Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Howard, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member Edinburgh 5 stars

34 Great King Street, Edinburgh, EH3 6QH, United Kingdom

#11 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 369 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    Staff very pleasant, breakfast very good and nice quite location but overall dissappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced. Property very tired and some lights in the bathroom were not working. Big bathroom but small shower. Mould around shower not acceptable.

    Excellent Service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Relaxed and very well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the on site parking charge was a little bit expensive

    The welcome from the staff was excellent, the room was very nice, the restaurant food was fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Unforgetable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything. I meant it, and I’m very picky. I stayed at Charlotte room and it was magnificent. Loved the hotel, the staff, the facilities, the food... I wish I could have a version of The Howard in every location I travel to. And no, I’m not being paid to say this, it was really superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Very charming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity the restaurant's closed on Sundays and Mondays

    Very charming staff. Extra large and comfortable room in a gracious building. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Overall great stay just slight room issues need addressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, mainly bathroom needs some attention. Floor tiles missing grout, needs re-done. Shower temperature gauge hanging off wall. Bathroom roof damp/mouldy patches

    Staff amazing, room clean and comfortable. Four poster bed so comfortable. Nice traditional Georgian setting

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Feeling like in Scottish heaven
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was an extraordinary experience of hospitality. We enjoyed the stay very much every day. Starting with the excellent breakfast and ending with the amazing choice of whiskey served in the bar or late night herbal tea served in the room. I have never experienced such an excellent service as at Howard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    Great personnel, great service, room breakfast was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom requires some improvements and repair. restaurant worked only by orders.. fortunately the staff advised me where to go eat but some basic dining service is certainly required.

    Great personnel, great service, room breakfast was increadible! The car was parked and unpacked by the staff without any headaches.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely fantastic - will definately recommend and we will be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely fabulous hotel and staff at the hotel, very friendly, very attentive and informative, excellent service. The room was fantastic, the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, wonderful room. Couldn't recommend the hotel enough, we will definitely be staying again. Thank you to all the staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent service and very serviceminded staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost nothing, but if you go into the tiny details, then they should look at the bath cabin and clean up the mold on the silicone that are black some places in the bottom. And I would clean up the rust spots on the towel radiator in the bathroom as this is a 5 star hotel. Else the room is clean. Maybe I would also clean the bottom of the lift opening. It could be shining instead of looking dirty. But we would not hesitate to stay here again.

    Excellent service and very serviceminded staff. Room was very nice, bigger than average and decorated in the old style, and has good view to the north of Edinburgh. Breakfast has a variety of choices that would satisfy most. Afternoon tea was wonderful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    This was a very relaxing wind-down of a stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is closing for good in December and there are small indications of the beginning of a rundown

    The staff were welcoming and helpful. The butler service instead of a kettle in the room is excellent. The rooms are large and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    I would return and will recommend the Howard to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was wonderful in every way.

    The staff was amazing. I felt welcomed and right at home from the first day. The location was ideal: quiet and yet in walking distance to everything. Dinner in the dining room was delicious and cozy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Elegance in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with first class service. Every member of the staff was friendly and bent over backwards to please. Breakfast and dinner were both excellent. Location was convenient to shopping, museums and sights. Would come for an entire week next time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel in the New Town area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a superior room but were upgraded to a suite. This sounds really good but the suite was in the basement and I do not care for basement rooms so we ended up with a standard room. This was a very comfortable rooom so was not a problem for us.

    The staff were very professional and helpful Hotel was in a good position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It has maintained original features, character and charm, with a warm and inviting welcome. An aristocratic air of grandeur in a relaxing informal manner. Affordable luxury that is a real treat, not breaking the bank with beautiful fine dining and staff who were friendly, approachable and couldn't do enough to meet individual needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Old world hotel in New Town Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt we paid more for butler services we would not use. Our choice,but difficult to take advantage of these as out and about too much. Not to disparage staff who were quite willing to provide these.

    Attentive staff with lovely room and quiet location of property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Howard ain't as grand as he used to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiting staff were nice, but shirts should not need to be tucked in every 2 minutes. Stayed here previously and loved it so much booked this as a treat with my friend. Standards seem to have gone down and the senior staff totally ignored us when we were looking to check out.

    Bed lovely. Room very nice. Breakfast fine. Very good bathroom. Spacious sitting area and our own entrance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Impecable, warm service in a small boutique setting - Scottish charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at the Howard is amazing. The butlers are all friendly, warm and exceedingly helpful. The bar is warm, intimate and inviting. Each guest is made to feel special in an authentic way. I will stay at the Howard whenever I return to Edinburgh!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Best Hotel in Edinburgh, great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Howard was amazing from when we first arrived the staff was so helpful took our bags parked our car, gave us a map of the city circling the best places to visit before taking us to the lounge area for drinks and some food since the kitchen is open 24hours for guests. The location was perfect we were able to walk all over the city easily to see everything from the gardens to the castle. Breakfast the next morning was excellent as expected. It's nice this hotel has a later checkout so we were able to have breakfast walk to the gardens come back before our checkout. Before we left the Howard and our last day in Scotland we had to experience afternoon or high tea. It was amazing the selection of teas we ordered 3 different teas to taste some different ones and they were all excellent. The food (little sandwiches to scones cakes and macaroons) everything better than I could've expected. To finish off with a glass of prosecco a very nice way to end our stay with the Howard and our trip in Scotland. We will be returning here when visiting Scotland again and would recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Cosy cottage for a family with
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was an apartment, only niggle was lack of a tea towel for dishes, although there was a dish washer, no wash tablets. Also blackout roller blinds on upstairs bedrooms would make sleep easier. In the downstairs bathroom, it was sadly let down by the damaged bath panel which for a few pounds and a good joiner could easily be replaced when it became chipped. Otherwise that bathroom is fantastic.

    We liked apartment living but with the added bonus of hotel facilities, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Great to have parking next to mews house. House is modern and well thought out, just a fantastic cosy little cottage that we all loved.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    a gem of ahotel in the centre of the city
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. We'll be staying there on our next visit to Edinburgh

    the hotel was very tastefully decorated, and had lots of character, being a very old building.The bedroom was excellent, (we were upgraded to a Junior Suite ) with a huge bathroom, with very up to date fittings. The staff were all friendly and helpful and service in the dining room was efficient

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful 5 star experience with full butler service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is just personal opinion, but we did find the beds too hard and the pillows too soft. There were some firmer bolsters on the beds that we used to make us more comfortable. Don't let that deter you though

    What a gem of a place. Understated 5 star elegance. We stayed in the apartment (there were five adults in our party) which is just close to the actual hotel and it had everything you could want.The staff were first rate. Honestly, don't hesitate to book, just do it. Breakfast was the best experience, the quality of produce was exceptional and the service was amazing. Have the steak breakfast, best piece of steak I have ever tasted and comes direct from the farm gate. Highly recommended. We will be back. Thank you to everyone at The Howard who made our stay unforgettable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    ABSOLUTELY GREAT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING

    THE HOWARD IS IN A GREAT LOCATION FOR THOSE WHO CHOOSE TO SEE ALL OF EDINBURGH BY FOOT . THE HOTEL IS A GEM, NOTHING IS TO MUCH FOR THE STAFF. THE BREAKFAST WAS VERY GOOD , WOULD STAY AGAIN AND RECOMMEND TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY, THANKYOU FOR A GREAT THREE NIGHT STAY .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    Good service let down by one idiot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our butler for the evening was great but the one on during the night seemed to be either drunk or on drugs he came to my room with a glass of water then I told him it was a bottle and he became abusive shouting and swearing then appeared at our room at half 3 in the morning with a bowl of crisps when my partner said we didn't order them he became abusive again that was very frightening for her as I was sleeping so she just slammed the door in his face

    The butler service was amazing here Sylvia was amazing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Unique 5 Star Edinburgh Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are in Edinburgh for a short period of time, there could be a better location. This was great for us because it was a little off the beaten track and we don't mind walking, however, it was a bit of a (very hilly!) hike to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. Also, the safe in our room would only work with the code '1-2-3-4' - which was set by the staff.... so needless to say we didn't use the safe.

    The property was lovely and the small was incredible. It felt like it used to be several apartments or townhouses that had all been converted into a 5 star hotel. It's a small property and therefore had a very cozy feel to it. Breakfast was included in the room rate and you could choose an in-room delivery option that made each morning for us! The room itself was large and beautifully done.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    My daughter and I took a short trip to Edinburgh and stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My daughter and I took a short trip to Edinburgh and stayed just one night. I was pleasantly surprised the butler took our luggage to our room- the old fashion way or at much more expensive hotels. Tea/coffee was served in a pot by butler, which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Interesting, historic hotel - but make sure you're in great shape!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of this hotel was not ideal for us. While it appears on a map to be a short walking distance and we were told the same by the staff, it is ALL uphill to get to the sites. Don't mind walking, uneven roads or some hills and climbing....... but this is a very long, uphill walk to the New Town and Old Town attractions. Bedding was tired and some rips in bed skirt - not a big deal but didn't expect to see this for the price of the room per night.

    Very nice large room, with beautiful modern bathroom. Historic building made it a very interesting place to stay. Breakfast was included and very good - loved the salmon and eggs. Servers were very attentive in the restaurant. We didn't use any of the 'butler services'.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Special stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very random addition of a charity contribution of £1 without prior explanation to the final bill. Given the size of the room the twin beds could each be 4ft or 4ft 6 rather than the very small singles.

    Excellent stay - staff very polite especially breakfast servers. Lovely, large and quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    One of the 4 staff that served us on the front desk was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the 4 staff that served us on the front desk was particularly different to others. She was extremely sedated; almost uninterested in her job or had no affinity toward her guests and their desires. Disappointing as everyone else was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Oldy world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception seemed slightly unorganised. The single window panes of our room let the noise of each passing car and quite a bit of draft in.

    We loved the high ceiling in our room, the spacious bathroom and the lovely wide bed. The breakfasts were pure luxury.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the minute we arrived at the hotel we were treated like royalty. The staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The suite we had was amazing and wonderful. The breakfast on both mornings was fantastic with a wide choice to choose from.. The location was great a 10 minute walk to Princess Street (main Edinburgh street). I would stay in this hotel if I return to Edinburgh and cannot praise the staff and accommodation enough..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    A bit of luxury in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We try to stay out of the city center and find places in a neighborhood setting. The Howard is in a great location in the New Town area. The Broughton area, Prince's/Queen/Old Town, and the parks in West End/New Town are all easy walks. The staff were everything you could ask for: professional, courteous, and cordial. This is the place where we splurged on accomodations and we were not dissapointed. The staff is there to make sure your needs are met and that your stay is a time to recharge, not to deal with travel hassles. Special Note: This might be the best breakfast you have all trip long, and their dinner menu might make you break a "don't eat at the hotel" rule. All in, a highly recommended hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.0
    Sweet hotel but tired and in need of attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities and hotel felt tired. Furniture needs some TLC and wardrobe space far too small.

    Breakfast was very good and made up for the property's failings

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    4.2
    Stayed for 3 nights and paid £482.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for 3 nights and paid £482. The hotel is tired and contrary to the photos, our room and bed were tiny and the old corner wardrobe with no drawers was inadequate for two people. In fact the room and bathroom had seen better days. Although the service was as expected for a 5 Star accommodation, the Howard is definitely not a 5 Star hotel. A very disappointing experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    A perfect place to stay with friends/older family in the centre of Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little on the hard side and the front door could do with being renewed

    Firstly the staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in the 5 bed garden cottage at the back of the hotel. It was lovely and cosy but the beds could have been a bit softer. This cottage was perfect for us as one of our party was disabled and you could hire a taxi right up to the door. There was also a full bathroom on the ground floor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Hospitality at its best In a wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were so friendly and it is a wonderful place. You felt so looked after and nothing was a problem. Even cheese on toast late at night by the night Porter! True hospitality !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    4.6
    Hugely disappointing hotel not meriting 5 star rating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the hotel except for the staff was disappointing. I had heard it was a very good hotel but would never stay there again or recommend it. Scuffed front door and grotty plastic mat outside. Couldn't close curtains in bedroom or bathroom as they were hanging off. Bedroom curtains were about 15cm too short for the windows. Bed valance very frayed, with threads on floor. Beds lights were too low to get proper light to read with. Had to get out of bed to switch bedside lights off. No lamp in sitting room, where furniture was arranged to block the window so that if you sat on the sofa you were staring at a single wardrobe. Gaps in very tired carpets between the rooms. Bath tap handle falling off. Knob on radiator had fallen off and was lying on the floor. Furniture very tired and scuffed, with one table missing a foot. Ordered tea (from very nice porter) on first day but he forgot the milk. Then asked in the evening for a tray to make tea in my room (no facilities for making tea or coffee in one's room, which would be much nicer) and the milk was brought in a teapot! And this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel. Dirty trays left outside the lifts on the floor and on tables attached to the bannisters for several hours in the evening. I complained about the fact that I could not have a bath or shower properly as the bathroom curtains did not shut and the manager was incredibly nice and offered me several other room choices, including a significant room upgrade. But all the alternatives were very cold as they had not been heated and were huge lugubrious rooms in the basement, one looking onto a carpark and the other onto a pile of plastic rubbish piled up in the back of the hotel. Overall I would say a total failure of the hotel's owners to spend any time on detail. Incredibly disappointing visit. Would be a good 3 star hotel but in no way justified 5 star rating.

    Staff were incredibly nice and helpful and there was free and very good Wifi throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Old fashoned hotel with its own butler
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing to complain about really. I would not choose the pancakes (not home made) or the Danish pastry for breakfast because they are bake off. But this is me being picky.

    This is one of my favourite hotels. They offer a unique 24 hours butler service. They are happy to bring you coffee or tea any time free of charge. I requested gin & tonic (charged for) and it came with some nice nibbles to my room. The hotel is very centrally located, take a left up the hill for the city centre, right down the hill for a large Tesco. There is a Tesco express just across of the street and a pub on the same street. Plenty of restaurants near by. Chez Jules a few blocks up is a French bistro that offers a 3 course lunch for £9.95

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous break in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really apart from the room was a little hot and the bacon could be a little fatty.

    My fiancée and I both agreed it was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The breakfast was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for you. It is pricey but you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    1st but definately not our last stay at The Howard!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    It is difficult to pick out any one thing that was good because truth is everything was excellent. We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay we were blown away by the whole experience. We were treated like VIP'S from the moment we arrived.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired in places but made up for in every other way.

    Fantastic in every way! Great staff great food lots of complimentary extras great location lots of original features Staff truly superb!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful staff and service, tired hotel decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in fact in need of a refurbishment, the staff must work very hard to keep it as clean as they can as the fabric of the hotel is in a tired and worn condition, it is the staff who save this hotel from failing.

    The professionalism of the staff, their attentive and pleasant attitude, the wonderful breakfast everything to do with actual service was exceptionally good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Sublime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't fault it at all.

    My partner and I are embarrassingly well travelled and, as a result, we've stayed in many hundreds of hotels, worldwide. We can both categorically attest that this is the finest hotel we've stayed in. When we arrived, the hotel was kind enough to upgrade us to the Trinity suite. All of the staff were beyond informative and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful Edinburgh Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff, couldn't do enough, friendly, helpful, discreet. Lovely peaceful quiet atmosphere. Food all freshly cooked and silver sevice. Truely lovely hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a bit threadbare.

    The staff very helpful. The room and bed huge. Great bathroom and shower. Lovely Penhaligon toiletries. A fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Excellent boutique hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable and the service five star. Excellent breakfast with good choice. Liked the complimentary room service for tea and coffee rather then the usual make-your-own.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    6.7
    Great location, beautiful building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was of a very poor design and in a poor condition. Extractor did not work effectively! Shower temp could not be adjusted so you were scolded. Shower screen had to be open when using bath but then you could not open door. Bath panel falling off. Sink taps difficult to turn on and adjust. Bed linen lovely. However the bed cover/throw was stained! Lounge was very damp with visible mildew in the corner by the bar and smelt damp. Lounge not very clean as visible dust on furnishings but not tables!

    Excellent service and staff very helpful! Delicious breakfast Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.9
    'Highland fling'
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit away from the main town, hills and cobbles for walking..be prepared with your footwear Breakfast very minimal. Wifi very hit and miss especially in bedroom

    Great rooms, comfy bed and luxurious bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor

    Beds were comfy, the turn down service was a nice touch. Breakfast served to our room was extra nice, not many hotels offer this as a complimentary service!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.5
    Brilliant break in Beautiful Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was clean, but I did notice some dust and the cleaners maybe need to take a little more care. Nothing really to dislike. Would certainly consider staying there again.

    Stayed in the two bedroom apartment, which was warm and well equipped. Beds were comfy but it was a bit odd having a single bed in the sitting room, we didnt use it but we all agreed that none of us would want to sleep on it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Howard impressed .......
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything ............ this is exactly what you expect from a hotel in terms of comfort, cleanliness, food and all the staff where exceptional, the location is excellent too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.2
    A very comfortable stay. Will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Theres a bit of cognitive dissonance going on. When I have stayed there in the past its really hard for me to get my head around the butler/valet service. Being Scottish I've found the idea a bit weird. The staff are very polite and good at their job, but I suspect that with the senior valets also being Scottish the dissonance appears a tiny bit in their heads as well. Theres really nothing wrong with their attitude and service. I do think the junior staff manage to do the service a bit better though.

    What I like the most about the Howard are the massive baths and the fact that if you want you can use the Butler to run you one. The Howard's main gimmick is using the Valet service to look after you. From Parking your car when you arrive to providing plates and glassware for your pizza order from La Favourita. For most things the sky is the limit. We went there for our anniversary but all I wanted was a huge bath and a night in with Pizza. It was perfect for that. The bed was extremely comfortable. You get the sense that the hotel has invested properly in the comfort of the facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    An excellent high quality hotel convenient for Central Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet was insecure. No half bottles of quality wines available (apart from champagne). The dinner menu should change daily for guests wishing to eat in the restaurant for more than one night. I might have expected a small fridge in the bedroom in a hotel of this quality.

    An excellent hotel, in great position to visit Central Edinburgh. The en-suite bedroom was spacious and well equipped. Excellent service, and helpful and generally very polite staff (one receptionist pushed by us rather rudely on one occasion, obviously in a rush to resolve something). Very good food served in the evening in the restaurant, although those with large appetites might find the portions on the small side. Excellent breakfast with a wide choice on the menu. Adequate parking, but a bit cramped. Quite expensive, but good value for a hotel of this quality in central Edinburgh.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.2
    Centrally placed hotel yet in a quiet a quiet neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff varied in terms of their professionalism. The receptionist who booked us in seemed surprised to see us. She eventually found our booking after rummaging through the correspondence. No happy smile greeting. Because of cosmopolitan staff and I guess language issues some orders of tea were wrong, didn't know the difference between earl gray/breakfast/ordinary tea. The morning we left we were in the dining room for the earliest sitting for breakfast at 7 but no staff for 5 minutes (late for work) and cooked breakfast was a long time coming half of which we had to leave because we ran out of time.

    Great location just a few hundred yards to shops, yet situated in a very quiet terrace or residential houses. Very comfortable and tastefully decorated bedroom with pristine bathroom. Decor throughout the hotel was to a very high and comfortable standard. Excellent breakfasts. The Polish waiter was excellent. Great stay and recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    Cannot wait to return to The Howard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one issue with trinity room the shower got far to hot but every thing else 10 out of 10

    What can I say the best hotel I have ever stayed in there had been a few and I'm a fussy guest

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    Our third visit to the Howard. Still our preferred hotel in Edinburgh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too warm and struggled to get sash windows to stay open. Warm but ventilated is our preferred atmosphere! Eventually just turned radiators off - but cold!! Still prefer in room tea/coffee facility - embarrassed to continually request drinks!

    The staff - nothing too much trouble. As an insomniac was embarrassed to order tea at 4am and apologised to room service who assured me was no trouble at all. Also, problem with our son's room (noise from lift shaft) was resolved as soon as possible.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    7.1
    Great service, not so good beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not overly comfortable two beds pushed together (understand this is common) but these moved in the night leaving a gap by morning and sofa in the room could not be sat on as so uncomfortable

    The service was very good. Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.2
    Amazing bath and comfy bed - charming stafff as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price - I was told thatbreakfast was included in the price but I was charged Ann extra £25 on top of my room for it

    Amazing bath and comfy bed - charming stafff as well

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    All Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overnight stay in this hotel was a gift for my parents. They contacted me after their stay to let me know how it was and I'm happy to say that they were very complimentary on all aspects of their stay particularly the staff. It was a gift, so my parents are unaware of how much it cost but to hear their comments has to make the cost/value for money worth it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    We would definitely stay here again if we return to Edinburgh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was delicious, we could order anything off the menu. The staff was incredibly helpful with suggestions and directions for things to see. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and very nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.8
    good hotel but overpirced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when I booked the price per night was £200 per night, but the day before it was on the hotel website for £150, they would not let me cancel and rebook, I was upset abut that The hotel is tired and needs to be updated with new carpet painting and generally refreshed

    comfy bed wonderful breakfast no facilities apart form nice room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly the best hotel we've ever stayed in! From the second you arrive to the second you leave you are treated like you are the most important person there. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and all is undertaken with the utmost professionalism. Any five star hotels I've stayed in from Paris to New York could really take a leaf out of this fantastic hotels book. On top of all this no expense is spared on the quality of all produce be it evening meals breakfast or bar stock. It's also a relatively well situated hotel, not so far that you can't walk to the centre, yet still in a lovely quiet area. All in all an exceptionally good five star hotel at a fraction of the cost of any other five star hotels that would definitely struggle to achieve the high standards of the Howard. It almost sounds too good to be true. These were my thoughts also from reviews I'd read. But we're not disappointed. We will definitely stay there next time we are in Edinburgh. Thank you for a lovely stay!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. A few minutes walk from the main parts of old and new town, lovely big rooms, attentive staff (with useful butlers) and special feel to this place. Something that is high quality but a good choice if looking for something different from the typical downtown big city hotels. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Stay with style in an old fashoned hotel with its own butler
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are a few items like Danish pastry that should not be on the breakfast menu (industrial produce, doesn't resemble anything you would encounter in Denmark).

    There is a 24 hours butler service that is happy to bring you tea or coffee any time you want. He also irons your shirt or polish your shoes. The hotel is very old fashioned (that is what makes it so nice). The city centre is just a few blocks away and there are plenty of restaurants and pus around. The Howard also servers afternoon tea. Amazing bath products!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Loved the butler based hotel! Wish he had been able to stay longer to enjoy. Had the Cockburn room, which had a huge bathroom (double vanity!) and a gorgeous view of Edinburgh. Swanky and fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    We visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We enjoy the Howard's central location in the New Town. We like the ambience and the breakfast, with a really excellent full traditional breakfast . Parts of the hotel are not recently refurbished but it is very clean and we enjoy the atmosphere. The staff are helpful and the complimentary butler service of tea or coffee whenever requested is excellent. We know of no other hotel that delivers tea so promptly, with lovely china and biscuits.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.3
    Wonderful warm service in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delightful room with everything we needed. A lovely welcome cup of tea on arrival and anytime after that we wanted it delivered to the room. A complimentary ironing service. The breakfast was amazing, served a la carte at the table set with beautiful linen and silver. A real treat!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.8
    Excellent except for the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two single beds pushed together which produced the worst nights sleep we have had in what was supposed to be a 5* hotel.

    The hotel is perfectly located and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.1
    Overall enjoyable stay but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main hotel could do with some redecoration generally a bit tired.

    We were in the cottage , separate to the hotel which was very comfortable and lots of space relative to the usual hotel room size the kitchen facilities were good however it all came at a price which substantially reduces the VFM

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The butlers were extremely helpful and friendly along with all the staff. The breakfast was excellent. The location was an easy walk to Old Town. Would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    Perfect Edinburgh visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to get into our room early as we requested. As we had to wait three hours, the staff did look after us with tea and coffee

    The location is marvelous. Close to restaurants and in the center of Edinburgh but on a quiet side street. The staff was wonderful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Good location for central Edinburgh and pleasant service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some areas of the room could have benefitted from a bit of decoration

    Lovely breakfast and good service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room, but then this is a Butler service hotel!

    Quiet and private

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    They kindly bought me a small croissant with my morning...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 1 night

    They kindly bought me a small croissant with my morning coffee which was an unexpected and nice surprise as I didn't have time for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petit double
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were excellent as usual.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large bedroom/suites

    Complimentary pot of tea room service as you requested

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: