1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Essex hotel reviews
  4. Stock hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Harvard Inn

Reviews of The Harvard Inn

High Street, Stock, CM4 9BJ, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Stock

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 375 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.0

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2021

    9.0
    Holiday in Billericay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Road noisy early on Friday morning. No good if you wanted a lie in no problem for us though as we didn’t!

    Perfect location for our needs, very friendly efficient staff, clean and ideal for a base for a couple of nights. Great to have breakfast included

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2021

    10
    You need to visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When you see a pub type hotel accomodation, you have reservations about booking because you assume it's going to look like the upstairs of the queen Vic or the Woolpack but no The Harvard Inn is oldie worldy listed building with its own on uniqueness. The rooms are cosy with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. Bathroom airy and convenient. We had a room with a shower room which was ideal in this heat, jump in and out as much you wanted. There's a nice sized TV, a big window overlooking the village, bed was big, comfortable with fluffy pillows. Hair dryer is provided in the drawer, if you want an iron just ask at reception and they will drop it to you. The restaurant had amazing food including breakfast and the ambience is wonderful. Really good size beer garden.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2021

    10
    Excellent all through- beautiful building in a stunning village location - rooms were spotlessly cle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent choice of breakfast and very well-Cooked, as were all the meals - couldn’t fault it.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2021

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit noisy when people left the pub Bed not very comfortable

    Exceptionally clean

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2021

    8.0
    Lovely hotel with just a few little things that could be changed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, we had to wait just over 45 minutes after our check in time before we could get into our room, Then we discovered it wasn't cleaned particularly well, there was hairs on one of the bedside tables,and in the bathroom, so I cleaned that myself. The wait for drinks was extremely long, we waited an hour to be served. I understand due to covid we can't go to the bar to request drinks but I think an hour to be served is an extremely long wait!

    The hotel is lovely, the staff are friendly, our room was lovely and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2021

    10
    Great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Teeny bit noisy - based on its location possibly. Need some cask ales in the pub please.

    The staff were so friendly and great! The room was very well appointed and stylish - a new room apparently. The breakfast was very good. Good parking, beer garden, restaurant and lovely historical building in a charming large village setting.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2021

    9.0
    Excellent really enjoyed the stay and would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee and tea in the room could of been of better quality….coffee cheap And did not taste nice.

    Excellent food and service

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    Excellent accommodation. Staff very friendly . And great food

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2021

    9.0
    A beautiful old inn that has been modernised well and a lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Im fussy about beds, and i found it too soft and small for my liking (i have a superking). Fine for one or two nights though

    Cocktails were excellent, didnt have dinner, but breakfast was superb - really top quality ingredients and presented lovely.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2021

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect. Great food, excellent service , lovely room and perfect location

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2020

    9.0
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location Cleanliness

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff efficient in all aspects

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2020

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Weekends could be a big of noise from downstairs wine bar.... or if you don’t mind. The bar’s lovely though.

    It’s a character building, charming. Convenient location.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2020

    9.0
    A thoroughly enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    building works early morning

    breakfast very good.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2020

    9.0
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked a more varied evening menu, but the breakfast was really good.

    The room was excellent, cleaned to a very high standard and very comfortable bed. Lovely wet room. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Couldn't do enough for you. Would certainly book there again.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2020

    10
    Excellent find, spotless and good food and beer
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was excellent

    Excellent for a night stopover, spotlessly clean. Lovely rooms, good menu in the restaurant and freshly cooked breakfast

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2020

    9.0
    Lovely accommodation probably geared more towards the leisure traveller. Beautiful breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not great if working as did not have a desk suitable for laptop and printer etc

    Lovely breakfast and beautifully presented. Room very nice and clean. Only thing was that i upgraded to deluxe room as thought that included coffee machine but it only had a kettle and the usual sachets. Very nice bathroom

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2020

    9.0
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely hotel. Nice breakfast. Very easy to find.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2020

    9.2
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Music a little loud upstairs but is above a pub but finished at a reasonable time

    Lovely Country Pub

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2020

    8.0
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed breaking at 3am in the morning as unable to do anything about it at such an early hour didnt hamper our stay to much would still return

    The atmosphere friendly and helpfulness of the staff

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2020

    9.0
    A lovely overnight stay in delightful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn’t anything not to like and if I’m being really critical, the room was a little cold when we arrived mid afternoon, but it soon warmed up when the radiator thermostat was turned up.

    The room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. Both the bedroom and shower room were exceptionally clean. Breakfast was great with so much choice, basically have what you want! Didn’t stay for dinner but menu looked good.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2020

    10
    Comfortable and cosy with great staff and even better food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we couldn't get a 2nd key for our room.

    Incredibly friendly and accommodating staff, so professional and helpful. Food was delicious, rooms were comfortable, will definitely be coming back!

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2020

    10
    Comfertable clean and helpful Beds good all excellent Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man on reception was excellent to accommodate our needs for the rooms. Thank you

    Breakfast excellent Thought the toast should be on a separate plate not on the same plate as breakfast

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2020

    10
    Maybe the best quality hotel I've ever stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing from start to finish 100% perfect

    The breakfast was maybe the best I've ever had the manager if I had my own hotel he would be the first person I tried to head hunt great job great hotel

    Stayed in January 2020

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!