Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Haycock Hotel 3 stars

London Road, Wansford, Wansford, PE8 6JA, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Wansford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 637 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, character hotel in lovely location. Great rate and very good food in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very tired and in need of updating.

    Good size room and bathroom. Lovely comfortable beds. Very good evening meal in the restaurant. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    The Haycock Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been cleaner and the breakfast was not good. The dining room is cheerless and the whole hotel needs a makeover. It looks tired.

    The Haycock is a lovely old hotel. The rooms are pleasant and the village of Wansford is very pretty. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    Overall a positive experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some mold on the ceiling in the bathroom, the grout in the shower could use a cleaning, and the carpet under the headboard of the bed was fraying. The plug sockets were not clean.

    It was quite warm and comfortable temperatures in the room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Lovely 2 day stay and would happily book to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 132 - Some light bulbs needed changing in room making it very dark.Bathroom had mildew in and ceiling was coming away.

    Lovely hotel. Rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfy. The food in the bar was very nice. Staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.3
    Low room tariff then exorbitant prices for wine and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No handrail in bath. Were not told that there was a problem in the kitchen with no gas so a very limited menu. Were asked to pre book table for dinner as was expected to be busy, only 2 other guests in dining room that night so were coned into thinking it would be busy.

    Nice surroundings

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    3.8
    It is trying to be something it is not and the entire hotel is stuck in the 1980's
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Left standing on reception for 10minutes at check in Dated rooms in desperate need of an overhaul and improvements - heating didn't work / wasn't on the night I stopped Awful choice at breakfast made worse by an unfortunate gas issue. That doesn't excuse the undercooked hash browns, mushrooms, tomatoes and stewed bacon though. To charge £18 to add it to your room is robbery at its finest

    The staff are all well presented The coffee was hot The walk out in the morning

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    First visit to The Haycock, enjoyed our stay in the area and at this picturesque hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mouldy window frames on garden doors (room 126.) Breakfast layout seemed a little muddled and left guests guessing how to proceed. Evening meal was good in parts but needed to be hot when arriving at the table, steak was cooked perfectly but nearly cold on arrival, also the seasonal veg. Attention to detail around the hotel would lift the appearance and visitor experience.

    The room was cosy, generally clean and welcoming. Hotel location very convenient and property felt historic and full of character. Village provided short but enjoyable walk. Loved the bridge over nearby river. Great photo opportunities. Hotel staff generally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dusty and dirty. Marked walls and run down. The people in the next room arguing til 2am in the morning Breakfast was ok but the sausages were not very nice . Overall slightly disappointing

    The lady on reception was lovely and very friendly and kindly ordered a taxi for us.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.4
    A little disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of breakfast is spread out over a few different rooms which is a little strange - previous visits have been different. Wedding party on Saturday night did make us feel we were intruding on their special day so we went out to local pub rather than stay in bar. Restaurant in Orangery is no longer open which is such a shame as it was a lovely space.

    Room was clean and spacious, if a little tired, especially the bathroom. The hotel feels like its been a little neglected of late and we were a bit disappointed after previous visits. Staff were helpful and polite throughout.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Everything else was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed mattress was very uncomfortable and felt like laying on a metal frame.

    Everything else was great. Friendly and helpful staff. A great selection for breakfast. We look forward to our next weekend away and will definitely be considering going there again. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    A truely lovely building needs more maintenance . Staff very disconnected from each other.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very poorly cooked breakfast. Some of the staff were moody and up tight . Shower was mouldy, and dirty smelly water was coming up through the plug when bath was in use. Room was boiling hot .

    The surrounding area was beautiful . Staff in other pubs far more friendly and not "fake ".

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay here rounded off a lovely wedding at another venue nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor irritations only; It needs a good "spring clean" in the nooks, crannies and window frames. Spiders and webs apparent in waiting room (the one with the picture of fox hunt) by reception which would annoy (at least) some guests; similarly if one needed to open the large sash windows for ventilation, the presence of webs and dead bugs was a nuisance. There appeared to be only two serving staff at breakfast (plus perhaps one extremely busy cook), which may explain the less than accurate fulfilment of breakfast orders.

    Rooms were spacious (a party of 7, using 4 rooms). Generally clean in terms of bedlinen and laundry, and tea/coffee facilities were well-stocked. Older styles of bedframes creaked at every turn, but if one ignored that, the mattresses were comfortable (although pillows were too soft for most of us). We all had cooked breakfast, and although only one of us got exactly what we ordered, as a family we are used to swapping what is on plates to make the best of things. It is a lovely venue, and if one gets a good room and an acceptable meal, the bed and breakfast rate is very good value. We all felt it was very good value.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.1
    Not as good as my previous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t in the main body of the hotel this time and the room wasn’t as nice (although it was bigger). Also very noisy thanks to some very drunk girls at 3am. Sadly breakfast this time was also a real let down.

    Warm welcome at reception

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable welcoming place to stay; convenient for A1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window wouldn't open. Grouting round shower mouldy or missing. We used the bath instead. Many hotels seem to let themselves down with messy grouting in the bathroom which looks very bad but surely can't be expensive to fix.

    Nice big comfy bed. Spacious room. Good evening meal. Excellent breakfast. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    dissapointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fact that the heating system is in need of attention and wakes everyone up, we did brign to the attention of the staff what needs doing, therefore would expect to see this done by the time of the next visit, or I will be claiming a free ngihts sleep

    staff mostly were very good, but not all

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic visit back to the place we go at married.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Details but the staff seemed a bit under manned and a bit rushed, although their service was still good. Our bathroom was in need of a refurb, the fixtures and fittings were looking tired. The choice of gin at the bar was a bit boring and the tumbler it was served in was a bit cheap. The gardens needed attention.

    Beautiful building in a beautiful location. Lovely walk by the river. Nice bar area and courtyard to enjoy the autumn sun. The room was huge with a very comfortable bed. The staff were very polite and friendly. The menu in the restaurant had a wide choice and the food was good value, the portions were generous two courses filled me up. We got married here and we came back to celebrate our 15 year anniversary and we were provided with another great memory.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    Convenient, clean and homely.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner and service by bar staff was poor, food was cold and the bar area lacked atmosphere.

    Staff were really friendly, Room was a good size and clean. The reception staff were lovely and provided us with a 'take away' breakfast as we had to leave early.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.7
    A beautiful place but not one I would be in a hurry to revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms could be updated even if simply to replace the bedside tables which were very dated. The bathroom was beautiful and large but would benefit from having the bath sealant re-done and a good scrub of the bottom of shower screen to remove discolouration and limescale that occurs over time. Hot and Cold signs missing off taps, bath and sink waste eroding - all small things but added together are noticeable. We chose to cancel our restaurant booking because when we saw where we would be eating, it was not as anticipated from the website; it was so dated and silent and empty that it did not fill us with much hope! The hotel lacks atmosphere - there is no music or noise - it is completely silent. The bar in evening was the weirdest hotel bar I have been in with no atmosphere at all. Completely blank and bland. My overall impression is that so much attention is spent on weddings - and perhaps the best bedrooms allocated to wedding parties - that other guests are pushed gently to one side. There was no one thing to really "complain" about as the service and staff were faultless. As part of a chain, these cosmetic and image issues need to be addressed.

    Beautiful building, and Wansford is a beautiful Hamlet. Room was spacious and clean but a little dated. The bathroom was spacious and clean but needed a little attention. Very comfortable bed. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    Brilliant staff and comfy bed however paper thin walls and in need of a revamp and lick of paint!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room itself felt very dated. The bathroom suite was old and had a bit of a damp smell to it. Nice big windows out to the gardens however two of the windows had big cracks in them and let in a draft!

    Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Location was perfect for what i needed. The bed was nice and comfy!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    Staff informative and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs attention - shower screen and tiles dirty. No chairs in bedroom. No toilet brush. No mirror above dressing table. Expensive wine.

    Staff informative and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.8
    I didn't find the price reflected my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with some cosmetic adaptations. Although not dangerous, the bath panel was almost rotten in the middle. There was also mould in areas. In the room, previous guests details were left welcoming them. I didn't get this. No personal welcome which let it down. The duvet cover also had holes in and the basic shower essentials I expect weren't there. Luckily I had my own.

    The layout was quite good and provided space.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    A gem just off the A1
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting from the car park to the Reception in the dark, could be better.

    The rooms clean, spacious, bathroom clean and well stocked. Food excellent and good value. We were bowled over by the location, staff and service, well above the expectation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Expected more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a good clean under the glass top and the shower door was horrible don’t think that had been cleaned since it was installed

    Location! Location was great for our needs . I was taken back at the cost for a breakfast. Menu options very limited for vegetarians. I have always known about The Haycock Hotel. Feel a bit let down this was a birthday present for my partner. Don’t think we would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.0
    Just a disappointment and difficult for my wife to climb stairs as no disabled ground floor rooms
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast quality poor, unlike the blurbs on the walls about how local and good the sausages and everything else were It seems cooking was done in oil, hence yellow scrambled eggs etc uneatable. And so on.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely experience, will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe our en suite was dated but it didn't bother us.... it was clean and shower was powerful .

    Our room was very ordinary but we were happy. The price, location, food and wine list were excellent. The gardens were very beautiful. Toiletries were nice. The building itself had real character!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom would have benefited from a fan or opening window but wouldn't put us off staying again

    Great room, very big and comfortable. Lovely and helpful staff. Breakfast was really nice and plenty of choice. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    Will stay again but would ask for a first floor room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was in a second floor room (208). Decorations and furnishing bland, Peeling paint on windows. Blinds did not work. Bedside lampshades broken. No proper mirror in bathroom.

    Comfy bed and good shower. Very good breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    3.8
    Depressing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated. Bathroom was falling apart. The bedroom was only partially clean with thick dust and cobwebs all around. The bath panel was completely rotten. We ate in the restaurant one evening, the food choice was good but the service was incredibly slow and the staff were not particularly friendly - morale seemed very low and more training in customer service definitely required. Breakfast was equally disappointing, unfriendly staff- a faster service than dinner but quality of cooked breakfast disappointing, cheap meat etc.

    The location was good for what we needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    We were placed in a room above the function space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were placed in a room above the function space. We had our baby with us so this made our stay uncomfortable as the venues music was quite loud. Should have been warned or put in a more quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    A good location for the Nene Valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only comment is that the food service was very slow. No complaints about the staff, just the time it took to serve us.

    The staff were friendly, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and dirty - the smell of stale cigarettes in the bedroom was unpleasant. We weren’t asked how our stay and dispite paying £116 for 1 night breakfast we not included. We were told that it’s only £10 pp, unfortunately we just wanted to leave and go home. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location off of the A1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was old and in poor repair - we had no hot water for a shower. Staff did provide a second room for us to use and a small reduction in the bill but incredibly frustrating experience. Small things like tv remote not clean, no outside light from building that the rooms were in. Bar staff very slow and food and drink prices on the expensive side.

    Great location off of the A1. Beautiful building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Looked lovely on line and thought it would be a great place to finish our holiday. Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water when we arrived and no shower products only dried out containers. Asked to be told when there would be hot water, not told so had to keep checking. Staff nice in restaurant but had no idea about checking tables that needed clearing.

    Lovely location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    great place, needs looking after better though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the en suite room was poor, bath panel hanging off, mould in shower area, skirting missing. But the bedroom was clean and ok.

    building is historic and beautiful. Staff were superb, as always.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Found a little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some areas could be a little cleaner. However the rooms, bathrooms, lounge and dining area were well appointed and clean

    The old world charm of the hotel and the village was just wonderful. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed when there was a wedding taking place and staff were still attentive - this doesn't always happen.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Average hotel - does the job
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough external signs telling you where your room is - basic information for a hotel.Several guests walking around with overnight bags clearly doing the same as me!

    Price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need some attention window would not shut allowing traffic noise in.shower doors would not shut properly.

    Excellent breakfast.friendly staff.Lovely back garden and drinks terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    Staff at reception were friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable. There was mildew in the shower. The room was in a general state of disrepair and required updating/cleaning. The bar staff seemed reluctant to open wines listed as available by the glass, commenting that they were ‘very expensive’ and apparently trying to push you towards drinking the house options - take them off the by the glass list if this is the case.

    Staff at reception were friendly and efficient. There was a decent wine list.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    I wouldn’t return unless it had a revamp. Expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and smelt bad. No fan or window in the bathroom which was also dirty and smelly. It wasn’t a nice room to relax in. Even in the restaurant there were damp areas and holes in the curtains.

    The staff were very good and the food/ menu also good. A nice choice of gluten free. Outside was nicely maintained.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Good location but not worth the 3 stars, expected better from Macdonald Hotels
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms dated, bed very squeaky and thin, bathroom not very clean and water incredibly hot with no warning. Restaurant on first night was like being in someone's living room with no atmosphere although food was OK.

    Location close to Burghley horse trials, easy access to A14

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Great place but disappointed that the staff didn't tell me why
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here for a wedding reception. I went to the bride & grooms room, with a member of staff, with another cousin (it was a family wedding) to put some toilet roll around their furniture there. Nothing was damaged or moved etc. We did a video of it too. At some point between us leaving and my cousin going back to her room the tissue had been removed! We were all so disappointed that my cousin didn't get to see it. :(

    The bed and shower were great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    It was convenient and adequate but due to the Burghley Horse Trials close by the prices were high
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Building, Furniture and Decoration seemed very 'Tired', as if the whole building was past it's best.

    Helpfulness and Cheerfulness of ALL Staff. Location for the activity at Sibson Airfield a few miles away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing beyond belief
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant manager didn’t have any customer service skills, the food was near inedible at dinner. Breakfast at 8am was as if it had been sat in the servers from the day before.I had to send the side plate and knife back to be exchanged for one without food. There was a huge cobweb at picture rail height The room was nothing like it was shown on booking.com or their website. Dated by at least 20 years and very tired. The beds were comfy enough and the reception and bar area were nice A very over priced night at £194 for DBB. Wasn’t worth half the price. Very disappointed and definitely would have had a better stay at a premier inn. Wanted to treat my daughter to a weekend she wouldn’t forget. Unfortunately it was unforgettable for the wrong reason

    Location distance from Burghley Horse Trials

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the booking, expensive mistake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appalling, lack of attention to detailed. Mismatched lampshades, masking tape covering holes different colour pain on walls. Dirty, cobwebs. Constantly rushed by staff to have dinner, mains arrived immediately finished starters, warm £50 wine, no initiative by staff. Really quite rubbish. Breakfast absolutely appalling and inedible. Had to ask so for plates and when arrive so hot couldn’t even help yourself to Buffet. . Became a joke as constant catalogue of errors. Could be ok if they sorted themselves out.

    good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Sad but lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This beautiful hotel is looking very tired. Dead plants in pots, trim around shower not painted to match other surround, doorways to bedrooms showing marks where keys have knocked against them. Just so sad as this was once a lovely well kept hotel. Some of the lovely areas I remember are no longer used. There is so much charm and potential but decent monkey and thought need to go in its direction

    Easy access to Burghley Horse Trials

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Close to A1, picturesque setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy rattling squeaky bed, pipes in the room next door were really loud had to ring reception about the banging pipes.

    Big room, in a lovely setting. All you can eat breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    adequate for a one night stay. food was dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    although we stayed on sunday night we expected a better menu. chips were from a packet of frozen. and service at the bar was slow even though the hotel was quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    We will certainly return to be spoilt by our Haycock Family and explore the local area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dry black pudding from Scotland when everything else on the breakfast plate was outstandingly locally sourced finger licking good!

    The welcome greeting from the moment you enter the premises, it felt like you were being welcomed as a family member. An excellent balance in age & experience of the staff, everyone delivered outstanding genuine friendly & professional service. We found an excellent deal through booking.com and because of the low price we did not have high expectations and some reviews were not favourable ….. How wrong we were! It was a quiet Sunday for the hotel and we were thrilled to be offered an upgrade in our room …. imagine our surprise to walk into a HUGE suite with a super comfortable four poster bed and a heavenly spa bath with Elemis products! We were thrilled at how quiet the inside of the room was considering the busy A1 on one side and the main road through Wansford on the other, we slept soundly. We ate dinner in the bar area and again pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food, simple presentation and good wine selection, it's always a bonus when the champagne arrives well chilled and in an iced wine bucket, well done the bar staff. Like wise the breakfast was tasty and wholesome, with fresh produce and no pretentious presentation. There was an abundance of free parking in front of the hotel on the main street and a huge hotel carpark at the rear.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    I requested a ground floor room which I got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the garden was very difficult to lock but I reported it and they were going to sort it out. The room was clean enough but would have benefited from a bit of attention to detail...

    I requested a ground floor room which I got. Travelling with two dogs it was great to have a door opening directly on to the garden. Bed was comfy and had decent pillows, quite a rarity in a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff were badly trained i.e. bringing porridge and cooked breakfast together. However this was sorted at check out by a very nice receptionist/

    Very friendly staff, nice room facing an orchard 130, food very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    I had a two night stay on my way home and could not have picked a better hotel. ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints whatsoever.

    The room was clean and very lovely.. could not fault the staff....friendly and helpful..could not have asked for more.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    Adequate, not outstanding
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to fix bathroom door myself as it was hanging off hinges and no staff on duty to repair it, there were 4 big spiders in the room I removed them before my wife would settle, cobwebs in the room and in the bathroom, had to ask the cleaner to clean the room.

    Location was ideal

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed did not have a mattress protector so not very comfy. dinner was a bit old fashioned.

    just off the main road, looked like very pretty village but we didn't have time to explore. good beer in the bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn’t recommend
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff upon arrival were unwelcoming. Potential of being a great hotel however seems unmanaged and very rough around the edges. Rooms were adequate but needed a proper clean. Bathroom was worn and had to give bath a good clean before bathing my 2yr old.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel, with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel, with friendly staff. We were very pleased with our room which was full of character and charm with a very large old fashioned four poster bed. The room itself was very spacious with a small dressing area. The bathroom was very clean and modern with a large jacuzzi bath and separate shower. I cannot comment on the food as we did not eat there. We would certainty stay her again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful old inn in picturesque village. Friendly staff and romantic evening
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices at the bar were totally way off. A single g and t that was bombay and schweppes not hendricks and fever tree was just under £7. I work in hospitality and this is not acceptable. No aromatics like mint cucumber or strawberry that wd make drink feel special. Just 1 slice of lime in a long glass. This is not what i wd expect for £7. I would want a gin bowl with ice aromatics fevertree and straw for that price so bar not costed or current with market trends.

    We were allowed to check out late without harrassment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Not happy with the excessive fox hunt scenes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible feather pillows that so really uncomfortable. They are obviously a pro-blood sport hotel as every wall is covered with fox hunt scenes. Had i known this before, i wouldnt have booked.

    Food was really nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    3.3
    Tired property in desperate need of refurbishment - signs of neglect everywhere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Appalling lack of basic maintenance. Light bulbs needing replacing and towel rail hanging off wall (Room 114). Window would barely open - temperature monitored at 27 degrees on a cooler night! Breakfast chaotic - no Weetabix (Hadn't been delivered we were told) - hardly a 'special' request. Try getting in a car and going out to buy some! Standard of maintenance and cleanliness poor. Will not be returning

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.5
    Definitely not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the pictures the rooms looked absolutely amazing, however when we got there it was quite different. The place itself is beautiful but the bedroom was awful. It was so run down and looked like it hadn’t been updated in 20-30 years. The room had a strange mold smell, the paint had dirt marks on it, everything felt run down and the walls and bath were all cracked in the bathroom. We then went to check out and the person who worked there didn’t even bother to ask us how our stay was, just took the money and said goodbye. We tried to exit the car park however there is only one way in/out and as there were no clear parking spaces people parked wherever which mean the exit was completed blocked up. We had to tell the person on reception and as vehicle registrations are not taken when people check in they had no clue who to contact so we had to stand there for 15-20 minutes before luckily some person randomly went to grab something out of their car and let us out. I forgot to mention that the breakfast was cold and soggy, not enjoyable at all. The outside of the building and most of it is beautiful but it seems that was the only redeeming quality, it is definitely not worth the amount we had to pay and will not be staying again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    Good location for travelling up A1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disturbed night and not just the uncomfortable beds but a brawl in the corridor outside our room by a wedding party staying at the hotel . Of course this was not directly the fault of the hotel, but how they deal and react to it is . One has to think that with some foresight they could have allocated non wedding guests in a different part of the hotel. We Were willing to give them the benefit of the doubt and hoped things would improve. Unfortunately this was not the case. Breakfast included cold “hot food “and burnt pastries. The worse thing was when checking out the staff made no attempt to apologise for our severely disturbed night although it was totally obvious we must have been effected. The ignorance and total lack of understanding is disappointing. Customer awareness, focus and service was grossly below where it should be.

    Good location for travelling up A1. Nice bar area and lounge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    ok but wouldnt rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A VERY dated and tired hotel. The 'new' part built 30 years ago has not been refurbished since and the plumbing left a lot to be desired. I left a cardigan there and after telephoning they said they would post it back and we had to pay the postage. Not good customer service after spending in excess of 200quid for our stay!

    bed comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location and beautiful outside
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a serious deep clean. Counted seven spiders hanging from the ceiling by the door, there was also one in the bathroom and a dead spider on the carpet. Sash windows opened but were covered in cobwebs so didn’t want to touch them. Uncomfortable sleep because room was really hot.

    Great location and beautiful outside

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.5
    Lovely village but disappointed with breakfast
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible breakfast part of overall price paid but if not included £ 17 each a head not worth it. Bacon like leather soft poached eggs hard, fried egg horrible hash browns toast limited the worst breakfast ever, left most of it . Whoever was chef in the kitchen couldn’t cook adequately for a hotel of the standard aimed for. Although advising on departure we have not had any feedback so hence my feedback. Really disappointed as had fond memories of a visit some years ago.

    Lovely village but disappointed with breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    An historic building with attentive hard working staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior is tired and although our room was basically clean there were at least 10 spiders on the ceiling and around the windows. The bathroom was small and a bit dated.

    An historic building with attentive hard working staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Stayed here 10 years ago and it was lovely. This time around not so much. Place is down at heel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is tired and in dire need of money being spent on it both internally and externally. Looks fine at first glance but look closer and it is not. Needs a good clean too. There were cobwebs on the wall in the restaurant. At breakfast we had to ask for the milk, both on our table and cereal table to be changed as it was off. Our rooms were tired. Bed creaky, mattresses a tad uncomfortable. Decor needs updating and renewing. The hotel is part of the Macdonald Hotel Group and they need to spend some money on the place. However, since we have a Macdonald hotel close to where we live and it is going the same way, I suspect Macdonald don't want to spend anything.

    Staff were great. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Lovely village location, but very close to the A1 for a road link.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    It was a stopping of stay between journey. It was a lovely old character hotel in a little village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy with roads couldn’t leave the windows open at night. Bedroom could do with a bit of a makeover. Not much choice in restaurant.

    Lovely village setting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Dirty tissues in the bedside draws, dirty glasses in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty tissues in the bedside draws, dirty glasses in the bathroom. Room advertised with bottled water in the room but none on arrival. Tried to book in at 2pm and room was not ready, tried to book in again at 3 and 4, eventually got in at about 5. Bathroom generally in a poor condition and not very clean. Disappointed overall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Below average.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs, complete with spiders, in the room and bathroom. Fixtures and fittings were tired. Room was very hot, no aircon and very difficult to open tiny windows. Curtains or blinds did not work very well. Handed key in but was not asked how my stay was, made me think they knew already.

    Room was big. Bathroom looked good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Late arrival without problem. Ample free parking. Great room, bed, bath, shower. Excellent breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived very late. That was no problem at all with the very friendly night staff. Scrambled egg and toast were excellent. Never had this quality breakfast anywhere!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    OK nothing to write home about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full English breakfast served until 10am. Unfortunately if you get there around 9.45am there is very little left and staff arguing with Guests that it is nearly at the end of serving time. they did however get some fresh for her. I just scraped up what was left. My wife did not fancy the scraps so declined and had a little toast.

    Lovely old buildings with past history written all over it in an Excellent Village setting. A little ragged around the edges in some areas, could do with the TLC of matching things up like clear and opaque light bulbs in the bathroom with not quite straight holders and a Very Noisy though comfortable spring mattress. Room 223

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Haycock Hotel Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window frames need attention. Got breakfast order wrong, quickly and politely corrected.

    Beautiful location. Friendly helpful staff. Quaint building with lovely grounds. Close to local amenities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful & friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few paint peeled patches in the bathroom but beautifully clean.

    The staff were very helpful & friendly. The outdoor space was peaceful & pretty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Location was very picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price. The rooms were not as clean as they could be. 2 seats in our room were both stained and threadbare. The mattress was too small for the bed frame. I got more discount through Booking.com than the wedding party did after spending thousands on the reception and evening. Not worth what I paid - £452.00! For 2 rooms for 2 nights.

    Location was very picturesque. Function room was excellent as we were there for a wedding. Breakfast was also good as was the service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Our stay was Ok. The hotel needs some TLC, and a good clean. Cob webs on the walls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived to book in Reception informed us that Booking .com had not sent through our complete booking. There were three rooms booked and confirmed to me email. However two of the three rooms had not been reserved!....thanks to the very kind helpful Duty Manager they managed to rustle up two more rooms. On arrival this was not what we expected, we had travelled from the North of England and we were tired and v hot. We were a group of 70 yr olds so the hicc up was very annoying. But as mentioned thd Reception staff were excellent. .. and sorted out the problem Mrs M G Hedley

    The Reception staff were charming and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Not upto the usual standard. Room was a nice room however the furniture was very worn. B/fast poor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very tired and the furniture was very worn. I decided to have breakfast in the room and the food didn't meet my expectations. The tomato wasn't cooked. When eating the poached eggs I didn't enjoy a mouthful of the vinegar............... bacon was poor and overcooked - mushrooms not cooked correctly too. I also ordered fresh juice for that not to arrive also.

    Not a great deal to be honest.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: