Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Horse & Jockey Inn

Wylcwm Place, Knighton, LD7 1AE, United Kingdom

#6 of 6 hotels in Knighton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Imagined from the photos that it was acountry inn but it was a town centre drinkers and smokers pub.

    Room comfortable and modern but very small. ( Pikel,Boozey was much bigger at same price.)Restaurant has good pub menu with fresh fish and lamb on specials,breakfast excellent. Nice black pudding. Staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good.

    Lovely, atmospheric old pub with a great vibe and really friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent food and our room (Tollant) was full of character.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing negative I can say about my stay here other than it wasn't long enough.

    Owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming. I booked The Horse and Jockey because I had stayed there before so had prior knowledge of the property. The room was clean, warm and well presented, the bed was comfortable and clean towels and toiletries were provided in the en-suite bathroom. I liked the fact that breakfast was cooked perfectly to order.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A - Everything was perfect for us

    room was very spacious and bed was so comfortable. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay special. Breakfast was lovely and very please with the stay. Owners were lovely and the evening meal was delicious

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn’t quite as luxurious as we’d imagined from the photos. It was a little noisy in the evening.

    The hotel was warm and met our needs. There was a pub and restaurant on site. The staff were very kind and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little noisy as it overlooked the pub courtyard. No parking available at the location.

    Room was clean and comfy. Restaurant was good - however we weren't told it was advisable to book. Luckily they managed to fit us in but we did see others turned away. (Noticed after the event that there was a note on the room door where restaurant opening times were listed)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to persuade the restaurant staff to book us a table for an evening meal despite being residents..Initially told no tables available but when we did sit down at 2015hrs there were 3 empty tables that remained empty whilst we ate. Waiting staff had to be reminded twice when we ordered further drinks. Oh, and the socks we found in a chest of drawers belonged to a member of staff who had to move out so we could have the room!

    The attached restaurant served good pub grub and the breakfast was great. Staff were, on the whole, friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed here before in a different room and it was great, smaller room this time, would definitely book the double next time

    Service, Cleanliness and Food was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and bedrooms need updating, they are small

    New owners and some upgrade required in rooms and beds, however could not fault staff, welcome, atmosphere and food, all were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I would have liked was bottled water in the room, however the hot drink facilities were excellnt

    We were welcomed and shown to our room by Craig, his service was excellent throughout, shown our room which was a surprise it had a wow factor, beautiful room. Food was excellent, both the evening menu and the breakfast. Excellent Value for money, would definitely stay again. Well Done

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be much appreciated if breakfast could be served a bit later on a Sunday. It was only served between 8.00 and 9.00 am. Most places serve breakfast until at least 10.00 am on a Sunday.

    This was a lovely place to stay in a beautiful location. The room was large and beautifully decorated in an " oldie world " style with a large comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom with a large bath. The breakfast was very nice and staff helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a business of 2 halves, a busy local pub and a B n B with restaurant. It was noisy at night till closing time which is why i am not sure it would suit families. The courtyard felt a bit under loved which is a shame as it's a fabulous space. The rest of the place is clean and well thought through so the contrast is noticeable. It would have been good to have a bin in the room for our rubbish. Having said this it suited us very well and we would definitely return.

    Friendly Staff. Excellent Welsh breakfast. Relaxed and easy going atmosphere which we loved. Really good food which is reasonably priced in the restaurant. Lovely wines and lovely pudding! The inn is a 14th century coaching inn and the rooms have been refurbished sensitively so the ambiance of it's past remains whilst still having the necessary mod cons. We were touring through the Shropshire hills on our motorbike and this was an excellent place to have as a base.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room as the heating wasn't turned on until a couple of hours after our arrival. No parking available, not even to drop the bags. Beds creaked upon every movement, even when you just turned your head

    In the centre of the village

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Splitting hairs ,the beds creaked a bit.Noisy at night but in all fairness the music stopped at midnight and the locals dispersed quickly.

    The friendliness of all the staff.The food standard was very good"

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't work. No hot water. Very noisy but only to be expected in a pub, but windows are single glazed and won't shut properly.

    Staff were lovely, very helpful. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King-Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was beautiful, with a large comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom with a lovely bath. It was old-fashioned with stone walls and roof beams, but was warm and cozy. The parking was just across the road. The good was fantastic. I ordered duck, and it was cooked to perfection!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin room a bit cramped for two.

    Good location for Offa's Dyke walk. Nice log fire and warm friendly pub with good beer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this stay was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was a perfect break.

    Room excellent, oak beams etc. Bar welcoming, good restaurant and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water at 11pm and noisy crowd outside until 2pm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People noise until 2pm. No hot water at 11.30pm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame there is no parking. On street parking is very restricted.

    Lovely bed and nice bathroom. Food was excellent and the owners were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi.

    Had to leave before breakfast time so can't comment on that. But was a cosy, comfortable stay. Great shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a nice hotel with clean rooms, friendly staff , good food and beverage

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, staff, accommodation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking

    Room superb and food excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not easy but with patience we found a space.

    Staff (in particular Craig) and food excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from live music which stopped. Only at midnight. Some customers were drunk and unpleasant.

    Staff were very helpful and polite

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep steps to room, my wife had problems climbing them.parking was a problem.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very large room and bathroom en suit

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get any food between 2-6 and after 9pm

    Nice room comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staying in an old hay loft

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed really comfy, had a good night sleep. Ideal location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy

    Rooms were comfortable,staff friendly, food was excellent,especially the Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34