Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Haymaker Inn

Wadeford, Chard, TA20 3AP, United Kingdom

#7 of 11 hotels in Chard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 279 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    A VERY GOOD PLACE TO STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs there were too many for me, but would be ok for most people. Probably me just being a bit picky

    The friendly staff. The very good and variety of choice at breakfast. The excellent evening food menu, and quality of what we had. The size of room and shower room were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Short stay near Taunton
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed could have been more comfortable.

    The staff were most helpful. There was a wide choice on the dinner and breakfast menu. and the food we had was good. Fan provided in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Excellent choice
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing at all we didn't like

    Such a beautiful setting. Really friendly people and the food was excellent. Will definetly stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Swift and friendly attention at breakfast, easy access and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    Swift and friendly attention at breakfast, easy access and parking, pleasant room (we ate only breakfast as we had other evening commitments). Value for money. Would go again if in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Room adequate size and bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle was very small but worked adequately

    Room adequate size and bed was comfy. The fan in the room was welcoming as it was hot weather. Breakfast was good and well cooked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Best thing was they provided a fan!! It was very hot when we visited so it was very much appreciated. Breakfast and evening meals very good. Friendly hosts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    I spoke to the landlord of the Haymakers Inn explained how...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I spoke to the landlord of the Haymakers Inn explained how the 2 beds in the twin room were very uncomfortable to sleep on, that night there were 2 new mattresses on the beds which were so comfortable and the problem was solved. The rest of the holiday was wonderful. We took our evening meals at the Inn every night we were there. The food was cooked to perfection, and plenty of choice. The dining room was full every night we were there from local people as well as people staying at the inn. The landlord his wife as well as all the staff were so very friendly, we would highly recommended it to anyone..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    The food was delicious & service was very good.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need new mattresses in the room we had.could feel the springs. Although otherwise a value for money room & very clean.

    The food was delicious & service was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Fab holiday place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing 10/10 for everything

    This was a great friendly relaxing place to stay, everyone of the staff were helpful and polite and relaxing to be around, nothing to much trouble for them. It’s also in a great location for getting out and about to see places, only short drive to some fab places. I would highly recommend a stay here and we will definitely be going back at some point m.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice Stay in a Quiet Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While overall the room and establishment were very clean, some of the shower grout could do with a dose of bleach.

    Comfortable with a nice mix of the old (ceiling beams) and new (modern shower and bathroom flooring). Friendly staff and good tasting (and with very generous servings) dinner. Breakfast was also tasty. Situated in a quiet and attractive little town. I'm always a little worried about how noisy a room located at a pub is going to be, but this was not at all an issue--very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    -Very friendly, accommodating and helpful owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Could hear pipes from other rooms running through the wall -Shower pressure could be better -Would prefer proper filter coffee over cafetieres at breakfast

    -Very friendly, accommodating and helpful owners -Nice breakfast -Free wifi -Good tv -Good facilities in room, including bath

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely friendly place, excellent restaurant.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mirror in the bathroom is too high for any short person. They can't help the traffic which starts passing bit by bit around 6am on weekdays!

    The owner is very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was spacious and I do like a bath rather than only a shower! The friend I took there to dinner is vegan and allergic to most foods: the Haymaker catered for that and she had a very good & enjoyable meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Friendly good food and clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More sea food sauce on the prawn cocktail it was soon put right that was our only grumps we had. Enjoyed our stay very much very friendly we will keep you in mind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Good venue for an overnight stop. ( 3rd or 4th time for us)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After showering we noticed dirty black bits had dropped out from the bottom of door sliders, attention to cleaning shower necessary, everything else was really good in the cleanliness dept.

    Exellent evening menu, really good breakfast, dogs ( two small) were welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    An excellent stop over which was virtually faultless. Well done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Very friendly welcome & choice on menu took a very wide range of dietary needs. Although not vegans, the needs of such & anyone with gluten-free requirements were well catered for. Well done all round. 🤗

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable,friendly Inn with good food at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything that we didn't like.

    The cleanliness of our room and the friendliness of all at The Haymaker.We would certainly stay there again if we were in that area. We had an evening meal there which my husband and I enjoyed very much We had a lovely room which was spotlessly clean and comfortable.A lovely meal in the evening.The owners and the restaurant staff were very friendly and it was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Good food, friendly staff and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. For what we paid it provided everything that we needed for one night.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent food - too much of it sometimes. Clean and comfortable. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Stay was pleasant and enjoyable and staff made sure everything was ok. It was exactly what we had h
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike.

    The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. You could have anything for breakfast which was included in price, no complaints there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Good company, good food, good beds - that'll do me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners and their staff were extremely friendly and made us very welcome; our room was spacious and comfortable and the food and drink were very good - we would certainly go again if we are planning to stay in that area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    Value for money, lovely owners just needs minor tweak here and there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On whole very clean , just parts of shower scree and round windows bit grubby. Bathroom mirror too high for me to see in. Although bedroom had lovely furnishings, the stool had grotty cover with black mark:-( I declined sausage and beans for breakfast still only one rasher of bacon.

    Staff were lovely. Nothing too much trouble. Dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    great place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great village pub/restaurant with accommodation. The menu for lunch and evening meals is excellent and the food wonderful. We would book again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative is that it is in a country village on main road and front bedroom picked up road noise - back bedrooms quiet.

    Staff very friendly, food was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    in a word.....FABULOUS
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were NO negative points

    The owners were very hospitable, comfy beds, great food, really clean, plenty of parking space, and great value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Everything we could have hoped for!
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Chose the Haymaker Inn as it was pet friendly. From the moment we arrived they were warm and friendly and the dog was as welcome as we were, even being given sausages for breakfast! The beds were super-comfy and everything was really clean, food and service excellent. Carrie and Jason are excellent hosts. Thank you for a relaxing stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    4.2
    Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people in the room next door were unbelievably noisy even when asked politely to keep the noise down. We never got to sleep until 1am as the walls were like paper. I had to be up at 5:45am for work the next day. Pity because the rooms were lovely and staff were great.

    Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Altogether a very enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was so hot that the shower was almost too hot when set a coldest.

    We were made to feel extremely welcome. Dinner was delicious and the room was very comfortable. A very happy experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    The room was so clean and very comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the steps outside and staircase inside, which couldn't be helped but didn't make our stay any problem.

    The room was so clean and very comfortable. The owners were excellent, very friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure we had a pleasant stay, which we did.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Allowing pets. Don't like idea of dogs "backsides" on carpets where I have to tread barefoot. Also, don't like idea of dogs on/in beds. This is unhygienic and should not be allowed where guests stay.

    Lovely quiet room (Martock) even when bar/restaurant was lively. Never heard a thing. Friendly staff and locals. Home from home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of noise from customers at back of pub/Car park.

    Friendly landlord and staff. Good local buzz from punters in pub. Real feel for local culture

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable, if we were to visit this part of the country again, then I would stay at this Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, this was a reasonably priced bed and breakfast, which suited our needs.

    This was a lovely Inn, in a peaceful, quiet location. Our stay was made pleasurable by the warm welcome we received from the owners and the excellent service both at breakfast and the very reasonably priced evening meal. The bedroom was a little on the small side, but nothing to detract from the special thought that had been given to the facilities on offer, including a chocolate at the side of the bed. Our bedroom had wonderful views of the countryside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Wasn't aware of Haymaker before, but will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, all good!

    Availability and staff knowledge of gluten free options was excellent. I have Coeliac disease, therefore it is important i eat only GF food. The hosts were very accomodating and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were very accommodating. As it was our wedding night they gave us a bottle of bubbly. Stunning room!!! Lovely breakfast and receiving a jug of orange juice with our breakfast was very nice indeed :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely experience in a traditional English country pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent full English breakfast, excellent service and lovely setting. Lots of room for parking. Darts and skittles activities available. Nice evening meal menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing to dislike about the place and we will certainly recommend it to anyone visiting or passing through the area.

    very warm welcome when we arrived and it continued throughout the two night stay with staff, locals and other guests making the stay most enjoyable, excellent choice of evening meals as well and very ample portions, as were the breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Very friendly proprietors. Nothing too much trouble for our stay. very clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like, wifi a bit iffy but could live without it.

    Great breakfast, also very good pub food in the evening. Very welcoming for our dog.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room overlooked the car park. So there wasn't any view

    Lovely friendly atmosphere, excellent food the helpings are very generous. Nice comfy bed and very clean. Would recommend to our friends. Although our room looked over the car park it wasn't noisy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Amazing country pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Amazing country pub. A superb find. Proprietors were fantastic, friendly and homely. Loved them. Our room was beautiful with lovely views too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    This was a lovely place to stay, well run, comfortable and with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one problem: the hot tap in the bath wouldn't turn on. Once my husband had disconnected the shower head we were able to fill the bath that way. The staff were fine when we reported it and said they would sort it out. Oh, and though the internet worked fine it was hard to find a mobile signal. We went to the bus stop opposite the property and called from there - I should have told them to recommend that place.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room spotless, the bed very comfortable, the tea and coffee in the room plentiful (biscuits and a chocolate too), and the location ideal and easy to find. Had not had a full English breakfast for some time but this one was worth waiting for. We did not have an evening meal but liked the look of the menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Lovely short break would love to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing no complaints at all.

    A bottle of water each every day.Marvellous Very happy and helpful couple,excellent food plenty of choice. Nothing was to much trouble,for all the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    I had paid you according to your documentation but was then...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had paid you according to your documentation but was then given a bill when I left . I had not means to prove payment had been made through you so reluctantly paid again via Mastercard . You have been paid , they have been paid also so please sort this out with Haymaker and reimburse me the payment made to you .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    excellent, friendly, Pub with a good atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The owners were very friendly and accommodating. The bar in the evening was quite lively with a local darts match being played.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    What a place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing about the place not to like

    The staff,the accommodation,the food and the choice of food were all first class;would recommend to others and probably return for another visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great pub with lovely rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed here for two nights. Lovely people. The room was spotless with a good sized, well stocked en-suite. Breakfast was amazing and the evening meal was really good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Lovely pub with wonderful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - we would have been happy to stay longer.

    The staff were very friendly and the service excellent. The property was light and airy and the room well furnished and comfortable with nice touches. The evening meal was superb and the breakfast equally so.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Good value at The Haymaker
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me the mattress was a bit uncomfy but my wife found it fine for her

    Very friendly welcome and very nice room with en suite. Restaurant area was very pleasant and breakfast choices very good too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    What a find!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..... the weather was perfect too!!

    Nothing was too much trouble. Very friendly and welcoming. Bed exceedingly comfortable and bottles of water and chocolate mints in the room were a lovely touch. Food was excellent too and good choice of beers and wine. Good location - amazing beaches in under 30 minutes and fabulous National Trust areas too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No downsides I could see.

    The quality and comfort of the rooms was excellent with nice touches like chocs on bedside and plenty of biscuits,tea and coffee. The owners were wonderful and made us very welcome. I would visit again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Owners very friendly and helpful. Very good value .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing all was very good,

    Everything was really good, rooms clean and well furnished. Breakfast well cooked and nicely presented. Would not hesitate in recommending to friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.3
    Making hay or not!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The not so positive, the hotel is on the side of a hill so consequently there are stairs everywhere if you have trouble negotiating stairs this is not the hotel for you. Every floor other than the ground floor creaked and felt uneven making it annoying and hard to be quiet at night. The food although hearty and wholesome was let down by the portion size nobody could complain with the amount of food you were served, infract the very large size of the portions could put some off.

    To start with the positive, the staff, landlord and landlady were fantastic could not do enough for you. The hotel was situated central for our requirements.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely vibe & hope to return someday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problem for us but perhaps guests who find stairs difficult would not find access to the room so easy.

    Lovely friendly welcome and careful thought had gone into the furnishing of the room. The weather was very hot and we could have made use of the fan thoughtfully installed there but were happy to cool down by opening the window. The situation is on the road in a quiet rural village but only a mile or so from Chard town: very convenient. Without being specific we came away much hoping to have the opportunity to stay there again, it is the kind of B & B pub which gives a good feeling! Also it was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    We hope to stay longer next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Positioned on the side of a hill, stairs and steps were frequent. Not quite a problem for us, but if it might be for you, check access availability

    Friendly welcome. Very good, and plentiful, 'Pub-grub' - nouvelle cuisine, it isn't. Attractive scenery. Off the beaten track, and a good break on our way to Cornwall. Good navigation required if, like us, you don't have Sat-nav.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Proper Pub, Excellent Value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful without being over fussy. Our meal in the restaurant was very good, nicely presented and not pretentious. Super breakfast as well. Only a few minutes away from the A303 and worth a visit. Wish more pubs were like this one.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Friendly accommodation matched by friendly hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sat-Nav directions through country tracks (not lanes -much narrower0. Not the property's fault but take great care !

    Very friendly and attentive staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.5
    Good location, Excellent Value accommodation and food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi connection was a bit iffy, struggled to get logged on initially. Annoying as I needed to get some work done.This may have been due to bandwidth. Early morning it worked fine.

    Good location, perfect for breaking the journey to Cornwall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Great place clean comfortable and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place clean comfortable and excellent value for money.Breakfast was perfect and a great start to our day. Would definitely recommend and we will return.😊

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot fault anything .

    Friendly family run inn with very helpful staff . The rooms were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with all modern ameneties ( TV , free Wi-Fi , en suite shower room ) The restaurant menu was reasonably priced with a varied choice of meals .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Great place, friendly owners and nice rooms. Will definitely stay again when I'm back in the area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was woken in the early hours of the morning by the cries of a lovesick Peacock roaming the streets! Sure that was a one off and can't criticise the hotel for that one.

    Owners were really helpful and friendly, they went out of the way to accommodate my lateness which was much appreciated. Room was clean and modern, much better than lots of hotels I've stayed in and it had a decent shower which makes a change. Enormous portions of food at very reasonable prices too

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful staff with a country feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didnt work 80% of the time.

    Amazing customer service and a wonderful, large breakfast. A wonderful place to go to get a feel for the real country towns of England.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Country pub stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    comfortable, boutique style bedroom,welcoming owners, loads of choice for meals, pleasant beer garden,lovely walk after meal to Foxton hill. ( great view and pictures) they have a skittle alley, great for a family stay.easy location to get to.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be a better wine selection.

    We ate in the restaurant in the evening. Portions are big and food tasty. Breakfast very good. They certainly do not let you go hungry! Staff very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    One night stay . Good spot in this location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet in the room was very poor (not the haymaker issue more the location)

    Ok place to stay room is basic but very clean / staff are helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    The breakfast was delicious.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was delicious. We also had an evening meal which was equally as good. The restaurant area looked lovely, but as we had the dog with we had a great table in the bar. Our room was very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Great value pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A menu on the table at breakfast would have been useful.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Plenty of teas and coffee in room and also bottled water. Fantastic food in the bar and good full English breakfast. Good beer and wine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.5
    What a great find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine, nothing to complain about

    We arrived after 10pm thinking it might be a problem, but were greeted and checked in with a very friendly and courteous manner. Atmosphere in the bar was great and breakfast was everything you could ever want.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    The right place for us to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    coffee and tea in room not much there and there was only a shampoo in the bathroom no soap!

    Very friendly and helpful people, all giving extra, food great and the extra veg was a welcome addition to the meals.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Brilliant Haymaker at Chard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners Jason and Connie cound not do enough ! so helpfull and friendly ! The bed was so comfy and the breakfast was so fresh and home cooked nothing frozen ! Evening meal home cooked and brilliant value for money .Dogs are so welcome , please give this place a go ! Do not go to Chard without stopping at the Haymaker 5stars . So New and clean facilities ! Brilliant loved it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice B&B and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft and there were no hand towels in the bathroom. A mat in the bathroom is needed as the floor is quite slippery after a shower.

    Very friendly staff. The food in the restaurant is very good and there was complimentary bottled water, biscuits and a chocolate in the room which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Great Stopover stay at The Haymakers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would say the only thing that I would have changed was the fact the rooms were very close to each other and the sound proofing was not ... Hmmm... adequate to stop the sound of other guests snoring!

    This Property has had a lot of improvements made to it and you can see them clearly. The Staff were all great and seemed to really love what they were trying to do. The rooms were very well appointed and the bathroom area was spotless. We could not have asked for more from a one night stop over before travelling further west. I just wish our next accommodation had been as good!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in Somerset
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a temporary issue with the wifi which was inconvenient but not a big deal for my purposes.

    The bedroom was great - and, for me at least, the shower is a good measure of attention to detail and customer care. It was great with a good water flow and steady temperature. The staff were friendly and attentive and the food was plentiful and very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor point which I would recommend as an improvement rather than a criticism, but the TV screens could do with being fixed at a higher level. Very difficult to watch if laying down.

    Superbly comfortable bed, friendly and accommodating hosts and hearty breakfast. Evening meal was lovely and I'd recommend eating here rather than finding an alternative venue

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Great friendly people who run it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were so pleasant and friendly I asked about breakfast and they said any time They booked us that night even though I did not finalize the booking on line

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Family run , very clean and comfortable, with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like. The accommodation was ideally suited to the purposes of our stay in the area.

    Food was very nice and we enjoyed one of the nicest ever mixed grill meals in the restaurant at night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Perfect relaxing hospitable location and hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative- Just be aware that the restaurant is not open on a Sunday evening - Chard has a couple of places a mile away and the adjacent villages also a mile or so away have pubs.

    Our hosts were superbly welcoming and helpful for the two nights that we stayed. The room, at the front facing the road, was quiet and we were undisturbed. Bed comfortable and room / shower also comfortable and very clean. Breakfast excellent. Safe parking. great access to Somerset / Devon / Dorset. pub below quiet when its time to close so no noise. Also really convenient. restaurant food excellent ; portions huge - for me at least - but you can ask for what size you like. Good range of drinks - even had my favourite non alcoholic cider with strawberry and mint. No faults whatsoever. Will be returning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Good comfortable stay with good pub food and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    don't really want to criticise for just the sake of it...nothing to find fault with without going into needless nit picking mode

    very clean comfortable room drink making facilities owners very friendly and willing to please. A fair price paid for B & B stay certainly would use again if in the area. There was a surprisingly good wine selection reasonably priced

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    The full English breakfast was lovely.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The full English breakfast was lovely. We were visiting relations and were left to come and go as we pleased. We took our small dog with us, and he was also welcomed. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: