Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Imperial Hotel 4 stars

Taw Vale Parade, Barnstaple, EX32 8NB, United Kingdom

#9 of 17 hotels in Barnstaple

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 359 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay and it was a good point from which to get about
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't really matter, but we might have had a better outlook from our room and delivery lorries arrived right under our window quite early in the morning

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the food was well presented and very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    4.6
    BEWARE !
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    BEWARE ! Extremely tiny and stuffy single room and bathrooms - windows can only be opened about 5 inches, even with a fan very hard to get any sleep. Should never be offered to guests in hot weather, UNBEARABLE !!!! Altogether a desaster

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Old time service in a modern world. Made our weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner pricing system, is a bit dated, being very picky.

    The staff were fabulous. In every department. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a slight problem with our door, couldn't open it (these things happen). The manager came in to try and sort it out, it was gone midnight! We were effortlessly transferred to another room (upgraded). 8am next morning, the manger was back, broke into our room and he helped move our bags to the new room. I cannot recommend enough. I have stayed at some of the worlds best, Raffles (Singapore), the Mandarin Oriental (Jakarta), on Customer service The Imperial (Barnstaple) is right up there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    The stay was lovely albeit brief. Friendly staff and very comfortable. A little dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought it was quite expensive for the area but i think it was probably the nicest hotel in Barnstaple. We had to leave at 6:45 and there was no option for any sort of early breakfast.

    Friendly staff. Great location for us and lovely room although we were upgraded which was lovely. It was the first night of our honeymoon on our way to Lundy so the upgrade was welcome. Car park was perfect and our food was lovely too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Location, charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. People walking around on the floor above very noisy, the glass light fitting rattled! Noise. Dustbins emptied at 07:00-07:30 every morning. WiFi was rubbish. Dropping out & weak signal. TV losing signal every few minutes. Some buttons on the TV remote didn’t work.

    Location, charm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Splendid surroundings, highly professional staff and made to feel very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little expensive at £500 for two of us but it was worth it

    Wonderful old world but not faded charm. Staff were so attentive and rooms beautiful. The bed and bedding were extremely comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Excellent. Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some noise in our room from the live singer in the dining room below on Saturday night.

    The room was lovely, the food was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The place had a wonderful old world charm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly personel! We get an upgrade fo the room with the river view. It was wonderful experience! The location is right in the center, ideal for the weekends as well for the bussines purpose. Happy to discover the place! Very traditional English style, elegant restaurant with the life piano music, very stylish!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Opulence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors were very squeaky and I found the room lacking in fresh air. I opened the window but it opened onto flat roofing so I was concerned over Mt security.

    Old fashioned opulance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    I like staying in old hotels that have been modernised, the Imperial acheived & kept character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was insufficient coffee in the room but when reception called to check if the room was ok, they quickly remedied the situation.

    I paid and expected a small single room but was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a better room with balcony. It gave a very nice and comfortable place setting to complete my work before going out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent all round.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing -

    The Hotel felt like Hotels used to feel - traditional - polite staff and with a proper key to the room without silly technology going wrong.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Was very happy with my stay would defiantly stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was upgraded to supreme room due to my problems with disabilities and they were very thoughtful of my health problems, the breakfast was excellent could not falter it and the hotel was looking lovely with the beautiful Christmas decorations . the room was large comfortable and the bathroom was designed for a disabled guest,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Imperial Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was really comfortable. The staff were very attentive and friendly - all the time. Breakfast was great as was parking. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location and facilities for 1night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was beautifully appointed but was very warm. After first night the chamber made showed us how to turn off the heated towel rail and that made it better. Thank goodness for the fan! Perhaps a notice by towel rail switch in the bedroom would help.

    The staff were excellent. The right mixture of friendly efficient and professional. The food in the Arlington restaurant was lovely and plenty of choice for both breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Convenient hotel location for my visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Erratic cold water supply in shower. taps should be labelled. Tea making facilities hidden away in bottom of cupboard

    Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast, if pricey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous , relaxing and friendly - lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were located in the annex, which Is stated in the details as a possibility. We hadn't paid for a view, but our window looked out onto a noisy funnel. No problem in winter perhaps when windows are closed, but I like airy rooms in summer. The bed had a castor missing, a minor issue though.

    The room was tastefully decorated, extremely clean and well serviced. Breakfasts were superb and well attended. The Bistro food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    THe view from our window was horrible. The food and restaurant service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a spike sticking out of the mattress, but it was dealt with as soon as the staff where told. The central light in the room wouldn't work. I asked the staff , but it was not repaired.

    The helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    A very pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were unable to find anything that we didn't like

    Rooms were excellent, food in both resturants was very good served by staff who made the whole dining experience an event to remember

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall it was enjoyable , although quite expensive
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit limited . I didn't like the shower curtain

    The room was very comfortable . The staff in general were good . It was a very nice building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing and relatively expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dull room with an outlook over roofs, AC units, etc. Three light bulbs out of five not working; had to report twice to get them sorted. Staff indifferent and not engaged.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    If only we had more time - we are planning on returning for a nostalgic long weekend next year.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out was 11am - I didn't appreciate housekeeping letting themselves into my parents room insisting she needed to clean when my father was still in the bathroom - it was only 10am! A tad too keen! This was rectified at the time.

    Lovely soft towels in the bathroom. Hairdryer - great! Breakfast - gluten free selection - great! overall good menu selection of hot options - possibly would of maybe liked a muffin/slice of cake/pastry with coffee, that's if id had room! My parents had a river view room - it was beautiful, she sat in the chair for an hour just looking out at the view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Satisfactory,could have done with some kind of meal package though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to the room were very steep,not really suitable for older people.

    Staff were all extremely nice,the fixtures and fittings were all of a very high quality and the room was also very comfortable could have done with two armchairs though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Great few days away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    Room was small but adequate. Very clean, comfy bed. Bathroom appeared to be newly renovated with great grab bars for safety. Staff extremely friendly. Management visible at all times making sure things were running smoothly. Assistant Manager came to talk to us at breakfast to make sure we were happy with experience. Breakfast prepared to order and piping hot. Will stay again next time we are in Barnstaple and will recommend to friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely wonderful!!! Will definitely be coming back and can't wait!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not overly comfortable as went down at one side. Hard to stay in middle as you slid down to the edge! Apart from that the room was a delight!!! Absolutely loved the decor!!!!! Wonderful!!! Very clean!!!

    Everything!! Food Staff Decor, cleanliness!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we seemed to have paid top price we were shunted into a separate annexe where one small window opened onto an enclosed courtyard that magnified every little noise. Plumbing and gurgling noise kept us awake all night. The floor above creaked whenever other guests walked over it and when the WC flushed nearby it sounded as if it was in our room. During our stay the front path and step down from our block was removed leaving a rough area to cross?

    The main hotel seemed nice enough and the food was good although I burnt my finger on the breakfast plate. Did get a small reduction but really wanted a room in the main hotel which was not available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Long weekend in Barnstaple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very warm and only a fan to cool it which was not sufficient. Window only opened approximately 3 inches so not enough fresh air. Room was standard room at back of hotel on 3rd floor and on Saturday we could hear disco music which went on until 3am.

    Rooms were spotless and bed very comfortable. Amenities were excellent. Can't comment on breakfast as we do not eat it. We are tea and toast or cereal eaters.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic food, very comfortable and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been a little more powerful but I'm nit picking. I really enjoyed my stay here and it was a great location.

    The evening meal in the restaurant was absolutely stunning yet very reasonably priced, the room was plush and the bed comfortable, the staff were attentive and Adam, the Deputy Manager was a fantastic host.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    The bed was really comfy and a great size (we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The music every evening piped through the restaurant speakers was dreadful and played over and over again, it put us off going in the Arlington restaurant to eat but luckily on our last night there was a lovely chap playing easy listening on his keyboard and guitar which was just right !

    The bed was really comfy and a great size (we had a complimentary deluxe upgrade) overlooking the river and it made our trip even more special ! Even though this hotel appealed to an older generation than us everybody was very welcoming and it had a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    A relaxing two days which we hoped could have been longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not sure really, the Imperial Barnstable is the Imperial Barnstable!

    Traditional setting with a feeling of old world charm, high quality service and good food. We have known the hotel for many years and to be fair it has always appealed to the oldies which now suits us even more at our time of life. This is not to say that younger people would not appreciate the ambience, but It probably helps if you have an understanding of what the Imperial is like before you book.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Great in all respects
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like the window open at night but noise from the younger set going home early morning.

    The breakfast was excellent ! We didn't have dinner but based on breakfast probably very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    excellent hotel. bad booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was said on your website that breakfast was included. Oh no it was not...we had to pay extra for it so we think booking.com is very misleading. We showed the manager your website who agreed. We think booking.com should refund ou breakfast cost of £67.50 for misleading us. Wedoubt that we shall be booking throughyou again.excellent hotel. Bad booking.com

    The bed was vèry comfy.cleanliness. nice staff. Impressive hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Old world elegance with slick and span presentation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts. This hotel like The Royal Duchy in Falmouth offers old world comfort and elegance without any tiredness whatsoever.

    No croissants or Danish pastries. Breakfast were ordinary. No fresh fruit, mainly tinned fruit. Cooked portion was very good. The staff were really exemplary.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    Barstaple Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too hot! I turned off the heat, opened the window, had a fan on and it was still too warm. The carpeting in the hall was dated and in need of being replaced. There was paperwork in the room about how the hotel chain is so "green" by recycling etc. they could do better cutting back on the paperwork about how 'good' they are doing! I thought it was rediculous that the hotel allowed smoking at the main entrance!

    The room was very nice. The decor was a bit dated but on the other hand very British. The bath was very nice, large and very clean....thanks to the cleaning staff. The bed was very comfortable and had lots of pillows!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    lounge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food disappointing. Below previous standard. Also, despite my frequent enquiries about the suitability of food for me - it has to be gluten free - I was clearly given something containing gluten, which made me ill.

    lounge service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    3.3
    Dated and poor quality - certainly not four star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi signal, small noisy room, dated decor, musac piped into breakfast area, poor quality and selection at breakfast, made my wife unwell. No outside space worth spending any time in. This is not a four star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Relaxing short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room was a staircase, possibly staff accommodation judging by the late night noise, but we weren't there for the view! Love the eco friendly "do you need your towels replacing?" But not seen through as they are always replaced even though we leave them on the towel rail as we were only there for two nights.

    Rooms always clean and comfortable, staff very polite, friendly and helpful. Ate in The Bank which is always pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    Well Situated But Not Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a four-star hotel without the facilities you have to visit their sister hotel 10 minutes walk away for them (Gym, Sauna etc) I did not eat in the restaurant but had a meal in the bar. Very expensive for what it was, well presented but portions sizes were minimal. It cost £50.00 for three courses, not good value. The staff were very much like robots there to serve but very little interaction. Overall not a place I would choose to stay again.

    Location was good very central

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant wedding anniversary break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piped music on first night not conducive to fine dining. However, after expressing my thoughts on the inappropriateness of it this was rectified and the dining experience for our wedding anniversary was most enjoyable.

    Beautiful food. A clean and attractive environment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.3
    It was a lovely hotel but the guests were mostly elderly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe River View Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn't believe I had already paid online through booking.com So I was charged for the room twice, now I have to wait 7 to 10 days for a refund to my credit card. I thought this was very poor

    It was a lovely hotel but the guests were mostly elderly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.9
    Very clean, pleasant staff, food lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have a view, well it did but was overlooking flat roofs and ventilation hatches which made a noise during the night. Description was town view or court yard view, which neither was the view from the room Room 232

    Very clean, pleasant staff, food lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    The food was excellent, very good quality and the service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Going home!

    The food was excellent, very good quality and the service was good. I liked the pianist on Saturday evening which was a nice touch. Staff went out of their way to accommodate my mother who was not feeling well, and prepared her a soup which was not on the evening menu.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Good location comfortable public rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from closing doors. Under heated bathroon had to remind the reception that i had asked for flowers in the roon at my cost and i would pay and reserve a table in the restaurant as it was our wedding anniversary on the 4th April.

    Good location comfortable public rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    Good reception, friendly staff, good food and reasonably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I had booked directly to the hotel, rather than through Booking.com, I would have saved around £150 on the final bill. PLEASE do not ask me to book through YOU in future. GLF

    Good reception, friendly staff, good food and reasonably priced drinks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.5
    A nice hotel, good sized room with decent dinner and breakfast. The overall cost was appropriate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not easily find my room (232) but, generally, met my expectations.

    Attentive staff and priced appropriately; food and accommodation above average.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Magnificent!! Thank you.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked to have tried the croissants, a slip of attention at breakfast. The smell was there but somehow I slipped up. The next time I won't forget!

    the beds were super comphy, the room was lovely and the detailing was a constant delight. the staff were spot on welcoming, competent, and there when ever anything was needed. We were delighted with the eco ethos!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Would stay again but not in a room overlooking a "court yard".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was described as over looking a court yard, in fact it was a narrow alleyway with one pot plant. We were on the ground floor, room 3 & it was very dark, we needed a light on during the day. We felt the description was misleading & reported this to the reception staff.

    The room was spacious & comfortable with plenty of storage. The breakfasts were good & we enjoyed a meal in the Colour Bar & tea in the Terrace Lounge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful hotel very well furnished and decorated.The food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were put in annexe and not the main hotel and were not told on booking.Thought price of breakfast as an extra was too high..

    Very convenient for main town shops & pubs.The duvets were changed for blankets with no bother.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious romantic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited decaf selection in the room, was rectified very quickly thank you.

    The room decor was very smart, real feel of luxury throughout. The staff were really helpful. The bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Well done Imperial Hotel. How a hotel should be run.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The porridge was the best ever in a hotel! This was my second stay at the hotel - this time for 3 nights and with my wife. Purpose to attend a family funeral. The hotel is hard to beat with excellent service in all departments. The hotel can teach many larger international chains how a hotel should be run. I would like to return next time as part of a holiday and in the summer. Well done Imperial Hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.5
    A decent nights stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower to small could just about stand in it. The decor could do with updating - it's slightly behind on the times unless that's the look you are going for.

    Reception staff very friendly and welcoming. Hotel staff in general seemed polite and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.5
    On the whole a thoroughly enjoyable couple of days in a very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather than having been put into the annexe (Riverside Court) it would have been much preferred to have been in hotel which has a lift. Unfortunately climbing stairs is a bit of a problem as the stairs at Riverside Court proved.

    Friendly bar staff and waiters extremely courteous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.9
    Great staff and rooms, bathrooms and beds need work!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are extremely hard even with a mattress topper and the bathrooms are not in keeping with the 4*, they are clean but basic and more befitting of a travel inn.

    Great staff and rooms are nicely decorated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous, as always. Looking forward to our next visit already.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would always prefer a firmer bed but that is my only negative comment.

    We visit our family several times in a year and always choose the Imperial. The staff always have the personal touch and the whole experience is what we thoroughly enjoy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.8
    Top hotel great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor point but Tv could do with upgrade,

    Very smart classic old hotel with contemporary rooms , with good parking on site and 2 mins from town centre

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    6.3
    Would we go back - no.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff on reception - well, I couldn't see them up there with the desk about 5 foot up in the air and them peering down. They are terribly superior and didn't have time for the customer. Strange that as we are the ones paying a very expensive bill. Our room was clean and everything we required was in it but the view of the fire escape was horrible. It was dark, dingy and felt like we were in a basement without a window. Nasty. I had to go into the hall to see the colour of my clothes before I wore them. My husband absolutely hated the room and couldn't relax. Ok we had a late deal but it was horrible in No.1 in the annexe. Having to go across the car park in the wind and rain for breakfast and for meals wasn't pleasant either. And what do you do with your raincoats when you get there? The staff were very superior and not terrible friendly. Wouldn't go back to the Imperial. Might as well do a cheap deal at a Premier Inn type place and have meals out.

    location brilliant. parking brilliant. Cleanliness very good. Evening meal was very expensive but beautifully cooked and presented.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyable brief stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly larger room would have been nice but I understand the room was priced accordingly. If we had been staying longer we would have opted for a slightly larger (?more expensive room)!

    Bed very comfy but on the small side. However, the room was small so probably bed size unavoidable. Good to have two chairs in the room. Food excellent. Temperature perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant two-day rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food tended to be on the cool side

    Decor was very nice and the rooms and bathrooms very clean It was a good central location for our needs Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    A haven of comfort and refined relaxation after a week of hectic travel in Cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly the range of main course choices

    Bedroom was excellent - our room upgrade probably helped Dining room service was outstanding - beautifully prepared and presented food and very professional staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.2
    back yet again........
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It be lovely if it were cheaper, but hey ho, that's just human nature. We've stayed before and we'll stay again

    Two very minor problems with the room, remote control batteries and a bathroom bulb. I told reception, by the time we got back from breakfast, both had been seen to. Very impressive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.6
    The overall experience was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    two complaints about the food. 1/ First night in restaurant fish overcooked and dry on one meal. staff agreed 2/ Second night in bistro scallops cold upon serving one meal. Replacement took ages to come. Appetite disappeared Second meal. starter, smoked salmon nicoise consisted of a tiny piece of smoked salmon, three olives cut in half plus a single piece of cress and two pieces of a stale toasted roll. A complete disappointment. Staff agreed. Compensation offered was on first night. No charge for the one meal and two brandies. For the second night, no charge for either meal plus a cheese board and two glasses of port The value of all the meals was adversely affected by the failure of two. Disappointment was heartfelt considering the reason for coming to the Imperial was the Fine Dining advertised

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent weekend in very pleasant surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with a upgrade.ie: Sink was cracked and taps in sink/bath need an upgrading.

    The Location and the food where excellent and the staff could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.2
    Service and period furnishings as in the good old days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They did not pass on a message left for me by a friend. As we were travelling from Australia this was most disappointing.

    The location. Elegant period furnishings and lovely staircase. Good old fashion way of service. Relaxed ambience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.8
    Old world character & charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly on the expensive side given that breakfast was not included in the charge. However good places to eat were in easy walking distance.

    The location & old world character. Very good shower & facilities. On site parking and wifi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.8
    I Will make sure I do not stay there again. The Park Hotel is much better up the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was expensive considering there was no breakfast. Very noisy from people above and beside. TV next door right by my bedhead. I elected to have supper one evening. Overcooked risotto served with boiled and roast potatoes. Very Italian!!! Could not eat it all.

    They lent me a mini fridge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, very good food and staff mostly very polite and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were rather perturbed on Friday evening when at 10 pm we were asked to move from the bar into the lounge as the bar was closing for the night. We were told that we could ask the night porter for any drinks we required from the Lounge, but this was an unsatisfactory state of affairs and not to be expected in a four star hotel

    Lovely room with a very large comfortable bed. We had no complaints at all about the accommodation which was excellent. Bathroom also well appointed and everything in working order.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    excellent base for exploring North Devon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no eggs benedict at breakfast! plush bathroom was spoilt by taps which barely reached the basin

    the general atmosphere of the hotel was very comfortable - combination of staff, service, décor, food etc

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Enjoyed every minute of our stay, will be recommending The Imperial to family and friends.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had stayed at this hotel some fifteen years ago, and always said we would like to go back. The staff are all so friendly and helpful, and the food is the best we have ever tasted.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Super friendly and welcoming staff, nothing was too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but couldn't find any drinks prices on the bar menu other than for the cocktails.

    Super friendly and welcoming staff, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely furnishings, excellent central location for Town Centre and visiting North Devon. Wonderful dinner and a really tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    5.0
    Reception staff very grumpy on our arrival, bar staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff very grumpy on our arrival, bar staff were great and very helpful We felt the bathrooms could be updated to justify the cost of the room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    8.8
    Did the job at a price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs and room cramped without much ventilation. With the window open, kitchen staff phone conversations easily audible as was kitchen fan. Cooking smells also easily smelt.

    Breakfast was plentiful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    5.0
    Helpful staff and clean surroundings and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv poor it was looked at on the first day but tended to cut out and lose the program also duvet too heavy! Could have done with a floor level shower most single people are probably of an older age range and getting in and out of the bath for a shower with no one to help is a problem

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    6.7
    We were a little disappointed by our experience.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room allocated was backing onto the kitchen and we had a noisy fan to contend with. We hadn't thought to mention it but we were asked if there were any problems. When offered a move we accepted though it was not possible to view the room before our luggage was moved. The bed in the alternative offered, room 222,is only a double, has a poor mattress on it and the room was quite a lot smaller. The staff did try to deal with our difficulty, but unsuccessfully. Cheaper rooms overlook a noisy street.

    We stayed in the town to attend a family function and so the position in one way was good, but town centres can be noisy at night and early in the morning. The lounge areas were tastefully decorated and furnished and quiet. Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Royal service at the imperial hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus was the bed which was not very comfortable.

    I did like the services and the staff who were very polite and professional. Had a lovely afternoon tea.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.4
    Travel back in time and be prepared to pay for it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very hot and noisy. The people in the room above us continually walked around which In turn, was very creaky due to the wooden floor boards. Not a modern built and sound insulated hotel! There was a bolt on air conditioning unit in our room along with a fan which we did need as the room was so hot. Sadly, both only had two settings, off and noisy! I would say the average age of the guests was well over 70. We didn't think the food or drinks were value for money. We had a sandwich and a baguette for lunch with a pot of tea for two and this cost nearly £30?! Drinks in the bar were similarly expensive. This wasn't the right hotel for us but I can see how it would appeal to others from an older generation.

    The staff were very courteous and polite and the downstairs seating areas very plush. Staying at this hotel was like going back in time. The furnishings were old fashioned but in good order.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff, good service, poor room/bed size, Wifi speed bad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was too small, only a double bed. Most hotels with "double" rooms have a king size bed.... We are not the smallest of people and found it quite uncomfortable. Wifi speed was terrible. :-( Overall, accommodation was not good value for money because of the above. £130 per night was excessive for the room size/bed size etc.

    Breakfast food and service was excellent. Location good. Parking good. General friendliness of staff excellent! :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: