Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Izaak Walton Hotel 3 stars

Dovedale, Ashbourne, Ashbourne, DE6 2AY, United Kingdom

#7 of 16 hotels in Ashbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 666 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    A good break, will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden furniture could do with an upgrade. Breakfast disappointing. Smoked salmon "savers" standard. Kippers obviously slid out of a plastic bag.

    Wonderful location. Dinner was superb. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Would reccommend for a lovely quite break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Free wifi was available but I would have liked to have seen computer access for guests as we are one of the many who don't carry an ipad or phone. Given the traffic on the M5/M6 it would have been useful to check the route home before leaving.

    The hotel is situated in a quite lovely position and is central to lost of other beautiful places. The food was excellent, but we thought the restaurant food was rather overpriced. The bar food and breakfast were very good. I would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Interesting place with lots of places to visit near by
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not very comfortable and needed a top sheet in this weather not a Duvet. Although admit exceptional weather but even with a fan very hot

    Lovely location - plenty of places to walk. Nice rooms with lovely views enjoyed Food good and staff very friendly - would definitely go back again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    The property is at an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got very hot, although these temperatures are not common, when we stayed. You need to pay for coffees at the breakfast, apart from filter coffee.

    The property is at an excellent location. Literally 5 minutes walk from the “Stepping Stones”. The views are amazing as well as the food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Most enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No walk in shower, bath side very high to climb over for shower.

    Lovely location. Food excellent, with generous portions. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    We stayed three nights and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walk from reception to the bedroom especially on arrival when having to deal with two heavy cases.

    Food in the restaurant was very good. Location of the hotel is ideal if you want to feel a part of the Peak District. Nice walks within easy reach of the hotel to some of the well known tourist spots.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed stay. Location of hotel difficult to beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    TV not working in one room. Aerial repaired after 3 days. No suitcase stand in one room. Neither room had trouser presses or irons although these were in booking.com details. Toilet seats must be cheapest on market. Noise like a generator went on late for 2 nights. Menu in restaurant only changed 4 times a year according to staff.

    All staff very obliging and friendly. Everywhere clean and presented well. Food and drink good. Beautiful grounds and stunning area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    We stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary and wanted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    We stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary and wanted somewhere away from the crowds with beautiful surroundings. This exceeded all our expectations. We hope to return soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Dovedale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was the cramped bathroom. Toilet was very close to the wall which would have been uncomfortable for a large person.

    Location, location location right at the foothills of the beautiful Peak Dales. Gods country with rolling hilly farmland for as far as you could see. Close to the magnificent Dovedale to Milldale river walk. The hotel food was excellent, breakfast cooked to order. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    We had 4 rooms for 3 nights. All my guests loved it and we plan to repeat the experience next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bedroom thermostats. Rooms became hot and uncomfortable at night (I guess because of underfloor heating. Summer-weight duvets were not available but would have addressed the problem).

    Excellent welcome on arrival. All the staff without exception. Room and bathroom size. Superb bed. A La Carte food (Eleven guests). Excellent service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend for a couples visit. Meals and drinks are good and fair priced. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is so old that the WiFi has a few issues, but you cant fault the hotel for that.

    Location is great, a step to the start of the Dovedale Walk, views from the beer garden are fantastic, the beer is very good. There was a business conference on while we stayed, it didn't effect our stay however I wouls suggest if you travel with a group you ask if there is an event on at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    A lovely visit to celebrate my wife's 80th birthday. The staff made it a really special occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there was a conference taking place at the time of our stay, one of the lounges was not available to other guests

    Spectacular view of the countryside from our window, the hotel is extremely well-placed for walking and great scenery, and the bed was very comfortable.!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food served is very basic. Heavy fried and not inspiring at all. With a little imagination it could be so much better.

    Great location. Comfortable traditional hotel. Electric car charging

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    An excellent stay in a great location. Food was very good, we had a brilliant evening meal in the restaurant and a good traditional breakfast, lots of choice. All staff were warm, welcoming and knowledgable. Shaun, our waiter last night stand out. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    The perfect location to relax and explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows didn’t open very much in the room and it was a very hot night.

    The perfect location to relax and explore. We had a wonderful 2 days walking in the beautiful countryside and enjoying excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Best stay we have had for many years
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The setting was fantastic.The room was large and had great views.The bed was comfy.The staff were so professionally friendly and attentive and you felt looked after and valued.The eggs Benedict was super for breakfast..excellent being given the hollandaise sauce separately as often too much is followed on .The coffee is superb.Oh so relaxing but plenty of activity in the area if you want it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Location location location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Absolutely location location, had a lovely view from my room as requested, good communication from Reception re booking evening meal etc. Lovely evening meal with very attentive staff and excellent value for money. A proper old fashioned Hotel but ideally located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant too expensive, which explains why no one was in it the two nights we were there, that leaves only a limited bar food choice.

    Good location, staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    A little old fashioned but food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a security light right outside my window which meant a floodlit room. I was moved on my final night, a Sunday, and the staff were understanding but were not able to turn the light off during my first two nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel which we are very familiar with, the staff are great, location is unrivalled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 'cream teas' were not inclusive of tea, so £3.50 pp was expensive for a scone, no cream and no jam! The dinner menu in the Haddon Restaurant was restrictive, meat was cooked excellently but other items were more the chef trying to maintain their culinary award then cook something people would like eating.

    The staff are brilliant and it is lovely that they are, mostly, local. They cannot do enough for you and are very helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointing for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserable "classic room" which was cold as the heating on elsewhere but never at our end through lots of stairs and doors. Shabby room with stained throw, although it had been washed, dirty old brown cushions suitable for a dogs bed, no toiletries, shower caps, hardly room to move. The cleaner did clean well though but very depressing room for the money paid. Disappointing. Breakfast good but other meals not.

    The location and the staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful setting, glorious views. Perfect getaway break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the Dovedale Bar which is very cosy and charming. However sadly we were not impressed with the quality of the food (the steak was definitely over priced). Hard to put our finger on it but it was just lacking in something. We expected more. The waiting staff just didn’t appear to know what they were doing and in our experience, they were not able to answer questions regarding the food or wine. Breakfast service was slow and cooked food served cold - eggs over cooked. We were disappointed BUT the hotel is charming and we’re sure, having spoken to reception, that the food issues will be addressed. Reception dealt with our food and service complaint with concern, courtesy and efficiency - we thank them very much for that.

    The hotel is in an idyllic position. Set in excellent grounds with glorious views and wonderful walks from the front door. A perfect getaway within easy reach of all the Peaks have to offer. Our room was perfect and the large bed very comfortable. The reception staff were extremely welcoming and clearly want their guests to have an enjoyable and positive experience. We will certainly return. We loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Quite memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Going through dining room to get to room. No entertainment facilities apart from Drinks and television. Wife slipped over on field behind hotel, no pathways offered. The room smelled old. It was supposed toi be the Isaac Walton hotel - info on this or artifacts are missing.

    Food was excellent. Pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap and nasty toilet seat in our bathroom. The only thing they let the hotel down!!

    Location location location! Staff were extremely friendly and would do anything for you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    For what we paid, not good at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were looking forward to staying at the hotel. The first afternoon we ordered a snack, triple deck cheese and BLT the cheese was sloppy, the only way to eat the BLT was to dismantle it. The breakfast was poor. I can only describe it as being cooked with no care at all. In a hotel with no mobile signal it would have been useful if the landline worked, but it did not. The shower head kept falling into the bath. The after dinner lounge was taken over by a private party NO ENTRY PRIVATE PARTY written on the door. We had cycles but the hotel could not provide covered secure location for overnight.

    The room was fine with views of the hillside. The staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    We loved the remote setting and the scenery was just amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were comfortable but the decor a little tired and out dated. I found myself giving it an imaginary makeover in my head!

    We loved the remote setting and the scenery was just amazing! A characterful hotel. Great breakfast too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Reception staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV in the room was really small - woud have needed binoculars to watch it from the bed. Had to move the chairs really close. The shower was an old electric model with a weak flow.

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed. Nice large room. Excellent breakfast with hot items freshly prepared to order. Decent coffee too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice Country Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very bright flood light on the wall of the building opposite which stayed on all night and seemed to be directed straight at our window which lit the room despite quite thick curtains! The breakfast was rather disappointing. Hardly any choice of cereals, juice, fruit etc and which didn't appear to be replenished either and the Black Pudding with the full English breakfast was dry and tasteless.

    Lovely quiet room with a very comfortable bed. Great location with easy parking. Reception staff were very welcoming and the food in the restaurant in the evening was excellent, although a fairly limited menu. There was also a nice bar area where we had a drink after dinner. We stayed over the Easter weekend and and there was a chocolate easter egg left in the room which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is situated only a short distance from Dovedale in its own grounds making it very quiet and peaceful. Plenty of car park space is available on site only a short walk from the main door. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and attentive and nothing seemed too much trouble. The food in both the bar and restaurant was of excellent quality coupled with good service, so much so we did not feel the need to look for anywhere else to eat during our stay. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to return sometime in the future. Finally, our congratulations to the management and staff, the service and attention to detail shown made all the difference to our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location for walking in Edale area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather poorly presented and had a bit of an odour. We had the impression it had not been used for quite some time.

    Great restaurant, evening meal was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing stay, would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing is, the television in the room seemed too small. The televisions could do with being bigger and also wall mounted in front of the bed on the opposite wall would be a nice touch.

    The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we booked in. They showed us to our room, which was a nice size. The meals at the bar were of good quality and big portions, nothing seemed to much trouble. The range of beers available was nice to see, with some 'different' brewers. Breakfast was plentiful, lots of variation and choices. When we ordered the cooked breakfast we struggled to eat it all, only because of the volume, the quality was very good. Very nice walking, hiking surroundings with also the Tissington Trail nearby at Ashbourne, with bike rental of you need one. The 'electric' bikes are recommended to use for the day...great fun.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent country hotel, ideally situated with an excellent resteraunt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from the hotel to Dovedale stepping stones is extremely muddy - a warning would have been helpful but to be fair it’s probably not the hotels responsibility .

    Beautiful country hotel , staff were friendly and polite . Room was private , quiet and very comfortable , maintained well. The fine dining was excellent , well presented and tasted divine .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Amazing viiews, nice room, good atmosphere in bar, to-die-for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs benedict was not as good as last time and poorly presented. My husbands english breakfast was very poor, eggs overcooked, pancake thing was not nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    The setting is beautiful and tranquil and you can walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom let the room down. The bath was quite small and did not have mixer taps although there was a shower over. The toilet kept flushing unless you physically held the handle up. Needs an upgrade.

    The setting is beautiful and tranquil and you can walk to the nearby Dovedale stepping stones from the hotel. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are very nice (especially the ones with a view). The bar food is good quality or you can eat in the main restaurant in the evening. The breakfast is excellent with lovely views of the dales and the bar area is relaxed and friendly with a good choice of Gin's and ales!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Good location superb food and beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful view from the hotel and within walking distance of the dovedale stepping stones.The bed was so comfortable and everything really clean. The restaurant was superb and good value and staff were really friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Location is everything although on this occasion with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite cool.

    Location is everything although on this occasion with the snow I was basically trapped at the hotel on the Sunday. Hotel staff coped admirably as many of their colleagues could not get in to work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable old fashioned 3 star very close to Dove Dale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is isolated (not in a village), so not much choice of what to do in the evening, unless you drive.

    Huge comfortable bed, very spacious, friendly staff, short walk from Dove Dale

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    An enjoyable winter break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we were in looked a bit tired, especially the bathroom which had an old electric shower which we have not seen in many hotels.

    The hotel is in an excellent location and you can walk directly to Dovedale. It has a good bar and restaurant with great food. Also a note for the staff. Throughout they were very cheery, pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    It was a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault was heating poor in room.We did not mention this to staff.

    The views were beautiful and the location fab,a short walk from dove dale and liam park.The food was delicious and the staff very helpful.We will definitely go back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Best weekend break we have had for a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything that important,,,just one complaint,,,not enough butter at breakfast on the table,,but staff soon brought us another pot ,, Best

    The food and very pleasant staff were fantastic,.cant think of any improvement

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    A great weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cups and saucers are a bit cumbersome! A very minor criticism but they they are a bit awkward (Illy cups)

    It was a family birthday celebration with 18 in the group. It was absolutely super. We had a private room off the bar for our meal, they consulted us over the table arrangements and were very well organised with the 3 course meal which we had been a able to preorder. They also allowed us to have our own cake and a photographer attended too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    The best views and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly harsh lighting and impersonal decor/style don’t make the best of its stunning location. Restaurant and bar menu should sing with locally sourced products and demonstrate some flair - of which the kitchen are doubtless capable.

    Convenient and stunning Peak District location with friendly staff and clean spacious rooms. Food - good and carefully presented, but conservative. fixed price menu is off-putting and feels too expensive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    We were looking for an "away from it all " and we certainly found here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, was totally content with everything.

    Loved everything. The welcome was wonderful, almost felt like being family. And the view from the hotel was superb. We felt so relaxed we stayed an extra night!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Excellent getaway break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mixed up reservation for dinner when put in main dining room when we had asked, by phone, for a bar place.

    Friendly efficient staff, old fashioned but well maintained decor, good food, quiet comfortable room. Several cosy lounges to choose from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, beautiful location. Clean, comfortable hotel, nice and quiet.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food service.

    Nice building, location and helpful staff. Restaurant staff helpful and polite but not trained very well. Unbelievably slow service for evening meal in bar. Serving staff seemed to be missing most of the time and I had to search for one to order. Food ok but waiter served drink with fingers on rim of glass. Local beer had run out! Waiter did not know which kinds of ice cream were available. Nice breakfast service but, incredibly, one juice dispenser not high enough to get your glass under so waiter had to lift it up so I could get some juice. As the three other dispensers were on stands, why not this one? Total lack of thought. Full English breakfast ordered but served only luke warm. I asked for a hot one and was brought a fresh one. None the above points should have happened. Apart from that, the room was nice and all the staff extremely polite, friendly and helpful. If they sort out the service problems this will be a good hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    A very enjoyable stay. Ideally situated for walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant for dinner was a little chaotic.

    As we were part of a group of ten we liked the fact that there was plenty of space for all of us to sit together.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Both of us had a lovely time and will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Up to our ankles in mud, crossing the field from the stile to the far gate. The weather has been wet, of course, but as the hotel has a historic connection to the Dove and stepping stones, a woodchip path might be nice?

    Excellent choice for breakfast, whether cooked or continental. Meals in the bar good value and quality. Nice firm bed in a warm quiet room, no view, but I know how to book a room with a view in future. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful, a really good team. Everywhere is cleaned daily, and the tea supplies in the room replenished.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly, nothing too much trouble
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed really comfy. So very friendly and welcomed our dog enthusiastically..... he even had a bowl of water left by our table at breakfast. Food was good quality and service prompt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff and a good hotel but I don't think we would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ok this is a hard one because the service was so good its hard to gripe about the other stuff ... but that said: The hotel is dated in the rooms The TV came on after a lot of faffing and quite randomly! The heat in the room was way too hot and the windows being on the ground floor were not secure to leave open at night Shower wise.. this has to be changed, between the scolding, slippy mat, and the impossible to use controls this is more a health hazard than a shower. You have to fix this honestly, it really is a danger Breakfast - given the level of detail of the evening food wasnt the best to be honest. Oh and the convoluted way to get to the room really is a bit of a pain All that said as previous the staff there made it

    The staff were very good, the room and all the areas were very clean. The views were lovely and the outside of the hotel had a really nice approach Food was nice in the bar section and the pudding well displayed in the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Excellent venue
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, tidy and beautiful setting. The staff were engaging and friendly considering we arrived so late into the night. I would strongly recommended this hotel both for business and pleasure. Looking forward to my next visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    A delightful short break somewhere quiet after a hectic family Xmas & New Year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very windy during our stay, the main window would have been noisy in rattling if we hadn’t wedged it with newspaper. But this was not going to spoil our stay. Maybe you could provide some little wedges, secured on a small chain to window, to be used if windy (& no newspaper available!)

    Very comfy bed, loads of space in our room & the bed. The aqua spa bath was lovely & we had a good view from our room. The staff were all very pleasant & professional. The Dovedale Bar meal was good value & tasty. A good nights sleep followed by a Fab breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    The setting is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little too warm for us, but I appreciate this is personal. This again is personal taste but I found the breakfast bacon tough .

    The setting is stunning. Price of room was extremely reasonable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Lovely comfortable stay with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think there should be a designated area in the bar for dogs.I do not have a problem with the pets but i do object to a dog next to my table when I am eating especially when they come in wet! It does tend to be a bit smelly.

    excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Good value good food great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Staff are so helpful breakfasts food in general great. Dog friendly bar area and rooms if you wanted that. A few minutes walk to dovedale

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Lovely room and views but the overall experience needed a little more attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very cold spell and the hotel, though not cold, just wasn't quite warm enough. Although snow was falling, there were no fires in the grates which I expected as they make a place very cosy. The cooked breakfast was also cool and served with cool coffee.

    The room, which was classed as superior, was large with a comfortable super king bed. The view from our room was fabulous. The staff were all friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    A very restful break in superb surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over the bath was just about adequate, poor water pressure and difficult adjustment. We were disappointed not to be able to have one course only in the restaurant. The bar meals were a good alternative, but we would have liked to use the restaurant too during our 3 night break. We only have small appetites and £30 fir 2 courses was the minimum on offer. We enjoyed the breakfasts but would have preferred better bread than a sliced loaf for our toast!

    The location is fantastic. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and totally professional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    A welcoming comfortable hotel in a beautiful spot where you can relax, eat well and explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    A very comfortable and welcoming hotel in a beautiful location. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely and the service excellent. We enjoyed lovely views of the surrounding countryside and were able to explore the beautiful Peak Park from the hotel. Comfy lounges and open fires made us feel really cosy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    A rare treat to be completely satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The Staff were genuine and polite. Perfect, faultless. The food was excellent both in the bar and restaurant. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a stunning view. A wonderful quiet location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant, welcoming, delicious food and wonderful nature around the property.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looks old fashioned, the carpet is old and not really practical for dogs.

    The hotel staff especially in the eating places was extremely kind and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very warm which wasn't a bad thing and once I had lowered the temperature via the two radiators it was fine. Secondary glazing again for warmth was in place but a little awkward to be able to open the window. Minor issues.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious, very clean and the bed was large and very comfy. The bathroom was big, the shower was over the bath which was a bit tricky, however a non slip mat was provided.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely friendly hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing else within walking distance so restricted to the hotel bar and restaurant.

    Perfect location with superb walks right on the door step. Nice cozy bar. Comfortable rooms with air jet baths.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    A relaxed country hotel in a beautiful setting with lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing!

    The hotel is situated in a get away from it all location, stunningly beautiful with view of Thorpe Cloud from our clean cosy room. Free wifi and TV. Lovely comfy beds. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful, a lovely ambience throughout, even though it was very quiet during the week. Breakfasts were lovely as were the evening meals in bar. We didn't eat in the main restaurant, but that looked very nice too. (We preferred the cosy atmosphere in the bar area. A great place to stay if you want to relax and walk in the area. Bring your car as public transport not an option and nothing else near enough to walk to .......except the Stepping Stones in Dovedale which were picturesque even in the rain! A great 4 nights of relaxation. Thank you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    An excellent relaxing break in a picturesque area in a traditional country hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold in room around 6pm. Heating needs to come on earlier at this time of year.

    Food fine and excellent. Accommodation very traditional but well maintained. Location brilliant! Been many times and will return - an old favourite!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable, relaxing hotel in a beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food generally was very good but we had venison one evening that was sinewy and difficult to eat. Apart from that, no problems.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable with excellent views. The staff were welcoming and efficient and made us feel at home. Overall a very enjoyable four day break.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Prime location with high standard of cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little tired and therefore pricey for the standard of rooms.

    Food is very good and of course the location is superb. Staff are very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Surely more than a 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    The food in the restaurant was fantastic! Perfectly cooked as ordered and reasonably priced although wine was a little expensive but good. Staff in the restaurant were curtious and efficient. Reception staff were brilliant! And so helpful and polite! I highly recommend this hotel and we will look forward to going back again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Good for walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dated and in need of a bit of a freshen up. Water was too hot !! Room and hotel was generally too warm throughout, especially at breakfast.

    Good parking, and good acces to surrounding area. Some nice traditional features.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    This was our second time at this hotel just right for a 2 night stop in Dovedale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite expensive. A bit dated.

    Very comfortable bed but we did pay extra for extra large double bed. Very nice meal in the bar but we reserved a specific table which when we arrived was taken by someone else. However we did get that table eventually. The best thing about this hotel is the position in Dovedale. Straight down to the Stepping Stones walk. Oh and the hotel reception have maps of the local walks. Tea making facilities in room with nice tea pot and biscuits. We asked for jug of fresh milk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Good but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Details were poor. The waiter didn't know what thew "soup of the Day was", and peeling wallpaper in the room is not really acceptable.

    Location, Good food, spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    What a luckly find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a luckly find. This hotel had everything we could possibly want in the middle of Dovedale. The staff where friendly and more than helpful, which made our stay even more lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    We were a last minute booking and were accommodated through...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a last minute booking and were accommodated through a late cancellation. Very thoughtfully we were housed at the opposite end to a Saturday night wedding which did not impinge on our peaceful get away to any degree. Delightful location with running/walking from the door. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    A little disappointing , it was weekend & they were busy - so i was in an annexe - no view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ground floor room , not in main hotel, felt vulnerable - noisy folk above me. lost the view i was hoping for of lovely Dovedale - the main reason i stayed at this hotel .

    bed & room very good. food adequate in bar area breakfast very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Excellent food and great location, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It ticked all the boxes and it would be difficult to give any negative feedback.

    The hotel had a great location. The rooms were clean with a very comfortable four poster bed, the staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant for dinner was fantastic. Would highly recommend and I would book again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Very welcoming staff, very tasty food, very scenic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A certain amount of refurbishment and decorating would likely make an already comfortable location even better.

    The staff are very helpful and friendly, the overall level of service by the staff at all times was excellent. Also the meals were of a very good standard. There is a good sized car park, and the location near the river Dove is just beautiful. There is plenty to see and enjoy nearby, or you can just take a nice long walk in the lovely countryside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    A very pleasant break in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we found, this time, was the lighting in the room wasn't brilliant. Although there were several lights placed around the room they weren't all that good for reading.

    Excellent hotel in such lovely surroundings. This was our second visit there and again we found it a really pleasant country hotel. Superb breakfasts and comfortable room - quiet for a restful break. Friendly, helpful hotel staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: