Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Horse And Groom Inn

The Street, Charlton, SN16 9DL, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Charlton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly staff nothing was to much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com not passing on the information about our booking with the hotel. We were charged for breakfast on both rooms which should have been included in the price. Lucky the manager of the hotel reimburse us the following week but like I said it wasn't there fault it was YOURS

    Very friendly staff nothing was to much trouble

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing...but could has potential with some investment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I called the hotel prior to staying with my room configuration requirement...2 rooms with twin beds and 1 x double - this was confirmed by the hotel, only for us to arrive after a very long day...to find that this had not been honoured! Very, very annoying...after some negotiation the room error resulted in a reduction - but a silly error on the part of the hotel! The room that I stayed in was very crampt...window in bathroom would not open. There needs to be some real investment...to make the bathroom more practical.

    White fluffy towels & very white wash cloths🙂

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Good food,friendly staff,big bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from pub after hours drinking lasted till gone 1am which kept me awake......not good when we had an earlyish start the next day. The price for breakfast included is just for a continental breakfast which is not stipulated on the booking info. Cooked is £10 in addition.

    Good food,friendly staff,big bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Good evening pub grub but bed and breakfast very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on first sight looked fine, but there was a crack in the window, curtains had holes in them, the bed was very soft ( really far too soft it has seen better days) there are stains on the carpet and in the bathroom it had a roll topped bath, looks great but the telephone taps hard to get the temp of water right Booked room with breakfast, was told that evening that it would be continental unless paid an extra £5 for a cooked breakfast - but really what was provided was very cheap brown bread, a clapped out toaster, cornflakes and that was it, nothing else at all - the cooked breakfast was poor with strange (almost garlic tasting sausages) really a big let down as they can obviously do food as the meal the night before had been very nice The young man serving breakfast wasn't overly helpful unlike the very warm welcoming staff the evening before, if the breakfast has been as good as the meal the night before we wouldn't have worried too much about the room - but was a big let down

    The staff were very friendly especially when we first arrived on the Thursday evening and the meal we had at the Horse and Groom was very nice - no faults found at all the Bed linen and towels very nice an clean and fresh

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Would highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    What a fantastic place to stay,the staff cannot do enough for you to make your stay perfect from start to finish.the food is wonderful,the accommodation was as described when booking.we are sure to visit again and would love to stay at the Horse and groom,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    We were given a beautiful, spacious room with a nice garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a beautiful, spacious room with a nice garden view. The bathroom was enormous and everything was exceptionally clean. We had a nightmare trip so ended up arriving quite late to the hotel and they were very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent experience and will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult obtaining a taxi due to the concert in the local Arboretum

    Lovely building in a beautiful area. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The restaurant served great quality food. Great location for travel around the Cotswold area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.2
    not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we stayed two days went out and on return room had not been cleaned and no clean towels or tea cups room was just as we left it. breakfast was very poor just tired old white bread .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    All the character of a typical English country pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internal decoration is a little tired - in need of a coat of paint, renew the curtain linings and improve the basin taps. However, a pleasant modern style of decoration.

    A very pretty pub with roses round the door and lots of choice of outside seating spaces. the bathroom was spacious and the rooms pleasant with window seats facing the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed it, price is good for the area but you could feel it is expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t that comfortable. Could do with a little upgrade to bring a few bits up to date.

    Nice venue, pub seemed relaxed. Staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Gorgeous location, cosy room for a 1 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bright green light in our room that was a bit annoying while trying to sleep. However, I understand this was a necessity for fire escape purposes.

    Decor is lovely, very clean, nice picturesque location and the grounds of the pub were very nice. Staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    It was a lovely location and overall was a pleasant experience. We would visit again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed that a cooked breakfast was not offered as we were going to have a busy morning visiting Highgrove House garden. There were no croissants, just cereals and muesli, etc. and toast to make ourselves. We had to ask for more yogurt. I asked for Marmite but there was none available. There were two jams offered but no marmalade. In short, breakfast was a disappointment.

    We liked the main twin-bedded room more than the attic room which had a very slopey ceiling - however, the cost was the same, which I think was a little unfair from the point of view of the two who were sharing the attic room. We all liked the pub and the evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Overnight stay at Horse and Groom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration a little tired but not enough to worry about.

    Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Went out of their way to accommodate gluten and dairy free requirements.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Umbrellas left on the ground outback which looked messy.

    Had a great feel to the place, lovely location, building and grounds. The bedroom we stayed in you had to duck or even crawl in.. quirky and fun. They had there own infused Gins 🤪.. a must try! Food was lovely. We stopped at three hotels on our trip, and this place got first price! We would definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.8
    Too expensive for what it really is
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could use a splash of paint and the bathroom a working movable shower. It was an ordeal having a shower in the morning, as there was a huge shower head but not working properly and not movable which is essential if you are a woman. I had to use a bath towel to wrap my hair. The loo seat wasn't very clean and it could benefit from a replacement. Breakfast was bread and a bit of cereal. Overall the room did not worth the money.

    Not much. The room was big and relatively clean but a bit run down. Also relatively clean not wow clean especially the bathroom. A bit of TLC would go a long way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for my purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the security light in the bedroom was so bright.

    This was an ideal location for my purpose and the facilities were just what I hoped for. The staff were professional and obliging

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    2.5
    It’s made clear when you walk in you are not a local
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s made clear when you walk in you are not a local Did not end up staying! Walked in and have never been made to feel so awkward, we sat down to have a drink and clearly as we weren’t locals! One of the lady’s and the bar lady decided just to stand and whisper by the bar! Not a great feeling when you’ve travelled over 2 hours to visit a wedding venue up the road. I lost out on £100 for this stay!

    The pub is beautiful decorated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    A lovely little place to say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred a shower with the bathroom but not the end of the world. We couldn't get a table in the pub part after having our dinner near the fireplace as the front area was so busy.

    A great little place to stay, staff very friendly, food and drink was fantastic and room was comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    My thoughts of the horse and groom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your in the top room (5) and your taller than 5 foot you will keep bumping your head you have to keep ducking to get into the room as the door is very small and cut to the slope of the ceiling. The decoration could do with refreshing as paint is flaking. monday to friday your breakfast included is continental and on Saturday and sunday you can have full english for an extra £9:95. We popped into chippinham to witherspoons and had a massive full breakfast for £3:99 bargain.

    The property was nice clean and a very comfortable large bed. The staff was brilliant and helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Cotswold additional night stay over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisey with creaky floorboards above but have stayed in B&B pubs before and they are all very similar in this respect.

    Cosy and friendly atmosphere. Made to feel very welcome and comfy on a bitterly cold day. We found this hotel by chance due to the need to stay over so we booked with booking.com. in general the reviews were good but one picked up on the breakfast being a continental and not full English. We may have been disapointed but because of that review our expectations were already set on breakfast. Yes it was a continental breakfast but plenty of it and nothing was too much trouble for our hostess. There were a good selection of beers wines and spirits and a lovely log fire to keep us warm in the bar area. We dined in the evening and the food was very nice but a little more expensive than similar in a city establishment. However we did by chance sign up to the loyalty scheme and 25% was deducted from the food bill as it was a Wednesday evening. This easily brought it in line with city establishments. The staff were excellent and accomodating and the whole environment welcoming. Would we stay again? Certainly. B&B certaintly not overpriced. Bed was comfy shower good and bathroom clean. More than happy to recommend. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Generally enjoyable, shame about breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast only available at weekends. Continental breakfast served was of poor quality .

    The dinner on both days was excellent. Particularly the haggis scotch eggs! Comfortable room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location, welcoming, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were really helpful and friendly. I had to adjust my booking at very short notice due to an unforseen family issue and they were very sympathetic and accommodating (which was really appreciated, given my somewhat traumatic circumstances ).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    The perfect escape from the mundanity of daily life, beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gorgeous looking bed was two single beds pushed together which was disappointing but everything else was so beautiful.

    Such a beautiful place to stay, we booked it on a whim, I’m so pleased we did, I’d love to come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    The best I could ask for, I lurved the smell of fire in the fireplace downstairs as we walked in....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The honesty and reliability of the staff. I was told that the room we were given was something like a room in Alice in Wonderland and it did & was so so beautiful/homely/accommodating and comfy. I even forgot my iPad back at the room which the staff found and sent by registered mail to me.....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.4
    Won’t come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast! Old bread one slice of ham and cheese. No staff around when we wanted more coffee. Second morning, the left overs from yesterday’s breakfast was served. Appalling!!

    The location and the walk in shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Brief but very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and spacious but cozy and the bathroom was fabulous. The staff were helpful and really nice. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    felt totally at home and enjoyed a relaxing and stress free couple of days . Thank you :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff and locals in the pub downstairs. Lovely quaint room at the top of the house. Overall a lovely and welcoming feel . Will be recommending to friends and family.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Great except for food allergies i
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they need a bit more food allergy advice. They did try. They advertise to let them know if you have any food allergies or intollerance, & although they provided me with gluten free bread there was no dairy free butter. & although they provided me with dairy free milk there was no gluten free cereal to put it on other than a few nuts & seeds. So we paid extra for a cooked breakfast but there were no gluten free sausages.

    The staff were very friendly & the rooms were excellent. Very clean, spacious & well decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Functional room but delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The eaves of the room were quite low and both my husband and I are quite tall so risked bumping our heads. We asked to be moved but unfortunately there wasn't another room available as they were fully booked.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    A lovely place, but needs some more thought and care. Can tell it once was a grand buzzing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet wasn't clean, easy to hear neighbouring rooms, all a little bit dated and needs some TLC.

    Comfortable clean sheets, great deep bathtub, heavy curtains that block out the morning sun.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    A very enjoyable stay and would certainly stay there again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charged extra for a cooked breakfast, Breakfast on offer was continental which was ok but not what I expected. Had to pay another £5 for hot breakfast

    great location and rooms clean and spacious. Good size bathroom and again spotless with thick, fluffy towels. Very friendly staff providing good service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable and Cozy however room in need of some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little tired the Bathroom just needs a lick of paint as it was flaking off around the bath and some of the tiles were chipping. The bedroom was very cozy and the bed comfortable however again a little tired just needs a little paint and maybe some fresh carpet and curtains.

    The Breakfast at the Horse and Groom was absolutely delicious and the service during breakfast was fab!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.2
    We were disappointed with our accommodation to say the least.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (Room 5) was not up to the standard we had been expecting from the photos. The bathroom window did not shut and BADLY needed painting. The bedroom window also needed a coat of paint and there was verdi gris allover the woodwork of the window. The carpets on the stairs and landings had big holes in them and they badly need replacing.The bath in the bathroom had a shower fitting (shower head at the end of a flexible hose) but there was no way one could take a shower as there was no curtain. The lavatory flush had to be pulled several times to get it to flush. There was no plug to the wash basin neither was there an electric plug for razors. The whole bathroom needs updating and and sorting out. The worst aspect was an electric heater which worked but was not attached to it's base and could have fallen off the base on which it was perched, so causing a fire. VERY dangerous. Our daughter's room was somewhat better and had a good shower. However the door to the room was covered in scratch marks. The dinner we had was very mixed. Our daughter had lamb and that was really good. However my husband and I had whole plaice. The fish was very small and very unappetizingly presented and the green vegetables and seaweed with it were rubbish and inedible. The whole place is a bit shabby and it badly needs doing up and some tender love and care.

    The lunch we had was good. Fish and chips were delicious. Breakfast OK. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little more soft seating would have been nice, in the bar, and maybe a small armchair in the room.

    The helpful friendly staff, and the really excellent food. A very relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Deal overnight accomadation for the nearby wedding venue.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A well appointed room in good decorative order. Not perfect but it was part of the character of a building of this age and numerous changes over many years. The bed was large and comfortable and the linen excellent. The complementary continental breakfast had good optins for those of us on a calorie or low fat - sugar diet. The cooked breakfast looked and smelt brilliant. The location is ideal for the near by wedding venue and our one night stay was not a problem, we were treated with the utmost warmth and not made to feel awkward by staying for ne night only.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    The pub was fine for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in the huge bathroom, just a bath with hand shower attachment which was not ideal especially if your tall! Carpets on stairs leading to bedrooms all needed replacing,were badly worn in parts.

    Lovely old pub in a quiet spot Large bedroom Continental breakfast offered in room deal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    The bathroom was huge and the bathtub was lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed at The Horse and Groom Inn while attending the WOMAD Festival which was about 1 mile away in Charlton Park. The road to the park is busy without a sidewalk so it is not easy or safe to walk to/from the Inn to the Festival. If I return I will rent a car.

    The bathroom was huge and the bathtub was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent choice for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tissues in the bedrooms and the free public WIFI network service was not password protected so didn't use it. I expect this will shortly be changed.

    The staff were particularly helpful, and the breakfast excellent too. I understand that new owners have just taken over and will be doing some refurbishments but we were all very happy with our 5 rooms . We also enjoyed a good lunch there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room to our room was very, very badly scratched on the outside. Didn't create a good first impression. The toilet seat had a bolt missing and was very loose. The taps to the basin were very loose and needed a simple tighten. Small points but slightly took the shine off our visit.

    Room was spotless, reception staff were very welcoming. Although kitchen was closing for the day reception arranged for sandwiches to be prepared and put in fridge to be eaten later in the evening in the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Traditional English pub accommodation in a pretty village location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit "tired" but we understand the rooms are about to have a make-over. No cooked breakfast during the week, so we were told there would be a continental style. However when we went to go downstairs for breakfast we found two paper bags outside our door containing processed products - muffins, cereal bar and orange juice! There was a kettle in our room so we could have a coffee. We were disappointed as the room was very expensive for a "pub" and were really looking forward to a nice breakfast. I guess the price was higher due to the music festival.

    Stunning location. Characterful and traditional English country inn. Perfect location to access the Womad music festival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    The pub had just changed owner who was very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub had just changed owner who was very helpful and friendly as were all her staff team. The accommodation was excellent value as was the Tuesday night steak dinner. All in all we had a very good 2 day break and would go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    Friendly bar staff , quiet room, nice feeling & decor in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom & bathroom were desperately in need of repair/ decorating. Torn curtain, broken velux blind, cracks in walls, chipped paint with wood & plaster exposed, bath detached from wall, and no sealant, no proper shower ( nothing to hang bath shower attachment to), gap around bath with no sealant, carpet very stained, velux window dirty. We paid £250 a night for a double room (considerable hike in prices for Womad, which we understand) but condition of room certainly did not warrant price, and breakfast not included, though on final morning two bags each containing a cereal bar, a yoghurt, a muffin, & carton of orange juice were left outside our door.

    Friendly bar staff , quiet room, nice feeling & decor in bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.2
    Poor service and poor facilities. I wouldn't recommend or book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were undertrained, poor service from start to finish both at dinner and for overall service levels. Menu/food was not as advertised on booking.com at time of booking. Pictures bore no resemblance to actual menu available and I doubt it's Michelin recommended. No breakfast available on weekdays apart from a paper bag left outside room door with a carton of fruit juice, yoghurt, muffin and two tracker bars. Room was poorly decorated, paint falling of walls, hole in ceiling filled with paper, cold tap not secured so span on sink when used, shower head crusty with limescale. Poor level of cleanliness. Noisy staff talking outside guest rooms after closing. Noisy internal doors so guests woke us when leaving. Although a sign was on doors to ask them to keep quiet. No staff at the inn after pub closing times until 11am so no opportunity to complain as we left early.

    Location was good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Dissapointed with my stay at the Horse and Groom Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was room 1 which was at the top of the stairs. The room was nice but it was very noisy with the door right outside the room been banged against the wall. On the second evening of our stay we experienced a leak within the room which awoke myself and my partner at 3am. The water was coming from a bathroom upstairs we think, we were awoken by the water dripping onto the floor. I paid for bed and breakfast, the breakfast was continental, I expected toast, pastries and cereal, upon arrival I was told breakfast would be brought to the room in the morning, I requested 8am. 8am arrived and we had not been brought any breakfast, I then opened the door and saw two paper bags which contained a muffin, cereal bar, yoghurt and a carton of juice. I was very disappointed in what I recieved. The second morning of our stay we didn't get anything for breakfast at all. There was no one around to ask for anything either. Overall I wasn't satisfied that at £170 for two nights this represented good value.

    The room was a nice room, the downstairs, pub and restaurant was lovley, food was good service was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice place, shame about the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken loo seat in bathroom, incorrectly fitted taps in sink which didn't work very well, shower leaked all over bathroom floor.

    God location, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    Glossy pictures don't tell the whole story
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid cash on arrival,having been asked by the barman for £85.The soup at supper wasn't nice.Worst of all there was no breakfast,which was not made clear to me on booking,if I had known I would have gone elsewhere.2 Muffins and some fruit juice doesn't make breakfast as far as I am concerned. Yesterday on arrival home I got an email from the Horse &G telling me that they had removed £85 from my account...I responded asking them to reimburse me as I had already paid. I am awaiting a reply.

    The bed was comfortable,water hot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful, enjoyable short break. Too short !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only points of detail, most of which could (and some were, instantly) rectified : loose toilet seat, rotating taps, non-functioning small refrigerator, non-soft-closing door immediately outside the bedroom, overly-cheap toilet paper, lack of facility for recharging electric shaver, no option for cooked breakfast on weekdays. Cumulatively, these 'faults' might have served as an irritant but in the context of an ancient coaching inn and the sheer enthusiasm of the staff to rectify issues brought to their attention, we felt no irritation at all. Crucially, we would have no reservations whatsoever about returning to this accommodation.

    Hugely helpful, efficient and friendly staff in a warm, informal atmosphere. Lovely big room and large comfortable bed. Good food and flexible menu. Great kindness and tolerance even when we pointed out some detail deficiencies !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    Started great and ended up not so great
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast really strange set up.. they had to check with chef 1st, then told we we would be provided with a continental breakfast in a bag. This didn't materialise until we were leaving the property at 9:30! We had to leave for our appointment. Evening meal was just ok, not worth the money. The room was lovely and great value but just need to fine tune the niggles

    Beautiful location, great beers and lovely accommodation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Average food, pretty looking pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room in need of tlc, cracked floor tiles, flaking wall paint, ripped curtain, stained carpet all easily remedied! Very slow service at dinner and mediocre food, better to get that right than silly chip baskets and pans for peas, food could have been much better for the price.

    Nice looking pub and restaurant area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Generally an acceptable Inn with accommodation. Room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not available until arrival of staff/owner at 09-00. Owner self-defensive and aggressive. Somewhat spoilt an otherwise pleasant experience.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    4.2
    As breakfast does not start until 9am, it is not the ideal venue for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls between rooms were paper thin. We had very noisy neighbours who burst into their room at 10-30pm They kept us awake until 1pm. Not good with important business the next day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant staff, comfy bed, fresh breakfast, decent evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was not very clean, the shower was not well designed and the toilet seat wobbled! Breakfast service was slow. Coffee cups refilled as requested. Perhaps a pot of coffee would have speeded things up.

    The staff were very welcoming, the beer was great and the steak at dinner was beautifully cooked The bed was comfy and the breakfast was cooked fresh with lovely fresh bread.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.5
    Warm and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a little bit of effort in fresh paint, attention to making sure all light bulbs are working, toilets seats properly fitted, etc it could lift the overal experience of a quality building.

    Very cosy and full of character. Excellent breakfast and tastefully decorated. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    6.7
    OK for 1 night stay ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom. No shelving whatsoever to put toiletries ..no shaving / magnifying mirror for lens users . And the tap sprayed water everywhere. Also breakfast was extra and quite expensive ...

    Nice welcoming room. Lovely fresh bedding and supply of tea coffee biscuits and 1 bottle of still and 1 bottle if fizzy water ..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.5
    Intimate, cosy, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We nearly didn't book as there was nothing about the en-suite or bathroom ie no pics but we were delighted with the claw foot bath and fabulous bathroom... you need to include in your pics!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Cosy countryside inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't stay longer they were fully booked. :(

    Cost little pub downstairs with free snacks. Real English countryside feeling. Wifi, central heating, hot shower and gorgeous tub.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    4.6
    One night stay with partner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bathroom not as advertised. Expected a roll top bath. Moved to another, older room as told they were updating rooms The Web site therefore needs updating to explain this. Breakfast expensive, so we never had any. Very noisy above bar until 11.30 pm Windows very tired looking and rattled all night Front door closure noisy, could be heard everytime some one went in and out. Not provided with a till receipt, was told this was forthcoming, but never got it. Okay for price, but doubtful I would return.

    Open log fire, quality of evening meal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    4.6
    Friendly staff, nice pub and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tired and dirty, it is in dire need of decoration. The were marks on the back of the door, stains in the carpet, there were brown marks all along the skirting in the bathroom where it has been mopped but no one has then wiped the skirting boards, there was ingrained dirt on the threshold strip between the bathroom and bedroom. Both taps in the basin were loose, the toilet roll holder was missing from the wall, the toilet seat was loose. The mattress was also extremely uncomfortable, we could feel the springs when laid down and it was an uncomfortable night.

    Friendly staff, nice pub and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    4.6
    Old fashioned looking English pub
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bar, bedroom allocated on top floor, in need of refurbishment, cracked flooring in bathroom paint peeling off, and cold. Heating was turned off at night, curtains ripped.

    Old fashioned looking English pub

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    8.8
    Excellent pub and hotel, especially on the deal price we were given!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu not very good for vegetarians - only one choice each day (the same one!)

    Very helpful staff, lovely bar with fire, very dog friendly in pub and hotel. Would definitely go again

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    5.4
    Pleasant stay but needs a few tweaks to improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young staff were disorganised and the service irratic. The bathroom velux window would not shut, very draughty, the bath leaked and had no shower curtain and the bedroom had an emergency light fitting that illuminated the room all night with a green haze.

    The young staff were friendly, the food was good and atmosphere was very pleasant. The room was ok and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful rural retreat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints... It's an old building so expected old / tired fittings in the room.

    Really nice place... Only stayed one night for business. The full English was excellent! Warm and friendly...would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.9
    Friendly Country Pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but £9.99.I think a B and B should offer a complimentary breakfast.

    Lovely country pub with attractive rooms.Complimentary Tea,coffee,water and biscuits in room.Service was fantastic.Friendly warm staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.1
    A comfortable stop-over in pleasant area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, lack of fruit and juices. Main course presentation poor.

    Warm, comfortable, nice size bedroom and adequate toiletries. Enjoyable evening meal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    8.3
    Excellent pub / small hotel / restaurant, they cover all the bases really well
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast only served from 9:00 am so if you need to get away earlier, you could go hungry.

    All Good. Rooms very clean & pleasant, great pub atmosphere and excellent food for dinner / breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely country pub/hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The huge toilet roll that wouldn't fit into the holder. The fact that breakfast wasn't included in the price. I hadn't realised this when I booked.

    The room was very spacious yet cosy with an easy to control radiator. Super fluffy towels. The pub had a lovely log fire and did delicious meals. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. We'll definitely be back to have some more food , would be good in the Summer as has large outdoor facilities.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    6.3
    cozy but needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no stand up shower apart from a hand held shower. The furnishings were tired and in need of replacing. Breakfast was not available until 9 am which was too late for me.

    the bed was comfy. tea and coffee making facilities were good. nice location and cozy bar area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful place, fantastic stay, will go back again for sure.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only minus's - and they're not much - is the mirror in the bedroom is in the darkest corner so not great for putting on make up. Also charged for refills on coffee and tea at breakfast but to me they were just top ups as not full cups, just from a coffee pot and teapot. Just felt the teensiest bit sneaky.

    The bedroom was quirky and enchanting. Loved the beams and claw toothed bath, toiletries and comfy bed. The food was gorgeous with generous portions. Ambience was fantastic, felt so welcome there. Big fuss made of our dog, she was in heaven. The decor and furnishings were beautiful too. Overall it was great value for money and we very much enjoyed the whole experience.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didn't start until 9am on a week day morning. We were going back to work and this was too late.

    We had a great meal with very good service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Weekend Get-Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not so keen on the green glowing emergency lighting in the room that cannot be turned off. I can only sleep in a dark room.

    Fantastic friendly staff and yummy cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    6.3
    A little upgrading required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paintwork and walls dirty. Carpet on stairs very worn. Windows did not fit properly so room cold. Could not always get hot water.

    Bed comfy and clean and sanitary fittings clean. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Lovely country Inn run brilliantly by Paula.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do with a lick of paint on some surfaces. and some new soft furnishings .

    The evening meal and the breakfast were really nice. We were in room 1, try and book this.. Big comfy bed,big tv and a powerful rain shower over a roll top bath.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    perfect spot in charlton
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they owners need to add some photos onto their website as they only offer photos of the food but they should definatly let people see how nice the rooms are

    the room was perfect, a great size and really cosy. comfy bed and very clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    A very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had (No 5) though attractive, was tired and in need of refurbishment. Not matching the high quality achieved in the rest of the inn.

    Charming and helpful staff. Delightful dining rooms. Convivial and comfortable bar area. Food of a very high standard and reasonably priced. Ample parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    3.8
    Room was large and decent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hair in the bathtub which obviously hadn't been cleaned. No toilet roll in the bathroom. 'Free breakfast' was advertised but not served until 9 - useless for people staying for work!

    Room was large and decent. A little cold.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: