Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Holcombe Inn 5 stars

Stratton Road, Holcombe, BA3 5EB, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Holcombe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 203 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was not great in the rooms, so for one night it was fine but more and I would have needed some better internet.

    Great quiet location with a rustic touch of luxury. Amazing food and views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was located on the top floor with a tiny window at the floor level making this room rather like a "pigeon hole"... Indeed it was only possible to look through the window while still in bed... The bedroom and bathroom were quite modern but there were no shelves, only hanging space, meaning that we had to use our suit cases for storing most of our clothes. When arriving at around 13.00 we were informed check-in was at 15.00 so I had to change my clothes in the toilet and while I went for a walk my wife had to wait in the lounge. This experience is particularly annoying as on the day of departure (3 days later) we had to check out already at 10.30. Our request for a 30 minute delayed check-out (until 11.00), to enable us to eat breakfast without rushing, was denied while we were informed any additional time would be charged £10/hour. Upon entry in the bathroom we found a used and wet towel in the sink - which clearly had been left by the cleaner; quite disappointing. While a kettle and tea/coffee are provided in the room biscuits are only provided for the first day - which we found quite mean given the price paid for the room (£100/night). For our first breakfast we were provided with mass-produced brown bread - which was quite disappoing. We were informed the bread in the morning depends on whether or not there is any home made bread left from the previous day.... We learnt our lessan and during the next couple of days we had our own bread as "back-up" just in case. Our last breakfast was amazingly laid out on in a very dark area so we asked to be moved to the table next to it which was bright, located next to two windows, an easy move as the restaurant was practically empty. Why did the staff not think of this themselves?!!!

    The location was close to the centre of the village while being in a rural setting, close to beautiful walking paths. The garden was fabulous with a lot of seating to soak in the evening sun.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travel almost daily in my role and find myself in various different hotels. I have to say that I normally steer clear of rooms in pub like environments but I have to say this was fantastic. Very spacious rooms with everything in it you would need including opening windows! Instant and Fresh coffee in the rooms with a choice of different tea's such as Breakfast and Earl Grey and an added bonus of a home made cookie which was delicious. There was also complimentary bottled water, sparkling and still. Very good toiletry selection also. TV and various channels and some literature about the local area. My room had an added bonus of a beautiful view over the countryside. The bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows and a firm mattress. there were 2 comfortable chairs for relaxing also. Plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe and a hairdryer. The range of food on offer in the restaurant was outstanding from steaks to vegetarian. You are offered a complimentary slice of homemade bread, this was beautiful and a taste of things to come. There was also a bottle of chilled water on the table. The following morning breakfast was served in the restaurant and you have an extensive choice from the menu as well as fresh coffee or tea. I have to say this was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had and the presentation was outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Champagne
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing that I can think of!

    Tha Champagne room was exquisite, the huge bed really comfortable, the bathroom lovely and the selection of teas and coffees (& the Bath bun!) very thoughtful. The Tranquility Garden was beautiful and the view serene. The restaurant was charming and my breakfast and evening meal superb. Charlotte, the assistant manager, could not have been more hospitable if she had owned the hotel herself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Always enjoy coming here. Our children are at school just up the road from the Holcombe so it is ideal for us. Staff always welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Barlake Lodge for the first time and couldn't fault it. Great that it backs onto a field and you are able to open the french doors almost onto it. Dedicated parking by the side of each lodge is great too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    Cannot recommend this hotel enough. We stayed here after long leat and went to Bath the next day and its the perfect location between the two. We were in the Africa room which was amazing you won't be disappointed. Staff member on check in and out was lovely. The restaurant/bar was brilliant the food was amazing my boyfriend said it was the best steak of his life. I have already recommended this to all my friends and family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were disappointed that on the last day of our stay we were asked if we wanted clean towels. Naturally we said they weren't necessary but we returned to the room to find it hadn't been made up at all! Most disappointing was the food which was average pub standard ....that's OK but it was priced at the 'fine dining' level (though there was a decently priced Australian Shiraz to compensate for the disappointment). The full breakfast was pretty good though we were never sure when it was coming. Boiled eggs came hard the first day, nearly raw the second...third day just right. I dont like to carp and some of these are probably just blips...we weren't unhappy just a bit disappointed as we have always hugely enjoyed our stays in other small hotels in the area.

    Beautifully appointed small hotel in lovely countryside. Pleasant bedroom but huge fixed shower head in small unit difficult to control and regulate heating. Pleasant staff (especially the young lady who came out just before we left to tell she had a made a mistake with the bill)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Pemberley
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful Hotel in stunning, peaceful location. Delicious food in delightful surroundings with friendly, helpful staff. We stayed in Pemberley room which is large and very well appointed with luxurious soft furnishings and an excellent bathroom. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel on both days we stayed. The menu was interesting and the food tasty and obviously prepared and cooked on the premises by a very good chef. The hotel has a comfortable bar and a lovely garden with an area for children and a quiet area as well. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that we had to pay £10 . 00 for staying an extra hour after checkout time. We were waiting for a taxi as my car had broken down.

    The food was excellent and the room very comfortable. The best dinner and breakfast I have had for a long time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor is showing signs of the popularity of the place.... luggage marks on the walls - it is a fantastically quirky place to stay though. The gardens will soon take off and with a bit of sun to appreciate will be even more lovely!

    Splendid room, fabulous food, good wine, great bar, lovely staff, what's not to like? Location is off the beaten path, which is part of it's charm! Mighty fine breakfast too, not sure why you'd want to go anywhere else to be honest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Pemberley
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like makesure you go and stay there .

    Great place to stay food and drink was excellent and so where the staff.The rooms where great to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely meal in the evening, warm welcome on arrival, garden was very peaceful, lovely comfortable bed, good choice of tea and cofee (also bottled water) plus biscuits in room which was a nice touch,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold in the night and the radiator in the room was not on overnight but on in the morning.. On booking we specifically requested a vegetarian option for breakfast and we were told on booking in that there was one. At breakfast there was no vegetarian option on the menu and although we asked no option could be offered. My wife asked for an egg cooked right through and cooked on both sides with beans and mushrooms. It came with a sausage and bacon the egg was cooked sunny side up and runny. Also Boston beans which has chorizo in them. My wife is vegetarian. The young lady serving was very apologetic and offered to take it away to re do it but we didn’t want that we just booked another hotel for our next nights stay. We didn’t eat any breakfast and asked to see a manager but there wasn’t one there. There was another lady waitress in the restaurant who dealt with us, she was really apologetic and lovely and tried in vain to turn the situation around by offering us a voucher for another nights stay but we insisted on a refund for our second nights stay ( after speaking to who assume was the owner on the phone). The total bill for two nights ( which included breakfast was £200). (I might add that you have to pay in full for your stay on arrival.) We paid in full for our first nights stay and got £100 back which is all we wanted. I thought that I may have had an apology from the owner but to date nothing. I woukd also like to add that in our opinion, the issue at breakfast was entirely caused by the chef as he did not read the order that the young lady serving had written out for my wife’s breakfast. By the way it wasn’t busy at breakfast as we were the the second order of that morning so the chef was certainly not rushed at that point. Another issue I had was that when you walk through the quest entrance door there is an immediate step down and I stumbled on entry . There is no warning sign at all on the door to warn of the step.

    The bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The food was INCREDIBLE. The staff were all lovely. The whole building was beautiful, as was our room. Very comfy bed too, and a beautiful area with great countryside views. Couldn't recommend enough

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed a little hard for us. wasn't clear the boston beans had meat in them, i'm a veggie. good old heinz beans would have been better for us! or at least a choice

    the room was excellent, friendly staff & lovely pub. very good food & wine. not cheap but still worth every penny. breakfast very high standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a magnifying mirror in the bathroom would have been nice.

    The room was gorgeous, and spacious immaculate bathroom with huge walk in shower, loved the free standing bath in the bedroom-Africa. Food also amazing, spent a wonderful NYE with friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator not working in room, did there best to resolve problem

    A very pleasant inn, nice and cosy, rooms lovely, staff very friendly, food in restaurant amazing, best breakfast ever

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike at all.

    I cannot fault any of the food it was 5 star and beyond,I have never tasted anything so good, and the presentation was excellent you would not find such a fine selection on other menues at other hotels, my braised ox cheeks with pan fried veg' were delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and checkout a wee bit tight. Another half an hour for both would make the luxurious stay feel complete! 😊

    Staff who made us feel us feel really welcome. Delicious food. Lots of thoughtful details. And the new garden is inspired...how lovely to be able to eat their own produce 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night

    As in every hotel these days, there were cushions on the bed and they don't get changed as pillows do so they smell of stale sweat/drool. Ditch the cushions!

    Great breakfast. Lovely spot. It was recommended by a colleague and I will return next time I'm in the area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only real criticism is that breakfast doesn't start until 8am which is a bit late if you are on business. Probably fine if you are on holiday !

    The rooms are varied and interesting and the bar area is nice , with a good selection. The food is very tasty and fresh. The gardens are beautifully kept with homegrown vegetables.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night

    a very small problem is the sound proofing could be a little better in the bedroom walls, but i can understand, it is a old building.

    fantastic welcome from the reception staff, the room was very clean and very well fitted out.we had a great meal in the restaurant that evening the staff were attentive, the bar was well stocked and very welcoming. also the breakfast was great all locally sourced .a great stay ,thanks will come again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the young waitresses was a little abrupt. She asked us what we would like to start our Sunday breakfast with before we had sat down and before we had seen the range of options on the menu. All of the other staff were lovely and really helpful. Perhaps the young waitress was just very new to the job.

    The relaxing environment. The tranquillity garden was a gem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were pleasant and helpful with great knowledge of the local area. The food was really good, both the breakfast and the restaurant were delicious. Would definitely recommend a stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smart tv feature would have been useful as they were only freeview channels on the tv. A selection of DVDs were available to use from a bookshelf downstairs however.

    We stayed in the 'hunters room'. The room was beautifully furnished, the bathroom facilities were perfect and the bed was extremeley comfortable. The breakfast quality, variety and portion size was excellent. The staff were attentive and welcoming. We were delivered fresh biscuits on arrival which was a lovely additional touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Old England
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is excellent , but the menu stays the same which might be a bit limiting. However , it is all freshly cooked and fresh ingredients.

    The breakfast is a very good selection of breads , fruit , yoghurts , cooked , eggs , omelettes etc. Nice to have a choice beyond the normal ! Very good atmosphere and service. Food excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were brill always helpful and polite, rooms are an excellent standard, breakfast is very good and food in the restaurant is great. Wi-Fi is quick apart from one area in the lounge where you could not get a signal but once aware we moved where we could, we return for our 3rd stay in the near future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived 1hr. Early, not many hotels would greet you with yes you can book in early but at a charge of £10 per room for each hour, didn't you receive our message advising you check in is 3pm. Great greeting. Rococo room a little cramped and stuffy.

    Bed comfortable. Gardens beautiful. Food good quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi very slow,free view tv intermittent at best. It would have been nice to have a dressing table to do hair/make-up as there was only a chest of drawers by the mirror in the bedroom and it already had the tea tray, kettle and tv on it!

    We had the Africa room.Bed very comfortable,bath lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite noisy as it is at the front of the hotel - cars leaving the hotel quite late and traffic / tractors early. Nice to have a magazine provided but a more recent & tidy copy would have been appreciated! (March) Forget toiletries, bring your own as those provided are not great.

    Interesting room (Africa) with bath in the corner of the room a large walk-in shower. Comfortable bed with good linen. Good tea/ coffee tray with fresh milk available from reception. Very good freshly made biscuits. Staff on reception, bar and restaurant were very friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant/ bar was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Edford
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room size. The lodge was a little small, nevertheless beautifully decorated room. Walking around the bed was tight.

    Lovely breakfast, table service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not realise the property was so isolated from a main village but that was completely our fault.we had done a lot of travel before and had not thought it out well enough.

    Fresh and tasty

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - a better travel route for buses (timetable)

    - The idea that every room is different - the quirky-ness of the inn itself with all the little nooks and crannys - the staff were very helpful - loved the fresh milk bottles given at the check in desk - Outstanding bathroom in the hunters room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were large spiders and bugs that had made corners of the Champagne room their home. Didn't bother me but beware if you're afraid of creepy crawlies!

    Kind, helpful staff. Beautiful rooms & bathrooms. Excellent facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was large enough for overnight, I'm not sure how it would have been for a longer stay. However - having the restaurant and the bar and the 'snug' so close by, you certainly do not feel closed in - so probably would not be an issue for a longer stay.

    The breakfast was excellent, one of the best hotel breakfasts we have ever had. And included within the room price...incredible. We enjoyed passing the time playing chess in the snug with a cold pint. Very relaxing and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing best Inn I have stayed at.

    Everything, from room to staff, breakfast was great, cooked fresh, coffee superb, eat at the restaurant with family, could not find fault, have already booked in September again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with more night time lights in the gardens

    The breakfast was superb! The garden areas are absolutely amazing & the staff could not of been more helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunday roast a bit disappointing. Only veg available on Fri and Sun were carrots and cabbage.

    Lots to like. Wonderful tranquility garden. Lovely people. Great facilities for the dog.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Champagne
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast commencing at 8am is a little late for those staying on business, provision of a breakfast tray the evening before was appreciated.

    Great food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. Unpleasant sausage and black pudding and undercooked bacon. Curdled scrambled eggs. Toast cooked on one side only.

    Comfy bed, lovely garden. Good beer and wine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be great to have a shelf or small table and more hooks in the bathroom to put washing things etc - lots of hotels fail in this respect in my view!

    Great location on edge of village -with lovely views over the surrounding countryside . very nice large outside garden / terrace for a summer day or evening drinks. Great food and very friendly staff. Comfortable well equipped rooms. A quiet nights sleep as the road is very minor with little traffic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel Fantastic Food and Fantastic Staff, Asked for Shreddies for breakfast on the first morning very apologetic didn't have any second morning Shreddies waiting for me.. nice little personal touches..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door of our room banged when closing which probably affected other guests. The glass shelf in the bathroom is not flat... The room was pretty hot. The television reception was a bit flakey There is nowhere to put the soap in the shower - either you need a bigger bar of soap or something with smaller holes and more accessible to put it on!

    Overall it was excellent so my comments below are supposed to help... The new garden is beautifully presented and the white doves provide character

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the inn, but just a warning - our satnav took us needlessly down some fairly hairy country lanes on trips out from the inn, I'd recommend using a road map!

    Beautiful room (Rococo) in lovely inn. It really is as good as the photos on the website. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The food at breakfast and in the evening was delicious, clearly a very good chef, and lovely waiting staff. Great rhubarb fizz cocktail, and a superb sea bass and couscous dish were my top picks of the stay. The pub is in a quiet area but close to Bath, Wells, Glastonbury, Bristol etc. Would definitely stay again in the future.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Edford
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike really. The food might be considered a bit 'posh' for some but all home cooked and tasted good.

    We stayed in the Edford Lodge. Very relaxing, peaceful, homely, comfortable and the food was great! The bed was very comfortable!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the food was as you asked the home grown product was a credit to the staff and the establishment

    Breakfast choice was very good and the staff and the kitchen would make anything you wished for

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really just would have liked some type of potato item at breakfast- hash brown / sauté?

    Stayed on a lodge - beautifully appointed- particularly liked the log burner. Excellent food, welcoming bar area and restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm welcome, great facilities and good food. They even provided me with a breakfast tray in the room as I had to leave before 8am when 'cooked breakfast' was served

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very cold evening I think that they could have lit the wood burner stove to create warmer feeling as dining room was chilly

    The bed was very comfortable decor was good.Dinner and breakfast menu was excellent and food was well presented Staff in the dining room was very helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful spot with lovely views across surrounding countryside towards Downside Abbey from our room, which was a welcoming, warm and cosy room with comfortable king size bed and good storage. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire stay from our arrival to when we left after breakfast was amazing, our room was stunning, the bathroom (especially the bath) beautiful and the bar/restaurant impeccable. The care and attention from staff excellent! We'll be back...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Edford
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the off chance for one night but what a great place, we ate in the restaurant( recommend booking) which was fantastic, all local produce or grown in their own gardens.

    A lovely inn, fantastic location with lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only ever drink ground coffee at home but I found the coffee too strong.

    The dinner we enjoyed was superb as was the following days breakfast. Our room was comfortable and we enjoyed the tea and coffee making facilities. Also loved the shower and bath.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    You simply couldn't fault The Holcombe Inn. The owners, and the staff are friendly, welcoming, helpful, and do everything in their power to enhance your stay. The food is outstanding, the rooms are remarkable, and the gardens are wonderful — I think the owners and staff even organised the weather on our behalf. . . Perfect!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The £10 early check-in fee was a bit disappointing, but essential for us as we had to be at a wedding by 4 p.m. Also - shame about the ironing board on the landing!

    We particularly loved the Tranquility Garden - a fantastic extension of this warm and welcoming Inn - The whole place was very tastefully decorated with attention to detail. We had an excellent lunch and superb breakfast. There was an excellent choice for breakfast. Our daughter had to leave very early and so would have missed breakfast, but she was provided with a very good breakfast tray.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service charge is not included in the restaurant prices, which can be a little confusing for foreigners like ourselves who are not familiar with this. Put 10 per cent on top of the dining bill, unless you are unhappy with the service.

    Excellent breakfast (and dinner). Brilliant value for money. A place caring for details.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No biscuits put in the room on the second night.

    Bed was great. View was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a bit small.

    The cheese,bacon and porridge cake!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving !!

    Great location, well kept rooms and grounds. Restaurant served quality food and staff very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Quality and service way above the cost, great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure it was 5 star service!

    Everything was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a Celiac they cater very well for all dietary requirements and the food was excellent. Lovely quite location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attention to detail from the staff serving breakfast

    Adult quiet garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind and nice staff, cozy location, good food both for dinner and breakfast. I'll definitely consider this hotel also in the future!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly, food was excellent, room was perfect, very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Champagne
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was the best we have ever had and it was clear that that was due to excellent leadership there. Garden lovely and very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to dislike.

    The room was excellent and comfortable spacious bathroom very well presented. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Rooms beautiful and extremely clean... Food amazing and breakfast menu great Real luxury.... Makes a change on a business trip

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cold water took ages to run cold.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge was lovely! The staff were fab! The food was amazing! Everything was just brilliant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 2 nights

    didn't always get the breakfast order right with taking things out of the meal

    bed was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Old England
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Welcoming and helpful staff. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Gorgeous homely feel. Luxurious yet down to earth!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Champagne
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent all round , lovely food and service.We have just booked again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff, food and rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: