Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hundred House Hotel 4 stars

Brignorth Road, A442, Ironbridge, TF11 9EE, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 86 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    It is a beautiful period hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy as our room was by the road and there was a wedding on the second night with a lot of the guests staying in the hotel and making lots of noise in the early hours... the swing noise was less fun at this time of night!

    It is a beautiful period hotel. Quirky rooms. Lovely gardens. Great food. Friendly staff. Puppy friendly! The swings in the room were fun.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and laid back owners happy to share all their outside spaces excellent thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set on a very fast road outside of hotel nothing really worth seeing

    Food was excellent as were the staff. Everyone very friendly. Beautiful garden able to wonder around it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    AMAZING!! I will defs visit again when I am in the UK next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was literally nothing we disliked. Customer service at the front desk, kitchen and bar staff was excellent!!

    The breakfast, gardens, cost was reasonable and the games in the lawn section of the garden. Also the rooms were decorated boutique-y but also modern / traditional in the bathroom. Overall the whole experience was excellent!! The food at the restaurant is also amazing!! Oh plus there were fans to combat the heat. First place we have stayed in that had fans. Had to buy fans at Tesco to deal with the heat in other places we stayed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    We went for a wedding and the venue was magical with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms weren't as clean as they should have been and the customer service wasn't great. We were there for a wedding and the staff were waiting outside of the brides dressing room to clean, and the bride was left to move her own things to another room. These small touches would have made the weekend perfect. Style of rooms not to my taste but others loved it! Certainly quirky!

    We went for a wedding and the venue was magical with the barn and gardens - food was beautifully cooked too and everything went to plan - this hotel sure does know how to host weddings well! Food and setting superb!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    It was like staying in a National Trust property which was one of our reasons for traveling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit close to a busy road, but it wasn’t a problem

    The atmosphere, food, garden, cleanliness, hospitality and the swing in the room was an amusing surprise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Lovely independent hotel with interesting features and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Really friendly staff, arrived very late but a nice ham salad had been left for us, good breakfast (including kippers), lovely garden and herb garden, big bathroom with hip bath and separate shower, four poster bed and of course the swing in the bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    4.6
    Quirky and poor value, even for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel overall and particularly the decor and fittings were in a sort of identity crisis, not knowing whether it was an inn or a wedding venue or a hotel or a restaurant, and a strange mix of olde-worlde and something like rustic Transylvanian. The decor was dated and not cared for, especially considering that the prices are expensive for what you get. The selection of food was limited and the cooking was not up to the mark ... in fact my wife's meal of pheasant didn't digest easily and was thrown back up in the early morning; also her creme brulee tasted exactly the same as custard from a carton. The 'English' breakfast was simple and well-cooked ... even though I had to dine alone.

    The staff were friendly and pleasant. The bathroom was newly refitted. It was close to The Ironbridge Gorge museums which was the purpose of our visit. My sirloin steak was beautifully cooked and tasty though its accompanying items were not.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyable, would stay again and would recommend it to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As stairs are a problem, ground floor accomodation would have been good.

    We thought the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful to an 'old couple'.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Very cosy comfortable and friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shame it's situated on such a busy road but still.

    Very cosy comfortable and friendly. Had a lovely atmosphere and felt really relaxed. Good selection of beers too. All together a really great stay and we will definitely return here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    A quite different (in a very good way) one night stay with great food, ales and bonhomie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quirky and eccentric family run place with bags of character. Superb gourmet food and a great selection of hand pulled real ales. It ticked all our particular boxes and we would stay again and recommend the Hundred House Hotel to others. Excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    100 House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about this property was negative,perhaps situation next to busy road was only a small minus, but could not hear traffic inside the bedroom.

    We liked the whole outlay and the area for dining was relaxed with friendly staff making our stay enjoyable.Nothing was too much trouble.outside the gardens were very pleasant and interesting to wander through.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    Adequate for our visit to the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no lounge seats (i.e. arm chairs or sofas) to relax in and the place is crowded with tables and chairs. The hotel is not at Coalport, as suggested in your advert, it is five miles away.

    Plenty of hot water

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Convenient for the many places of interest in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were rather smaller than expected and we both found ourselves almost falling out of them. The television remote device was over-complicated and barely worked. The menus given to each of us were different and had to be exchanged for two that were identical. That really shouldn't have been necessary!

    The beds were comfortable but see below. The staff were generally very good or excellent. The food (breakfast and dinner) was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    5.4
    Could be lovely with a bit of tweaking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a series of routers to connect to for wifi but they kept having problems and quite simply it was time consuming to try to resolve and fixes didn't work for long. There was also a swing in my room which, while quirky, just made me want to keep my socks on. It was like I had to do the high jump to get on the bed. Perhaps just freshen up the decor, review your wifi solution and lose the swing. The Old Orleton was much better and a similar price / but I think huge scope with this one as the team seemed like they were trying and buildings are pretty

    The food was lovely and the tithe barn was really pretty. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    Superb quirky little hotel with helpful friendly staff that could not do too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi is not secure but otherwise excellent hotel.

    Superb quirky little hotel that is ideal to get away from it all and relax. Good food, good beer and very helpful cheerful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.5
    A nice place trying its best.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Feature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very strange to have a swing positioned in room! Small seating area in bar and poor wireless signal which restricted ability to work during afternoon.

    Food was very good and staff pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.5
    Could have been perfect but for the poor heating and hot water system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Feature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The big negative was the heating in the bedroom, the room was quite cold and radiators only luke warm. In the morning we could not get any hot water in the shower so it really spoiled the night, otherwise a really nice hotel.

    Very atmospheric hotel, lovely old building full of character and the bedroom very well equipped with period furniture. The food in the restaurant was excellent with a selection of unusual dishes and complimented by a good wine list.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Our accommodation and dining experience were both excellent and definitely value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Feature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything we didnt like other than the water temperature during a shower kept alternating from cool to warm

    Fabulous menu - it was Game night the night we stayed with a wide range to choose from. Quality and standard of food was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Dog welcome @ hundred house
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed with our Airedale and had dinner in the hotel bar area, staff could not have been more helpful,and at breakfast she was welcomed too. Room was warm quiet and comfortable,will recommend to others.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.9
    Would stay again in this quirky hotel and enjoy their hospitality, but in a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was put in different bedroom than requested which was smaller and on top floor. Bathroom door was half glazed which we found no privacy and uncomfortable.

    Pleasant and helpful staff. Quirky hotel with quality furnishings. Wonderful food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.8
    Great welcome and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't find anything to dislike on this visit.

    All the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Dinner was excellent and our 'slightly off menu' requests were accommodated with a smile. Good sized room and huge comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Hundred percent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Loved absolutely everything about The Hundred House. We had been there for Sunday lunch a couple of times and loved the food and atmosphere (and the wonderful gardens to amble round to walk it off!), and decided it would be great to have a meal in the evening and stay over in one of the fabulous-looking bedrooms. We were so right! The meal was fantastic, and the room astonishing. Would recommend it to anyone - everyone is so friendly, helpful and welcoming. Can't fault it!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Feature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were absolutely fantastic. Stayed for V festival, they booked us a taxi and printed off a personalised sheet of info for us. Breakfast was lovely and so was the gardens. Best night sleep ever.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    An excellent old world unspoilt pub full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent old world unspoilt pub full of character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The hotel was perfect located for my trip and steeped in history. Everyone there was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous gardens. Fabulous breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable but not long enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It couldn't be helped but our roadside rooms was noisy.

    The overall ambience of the place. Friendly staff and very good catering and good ales!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Traffic main road was outside the hundred house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic main road was outside the hundred house

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, courteous staff, good menu in restaurant, food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly, courteous staff, good menu in restaurant, food excellent and good breakfast choice freshly cooked. Lovely gardens to explore.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient for visiting Bridgnorth and Iron Bridge. Good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the evening restaurant was a little slow. The hotel is on the road and traffic noise can be a problem.

    Excellent food and large rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Great food and well kept lager.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great food and well kept lager. Lovely old building kept very clean and well presented. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Loved it keep up good work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit creapy goibg downatairs

    The swing in the rooom and bathroom amazing design

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    NONE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NONE

    NONE

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    road access

    meals

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    It was fabulous will be back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fabulous will be back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    Characterful property and beautiful setting for small weddings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not given the room that I booked. I was put in a smaller double room. Also a lot of Road noise caused disturbed sleep.

    Good food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    The food was delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The convenient location meant a compromise on traffic noise

    The food was delicious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Through it was for work it was a nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing not to dislike.

    Nice friendly staff , a good choice of food which tasted great, nice breakfast which was included in the room price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    relaxed weekend will go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent ,the room was beautiful.the meal was excellent my husbands meal was the best he had had in a very long time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Hotel was quirky and unusual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was quirky and unusual. The food was excellent, as were the gardens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Great dinner, rooms with a quaint decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a bit drabbed and tired.

    Excellent dinner!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Great night in the Humdread house hotel, Coalport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful restaurant and staff. Chief was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Delightfully quirky bedroom and public rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delightfully quirky bedroom and public rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Friendliness off staff, general feeling of being welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bathroom with large bath it very slow tap.

    Friendliness off staff, general feeling of being welcome. Food is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic see trip advisor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Very helpful and friendly staff and excellent food
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor mobile phone signal. Investment in a booster might help.

    The food was excellent and the bathroom also

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place, will visit again :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Swing in the room!,,, great hotel, very different, beautiful, charming and friendly... dinner/ breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Feature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small menu

    Excellent customer service I felt welcome

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.7
    Well chilled break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whats not to like.

    Lovely intimate hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.3
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rooms full of interest, dining first class and stunning gardens.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.3
    Quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms but too warm

    Great food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Food was excellent
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    All Good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All Good!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    A must
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Feature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything could not fault a thing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.0
    Will be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi in some areas

    Food and service excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The Hundred House Hotel is a really nice and well presented. The staff are excellent and the food is just fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    The food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.8
    A pleasant stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and efficient despite our arrival late on the evening and the building was old and characterful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    7.9
    Quirky Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More extensive menu and a bit less fish.

    Stunning gardens

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    6.7
    excellent food , nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    right next to a busy road

    excellent food , nice rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.6
    Gorgeous room with pretty furnishings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly tricky access in and out of car park due to busy road. Take care.

    Gorgeous room with pretty furnishings. Delightful gardens too. Chef tried really hard to cook something suitable for our friends who like very plain veggie food but was just too good to do dull - at least they loved the desserts!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    6.7
    Both bedroom and bathroom were very spacious - great bath...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is a very old building and as such there is little insulation from either internal or external sound or the weather. The carpeting throughout has also seen better days. We would have liked a nightcap on return from our function in the evening but there is no room service or late bar .

    Both bedroom and bathroom were very spacious - great bath and comfortable bed ( a lot of the rooms have 4 poster beds). The food was above average and reasonably priced..

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    7.5
    The food was excellent as were the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decoration of the accommodation is looking very tired, the bathroom had been updated but it did not smell very fresh. We came to the conclusion that this is run mainly as a restaurant and wedding venue..

    The food was excellent as were the staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    7.5
    Food on site meant that there was the option to have a drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No where to sit comfortably after our meal. Unexpected and expensive charge for bread and olives that where offered as a filler whilst we waited for our meal to be prepared. The meal, especially the chips, where not as good as we had anticipated after such a good lunch.

    Food on site meant that there was the option to have a drink with our meal. Lunch menu was very good.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.2
    Just love the uniqueness of Hundred House, the decor, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just love the uniqueness of Hundred House, the decor, the swing, the sheer quirkiness, something to look at tucked away everywhere you look. First time visiting but won't be the last. Staff friendly and polite. Gemma on reception extremely helpful. food was excellent. Thank you for a wonderful stay, wish we could have stopped another night. A wonderful historic hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    6.7
    We received a voucher as a gift, and we thought we'd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dinner was below the standard we had expected. Certainly not up to the standards of rosettes. I did complain about a couple of the dishes to be told the head Chef was away and that the waitress had to enter into quite a row with the comis about the dish I returned.

    We received a voucher as a gift, and we thought we'd make a night of it. The accommodation was great, we had a feature room (worth a look).

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    5.0
    Staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was in no way a four star, it was more like a two star hostel. The curtains did not fit, the secondary double glazing did not keep out the noise of the main road. There was a broken window. The thinnest quilts I have ever seen. The radiators were turned off when we arrived and it was very cold.

    Staff friendly Good choice of real ales Bathroom had been modernised.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    10
    Fantastic food, location, peaceful surrounds and full of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs! I suggest they clear the corridors more as it is very hard to get through with a suitcase. In general too much furniture we could not fully open our bedroom door because of this also!

    Fantastic food, location, peaceful surrounds and full of character!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    9.6
    The swing in the bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Intermittent wifi throughout the property but not really a problem on a leisure stay

    The swing in the bedroom The four poster bed The bath the size of a small swimming pool The attention to detail The fantastic food in the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    8.8
    Room was comfortable and warm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was comfortable and warm. The evening meal and breakfast were top notch

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    The bedroom was lovely and the food delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bedroom was lovely and the food delicious. The staff were really helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.9
    4th time here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food limited to ala carte.bar menu poor. Need a proper bar menu offering steaks pies pizza fish etc

    4th time here. Good rooms. Pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    8.8
    Delightful country escape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Delightful country escape. We loved it. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    8.3
    Bed was really comfortable and Bathroom clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was really comfortable and Bathroom clean and spacious.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: