Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Kensington Hotel

281/287, South Promenade, Blackpool, FY1 6AJ, United Kingdom

#191 of 217 hotels in Blackpool

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 588 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tell you it’s free WiFi I could not get on it

    I did not like it I could not look out the windows they were that bad and there were damp paches on the ceiling

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel nothing like picture room clean and bed linen clean rest of hotel very neglected dirty dark corridor from lift with only security light which was really not good enough we didnt complain as it was only £90 for three nights no meals the two gentlemen that were running it were very polite didnt appear to be any other staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe cause of time of year but wasn't any entertainment, washing bags all in the hall, needs a wee bit of paint here n there.

    Staff friendly, location was great, food was good, rooms were a good size, car park for guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good experience in the over all, what was really wow for me in fact was the strategic location of the hotel, you just stroll across and it’s the beach. The facility at the hotel was just what you’ll expect for a 3star hotel. Azeem , a staff that attended to us was exceptionally nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was working at the Winter Gardens had to be there for 10 am my room was not ready just got the keys, came back at midnight room light was on and the window wide open, 6 moths flying about. Unpacked then went to put the T.V. on no signal no Ariel connection went to reception next morning they said it would be fixed it was"nt went back to reception 3rd day was told i could move but i was going home on the Friday so i never.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking photos looked clean, comfortable, and modern. This was not the case. When arrived totally different room. Some plug sockets did not work. Mattress was like lying on a pile of stones. Won't be booking at The Kensington ever again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelt foisty on entry probably due to the carpets as they were mouldy, no entrainment, 19" TV in room had no picture, only radio, couldn't see out of the windows in the room due to condensation in between the pains of glass, pictures online are not like the actual hotel, old furniture, could do with updating, floors slanting, damp patches on ceiling in room 8,

    Comfy beds, nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pillowcases on pillows and pillows yellow and stained, beds and carpets were filthy. Cups and chip boxes half eaten left out for 2 days, fire alarm went off at 7.30am, no explanation bathroom door not even on hinges just left freestanding so couldn’t close. Wallpaper hanging off.

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise making it hard to sleep.Network was very poor,TV was no signal most of the time,carpets dirty and outdated, need to be changed,windows need cleaning.

    Staff was quite pleasant,and my husband and son enjoyed breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the bedroom all other rooms where run down dirty and shabby , the staff had no clue what they were doing , that's if you could find any of the staff

    Bedroom nice clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lovely, the family room was really big an bright. Love the fact you can sit down in one of the rooms an see the sea and not be disturbed, bar was well stocked, staff were really nice and very helpful, breakfast was amazing the bacon was done perfect too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong smell on cannabis coming from the top floor when I arrived. The person on reception wasn't very welcoming on arrival and was very dismissive. The room signage needs to be more clear as it's a little bit like a maze.

    Great location and great facilities. They allowed us to leave our cars there for an extra couple of hours after departure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were people shouting on the phone to eachother - it was rather disturbing. The room was a little cold and there weren't any proper duvets so that was slightly uncomfortable at night.

    It was clean, excellent location and friendly staff who went out their way to accommodate our check in and out times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was very uncomfy the coffee cup was still dirty and the tv had no signal through my stay and was not fixed on three requests.

    It was good location on the beach front and was very quite at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot but unable to open window, toilet cistern lid bounced off every time it was flushed.decor very tired.

    Easy to find, right on the front, plenty of tea and coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wouldn't recommend room 25. The mattress could do with being changed. Could feel all the springs sticking in you. at 3.30 am doors above being slammed. This went on for over an hour.

    not a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only guests there and there was no heating on though they did give us a small heater, the shower took ages to heat and then it was luke warm there were no pillowcases had to ask for them and the breakfast was cold on two occasions.We did have one good breakfast though from the polish girl there.

    Been here before a few times over the weekend and it's been great but this time we stayed 3 days midweek and it's totally different.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was crap and the hotel it’s not welcoming at all the fire alarm test at 0720 and the next day at 0820

    Very Small room not very helpful needs updating need to change the photo on your site as it looks nothing like it ( it looks good on the phone but not when you get there and it’s not even the same colour

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Has to swap rooms, leak in first one making noise when trying to sleep. Second room had no small lights working, bathroom light took an age to come on and toilet wouldn't fully flush. Bar wasn't opened until asked and no evening entertainment as advertised (regular).

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little updating carepet and decoration wise apart from that room was clean and tidy.

    The room was great tv , kettle etc. Very clean. Also room for parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cooked breakfast was poor and low quality, You could have played golf with the fried eggs the yolks were so hard.

    Basic budget hotel, quite tatty and as expected for a typical old well used hotel/b+b.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children playing “knock a door, run” and screaming/shouting

    The staff were very courteous, excellent and professional at all times. I look forward to visiting again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets all marked,no plug for a bath,showet took abt 10/15 min for hot water to come through, my back is in torture as the matress on the bed need renewedmy partner had to help in bar as the male owner didnt have a clue,no entertainment. And have a cheek to charge for breakfast.they had a bloody cheek to take an extra £10 for an cpl hrs.NEVER AGAIN!!!!

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Right on the front. Very good value for money for the room me and my Husband had and the room my friend had was even better. She had a sea view room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time staying here and staff are always lovely and pleasant. Room was immaculate as well as the bathroom also had a lovely view to the beach. Peaceful hotel and calm atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Kensington is dated and the would benefit from refurbishment. It is a large B&B and although this could be relatively expensive there could be some immediate 'quick wins'. A general tidy up, lick of paint and the removal or changing of out dated signs/advertisements would improve first impressions.

    The staff at the Kensington are friendly and it has a good seafront location. We stayed as a couple, checking in at 1900 and going straight out; only returning to sleep after a night out. The Kensington met our requirements and provided good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tatty. Reception area smelled of stale cooked breakfast. Needs a good scrub and total redecoration.

    Great bed. Good value if you really just want somewhere to put your head down.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception had dirty ash trays no hot water tv didn't work holes in walls torn wall paper misty outside windows looked derelict from the outside overall it should be flattened worst£35 i have ever spent

    Nothing at all!!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to charge me twice when checking in. Proven that i had paid with receipt but arguing with me i hadnt and very rude. Small and dirty rooms. Toilet was left unflushed and unclean. Crumbs all over carpet. Extremely noisy as the walls are wafer thin. Bed was probably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on, the floor if clean would have probably been more comfortable. Faulty kettle. Even with the bed pushed up to the wall, one person could hardly move or walk around the bed let alone two of you. Very outdated needing a major revamp. Wouldn't stay again or recommend. Sorry but not great unfortunately :(

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean when we arrived with our own bathroom and tea coffee and kettle in the room. Sheets were clean and clean towels laid out on the bed for us. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom furniture was 'tired' and in need of upgrade

    The food and the service were excellent. The entertainment was frequent and very good quality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dated, the blankets were stained, the first room we had was freezing cold, my husband wore his coat in bed the first night, the window was broken and kept banging in the wind and the bathroom fan was so noisy. We were moved to a much better warmer room but no heating in their bathrooms.

    the sheets were clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall atmosphere, felt like a nursing house. Rooms are nothing like the pictures, heating wasn't working, really thin bed sheets, uncomfortable beds, low pressure showers, rusty soap holder, confusing room layout.

    Sea view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    The room we were in was on top floor and the person with me was diabled.the room had very poor heating. We had to get fan heater to heat room. The room had no hot water could not shower or wash.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired and from the outside off putting but like many places now times are hard

    The staff were friendly and helpful the bedding and towels spotless bathroom clean ,everything worked the heating was great couldn’t fault breakfast.gor a cheap night away bargain!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place needs a good lick of paint and repairs need doing,some repairs have needed doing since our last visit a year ago,

    Always a good breakfast and plenty

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks dreadful from outside and would not tempt anyone to stay. The entrance, particularly needs some attention as it was just lucky for us that some other guests were going in when we arrived as the door was locked and the bell didn't work and there was no way of attracting attention. Overall cleanliness needs improvement too as we noticed chips on one of the seats in reception when checking out.

    I liked the size of the bathroom,( it was quite spacious) and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. A lovely breakfast was also served with efficient organisation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor decoration

    The Kensington is in Good Location . The Staff are very polite & friendly. But the Hotel needs some money spending on it its tired & dated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room at first appeared in a great position as we could catch sight of the illuminations from the side of the window. Unfortunately room 26 is position just off the landing and next to a door on the corridor. The door closes with a bang and guest were coming back and forth until 5am in the morning. Our bed was against the wall with this door and it prevented both myself and partner getting any sleep most of the night.

    The welcome was great, staff were very helpful. The room was very clean and well set out and towels and complementary soaps were left on the beds. We were upgraded to a room with three double beds as the hotel struggled to provide a room with five beds. The evening entertainment was great and drink offers at the bar were very reasonable. The ground level had a room with a football table and snooker table which my young boys enjoyed playing with when the entertainment became to much. The breakfast was lovely with a range of hot breakfast to a range of cereals, fruit, toast and condiments.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where dirty, and in need of renovation, some rooms very cold others far too hot , screws sticking up from carpet grippers running through centre of the room , bathroom/toilet door didn't close , old broken beds , rooms had not been cleaned .

    Staff where nice and helpful, breakfast was good for the cost. Good views from property, close to all you need , entertainment on site

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor rooms and facilities mattress on bed was so painful. Expensive and feel robbed rooms where not good bathroom was like a death trap not good around young children

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of rattling pipes through the night and toilet was over filling so could hear that all the time.

    The rooms were very clean and adequately sized and great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quiet and relaxing. An Entertainments room. Lovely dinning area. We had 2 rooms. A double room and twin room. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. Had bath and overhead shower in double and a shower in twin room. Staff very friendly. Prices were reasonable for October.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time was chaotic with other people sitting on the table we had been allocated and we waited quite a while before we got served.

    The room was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a face lift at front of hotel but once inside was fine

    Very friendly people made us feel very welcome . Clean beds and rooms .. entertainment on weekends .. things for kids to do such as pool table etc .. breakfast ample .. good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door was locked when we arrived, we thought we were at the wrong hotel as it looked so run down and closed When someone finally opened the door they just walked away, no greeting or welcome Breakfast was cold Family room was tiny I paid well over the odds for this room

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - it stinks of dampness & mould, it was totally rundown,& we were ignored when we arrived. It looks nothing like the photos on the internet. We had already booked & paid for a 3 night stay but it was so bad we didn't even stay 1 night, luckily we found somewhere else that was perfect.

    Absolutely nothing about this was likable!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived we thought the hotel was closed. There was no lights on and the we were not sure which door led to the reception. The main door to our room did not fit properly and had to be slammed to get it to close. The door to the bathroom was difficult to open and when opening from the inside the door had to be kicked to get it to open

    The staff were very helpful. The rooms to clean and tidy but too warm even though the heaters were off. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not pushchair and wheelchair friendly and the rooms were very small. The double beds needed new mattress on you could feel all the springs in the mattress. The whole place needs decorating. We found food left in the draws. We were also asked to pay again when we booked on line

    The babies cot was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was a bit tired. The outside front area was untidy and poor with too many smokers congregating outside the entrance.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were great in a nice dining area. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Entertainment in the evening was great for the family.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small and dirty and very smelly. Needs a good clean. Most things in room didn't work like toilet or kettle or tv or Windows didn't open. The whole place smells like death 😯👎

    The singer was good, some staff were ok not many tho!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was nothing like the pictures on your site. It was scruffy looking and dirty. The room was tired and needed updating, it was cold in the room and the window was loose in the frame causing the curtains to blow about. Terrible noise from outside wind.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's got a bit run down but I suppose that's money to do it up but I don't have a problem with it

    Always go here friendly family run hotel everything clean and tidy breakfast brilliant will be going back soon

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the hotel doesn't look the same as the photo wen you first see it u think god wots it going to be like in side but even though it a bit dated in side it's clean and staff lovely think ur outside could do with a lick of paint and clean the windows would be more inviting

    the hidden entertainment in the basement which I'm sure guest don't no about our 1year grandchild loved the dance floor and the artist was brilliant with the kids

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside needs re doing ... its dirty and tired ... it's a shame it is off putting .... but once inside it's so nice

    The staff are excellent good manners and we're attentive ... nothing was too much trouble ...the room was spotless .. bathroom spotless.... nice comfy beds ... all in all a brilliant weekend was had

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was not working and my room was on 3rd floor. My wife is asthmatic after climbing the 2nd floor she was very breathless she had to sit wait a little bit catch her breath then carry on. Luckily there was 2 chair on the corridor of 2nd floor to sit and catch her breath.

    Tho Hotel was alright you pay what you got. If you want 5 star then spend more and go somewhere else. If you want somewhere cheap just a place to sleep then I recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    to be fair the hotel needs a lick of paint here and there a general modernising and condensation in between double glazing

    That we where right on the sea front price for two adults and a child 75 a night not a bad for all of us and that they had a live entertainment every night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room for what we paid and a nice cooked breakfast n lots of choice at the breakfast bar. If you like a warm hotel this is the one for you. It was boiling all night. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaner in general and would of liked the bathroom cleaned daily plus the bed made daily

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good except no continental breakfast on offer

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a little outdated.

    The price was good. It was clean. The breakfast was good. What more could you ask for a quick stop over for the illuminations. ? Yes I would return

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience of being ion the hotel

    The door lock to the bedroom was coming off the door, the room was so small, did not stop to eat breakfast as the hotel was not to my standards.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didnt like anything about the hotel, apart from location, we would not advise anyone to stay at this hotel, it needs a lot of work doing on the outside and inside the property, needs to be updated, as soon as we walked in we could smell mold, the reception staff were not very friendly or helpful, we waited about 25 mins before been seen, we went in to our room and there was a big iron print on the floor, very old, all the carpets are threadbare which is dangerous, and it was like a maze to find our room, and it definitely is not good for disabled people with all the stairs to get to the rooms, none of the staff were helpful or even spoke to us. The staff weren't very knowledgeable.

    we liked the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    most parts of building and interior was bit dated,could do with a fresh up..broken spring in mattress..

    breakfast was good and plenty.good cook and houskeeping staff done good work.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Previous reviews raved about the breakfast, found it a bit lacking to be honest. So checked out a touch early on my final day to have breakfast in the Wetherspoon's down the promonade

    As a cheap bed for a couple of nights it did the job

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast that the tryed to charge us again for

    The staff have arwful attitudes. And we paid for breakfast for the few days we went. The first couple we got it last day we were told we weren't allowed as we have to pay for the 2 days previous even when I told them we had paid in advance the said cause I paid through booking. Com and not them the wanted £30 also they spoke to me and my partner atwful. Also the places is dated needs a refurb and beds were so uncomfortable breakfast was the best part but save to say I want use them again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is run down, looks terrible outside, rotten front door, threadburn carpets, dirty shower curtain, dirty windows. Breakfast very very poor, tinned mushrooms on plate, half cooked bacon, asked staff to have one hard fried egg and on other plate a soft egg, ended up with 2 rock hard fried eggs, when we question this the staff just said that's what you've got. Terrible experience. Will never ever visit again. In serious need of updating. Stay well clear from this place.

    Only positive was the comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and springy. One family member was bitten, possibly bed bugs. Changed rooms but new rooms no better. Staff would not accept any criticism and were defensive. The room was on top floor with no lift so had to carry buggy up and down. In view of above decided to ask for discount when checking out only to be told that payment was debited on check in. Normally payment is taken on check out. Would never go there again and would not recommend to anyone

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was the lightening in the room wasnt very bright as one side of the glass of the light was smashed and they use LED lights which I love but this one wasn't very bright.So we had to use a lamp aswell to get some light.

    Upon arrival every member of staff you pass is really friendly and helpful.The manager on the front desk was really pleasant and explained everything you needed to know.The breakfast was lovely and the staff were brilliant making sure you had plenty of tea and coffee and toast. The hotel and rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    24hr reception friendly staff and very helpful mini night bar downstairs Friday, Saturday, sunday with entertainment also hotel bar open till about 11pm also tram stop around 100 yards to left as you leave hotel plenty of places to eat.trams do single tickets but my wife and I bought 24 hour ticket which is timed from when you buy from conducter which you can use on the buses we found trams faster, we also had lovely sea views from our hotel room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was disgustingly dirty with mold everywhere. Dirt and dust everywhere. Holes in walls. Wallpaper in the room hanging off. People going mad at reception because they had been given multiple rooms only to find out there were people already in them.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was damp and needs a lot of work to bring it back in to today's standards

    cheap beer in mikes bar and I can't fault the breakfast in any way

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't like the picture in booking.com and was very small. There was a big hole in the wall and we paid extra for a sea view room but the window was cloudy and murky so we could hardly see out of it which was a waste of money. The carpet was dirty and there was a toe nail on the floor. The door didn't lock very well and so we didn't feel secure in the room.

    The bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start..we stayed in a family room. Two set of draws were broken, and there were belonging from the previous customer still in the draws. there was a sliding door on the bathroom which I was so concerned about that they could come of there track they were very loose..We had two 3 year olds with us.i asked for anthor room which was slightly better as it had a proper door on the bathroom but this room had also got broken draws an a sheet in one of them.the cleanliness of the hotel was a very poor standard there was a musty smell which did make me feel sick they had plug in air freshner but all it did was mask the smell..there is a lot of health and safety issues that need addressing an for £209 I expected better as I have paid less an got better service..

    The entertainment venue in the hotel was OK that's the only thing that was good.the staff tried there best but I don't think they have any idea about health and safety and cleaning standards which is a shame.. needs updating to a better standard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    girst impression wasnt good, we got there, the outside of building lookked quite shabby. wasnt shown to room, had no help to room even though I had two cases n two children. the beds were lumpy and very uncunfy. noisy guests

    the vieu from our second room we was put in

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a one night break here and all was good room a little small and water pressure not great but it was one night so all was good. Breakfast was very good and excellent value for money. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: