Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Harvard Inn

High Street, Stock, CM4 9BJ, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Stock

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 327 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    8.3
    Great for location for a wedding we went to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check inn was 3pm! We wanted to check in earlier and was told we would have to pay £20.

    Great for location for a wedding we went to. Staff on reception were helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay in a lovely setting - would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of low angled ceilings - room 12 is not for a tall person. The WiFi was very patchy. No mirror in the bathroom which is a first for anywhere I've stayed - had to carry the mirror from the bedroom and hold it to have a shave!

    Unusual and nice staying in the tack room, it was very clean and comfortable what more could you want. The breakfasts were lovely and the staff were incredibly helpful and very friendly. A credit to the establishment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    10
    A fantastic find in a very upmarket village where you can breath the wealth £££££
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave

    A renovated period hotel, great association with Stock. Laviishly and lovingly restored. Great atmosphere amazing food and wine , lovely room the staff were so so friendly and very knowledgable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Possibility for Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price we paid for the room, I would have expected Egyptian cotton bedding, which is normally standard in £150 A night rooms.

    Bedroom was very spacious, well decorated and bed was enormous!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    9.6
    Wedding Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location for the wedding we were attending. Lovely food on site, we stayed in for dinner one evening and really enjoyed. Free parking. Accommodating staff. It was particularly warm during our stay and the staff found us a fan for our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    4.2
    It was near the venue that I needed to be that evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Manager is rude and not at all helpful. On arrival the payment did not go through on the machine and I was told ‘oh we are having problems today and was asked to use alternative machine method. On checking my account a couple of days later I realised the money was taken twice from my account. One payment cleared and the other is sitting in my pending !! When I queried it I was told this was normal ??? How can taking my payment twice normal. My Mum rang the hotel on my behalf and was clear in her expectation that she needed to speak to the Manager about this as I was now over drawn in my account. She was also clear in telling the receptionist that I would not be sending over screen shots as asked if my account as this I fact showed my sort code and account number ! What was expected was the hotel checked there account and as there had been issues on the day acknowledge this could be the problem !! When I called today to sort it out I was told my Mum was screaming and shouting !! This is a lie and I cannot believe that the manager was more interested in telling me about my Mother than she was in delivering customer service and rectifying the situation ! The manager does not have a friendly disposition and comes across as I am beneath her. I will never use this hotel again nor recommend it to anyone. Staying at a hotel for one night at £120 should not mean £240 is taken from my account as a norm and if this is true norm this should have been made clear from check in. Shameful customer service and obviously don’t care about customer service !

    It was near the venue that I needed to be that evening.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    8.3
    Dont get room next to the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was located next to the main road. There was no air conditioning but they did provide a fan. It was a very hot day and we could not pull the curtains to open the window to let in light or air in as we would have been very exposed. This also meant that we were woken by the sound of heavy traffic very early in the morning which spoilt our stay.

    Really nice hotel unique and clean. Really generous breakfast serving

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    6.3
    Wedding Eve stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities in the rooms are completely basic, we had a kitchen in our room which had no cutlery, crockery and not even a tea towel! We were informed that you wasn’t allowed food in our room... which was very confusing! Considering it was the day before my wedding and I was partly getting ready there on the big day, anything we asked, was an effort. The manager was extremely helpful to other people in my wedding party but unfortunately it seemed to be an effort for me, the bride! Which was such a shame! It massively let down the overall experience as it really is a lovely place but it also can not cope with parties of 6 or more.

    It’s a stunning property and extremely clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very hot and stuffy and fans were not available for all our rooms.

    The breakfast was fantastic, beds were comfy, staff were very good and the hotel was in an excellent location to our needs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in the Essex countryside, convenient for London but in a beautiful village location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was all good!

    General Manager Lisa and the whole team made me feel like this beautiful spot- in the delightful Essex Village of Stock, itself in the countryside - but so close to London - was like my new home from home. A wonderful building, super friendly staff, a hearty, delivious dinner, excellent full cooked breakfast ( mine was inclusive of room rate - I know some hotels would charge gbp30.00 for such a good breakfast!) and a delightful room, free WiFi - just made me want to rave about this little hidden gem! Keep it up! 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay to explore a beautiful part of the county
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything I would have changed.

    The room was clean, large and beautifully decorated. Everything you wanted was there. A really delightful place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.1
    What spoilt the experience for me was that although I'd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What spoilt the experience for me was that although I'd paid by card on check out, I found out the next day that they'd taken the money from my account again. This left me overdrawn with my bank and upset. This wasn't just me but my brother too. When I phoned the hotel to rectify the problem, I was left speaking to a member of staff who had no authority in dealing with this matter and I was told the manager was off and won't be back until the evening the following day. I explained that this was unacceptable as I had no funds to get to work and needed sorting asap. I was told that he'd contact the manager and I would get a phone call. 2 days later, and I've not heard a thing. Now I could of lost a days money and as I'm a supervisor, a day off was not optional. Not impressed to say the least. I suggest you pay cash rather than using your card as this caused me all sorts of problems.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Well presented establishment, clean modern rooms with spacious showers, excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better air flow or even some air conditioning in the restaurant would really help. It was very stuffy and uncomfortable in the morning.

    Very well located B&B with high quality facilities and a great restaurant that serves delicious food. Extremely good value for money given the quality of the inclusive breakfast. Our room was in a converted stable block of four rooms at the rear and in most cases staring at the back of a pub isn't a great view but this location has a very high standard of outdoor decor and we felt perfectly at home - even had a nice casual park-style bench outside the room to relax on. The room itself was made up as a double with the usual expected format of two (large) singles pushed together and didn't cause us any discomfort. Bonus points for also having a nice big floor-standing fan in the room too, the evening was very warm and we needed that! Service was very good, friendly, attentive and nothing too much of a problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful historic building, friendly staff with good local pub nearby (The Hoop) - book in advance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was ok - my eggs Benedict Royale came on brown toast instead of toasted muffin but the Full English my partner had was good. I am a light sleeper and rooms facing the main road through the village meant we woke up earlier than we would have liked. Also when we wanted to check out an hour later fro get ready for a wedding they wanted to charge £20 per hour which seemed a bit steep so we got ready at another hotel.

    Loved the historical background to the place - we have exposed beams in our room which were lovely. Bathroom was spacious, clean and bright. Staff were friendly and happy to call taxis or give suggestions on local attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.9
    The room was exceptionally clean and the large bed was an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival at 1pm, which we acknowledged was earlier than the check in time of 3pm, we were told rather brusquely by the guy behind the bar that 'check in is 3pm'. This was shortly followed by one of the very helpful waiting staff who directed us to the hotel check in desk where seemingly we were able to check in earlier than scheduled! We were not advised of a wifi password so assumed that this wasn't available to us? The only real disappointment was discovering that despite us staying on the Sunday night of the bank holiday weekend, the entire premises closed at 9pm. We were unable to purchase drinks after 9pm and were told that the usual Sunday hours had been extended by one hour as on a normal Sunday the bar closes at 8pm. The same guy who had greeted us at 1pm seemed to take delight in smugly explaining that the premises had closed and the fact that we were residents made no difference :(

    The room was exceptionally clean and the large bed was an unexpected luxury. The choices available for breakfast were very good too as was the service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    7.5
    room nice, place nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had to wait a while to check in, there was a problem in the restaurant, I felt they could have done with more staff, as there was only one person doing everything, even served the breakfast! The breakfast was poor, over cooked scrambled egg, way too much smoked salmon.. And the toast that the scrambled egg was on was soggy, guessing all the moisture from the egg ended up in the toast,

    Nice room, the lady that looked after me was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    5.4
    Clean, good location - Pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of everything. Very pokey, I'm 6.4 and the bed had my feet hanging out the end. My partner had her wedding make-up done and just about enough room to swing a cat. The artist had to put her make-up on the bed next to me while I waited. No aircon, fan in the corner of the room wedged between the wardrobe. Very awkward at 1am to move. Had to move the side cabinet so my phone charger would fit. No extractor fan in the toilet/shower so everything was misty. My partner is vegan, and no soya milk options. Room was clean, but for the money way below par in my view.

    Location - staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    4.6
    Over rated, over priced and need to improve their service and attention to detail
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Possibility for Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room not ready at 9.30pm for a family of 3, no toilettries in the bath room, short staff, sausages at breakfast were awful, no sparkling water or white sugar- it was hard work staying there. Hairdryer blowing cold air only.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a lovely village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My breakfast order on Thursday 22nd March was taken by a short male member of staff who I think possibly worked in the kitchen, he had extremely dirty fingers and finger nails which off putting.

    Clean room, comfortable bed. Friendly welcome upon arrival

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a serious problem but sometimes there were no staff on reception, or when you first walked into breakfast.

    Excellent food Room was lovely. Excellent disabled access

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely rooms, really classy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Waited at reception for 10 minutes trying to check out, was pressing the bell that barely works, and then when someone finally came out, she gave me attitude for pressing the bell too hard, I paid up and left.

    The bed was lovely, bathroom was clean and modern. Room was fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the converted stables. It was a very cold evening and the temperature in the room was 16 degrees on arrival. We spoke to reception who brought us a heater and increased the boiler pressure and the room soon warmed up. Lovely underfloor heating in the wet room.

    Very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was lovely and so was the coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    8.8
    8/1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was two single beds joined and harder than Vinnie jones lol,all in all though good value for money

    location,bar,restaurant are all good,thumbs up :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    6.7
    Excellent in all areas of our stay.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All staff very friendly and accommodating. We stayed there for a family wedding, venue not too far away. The staff on the day of the wedding were very accommodating at breakfast as we all had hair appointments at various times. If we are ever in the area again would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given the price paid, I expected more than what we experienced : service : - the hostess was very cold when checking-in - breakfasts took almost half an hour to get served and were not as amazing as what the comments said, I would rather have a buffet and thus more choice and flexibility (hour&food) Equipment : - we had only 2 mugs in the room even though we booked for 3 people - I was cold at night and could not find any extra blankets - we heard noises at night from the restaurant underneath and cars outside - it would be good to have some furniture in the bathroom to put our belongings

    We enjoyed the style of the hotel and of our room with apparent beams, the beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom all clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.5
    Expensive but great evening stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though we had requested early check in. The room had not been hovered. it was clean and had fresh towels etc.

    The food was really great. freshly cooked. The rooms were small but enough room for a couple.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Inn and lovely staff. Thank you.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being given a room that wasn’t in the hotel itself but instead located across the car park.

    Staff, especially Lisa were lovely and very accommodating. Beautiful old building with a lovely warm ambiance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed this hotel and will definitely be returning.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe some fruit and yoghurt at breakfast?

    A lovely property in an excellent location for my business trip to Billericay. A very warm welcome after a long drive. The room was great, with a really good shower and very comfortable bed. Really enjoyed the welcoming bar and great food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, quiet and comfortable, just what I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed in room 2, only negative was mirror on wall could have been set a little higher as I am tall! Also, a selection of herbal tea bags would have been nice, but no great problem.

    Lovely old character building with modern facilities. Ideal spot for getting to and from London, Chelmsford and Billericay. Stock village is still how I remember it, with a few updates now, like a nice tea room, nice little shop and florist and easy to get to friends or catch the bus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    10
    First class place to stay and do business in Essex
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving and saying goodbye.

    Lisa was exceptional during our stay and helped whenever required. The venue is stunning and the food great and service wonderful. Excellently located for business in Essex, certainly be going back there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.1
    Parking easy, staff very helpful and good atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    very overpriced for standard of accommodation. Breakfast very slow, not enough staff for number of guests waiting to be served.

    Parking easy, staff very helpful and good atmosphere.Room very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    5.4
    No, just don't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms weren't ready despite arriving well after their specified check-in time. Went to the bar while waiting and got served vinegar. I'm not sure how anyone can turn sterilised keg beer into vinegar but they achieved it. Fortunately there are two proper pubs with proper beer in the village. Next morning we weren't allowed to have breakfast in the restaurant, we were dumped at a dirty low table in the bar because the tables in the restaurant were being used by non-residents or had been set aside for lunch for non-residents. Fortunately there is a Shell station just down the road that sells food. This place is nothing like the bookingdotcom description, hotel residents are second class compared to outside trade. Just treat it as a room for the night, a bit like a poor Holiday Inn, but four times the price.

    Nothing really, we had no choice due to Xmas and having to see relatives in the village and anywhere decent being already booked. So we were forced to pay an outrageous price to be treated like.....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    7.5
    Very convenient and cosy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The latch catch on the bathroom door in room 4, both of us bruised our arms on using the bathroom. Being charged £150 rather than £120 as advertised as the price of the room the day of our departure!

    Near to wedding venue we attended on 6/1/2018

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    6.3
    Eventful for all the wrong reasons
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Camp bed provided in original room that collapsed for adult expected proper bed relocated but still had camp bed that was uncomfortable staff sorted problem quickly and provided better bed and mattress which should have been provided in first place in alternative room adult bed collapsed whilst getting into it New Year’s Eve at 2am slept opposite end of bed for the night reported to stafff when we left property

    Staff excellent and helpful evening meal very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    8.8
    Well remodeled country inn offers cozy, up-market accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast service was slow one day when there was a large group of outside guests (local falconers, I believe). A better selection of single malts or cognacs would have gone down well after dinner. Rooms at the front are very close to the busy road and are therefore much noisier - ask for one at the back.

    A great recently-remodeled country inn that retains many historic elements. We booked 3 rooms - one was at the front and two were in the back of the main building - all were clean, warm and inviting. We really appreciated the hypoallergenic bedding. Temperatures in the bedrooms and bathrooms were easy to control. Breakfasts, lunches and dinners were tasty and well prepared, served up by a friendly and helpful staff. Dad (me) and daughter had a fun final evening at the bar with Callum and Jack as they honed their skills by pouring layered shots for us - an unexpected end to a quiet stay in Stock. Ask for a B-52 or Alien Brain Hemorrhage if you visit!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    9.6
    One of the best small hotels. thoroughly recommended.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Knives that slide into your breakfast when you park them on the edge of your plate - a common problem in hotels and restaurants.

    Quality of the refurbishment of this 500 yr old coaching house is excellent and it has lost none of its character except its original name - The Cock. Bedding in fine linen, step-less shower big enough to move about in with easy to use shower controls. Good bedroom furniture - a sympathetic combination of old and new. Excellent breakfasts and fine coffees available from the barista manageress. Level bedroom flooring despite being a wood-frame building. Easy access, any time day or night with easy parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    3.8
    Very poor need to pay more attention to the customer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very bad that our room was so cold for such a cold day. Breakfast was appalling very oily and worse by bubble and sqeek I have ever tasted. Lovely fire in breakfast room which was not even alight so freezing cold again.

    Not a lot very cold and unwelcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    5.8
    It was an ok experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room was cold and had a leak in the bathroom, we were moved to another room which was much better although we had no refreshments as they had not been replenished and the cups were dirty so need to ask about this also. Because we were moved into the main building we were not informed of the procedure of how to get into the hotel late at night it took us over an hour to figure this out on a very cold night and we ended up calling a taxi and we were on the verge of going to another hotel, we eventually managed to get in with the help of the taxi driver but had to pay for the use of the taxi which was not ideal. When we told reception in the morning they were apologetic and said they forgot to tell us. Some staff were very helpful others lacked a little knowledge with regards to the payment as we explained to them the money would automatically be taken off at the time of booking they insisted on tell us that we needed to pay even though we called earlier in the day to check. This was a little frustrating.

    Ideal for what we needed it for.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    The best restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just to not have more days to spend there! I wish I could be there for a few more days!

    We loved everything! The hotel is very cozy, clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly! But the restaurant, OMG, it’s the best!!!! I think it was one of the best dinner I have ever had in my entire life!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    10
    Breakfast in the morning was excellent, staff were also very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing, was when we arrived in our room it was really cold! The radiator was on in the bathroom so that was lovely and warm but the actual room was really cold. Other than that, no complaints at all.

    Breakfast in the morning was excellent, staff were also very friendly and welcoming. Room was very clean and had a fabulous shower! Have recommended my friends to stay here in December for when we go for our Christmas party!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a bit of a shambles, had to wait for about 40mins although I do appreciate it was cooked more or less to order, I had poached egg with my full breakfast but can only assume lots were being done together as all I got was egg white with no yolk,I didn’t mention it as my husband was already fed up with waiting so long, however the rest of the breakfast was lovely

    Decor especially in rooms very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.2
    Staff very friendly, room, very comfortable, clean and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly, room, very comfortable, clean and cosy. Easy to park and hotel was in a great location. Afraid didn't get up for the breakfast which looked very nice as we slept in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel but
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had an issue with regards to the room key being handed in at the end of the stay by a relative staying in another room and it being misplaced by the hotel - they are not small so you would know if you still had it in your bag etc and the attitude of the staff towards not only our relative but also towards us when we booked out was unnecessary, i understand they wanted us to check which we did but they were quite rude to us, and in a further phone call to us later the attitude was very much that we had the key with us , when two of our party witnessed the key being handed over to the reception. having spent quite a lot of money between us all on several rooms to attend a weddding and at the bar etc during our stay it was unnecessary to take that approach.

    the room was lovely and the breakfast really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    Loved my stay at Harvard Inn ... I used for business but would recommend for leisure travellers too
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk at the hotel is really quite high - (the only thing I could think of!)

    Really friendly staff, excellent food and relaxed atmosphere for single female guest. Rooms, especially bathrooms were fabulous. Highly recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    Wonderful will be going again
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything is lovely x we have been here before the standard of the rooms are fantastic and the lady who runs it is very friendly and makes you feel welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    10
    Could not have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    The hotel was in a prime position for the wedding we attended. All the staff had a great attitude to their work, right down to cleaners. I was very impressed, will definitely be booking again with friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.1
    The room and bathroom were clean and tidy and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately when we went for breakfast there was only 1 person serving, there was food dropped on the floor around our table, we were given a pot of tea without a lid!!!! She did apologise. The bacon was burnt, we were brought some more after we complained.

    The room and bathroom were clean and tidy and well maintained. It was quiet so we had a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room was directly at a street with much traffic. It was quite loud at times, but since we only stayed one night, it was okay :) But it was quite hard to cross the road by foot :D

    Great hotel and very nice service. The room and bath were very beautiful and the Pub downstairs was also very nice. The bed was really comfertable. The breakfast was very nice. We had a vegetarien full english breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The local cab company swift the car was filfy dirty it looked like a horse had been in the car i had also pre ordered the cab to collect us from the wedding and they did not show up even after i called them twice. But the hotel was exceptional

    Beautifully decorated rooms friendly staff great breakfast and was only round the corner to the wedding we went to at crondon park

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    7.5
    .....AMEX!!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a joke and absolutely makes me rage that I booked my room with AmEx and this was the reason I chose this place..got there and they did not..... Terrible..

    Owner and facility excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Choose a 'stable room' away from main road or at least not one right at front. Constant traffic noise and lorries coming around corner seemed almost to be touching the window in our room, which was right on the road. They would have moved us, but fully booked. Good food.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.1
    Nice place, no complaints.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Automatic lighting in corridor up to room didn't always work. Needed soap in bathroom for washing hands (only small bottle of shower gel provided) Not enough toilet roll No hairdryer

    Recently refurbished and lovely décor. Room and shower room clean. Plenty of storage for clothes. Lots of parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    5.8
    Pleasant but totally over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor value. If paying these types of prices do expect facilities such as robes, new toilet rolls, WiFi in room that Works, hangers of quality not other guests' cast offs and if specified as a double not two beds pushed together Absolutely no info in the room (not even breakfast timings) Included continental breakfast exceedingly limited (although paid for full breakfast V good ) Just seems that despite the prices, everything is fine to save a few pence where ever possible No dedicated reception staff which can make that and bar service a challenge

    LocAction excellent Very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mirrors positioned in odd places to get ready and not high enough. Also lighting was quite poor in the bedrooms.

    Travelled with family for a wedding. The staff were excellent and facilitated an early check in. They were friendly and helpful. We booked two rooms with 2 adults staying in each room. Overall the rooms were comfortable, however I do think the mirrors were not very well positioned and the lighting was quite poor. It was quite difficult to get ready and apply makeup due to this, but this was only a small thing and did not in any way spoil our stay. Excellent location for nearby crondon Park where the wedding was held.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    10
    Lovely village hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good!

    A wonderful place to stay. We were on our way to Tilbury to pick up a cruise and it made a great stopping off point as only 26 miles from Tilbury. We had a warm welcome on arrival and a lovely meal in the onsite resteraunt in the evening. We would certainly stay there again. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    6.7
    Nice village with a choice of pubs but go elsewhere for better value accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was dreadful which was actually 2 singles joined together, every time you moved you could feel and hear "ping" of the springs and the 2 head boards moved and banged against the wall. Thankfully it was a cooler night as it was on the ground floor, would not have been happy to have slept with the window open, although a fan was provided. For me personally breakfast was a little basic. I had the eggs Benedict which was nice but would have liked something else to supplement it some fruit for example or toast. Left feeling still hungry! At £140 a night it was not cheap accommodation and for that price you do expect a certain standard. Have experienced far better value for money in B & Bs for £50 cheaper. Tea tray again was really basic not even any biscuits. How stingy. As a gesture of goodwill a small discount could have been offered for the uncomfortable bed, but this was not forthcoming. Realise that pretty village of Stock will command a premium price, but this accommodation did not live up to our expectations or compare favourably with other establishments we have stayed at. Will not be returning

    Cleanliness of room and decor. Quiet location at the back although window was kept shut as room faced the car park. Charming old pub.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    10
    A lovely friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hand soap in the bathroom of our room

    The restaraunt food and breakfast in the morning were superb. A great place just to stop for a drink in the bar with a great choice of beers and wines. The rooms are spacious , comfortable and above all clean, something that I normally find leaves something to be desired in many other places we stay at. The staff were really friendly and helpful at all times and made our stay a pleasure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    10
    As a regular business traveller, this place is a fantastic, homely feel with great facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Duplex Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air con in The Tack Room would make it uncomfortable during the day as there is only one upstairs window, even with a fan on it's very warm at time of writing (June '17) As a coffee drinker the selection of Nescafe instant in the room felt a little cheap, compared with the offer for the tea drinkers! Both are very minor considering the space, the overall presentation and pleasant environment.

    Stayed in The Tack Room, considering the surrounding location and size of space you have, this is amazing value for money, a great place to stay if you want more than just a single room stay. Very easy to take by cycle with me, just jump on and you're in great countryside in minutes, quiet roads and good surfaces.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    10
    A comfortable retreat in the heart of Stock...
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't fault anything!

    The room was excellent. Quiet, clean and rustic. The staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfast was absolutely delicious! It really is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. Attended a wedding at Crondon Park which was literally only a minute down the road. Perfect location with a convenience store directly opposite. In short, I would stay again if I were visiting the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    9.6
    Great find!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    A great little find with plenty of character. Room was lovely, bed was comfortable, really clean and felt relaxed as soon as I got there. My evening meal was really tasty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    7.9
    Overnight stop but won't rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small, located in a stable in the car park so you could not open a window overnight 30+deg Bathroom as pleasant but with very little room for the toilet between the sink and wall = no room to sit down, the shower was good but having to remove hair and grott from the drain cover so the water could get away was not so good.

    Staff were pleasant, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    10
    Happy at The Harvard Inn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    The hotel is very modern & contemporary. The rooms are spacious & well equipped. Jenny King whom greeted us & looked after us throughout was fantastic. The food was great too as enjoyed some lunch whilst there & the tasty breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    10
    Superb friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    Beautiful room. Very comfy large bed. Large clean bathroom, excellent shower. Staff EXTREEMLY helpful, attentive and friendly. Breakfast first class.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    7.1
    All in all a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As the room we were allocated had a small kitchen, we were surprised that there were no glasses provided.

    The bed was comfy, also the food was good. (breakfast)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't know how to turn the bathroom heated floor back on in the morning.

    Everything was extremely clean and of high quality materials.gorgeous room. Absolutely 5 star quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    9.2
    Can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much really. Maybe just the inclusion of a couple of traveler conveniences such as a hair dryer or iron may offer improvement.

    The atmosphere was lovely. The bed exceptionally comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    Very comfortable - we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are a good size and beds are very comfortable. The breakfast room was lovely and so was the full English breakfast that is included in the room rate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    9.6
    Wedding break for Crondon Golf venue.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a wedding breakfast so I know there were a lot to cater for but our breakfast was over 50 minutes before we got it I think some confusion with the order but when it came up it was worth the wait

    The bed was really comfortable & the bathroom was really nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2017

    7.9
    Lovely Historic 15th Century Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Due to our late arrival which was caused by a road accident we Had to let ourselves in with a key code . No staff around to help us . Place was empty & no one around . Nothing open in the village , no shops , no where to buy any food so we had to get back on the road to Billericay to get a take away .

    Tudor style building

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    10
    This is a recently refurbished genuine tudor inn dating back...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a recently refurbished genuine tudor inn dating back to henry the 8th. The quality of the refurbishment is outstanding. Quality bed rooms with modern bathrooms. Food ranges from traditional to alacarte. And they have Black sheep bitter among others. The staff are very friendly and attentive. I will stay again with my wife next time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved that everything was clearly newly refurbished and spotless. Clearly, the owners have spent a lot on making the rooms and general areas superb. Breakfast was fantastic and we were in a good location for a family wedding. It's very easy to find the pub and there was ample parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    breakfast was later that I'd prefer. Before 7. It really only got going towards 7.45 for hot food. TV system not the best combined with poor wifi

    Shower good. Bed comfy. Modern and robust furnishings

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely overnight stay with a beautiful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was no heating in our room as there was a problem with the pump for the system. We were provided with portable oil filled radiator. But then there was no hot water available in the morning for a shower.

    Beautiful room, and bed very comfortable. Staff were really nice and friendly especially Steve the barman.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    9.6
    Evening food, wine, atmosphere wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast from 8am and my partner needed to leave for work at 7.45. No biscuits in room No hair drier in room

    Evening food, wine, atmosphere wonderful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    9.6
    Classy Gastropub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked a room safe for valuables. Our room was over the kitchen and we could hear food being prepared but once the food had finished the room was very quiet as it faced the car park and not the road

    The room was spacious with a fabulous shower. The bed was extremely comfortable and there were tea and coffee making facilities. Instant Wifi with no fiddling around getting a password. The food in the restaurant was very good and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75