Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Kelvin Hotel

Shore Street, Oban, PA34 4LQ, United Kingdom

#11 of 19 hotels in Oban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 678 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the facilities in the room were not working such as most of the light fittings (in fact in the bedroom only the bedside lamps were working). It would have been nice if the hotel bar was open a little later. We returned just after 11pm to find it closed (we would have liked a night cap).

    Great location, being right in the centre of town. Good standard for the star rating. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for a mirror no mirror for drying hair and no hot water in sink

    Very handy if catching an early ferry. Lady wasn’t very helpful re parking which is just across road but young man in bar was more knowledgeable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been parking . It cost an extra five pounds a day to park across from the hotel , IF YOU COULD FIND A SPACE.There was no hot breakfast in the morning. I would have to pay an extra five pounds per guest to get an continental breakfast.

    The bed was alright but not great .The hotel was near the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing I did not like

    Stayed overnight left before breakfast. Very near ferry terminal. staff extremely nice, all in all a very suitable place for use, would definitely book again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather run down looking from the front of the property. £100 and no breakfast seems a little expensive to me.

    Lovely huge comfy bed. Very friendly staff and gorgeous wee dog

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on line make the facility look nicer than it is. There is a bit of a smoking odor through the building and in general the Kelvin could use some work.

    Relatively convenient to town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right across from the Ferry Terminal so not the best view unless you’re my husband who loves boats, Ferries and ships. Shower was hard to regulate.

    Convenience to the main shopping village with cafes. Lovely baptist church behind the building where you can meet the locals, so warm and friendly. Clean room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the showers went from freezing to boiling, if it was a £60 a night hotel it would have been fine at £135 a night its a rip off

    the image of the hotel on booking.com is not representative of how tired it looks - only some of the rooms have been modernised

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to carry suitcase up stairs. However, when I asked, someone did it for me, so that turned out okay.

    It’s cost compared to other hotels in area and closeness to train, ferry and town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing the service and atmosphere where amazing

    Staff where outstanding loved the family vibe to the kelvin and rooms where amazing would recommend the hotel to anybody. The beds are the comfiest beds I've slept in from any hotel we've visited which is a few. Will defo be back 10/10

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No option of a cooked breakfast, buffet style continental only, no parking facilities.

    Old building but maintained well and spotlessly clean, good shower facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kelvin eas clean, comfortable and staff where pleasent. The hotel is close to train station and harbour but there wasnt much noise from either places that would anoy you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only Continental breakfast available at extra cost Toilet wasn’t easy to flush

    Comfortable bed and good sized family room Location was good for town centre and parking was a bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an older building and there has been some water ingress eg the light well and above the door in my room. Didn’t affect my stay however.

    Friendly staff and welcoming dog, comfortable old style small hotel a short walk from Oban town centre. The hotel is directly opposite the ferry port and train station with long stay parking across the road from the hotel. Rooms are clean, fresh with tea making and hair drying facilities and en suite bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No frills but if you're looking for a clean comfy room in good location [2 minutes to ferry, town centre, restaurants] then this is for you. Friendly staff, room/bathroom cleaned everyday, fresh towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was perhaps a bit too expensive for what was on offer i.e. no breakfast and noisy in the morning with the ferry leaving. Nevertheless, I would definitely visit there again.

    Comfortable rooms with views at the ferry terminal and the sea beyond. The lady that checked us in was lovely and very helpful when I asked her about parking and breakfast. The friendly dog was a bonus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot food , no hair dryer .room was cold .heater in the shower room did not work. For the price the place was old and worn .next to ferry termal

    the location / was near city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run done, smelt of smoke downstairs and felt a bit unloved. This is all ok if it was cheap but not for what we paid for the night which was £145 for a room. I think we paid a premium because it was Easter and there wasn’t much choice in Oban even though we booked well in advance

    Friendly staff and close to ferry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ten pound per dog per night, despite our 8.30pm check in and 4am departure. Also not so responsive to phone calls/ emails... only told us about dog charges after cancellation was going to cost us. However, very friendly, clean and convenient place

    Dog friendliness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast due to out of season visit. Rather small although acceptable room; cold room on arrival.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Great view of harbour and convenient location for ferry. Although no restaurant, there were plenty of cheap, good quality places very near by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No response to my question whether there might be a bath available. No breakfast. Have you changed the computer information now?

    There wasNO breakfast available despite your information that there would be. Your member of staff did suggest that I should go out and the hotel would pay, but that wasn't possible

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no one there to check in or out. No breakfast was offered. The hotel is in need of an upgrade. No parking available, had to use pay and display across the road.

    The staff were friendly. The room was clean and they allowed dogs. Bed was comfortable and got a good night sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner wasn’t very welcoming. Teenagers unable to use the bar facilities with us to play cards. No parking. No lighting outside. Continental breakfast was available at a charge but we were basically told to eat elsewhere - which we done

    Beds comfy but that was about all the comfort we experienced

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some redecorating paint flaking off ceiling & damp patches, doesn’t look nice from outside which could also do with a paint. Also with the price of the room you would have thought it would include breakfast! We traveled with an other couple who booked a hotel at half the price of this one & was fantastic inside & out

    Central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location...

    Over all we only stayed 1 night it was clean and comfortable only negative point I would say it was a bit impersonation no reception got our key from the girl in the bar......she was the only we saw and spoke to...x

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    Excellent value for money. Rooms were clean and well appointed for a budget hotel. Continental breakfast in the morning was fine and at £5 a head, good value. The bar was lively in the evening with a mix of guests and locals using it. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and attentive and made you feel very much at home. On the parking issue, there is a metered carpark just across the road which I used on days 2 and 3 of our stay. On arrival day I parked on the street in a disabled space (we have a disability card) but my on board computer indicated that someone had attempted to break into the vehicle overnight. I'm more than happy to recommend this hotel for location, amenities and service levels better than I've experienced at many so called 4* properties.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view but that was not a problem - I only stay one or two nights. No lift, but I was helped with my case.

    Great value, very friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable. Basic facilities were perfectly adequate, bed great, plenty of hot water and a bath rather than a shower on request. Ideal for the ferry too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No view, no problem for me though. No lift but I was helped with my case.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. Bath instead of shower on request for the return visit from the islands. Very convenient for the ferry and great café at the ferry terminal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view but that wasn't a problem. No lift but I was given help with my case.

    Friendly helpful staff . Clean and comfortable. Value for money. Any little issue I mentioned eg preferring a bath to a shower was taken into account when I stayed again on my return journey -23rd and 24th. There's also a new ferry terminal café which I really recommend a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old fashioned, feels 'dour' and like the place needs a bit of positive energy injection!

    Did not bother with breakfast and would have cost extra

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area very run down. breakfast offered was cereal and bread to toast (called continental) Staff not very friendly or helpful Room very small although very clean in general too expensive for what we got N ot impressed by accommodation or Oban

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that a cooked breakfast was no longer available, this had always been good in the past.

    Convenient location to the ferry, railway and local amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostess and helper were friendly and very helpful. The hotel is old - advertised itself as minutes from the train station, but only as the crow flies I think. However, I was impressed by the cleanliness of the room....and staff responded immediately to a question or two.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a 5 minutes walk to the Ferry terminal and the sea. Some of the rooms have sea view (or Ferry fiew, if the Ferry is parked there. Just across the road is a big parking space, where you can park a whole day for 6 Pounds. The rooms are small, but for a night OK. Pub in the Hotel downstairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on the desk had a really bad attitude. Unfriendly welcome to the hotel. Rooms where stuffy and you couldnt open the windows

    Nothing about the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower doors didn't close completely and it get the bathroom a bit flooded (nothing really serious). I was missing some drawers to put my clothes but for two days staying there not really a concern. The area is probably not the better one in Oban.

    Really quiet place. Really nice staff and helpful. Room was very small but very clean with all stuff necessary in a hotel room. The room also had heating working prefectly and shower was clean and working prefectly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic hotel but comfortable and clean. Did follow all I do in previous postings (checkin at bar, park across street...) and had no issues, easy process

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and furniture were dated. The shower was very weak and the bathroom had no towel rails or anything to hang robes etc from....

    The room was a reasonable size, it was relatively quiet. It was clean. The continental breakfast which we paid extra for was good value for money. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all fine for me.

    Good location, friendly staff and nice clean room, much better than the bigger tour bus hotels in the area at about the same price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel exterior was tired and dated and so was the interior. Bathroom toilet seat broken. Just needs a bit of investment and bringing up to date in terms of decor and facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower temperature was either too hot or too cold could not get it to a comfortable temperature.

    Check-in was quick. Staff was nice. Nice new beds and bedding in room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been great to have a small fridge or the option of some food space...

    The location was great for the Oban Ferry terminal and a quick walk into town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator. Other than that, very comfortable stay.

    Owner was ever so friendly! She made us feel right at home. We had drinks in the pub downstairs a couple of nights. Was afraid beforehand that rooms might be noisy because of the pub, but was no problem at all! Location was perfect, within walking distance of everything to do and see in Oban.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no breakfast included in the price, was offered continental @£5 per head.. wetherspoons just round the corner, not to be missed, full breaky for £3.50 squeaky floorboards on the landings bedroom with rear view, looking at weeded garden not so nice, window was difficult to open dog barking during the night. disturbed sleep not good when you have children with you limited hanging space, no drawers

    Location of hotel was very handy for the ferry terminal, less than 5 minute walk. 24hr parking just across the road @ £5 was excellent value, if you can get a space, tends to empty after 6pm. nice restaurants within walking distance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the ferry terminal. Only convenient if you need to get up really early to get the ferry. No need for an alarm clock as the announcements for the ferry wake you up. No parking onsite.

    Oban is a nice town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a shoe box, the bathroom barely usable, the window only stayed open when a coat This was the worst value "hotel" of my trip.

    Reception staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Family room with king and twin bed two flights up. While there was a decent amount of floor area, lot of ceiling “slanted” so care required when moving around the room so you didn't hit your head. Décor so-so, plain. Walls and ceiling of stairwell going up to room had damage (cracks and peeling paint). Carpet worn. No breakfast included in price. Problem: housing of the instant hot water heater for shower was cracked and coming apart, which seemed like an electrical hazard to us. When we passed on word about our concerns, the response we got was that they checked it and “it worked.”

    GREAT LOCATION: short walk to ferry terminal and train station. Paid parking right across street from hotel (5 GBP/day); convenient Tesco grocery store 10 minute walk away. Lots of restaurant choices nearby; floor area of family room larger than usual; fixings for tea, electric kettle and bottled water provided in room; view of the water and ferry terminal from the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't really have anything that I disliked

    Nice friendly staff. Room very clean and continental breakfast very good. Friendly little bar. Well situated for shopping and eating out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parcel tape holding latch to bathroom door. Broken tiles in bathroom. Shower rail falling down Curtain thin and white so light at 5 am. £175 for room only. Room so cramped with beds hard to walk around

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent near dock and town facilities. 24 hour parking L5 across road convenient. Carry own cases. Simple breakfast available. Enjoyed our stay and would choose again if in area. Good value if using ferries.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice clean Hotel, but not worth what we had to pay for the room. Breakfast was not included in price either. Car Park across road which you have to pay for as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was way, way overpriced for what you got. Beds were uncomfortable, and there was no room to move. The whole hotel was loud and creaky, which did not make for a comfortable night's sleep. There weren't even hooks in the bathroom to hang a towel. Breakfast wasn't even included at £160/night.

    Location was great for train, ferry and Oban town Centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOT FOR PUBLICATION. £50 was somewhat pricey for the hotel and the £5 for the breakfast should have been included we felt. Pls could the lady in charge, the night of our stay, be willing to show anyone like me, a receipt or the copy of the email she said she had sent to me 2 days before,when she quite correctly took the money to pay for 2 single rooms? Unfortunately, I have received no email from the Kelvin Hotel,so have no record until I get my credit card bill next month! To not see a receipt or copy email is, I believe, incorrect , according to trading principles.

    TO BOOKING.COM THESE ARE NOT FOR PUBLICATION!!! The stairs are curved and impossible to get up with luggage,BUT there was a nice young man on duty in the morning to take luggage down and he kindly took ours as far as our car(outside and across the road. Thanks. The previous evening the luggage was willingly taken up by a young lady.Also thanks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Allocated room 3 at back of hotel so there was no noise or disturbance. Ideal base for visiting the Islands and Fort William.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast Had to pay for parking in a car park across the road

    Very nice hotel very welcoming plenty of space in room and the most comfortable bed ive ever slept in

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive but I was on my own and the room had a double bed and two singles - only room available and a continental breakfast was an extra £5.

    Good location for train station & harbour front.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not value for money. .there was no shower gel or soap. We asked for this and got reply that we will get it from house keeping staff. house keeping cupboard is locked so I won't get shower gel untill next day morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't find any!

    The hotel is located next to the train station and within 5 min walking distance to the high street of Oban. Surprisingly rated as 1* on Booking.com, the hotel is by all mean above 1*. The room is spacious, comfort, and clean. The hotel bar gives you the sense of locality and friendly atmosphere, although there were not so many people in the bar when we stayed there. I think it is in a superb location for those who need to catch the ferry early in the morning because you can see it coming or starts your operation from your room. The ferry terminal is 5 min walk from the hotel as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    You're missing a trick with the coffee! Come on, with a few tweaks to the machine it could actually taste like coffee1

    The staff excelled themselves in friendliness and helpfulness. The location is excellent for the trains and the ferry.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sink in the bathroom was to close to the wall, so you had to stand at an angle to get washed. The heated towel rail did not work and was only there to hang your towels on, even thou it was wired up to an electrical wall socket. The shower was not save to use, the bottom of the bath did not have a non slip surface, and there were no hand rails on the wall around the bath, so to get out of it after having a shower, required a careful mover.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall was there was no lift as my mother is in her 80s.

    Only bed only.staff very helpful,rooms were ready earlier than checkin,so didnt have to wait to get in room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were at least 6 large flies buzzing around our room when we came in. It look us about 30 minutes to get rid of them all.

    There is a lovely dog named Keith who welcomes you when you first come in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Infrastructure of hotel interior old-fashioned and clearly aged

    An old property in a very convenient location for the ferry terminal (and railway station). Bedrooms have been tastefully decorated but it is clearly an old hotel with creaky floorboards and other features of aged properties. Not a problem but detracts from the overall style of the hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, perfectly adequate for our purposes (an overnight stop before taking the ferry to Tiree). WiFi worked reasonably well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On booking was told to be on second floor with sloping roofs ,stayed in them few years back,, better rooms abd better view bit was given first floor room a wee bit small for my liking but did not complain as room was nice.

    Good location,friendly staff and locals in the bar, relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast ends at 9am :(

    Great helpfull staff, confortable beds and clean bedroom/bathroom, nice breakfast, short walk to the ferry terminal and train station (5 min)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better windows i.e without drafts heating in the bathroom would have been welcome also could have done without several blue bottles flying around.

    The Australian receptionist was very helpful and very freiendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Does not offer value for money

    This is a clean if basic property and the staff are very friendly. I used this property for ease to ferry terminal for early morning start. The Kelvin is an old property that is showing its age but not everyone wants the modern generic property offered by chain of hotels.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Think it might of been me not reading the review but there was no breakfast or evening meals so I had to rely on the town everyday. Again an oversight by me but was a shame would have prefered cooked meals

    cleanliness was good and access to station and town was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom did not have a lock on the door but we were in a family room so that may be wise.

    The staff were very friendly. The room was clean, the beds comfy and it is near the train station and ferry terminal which is great for visiting the Western Isles. Also it is traditional pub hotel with board games and snooker etc in the bar which the kids loved.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What not to like. All good for me.

    Excellent welcome from staff at the bar who were acting as reception. When asked about a cooked breakfast they advised me that Wetherspoons restaurant was only a short walk away and that they opened from 7am. This was valuable to my early start. The hotel did offer a continental breakfast which I declined. I had a view of the ferry terminal and sea area. The car park opposite was only the road width away, was free from 6pm to 9 am. I would definitely use this hotel again for any of my fishing trips. The price for my needs was relatively cheap and value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Very comfortable, clean accommodation, staff very friendly and welcoming. Location extremely convenient for ferry and town centre alike. Locals in lounge bar also friendly which was lovely. A range of board games and books available in lounge bar to use, also pool and darts available. We did not eat there so cannot comment on the food. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay for 1 night before boarding the ferry to Mull the next morning. Thank you to the lovely landlady, we will recommend you to our friends and family and will definitely return next time we are in Oban heading out on the ferry.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower did not work, had a quick burst of water and then nothing. It was switched on at the wall, though.

    The close proximity to good restaurants. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic, but clean and friendly, with good sized, well equipped rooms and perfect location. Parking is a trouble in Oban and there is a car park £5 for 24 hours directly across the road which is a god send. All in all, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet door in room 12 wouldn't close properly was catching on trim on the floor and the hinge was funny.

    The location was very handy to local amenities. Friendly atmosphere in hotel bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints with the hotel. Very happy. Thank you.

    It was all I could ask for in a hotel room; clean, secure, centrally located, warm and inviting.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: