Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Howbeck & The Retreat In Windermere 5 stars

New Rd, Windermere, LA23 2LA, United Kingdom

#71 of 78 B&Bs and Inns in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 411 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    We were meant to have a luxury room with 4 poster bed, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were meant to have a luxury room with 4 poster bed, but whilst our room was very nice, there was no 4 poster bed which was disapponting. The hotel did give us a free bottle to say sorry.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place for couples. Lovely retreat in an excellent location with fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat Suite with Stunning Spa Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. All was excellent

    The staff were absolutely brilliant. They made you feel really special and nothing was too much trouble. The room was excellent and the facilities brilliant! The breakfast was also superb and brought to the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.4
    5 star spa . NOT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The howbeck is supposed to be a spa and retreat. Well I booked because of the photos in bookings. Com . It is false advertising. First it is supposed to be 5 star. On my experience . Two star b & b would be the best I can rate. The room was small. The tv viewing was restricted by bedpost. There was a Jacuzzi bath in the bathroom. That's as close you'll get to a spa. As for the pool. Don't get onto your Speedos. The pool and spa is a 5min DRIVE away. Breakfast was mediocre

    The exercise walking down to the lake

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness was an issue, we left a dirty pillowcase on the floor near the bed and this was not removed the four poster bed was dusty, toilet floor wasn't as clean as expected, bathrobes were stored in the wardrobe in a bag, therefore we didn't notice this until the morning we were leaving. Health Spa isn't located within walking distance, a car is required to access this facility.

    First of all, we would like to say thank you to the lovely staff who waited to let us in after check-in time had passed. We were stuck in traffic for 3 hours and the lady on duty was very understanding. Our room was lovely, it was overlooking the car park, which was brilliant as we were worried about parking. Safe and secure car park, staffs were friendly and a great selection of tea and coffee in our room. Extra pillows in the room was a great addition, as we definitely need them, but the bed was super comfortable! Excellent location, 2 mins walk to town center and we recommend Cafe Italia for delicious meals, please note they only accept cash at the restaurant mentioned. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will visit again in the near future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great food (dinner and breakfast) fantastic value.

    This is a fantastic establishment, ideal for an overnight stop being just off the M6 but also for a longer stay if you wish to explore this beautiful part of the country.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included at 0ver 160.00 a night. Lumpy mattress and lumpy duvet. Guests shouting and banging doors constantly untill midnight first night. Noisy loud neighbours on second night! And 6.00 in the morning. No signs regarding consideration to other guests.

    Parking on site. Close to restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Stop over in the Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not really as retreat. the building has a busy road at the front and is surrounded by guest houses and private house to rear and sides. no views but convenient.

    The location near the centre. The wifi speed was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had to drive to the spa. They shouldn’t really advertise it as part of the hotel. The room we stayed in was called Deepdale it was really small and the decor was really dated and old fashioned. As soon as you enter the room it had a funny smell abit like old furniture. The bathroom was tiny. Very misleading because it was advertised very differently online. Won’t be staying again

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.0
    Clean, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No welcome, no interest, pretty much ignored every time we passed reception. Young staff more interested in laptops than guests. Won’t be returning

    Clean, comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Lock yourself away at the Retreat a wonderful hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat Suite with Stunning Spa Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst we loved the mood lighting in the bathroom the main sink mirror could have done with a full light (lenses, shaving etc)... so you could see properly

    The whole experience was wonderful. The double spa bath and waterproof TV was great and the bed was spectacular

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    An extremely enjoyable stay in a good location and a great team looking after the guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shower was a little complex and made noises and not sure whether extractor fan was working in the bathroom and I think if it had been hot there was no air-con.

    Breakfasts and staff were excellent but didn't pick up from literature that the Spa was off site

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Just got back from a few days at the Howbeck and it's a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just got back from a few days at the Howbeck and it's a great little hotel, rooms are lovely and comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. Staff are excellent too. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Not worth the money paid pleasant great service and breakfast but that was it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury 4 poster bed was oversold as luxury other room without four poster bed had a settee which would have been better need more visuals on what bedrooms are available

    Service and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    We stayed in Deepdale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had no pressure and temp was unstable, went from burning to freezing.

    We stayed in Deepdale. Bed was really comfy. Room had heaps of space. Location was great. Breakfast was good. Other then the shower everything was really good and would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.5
    Decent place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decent place to stay. The fitness centre is the local leisure centre with whom the guest house have reached a deal with allowing their guests to use. Breakfast had to be chosen the evening before and there didn’t appear to be a variable breakfast tariff. It was one price irrespective of what you had.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room or air conditioning/fan available. Apart from that no issues at all with the property.

    Location excellent and furnishings very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    to be Honest not worth £160.00
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Me and my wife visit Windermere and Bowness about 4 times a year and we have stayed in hotels and bed and breakfast that are just as good and for a lot less money . Next door but 1 is the Elersthwaite Lodge , we have stayed there in the junior suite for 120.00 per night and the room is massive . other properties in the same area normally about 80.00.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Maybe we won't come back next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sanitary condition should be elevated. We found a very tiny blood on the bed sheet.We were charge Extras which was not stated in advance

    The breakfast is good, you can choose from the menu. But the arrangement is not so comfy that the patrons have to sit at the presetted table. The sanitary condition should be elevated. We found a very tiny blood on the bed sheet. And we were charge Extras which was not stated in advance. Maybe we won't come back next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved our stay here. We will definitely be returning. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat Suite with Stunning Spa Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we weren’t happy with.

    Staff were really helpful and nothing was to much effort. Location was perfect. We stayed in the retreat for my 30th it was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location, short walk to shops, bars and restaurants. Beautiful hotel and friendly staff. I would highly recommend this hotel as a base for your stay in the Lake District.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    disappointing and not value for the £429 we paid for a 3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    disappointed with the room size and the uncomfortable bed, constant rattling of the window on the first night when the wind was blowing, had to jam it with a beer mat to stop the rattling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Room is nice, bath tub is a plus, very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was not in the same building. It is advertised as 5 star hotel but it is a guest house. i think information is misleading and unclear.

    Room is nice, bath tub is a plus, very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure because we didn't ask, but on the 2nd day of our stay we realised that there was a pillow on one side of the bed at the bottom under the duvet. I'd rather not voice my concern about this! Can anyone suggest a reason for it. Confused! Failed to top up the tea tray for day 2.

    Breakfast was fabulous, staff were really friendly and house was immaculate. Popped to The Retreat for a couple of hours. Not 5 star, but still had a reasonably nice afternoon chilling ☺

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    The room was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu selection card needs to be improved to allow 2 people to individually select what they want for a full English, eg. No tomato for one, didn’t want mushrooms for one, no black pudding for one ...! If you select full English you get everything even if you don’t want it all.

    The room was nice and clean. Good location for Windermere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing not to like but I think 5 stars is generous. It's worth noting that it's a few minutes walk to the spa.

    Very nice hotel, staff were perfect, spotlessly clean, location was good from what I could tell providing you're happy to walk a few minutes to the lake and pubs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice friendly hotel, very expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated, hot water didn’t work in the night time. Breakfast was very small for a ‘full’ english.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Location was good. Spa bath was great when hot water worked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the first room we got wasnt the best, very small and cramped and dampness i corners, walls are paper thin and you could here everything in next room and hallway.

    staff were very helpful had issue eith my room staff sorted quickly, spa bath, shower and breakfast were very good, bed was comfy, hotel very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean & well appointed. Felt as a guest everything was at the convenience of the hotel &not my needs
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The website over promised and the hotel did not deliver to the expectations created by the website. It describes itself as a spa hotel and in fact it is a guesthouse. My main gripe was that breakfast was only served from 8.30 - 9.30am - as a business guest 8.30 is far too late for me to have breakfast and then get to my clients in time for a 9am start. No alternative was offered to me in any way. So having paid £96 for a room I had to go out to get any dinner and I had to leave for work without any breakfast Disappointed!!

    The property was well appointed and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    T
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE FIRE ALARMS WERE GOING OFF AT 7AM. AFTER 20MINUTES 1 OF THE GUESTS RANG THE NUMBER AND THE STAFF CAME DRIVING UP THE ROAD. THERE WAS NO STAFF STAYING AT THE PROPERTY. WE PAID FOR 2 NIGHTS BUT ONLY STAYED 1

    T

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Very good, will probably come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat Suite with Stunning Spa Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from Bowness-on-Windermere (walking distance). House Champagne is not Champagne and should not be advertise as such.

    Facility was amazing with great bathroom and staff very friendly and helpful. Great for relaxing and getting away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.4
    Not as expected - Won't be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact that you had to choose your breakfast the night before and that it was only served 8.30 -9.30 each day. The receptionist had a whole list of rules and regulations - totally off putting I feel that this is mis represented as a 5 star rating Rooms are ok but the mattress we had was uncomfortable and pillows flat as a pancake.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Nicely appointed guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Banging noise like door flapping all night. Spa facilities not ideal, was not able to store valuables when I got there as no one at hotel mentioned need to take your own padlock for the locker.

    Functional smart TV in room, free WiFi, nice comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.8
    Lovely but overpriced guesthouse Meregill Suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room. Smaller than expected and dusty but clean, the photos on Booking.com are misleading making the rooms look huge and spacious. Tv was small and we kept on low volume as walls were thin. Bathroom. Cracked sink and slight smell of damp. The door to bathroom wouldn't even lock. Could hear people in next room coughing dread to think what they heard from me. No welcome drink as promised on booking.com. Also there is no spa or gym facilities on the premises you are given a free voucher for a local leisure facility which is 5 minutes away from the Howbeck.

    Interior decor was ok. Friendly staff. Bathroom looked nice. Homely feel to rooms. Breakfast was lovely. The chairs in room was comfy. Bed was soft and nice. Bottles of water left for us which was most welcome. Spa bath was nice and the power shower was wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    One of the comfiest beds we’ve ever slept in,staff super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe breakfast time extended a little,especially at the weekend.

    One of the comfiest beds we’ve ever slept in,staff super friendly,breakfast exceptional!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Not as good as other places ive stayed with the same ratings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasnt very nice and the floors were very creeky in our room which made the wardrobe rattle everytime we moved

    I liked the spa bath and the shower was powerful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel but quite expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed appeared to be small, expected abit bigger. Walls thin - could hear neighbours. Windows not double glazed - could hear all passing traffic.

    Breakfast was brilliant. 4 poster bed comfy but not really enough to justify amount per night. 'Jacuzzi' bath awfully loud. Staff however were excellent and polite and made every effort to help us have a great stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Great hot tub, breakfast and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat Suite with Stunning Spa Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Retreat was fantastic. Plenty of space, fantastic bed and great amenities. The highlight was, of course, the hot tub. Great for relaxing your legs after a day of hiking around Windermere. Its a short 10 minute walk from the train station and really easy to get to, which is a bonus as we were travelling by train from London. The full Cumbrian breakfast is also exceptional and, if you're staying in the Retreat, delivered to you personally in the morning. Would recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    You get what you pay for, friendly staff, decent guesthouse, but not 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't five star, or at least our room wasn't. A little worn/grubby in places. Still pretty good value for money, but it wasn't luxury.

    Friendly staff, good location, walking distance to some nice bars/restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    4.6
    Awful stay, not 5* or luxury as advertised!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    It should definitely not have been rated 5* luxury. This place was clean, basic and dated. There was no information to state that the 'spa' facilities were a 15 minute drive away from the property, and the facilities once there were poor. It was booked as a treat for my 6 months pregnant girlfriend and this aspect made it anything but. The free wifi that was advertised was also not available... hello large phone bill! The heating in the room was preset, and this meant we were freezing cold as the temperature outside was -3. The 'luxury 4 poster room' was absent. It was a double bed that had dated sheets, very disappointing, but also concerning for those who did not upgrade!

    The location was great, a short walk away from Lake Windermere and the breakfast served in the morning was ok. The room was big, but basic, not luxury. The tea and coffee facilities within the room was ok, there was no hot drinks down stairs. The dining area was ok, but having to plan the night before what was wanted for breakfast wasn't too good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.3
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities are very dated, we stayed in a "luxury" room with the promise of a Jacuzzi in our private bathroom. But the jacuzzi was not working and the heating in the bathroom wasn't working either. In December this was extremely cold, we reported both faults to the staff, first in person and then by email what we were ignored both times. Another problem is noise as the staff fixing breakfast have the radio very loud from 6:30am in the morning, in a small property like this old Victorian house, noise travels well and we were not able to sleep as much as we wanted. We asked the staff to turn the radio down, which they did... but the following morning they went back to their normal habit.

    not much to like

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Never stay here again as beds were small than a normal single
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my daughter and the have you a 2 hour pass but nobody answered the phone so couldn't go. Really spoiled and ruined this for my daughter

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location. Poor room not luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saddened by the room meregill paid for a 4 poster luxury spa room to find that the bath had mild & cracks around the seal. When using the spa bath it left silt when it emptied. The sink had visible cracks. Not the luxury expected for 2 nights at £342.50!! First morning breakfast we had waited an hour and we had clearly been forgotten and when the English breakfast came the egg option was incorrect for my partner. Not the end of the world but given the premium price tag would have expected a better service all round. That said staff were lovely & bedding clean etc. Would go again for reduced price and better room.

    Location was great ideal for Windermere bars & restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff giving away the added little surprises I had paid for , for my husband's 30th. Not worth the money I paid.

    Breakfast was good. And the lady that served us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful property in a very convenient setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked through booking.com with the option for free cancellation but that option wasn't available when I received the confirmation from the Howbeck. Fortunately I didn't have to amend my booking but I would have been annoyed if I had needed to as I had specifically filtered properties with free cancellation

    Room was gorgeous, location was great and the breakfast was delicious, can't recommend enough, very happy with my choice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    This was our first weekend away as a couple and we really enjoyed our experience at the Howbeck!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we where a little unsure of was that our room was on the ground floor. We found this unusual but there was no problems with noise we just found it abit odd!

    The room was beautifully decorated with a stunning bathroom. The hotel was close the Windermere but was a fair 20 minute walk down to Bowness so a taxi was needed in the evenings going out for food and drinks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misleading pictures on their website , looks like it’s huge but it’s not . Also they have put pictures of pool and spa .. but they don’t clearly mention that it’s s health club 5 miles away which they have access to

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Superb we would recommend this Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife and I both thought the mattress and pillows could do with replacement, well worn due to the amount of guests that use this lovely Hotel.

    The staff, breakfasts, cleanliness and decor was superb, great location close to Windermere village centre and Bowness on Windermere in walking distance, many attractions just a short walk or drive away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    3.8
    Not close to the lake, no activites offer from the hotel,as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not close to the lake, no activites offer from the hotel,as it's showd in Booking, they didn't even help us with booking for activites. For Breakfast, you have to tell them one night before, what you would like to eat tomorrow!!! They told us it's just B&B not a hotel! For the value of money that we paid it's not worth it at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel but try to book downstairs rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms upstairs with very thin walls. You can hear other guests clearly. The larger room we had downstairs was far nicer with a much larger spa bath. Also Booking.com send you a very clear 'confirmation' email. But please bear in mind you aren't confirmed until the hotel contacts you directly. We booked at 12pm to check in that day and assumed our 'luxury' room was confirmed. The hotel rang when we were 1 hour away on the train from London. Because of this we had to move rooms mid stay from a larger, much nicer room downstairs, to one of the smaller upstairs rooms for the last night of our stay. Still cost the same though.

    Great location. Good breakfast. Clean and well maintained rooms with spa baths.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Loved staying here & very easy to travel around with plenty to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although free wifi we found we couldn't use it in our room. Would've liked a plug socket near the mirror for drying my hair but this is a common fault in many hotels!

    Location is perfect for Windermere which has an abundance of places to eat in the evening. Fantastic breakfast, you choose each day what you would like for the next morning. We stayed in a lovely room at the back which was very quiet. Room had tea, coffee, biscuits, bathrobes & everything we needed for a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    The lakes are a fantastic place to stay enjoyed every moment of my stay there's so much to see and d
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been better in a downstairs room have a problem with my legs and had to climb stairs

    The bed was excellent the rooms were spotless and the food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Very convenient for town and surrounding areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as luxurious has we were led to believe only one chair in the room. TV should be wall mounted leaving the dressing table available for use. Mirror too high to be of any use and not enough convenient plug sockets.

    Very convenient for town and surrounding areas.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.6
    WE STRUGGLED EVERY DAY WITH THE LOCK ON THE BEDROOM DOOR, WE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WE STRUGGLED EVERY DAY WITH THE LOCK ON THE BEDROOM DOOR, WE DID REPORT IT BUT NOTHING WAS DONE ABOUT IT AND WHEN I COMPLAINED AT THE END OF OUR STAY THE RECEPTIONIST JUST IGNORED WHAT I HAD SAID AND DIDNT EVEN SAY THANK YOU AND GOODBYE TO ME. SO FOR THAT REASON ALONE I WOULD NOT GIVE THIS ESTABLISHMENT MY BUSINESS AGAIN

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Overall we had a lovely stay celebrating a 60th birthday at the Howbeck breakfast was varied & lush
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 5* guest house the shower cubical in Deepdale room was in need of some TLC

    Staff seen were polite & friendly, owner of the guest house was never seen which appeared unusual

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    It was perfect, just right for what we were looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast choice was excellent and really tasty. The staff were wonderful and really friendly. The shower was absolutely amazing and the spa bath was a nice added touch. The location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.5
    Paid 149 pounds for one night breakfast wasn't included...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid 149 pounds for one night breakfast wasn't included it wasn't explained itvwasent not happy at all staff were so rude room was small not a happy x

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    First time in the lakes very impressed location the best .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room very clean bed comfortable, breakfast selection excellent, location very good .Staff very nice and help full ,room attended every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely spa bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat Suite with Stunning Spa Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very slippy floor! Furniture needs updating such as couch. Was told not to have the tv volume loud in the spa bath but you needed to have it on at least 30 to hear it.

    Lovely spa bathroom. Comfy bed. Nice private terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Good stay, as opposed to a potential great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Retreat Suite with Stunning Spa Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi coverage in our room, no intercom system, you have to walk to the front desk for every little request or inquiry, not a very flexible service

    Nice bedroom, very clean, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.6
    Overall a good place to stay . The health club deal makes up for what other things it lacks .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a hot day no air condition .had to make do with opening window .

    Nice place to stay near all the local amenities . Me and my friend stayed in a twin room . Have to say although comfy bed .it is a bit small . Otherwise all good .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Location and staff great. Little things gave an OK instd of a GOOD for value for money & comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few things related to the room could have been better: - There was a clear view into the room from the car park so blinds or light curtains which could be drawn instead of the main thicker curtains to restrict view. - Not enough electrical points. Only one spare socket in room. - Poor position of TV. To the far left of bed, made viewing sometimes uncomfortable. - No lock on bathroom door. - Functional but wrong sized toilet seat for toilet. Just looked odd. - No extractor in bathroom. Only little things but made the difference between OK and good for value for money & comfort. One other point. Staff and service were very good but it would have been nice to know that there was a manager/senior staff member onsite in case needed. If there was one we didn't meet anyone during our stay.

    Staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Service was very good. Place was clean, well run and well furnished. Hotel was in a very good location close to main town and places to eat out. Francine's restaurant nearby is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Windermere B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we would have liked was:- 1. a shower that didn't leak - another guest complained of same thing while we were there 2. Somewhere to put your shampoo, soap, flannel in the shower. There are guests who want to use their own products rather than a black bottle of mixed soap/shampoo fixed to the wall. Only place to put anything was on the floor. 3. The fan didn't work. Too small/ zero power to clear steam after one shower - let alone two. Need more powerful humidistats so work as soon as there is any steam and works until cleared 4. More plugs so can charge phones and tablets 5. Dining table wobbled. Had to ask for a wedge. Can be easily fixed permanently

    The public areas well presented. On the surface rooms have been updated. Good choice for breakfast. Staff friendly. Parking fine at rear of property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Loved this hotel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all good 😊

    Warm welcome from the lady at the reception !!! Really appreciated that as I travelled on my own ! The room was amazing I felt like a princess 😆 Hope I get a chance to go back . I also loved the spa !!! Enjoyed the breakfast 🍳 too !! Loved this hotel Thanks for a loverly stay !!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Hotel and staff nice enough. Spa admission made it worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They offered spa use off-site (30 minute walk) but did not mention towels/dressing gowns were not provided by the spa- we were expected to bring them from the hotel but were not informed of that.

    The lounge area was lovely, included a chess board for visitors use and an honestly bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of £160 per night did not reflect the room, it was pleasant but generic. I've stayed in nicer and more luxurious rooms for a lot less in Windermere - in essence, a rip off. It's only a B&B at the end of the day - not a 'retreat', the name is misleading.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Would not book through booking.
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would not book through booking.com again. Main logo on booking .com states that no cancellation fees apply and does not mentioned deposit. First reply from venue confirms immediate deposit has been taken from card and full cost will be charged if cancelled. Would have argued this if cancellation needed but will simply book direct next time

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Lovely guest house, very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly my room was directly opposite the 'guest lounge' and fellow 'guests' were up until 3am!!!

    Lovely guest house, very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was great and there was a really lovely waitress...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin, we could hear people coughing and sneezing, but worse than that the couple next door argued from 11pm to 3am and we heard every single word of it. Went to the night porter to ask them to ask the room to lower their voices or stop arguing, it was obvious I'd woken the night porter up. An hour later I had to go back down again, again I woke her up. Then an hour later my fiancé went down and no night porter showed up. We then had a further two hours of the couple arguing. The bedroom be booked was very small, and at £150 a night we expected more. I'm not sure who awarded the guest house five stars, the room we had most definitely was not. There was two foot max around the bed before touching walls or furniture. On our last morning when packing I found a dirty sock under the chair in our room, not sure if it had always been there or just appeared during our stay, either way the room hadn't been checked/cleaned properly.

    Breakfast was great and there was a really lovely waitress on Sunday morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was just inside front door...wasn't noisy but could have been with people coming in and out plus lounge across the hall... Not clear when you enter where reception is so important to make sure door is locked. Felt it was a bit pricey. But would stay there again in a different room

    Easy walk to restaurants Comfy bed On site parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.3
    Nice but not 5-star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No 'complimentary' Sherry received despite asking reception - could have knocked a drink off the bill but no Room not cleaned properly after our first night - towels left strewn around the room

    Honesty bar was useful Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice but not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite large but it wasn't as nice as I'd imagined from the pictures and description. Just something missing from the price we paid. They weren't really very forthcoming with info on the spa when we arrived which was a little disappointing. We couldn't really take advantage of the discount at the restaurants as one decided not to open the kitchen when we went (art bar) at around 7:30-8pm and we tried the Italian for lunch but it didn't open until evening. Check out was a bit distant... Didn't ask if we'd enjoyed our stay. It was nice but I probably wouldn't stay again for the price compared to what we got.

    Bed really comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.7
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a "surprise" in the toilet bowl when my partner first lifted the lid. The blind didn't fit properly and the room was very light by 7:30 am waking me up. The furniture was a bit tatty for a "luxury room" however we would stay again but not at the price we paid.

    The location was excellent. The bathroom was really nice and the shower and spa bath a lovely touch (if a little loud when running, we could hear when everyone started theirs up!!)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast great and the rooms very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only a1 hour window for breakfast which ends at 9.30 so this is a bit restrictive at the weekends

    Breakfast great and the rooms very pleasant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.7
    A nice stay but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was really disappointed that breakfast wasn't included in the price of the £150.00 room and didn't feel this was made clear at time of booking. Also when I made this comment at the hotel I was advised that the reason for this was because our booking was non-refundable! More or less making us feel we had booked the "cheaper" option. Therefore I feel the cost of the room was totally overpriced.

    Liked the fact they had a little bar area in the lounge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful big comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the ordering system for breakfast, my partner and I both like an English breakfast but both like different things and the card did not allow for two different full English breakfasts.

    Beautiful big comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: