing to diminish the traffic noise. When we stay next year we will ask for a room further back.

    Incredible breakfast! Locally sourced and cooked within sight

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a lift as my son is uneasy on his feet and some of the stairs had a sharp turn on them. We managed though.

    The room was very clean and well finished in a modern style. Everything worked and the bed was comfortable. Room 211 is at the back and very quiet considering the accommodation is above a busy restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room little chilly ,even though radiators on warm, bed rather hard as on a wooden platform base.

    Friendly welcomming Staff, beatuful room with tea coffee facilities iron and fan heater available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the traffic outside, the rooms could benefit from double glazing to try and minimise the noise

    The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast yummy and staff friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking in the car park was a bit of a nightmare, however we managed to find a place eventually to park.

    Comfy bed and quiet room (115). The staff were all really nice and friendly. The best bit was that it was close to everything we needed and had onsite bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small but not really an issue as only stayed for 1 night. Noise from the road outside kept me awake most of the night due and as the window was not double glazed the room was quite cold. No tea bags in the room but plenty of coffee.

    The bathroom was amazing! Bath huge and even had a TV (although the signal on the bathroom TV was a bit poor). Room nicely decorated and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was not convenient as both my sister and I have a disability. Also no lift in the hotel.

    Size of room was convenient for us as a family. Staff were very friendly and the food was extremely good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better signage for hotel car park.

    Staff were friendly and made booking in and out easy. Hotel in good central area. Breakfast was good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A teaspoon in the room would have been handy and the coffee in the hotel was not of a good quality. The bedroom was not very big but for one night was adequate. There was no bin in the bathroom

    The room was fairly comfortable and the bathroom spotless. The evening dinner that we had at the hotel was tasty and a good portion size. The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park at the back is being used as a builders yard for the ongoing refurbishment so lots of materials/debris to avoid; the Deluxe items in the room didn't work - the TV in the bathroom, the light on the bathroom mirror, toilet roll holder hanging off wall; wall light fittings did not work properly, one had a false plate and no wiring; beds were very hard; room overlooking the street was noisy as everyone congregates outside to smoke and original old sash windows do not keep the noise or the cold out; having to pay in advance for 3 breakfasts on arrival. To be fair the full English breakfasts were brilliant and worth the money but we also had to pay £7.49 for our daughter's breakfast, there is no choose and pay for what you have option, she had scrambled eggs which were overcooked and rubbery which she left and a cup of tea, too expensive in my opinion. There is a Wetherspoons up the road which would be a better alternative. We did report all of the above to the receptionist on checking out and she made a list and just said she was sorry the room was not up to the standard expected for the price paid.

    Good size family room with one single bed and one large double bed. Hotel is being refurbished and the decor in the room and the bar/restaurant area is looking lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was near the back door of the bar. Noisy smokers were under the window until finishing time. Also over an extractor fan.

    Convenient and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good, clean place in a convenient location north of Leicester. Melton Mowbray is a lovely stopover for long dull business trips, perfect for evening strolls and with plenty of restaurants around. Private parking in the back of the hotel, nice pub and restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy, bed not very comfy and the bathroom mirror light would not turn off. The shower did not operate very well.

    Room tidy, outlook poor, bathroom ok but shower was not good, I couldn't find the off switch for the bathroom mirror light.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is what I'd describe as a drinking/ cheaper eats type hotel (chain style pub with rooms), so it was extremely busy and noisy when I arrived. This wasn't a huge issue though as you couldn't hear that much noise once in the room upstairs. However, I was in a bedroom on the front of the hotel facing the main road and I think the windows were old and single glazed, because every time a lorry went past the windows vibrated and it was extremely loud- I struggled to sleep until quite late due to the traffic noise. The wifi in the room was intermittent so I ended up using my phone as a hotspot.

    The room was new and renovated, the bathroom and bedroom were clean and neat. The bedroom itself was large and the TV was also large

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we found out there was a wedding taking place with very loud music and our room was directly above this, we were told the music would be going on until at least 11.30pm, so we were offered an alternative room that had not been refurbished. This room was very tired with poor fitting windows, as we were only there for one night we took this room I had my 11 year old son with me and needed to get a good nights sleep as he was attending a local rugby festival the next day. We were offered free breakfast for taking the older room, but it would have been helpful to have this information about the hotel prior to booking as I probably wouldn’t have booked it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside vehicle noise, blimey I heard every truck, car and bike pass by Sounds like the windows were open so not a good nights sleep deffo ask for a room facing the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper, but this would not put me off staying here again. Oh and the breakfast took 45 mins but that was due to staff shortage (some one having a cheekie lyin)

    Location Food was good Staff were good Room was great Bed very comfy Bathroom lovely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dog friendly rooms available. Beds aren't the comfiest.

    On site car park. Newly refurbished rooms to a good standard. Wi fi works well. Centre of town location. Very pleasant & helpful staff. Is part of a large bar/restaurant, great good value food & service.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: