Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Horseshoe Inn – RelaxInnz 3 stars

Posey Green, Windmill Hill,, Herstmonceux, BN27 4RU, United Kingdom

#5 of 5 hotels in Herstmonceux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 579 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and very dirty this is the worst booking I have made with booking .com. From the outside the hotel looks old and inviting but once inside it’s a different story, The room was dirty and very small the heating for some reason come on at night and could not be switched off very uncomfortable bed. The menu is basic and very expensive for a very large pub/hotel it was empty of customers and I can see why. NOT A GOOD WEEKEND.

    Plenty of parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main issue was with being able to access the hotel early in the morning. If you venture outside early in the morning (for a coffee and a smoke), the key for your room will not allow you to re enter the front left hand side door to the bedroom area. Unfortunately, two gentleman, and myself, found ourselves stranded outside for 15 minutes until the chef heard us knocking at the door. This issue needs to be sorted out

    The room was of a reasonable size, and overall clean. Some aspects of the décor in the room were a little tired, but on the whole, the room was comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and promptly served, by the chef. Parking was more than sufficient, and Harvey the resident dog, was a delight to meet!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    “We’re not really a hotel”! This is what we were told when we inquired about why the heating hadn’t come on. “We are really only a function venue”. So don’t be on booking.com! Heating didn’t work but we were told we could use the heater in the cupboard. There was no heater, there wasn’t even a cupboard! Also, “we do t have any blankets”. Toilet broke. Doors were still locked at 8.30am so was locked out when I went to take luggage to the car. No staff on attendance to let me in. Bed awful. Oh yes, and jumping wedding party on a Thursday night kept us awake. Worst hotel stay I can remember - but then, they’re “not really a hotel” so I guess that’s fair.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Resturant and bar closing early on a sunday night, although I do understand the amount of competition locally does possibly make this not too viable.

    We got a last minuite cheap deal, and then paid a little exra for breakfast the next day, which was adequate, although I must say that I felt that the mushrooms contained more meat than the sausages. The place was as I have seen before, noted as a little bit tired, however I understand that money is being slowley spent. The bar was adequatly stocked, and being a fan of real ales, was a bit disappointed that the only real ale was Doom Bar, which was fine but in my opinion has rapidly become the Japanese Knot Weed of real ale's. Come on guys, there must be some local beers that are crying out for an outlet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was dirty and badly in need of a major refurbishment... the bedroom had stains on the walls and the windows were covered in dirt and cod webs, the shower was terrible and just gave a poor dribble of water... The breakfast was very poor and looked like just a plate full of grease, thankfully we hadn’t paid for the breakfast so just went to Costa in Hailsham.... Note to the management, close the hotel and carry out a major refurbishment and then re open once you are able to receive guests once again...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very attentive, very friendly and accommodating. I have high hopes for this place. They also have special events like Lindy Hop dancing, a Swing music afternoon, Rock & Roll, what more could you ask for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby. It wasn't serviced once during our stay. Curtains hanging off rails. Cobwebs above wall lights. Small TV difficult to work with no remote control.

    It was cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is seriously out dated The bathroom was filthy with dirty toilet paper and pubic hair around the toilet , There are no available plug sockets around the bedroom for simple access to phone charging, The carpet is worn , the window in the bathroom doesn’t shut and subsequently lets a draught through the room shaking the bathroom door , The curtains are inaccessible unless your over 7ft tall as it’s obscured by a bay window shelf with a 4 ft recess The breakfast was revolting and I was served a greasy plate of food with hard boiled poached eggs The evening meal was worse than the breakfast with microwave vegetables and powdered mash potatoes followed by mushrooms cooked in a microwave I had to ask 3 times for a business invoice and to check out took me 40 minutes in the morning as nobody was available on reception

    Checking out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older property which has it's small issues but could do with a lick of paint here and there.

    Staff were excellent - every staff member we came into contact with. Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room dreadful.. Tiny room, could not fit a chair in, no full length mirror. I know the hotel is being refurbished but the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in, there was only one double plug socket in the room and I had to rearrange everything to enable the kettle to be plugged in. The TV remote did not work. Bulb gone in bedside light. Carpet left a lot to be desired and I really did not want to use the shower.

    Staff were brilliant. Restaurant and food excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived the room had not been cleaned properly for a long time. The flat surfaces were dirty and there were lots of small pieces of debris on the carpet, including a nail clipping, and a dead spider on the bathroom floor. The duty manager did rectify this promptly while we were out in the evening, but it indicates a very lax approach to housekeeping standards. We had paid extra for a so called "luxury" room, but although the bed was comfortable, the room had not been painted for a number of years, the windows were ill-fitting, and the bedroom curtains could only be drawn by climbing onto the high, deeply recessed window ledge. Bizarrely, the duty manager insisted that the room had only just been "decorated", but perhaps she was referring to the pictures on the walls, which looked as though they might have been new. Although the cooked breakfast was good, the choice of fruit and cereals was poor and the croissants were stale. There was a used dishcoth behind the fruit bowl on one morning, which does not inspire confidence in hygiene standards. Overall this hotel is very "tired" and in need of significant investment.

    The cooked breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shut the place down and start again with staff who are better trained. The Room was very poor,no AC ,so the windows needed to be open all the time, thus letting in noise from the road and carpark, not to mention mosquitoes too. The beds very poor,neither the sheets nor duvet fitted the beds. The room was not serviced properly, one day not at all, other days only bits were done. Rubbish in the room took three days to clear and there was no sign that the room was hoovered. There were drip marks on the walls as with areas where damp showed through. The window frames paint was coming off, and were in need to be replaced urgently. The fire escape information on the rear of the door was 12 years out of date. The fire escapes were also very poor one was in need of being cleared and the other down to reception , the staff left the door opened often blocked with a tray of crockery. Dirty cups and glasses left in the corridor. One instances a box was left on a chair, this was clear and blatant of lack understanding by the staff of health and Safety. The restaurant was hot, staff had not idea how to served, and to be called “Guys” all the time got very boring. Breakfast was a joke, one had to keep asking for cutlery, the juices to be fill up and they were never cold. Not enough butter out or jams/marmalades. Coffee lukewarm and never found the tea. No spare cups were available, one had to search for them. Staff spent to long in the kitchen chatting(you could hear through the doors)so consequently tables were not being cleared for other customers. Staff had no idea who had payed for breakfast or who had not. We had one meal in the restaurant and this cost us £62.00 and when the bill arrived VAT was as separate item in the total. We have far better meals in pubs and restaurants than this. My dish of belly pork tasted peculiar as was not hot and my wife had Mediterrean Risotto, which consisted mainly of rice and rocked salad.. Poorly served and overcharged .

    Nothing was liked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better -croissants were dry and tomato was burnt and if breakfast is self service sufficient plates,saucers etc should be available without having to ask for them

    Checking in very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms need updating which is due to start soon I believe

    The couple that run this place are lovely and have just taken over, they have plans to bring the accommodation up to standard and I'm sure make this a popular choice for many.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After first night neither rooms cleaned, beds not made, towels not changed, cups etc not washed despite informing reception of this.

    Breakfast chef very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included in booking, But never looked when I booked.

    Not bad place food good value for money The real ale is good, chef very helpful with what everyone requires for breakfast. Need a good refurbish.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was dreadful, the hotel clearly needs a complete refurb, the cleaner needs to learn how to clean.

    The staff however were very friendly and courtious The location is lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Heating on constantly - radiator would not turn off. Shower was poor - scalding hot to freezing cold and hardly any pressure. Bed Mattress hardly ever been turned so sagged. Carpets could have been cleaned better.

    Food is very good, Small selection but done very well. Good Cooked breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television did not work and presume as that did not , no radio, the room smelt of paint and the carpet was dirty, overall not very clean and looked very run down, perhaps they are planning to renovate the place.

    A large car park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room service wasn’t cleaned as it should be . Bed not made properly no glasses in bathroom same cups used all week . Too hot in room at night unable to open window as stuck .

    Downstairs excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty ness shutting down & the whole place needs a refurbish

    The room we we’re given was disgusting, asked for another one, the manager who told me she has only been there 4 weeks had dirty trousers on all greased the bar staff looked like they needed a good wash, breakfast was disgusting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from yapping smokers in the outside 'Smokers Corner' outside my bedroom window - kept me awake til the bar closes. Poor Wi-Fi. In my bedroom I couldn't even open up simple e-mails, let alone search on the internet for anything. Distinct lack of 230v plug sockets in the room. Desperately needs to get rid of that turquiose painted decor about the place. Doors, skirting boards, the lot. Some bright colours seriously needed for an uplift!

    Lovely firm mattress Early cooked breakfast available at 07:00hrs to have before work

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows in the room were single glazed modernisation needed to keep road noise out and warmth in.

    breakfast good, quaint the building was amazing obviously made from ships timbers historically a gem

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room (16) was far too small, not as described. Tiny bathroom sink too close to bath unable to turn taps on without standing in the bath. shower was just a trickle, the toilet didn't flush, carpet filthy, curtains had mould growing on the back of them. cobwebs all over the room. Late night live event didn't finish until 1.30 and noise was horrendous. I stay away a lot and I have never been so disappointed absolutely not worth the money I paid

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food of the pub restaurant could be improved. But the great atmosphere and decor in this traditional countryside house easily compensate for it.

    We stayed in the four poster suite which was full of character, from the beams to the windows. Large room and comfortable bed. The house is full of characters from the old building to the pub decor. The team was very friendly and helpful. The countryside location is very peaceful with plenty to do from walking trails to Herstmonceux castle and the Observatory close by. Excellent copious breakfast. Good pricing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very dirty, cold (I had to sleep with my clothes on), badly in need of redecoration and extremely small. The bathroom was dirty and the décor was terrible - awful, awful, awful.

    The look of the hotel from the outside

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was grubby, tatty and in dire need of a refurb and certainly overpriced. Asked to pay on arrival, we thought this unusual. Shown to our upgraded room which was a joke. Shown to another room but not much better. Walked out

    Sarah the manager who dealt with our complaint in a professional manor. Thank you Sarah

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1st room hadn't been cleaned, 2nd room was a twin, third time lucky. Things are a bit run down (black mould on grouting, brown water from the hot tap, chipped paint etc.), the single glazing meant that it was quite cold, and the bar closed before 10:30 on a Saturday night. It didn't help that we visited for an observatory event at the castle which was cancelled due to overcast skies.

    Staff were very sweet and helpful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable, the mattress and the pillows were extremely hard and both my wife and I had 2 very poor nights sleep. The bath towels were far too small.

    Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was very good. We thought we had booked breakfast but hadn't but it wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought I had read on Bookings.com that breakfast was included in the price. It wasn't it had to be ordered but the receptionist did not explain this to us on arrival. We only found out after reading information later in our room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. Very, very tired decor and furnishing. Not very clean. Exposed unsightly electrical wires. Cramped room and en suite. Poor noisy plumbing. When you turned on the cold tap at the sink the shower stopped working. Cold tap almost jammed, very difficult to turn on. Shower hose kinked. Heating not working but an electric fire in the bedroom instead. Don’t think the net curtain and curtains had been washed or cleaned in a very, very long time. Towels cheap. Cheap grade toilet rolls. It seems everything was the cheapest they could possibly do. I am surprised it is still open. Needs a complete refurb and update to stay in the hotel business.

    Convenient for our needs e.g. location for visiting friends just up the road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at 5pm to find the receptionist asleep on a sofa - he was miserable and made no apologies and then things went downhill from there. The room was cold and had no heating and it felt like we were staying in a caravan. There was no food available and we had to persuade the staff to keep the bar open past 9oclock on the 1st night. We were the only guests in the place on the first night and were then joined by 70 country and western fans plus the band they follow for NYE night. On NYE night there was a buffet which was of good standard. The drinks tasted as though they had been watered down and the same man on reception from the day when we arrived was behind the bar...generally miserable and totally unsuited to his line of work. Constant complaining to his colleagues within earshot of us and other customers. After booking the hotel in early December, we called to confirm the booking and request what was happening over NYE. At no point were we told that we would be the only guests in the hotel on the 1st night or that the band was a country and western band accompanied by their regular followers. Overall this was a shocking experience and I would recommend that you avoid this hotel if at all possible.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was not cleaned - previous guest's soap still balanced on taps. Towels were grubby. Restaurant and bar were closed on Sunday night - we were given no warning of this.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms are quite dated and need a coat of paint, they are quite small but adequate to sleep in. The bar closed at 10 and the central heating was only on low in the rooms but we had temporary electric heaters in each room.

    The lounge is beautiful and the hotel looks lovely from the outside, plenty of parking, easy to find and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food appalling inedible, breakfast horrible too very unhappy with quality of food we have stayed here before in previous years and were looking forward to evening meal and breakfast, totally dissatisfied and disappointed,we were told it was an agency chef in the younger members of staff were very good and did their best and gave customer service , were not asked about our stay on leaving or any thanks

    Nice room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too fatty

    The bed was as hard as nails so not a great night sleep. The menu was good and the chef cooked lovely meals bit over priced for what u got. No snacks behind bar just peanuts. But the chef cooked us some chips after the kitchen had closed so all points to the chef there. Breakfast was just cooked in fat my mushrooms was leaking out fat so couldn't eat it all. Part from that a lovely place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no automatic lighting along the corridor where my room was, despite it being automatic throughout the rest of the hotel. It would have been polite if the staff had asked if I needed assistance with my bags, as I had more than a few.

    The staff were very accommodating, and the location was perfect for where I needed to be. Clean bathroom, clean room, and there was a nice view from the room (bonus!).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was a little slow.

    Nice looking pub with very friendly, engaging staff. The room was clean and comfortable with large screen TV. I only had 2 meals in the restaurant but the food was absolutely fantastic. All in all it was very much worth the very reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were surprised to find the pub so quiet on a Saturday evening, although it was the night of the very popular bonfire just down the road at Battle. We were the only people in the room at breakfast. The hot cooked breakfast was fine, but the only other items on the buffet were cereal and croissants.

    Easy to find, and easy to park. The staff were very pleasant. We could sit in the bar and have a bar snack when we arrived in the evening. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu was rather limited and could be improved. They could have warned us about low ceilings - the pitched roof made getting around the end of the bed a bit awkward - but not impossible.

    The building itself was amazing. The staff could not have been friendlier. Good web connection and everything we needed was provided, including a heater in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a clean. No lights in the hallway needed a torch to get to the room. TV not working. Told to drink up at 11 on a Friday as bar was closed. Loud music played by the bar staff so unable to hear each other talk. No cups for coffee in the room but saucers were provided when reported No pasties for the continental breakfast or jams. Bar meals only available no desserts.

    The area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room carpets need cleaning Breakfasts very variable. Each day a different person. sometimes breakfasts very cold. Poor choice of cereals and one day no croissants- no bread available any day. no good working hot water for tea shower in room 3 sometimes very hot sometimes freezing changing every 40 seconds. TV remotes didn't work. Checking out was difficult because at 10 am Sunday no staff around

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was situated too close to a very loud piece of machinery (possibly extract ventilation) that kept running throughout the night. It may have been the Kitchen extract, although this should have stopped at some point during the night.

    Staff were friendly and amenities were good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, the windows had wood rot and where fallen apart, there were stains all over the carpet and the walls We paid for breakfast there was 2 packs of cereal we had to ask for orange juice to be refilled, it was just 1 of everything on the plate

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piles of dirty sheets and towels in the corridors - a pet hate of mine! Public area carpets could do with a vacuum. Limited choice of ales and that wasn’t local. For the continental breakfast they had no pastries. Cereal was a small box of shreddies that was it. Toast came without any butter. Sausage was barely warm. Good size car park but covered in horse manure - not nice. Wouldn’t want to have wedding guests walking through that!

    Room was clean and tidy if a little dated. Staff friendly but could have better knowledge if working on reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribly rude manager (blonde hair lady with European accent)... went out of her way to make life awkward, no effort to accommodate even a simple request. All electricity in the room failed at 1am, no staff to ask to switch on. We used phones as lights in the end. Dated, old fashioned. None of that matters if you have good service as the price is good.

    There is nothing to like about this hotel - every aspect truly awful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thicker duvet would of been better. And there was a awful smell coming from the drains in the bathroom

    The old fashioned room was lovely bit cold but they put heaters in while we are on 5he restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got a call before we arrived to say the kitchen electrics were faulty so dinner wont be available however by the time we arrived it had been fixed but we were not informed that it had been fixed. Room 15 shower was broken, i informed housekeeping but it was not fixed. Rooms were a bit cold but electric heaters are provided. Reception/Bar/Servers are the same set of 3 staff so sometimes you wait to be served. Breakfast doesn't start till 8am on Saturday, croissant was almost burnt, looks like it had been reheated. We had to leave early on Sunday and were told even though we paid for breakfast, they couldn't provide an earlier service/alternative.

    The rooms were clean and the food was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff appeared to be casual employees and never comprehended who was the manager The breakfast was badly organised and the help yourself table was not topped up

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff proritsed the function so restaurant and bar service was poor from 8-11pm (i was ignorded for 15 minutes on two occasions) The manager needed to have more then 3 people running the show - not good enough really.

    Room was nice and quirky

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff acting on request for remote control. Noise of music could have been a bit quieter and 100% needed a menu by time check in at hotel.

    Perfect location. Two rooms 1 double , 1 twin. Twin light and airy Double small and headroom limited over one persons head. Asked twice at reception for remote for TV never received. Asked for menu for evening meal at 4 pm and did not have so ate out. Entertainment at hotel vibrated the floors but ended usual times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Worst internet in years. OK for vacationer but business people could not function here. Has to do with UK rural service not the facility!

    quaintness and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very dated. Bed very creaky and mattress springs kept pinging. Breakfast not worth the money..very disappointed .

    Staff were lovely. Hotel very beautiful and oldie worldie. Would deffinatly recommend to meet for drink/eats in the pub but not to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only wanted one breakfast which we had to pay extra for, we couldn't pay for just one with the room rate which would have cost £7 but had to pay £8.50 as only one of us wanted it. Sadly to say It wasn't very good value for money for what was served.

    Fantastic price, happy with the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The car park could do with resurfacing.

    The staff were brilliant could not do enough for us, could do with a few more staff though, food was excellent well cooked and well presented an excellent breakfast, room comfy could do with a little TLC beds very comfy, a nice location would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The beds were very comfortable, all the food, both at breakfast and in the evening, was locally sourced and cooked fresh following our order, and the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Unimpressed when we turned up that they didnt have any record of us for the 1st night with them!! Luckly for us we had the confirmation paper work!! 2) We booked 2 nights with them months in advance but the last night were bumped off their list due to an alleged double booking. They told us at the last minute so booking.com had to find alternative accommodation for us (more expensive, because there was a shortage of accommodation due to a community event) and Booking.com had to pay the difference. We found out while we were there that a wedding was on so assume this was why we were bumped off on 2nd night. 3) Our included breakfast booking was challenged as they had no record of that either so again had to present our paper work! 4) Very unimpressed with Horseshoe Inns administration procedures.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing.

    The whole stay was fantastic,the hotel was clean and the staff are great all happy.The food was all great,the chefs should be proud of themselves ,with a great menu you could not ask for more.Loved all the beams and the way it has been designed,large bar and dining room with a large car park,bedrooms had all that is needed with shower etc.Lovely stay and will be going back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used a chair in the room to sit on. Otherwise was good. Restaurant was too expensive for our budget so we went down the road and had a good meal for reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My double room had a stupidly tiny wardrobe, and the stated "desk" (which I needed in order in do some work) was totally unusable due to the large, heavy TV on it and the fact there was simply not enough space for a chair at the desk.

    Onsite carpark. Decent breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too few woefully overstretched staff. Breakfast took ages and not properly cooked. This hotel likes to pretend it is old when it is not and is on the edge of a moderately busy road. Almost a B&B since reception staff are not present in the morning - result? locked myself out when I went to the car before breakfast.

    Beds OK

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu.rooms could do with a revamp.

    Room was nice,broken radiator,but an electric heater provided,no bath although the shower was good, comfortable bed,and very quiet,not much on menu,and a burger and fries at nearly twelve pounds, very overpriced, breakfast ok,very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please note that I have previously sent this to the Manager and they have been very polite and provided a full refund to me immediately. Whilst staying at your hotel there were a number of issues that happened and I would like to detail these to you now: I will break down my complaints and hope that you can deal with each of these. Firstly the room: I booked for a double room and paid £xxx pounds for two nights which was detailed as a spacious room with en suite etc. 1. Arrival - On arrival I asked if my email request for a taxi to be arranged to take us to the Medieval festival at Herstmonceux had been arranged...The person on the check out desk had no knowledge of this, and so it was very difficult for me to get a taxi to take us to the medieval banquet at such short notice. 2. The Room - Number 11 The room was not spacious at all and the gap between the bed and the 'dressing table' was so small my partner and I had to take turns moving around the room. The bathroom had an old fan inside which was very noisy and didn't work The shower attachment was broken and kept falling down and just missed banging my foot. All the windows looked really old with paint flaking off everywhere - and there were no nets but the view was lovely although we couldn't leave the curtains open to enjoy this as this room was at the back of the hotel where seats in the garden had people sitting down, so to keep our privacy the curtains had to be kept closed. There were no doors on the wardrobes as the room was too small to accommodate them, so this obviously wasn't a 'spacious room'. I did speak to the receptionist about the room and was told he would refer this to his manager - I didn't hear anything. 3. Evening Meal. When we were having our breakfast we asked about booking for the evening meal and was told we would need to book - so we did for 20.15 the evening of the 28th.

    The view from the room was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think it needs some TLC. Room was looking a little worn but comfy. Locals in the bar area need to be told to quiet down and control their kids, it was late Sunday afternoon and we just wanted a quiet relaxing drink but ended up going to bed at 7.30pm just for some peace and quiet!

    Rooms ok. Food was good. Location lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a themed night on the Monday = very loud 50's music , the hotel's ethos was very much towards this type of income , guests didn't really figure into the equation at all, it was noisy the following night as well, and the Wednesday night not much better. I didn't check if there were events which I normally do and book elsewhere if it is going to be too noisy. food was poor my cheeseburger ( very little choice) was burnt on the base and not much in the way of taste. the restaurant shut before 9pm. there are few places locally to get food so that was also annoying. The bed was like a brick, a packed lunch took almost an hour to prepare !! why I don't know as it was only brown bread with a very thin slice of ham, excuse given = I didn't want the baguette that was offered. my reason = this was going to be baked !!! and then cold ham put into it= pointless. go if you like themed nights , don't bother if you are working .

    The staff were polite & the manageress was pleasant & friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed in the quality of the decoration and cleanliness of the room (15) and no chair in room to work from,. Mould and rot around the window frames, stains on the wallpaper and a shower that wouldn't work unless it was held low and the bath panel (hardboard?) was expanding with the water ingress Dusty around lights. Wifi was slow and kept cutting out, TV about A4 envelope size and a 50 minute wait for food in a restaurant that had only three tables occupied. Reception behind a locked door and unmanned when I needed an invoice in the morning. Not a good experience I'm afraid.

    Staff tried hard, plenty of parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extractor fan in en suite didn't appear to be working, and there was an unpleasant smell coming from the shower drain. The receptionist did apologise and treated this with bleach, but it probably needs attention. We were also disappointed not to find a Gideon's Bible in the room.

    Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Easy to find and plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shaver point in room was not working for partner. If you went out you had to take key to building otherwise you could not get in but you were not told this on arrival. Pay on arrival as other than the restaurant for breakfast there was no staff for reception - only on our arrival about 6.00 pm in the evening when the bar was open for drinks and food.

    Good beds - clean comfortable. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have been more toast on offer. It was just ordinary medium sliced bread. No jam, marmalade , fruit salad etc Although if we had asked for them it is likely we would have been given them. There were croissants & yoghurt. The cornflakes were stale. Probably packet cereals would have been better.

    The main meals were excellent. We brought 8 friends back for a meal at very short notice. It was excellent together with the service & presentation. Full breakfast was cooked well .Not at all greasy. Coffee very good. Bathroom consumables were available. Towels were changed daily. Our room(12) had a lovely view over the fields where cows were grazing. On Monday there was a rock n roll evening which I was dreading Expecting a lot of noise. However very little disturbance and it finished by 10.15-10.30. Never heard the many cars leaving. All the staff were friendly & attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could have stayed more nights!

    The stay was lovely, friendly staff and omg the food! The burger was the best my partner has had! The food was 5* and the room was comfortable clean and was lovely place to dine and relax in the bar area in the evening. Defiantly recommend and 100% will be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no separate comfortable lounge for guests to relax and read in comfortable chairs. Only one chair in bedroom

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good food but portions more than generous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee too weak. Some difficulty operating TV.

    Food - high quality ingredients, very well cooked. Staff nice and friendly. Very olde worldy feel in the main bar etc. Nice well-kept grounds. Bedroom nice and clean and bathroom too. Very good price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Madame is used to a larger bed; the tv remote had turned sticky from use of inappropriate cleaning fluids; the evening meal and bar was a little expensive, and it was easy to tell the cook had had enough by 8 p.m. by the limp excuses made for poor food. He/she certainly wasn't going to go 'the extra mile'!

    Very clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom 7 a bit small. Room next to a chimney/funnel that made disturbing noises when staff were in the kitchen working. Would of been fine if the window was closed, but because it was a hot and humid night I had to have the window open. No space for a chair to sit at the desk to work on the laptop.

    Food was excellent. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place seems to be run with a minimum of staff (who do their utmost). Guinness tab was broken upon our arrival. Breakfast menu was not explained (only 2nd day I got some scrambled eggs with my cont'l breakfast) and both mornings different b'fast items were not available (but there was plenty to start the day).

    Very friendly staff and nicely decorated hotel; just the accommodation to start the holiday.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: