Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Horn Of Plenty This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Gulworthy, Tavistock, PL19 8JD, United Kingdom

#12 of 17 hotels in Tavistock

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 63 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in room 9 - beautiful view - needs tlc - stained carpet, cracked toilet seat, loose toilet roll holder, mouldy grouting and unsightly shower screen. Dirty robes!

    Location! Fresh milk, complimentary water! Fan in room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.9
    Time away for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double bed were two single beds put together which was not all that comfortable. We were on the ground floor in The Coach house and the noise from the floor above was not brilliant particularly at night.

    It was in a quiet and beautiful location and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing dining... yum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the staff to be a bit hit and miss, we visit a couple of times a year but this was the first time we stayed at this hotel. On checkout the lady didn't ask me anything about my stay, lacked making it a personal experience.

    Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. We had dinner at the hotel one evening and it was superb, I can't recommend it highly enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an excellent place to stay - we had a lovely time. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer. We are already planning our next trip and will get this booked this week. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent food, beautifully presented.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Relaxing stop on the edge of Dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sausages at breakfast.

    Brilliant staff. Helen was very helpful on arrival and Sarah gave lots of tips on planning our itinerary across Devon. Rooms and bathrooms spacious and finished to a high standard. Having a DVD player was a nice bonus. Food superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    9.2
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The view from the hotel is exceptional. Breakfast is amazing. The garden is incredible. We liked everything about this hotel. Staff is amazingly kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    5.8
    Pretty, but no service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't get a sandwich, never heard of such a thing in any hotel I have stayed at. The actual response to my request was 'We are only serving dinner tonight'. It was only 7pm.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.3
    Nice place and great staff, but meal did not live up to reputation at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The meal was bitter disappointment and over priced for what we experienced. First of all we were captives to the meal deal of £49 each as minimum, which irrespective of the standard of the food feels over priced. As for the actual meal it was mostly a dissapontment. I ate at our local curry house the same week which was far more "tasty". Also we get GUSTO and HELLO FRESH, weekly and they continue to surprise us with "Wow that tastes great", but the reaction to the meal with you was "oh, that slather bland" or "Im not sure if I even like that" or "not sure about that".... The ingredients were clearly v good quality but generally it was the combinations and the sauces that seemed to harm the good food. The pigeon starter was the best pigeon meat I have seen, but the sauce swamped and detracted from the meat, and I had to scrape off to make it enjoyable, otherwise it was wasn't nice. The crab starter my daughter had was nice but the roll it was cased in didn't add to the crab in fact she "didn't like it". My wife's veal was dry and only the shredded shoulder was "nice". My lamb meat was cooked great and vert nice piece of meat but was with bitter sauce, which I had to scrape off the make bearable. My daughters lobster was disappointing, the veg and sauce again seemed to detract rather than add to the lobster. Ive eaten in many places globally but the meal was not "tasty". Salt into wound add to the that the £200 price tag and I would go so far as to say it was "rip off". Im not normally fussy but ti was like excellent sourcing of great ingredients, but spoilt by the combinations and sauce. The chess platter was first class, really great and the other desserts were also good, just not the starters and mains.

    Staff were first rate, during booking, at reception, in restaurant. Location and ambience and view was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Dartmoor Delight
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is their restaurant on property, whilst excellent, has a limited set menu. It's very nice, but after a day, if want something like a simple pub menu for a quick bite, you generally have to drive 10-15 minutes away.

    Stunning location just off Dartmoor National Park. The grounds and garden were expertly cared for. The staff, including the owners were lovely. Overall, this was our favourite of 4 properties we stayed at on our road trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    The most comfortable bed ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rain ....it would have been wonderful to enjoy our small deck and the outdoor tables.

    The most comfortable bed ever! We enjoyed a very good evening meal, using local produce. Wines were reasonably priced. Superb views over the Tamar valley.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to fault anything, however I would have liked the special wine served in thinner glasses( really having to think hard to find fault with anything though ! )

    The whole experience was wonderful, we were celebrating a birthday, and were made to feel very special. Food was great. Overall a fabulous stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2016

    10
    Stayed here a couple of days before Christmas with my little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed here a couple of days before Christmas with my little boys and we had the best time. Our room was lovely, hotel really nice and quiet. Staff were all lovely. We will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic accommodation and staff, let down by warm food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main meal and breakfast warm, didn't expect that from such a high class establishment. Other guests on another table near us complained of warm food too.

    We were upgraded to a Deluxe room instead of a cosy room. Room and staff were faultless.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2016

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were so friendly and helpful, but relaxed. They couldn't do enough for us. The room was beautiful and we sat on the balcony drinking champagne looking at the view. The evening meal was exceptional as was breakfast and the free glass of prosecco was a lovely touch. Will definitely be back 😍

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    8.3
    Lovely hotel (assuming you don't want breakfast early).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast didn't start until 8.30am which is not particularly suitable for business users with earlier meetings. Reception closed when checking out at 8am.

    Nice staff, room was clean and lovely location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    9.6
    A perfect country retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They're a bit short on seating space for pre-dinner drinks in inclement weather. The dining room extension could do with a bit of tweaking.

    The location of the hotel and rooms, the amazing views, the peace and quiet. The food and service were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful setting, a few hiccups but soon sorted out!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The milk supplied in the room fridge was sour but the staff quickly rectified the problem and brought up some fresh. We were locked out of our room at 9.00 pm so had to go to reception who said that somebody had locked the outside door accidentally but they were very accommodating and offered us a complimentary drink whilst they sorted it out. The only other negative (things come in threes!) was the lack of vegetarian breakfast and options for diabetics. What they did serve as a veggie breakfast was very small and unimaginative. Otherwise, the breakfast was fine and the continental choice very good

    The views were spectacular once the mists had lifted!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    The Horn of Plenty is a great place to stay because of its great food, great staff, and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was slightly too soft for our liking

    Good food, great staff, great room and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    A very high quality of friendly and helpful service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking facilities were a bit tight

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    10
    Worth stsying
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    10
    Perfectly exquisite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!!!! Apart from having to leave

    Everything it was faultless

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't forget to book a table for dinner, it is worth it! Great cosy room with ensuite and a view on the gardens, will definitely come back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    10
    Delightful,all too brief......rather like love and life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Atmosphere standard of hygiene, quality furnishings, friendly, helpful staff. Interesting, tasty food. Beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    8.3
    The horn of plenty is beautiful.caters for special occasions and the more affluent of society
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The double room was 2 beds pushed together... this is a twin in my eyes.

    Views,food was delicious staff were friendly great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A!

    Massage available in room, views were stunning and staff superb

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    10
    Beautiful Setting in Devon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything met or exceeded our expectations.

    Beautiful setting, picturesque scenery, high quality food, very friendly, accommodating staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.6
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress is too soft.

    This is a place to slow down. Very good restaurant, friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms, great views, tranquility.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    10
    Elegant country house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It could not have been better

    The food was exceptional and the atmosphere delightful .Friendly and efficient staff added to our enjoyment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    10
    Luxurious and Elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most elegant place I've ever stayed. Did not want to leave. The 5 acres ofgardens and grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    8.8
    Cuisine was excellent, varied and adventurous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cuisine was excellent, varied and adventurous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable room and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor WiFi given absence of Mobile phone signal

    Comfortable room and good food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    9.2
    Good little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening menu was too expensive for us.

    Lovely room, great view from the little patio. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner was very expensive and not brilliant over all.

    Beautiful building and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2016

    9.6
    Everything was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2016

    9.2
    Relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a very nice room in the new block. Maybe a rug on the wood floor would help?

    Liked the comfort and relaxation of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2016

    9.6
    Lovely coach house rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking can be tricky

    Lovely coach house rooms. Quiet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2016

    10
    we were away for the week and stayed here friday night,, the perfect end to a perfect week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to dislike

    absolutely everything...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    7.9
    Very comfy bed and spotless room also very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor dinner in the restaurant, cooked breakfast was average

    Very comfy bed and spotless room also very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    9.6
    Superb bedroom and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have preferred a choice of type of evening meal.

    Superb bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    9.6
    Gorgeous hideaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The set price for dinner was over priced.

    Most of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    9.6
    Good but posh
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner is pricey

    Staff, everything was fab

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2016

    6.3
    Quiet and secluded with lots of potential for a lovely break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    2hrs to be served a main course for dinner! Sadly doesn't realise it's potential! Could be so much more relaxed but comes across as a little pretentious

    Quiet and secluded with lots of potential for a lovely break

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2015

    8.3
    It is the most wonderful location, our room in the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is the most wonderful location, our room in the main hotel was charmingly old fashioned and would have been even better if we had a room facing the fantastic view. The food at dinner was exquisite.

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2015

    9.2
    The evening meal was excellent, our bedroom and bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant prides itself on its 2AA Rosettes and we had a wonderful evening meal. We were looking forward to breakfast the following morning but were somewhat disappointed.as it was clearly not cooked to order. The bacon, sausage and fried bread were tough. The scrambled was OK but the portion was no bigger than a soup spoonful and I was only given a quarter of a mushroom! We were not late for breakfast and were well within the specified breakfast times.

    The evening meal was excellent, our bedroom and bathroom were clean, beautifully fitted out and decorated to a high standard. All the staff were attentive and very helpful and friendly.. And the view of the Tamar valley was breathtaking.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2015

    9.6
    From checking in until leaving the staff were all very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From checking in until leaving the staff were all very polite, warm and helpfull. Had great weather so sitting in garden enjoying the views over a drink was a highlight.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2015

    9.2
    the location is excellent - quiet, in nature, great views -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant is gastronomic one - "fine dining", very nice, but expensive - no cheapest option in hotel and no other nearby - the guests have to go to Tavistock by car. The light snack would be great option eaten in the room whey Yu are tired in the evening. We stayed during cold days, the heating was working only during the day and it was cool in the room and especially in the bathroom, when bathing late in the evening.

    the location is excellent - quiet, in nature, great views - but car is necessary - no other restaurants, shops etc. in walking distance. The staff is very polite, helpfull, all the building is nicely decorated, plenty of space in the room.

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2015

    8.3
    The room was lovely, the food was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bacon at breakfast was old and tough.

    The room was lovely, the food was exceptional. Their well water a revelation, it made tap water taste like mud.

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2015

    10
    I know we were upgraded but the room was amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be very hard to say anything we did'nt like. But if we are going to be really picky it would nice to have flannels.

    I know we were upgraded but the room was amazing . Breakfast looking over the hills and the breakfast was really good.

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2015

    7.1
    Location, size of room, updated facilities in Rm 17, TV...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening meal /overpriced Trying to be fine dining but not succeeding, meat poorly cooked, meringue very poor

    Location, size of room, updated facilities in Rm 17, TV coffee making facilities

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2015

    10
    The bed was very comfortable, and the view at breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very comfortable, and the view at breakfast was divine! The food was wonderful as well. All the staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    10
    Nice location with great staff and food out of this world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location with great staff and food out of this world

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2016

    8.8
    Our room was lovely and the staff were very professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dining room was disappointing, very 1980's decor

    Our room was lovely and the staff were very professional

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2015

    9.6
    Lovely location and very friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Lovely location and very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2015

    7.5
    Food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms out of main building

    Food and service

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2015

    9.6
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough lights in the garden maybe solar would be good

    The view

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2015

    10
    Comfort, view, staff, clean Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfort, view, staff, clean Breakfast

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2015

    10
    Food was amazing, as was the room design and bath
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    No dressing gown, heavy key fob, breakfast too late

    Food was amazing, as was the room design and bath

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2015

    9.6
    Location is amazing on top of a hill overlooking stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is amazing on top of a hill overlooking stunning views. Staff are very friendly. Hotel is very clean

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2015

    9.6
    Cuisine excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Cuisine excellent. Country views magnificent

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2015

    9.6
    Somewhere special where we would not normally be able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somewhere special where we would not normally be able to afford but was given to us as a treat....and what a treat it was!!

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: