Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Harbour Lights

26 Broad Street, Ilfracombe, EX34 9BL, United Kingdom

#15 of 24 B&Bs and Inns in Ilfracombe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 234 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A better menu choice at breakfast

    The place is owned and run by two brothers who were pleasant enough It’s a cheap stay for cyclists or walkers passing through It needs a update Somewhere to sit downstairs in the evening would be great there is space it just needs designing I felt the room was cramped as the furniture was arranged wrongly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. For the money excellent all round value

    The overall ambience and friendliness of the staff. Well situated near the harbour and car park 100 metres away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent, family-run bed and breakfast. All the family were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really good and would sometimes see me through until the evening. The position of the hotel is very convenient. I would certainly book with them again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only criticism was the comfort of the bed in room 9. I think the mattress could do with changing as it was not supportive at all and unfortunately the springs could be felt which made it very uncomfortable.

    Nick and Alex were wonderful, as were their parents, could not do enough for us. Lovely touch on our last morning, a post card was left on our breakfast table, thanking us for the business and wishing us a pleasant drive home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and tidy pleasant friendly staff good breakfast. well situated in the heart of ilfracombe restaurants pubs and attractions just a walk away

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was superb

    The owners were excellent and could not do enough for me.The room was spotless and the breakfast superb setting you up for the day. Excellent holiday and will definitely recommend 10/10.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The B&B was spot on and the two brothers who run Harbour lights were great, full of information and had a couple of long chats with them both. they are thinking of doing the restaurant up, currently they only do breakfasts which was very good. Its a bit dated but clean, we had room number 8 which is on the 3rd floor no lifts here, but not a problem for us. A very light and airy room, there is noise from the pub across the road which we knew about again not a problem for us, ear plugs were provided if needed. Good location no parking but public car park just around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received a very warm welcome from both Nick and Alex on our arrival. Our room was lovey clean spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was really good. The location was fantastic, right in the heart of the town ideal for some of the lovely bars and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only there 3 nights :(

    The staff (twins Nick & Alex) were by far the most welcoming people of any hotel/guest house we've ever stayed in. Good local knowledge, very attentive and genuinely caring about their guests. They felt more like friends. Breakfast was lovely. Room was lovely. Whole building was lovely. We loved it and will be back with family. Garry & Alisha

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A non slip mat in the shower

    Great welcome plenty of information. Comfortable clean room, excellent breakfast But best of all the Rudge family a nothing was too much trouble for them

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet made some interesting noises when flushed, yet somehow added to the charm of the place.

    The full English breakfast was perfectly sized. I particularly liked the postcard on the final morning thanking us for our stay - a lovely gesture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was no private car parking, but public one nearby,

    Very nice place, lovely staff nice comfortable and clean room and bathroom, tasty breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of stairs as most rooms are 3rd floor, They do clearly warn you about this though and there is nothing they can do. The town is very steep so bear in mind if older or with toddlers maybe.

    Very good breakfasts, polite and cheerful staff. Very lovely stay overall. Room was well stocked with tea and biscuits and water etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower had poor water flow and was temperamental, I never managed to get it to sustain the right temperature! Parking is in a nearby car park, so that needs to be added to the budge - but reasonably priced, at £6 per 24 hours.

    The single room was large and comfortable, with a good range of different lighting. Attention to detail was excellent,including fresh flowers on the breakfast table, and lovely home made smoothies. I would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (3 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ruth Nick and Alex were such lovely hosts. Nothing was any trouble for them. It is a family run B & B and we loved every bit of it. The room was lovely with an extra sitting room so we had plenty of space. Ruth was happy to take care of our laundry for a very reasonable fee and the boys were so helpful with bags and parking etc. Would definitely recommend this Guesthouse to anyone and Ilfracombe - what a delightful surprise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family that run the B&B were lovely. Breakfast was excellent & my husband gave 55 out of 10 the eggs!!! He had poached eggs 1 day & then scrambled the next & they were perfect. We had great banter with one of the sons named Alex & had a fantastic stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get the shower to run warm let alone hot. Only thing rest was excellent.

    Friendliness of the staff from start to finish of my stay. Food very good and plenty of helpful info regarding what to do in the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing I can say wrong. I visited 5 other B&B during my trip, but this was the best. Very clean but with spirit, perfect place directly in harbour (1 minute from sea), friendly staff, fast reaction on booking.com (I had trouble with previous accommodation and fast booking saved my holidays literaly during day - so big thanks). Room was light, modern, very well maintained and with little joyfull details. Strong wifi signal. Breakfast great and I specialy enjoyed morning smoothie drink. Also fantastic place for solo traveler. Very nice single room. Next time this will be my first and only choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (3 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in room 3, it felt shabby, in need of a complete overhaul. The bedroom had 3 electric plugs and each of them had a four point extension lead fixed to it and these just lay loose on the floor. The bathroom was clean but again dated, needed re tiling. Light switches were in odd places.

    The position of the b and b was good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing perfect stay. Intend to come here again

    Exactly as Advertised. Lovely family run B&B. They could not be more helpful. We had the sea view room on the top floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We liked the location, the lovely decor and lightness of all rooms and corridors. We found the family who ran the hotel to be very hospitable, nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing its just a shame they dont have a car park although outside is ok while you load and unload. parking available very close but 6.00 pound a day

    the staff could not do enough for you for you the breakfast was excellent and the rooms were comfortable and well designed. extra touches were great bottles of water in your room and a little bag of sweets

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Oh dear I did have a problem with the shower!!

    All in all a wonderful place to stay everybody was so friendly, nothing was too much trouble breakfast was incredible, only downside was the shower!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was extremely friendly. The front doot is just around the corner to the harbour and it was beautiful. The rooms were exceptional, not new but perfectly maintained and clean. Very quiet and restful. Loads to do in the area for all ages, includong boat trips for seal or dolphin watching and would definitely recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is not a criticism just a heads up, if you are not fully fit , make sure you are not on the top floor as there are 54 stairs to the top, but this is stated on the site when booking.

    This family run guest house is in a fantastic location, the service is brilliant, everyone is friendly and helpful and we had a lovely 4 night stay. The room had tea making facilities and bottled water and a TV and is cleaned on a daily basis. The breakfast is great, fruit juices, tea, coffee, cereal, and a range of cooked breakfasts right up to full English. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just be aware that parking in Ilfracombe is expensive. The Ropery car park is only yards from the property and it's one of the cheaper ones, but it is still £6 per 24 hours, so come armed with plenty of change.

    The family who run the Harbour Lights are, without exception, very thoughtful, genuinely friendly and efficient and professional. They give clear and helpful information before the stay and during it. Breakfasts are superb and delicious. The smoothies are a particularly nice touch. I even got a sea view and the stairs that enabled me to see it helped burn off the breakfast calories.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A quiet BB right in the heart of Ilfracombe, wonderful staff that go that extra mile to make your stay perfect. Great breakfast menu with little touches to give you a boost in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired property. Bit musty smell.sink in bedroom not bathroom not great. Lock on window broken. Had to phone owners at 1 in morning because lock on bedroom door wouldnt open. They got into room with ladder. Helpful but no security....and it had happened before.

    Staff very hepful.breakfast good. Location central. Beds comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed all aspects of our stay.

    Staff were very attentive to the individual needs of all guests. Staff were most hospitable and generous with their help and advice generally and also about what to do and where to visit etc

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not sure what we expected but this was beyond it. Very friendly, very comfortable and very close to the harbour. We had a fab time and will hopefully be back soon

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - all good

    Lovely family run hotel. Lots of little extras to make your holiday complete. Wonderful hosts with plenty of local knowledge. Breakfasts excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything ... I was lucky to book the only single room and it would be great if all B&Bs had more of these.

    Attention from the family staff: they were marvellous and anticipated every need, including towing my ridiculous suitcase up three floors and improving my flaky geography of Ilfracombe, helpfully drawing me maps and indicating bus stops. For such a central location it felt secure. My rooftop room was also tranquil and I slept marvellously, a great start to my annual trip to Lundy island being just 50 metres stagger from the Oldenburg departure quay. For a single room it was generously sized, and had the luxury of a proper en suite bath! WIFI also great. I shall come again ...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a lovely place - the staff clearly take great pleasure in offering warm hospitality and paying attention to every last detail. And the breakfast is delightful. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit firm for me, and bolster a bit lumpy! Shower is as described but not really usable as the mixer taps don't stay mixed at a stable temperature. I would have liked a choice of bedding as the room was very warm, but I'm sure they would have supplied happily if I had asked. Room smelt a bit of stale cigarettes to me.

    Very friendly staff, homely atmosphere, helpful. Breakfast kept me going well through the day and was good value . Central location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Lovely place, great location, super friendly staff, very attentive and helpful, everything you wish and much more, delicious breakfast,very comfortable bed, very clean room. Enjoyed our stay so much, will come back and thoroughly recommend to everybody.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although very nicely decorated, we found the bathroom a little bit on the small side. Also some people with mobility/respiratory problems, may find the stairs to the rooms a problem, but a good way of working off that big breakfast!

    Great friendly welcome. Wonderful location and our room had a partial view of the harbour. Nice breakfast with lovely homemade smoothies. Parked the car in the nearby car park - £6 for 24hrs which we thought was reasonable. Overall we had a great little break, so a big thank you to Harbour Lights!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (3 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit dated but very clean and proprietors could not be more welcoming.

    Very friendly welcome.breakfast each day was lovely and views from Harbour were stunning.well worth doing the coastal walks as the scenery is outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisy at knight at the week end but was warned of this may be secondary glazing may help !

    Views where good and the staff very friendly made us feel at home, a very nice place to visit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely place to stay, family run and the owners could not have been more helpful. Excellent breakfast each morning with lots of choice, beautifully cooked and presented. Lots of helpful local information given and we were made to feel very much at home. The room was perfect for us, clean and with a sea view, the seagulls were noisy but ear plugs were provided if desired to the owners had clearly thought of everything, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Alex and Nick were great hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Little attention to detail made all the difference. Glad of fan in room! Loved the breakfast menu. I had to wimp out second day and had mini breakfast. Highly recommend 👌

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Short of the weather everything was perfect

    Friendliness of the owners,nothing was to much trouble.could not fault accommodation in any way Would recommend to anyone

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bigger bathroom preferably with a bath would have been nice but shower was ok.

    Lovely top floor room with separate bedrooms for me and my daughter. Bathroom was a little cramped but adequate. Breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked. The family running the business couldn't be more welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would be good to extend the breakfast time on a Sunday to 10am instead of 9.30. Minor though.

    Al and Nick were so helpful. They went out of there way for us to ensure we were well looked after.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that the property in itself can improve.

    Staff and service were excellent - 100% customer focussed. Breakfast was great, and location within a stones throw from the harbour was great. Parking was easy too at the Ropery car park just along the street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room i had was three floors up , and there was no lift, keeps you fit all those stairs.

    the property was close to the harbour , and the restaurants and some nice pubs ,and you did not have to go any hills to get to any of them.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Right in the heart of Ilfracombe, at the piers entrance, within walking distance of all sites, attractions, restaurants, and bars. Which makes it perfect for those who want to take in all that Ilfracombe has to offer, both day and night. Good size room that was spotless, with good facilities, and storage, and some nice little touches with bottled water, tea & coffee making facilities, soaps shampoo's, shower gel etc. and plenty of clean towels. There was also a hairdryer, not that I needed it. The two bothers Alex, and Nick (Identical twins) were very helpful, and informative about all aspects of my stay, and on request allowed me to check in late, and prepared some breakfast sandwiches for me to take away, due to an early start. Public car park. 100 mtrs away (£6.00 - 24hrs)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs if your disabled not for you, a little disapointed at the breakfast the sausages only chipolatas, the shower was not good needs updating it was over the bath with a mixer tap, outdated not good value for money in my opinion.

    Room was good clean bed was reasonable close to the harbour.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near harbour so ideal for trip to Lundy. Bed comfortable. Sea view. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good choice for breakfast. Lots of stairs but staff will willingly carry bags up for you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fantastic breakfast which set me up for the days ahead walking the coastal path.. alex was very attentive nothing was too much trouble for him and the room was nice clean and cosy will defo be going back!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have preferred black out curtains as the light woke us up very early!

    We were made to feel really welcome both on our arrival and at breakfast time. The room was cosy and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast and were grateful for the gluten free option. Great to be near to Woolacombe where we spent a lovely day and we loved the local pub in Ilfracombe - the Ship and Pilot with very friendly staff and regulars.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hospitality and food were great as was the location. We walked out the front door and over the road to the small beach area and a short 2 min walk and we were in the small harbour. Very good weekend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (3 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the rooms are a little tired and dated but the family were superb

    The lovely family run atmosphere ... at breakfast each morning all the family spoke to us and the breakfast was superb

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Just got back from a lovely couple of days staying at the Harbour Lights. This is a family run business and every effort is made to make the guests feel welcome. We had a very clean, spacious room and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was well cooked, plentiful and served with a smile. As well as the tea and coffee in our room, there were bottles of water, biscuits and sweets. We would not hesitate to stay here again when we are in Ilfracombe. Wishing the family the best of luck for the future and hope to see you again one day soon!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say. Cannot fault at all..

    Perfect. We actually stayed an extra night. Steve,Ruth & Nick were perfect host's. Breakfast is not to be missed. Plenty of drinking & eating places all within walking distance. Would have stayed longer but couldn't on this occasion. We will be back..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (3 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice to have really comfy squishy sofa and chair in separate lounge

    Lovely breakfasts especially the bacon Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff Location Comfy bed Separate lounge 1st floor room Bath

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a lift to the required floor.

    Helpful and friendly family run B&B. Excellent location near the Harbour. Also excellent location for bus routes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazingly helpful and the whole atmosphere brilliant - they even lent me some cuff links for the wedding we were attending !!! Fabulous !!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really enjoyable short break to visit family in Devon. Lovely to step out the door in the morning and have a stroll round the harbour area. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. Windows open windows closed. Exactly the same noise. Gotta love sash Windows. Advertisement should state this when booking. Also car parking we had to pay £6 a day

    Breakfast superb. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 4 needs black out blinds or curtains as the room is never dark due to very bright street light outside B & B.

    Very friendly staff. Clean room and fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception area on arrival seemed a little dingy and old-fashioned Just a little modernisation of the reception/dining area would enhance and properly reflect the rest of this lovely little hotel.

    This is an historically old building but our rooms were all updated well, attractive, light and very clean. The family who run the hotel are also very welcoming and were lovely throughout our stay. Breakfast menu was excellent, loved the choice of standard or mini full English breakfast, which were cooked to perfection, and the alternative choices were also great..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ---0---

    We particularly liked the warm welcome from the hosts, the little homely touches throughout, the attentivenes and helpfulness of the owners/hosts. The breakfast was excellent, the room and bathroom clean and we appreciated the views of the harbour, sea and cliffs. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only preference would have been the option of a softer pillow to use. This however is a personal choice. Also, our room was described as a sea view. Although you can see the sea it is only a tiny peep through buildings.

    A very friendly check in with all information we needed to know of how to park, coming in and out of the residence and breakfast times. The place is a tiny bit dated but spotlessly clean and the room accommodates all your needs. My daughter especially likes having her own little room within ours. She was very cosy. Breakfast was also delicious with more than enough choice. The location is perfect. A little wander in each direction to shops, food, pubs, entertainment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite (3 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only drawback was not having their own parking, but this is out of their control. We were able to park close by in a car park where the cost was fairly reasonable.

    Very good full English Breakfast, comfortable beds and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay £6 to park our car each day, should have been some sort of concession. As soon as we got through the front door the place smelt of cooking and musty. The twin room we had was so dull it was depressing and there was a basin in the bedroom right by one of the beds, as the toilet was in with the shower in a separate cubby hole, I had to turn side-ways to get into the shower, I thought this arrangement unhygienic. The breakfast was good and the proprietor was helpful in that he refunded our money for the second day as we didn't want to stay.

    The location of the hotel was good. Breakfast was good and well served.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NA

    The owners of the hotel were always ready to help, also professional while easy-going. I enjoyed my stay and, would recommend to others. The home made smothie was excellent !!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Central location with good breakfast and friendly hosts. Short walk to harbour and close to the start of the South West Coast Path. Several very good restaurants close by.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything

    Ruth and Steve were very welcoming, the room had everything I required. I met their son Nick at breakfast, he was very chatty and informative about the B&B, Ruth made sure I had everything I needed throughout my stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Comfortable room, but on the 3rd floor.155 steps! Our choice though as we wanted a sea view. Excellent choice of breakfast. Extremely friendly staff. Perfectly situated . Can be noisy in the evening though. Earplugs provided!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room a little noisy at times but hey! ear plugs provided

    every thing worked, great people, very clean and comfortable, excellent breakfast menu freshly cooked

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location,lovely room (8) parking can be managed (free between 6pm to 10am. The owners were really nice and welcoming. Overall a great stay,thank you.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Hospitality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly guest house in a great location in Ilfracombe close to the harbour

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly and attentive staff with an excellent knowledge of local activities and places of interest to visit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not very comfy small bathroom

    Location very clean brill breakfast friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: