Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Kelvin Guest House This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

9 Madeira Place, Kemptown, Brighton & Hove, BN2 1TN, United Kingdom

#37 of 67 B&Bs and inns in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 118 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely little B & B in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative we found was the breakfast room was a little on the cramped side, but the food was delicious.

    Nice, clean, modern hotel right in the center of Brighton - I couldn't ask for more. The staff were exceptionally friendly too & gave us a nice welcome upon our arrival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable room, friendly host and great brekky in a top location (albeit at times a little noisy)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With the convenient location you sacrifice some peace and quiet. Our room faced the street and you could hear everything happening outside through the single glazed windows; this was loud on a Sat night but not so bad on a Sunday. Perhaps bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper staying over a weekend! No fridge in room and no access to one in the breakfast room, which would have been nice.

    I think we had a superior room which was spacious and comfortable with a small sea view. Shower was good, breakfast was excellent, and the host was very friendly and accommodating. Brilliant location for seafront and most attractions. Lods of cafes, restaurants and small supermarkets nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    7.5
    The cooked breakfast was very good,the room was very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is only street parking with no spaces nearby - could do with warning guests not to expect to park near the guesthouse. Bed was a bit soft, and we had to pay an upgrade to get an ensuite.

    The cooked breakfast was very good,the room was very clean and nicely done, if small. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.6
    Our Stay At The Homely Guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Probably just the awkward parking. But there is an excellent reliable car park round the corner.

    I liked that you have your own space and privacy and also your own shower in your room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very warm but once radiator was turned off this was not a problem.

    Lovely welcome & comfortable rooms. Quality breakfast & nothing too much trouble. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.5
    Wish we booked for 2 nights instead of 1 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was abit tight.

    Lovely friendly greeting on arrival. Bed was super comfy and the room was nice and warm at night. Lovely breakfast too. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shared toilet (my fault as I did not read properly when booking)

    The location was great as it is pretty much in front of the sea front. Staff was very nice and helpful. Te room was clean. Breakfast offered a choice which was good, shame the scrambled eggs were microwaved but mushrooms and toast were lovely. Our remote needed new batteries and they were provided very quickly. Early check out wasn't a problem

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    8.8
    Ideal for me this weekend. Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet and shower not en suite and upstairs. Light switches for stairs are not backlit so if lights switch off (as they are on an energy saving timer) it is not easy to find the wall switch and I nearly fell down stairs having failed to locate a wall switch.

    Fantastic location, genuinely friendly and good natured staff and it was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    8.3
    Good location, near from train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, from our room we heard noises from other rooms. The WiFi connection was not good.

    Good location, near from train station. Comfort bed. Excellent breakfast. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    5.8
    Good location, upstairs room would have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However being in the downstairs triple room it was impossible to sleep. The constant banging / rattling of the front door; conversations in the doorway and the noisy neighbours meant that no sleep was to be had! Privacy was also a problem - the toilet door has a 10cm gap underneath it!

    Amazing location for the property, and room a great size. Welcome polite and timely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    10
    Nice little stay in Brighton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little small but no biggie, breakfast was OK

    Nice tidy room - comfy bed - shower was great - fantastic location, close to various shops restaurants and the beach, Patrick (the owner) was very pleasant & helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.2
    Pleasure and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was spotless the breakfast was made to order good products and the two young ladies on duty where smiley and chatty they are a asset to Patrick and Teresa will definitely stay here again and recommend this b&b

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.2
    Top marks for location and host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Triple En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Superb location. Stayed here for Pride weekend and we were bang in the middle of the street party. Great host - Patrick is super friendly and helpful. Good breakfast in the morning as well which was much needed!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location (if not travelling by car)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a long way up several flights of stairs to one of our rooms.

    The girl serving breakfast was a welcome start to each day - cheery and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    9.2
    Great B&B, does what it says on the tin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room is quite small and can get a bit too warm during summer evenings. I was there in July on a very sunny weekend.

    I really enjoyed staying at the Kelvin Guest House. Patrick is a delight, very friendly and helpful, with a great sense of humour. He sure knows how to make you feel welcome. I warmly recommend this place, it's brilliant for a couple of nights in Brighton, very close to the Palace pier and located in lively Kemptown.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    6.3
    Fine, but for the price we would have expected something more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because it was a busy weekend, the price was high for a very average guest house like this.

    The rooms are small but clean, the owners really nice and helpful, breakfast is fine and the location is very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    9.2
    The location was very central and the staff very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King or Twin room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were a bit thin and you could hear the person next door clearly. It didn't bother us much but I bet our snoring bothered him.

    The location was very central and the staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    8.8
    The proprietor was super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Because it was a busy weekend, parking was a bit challenging. If driving, be prepared to arrive early or park several blocks up the hill. The neighbourhood was a bit loud in the evening, but we had our window open.

    The proprietor was super friendly and helpful. The room was bright and clean. Obviously, the property is very close to the beach and all kinds of great little cafes and restaurants. I wasn't able to grab the breakfast, but my husband says the eggs and toast were fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    9.6
    GIRLIE BIRTHDAY CELEBRATIONS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an issue with a broken toilet but wasn't too much of a negative as we were able to use the facilities in another room until it was fixed the same day.

    The location of the Kelvin was excellent as only a few minutes walk from main attractions, shops, bars and restaurants. Patrick was a lovely host, couldn't do enough for us , supplying us with extra towels when needed and a vegetarian breakfast wasn't a problem, hot and plentiful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small bathroom sink was cracked and leaked water when you filled it up and the bedroom carpet was stained the curtains didnt fit the Windows

    Location was good and the staff where helpful and freindly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2016

    10
    Four in a bed style - We would give 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only issue we had was NOT the fault of the guest house ... Booking.com had not passed on our change of dates (made only an hour after the initial booking). Huge credit to Patrick and the team for getting us sorted with minimal fuss

    Patrick and the team were so absolutely amazing!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    5.0
    Daylight robbery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid £406 for 2 x nights for 2 x adults and one 13 year old child mid-August. Our room was on the ground floor next to the main entrance to the hotel. The bedroom and bathroom were tired and dirty. The furniture and fittings poorly maintained. Very disappointing. The windows and bedroom door rattled when cars drove past on the street and when people used the front door coming in and out of the hotel. You should not pay a premium for this room regardless of the time of year. The quality of the room and the quality of the experience was well below average. We only ate breakfast on the first morning because the quality of the food was poor. We left the hotel feeling robbed. Our experience may have been extremely different if we had paid half of what we paid because our expectations would have been lower. We would definitely like a refund for some or all of the cost.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2016

    10
    Best B & B in Brighton
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King or Twin room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were friendly and welcoming. This is the nicest b and b that I have stayed in. Would highly recommend. Breakfast was superb. Very happy atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.3
    the breakfast was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    my room was in the 4th floor without any wifi connection and no air conditioner or a fan.

    the breakfast was awesome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant no-frills B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King or Twin room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress was uncomfortable and needed replacing.

    Pleasant staff, clean room and bathroom, quiet location at night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Great for a weekend bre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    5.8
    Good location,delicious breakfast but the services (housekeeping of the room)could have been better.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dirty,I was expecting at least a clean room for the high price I paid for the very small room.

    Amazing breakfeast and good staf.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    Marathon weekend spent in a great location with really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Clean friendly guest house in an excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Kelvin and co., many thanks for your hospitality. I'll surely come back. Best of luck!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.2
    Very clean hotel in a great location and with super friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean hotel in a great location and with super friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    It was super clean and very welcome atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple En Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was super clean and very welcome atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    10
    Very clean and an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King or Twin room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and an ideal location. Close to town and quite at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    6.7
    Good Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    Relaxed warm and good atmosphere by the beach with a great breakfast in a beautiful home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The room was lovely very clean and homely Patrick our host was very hospital and catered to our every need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.2
    Clean, convenient and friendly. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King or Twin room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff, the cleanliness was of a really high standard too. Great location also. Thanks Patrick.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi-fi did not work

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit of noise from the street but didn't disturb us

    Big bed and central location. That's it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.6
    We booked at the last minute but it was very easy to do so and the staff were very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from bedroom just on to backs of other properties.

    Very convenient located close to pier and centre of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant & enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not having a toilet in the room

    The service from the owners

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    10
    Great place great hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Good hospitality

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.3
    The shower,the breakfast and freedom of movement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower,the breakfast and freedom of movement.Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    7.1
    Staff was lovely and the location is fairly central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms and beds are tiny and it was very noisy.

    Staff was lovely and the location is fairly central.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff who did their best to make my stay...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff who did their best to make my stay pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    9.6
    Fab guest house with amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King or Twin room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy outside on the streets

    Very very friendly staff. Great breakfast - comfy bed!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.6
    Fun times in Brighton
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    5.8
    good for a quick visit but not for a long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very expensive for the property

    cental brighton

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    6.3
    Location good,hosts welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced

    Location good,hosts welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2016

    8.3
    Nice welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    9.2
    Excellent B&B Would recommend to friends and family
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Recommend that you make the stair lights automatic - sensitive control

    My own shower

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    10
    Many thanks
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Thank you very much. You made feel us like we were home :) See you our next trip.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2016

    8.8
    Good location and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Patrick and the breakfast staff were all lovely and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Brighton!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room didn't have have its own toilet and the breakfast could've been better.

    Great location and a very friendly greeting!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    7.9
    friendly staff great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms a little small but everything you needed

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    7.5
    Good location and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs

    Good location and parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    7.9
    Very good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the day of departure I could leave my luggage at the hotel until late afternoon.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    8.3
    Great! Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pleasant stay - helpful and pleasant staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2016

    10
    We stayed at The Kelvin when we were running the Brighton...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at The Kelvin when we were running the Brighton Marathon and we really enjoyed our stay here. The owner was very pleasant and very welcoming, he couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was lovely and the location was great, 5 minute walk to the pier & across the road from the finish line. The room was very clean and spacious which was enough for the two of us. The whole of the guest house was very clean and tidy, we would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2016

    8.8
    Room was comfortable, clean and in a vibrant part of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I can't think of anything.

    Room was comfortable, clean and in a vibrant part of a lively city. Patrick and staff are charming, polite and extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2016

    10
    First and foremost the excellent Host Patrick, who went the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    There was absolutely nothing about the B&B that I didn't like

    First and foremost the excellent Host Patrick, who went the extra mile. The room although small was really cosy and spotless. Breakfast was excellent and piping hot! Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2016

    8.3
    Great location for finish line of marathon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing in particular. I'd use B&B again if I was back in Brighton. It was a tad pricey but that's understandable given it was marathon weekend.

    Great location for finish line of marathon. This was main reason I chose thus B&B. Also good location for pier and wheel. Staff super friendly.

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2016

    7.5
    Excellent location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stains on the bed sheets and chair covers, no sockets near mirror, vanity light missing in the bathroom, cheap sausages at breakfast, overpriced.

    Excellent location and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2015

    7.9
    Staff were lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stairs were narrow and never lit which made it very awkward to get up and down to our room. Bathroom was tiny and the drains were very slow, however the actual bathroom was perfectly clean.

    Staff were lovely! Great location. Very clean. New towels each day.

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2015

    9.6
    The guest house was situated 5 minutes from the pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The kettle needed repacing in our room i asked if they would replace it but it was not.

    The guest house was situated 5 minutes from the pier. The staff were helpful & friendly. The bed was cozy & the breakfasts were nice.

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower units need updating, ours had a broken head rest which meant that it did not stay upright and it had little power to the water flow.

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming. It is a great central location, the room was very comfortable and functional for a short break stay.

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    7.5
    Nice light airy room on front of house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to wait an hour when we arrived before we could get to our room. Breakfast quite poor compared to other B&Bs we've been to, which charged less! Window in our room was in dire need of attention as was partially falling to bits.

    Nice light airy room on front of house. Helpful staff and friendly owner.

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    9.6
    Just a short walk from the station and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The hotel walls were so thin, could hear an argument one side and love making on the other! Oh, and if your single you will get this which you will have to go upstairs to the loo and shower!

    Just a short walk from the station and shops. Great location!

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2015

    5.4
    Breakfast was lovely, staff were so friendly and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms too small and dont book the top rooms whatever you do they are just not suitable for hiring. Overpriced. Could do with a real over haul. Outside needs done up. I feel bad saying this as owners were lovely but just not worth the money.

    Breakfast was lovely, staff were so friendly and helpful, location great.

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2015

    7.5
    The staff were very nice, location was perfect right near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had no signal on the telly and cudnt connect to the wifi x

    The staff were very nice, location was perfect right near everything overall very good place to stay

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2015

    7.1
    The staff were amazing, very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV had 3 channels, which didn't always work as the signal was bad. The wifi barely connected. The picture make the rooms look bigger when in fact it was tiny.

    The staff were amazing, very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely, bed was comfy and the place was clean.

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2015

    4.6
    The staff left to look after breakfast tried their best.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Read the small print. You need to phone the Kelvin in order to gain entrance. Once you have your key you are on your own. Apart from breakfast service there is no-one around. This is called a guest house for a reason. It's basic and cramped. Do not expect hotel standard facilities. Should have a 2 star rating. If you want your own shower then check - it may be on the next floor!

    The staff left to look after breakfast tried their best.

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2015

    9.6
    Was a great base for exploring Brighton for a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of stairs, so if you aren't very good with stairs you may need to request a lower level room.

    Was a great base for exploring Brighton for a great price. Bed was comfy, breakfast was good and place was clean and tidy. Ticked all our boxes.

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2015

    8.3
    The locations was nice, the staff were really happy and made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were very small but if your going to be out all the time then it doesn't matter.

    The locations was nice, the staff were really happy and made us feel welcome.

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2015

    10
    Great room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Walls were a little thin at times :-)

    Great room and bathroom. Location was great - short walk to the pier, beach, Pavillion and The Lanes. Was really clean and comfortable. Staff were really welcoming.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: