Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hartnoll Hotel

Bolham, Tiverton, EX16 7RA, United Kingdom

#9 of 16 hotels in Tiverton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 211 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.2
    Good communal facilities but terrible bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms - everything about them was terrible. Had to reject the first one as it had a glass bathroom "wall". Second one didn't even have a full size double bed. Neither were that clean and both were tiny with no thought as to how a guest might use a room - nowhere to put luggage, nowhere to put shampoo, soap etc when in shower. Also there was building work taking place which I think we should have been warned about. Banging and ceasing started at 8am.

    Gardens and food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable,calm country house hotel with superb food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work would have been off putting from the outside if we hadn't booked. It made absolutely no difference to our stay and there was no discernible noise.

    The food at dinner was delicious,fresh and beautifully presented. The garden was a delightful place to relax in and catch up with friends. The bed was a good size and very comfortable.We loved the view of the garden and the unusual front of the wardrobe. Breakfast was cooked extremely well with a good choice of items to order. We enjoyed the proximity to such an interesting National Trust property with its gardens and woodland. Thank you for a great stay arching up wth dear friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay so much we booked for the following weekend on our return journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We honestly can’t say their was anything we didn’t like. Even the new building additions did not intrude on our stay.

    The location is perfect, a few miles from the M5 and just out of Tiverton so very quiet. The staff were very helpful and obliging. The bar and restaurant have a warm and comfortable ambience and the food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing because of the bedroom, but very nice Staff and the restaurant was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dark and building work with scaffold was situated touching the bedroom and bathroom window, that room (the room allocated to us), should not have been let to anybody while the work was in progress.

    The Staff were particularly pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    £90 was more than enough for B&B in such a tiny, hot and noisy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room ( a very snug double) was intolerably hot and when we opened the window the view was onto a roof and huge metal vents or ducts. There was a fan on, to do with the vents, that we could hear. It went off at night and came on at 9.15am. We had to have a fan on in the room all the time to be comfortable. In the morning I was aware of a door slamming below our room from about 7am. This was despite headphones in to listen to the radio. Reception said no-one had complained about it before. But I didn't imagine it.

    Lovely location and gardens. Charming, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Delightful .. would visit again definitely and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy baby in the room next door (thin walls - could hear every word) and noisy music until midnight ... wedding party .. they were having fun so we had to go with the flow .. didn't spoil our stay.

    Delightful hotel and staff .. delicious cuisine, lovely room and spotlessly clean. Thank you :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff attitude excellent, tending to our every needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Might have been better to tell us that we were coming to a building site, but as it turned out, for our personal needs it didn’t matter, and the positive staff attitude and a good standard of cooking made up for it. The room was also v comfortable.

    Staff attitude excellent, tending to our every needs. Room comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing. We paid extra for having a dog and got inferior accommodation.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation did not live up to the rave reviews on the Booking.com website. It did not state that there was considerable building work being carried out at the hotel. It was listed as a "pet friendly" but did not mention that no matter how much you paid for your room, if you had a dog, you would NOT be in the hotel but in the gatehouse next to a noisy road. The hotel policy regarding pets should be clear on the Booking.com website. The "beautiful" gardens were mediocre and small, the "superior double" room was the same size as a "standard double" except that the beds were apparently larger (according to the website), the carpet and the corners of the walls were marked and well-worn. Sleep was interrupted by the traffic passing by on a main road approximately ten feet outside the door. I booked this room as a special treat but because we had a dog we were put in inferior accommodation, and expected to pay extra for the privilege ! We complained at the time and eventually got a small reduction, but nowhere near enough to compensate for our disappointment.

    We liked the en-suite bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel marred by over heated room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was far too hot. There are no controls in the room (why not?) and the only way to change it was to phone down to reception and get them to do by remote control. In March with the window open it was still far too hot for a comfortable nights sleep.

    The hotel was very well appointed with modern stylish bedroom and bathroom, bathrobes and good towels. Comfortable bed, small bar and excellent restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely staff, beautiful room. Great weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is building work being carried out so scaffolding up outside bedroom window. Don't know how long this will be there.

    Breakfast offered a great choice of food in lovely surroundings. Lunch was in the conservatory with winter sun shining through.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff in a beautiful part of the country.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food could have been better and did not reach the standard of the rest of the hotel.

    The staff very kindly upgraded me to a beautiful room, very comfortable and luxurious. Very good breakfast options.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable adequately sized room. A very nice modern bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and very nicely presented. The evening dinner occasion we attended was well run.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    A wonderful getaway or overnight stay hotel near Tiverton.
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would love to have had a bath as well as a shower. Also, my table for breakfast was laid for one facing the car park, when the other side of the table had a view of the garden. I just moved the setting around, but perhaps this is something that the people laying up could think about. No milk was served with the coffee, probably because there was an urn with milk in the other room, but there were no jugs by the urn, and it is a bit of a pain in the behind to keep having to rise to get milk from other other room when you want to top up your coffee. One last thing, there was insufficient butter on the table for the amount of toast served - one should perhaps match the other? I'm not a huge butter eater either!

    Comfortable bed and the receptionist went above and beyond to help me check out in order that I might have some breakfast and still be able to leave on time. Immensely helpful. By far the best hotel near Tiverton.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    This hotel is VERY EXPENSIVE for the facilities provided and the size of the room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is very expensive for the facilities provided and the size of the room, we could not control the heating and my wife was cold on a number of occasions, despite asking reception to turn up the heating at least 2 times nothing happened. The room is very small and the shower is a joke, water goes everywhere. To top it off we had an early morning call at 06.45 even though we didn't request one. Overall very poor quality over-priced, we will not be going back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Very much enjoyed, particularly the staff who were exemplary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps, quite difficult to manoeuvre for old people. The window outside our room on the landing could do with a thorough clean

    Great wide comfortable bed, lovely garden view Restaurant busy, but we were well taken care of

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    A very pleasant and xomfortable stay in a hotel close to Tiverton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Close to the road. We were in 2 rooms in the annexe. No umbrellas supplied in annexe for walk to hotel. Bathroom had no grab rail or place to put soap, flannel etc in shower area and was a little public. My friend's room had no coat hooks.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. Interesting menu. Comfortable room. Pleasant grounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a couple of vegetarians in our party, who felt their options were a little restricted. Food excellent, although pricey, but portions were very generous.

    The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    There was a window between the bathroom and the bedroom!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They didn't have a pool but we knew that already!

    There was a window between the bathroom and the bedroom! The bath was massive! The hotel manager gave us the external key because he knew we would be late back! The sitting rooms were amazing. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Great base if you have a car to explore Devon, excellent staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi for some reason was incredibly slow on the days we were there. The previous year it was excellent, so not sure whether it was a supplier problem rather then the hotel.

    Full English breakfast was excellent, they were always out of pastries when we got there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    The Hartnoll Hotel suited us especially if you like the country.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was pleasantly surprised at the comfort of this hotel. The beds were brilliant which meant for a very good nights sleep. We stayed in the lodge, which was at ground level and detached from the main hotel. I was very grateful because of the amount of gear I had to lug around. The staff were brilliant and once they knew I was the wedding photographer treated me with absolute kindness making sure that I had enough to drink throughout the day (soft drinks whilst working) they extended our departure time and allowed me to leave packing my gear until the morning, without any hassle. Breakfast was nice, and a reasonable choice. It is a perfect place for a wedding and a great place if you want to visit mid Devon. We will be staying there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I could really think of except that a guest had brought a dog and allowed it to fowl and not cleared up. That is no reflection on the hotel just a very annoying and irresponsible guest.

    Surprisingly the Hartnell was an amazing place. I was there to photograph a wedding and couldn't be in a better place. The beds were super which meant we got a good nights sleep. The showers were excellent. The staff were really nice and very helpful, my goodness they worked hard and they accommodated me and my gear. Made sure I had drinks ( only water or coffee when I'm working ) and helped move stuff if needed. We will visit there again for sure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    An absolute dream mini break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a small wedding reception being held and some of the guests were coming backwards and forwards through the restaurant to the bar area. It wasn't a huge problem but it was a bit off-putting at times. Perhaps there could be a separate entrance for wedding guests who want to buy drinks from the bar?

    Beautifully quaint boutique Hotel set in well kept gardens. Fantastic fine dining Restaurant in the Conservatory overlooking the lawns. The staff were attentive, courteous and extremely helpful. The food was absolutely amazing and we found the whole atmosphere very relaxing and romantic. Breakfast in the morning was just as good with a lovely continental selection of freshly laid out food and/or choices from the menu. Our bed was extremely comfy too and we had a very peaceful nights sleep. We also enjoyed the 11am checkout time. Will be returning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel is a great location just out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception lady was not very friendly or cooperative. Checking us in and answering a couple of questions such as, what is the Wifi password, appeared to be an inconvenience. The other staff were great.

    Excellent hotel is a great location just out of town. Breakfast and restaurant meals were top class.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Most enjoyable apart from hot room. Would still recommend as other areas of service were outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot and stuffy. Hard to get to window to open and when we did open it it was next to food cooking vents from kitchen

    Warm welcome from friendly staff. Helpful and professional. Great facilities for a relaxing stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.8
    Not relaxing and felt I paid too much for 2 miserable nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room incredibly hot and cramped. My partner slept in the car as it was unbearable . Getting ready for a wedding a joke as neither of us could get cool. Opened window had smell and air conditioner noise and heat from kitchen. Both ended up very tired and cranky.

    The staff were welcoming and a nice restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel and grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark reception area. Our room had a step up into bathroom not ideal in the dark and room was very hot, although a fan was provided.

    Friendly staff, lovely room, beautiful gardens and able to sit outside. Breakfast in the sun room was a treat. Plenty of parking. Perfect location for us away from town but near enough to amenities if needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Food OK but room should have been better for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet not clean, pooh in the toilet on arrival. Desk lamp not working in the room. The hotel could do with a coat of paint especially on the outside.

    The food was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location close to Knightshayes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very limited continental breakfast , if you don't like fry ups. Felt overpriced especially bar.

    Good location , staff helpful. Restaurant food okay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Superb stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Attention to detail is fabulous, room was gorgeous with every thing you need, comfy bed, good pillows, loads of plugs, drinking water, loads of wardrobe space, superb bathroom with good powerful shower. Lovely bar and lounge area, conservatory, friendly efficient staff, good breakfast, Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Great Service - Above and Beyond
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Hotel - after a terrible journey down by train which left me stranded at Tiverton station late at night, the hotel were fantastic and ensured that I was able to get to them by organising transport on my behalf. Very helpful with my early start breakfast the next day and a comfortable room. I would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Very good and will stay again food in resteraunt very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was not brilliant but we knew this would be the case

    The room we booked was a cosy double and advertised as such. We have stayed in a similar room before and is more than adequate for our needs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Staff were really welcoming and friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More varied evening menu. ( more plain food as one of us likes plain food.)

    Staff were really welcoming and friendly. The hotel is really dog friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was beautiful, exceptionally clean and modernised to a good quality. The guy who greeted us when we arrived made us feel really welcome. Could not have asked for more.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    A place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room Wifi was poor, although excellent in public areas. Bathroom is 'open' plan. Position of lights switches in the room was poor. Restaurant was very hot, but the outside temperature was 34 degrees

    Breakfast was excellent, friendliness of staff. Quality of décor. Bathroom was excellent, despite being open plan. Gardens, and view was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    We stayed in a seperate building which was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed a better venting system as it was very steamy after and it didn't seem to go anywhere x

    We stayed in a seperate building which was lovely. Interesting glass bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Excellent staff and superb value for money ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room view wasn't great but that really is not picking , a superb hotel and fantastic value for money ,

    The staff were all excellent, and despite the mix of youngsters the are very curious and professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel, pleasant staff, warm room and slow service for evening meal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm. The fan did nothing to really alleviate the issue and as the room was next to the kitchen air extract system, opening the windows made it very noisy until 10:30ish. The service at the evening meal was very slow and the food average for the price.

    Pleasant location and well kept hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant Tiverton/Mid-Devon quality location.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant - Pricey and somewhat limited mains menu selection. Surprisingly underdone new season's local Lamb. Upgrade room wasn't ready when we arrived, despite hotel notified in advance of uncertain arrival time. Very pleasant and courteous receptionist apologised and explained. Pleasant alternative (room 11) offered and accepted.

    Quiet location. Outside Tiverton town but within easy reach. Welcoming reception and staff. Plenty of car parking space. Pleasant well-kept public areas. Pleasant garden/countryside outlook from room 11 although room window looked down on to restaurant diners through roof light. Quality bed sheets. Spacious room. Appreciated tea, coffee, biscuits. Hotel seemed to be a popular local venue for celebrations, weddings, etc. Much appreciated Staff actions in courteously suggesting and assisting move to quieter bar area for main meal in view of somewhat raucous group celebrating birthday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was fantastic. Food was outstanding. Service outstanding. Stay in hotels from time to time with work and for short breaks. Hartnoll hotel was outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    A great hotel in Tiverton!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel!! Loved the really nice rooms, fresh and high standard. Easy to park the car, extremely easy to connect and having a good Wi-Fi. Loved the bar, the food, the breakfast and the staff. Have stayed at other hotels in Tiverton before, but this will be my and my colleagues first choice in the future.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Hartnoll - great hotel that feels like home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism of the whole stay was my starter could have been hotter when served. If that's the only grumble then it was a good stay.

    Courteous staff, clean and tidy and everything you need. Food was good and couldn't ask for more in a hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    Great - will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The conservatory where meals are served was a bit cold and draughty, fine for summer but not for winter, however, waiter soon moved us into the bar area to have our desert and coffee..

    Bed was lovely with fabulous linen and duvet. very cosy sitting room with real fire to have pre dinner drinks.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No decent garden area to spend time in - we like places with larger gardens!! Only took us 5 mins max to walk around. Evening meal slightly spoiled by presence of several flies which insisted on buzzing around us all evening - we were seated in the conservatory, hence the flies!!. Staff tried to eliminate but short of spraying with fly spray they were fighting a losing battle.

    Very warm welcome - although outside main hotel we actually loved the room. Really loved the log fire and spent a lot of time catching up with our friends in front of it. Evening meal was very good and ambiance in conservatory part of restaurant was very pleasant.Location was perfect too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Katie on reception is superb!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Katie on reception was fantastic

    The member of staff on reception Katie had acceptional customer service ! Me and my family would personally like to thank her for her assistant of the day of check in

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Good location. Staff very welcoming and happy to meet my requests and needs. Nice relaxing evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location near Knightshaye NT property so convenient for visiting there. Just off main road routes so easy to find. Nice gardens to walk around particularly in the summer

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.3
    refurbishment very good, very pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed to small

    I know that we booked a cosy double, and the room and bathroom was very nicely appointed but we did feel that it was a bit to small for 2 people and the bed was too small for us now.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.3
    Great choice for an overnighter to finish off our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very hot day and the room was a bit hot and stuffy even - a fan or aircon would have helped but then we didn't ask!

    Welcoming staff, comfortable and quirky room, good overnight stay - would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    With a few little tweaks, this could be perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we were shown to our room there were mounds of laundry bags on the landing. Shame to see this lying around. Room 10 was a little cramped and the double bed fairly small. Perfectly fine for 1 night. A curious layout means the bath sticks out into the middle of the room. I would have liked to be able to sit at the dressing table with convenient mirror so I could sit comfortably to do my hair and make-up. This wasn't possible with the tight layout of furniture. Service at breakfast was a bit disappointing. We came down at 9.30am. All the tables were full in the conservatory but no tables were laid up in the bar. The buffet was depleted of all but the odd left over pastry and the fruit salad was scarce. Toast order was forgotten and tables weren't cleared quickly, as staff were so busy.

    Warm welcome, lovely tasteful decor, plenty of parking. Delicious cooked breakfast, pleasant bar area and conservatory. Friendly staff. Clean. I would certainly stay again but taking into account the price, I do have some even better if suggestions !!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    Room size a disappointment for an hotel but otherwise met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tiny room with only 0.35 M space at foot of bed & wall heater making access difficult. Very little space for luggage.

    Breakfast in the Conservatory & off street parking. A peaceful location with polite staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Definitely stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ran out of a delicious local rose after 1 bottle!

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient the rooms were comfy and we loved the lounges of which we took over one and was brought fab aperitifs before a delicious 3 course meal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Lovely hotel shame about the wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little or no phone signal and wifi wouldn't work. Frustrating as I was trying to keep in touch with my family.

    The staff were fantastic, extremely helpful. Loved the room!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.5
    No need to book an early call, just ask to stay in room 8. Would I stay again, yes it was a lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delay serving lunch.[ party of 60 being served. Being woken up at 6 am by the kitchens outside blowers.{ Room 8 and I suspect room 9}. The receptionist apologized which was accepted.

    A very nice place to stay. Nice rooms and gardens. Very peaceful except for !!!!!.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    Lovely, comfy bed, really friendly welcome and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    the extraction unit outside the room, the room was hot but could not have the window open as the smells from the extractors were coming in.

    Lovely, comfy bed, really friendly welcome and the staff were all very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need a car (not a bad thing, just a note!)

    Very friendly staff, amazing breakfast, beautiful grounds, lovely room (we stayed in the little cottage annexe)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor maintenance. Doors that didn't close. Windows that didn't open. Very uncomfortable beds. Bedroom furniture in poor state of repair. No ventilation. Staff who messed up my booking and invoice.

    Food very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    4.6
    Charming hotel in lovely surroundings.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge ie mini bar for child's milk etc, mattress and pillows way too soft. On first day after sight seeing our room was not cleaned on our return in mid afternoon.

    Easy to find, lovely staff in nice surroundings, very pet friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    5.4
    Good wedding location but don't stay overnight.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small considering the price. The ensuite was not at all private. The room was also extremely hot even though it was 13C overnight

    The staff were extremely helplful at the wedding we were attending at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    A very relaxing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Great food. Very nice staff. Comfy bed. Wifi worked well. Little stream and waterfall outside provide a very relaxing sound to fall asleep by.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Beautiful boutique hotel in lovely devonshire surrounding countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our stay was everything and more we thought it would be from the reviews we read before booking. Gorgeous room ...cosy double but ample room and true to description ...cosy but very comfortable! Lovely en suite...very modern with underfloor heating and walk in shower. We had a wonderful meal which was very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    7.9
    A short stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was in a small annexe - very attractive location and room furnished beautifully.....but the bed was a small double, barely big enough for 2 slim adults and it was a bit short too - my feet were hanging over the end and Im only 5'5"

    The decor everywhere and the facilities. Felt very luxurious. Staff friendly. Food good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    A great visit with many benefits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to leave!

    The location was idea, the accommodations excellent, food great, cooperation outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff, service, accommodation, food and atmosphere all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff, service, accommodation, food and atmosphere all excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    The dining room and the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The seating wasn't very comfortable. Th

    The dining room and the food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable stay in a great room withf riendly staff . Excellent value for money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was not working .

    Staff were really helpful . Nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nelson the head waiter is exceptional. Just off M5 for journey to Cornwall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Upgrade - very good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upgrade - very good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    The restaurant food was amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    good time had by all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    view of building works going on, but I know this is temporary

    convenient location, high standard of service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Excellent, thanks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little warm.

    Free upgrade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge stain on bedroom carpet Scaffolding outside hotel - no warning of that Strange mix of furniture in room

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Family reunion dinner and stay - superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    Food superb, as is 'Nelson' the Restaurant Manager and the General Manager

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    A warm and comfortable stay on a cold snowy night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a very brief overnight visit so I did not see or use any other facilities of the hotel.A

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obvious building work, but no real impact on my stay

    Very helpful staff. Will be great when building work for a spa is finished

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Good setting convenient to M5
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building construction

    Attentive staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, with friendly staff, and clean spacious rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, with friendly staff, and clean spacious rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: