Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Hope Anchor 3 stars

Watch Bell Street, Rye, TN31 7HA, United Kingdom

#2 of 9 hotels in Rye

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1063 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Gem of a hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I had a deluxe double room with a view of the harbour and plenty of sun. The bed was incredible, huge, comfy! The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed in my room was really uncomfortable but I was assured that under the new management that this will soon be rectified.

    Excellent location in historic part of town, fabulous and friendly staff, great food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.9
    Clean comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that breakfast did not start until 0800 hours and the Receptionist on duty when I arrived told me curtly that I could have only ONE sandwich in lieu. As a result I made a point of not eating there.

    Clean comfortable room. I had no hot water in my room and on reporting the problem, it was speedily sorted. Well done the staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Rye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were welcoming and friendly. The room was larger than most and clean. Great to find more than enough tea and coffee instead of the usual 2 teabags and 2 sachets of coffee! Still and sparkling water on the tray too. Bar was well stocked. As a bonus, the other guests were really nice too!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our visit to Rye and would recommend the Hope Anchor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The views from the hotel were excellent and the siting of the hotel was also excellent for seeing Rye. Were we lucky to get car parking just outside the hotel - it was very convenient?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    Top of the Rye hill, pub on premise, old style house and overall good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too few parking spaces.

    Old style. Quiet area. Pebbled street. High location with views. Exciting cemetry and church nearby. Pub in the hotel. Good breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    The place, the location and the breakfast was great! Great value for money, definitely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We can't think of anything that we didn't like to be honest

    The customer service was excellent and we loved the fact that there was a vegetarian and a vegan option for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing and good quality hotel, perfect for what I wanted for my 1 night stay in Rye.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a bit tricky, limited.

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. They were happy to do an early breakfast for us on Sunday morning (7.30am rather than wait until usual 8am), really appreciated that and it was really good/tasty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location with decent facilities and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little cramped and had to be careful not to hit head on slanting ceiling. Mattress was a little uncomfortable - definitely could have been better.

    The room was good with enough space. The breakfast was great and staff were really friendly. The locations was great - really central in Rye.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Very nice but will not return unless parking improves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Get rid of the raised brick bed and create trouble free parking.

    Everything was fine but something has to be done about the parking. I suffered damage to my car which has been estimated at £500. This made a value for money escape quite expensive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    lumpy beds no sleep avoid room 300
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we couldn't book in till 3.30.and we had a reservation at 4 for tea. the beds were so lumpy we didn't sleep at all not good.

    location, pool, bar staff, breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.7
    Central position, staff friendly, nice outside seating area.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed revamping, decoration shabby, bar man not too welcoming, not worth the price paid.

    Central position, staff friendly, nice outside seating area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Good service in bar and restaurant with excellent menu and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong. Room 27 has restricted head room being in the roof space. Getting in the bath was interesting.

    Good service in bar and restaurant with excellent menu and food. Fantastic location in the centre of Rye.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Great Location with good food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in was fine for us as we are vertically challenged but if you are tall you would struggle with the ceiling and bathroom, particularly the shower. In the end we parked right outside of the hotel but parking is an issue here and cannot be reserved. We used booking.com's "search with parking" filter and this hotel came up but I am not sure that this is what I would classify as parking being available.

    Great Location, Friendly and Helpful Staff, Excellent value and high quality evening meal ( steak special for two). Restaurant service excellent. Freshly cooked breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    I travel for business all the time, and this was one of my most enjoyable stays. Very comfy bed!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a little unnerving approaching the hotel down a very narrow cobbled street, but im unsure what the staff could do to pre-warn you about that. When i approached the hotel on foot and asked about parking, I received a warm welcome and i was provided with the help I needed to get me parked safely.

    I travel for business up and down the country all the time, and this was one of my most enjoyable stays. The bed in the apartment was exceptionally comfy which cannot be understated how important that is when away on business when you need a good nights sleep. The staff, the location and the facilities were all excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Friendly and comfortable hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit limited but we had no problems this time. The restaurant is not open Mondays and Tuesdays but we know the food is good as we ate there last time.

    I love the Hope Anchor. Second time we have stayed. The views are fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Stayed only one night, but will definitely return again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obviously one cannot make an old building too luxurious and the room was on the small side.

    Young, friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of tea and coffee in room, and shower room more than adequate. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel was peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    The bedrooms need a lot of attention perhaps management should spend a night in room 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room paid extra for superior room however flaking paint on windows & skirting. Only 1 chair to sit on, on our last night the bed had not been made only pulled over no management to report problem to on Friday If the upstIrs matched the downstairs

    Food & Dining room staff excellent could not have wished for more

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect weekend- already recommending to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit cramped but that really was the only thing that wasn’t five star.

    Comfortable room, excellent service, exceptionally good breakfasts, stunning view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing hotel in a great spot and very friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very friendly hotel in a lovely spot at the top of Rye. The views are wonderful, clean room and comfy bed. Camber Sands beach is nearby and well worth a visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    We were visiting friends for an anniversary and this was an ideal place to stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the restaurant being refurbished, enjoyed the Tapas night in the bar

    A very comfortable bed in pleasant room. Tea and Coffee facilities good And a very good shower

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in the cute village of Rye
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, on Sunday night their restaurant is closed.

    We tried the Sunday Roast and it was very very good. The included breakfast it is a full English breakfast, very satisfying. Great family-run business, I will go back for sure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Honestly, the rooms were lovely, the staff were amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, the rooms were lovely, the staff were amazing especially the Manger and the breakfast was great too! even did a gluten free breakfast! Just amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Great staff and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was challenging. The hotel does not have a private parking. You can park in the streets nearby. Yet the streets are so narrow it was challenging for us (canadians) to maneuver in such conditions. That small problem was solved by the wonderful staff. The manager actually drove our car up the narrow streets and parked it right in front of the hotel. If that is not great service, I don't know what is. 😁

    The staff and manager were all amazing. They went out of their way to help us and make our stay memorable. The surrounding of the hotel is lovely The complementary breakfast was great with lots of options.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    A hotel with character and charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were at the very top of the hotel and although both of us are quite short it was difficult to have a bath in comfort. However, there was a warning to beware when bathing. However, this did not spoil our stay. Disappointed that our waste bins were not emptied at all during our 2 night stay. We would stay again but would make sure that we were not going to be allocated the very top room.

    The location enabled us to have views both over the harbour and the countryside. Excellent breakfast choice and prices in the bar very reasonable. The gin cocktails are a must have! Although the restaurant was closed for refurbishment we were offered a limited choice menu but there was something which suited us both. My husband thought the steak and ale pie was scrumptious. However, the downside of having a pie was that there was no room for a dessert!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Gem of a town, and hotel was ideally placed to visit everything on foot .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was an issue, lacking in spaces.

    great location, once you've found it! Car parking a problem. Restaurant closed for renovation during our visit, so temporary breakfast room cramped. Great pub nearby (Mermaid Inn).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Location, room, staff in general and breakfast lovely as was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight issue was restaurant closed for refurb but was ok...went out Also all staff brilliant andcfriendly except receptioniist couldve been a little more upbeat/jolly as she is 1st point of contact .just seemed to lack enjoyment of role perhsps?

    Location, room, staff in general and breakfast lovely as was afternoon tea in tea rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Very relaxing but stimulating
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was closed at the time of my visit, which was a shame because the menu looks good, but I guess work has to be done at some time, and I was just unlucky. However, there are lots of pubs and places to eat within easy walking distance, virtually all of whom welcome well behaved dogs. Parking could be a problem I guess but I found it easy. There are some steepish hills and steps within the town, but again this didn't bother me all part of the charm.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. My dogs were made very welcome. The room was a decent size with a very comfy bed and nice bathroom facilities. This is not a modern uniformly plastic hotel but one with individuality and full of character accumulated over the years with modern facilities added sympathetically. The full English breakfast was really good with plenty of other food and drinks available and served at your table. The hotel is situated in a prominent place to look over the river and ideal to visit the wonderful cobbled streets of this lovely medieval town with all its attractions. There are some long distance trails virtually from the door but also lots of other interesting walks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    If you want to stay some where that matches the quaintness and history of Rye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great with wonderful views. The staff were extremely friendly and the hotel had a homely feel to it. We had both Breakfst and Dinner there and found both very good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.6
    A lovely location but staff of poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the staff a little indifferent. Being from overseas I wanted to get rid of some English currency so I offered to pay the hotel bill by cash, unfortunately I was never handed a receipt and had to ask for one. In the morning we both had poached eggs on toast, the eggs were cold and the toast was like rubber.

    We liked the location but parking was an issue. In fairness this is Rye so do not expect an easy access to the hotel due to the small cobbled streets.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    A lovely stay, wish we had stayed longer. Will go back as soon as we are able. A beautiful place.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn’t like. The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our little dog was also welcomed.

    Room was clean and comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast was lovely. Wish I had room for the pancakes!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Enjoyable despite the problems with room and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We paid for a Deluxe Room and a walk in shower was listed but the room we were given did not fit the description. We were moved into better room for remaining 2 nights. It was suggested that we paid an extra £20 but in the end we were not charged for it. Parking could be a major problem at busy times as promised residence permits were not available. Restaurant was closed for 2 mornings so breakfast was cramped.

    The breakfast was good and rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfy room in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just ok. It’s an old building (part of the charm!) but did mean you could occasionally hear noise from nearby rooms and stairwell.

    Great location, our room had a lovely and large bed, nice toiletries in the bathroom, experience was smooth and staff were friendly. We’d stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tight. But, again, staff really tried to help.

    Manageress and staff were v friendly and efficient. Im vegan and they were v accomodating. Great view from comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    The location, the facilities and the restaurant were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the property was hard

    The location, the facilities and the restaurant were amazing. I recommend eating lunch or dinner at the habour view restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Fine place to stay and have dinner, after exploring Rye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the furniture in the restaurant was really worn down and did not match the tasty food.

    Great room, with beautiful view on the harbour, nice staff, the food in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the reception was not aware whether our room was ready or not (or reluctant to provide a room on time?). We tried to check in after 2 pm but the guy at the reception said the room was not ready and wanted us to wait for another hour. When I asked him again then he said the room was ready. Could not understand the logic.

    Good breakfast and clean room. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cosy, and the bed nice and comfortable, an enjoyable stay. The hotel is situated in a great location, over looking lovely Country side. We have stayed here on a number of occasions, and can't find fault.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay - friendly staff, good location - About a 7 minute walk into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very nice room but its an old building which can probably do with some modernisation at some point.

    We had the Jolly Sailor room which was Room 28 - it was a family room. It had 2 x beds. The main bed was the biggest bed I have ever seen - it could have slept 3 x people. I thought parking would be an issue but the staff provided us with a permit and we could park right outside for the whole duration of our stay. The location was great - its tucked away at the top of town so there is zero noise disturbances. Would happily stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Average, there are better places to stay in Rye
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at 9.30 and there were no possibilities to eat anything at the hotel, granted it was late but all neighbouring restaurants had also stopped serving. Parking was non existant. Our room was very average and breakfast was standard

    The woman on the front desk was pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a lovely clean quite apartment. With such lovely views of rye habour, The staff where brilliant and the hotel was lovely. Made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely historic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is a problem, very limited and it’s just luck if you manage to get one! No dinner was served when we were there but a delicious breakfast.

    Fantastic location and super comfortable bed and room. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    We are keen to return to The Hope Anchor to stay for longer and would recommend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were fortunate in our street parking position opposite the hotel but imagine that it could be challenging. The dinning room is a little tired but we understand that the hotel will be closed for two weeks in September to enable some refurbishment projects including the restaurant.

    The hotel is cosy. family run . full of history and character with great views and an excellent location from which to explore the lovely cobbled streets and historic houses of old Rye town. really enjoyed the afternoon tea in the little tea room gallery attached to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    Views are good from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving to the hotel was not easy - this has more to do with Rye and the narrow streets but would have been useful to get better directions before arriving or a heads up about this. I was lucky with parking (I found a spot right outside the hotel) but that looked like it could be a problem as there is not much space. Some of the furnishings in the hotel are shabby - chairs in restaurant, foldaway beds in the rooms (photo below) were worn.

    Views are good from the hotel. The location gave a feel of the old town of Rye.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Short stay in Rye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room. Good breakfast. Very friendly staff. Only a few minutes walk to town centre. Great views from room and from outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Apart from what was NOT liked an otherwise pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath/shower virtually impossible to use unless you were less than 3ft tall!! Toilet seat broken - reported on arrival but nothing done before leaving when reported again!!! Two broken panes of glass in room window!!!

    Food was excellent in Restaurant and breakfast choice was good Staff very pleasant apart

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    I felt really relaxed in the hotel and would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the room was a bit tired. One leg of the dresser crooked, shower curtain needs changing. Nothing major though.

    Tasty veggie breakfast and a comfy bed. The staff was very friendly and the location excellent, just off the cute Mermaid Street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant stay ,felt it a little over priced at £105 but is peak season
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not really suitable if you're tall , due to slopping ceilings, bath situated under a slopping ceiling making it almost impossible to get in and out of,no separate shower

    Friendly staff, situated in a beautiful part of Rye

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    A mystery tour that I could have done without, but a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tortuous route to drive from Town Centre, we thought that surely our Sat-Nav was wrong. Parking was a bit hit and miss, but to be fair, there wasn’t a lot of room in the hotel parking area, not much that could be done about that.

    Bed was comfortable, everything was clean, staff were friendly and helpful, dinner was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    It was ok but we will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small with cracked windows and no headroom, you had to walk through the door and sit on the bed immediately. There was no shower, to get in the bath you had to crouch down and then once you were in you had to lie back and then conduct some kind of crouched roll out to get out.

    The location, the bedroom and bathroom were clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, not big enough to be a double and the shower was so small it was barely possible to get in to it. The restaurant was closed. We were told there was room service, then that there wasn’t and then that there was. The food delivered was poorly presented and in one case so undercooked that it was inedible. We were asked to pay on arrival before seeing the room. Then when we left we received a phone call accusing us of not paying. There is no car park as such and the parking is limited and perilously tight.

    Good breakfast. One member of staff knew what she was doing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Hotel nicely captured the old-world charm of Rye with its cobbled streets and quaint houses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant not open on the two days we were there (shame, as menu looked inviting). Parking very limited due to location. Soap dispensers in bathroom need attention.

    Four-poster bed very comfortable and lovely view across harbour to open fields beyond. Wing chairs and TV in small adjoining room made for spacious accommodation (Sankey Suite). Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    It's a fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's a fantastic hotel. Great location with excellent staff. The whole experience was brilliant and we'll be back for another visist soon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable room with good views in heart of old Rye.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with anywhere in old Rye, road access and parking not easy. More guidance before arrival would be useful.

    Very comfortable room with good views in heart of old Rye. Good breakfast. Helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Great stay at The Hope Anchor
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I disliked.

    The staff were perfectly happy to help sort out a safe place for our four bicycles and lock them away for the night. The music being played in the lobby, bar etc was excellent. Staff professional and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Property in a good location but glad it was only 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated property, shabby furniture, uncomfortable bed, hairs (not ours) in carpets. Breakfast very basic, mother’s pride bread, tasteless coffee.

    Good location in the middle of Rye Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    A lovely small hotel which made us feel very welcome, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely small hotel which made us feel very welcome, the room had everything we needed and was very comfortable. All the staff were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in the heart of Rye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very cosy, however may be due a lick of paint, especially the bathrooms. Apart from the cosmetic side it was very clean.

    The service was exceptional, very warm and welcoming team which added a very homely vibe to the hotel. Defiantly would stay here again in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a very comfortable stay in Room 1, attractive decor, beautiful view. Everything we needed was provided including a fan and well stocked hot drinks tray. Bathroom was well appointed, clean and in good condition. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel in superb position. Rye is a very picturesque and interesting little town.
    • Group
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower over the bath could have been a little more powerful. Other than that, a perfect stay.

    I was lucky to book room 6 with four poster bed, dressing room and bathroom. It is a generous room with superb views over the river towards the coast. The hotel is in easy walking distance to the High Street and town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Charming hotel run by excellent friendly staff with wonderful facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were absolutely charming and did everything they could to help make our short trip excellent. We stayed in the apartments which exceeded our expectations as lots of space and the ground floor apartment had a garden where we were able to order afternoon tea. Beautiful views from both the back and front of the building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Romantic Hotel in the romantic Rye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking is not easy but the staff helps!! They give a permits to park close the hotel.

    Wanderful position at the top of Rye, tipical house and very nice and romantic room. Bathroom en-suite, but a little small, but nice. Everithing was very clean and all the facilities were available. The breakfast was superb and, very important, all the people of the staff have been really very kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Character. Lovely rooms and staff , Good lovely good value for money. Steak night for 2 plus free bottle of wine £25. Amazing steak. Breakfast really good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Very helpful staff - prepared an early breakfast for me for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tough to drive in on extremely narrow cobblestone roads, but that certainly comes with staying in a primo location

    Very helpful staff - prepared an early breakfast for me for pickup at 6:30 ... much appreciated! ... comfortable bed, spacious room, everything clean parking available

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    We celebrated our gold wedding with the family at the hotel and the whole experience was really grea
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving at the end of our stay. Duvets were to heavy for us. Could not complain about any aspect of the hotel

    The position of the hotel was amazing. On top of the hill looking down on the river and port. Rooms were well equipped, clean and comfortable. Food was very good and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. Will certainly go back. Position is right in the old town of Rye.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel - bed very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the hot weather, we had to sleep with the windows open and the road down below was very noisy. Not the fault of the hotel but didn't get much sleep.

    Lovely hotel - bed very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay, comfortable rooms and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can think of was too much apple in the breakfast fruit!

    The Hotel was in a quiet location. The weather was good so we sat outside for drinks. The special Friday Steak and Wine menu was excellent value for money, hotel staff were helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Rye was our favorie town to visit on our 8 stop tour of England.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was an interesting challenge since the Hope Anchor is at the end of the very narrow lane but again once you are in place you are able to walk to everything you may need.

    Rye was one of our favorite towns to visit in our 8 stop tour of England. It was the most antique which also meant it was a bit of a maze to find our way up the hill to the Hope Anchor Inn on a very narrow cobblestone road. However once you arrive you can park your car and easily walk to a wonderful selection of botique shops, gift shops, bakeries, tea rooms, galleries, and the very historical Rye Castle and St. Mary's Church. If you are staying for a few days I would suggest upgrading your room selection to one of the Admiral's apartments which provided a very spacious room including a sofa, 2 arm chairs, 2 leather chaise lounge chairs, game table, and back garden patio overlooking the River/Shipping channel. Plenty of space to move around in the bedroom and bathroom. You are on the coast so there are plenty of birds singing and sea gulls cawing upon dawn break, which we loved! I include this point because I overheard another couple complaining about the noise they created being too loud. Breakfast and staff were both very nice . Make sure to climb to the tower of St Mary's Church for spectacular views of Rye, stop by and say hello to the shopkeeper who hand paints historic miniture army figures, and enjoy a proper afternoon tea at Fletcher's House or Simon the Pieman!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value. Great breakfast. Will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find although I have been to the town many times. Without sat navigation or asking people you may struggle to locate it. Nothing else was a problem

    Pictures reflected the reality. Showing signs of its age but only adding to it's charm. Nice location with far reaching views. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    perfect location, great food an friendly staff, would definately recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit awkward but that's understandable.

    we had the Junior suite which was a lovely room, the evening meal was excellent as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    We had. a very pleasant, enjoyable and reasonably priced visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of a small fridge in the room for cold drinks or perishables bought locally.

    Central to town but probably not suitable for disabled people. However the views were lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. The provided fan was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was excellent, breakfast was good, car parking was good with a permit given to us for our stay, great location, easy to get everywhere. Overall a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.0
    Can't say we felt we got value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in need of some TLC. The rooms need re-decorating and the bathrooms need a complete re-vamp. It was also disappointing to learn on arrival that the restaurant was closed on a Monday and Tuesday evening.

    The hotel is in a position we have stayed at this hotel before so knew the basics.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love the hope and anchor and stay for a few times a year and we only live half an hours drive away. The location, accommodation, food and staff make it a delightful stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxing few days in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant does not open in the evenings on Sunday Monday and Tuesday. We were told that will change soon.

    A very clean friendly hotel. The kettle in our room was very clean with no limescale. We were very well looked after.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: