Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Hunting Lodge 4 stars

38 South Street, Loughborough, LE12 8LZ, United Kingdom

#13 of 17 hotels in Loughborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 50 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Staff were very nice and welcoming and the facilities were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a very nice and more than adequate continental breakfast, I feel that the option of a full English should be included in the price.

    Staff were very nice and welcoming and the facilities were good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    As above, A pleasant experience.
    • Couple
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Design of bathroom fittings did not quite provide adequate flat surface for needs.

    Staff helpful and Breakfast really good. We arrived on a particularly hot day and requested a fan which was supplied. A pleasant experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    A hidden gem worth a visit
    • Couple
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little really had a nice ambience about the place other than bed could have been a little longer but I am s 6 footer to be fair

    Great cooked breakfast for extra £7 comfy chairs in lounge area and good food in the on site. Lovely walk to nearby Barrow Boats on the canal by Navigation Pub and witnesding moored and passing narrow boats..recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Great spot; friendly staff; nearby river walk along the Soar was delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Local taxi service very patchy - a 45 minute wait for one to get to a party a few miles away; couldn’t get one back to the Lodge! Some kind of an alert for guests about the paucity of provision would have meant a bit more forward planning. 2) Very noisy cleaner bashing a hoover across the wooden flooring and banging doors meant for a less than relaxing breakfast - the staff did explain, when asked, that there’d been a problem that day and the cleaning team were operating much later than usual.

    Breakfast was great: loads of fresh fruit; range of cereals; juice; coffee; toast. Glad the full English was extra as it saved us from ‘getting our money’s worth’. The included continental breakfast was more than enough. Very friendly manager chap!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    A smashing weekend spent in a lovely, roomy hotel. Thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorry, only three issues. The beds in the Chopin Room were not comfortable for us at all. I did mention this as we checked out and was advised that they were in the middle of changing the mattresses which would be a good idea. The security light was directly outside Chopin, which would be of concern to someone who was not able to sleep well, and was on until the early hours of the morning for folk out in the garden. Pillow 'covers' would be a good idea under pillow cases for hygiene reasons.

    The hotel is lovely and has themed rooms which seem very interesting! Beer is good (you will have to take my husband's word for that) and the menu is varied with a good choice of tasty food. Rooms are large and airy, staff are extremely friendly, efficient and patient. Breakfast was an additional cost but the chef is definitely on a roll because brekkies was excellent. I liked the extra touches such as the glass water bottles which were regularly topped up. Lovely gardens with lots of furniture if you wanted to sit out and make the most of the beautiful weather. There were extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe which is a good idea and the shower was absolutely brilliant although a shower screen would have been preferable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    3.8
    Totally underwhelmed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not vacuumed on arrival and no toiletries apart from Jane soap Window ledge dirty for duration No bath mat on day 2 and no biscuits put in on day 3- there was an open packetand the biscuits had gone soft couldn't get access to breakfast on first morning at 7 - prearranged with manager Lady serving knocked on my door at 715 to tell me she was unwell A 20% reduction was made but for the full price of£90 per night I would have expected better The exit door had flaky paint and no-one had swept the area which was full of leaves and bits of rubbish

    Breakfast when available to me was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Quiet and “warm” place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good for what I expected.

    Very quiet room (Chopin). Good pub and quiet restaurant. It’s a real traditional english place. With early check out (7.00am) they serve you the breakfast basket in the room. Very kind. Will be there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    comfortable room, great staff, bit tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with a revamp. Several chairs coverings were split and some of the wallpaper was tatty.

    The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and the food & drinks were well priced and well cooked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    10th Wedding Anniversary treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our second time here & it was as expected, fantastic, the staff were so friendly & helpful, nothing was too much trouble, the room was comfortable & inviting, the food was delicious, everything about it was so relaxing I can't fault anything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant but could be better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds in Chopin room are awful, with a noise every time you move, I would have mentioned this to management as I cannot believe I am the first guest to experience this problem but I had to leave early and didn't have much time..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    5.4
    Ok, I wouldn return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were overcharged on drinks, when we told barstaff they didn't refund they just apologised. The room we staying in was filthy. It had a large round cream rug and I wouldn't put my feet on it and neither would my husband. Full of stains etc., Bathroom was absolutely filthy. Husband showered first and wiped a tissue onto ceiling thinking it was a cobweb when he looked at the tissue it was BLACK with dirt. On looking closer at the woodwork, ceiling and walls they were all dirty. The shower head also had several holes that were full of dirt also, this is so unhygienic and how legionella is spread.

    The Manager of the hotel was lovely. Food was ok but ive had better.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    rustic charm to make you feel like royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only let down by flaking paint & plasterwork in bathroom & dirty shower curtains but rest of bathroom spotless & hotel overall was amazing.

    Very friendly & helpful staff, always smiling & nothing was too much trouble for them. Beautiful food, efficient service by waitresses very attentive, polite & accomodating. Good selection of drinks & they're selection of coffees are the best I've ever tasted on my travels. Nice location to transport routes also but still very rural. Relaxing bar & beautiful, cosy, old but comfortable bedrooms. My wife said the opulent grand double bed made her feel like a princess, so you can't get better than that.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    Nice bar and good staff, rooms a little threadbare.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little 'worn'. The bed matteress was soft but we quickly felt the wooden hard standing below it.

    The staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    'Hot' water was only tepid in bathroom. Not great value for money

    Room and bed comfortable, good conti breakfast. Staff pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic time was had
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful we enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    Help staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast and very noisy at night abusive locals

    Help staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.0
    The building looked great from the Outside more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen in room was 'scratchy' the rooms were very basic.

    The building looked great from the Outside more pub/restaurant than hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    really clean. Dead helpful staff. Comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dark room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Roast Lamb was well below standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roast Lamb was well below standard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent alternative to staying in Loughborough for Graduaton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast was a little slow.

    The room was beautifully decorated . Breakfast was excellent. The hosts were helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and restaurant. Will definitely return 😉
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All of it. Staff were fab,food was lovely and made our weekend more special.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full English Breakfast not included in what I felt was quite an expensive room rate for the location

    Quirky bedrooms , nice bar and restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    staff were genuinely helpful and wanted to make sure our...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no wifi!

    staff were genuinely helpful and wanted to make sure our stay was pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    6.7
    Staff were pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little uncomfortable and strange taste. Breakfast was basic.

    Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable, room was quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff friendliness and helpfulness.

    Bed was comfortable, room was quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.8
    Great place for getting about and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms need a little updating , theme ok but looks tired

    All round a very present hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.6
    relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    4 poster bed, good view (until nightfall) good bar and resteraunt

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    8.3
    friendly staff, quiet setting and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    blind only in the room which at this time of year let too much light in early morning.

    friendly staff, quiet setting and comfortable. Good inclusive breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The live music in the bar immediately below our room was very loud and went on until the early hours on Friday/Saturday night.

    Friendly staff. Excellent food. Quirky decor in the bedrooms.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.5
    Good location and large room and bathroom.
    • Family with older children

    Very noisy as there was a band playing and people in the beer garden until midnight. Location misleading as not in Loughborough.

    Good location and large room and bathroom. Great power shower.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    4.6
    Breakfast was simple but nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The light switches & kettle didn't work.Apparently fuse box goes all the time. Four poster bed was old with banisters about to fall off.Room smelt musty.So overrated for 140 pounds a night.Worth probably 70 pounds a night.

    Breakfast was simple but nice.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.5
    Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just one criticism which was the bed surround, particularly the step up which both of us managed to miss. Suggest remove at earliest opportunity.

    Friendly Clean and mostly very comfortable Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a little hard

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, comfortable room, excellent shower.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff, comfortable room, excellent shower.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    The Hunting Lodge has so much character, the styled rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hunting Lodge has so much character, the styled rooms were comfortable and clean. The food was excellent as were the staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    Lovely location and excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location and excellent staff. Evening meal was delish.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Excellent facilities and staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor selection of malts.

    Excellent facilities and staff. Great food, good selection of local beers.breakfast outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    I liked it all from the moment I arrived to the second I left
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked it all from the moment I arrived to the second I left

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    9.2
    Lovely room & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Squeaky bed!

    Lovely room & friendly staff. Fantastic cooked breakfast

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: