Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Kensington Hotel 5 stars

109-113 Queen's Gate, Kensington and Chelsea, London, SW7 5LR, United Kingdom

#173 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 756 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    views from views vary - my room didn't have a great view but was very quiet!

    Impressive yet cosy hotel with great modern decor and impeccable service. Hotel rooms and bathrooms are spacious for London standards, the staff is extremely helpful and the location in South Kensington is amazing. Overall was a very comfortable stay, and the staff does everything in its power to accommodate to all your needs. Room service was great too and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay! Have also chosen the same hotel for my parent's stay - equally impressed older couple!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool and a little pricey and not the biggest room you will ever stay in

    Great location nice staff turn left out the door for dozens of restaurants from every culture

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We aware some rooms are very small. The first room we were given was so tiny there was only 10cm to get between the bed and wall. The staff were very kind and found us a different room. But the first room should really be a utility cupboard.

    Nice communal areas and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On my own they allocated me worst room in the property miles away from anything in the attic. Ive stayed here before so was amazed at how badly I was treated given the amount I’d paid. had to complain and insist on being moved. I wont stay there again.

    bed was excellent location brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room initially-we complained and second room not much bigger.Small wardrobe space and not enough hangers supplied.Decor dated for a relatively recent refurbished hotel.

    Friendly staff,comfortable bed,great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had applied ahead to check in early via booking.com. While booking.com got back to me the property never did this misunderstanding meant I arrived 80 minutes before I could check in. Check in actually only ran 20 minutes late but I was in a rush.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could only be described as a broom cupboard...Tiny. Window looked out onto a brick wall so let in little natural light and felt very claustrophobic. Not enough room to manoeuvre around the room without banging into or having to move furniture.

    Turn down service Friendly staff Beautiful reception area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    The welcome at reception was lovely. Extra helpful staff on hand everywhere to help. Beautifully decorated hotel, especially loved the elephants. Would not hesitate to recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small. The shower room could hold one person only, so we felt the rate of £270 was high. Our aircon switched itself off in the middle of the night (on the hottest night in London since 1949). We started off cool and comfortable but were disturbed and boiling by morning.

    The Staff were excellent, bed comfortable and gym well above average. Good sound proofing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was tiny (227). We couldn't get a hot breakfast (including toast!) that we would have to pay extra for and we didn't know that....we had just paid £16 for a continental breakfast.

    The staff was excellent - especially the guy at the door and the guy taking the bags to the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilators in the inner court Décoration of the rooms

    Kindness of stuff people Very clean The location and place Very near of tube Nice fire rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room, small bathroom, ltd view, small window with - if opened - smell from kitchen oil and noise from ac

    flexibility of staff, very attentive and politest ever waiter at breakfast (he literally remembered where we sat and what we had for breakfast the day before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was rather small and there was a slight drain smell.

    Staff were outstanding - uniformly pleasant, professional and helpful. Room facilities of a high standard (feather pillows, comfortable bed, nespresso machine, etc). Location excellent for meetings and access to museums. Lounge/bar area comfortable and inviting. Would certainly return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to swap rooms as the first room was nothing like in the photo. We booked to stay two nights and the room was very small. However we asked to swap and it was changed straight away to a much bigger room.

    The bar was very pleasent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee machine did not work and there was no toilet brush in the bathroom.

    We loved the hotel, the mood and location. It was trruly a unique experience. Breakfast was awesome, I would advise not to go for the standard option and pick your breakfast items separately.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in this time 421 was lovely .. but lacked some pictures on the wall to make it more homely and personal - like the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was particularly small compared to other rooms.

    Service was outstanding and the decor very high quality and lovely. The reception rooms make this hotel particularly special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    Very bad breakfast very disappointed for the 5 stars and very expensive to pay for breakfast and to pay an extra charges for ordering from the menu to have an English breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that a 'superior' room is so tiny that you barely have space to open your suitcase, and if you do, you have to jump over it to get into bed. Just do not call them 'superior': it's the use of this word that leads to disappointment.

    We have stayed at The Kensington Hotel five times so far. We love its lobby, staff and location. This time the 'superior' room we booked was too small: tiny, in fact. Hooks for coats would be desirable, no place to hang rained-on winter coats.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not huge. If I’m being picky, the pastry from the buffet section is not great.

    Warm and elegant hotel, with a lovely bar, friendly staff, and very comfortable bed - in a good neighbourhood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All as above explained already

    Breakfast was slow and cold when it did arrive ! Mean portions and asked for more and it was forgotten about by server. Forgot about juices also had to wait 45 mins ! Nice manager sorted it out but damage was done and stress not worth it -

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at the kensington several tomes and everything has been perfect!

    The Kensington is one of the cosiest places in london. A top address which I can highly recommend!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was near a storeroom for the cleaners, so was a tad noisy at times, but overall great place, particularly the lounge areas and open fire places

    Great place, great staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. With one medium suitcase and two smaller ones there was no floor space left and we had to squeeze past the bed. I was slightly disappointed with the room size based on pictures.

    Beautiful hotel and the staff were excellent. Great location whilst in London.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the rooms have an average view

    Very cute boutique in the heart of South Kensington Very friendly staff and excellent service Very nice lounge (with live music later in the evening)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con rumbling and hissing all night 🙄

    Staff where amazing nice little touches like remembering your name etc considering it’s a big hotel that’s very impressive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect!

    Amazing, professional, friendly staff. Beautiful decor, clean and food was amazing. We will definitely be staying again soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one occasion, we sat in lounge by the fire and found it difficult to order drinks, nobody came to see us when seated, we had to go and find waiter/waitress

    The bed was very comfortable with excellent bed linen, the room was small and not superior as suggest when booked, breakfast times were busy, and needed to be booked in advance or wait in the waiting area,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The very small room. This is not the standard that a 5 star hotel should offer. T V reception was poor probably because of weak signal. Bathroom was also very small making it difficult to use.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. on the couple of occasions when things went wrong they were rectified immediately.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A service charge and night porter charge added to my bar tab even though I ordered my drinks at the bar.

    Reception staff excellent but bar staff a bit abrupt.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are in general small. We had a Double Deluxe room but it was tiny so moved to a suite which was much better, but at a higher cost. Breakfast during the week stops at 10:30 whereas at weekend it stays till 11:00

    The location was very central, friendly staff, very decent breakfast, and great value for money. Understood that the gym facilities were very good but did not try that. Very nice Bar and several great seating areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    The staff are wonderful , the location is very good, close to museums and tube station, lots of nice cafes and restaurants close by. This is our favorite hotel when in London, we never have any problems, the rooms are very nice with large bathrooms and the best showers ever !! Beds are so comfortable and decor is lovely. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in London.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel in Kensington, really good breakfast and dinner (exceptional wine list) and the hotel bar is the perfect place for a comfy evening after a long day of sightseeing. Very friendly staff, clean and spacious room (luxury suite). Supermarket, bakery and a lot of restaurants right around the corner, South Kensington Station 5mins by foot (0,3 mi / 500 m)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow too soft. You should put a sign in the room to let guests know that you can order a different pillow. I only found this out when I asked at check out.

    Bed very comfy. Great location. Clean. Staff really friendly. Good breakfast options. Pleasant area to sit downstairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom very comfortable .When I ran short of tooth paste a member of staff supplied me with same ,much appreciated loved the foyer,and the lounge area All the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing

    This hotel is our favorite in London. The location is perfect for us, close to the south Kensington tube station, British Museum and V&A. The staff are very pleasant and most helpful. Our room and bathroom were super, nothing wanting and breakfast very nice We will definitely stay at the hotel again and recommend it highly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms in what is an expensive hotel had almost no clothes storage; a small wardrobe with only 6 hangers, and no clothes drawers (one tiny one in the bedside table). The bathroom door would only open part-way because it opened onto the toilet. We could clearly hear every word of the conversation in the next room.

    The public sitting rooms are lovely, with open fires and comfy armchairs, very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money on the room. We stayed at the Kensington after having a delightful afternoon tea, but the rooms were not as nice as expected or the rest of the hotel decor.

    The service from entry to exit was top class. Very professional and friendly. Birthday chocolates and romantic flowers left on the bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is a delightful place to stay. The Kensington has a good vibe, with lots of cozy, modern seating downstairs. The room was comfortable, clean, and larger than I expected. It is close to many restaurants/cafes and there are two Underground stations located nearby. It is a short walk or tube ride to numerous tourist destinations. I left something behind in my room, and the staff was very helpful in getting it shipped to me here in the U.S.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were not bothered to check an earlier promise by one of their managers two years before to upgrade me whenever I came again. They said they were anyway fully booked. But it would have been nice if they at least checked.

    The comfort level, the cleanliness, and primarily the great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The superior category rooms are tiny and the bathroom minuscule, found it to be extremely poor value. Rooms need refurbishment. Turn down service in spite of specific request was irregular.

    The public spaces are attractive and inviting. The terraces make for a comfortable space to relax outdoors whilst being indoors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to request the mascarpone cheese missing from my breakfast. Requested olives to be told that they were coming and then needed to ask someone else because of time it was taking - Maressa was excellent. Group of people watching a LOUD video on their phone to which I had to ask them to turn it down to hear my conversation. I wouldn't stay here again it's really not a 5 star.

    Good breakfast Lovely tea room George helpful with bags and good conversation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get our room cool enough for the heat spell.

    I splurged on this part of our trip with our stay at the Kensington. It was lovely and added to our time in London.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have emailed the hotel and passed feedback on check out. We were allocated room 416 and it was extremely noisy due to the elevator position - constantly through the night you could hear it being used. Opposite our room was also a Storage cupboard for House Keeping so Saturday and Sunday Morning again constantly awoken by housekeeping entering and making noise using this cupboard. For the amount we paid I was disappointed as we specifically chose a 5* hotel hoping it was going to luxury. I am also disappointed that we have highlighted this to the hotel and they haven't responded. I certainly think this room should have been discounted or highlighted as an issue with the closeness of the elevator and the service cupboard.

    We liked the location and the decoration of the hotel. Staff were also friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options were limited, and while we didn't have a chance to try the dinner services, they seemed to be priced unusually high.

    The staff were attentive and accommodating, the downward-facing shower nozzle in the bathroom felt amazing, and the station was right near South Kensington Tube Station, so we could go anywhere in London relatively cheap.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing hotel in a great location. Staff were so attentive and super friendly and helpful. Really made me feel like I was at home and like I knew them my whole life. Excellent service. Will definitely repeat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room we booked was advertised as a superior, however our room was tiny and when I told the reception staff we had booked a superior room we were told that was their base room - meaning it was standard. Thought they would upgrade us as it's really a little bit false advertising but they didn't although they did move us to a slightly bigger room.

    Room service food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a lovely boutique Hotel in South Kensington beautifully decorated, very clean, with very comfortable beds and very friendly and helpful staff. They will do everything to satisfy you and make your stay unforgettable. The hotel smells very nicely and there are candles everywhere. Stay there when you visit London. You will be in one of the best London neighborhoods.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Storage for bathroom items was a bit limited. National phone calls were expensive.

    The staff were unfailingly helpful at all times especially the concierge and reception. The lounge areas were comfortable and pleasantly decorated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the small side

    The hotel felt grand, but not in an uncomfortably way. The staff were very friendly, probably the biggest plus point for the hotel. The bar was also very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is very well refurbished but the room we receive was still not refurbished yet

    The people that works thereand their service, the lounge and the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning / heating was hard to control. Had to call down to the front desk in the middle of the night and ask them to override the thermostat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are a bit small, but it's a boutique hotel so it's to be expected.

    I love the feel of The Kensington it feels like a second home. I love the friendly staff they make you feel very welcome, from the porter to the concierge and the reception staff. It's the only hotel I look at when I come to London.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    25th wedding anniversary and a bottle of fizz and cakes with happy anniversary card left in our room on return from shopping - a lovely touch. Beds really comfy, and after evening meal in the restaurant the bed had been turned down, chocolates on the pillows and fresh towels in the room. Concierge really helpful and attentive, with luggage and directions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so tastefully decorated in appropriate period detail the drawing room seating and restaurant are lovely and comfortable. My room was a nice, comfortable size. Staff was extraordinarily helpful. Very well and conveniently located.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was extremely comfortable. However, I did find the room quite small for its nightly price. A little difficult to maneuver around room and bathroom and closet area. Plus not once piece of art on the wall- a bit sterile.

    Outstanding staff! location and public area décor. The location is prime. Overall a wonderful property---BUT--note my comments on the next column. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our Tea in the afternoon was served without sugar. During our breakfast we had three times to ask for butter. It wasn't on the buffet but normal on every table. In the room we had no space to store our personal things beside the clothes to hang. On Sunday morning at 8.00 am there was a big noise with glass which was ranged away outside. During our last experiences with booking.com the rooms were the farthest away, very little, not as beautiful as described on the website and when we booked directly on the websites of the hotels everything was much better and comfortable.

    We liked the athmosphere, friendliness and professionality of the stuff in this hotel. Our bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the room was very disappointing looking straight onto the roof at the back of the building. Humming from generators and extractors were very distracting.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small and a little loud. The walls are thin. Need to be able to plug blow dryer in bathroom.

    The aroma in the room was great. Love the overall decor and public spaces

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small (but well appointed especially the bathroom) and you can hear a lot of noise from other rooms.

    The staff were lovely and the communal areas, in particular the bar, were stunning. Great toiletries in the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From the moment we arrived it felt comfortable a home away from home. We felt the same on previous visits and once again it did not disappoint. We had our family over for a meal , a great evening in the lounge by the fire. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a tad on the small side. Beautifully decorated but a little small.

    Staff was very friendly and accommodating! Our room location at first was a little noisy next to the elevator and they took the time to locate another room for us!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every aspect of the hotel and the way it was run was suberb! From the comfort of the room, temperature control to the friendliness and the attentiveness of all the staff and the lovely food. Everything was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was given had no wifi signal and they knew as when I rang they immediately offered to move me. The room I moved too was not the same quality that I booked and was right under a nightclub and the smoke alarm went off twice in the middle of the night due to the fog machine in the night club. The paper I requested was never delivered. The phone never got answered and every time I rang for anything I had to hold on and ring at least 3 times.

    The location and the friendly and helpful doorman

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One day I had poached eggs and they were red orange inside.. didn't eat them. No one knew what happened to the color.. otherwise perfect..

    I stay at the Kensington whenever I can in London. The location is perfect for me. Everything is there in the hotel one would need to be comfortable. The sheets and beds are like heaven.. I looked at air B&B for long stay as I do stay long times and found the value much better at a 5 star hotel then an outrageous price air B&B was charging. Plus you have room service Dailey...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service for breakfast lacked the attention that had been experienced elsewhere.

    Friendly staff and cleanliness of the hotel, with a warm and welcoming lounge that was relaxing after a busy day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff poorly trained and English not good. Hence comms barrier This is not a five start hotel We rate it as **** they have alot of staff training to address to get that 5th star. The 24hr menu was poor.

    Good value for location but you pay in other ways. Room. Was ok and we'll cleaned. Earing facilities good. Food acceptable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please change the nife that guests use to cut the bread at breakfast. The nife is bad quality and guests cannot easily cut the bread... I stayed to your fantastic Hotel three times in three months and the nife is still the same although I complained the first time ...

    location, style, staff, food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was absolutely dreadful. The noise from the air conditioning units for the whole of the hotel were just beneath our window making it impossible to sleep. We rang the night manager at 3 o clock in the morning to Change rooms, eventually getting to bed about 3 .30 am. We reported it to the day manager the following morning who said he would take the complaint up with his department and booking.com to resolve the complaint. He said we would receive a email within the next two days to resolve our complaint, we are still waiting.

    The public rooms were very pleasant and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The services where slow, no clean up of the room in the evenings, noise also from the personnel very early in the morning

    The bar and lobby/ restaurant area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 of the rooms were very small, one only had a shower which was on ceiling & my sister didn't want to get hair wet so she had to come to my room for a bath, all 3 rooms were supposed to be superior rooms. I felt embarrassed as I made the booking. 2 of the rooms weren't ready when checked in at 2pm, had to leave luggage at reception, still not ready at 3pm so went out

    My room & bathroom were spacious, only had to ring for use of an iron (was going to a wedding) & it was delivered straight away with ironing board. Can't fault the service. I would stay there again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old and small versus rate and need a furniture upgrade bed good - too tight a space and the new luxury is space

    Great location good food and excellent lobby and restaurant ambience

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like

    There wasn't anything at all that we didn't like about the Kensington hotel. From the location to the service to the accommodation it was perfect. It was like staying in a private home with the attention from staff who were attentive, friendly but not stuffy or pretentious. Could not have asked for a more pleasant and comfortable room and bathroom, which accommodated everything we could possibly want. We have stayed at hotels around the world and The Kensington is by far the best of all. It's an absolute jewel !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel staff excellent. Our room was not quite ready when we arrived st 4pm. We received a complementary drink at the bar. Room large and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was the corner room - room 502, very small and doesn't look like what it was advertised on the website.

    Very friendly staff.The lounge looks trendy & comfortable. Strategic location for business. The concierge was really helpful in recommending nice Italian restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Love this hotel. My first choice for London. Staff excellent. Bed super comfy. Interior - stunning. Always feel spoilt and cared for. My favourite hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Kensington Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: