Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Helyar Arms 3 stars

1 Moor Lane, Yeovil, BA22 9JR, United Kingdom

#3 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Yeovil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 248 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    …..............…. that we couldn't stay longer.

    There were five of us in our party using three rooms. The hospitality offered to us by Patrick and Claire, mein hosts, was excellent as were all meals that were taken at the pub especially the breakfast. Many thanks to all concerned.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small. We had to move some furnitures to just fit in the cot.

    I liked the ease of communicate. It was very nice to also have a restaurant below the rooms!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost everything. Room lighting poor, blown bulbs but seen as too difficult to change, rubbish! Smelly and noisy toilet macerating unit. Blown bathroom mirror light. Door lock springs broken. detached skirting board. Small bedroom, no chairs. Broken kettle. Noisy adjoining room bathroom. etc. etc.

    Lovely village location, breakfast ok but would have been better if not served in a cooking fat puddled bowl.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pipes ran down through our room so every time someone had a shower or flushed toilet we could hear it. However, not a problem during the night.

    Nice old world style inn. Good size room. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The variety of food was limited and the cost was a a little high for evening/breakfast food

    The rooms were excellent, staff were brilliant and new towels, bed etc were sorted out each day 👌

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet system was noisy. The key to the front door bent in the lock, so we could have been locked out. The kettle didn’t work too well.

    The staff were very friendly and considerate. The village and the room was beautiful. The extras.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable which mentioned to the manager but no alternative was offered only mentioned put quilt over mattress Not exceptable left 3 days early out of the 4 days

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small (but comfortable) and the plumbing (as in most old buildings) was a bit noisy. Booking.com needs to specify that the address is in East Coker, NOT in Hardington (both have Moor lanes) to avoid extensive exploration of the surrounding, very narrow and windy lanes in search of the right pub!

    The location (when we finally found it) in a beautiful old English village, the atmosphere in the pub and the friendly clientele, the welcoming and helpful publican and all the staff, the superb food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    the room was very nice and clean with plenty of tea and coffee . we where visiting friends who live near by so we only had breakfast on the last morning of our stay there but it was a great breakfast and good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This is a great place for a stop over and the food was really good too! Really pretty location great for our little dachshunds morning walk! Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The location was perfect, a beautiful traditional rural hotel set in an ageless Somerset village. Stunning to say the least. Our room was cosy and spotless, and the bathroom more than adequate. The owners and staff were wonderful and made us feel welcomed at all times. Great breakfast. All in all a great little hotel and exceptional value for money. Anne and Neal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing that we did not like. The only thing that I feel require attention is the pricing of breakfast. My mother only had a slice of bread with jam where we all had full English breakfast and she was charged the same price as us.

    We were very late as we had a problem during our drive from London and even though they seemed annoyed over the phone, when we got there the lady welcomed us with a smile and showed us our room straight away. We had a warm welcome and the room were warm and cosy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room seemed to have quite noisy pipework/ plumbing which did wake us on a couple of occasions through the night although we are light sleepers.

    Great friendly team and comfortable clean accommodation. Had an evening meal which was very nice and excellent value for a good quality. Bar staff and owners very friendly. Lovely historic hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of staff and food was great (dinner and breakfast!). We were made to feel at home! Large car park and quiet location in an attractive village.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having seen the quality of the pub - the decor of the rooms was a little less than that.

    The couple in charge of the Helyar were superb and really helpful - we weren’t there for a great deal of time but they were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately whilst we were there the wifi was unavailable. Apparently the whole village was affected.

    The staff were friendly & the food was very good (we had evening meals and breakfast during our stay). The village is quite quaint and the local church is worth looking into if you have an interest in Australian history. We used the pub as a base to explore the National Trust properties nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kettle was on a very short lead and it had to be perched on a shelf unit making it very awkward, and unsafe.

    Possibly one of the best night's sleep in a hotel bed we have had. Room warm and comfy, plenty of storage space, many drawers and large wardrobe. Lovely white bed linen, pastel colour in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A delightful Inn with comfortable facilities in a pretty location. Very welcoming hosts. Rooms facilities excellent. Breakfast adequate to set you up for the day. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely village, friendly staff. A good old fashioned inn with nicely done out bedrooms with all the little touches you’d expect from a more expensive hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb host made us feel very welcome, absolutely recommend this establishment. The evening meal we had was delicious as was the breakfast. We hope to stay again soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The rustic charm of the inn, the friendliness and helpfulness of Patrick & Claire and their cute dog Gracie 😀. We had an excellent dinner and breakfasts too and the location was delightful in such a pretty village would definitely return

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No need to change anything the hosts were doing a great job

    Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts. The choice and quality of food for dinner was excellent so was breakfast. So much choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was not up to the standard we had when we stayed their before. my son had a burger that was very dry and hard. We were told that the chicken meal I had took longer than expected ( in fact we waited about 45 mins for the mai meals to be served) and I assume the burger was cooked and basically kept hot which meant it was very dry. Should have sent it back but my son was hungry and didnt want to wait another half hour. The table in the restaurant were full and although there was plenty of staff at front,it woukld apear kitchen staff could not cope. This was a shame and would put us off staying there again.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an olde worlde establishment which had been updated in a style in keeping with its history. Very warm and friendly atmosphere and the hosts were most welcoming. Lovely rooms with all amenities. Great food and very attentive servers. Over all a most enjoyable experience and one that I would be happy to recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a charming place! The food was amazing especially the winter salad with figs and the 'cow pie'. Everything was beautifuly served. We just could not stop eating ;) Our room was very comfortable, warm, cozy and nicely decorated. We would like to say thank you to the landlady for a lovely welcoming and professional service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff, food, comfort and accommodation of our dog were all excellent. The village is well-located just outside Yeovil, surrounded by a network of country walks, which is what we wanted. The locals at the bar greeted us cheerfully when we arrived, along with the staff, which makes a big difference in a village 'local'. The food is really outstanding, and the general ambiance of the old pub is lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were visiting friends who lived nearby so the location was perfect. Very comfortable bed, lovely pub and excellent breakfast...wish we could have stayed for dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast over-priced @ £10ea. Condition of room and fittings could have been improved - paintwork on windowsill in a poor state of repair, bad smell from the toilet, damaged skirting board on shower.

    Friendliness and willingness to help, of the staff. Location, for what we needed. Value for money (on the whole). Car parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff are very friendly & helpful. The room is a nice size & very comfortable. The food is delicious perfectly cooked. This is our second stay will definately be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looking for a place to stay travelling from Cornwall to Brighton we had seen East Coker on way down and the association with T.S. Eliot raised our interest. Found the Helyar Arms on Google and booked overnight. Had delightful stay and found owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Light lunch of excellent panini and delicious duck breast and venison steak in the evening with good wine. Walked to St. Michael's Church of Saxon origin where we discovered T S Eliot's ashes are interred. Lots of walks in the area to which we hope to return. The village is quite large with many interesting houses. Access to the Helyar Arms is very easy if you turn off the A30 onto the A37 and don't forget to go to Goose Slade Farm Shop just down the road where we bought our Christmas goose.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    friendly welcoming staff was a delight after such a long drive, plus comfy bed, allow dogs and serve a good pint along excellent food including breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grouting in the bathroom reqired a little attention bbut the overall cleanliness was very good.

    We ate in the Helyar Arms restaurant. Excellent service and excellent food even though also dealing with a large party. Breakfast was also excellent. Great room, squeaky floorboards included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite being well modernised the age of the building imposes some limits on comfort.

    Cosy bar with log burner and excellent food. The way the breakfast is served is novel and welcome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our one gripe would be the noisy plumbing in the family room. You had to avoid flushing or running the tap when the baby was asleep.

    Beautiful location and a really excellent hotel. We loved the atmosphere. The food was also of a high quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After a six hour drive, that should have been three, to be welcomed by a smile accompanied by the suggestion of a fine English beer to calm the senses we knew we were in the right place!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave!!

    Everything was perfect, a lovely welcome, we ate in the restaurant and the food and service was top class. The room was comfortable and clean. We had breakfast next day and it was excellent local produce. We will definitely hope to stay there again. What lovely Hosts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds in ropewalk are very hard.

    Most things at the Helyar inn were excellent like the staff, service, cleanliness, facilities and how beautiful the location is the only reason it didn't get a full 10 is because the beds are rock hard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a bit tired but the owners have spent quite a bit on renovating the pub and are to be congratulated on what they have achieved.

    Our room was comfortable but what made our stay so enjoyable was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, great food and good beer. What a beautiful village!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming, all staff friendly and helpful. Good selection of drinks and food, evening meal was very good. Good selection for breakfast and cooked well. Every cost of the stay was very resonable, would highly recommend going here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet and water when running in our room were very noisy

    Very quiet and peaceful - large but quiet bar area - ideal for a relaxing meal at the end of a day of local touring. Suited our needs well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb! Very quiet location. Excellent service and happy, friendly and efficient staff. Food was very well cooked, dinner and breakfast. The bed was very comfortable indeed, I even managed to oversleep. Bathroom was cosy and warm. I will definitely look to stay here again when in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the window of time to take breakfast is less flexible than some other locations

    the breakfast is excellent quality. Staff are wonderful and friendly and the location is simply superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath and showers could be updated.

    Lovely, helpful staff. Fantastic location for car travelers. Peaceful and quiet. Beautifully furnished large rooms, and very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location and really lovely food in the restaurant. All the staff are incredibly welcoming and I wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend the Helyar Arms. The room we stayed in (Foxhole) was very small and hot so wouldn't recommend staying in it for more than a couple of nights but it was a very fair price for the room and there are larger ones available. Would definitely like to return here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were asked to check out slightly earlier than the specified time if we were able to - it was said politely and didn't bother us hugely but on reflection asking guests to leave because of a busy weekend ahead should probably be avoided! Apart from this we adore this little gem and will definitely be returning!

    Such a gorgeous pub in a picturesque location. Lovely food (scampi was delicious), great breakfast. Love the big mugs in the bedroom! Very cosy and friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit on the pricey side, but very scrumptious and nicely presented.

    It was the best night sleep I have had in a very long time, the bed you could sink into and never want to leave again. The staff were friendly and it was like being welcomed into someones home. The very cute dogs were an added bonus!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be Aware: This pub does not do food on a Sunday. The nearest eating establishments are in Yeovil. If I had known this I would not have booked this particular accommodation. After a long drive the last thing you want to do is get back into the car to drive for an evening meal!!!

    Nice pub with character set in a beautiful village. Plenty of car parking space. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Good comfortable value for money room in a quiet and beautiful area. Good meal at the restaurant which also provides a children's menu. Ample car parking. Picturesque area very close to Yeovil. Would recommend and stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub itself is gorgeous and staff very attentive and helpful. The rooms are very nicely put together and the beds are very comfortable. There is also a beautiful beer garden outside for when the sun is shining. The food is tasty, but could have done with a bit more flavour though that may be down to personal taste.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we found difficult was how to turn the shower on you need to pull a string, a little sign would be great! The shower was lovely though!!

    Me and my partner stayed here to get away for the weekend and he happend to propose! The staff were so happy for us and went out of there way to make our day extra special. Such lovely staff. We would defiantly stay again! The food was also amazing. Lovely garden to sit in the sun and perfect place in the countryside to go have a walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small issue was the water made a loud noise, so not ideal in the middle of the night

    The owners were such lovely people and made us feel very welcome. The beds were comfy and food in the restaurant delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of the toilet flushing...couldn't be helped with the building being so old...the price you pay staying in such a lovely place!

    We had an evening meal which was tasty! Also a nice chat with the proprietor! There was a friendly atmosphere! A gorgeous tiny village! Plenty of space to sit outside!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I would say is that if you are staying more than the two nights we stayed ask for a bigger room with some wardrobe space.

    The Helyar Arms is a lovely country village pub, but much smarter than your average pub.Everyone was friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent quality and great choice of beers and ciders off the pump! Would definitely recommend this accomodation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ... They had it all covered !

    The village is charming and steeped in history . All of the staff at the Helyar Arms were helpful polite and smily making us feel very much at home .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Great place to spend a few days, food excellent great welcome from owners and staff and lovely area for walking,also dog friendly.👍🤓

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was spacious but a bit tired, for instance a huge slat had fallen off the bottom of the bed. A chair would also have been useful. The bathroom was quite compact and also tired - the toilet seat was loose and in need of a repair. Over dinner the owner was very friendly and helpful but our young waitress was rather offhand, for instance she didn't let us know about the specials on a board which we didn't see until we were going back upstairs after our meal. Overall it was nice but could do better...

    Very friendly owners. The pub itself was very pleasant with good food. Nice tea & coffee in spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like or less I was to be pathetically picky.

    Lovely staff members, great value for money. Very clean and tidy and good atmosphere. Would defiantly stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where young, very helpful, everything was very new, a lot of effort by the very friendly public an and wife, even there dogs where very welcoming, cannot give it a high enough recommendation, will definitely return when in area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight damp on bathroom wall.

    Beautifully refurbished restaurant unfortunately we arrived too late in the night to taste the food. Owners have 2 friendly dogs (mother and daughter) and got very excited with new faces. The village is beautiful and great if you like to have a tranquil valur for money weekend break stay away from the busy world.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were brilliant, very friendly, welcoming and accommodating without being the slightest bit overbearing. The pub is lovely, the facilities great and the food tasty. Just what we needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Patrick, Claire and co made me most welcome on my recent business trip - I'm now a convert to the goose burger #yum and enjoyed the locally sourced produce prepared by the Chef. Good beer on tap, and a charming rural pub dinning experience - Plenty of parking on site - the right side of Yeovil to avoid the morning traffic, good speed WiFi - option of breakfast if you desire at cost. Definitely going on my company's favourite list.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only glitch was the macerator in the en-suite made a noise on & off throughout the night

    The location was beautiful & people were really welcoming & helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next room bathroom wall right by our bed, so occasionally noisy.

    Lovely place and people - helpful, efficient, very dog friendly :) good breakfast, quiet village location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A warm welcome awaits anyone who visits the Helyar Arms. Breakfast was outstanding, pets welcome, a superb bedroom with all the usual amenaties and all set in a sleepy Somerset village where thatched cottages outnumber tiled roofs!.......we will return!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No chairs in the bedroom. No soft seating area anywhere - just tables and chairs in the pub / restaurant. So uncomfortable if you are there for a few days. No information about local attractions. The menu was boring and unfortunately was exactly the same at lunchtime and dinnertime. The owner talked about business and profits in front of customers. He was a bit scary too when he spoke to customers. One female member of staff also had a bad attitude telling me that I didn't book breakfast at a certain time - when I did, then denying that the car park was slippy after frost when it clearly was an absolute nightmare. We tried hard to be very nice and polite, but it is unlikely that we would go back. Over a 3 night stay the bedroom was just cleaned once and we had to top up the tea etc ourselves. However, this pub is just under new ownership and most likely will get a lot better.

    The beds were very comfy. The guy working in the bar was very nice and had a great attitude.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had initial difficulty in finding the hotel (possibly more of a comment on my SAT NAV than on the location) and access involves travel on single track country roads more common to the Scottish highlands than other areas of rural England. Not a major problem and adds to the relaxed "away from it all" ambience.

    The welcome and friendliness of owners/staff was excellent. The location within the village outstanding. The premises while being very traditional shows recent but very sympathetic refurbishment.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not as powerful as i would have liked but it was all bery clean.

    Staff were incredible and so helpful we even got a lift to the party we were attending. The breakfast was very nice too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome from Patrick and Clare and the mix between comfortable hotel and village pub is perfect. Well worth diverting from the main route. Atmosphere in the pub spreads to the restaurant to make an excellent evening topped by superb food and moreish drinks. This would be a regular if we lived nearer!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    What a fab place. The staff were very friendly, got a very nice welcome. The room was very clean & spacious for the money. Evening meal & breakfast was really good. Would stay again!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    Comfortable room, attentive staff, we enjoyed a lovely bar meal (goose burgers/sausages are a must try!) and breakfast. Room well equipped with water, beverages, biscuits. Plentiful parking. Nice quiet village.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Located amongst the thatched roof houses, the old English pub building along with the friendly and helpful staff provided an excellent & relaxing break

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We were warmly welcomed by Andy who showed us our room and where to securely store our bikes. We ate a very nice dinner in the restaurant. Breakfast the next morning was equally as good. The facilities are excellent with the renovations that have been recently completed. The pub still retains its old world charm. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was quite expensive and it would have been nice if some cheaper meals were on the menu. These prices u would expect to pay in a restaurant not a pub and felt this was the only part of our stay which was a let down, although all the meals were excellent.

    The room and facilities were very good. Saff could not have been more helpful. A little gem of a pub in a quiet village just outside of Yeovil. Lovely garden to sit in and plenty of parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Traditional country pub set in an great village great choice of beer . The owners and staff just couldn't do enough for us It's not everyday you fine a gem like this I'll be coming back

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    I cannot praise The Helyar Arms enough ! From the excellent warm professional welcome from Andy to the personal and open welcome from Claire and Patrick We have travelled the length and breadth of the UK and The Helyar Arms has left us amazed, with the beauty of its location the beauty of the premises and not least the warmth of ALL of the staff

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75