Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Jester Hotel 3 stars

116 Station Road, Baldock, SG7 5RS, United Kingdom

#3 of 5 hotels in Baldock

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 242 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unable to turn the hot tap on in the bathroom of our room also the remote for the tv was missing

    The mushrooms were lovely. The staff were very friendly .the food was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everytinng brilliant great location great people very helpful two minute from station to London great breakfast lovly garden area just a fantastic stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, very happy with our stay.

    Friendly welcome, simple booking in procedure. The hotel felt warm and cosy, all the staff created a good atmosphere. Plenty of free parking and great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room - Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very old and mouldy which not hygienic at all and the dining pub area smelt terribly of smoke fumes and stale beer. Not particularly pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been useful to have instructions on how to use the wall heater.

    Very clean room and bathroom and a comfortable bed. Good breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. Worth driving to the nearby village and exploring on foot as it is very picturesque.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bath Hot Tap was seized solid, Shower on/off handle missing, Towel Rail coming off the wall, light over bathroom mirror didn't work, beware Room 2

    The Food was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent - the accomodation, the staff and the food. The managers, Damien and Ceri were super friendly, helpful and made our stay extra enjoyable. The food was certainly plentiful and beautifully cooked and presented. We will definitely be going back for another short mini break soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was pretty basic and in need of an update The TV would come on at midnight all by itself My room was above the bar and I was disturbed by the noise from the bar. Unable to access the wifi

    The main reason for booking this hotel was the location. Breakfast was basic but they offer a good cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wi-Fi signal in the room was too poor to make it usable unfortunately, so I had to work in the bar, where the signal was stronger.

    The staff were very friendly and the food was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast availability too restricted. After dining out in the evening, breakfast between 7am and 8.30am came as a bit of a shock.

    Hotelier provided gluten free option at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor WiFi connection in rooms 1 to 5. No hot water for the bath due to the old boiler tripping out. Room 4 - Shower mixer handle missing and replaced with a M5 screw and tape. Shower still worked as it is on a different feed although some what uncontrollable. Sink hot tap ceased. No TV remote.

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, the room was very cold, as the electric radiator was off and a window was open. This wasn't nice, as we had to get changed for a few weeks wedding. The decor of the bedroom was a mixture of styles ranging from the 70s to the 00s, but not in any kind of designed way, so it simply looks like it has avoided proper renovation for several decades. The same goes for the sad state of the bathroom, with a wobbly door handle, cistern that takes 10 excruciatingly noisy minutes to refill, along with the the 10 excruciatingly noisy minutes of racket made by the decrepit extractor fan, which is so loud and disfunctional that when it was on the following morning I presumed a lorry or bus had pulled up outside - and that's absolutely true. The walls between the bedrooms are so thin that we were woken at 6am by the sound of the TV in the room next door. In summary, this hotel is worth about half the £85 we paid to stay the night.

    Friendly service and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was not very good.

    Clean and serviceable, well located for a nearby wedding. Staff let us check in early to be checked in before the ceremony, and allowed a friend of ours to check in late by leaving a key out for him.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is a bit tired and shabby. Think pub with rooms rather than Hotel. WiFi was down.

    Parking & proximity to train station. Staff were lovely at check in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very dated and worn. I booked the penthouse suite but was very disappointed as was just a bigger room with an old half-baked 4 poster bed. The room was very cold due to gaps in the window. No hot water in the bathroom sink. Shower had very little water pressure and smelled of damp and carpets were about 50 years old.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was good with nice menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a issue for me but friend who relies on Wi-Fi and it wasn't working. Bathroom could do with updating but useable and clean.

    Lovely building,log fire,spacious,lovely garden outlook from the conservatory at breakfast. Breakfast and evening meals were super freshly cooked. Lovely hosts and kindly accommodated me, asking for breakfast slightly earlier for the plans of the day. Room was clean,tidy and plenty of beverages to select from and topped up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is not in Baldock But In Osden 5 Miles away. Station Road Ashwell, not Station Road Baldock. As we were dining in Baldock in the evening we had to get a taxi at the cost of £15 each way. Perhaps Booking.com would refund me this money without the need for further request. Regarding the hotel we had only one bath towel between us and one hand towel, the small soap bottles were half used.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not powerful in fact very low pressure

    The food was very good both dinner and breakfast. The staff were very customer focused and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the rom was in need of repair resulting in a cold shower. Everything else was good.

    Location good, breakfast was excellent and hosts superb.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little tired - no lock on the bathroom door, couldn't get the shower to work so had a bath instead, & the diffuser on the hairdryer did not work. I know some rooms are much lovelier :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for two separate days. The first time was excellent ( room 5 ). Our second stay we had ( room 4 ) the mattress was appalling, we both had a very bad night, sleep was hard to come by.

    The staff were very good as was most of the facilities. Food was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a cold spell and the bedroom was cold on arrival but warmed up eventually, however the bathroom remained very cold.

    Friendly and convenient to visit family who live locally.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was comfortable, the room was warm but not stuffy. The bar had a nice real ale and a log fire. The staff was very friendly. The restaurant food was very good and seemed to specialise in sea food. We both tried their signature dish of smoked haddock on bubble and squeak and it was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful awful bed with ridiculous pillows that were about an inch thick. I had to request a hairdryer which we received but should be a basic room facility. Very overpriced I think for the condition of the rooms/beds but I believe they are in the process of redoing bedrooms.

    The breakfast was lovely with a good selection. Very basic toiletries in the room. I made staff aware in the morning how uncomfortable and sleepless night we had which they said they would look into.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot water was VERY hot - so it was impossible to use the shower!

    Staff were very friendly. It's a bit further from a town than we realised, and the car-park gets very full at times when the pub is busy. But we had a good relaxing time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only comments I would make was that there was no method of warming or keeping the croissants warm and the Wifi was not reliable

    The room was clean, bed comfortable and in-room coffee tea etc excellent. Staff very friendly and breakfast and evening meal were good with wide selection..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get free WiFi to work - but to be fair I didn't really need it (but should probably have told the front desk it was down)

    Staff very helpful - offered to iron my shirt rather than just provide an iron and also found and lent me a phone charger - as I'd forgotten mine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic a bit noisy at the front, I don't know whether additional glazing is a possibility?

    Quite simple, good service, good unpretentious cooking. Very convenient location if travelling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't happy about the stairs. The property was a bit dated and their was no reception desk and know one to greet us on arrival. Bathroom was very small, and wardrobes were short of coat hangers.

    Food was very good and reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good location for getting a taxi/ from / to... had to pay surcharges as we were "out of area" and there is no local taxi firm. Cost us £35 to travel to a wedding which was only 6 miles away!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the 3 rooms as two double and 1 twin - I put all names in for who would be staying in the room - the price came up as £65 per room including breakfast When checking out we were charged £80 per room - the host said it wasn't their fault that it was booked like that and would not honour the price quoted

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water too hot to put hands under - did report to the staff.

    Room was clean & tidy,plenty of room, Good range of teas,coffees etc on the tea tray.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom had no outside window - often the way. Breakfast routine needs reviewing; having to make own tea in cup rather than being given a pot; no jam, sugar available on table necessitated a constant walk to the central table.

    perfect location for my travels. hard to find (despite being there last!) but once there enjoyed the peace and solitude. Dinner good, drinks reasonably priced and room/bed very adequate for my needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Road is slightly noisey

    Very friendly helpful staff. Great breakfast with good choice. Food is good quality and priced reasonably. Any issue is dealt with immediately.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a hot day the bedroom was extremely uncomfortable with no option to cool it. A portable fan would have been useful.

    Friendly helpful staff and good food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    general air tiredness clunky TV with non-operating handset only one bedsidelight working sideboard top seen better days shower within bath, so slip risk. Small square of non-slip mat not really helpful charged for 3 days breakfast but was only there to eat one sausage and bacon kept hot too long, gone dry buffet selection not kept topped up, Coffee tepid. half an apple, orange or grapefruit difficult to manage and does not equate to fruit salad dreadful jam preserves paperthin doors with wonky lock does not inspire security Rail station is only a halt with occasional stopping trains that then do not always run, beware!

    the room furnishing and the diner were agreeable large room with generous furniture best looking plate of fullE Bkfast for sometime. powerful shower with at last good controls fluffy towels, yeah!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room - Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower could do with a bit more TLC.

    Breakfast cooked to order was very tasty! Comfy bed! 1-2 bottles of water in the room would be fantastic too! And a small fridge would have been a lifesaver, but no big deal, just thought I'd mention it. I recommend trying the Gin/Tonic. Go for the expensive variant with handpicked ingredients from the garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't look too happy in their roles, not being asked if everything was ok with my meal which was ok but not value for money at 14.95, room wasn't bad but felt it hadn't been cleaned properly or should I say hoovered correctly as carpet appeared to have bits on it, I didn't complain as was only there for the 1 night, no wifi was available despite being told it was, heard another guest complaining about that so not business friendly

    Nice Breakfast, bed comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast choice and decent menu for evening meal. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea at breakfast could be made in a pot instead of using warm water from coffee machine. Would have liked option of toast with breakfast.

    Made to feel welcome, excellent meal and staff good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the taps looked like they could do with renewing, and the downstairs loo could do with being refurbished.

    Very comfortable bed. Beautiful garden. Lovely quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En- suite bathroom was a bit tired. No hot water at the sink, toilet took 25 minutes to refill and the shower was missing a handle making it very difficult to operate. Had to boil the kettle to have a shave.

    Good location, good food and very friendly, capable staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one minor thing: there was a missing window stay in our room (room 4) meaning we couldn't keep the main window open at night so it got very hot. We reported this the next day and I expect it's a very quick thing to resolve.

    Very accommodating landlord who organised secure bike storage. My cycling friends (who had cycled a very long way to get there, as part of a multi day ride) arrived right at the end of the food service window, but the staff ensured they got some well needed meals on their arrival! Rooms were clean and a good choice made-to-order breakfast options.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed here before 2 to 3 years ago, which is why I selected it. It changed hands earlier this year but quality has been maintained. They were full. Its quite noisy, cars speeding down country road outside, and commuter trains at nearby station, again as previously. It goes quiet around mid night. Old fashioned establishment could do with some TLC, but don't spoil the character.

    I arrived late(ish) at 8.15. Checked in promptly and offered meal straight away. (They finish serving at 9 pm). No problem food was good ,hot and very appetizing. Breakfast was good - full English. Establishment is good english country pub. After a long drive I slept like a log.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a hot day snd night and the room was unbearable. Left in day soaked in sweat and didn't sleep a wink. Asked for a fan ( a cheap item !!) which should be standard for upstairs under the roof rooms in summer- discustingly none available

    Breakfast and service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Air Conditioning. Very dated rooms. Noisy railway station near, along with rooms on the main road, so if the trains did not wake you the traffic would.

    It was OK. Nothing special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very warm, and because room was very warm we had to have the windows open which resulted in a lot of traffic noise. Evening meal fantastic but breakfast nothing special.

    Excellent location for visiting our family and Duxford, and staff very friendly, and helpful. Rooms very good and very clean. Evening meals excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the whole stay was excellent

    the staff were excellent, very friendly and very professional, my son turned up at the hotel with us as he was going to get changed there before the wedding we were attending, there was a double and a single bed in our room, even though we had only booked for two people, ten minutes after we arrived, hotel staff arrived at our room with extra sheets, another mug and more tea and coffee sachets, we explained that there would only be the two of us staying in the room, there was no tension, no questions as to why he was there, have had a similar occurrence in a different hotel where the manager was immediately in my face telling me that we should have booked a suite, or two rooms...... in this day and age it is nice to have management and staff who don't just jump to the wrong conclusion. Breakfast was included in the price, it consisted of the usual fare of cereals, fruit, yogurts, tea, coffee, orange juice etc and the traditional full English..... with toast and fried bread, and was delicious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were older in style but clean. I could not get the wifi to work in my room but it was fine in the pub area.

    Very good value. Double power socket next to the bed so you can charge a phone and laptop at the same time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing; all in keeping with the price.

    We had business in Royston and this was convenient both for our business and for meeting others from the area for a good evening meal. Despite being close to the railway station it was quiet and we were not disturbed by the trains. Price and service was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice quiet location, easily accessible from the A505 with train station nearby. Very helpful staff and motorcyclist friendly. Traditional pub / Inn with traditional British menu. Well maintained facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Premises stated bar was open until 2300 on return after family meal at 2245 it was closed, and no option was given for any sort of refreshment either soft or alcohol

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi was not available in our room, it didn't prove to be a huge issue but it was slightly inconvenient at times.

    The staff were very friendly and the food was cooked beautifully.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff couldn't do enough for us from trying to get us the cheapest taxi fare for our evening at a wedding to the great food and drinks the night before great little hotel and nice little breakfast in the morning included

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trains going passed every half hour at night sounding there horn 😟😟😟😟,and the tv we could only get the news,and no other channel

    The food was fantastic,nice fresh crisp bedding,,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no croissants. The room was clearly geared towards work men. The light was dreadful for using the computer. The shower flooded the bathroom Although the bed was ok you could feel the springs

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating The hotel did food The food was fine

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge and other common areas small and closed early, before midnight

    Sunday dinner was welcome and our late arrivals also got serves, even though it was close to end of time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in urgent need of redecoration, especially the ensuite bathrooms. The proximity to the train station and state of the bedroom windows means trains are audible.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    overall the hotel was pleaseant however the facilities poor its needs sky tv or at least the tv to be on in the bar area wifi was very at the location which makes things difficult. And I would like to have a breakfast menu to select from instead of ladies asking you what you want as soon as you walk through the door

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room - Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en suite shower room was very small but adequate in room 9.

    Evening meal and breakfast very well cooked. Very pleasant conservatory overlooking well kept garden.Charming staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A front door key that didn't open the front door. A very uncomfortable bed in Room 1

    peaceful location. Large rooms and very clean Staff very pleasant and helpful. Food was good with an extensive menu and good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe ones a double room and was put in a four poster bedroom. The hotel tried to charge extra for he privilege. If I hadn't have checked my booking email I would have been charged. No bath just a shower.

    The bed was very comfy and breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room - Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was difficult to find in the dark particularly as the sat nav told me it was located in a field over two miles from its actual location.

    The welcome was very good, evening meal excellent though there was a limited range of options. Breakfast was served promptly and cooked well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom fittings were beginning to show their age and a little stiff to operate the sink taps.

    Cooked breakfast exactly how I like it. The matress on the bed and tog factor and weight of the quilt were exactly what I needed to get a good night's sleep. Beds were lovely with clean white sheets and towels.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i could not find anything that i was unhappy with

    The place was very nice, clean and well equipped, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the bar was a nice relaxed place to have a drink and order food, the room was clean with a nice bed and bathroom etc

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the Jesters is next to the railway station and on a busy main road which is noisy if you have a room facing the road. These things can't be helped.

    Good pub / hotel in the Herts countryside not located near Royston and Cambridge. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The bar / restaurant is really good. Good selection of drinks and the home cooked food was excellent. A vast selection from the menu and specials, excellent food. Staff are courteous and friendly in a family atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a single complaint from the 3 of us

    Good quiet location but easy to find.Young very friendly staff.Not over crowded even on Saturday night. Super breakfast well cooked local food.Nice sausage.Nice evening meal at a very reasonable price.Tab clear what each thing cost.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room - Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast poor choice if you didn't want a cooked breakfast there were no yoghurts, no fresh or stewed fruit. In fact no continental breakfast at all.. Useless handset with T.V.

    Friendly staff Large Bed and Room Towels and bed linen excellent Good parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had some difficulty finding the place without satnav although the owner was helpful on the phone

    friendly and helpful staff. gave us another gratis drink when my nine year old promptly sent hers flying....

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More choice for cooked breakfast, only full english offered. Rooms were fairly noisy as close to railway station

    staff were friendly and helpful. Evening menu varied and well cooked. Full english breakfast well cooked.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was lumpy and very uncomfortable. The furniture and fittings need updating.

    The staff were friendly and the hotel was clean. The food was good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit chaotic at check in, would have got off to a better start if the person checking us in was more experienced. Rooms very warm, would have benefited from air conditioning or cooling fan.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit out of the way. Need car to go to nearest wee village.it does have a train station handy which some people could use.

    Food was lovely and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was warm - hot we find a doona too hot on the bed, would sooner just have a blanket, or a fan supplied.

    There was plenty to eat, had a good choice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accommodation a little dated but current owners haven't been there long so hopeful that this would be improved in the future. Rooms also very hot (but a very hot weekend).

    The owners and staff were very friendly and good hosts. Food was excellent and good value. Perfect location for our visit to Duxford Imperial War Museum

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: