Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The King Alfred Pub 4 stars

Saxon Road, Winchester, SO23 7DJ, United Kingdom

#7 of 13 B&Bs and Inns in Winchester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 551 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    A perfect location for us visiting friends nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like the dark rooms and too cluttered with chairs etc. Same goes for the pub itself and menu not great, also expensive. No cooked breakfast on site and what is available provided in room, therefore, no service - price for room should be less to reflect this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Short stay but rate the pub/rooms highly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One way system round Winchester takes getting used to!

    Lovely room / great pub / parking on street with notice from pub on dashboard / centrally placed with easy access to cathedral / museum etc

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff were lovely and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely and helpful. Room was quiet despite the pub downstairs. Room was quirky and fun. Lovely touches with cafetière and granola. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    An amazing little boutique pub guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was superb!

    Eva and Carl who work there are friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and the soon and the pub itself was fantastic . The decor was excellent and very quirky!! I would definitely go back there again and thoroughly recommend it!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely pub with rooms - great pub and lovely location. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were nicely decorated but a little tired.

    Great location, lovely pub and really helpful staff. Some lovely touches like the fresh coffee in rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Very pleased. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The better is an enemy of good ;-))

    Location is very comfortable. In the centre but off the main stream, so hotel part of the pub is very quiet. Mini breakfast provided in room is perfect to start a day. Bed and linen are clean, comfortable and match standards of modern hotel industry. Recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Everything fine but not sure if I'd stay again. Lovely staff though!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have done with a little brightening up as it was quite dark but think this is just the "style".. whole room was green but photos on website looked a lot lighter!

    Great coffee, comfortable bed, good food. Breakfast was nice for me, granola and yogurt in room but BF needed something more substantial!! For 85.00 a night he would of liked a fry up!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent , will recommend to friends and we will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The venue was better than we expected, lovely pub and restaurant, and a well presented room and ensuite . Staff were courteous and polite , and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location with free parking and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con and very hot and stuffy in room. Unable to open bathroom window.

    Good location with free parking available on road. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent pub and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £3 for a side order of bread was the only complaint - everything else exceeded expectations

    Both rooms and pub were well furnished and comfortable with an excellent vibe

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay & great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only minor drawback was the limited breakfast - but there's always the partner business, the Corner House, just 5 minutes away.... :-)

    We stayed here for a couple of nights while at a wedding weekend nearby and this did the job - comfortable bed, good ensuite, pretty quiet (it’s on a little back street with trees opposite) and close enough to the town centre to walk in in 5 minutes. The paint scheme is full-on (100% dark red on the stairs & landing outside the 4 bedrooms) but it does work. Surprisingly the pub doesn’t do a full breakfast, but they do provide a continental breakfast that’s left in the mini-fridge in the room - granola, yogurt, fruit juice, fresh coffee & a cafetière & milk, and that helps. They also offer a 20% off voucher to use at their sister business 5 minutes away, the Corner House, which does truly amazing breakfasts, so that’s well worth using.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Room decor & cleanliness & general presentation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor in relation to room charge. Setting could accommodate a cold/varied buffet downstairs

    Room decor & cleanliness & general presentation. Staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    A lovely stay before going racing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Room perfect, food excellent and we stayed as we were visiting Thruxton Race circuit the following day. We were given tea, coffee etc and breakfast in our room which enabled us to eat before we left, leaving our parking permit and keys in the hall, making a good start to our onward journey.. Highly recommend and will be returning next year for Thruxton again and of course, re-booking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Regal like Alfred
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    could have done with a bit more milk for the coffee and granola.

    Pretty much everything else. Warm friendly, nice Beer amazing cosy garden. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Charming, gorgeous, would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on a Sunday night and the kitchen closed at 5pm, which was a bit early for an evening meal so we had to venture out for food, would have been good to have that information in advance, but it just forced us out for an explore which was lovely!

    Such a perfect little pub in a perfect little town. Staff were lovely and friendly. Room was comfortable and convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice pub run for the benefit of the staff not the guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub is certainly run for the benefit of the staff rather than for the customer. Check out is at 10am at the weekend - something unheard of in this industry - still I suppose it suits the staff. Having been told that the bar is open until 11.30pm on Friday night, we returned at 9.55pm to be told that the bar had been closed “because it is quiet”. After pointing out how unacceptable this was I was permitted to buy a single round of drinks but prevented from using the garden because the staff were watering it. We were then repeatedly pressured to hurry up and finish our drinks as the staff would be locking up - despite the worker being repeatedly reminded that we were residing at the pub. At which point we were told that we could take our drinks up to our rooms - it was 30 degrees so not a sensible suggestion. So not at all impressed and I wouldn’t recommend this pub.

    Friendly staff and well presented and furnished rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    We really liked this place, it’s a bit quirky but the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the place was great.

    We really liked this place, it’s a bit quirky but the staff were very friendly, the room was comfortable and the breakfast spot on. The location is great, just a short walk into town and a family friendly beer garden if you’d prefer to stay where you are.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Traditional pub in historic town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clearer information on the site

    Friendly character filled pub, better than it sounded in the description as there was a good continental style breakfast in the room refrig and a permit to park in the street. Walking distance to center of Winchester staff very helpful with directions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Choice For Us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Clean comfortable room/bathroom, quite quirky decor and a pleasant atmosphere in the pub. Great outdoor beer garden and the free parking permit was a bonus. Lovely walk into town past some of the old walls. The DIY breakfast was fine for us but were offered a discounted full English somewhere else too. We didn't suffer any noise problem from the pub during our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Friendly, great location. Would recommend and stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not too bad just finding a space on the street.

    Lovely pub set in a quiet residential street. It was friendly, we had a lovely welcome. The staff were friendly and happy. The room was perfect for our needs with everything we required.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location for city centre and station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not cheap - but maybe that is Winchester.

    Good location for city centre and station. Pleasant. Spotlessly clean. Snack breakfast in room a good idea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    A true authentic English experience in a delightful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit soft for us. Not unsleepable, just no support.

    The room was beautifully decorated in old English style. The only place on our travels with a fridge. Not only did we have tea making facilities with a tea pot, we also had a coffee plunger for fresh coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfort and a convenient location for a short visit to Winchester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decorations of room and corridor were idiosyncratic. The bar was a bit dull.

    The room was comfortable and a good size, and the arrangements for and quality of breakfast and the coffee and tea facilities were all excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly, just rather nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike!

    Great location, easy walk into Winchester, The pub has a warm and friendly atmosphere, room was great. Food in the pub was good. They own a breakfast cafe down the road, you get a 20% discount. So we had a nice start to the day there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff and quirky furnishings, really liked it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the small side and that would have been difficult if we had been staying for more than one night.

    The staff were friendly and accommodating and the food was extremely tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Very much, a hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, croissants and muesli a little too sweet ! Otherwise good with delicious freshly ground coffee.

    Room very comfortable. Lunch, fresh and tasty. Staff, genuinely friendly, knowledgeable and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Very good will go again , had best curry ever in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooked breakfast but could walk a short distance to a sister pub and were given a voucher for 20% off . Good ingredients but cooked badly bacon like a bit off old leather. egg to raw sausage lovely . mushrooms shrivelled up and no free tea or coffee very expensive so thankgod for voucher

    Wonderful place mattress a little soft for me as I have a bad back but def would return . Very clean beautiful decor throughout . Garden stunning . Like frigde in room . We're given a parking permit . Staff outstanding highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Expensive for a room above a pub but lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. Expensive for what it was. Branded hotels in the centre are a similar price. I’d of been happy had the room of been £70. Pictures I’d seen online must of been newer rooms. In need of updating.

    The granola, juice and yoghurt in the room was a nice touch & lots of towels. Staff were nice and helpful and were flexible to allowed us in the room before check in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location for visiting Winchester-good vibe in the pub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A more comfortable chair would have been nice and stairs difficult to manage with luggage.

    Staff courteous and efficient - check-in handled very smoothly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door lock didn’t work but the manager came out and she really seemed as if it was no bother .. even after midnight! Thank you to her.

    The decor and accessories were unusual and not just generic , quality furniture always a bonus, framed artwork great . Staff super really friendly and helpful. Special thanks to the manager for coming out after hours to help access. Food/beer both good , food especially for the price and popular with locals .. we did one night out of two with them for dinner , given the standard of everything else especially the rooms it was a shame about the coffee, a cafetière with ground coffee would be a great addition, probably because I like good coffee so minor gripe :) another person had mentioned lack of milk but we just asked for an extra bit ... the small breakfast was welcome too ...great experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast option. It is a shame there couldn't be breakfast provided on site rather than a packed breakfast left in the fridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good but real coffee should be a given!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As rooms have dark walls, it would be good to have better bedside lighting for reading. The lamps seemed dim. Also, for 2 people, it would be good to provide enough milk for two persons to have a bowl of the muesli provided for the continental breakfast. BIGGEST IMPROVEMENT NEEDED IN THE COFFEE PROVISION: although I accept that a continental breakfast is provided, nowhere on the continent would a guest be given a nescafe sachet for morning coffee! This was most disappointing and these sachets were untouched( ugh)!

    Lovely setting, helpful staff, excellent mattress, very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Great stay in good location at amazing pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing great

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, the decor was amazing with all the items of furniture made for a great time. Thoroughly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a pre packed chocolate croissant and some granola and yoghurt which was in fridge in room. Croissant was cheap and tasteless and more milk would have been nice.

    Bed was comfortable and for one night the room was fine but quite small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Suprisingly quiet for a room above a pub. Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame there is no cooked breakfast, but you can get a voucher to 20% off breakfast at sister pub. All the seating inside the pub seemed to be reserved for diners in the evening. I may be wrong on that.

    Good sized room and decent shower. Short walk into Winchester centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    I had a great couple of days but was a little disappointed in my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The choice of a dark Victorian green for the walls and ceiling, while in keeping with the character of the room, made it extremely dark (and rather gloomy) especially as one of the original windows is now in the en suite. Fresh croissants would have been nice. Walls were very thin, I could hear snoring from the next room!

    The old furniture and pictures gave the room character. The bathroom was good, plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Friendly staff and lovely quiet comfortable room.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one recommendation would be to put a sensor light to gain entrance from the side gate to the back door when the pub is closed. We arrived back after midnight and it was difficult to see.

    Did not eat there because we attended a wedding, although I glanced at the menu which looked good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Have stayed there before and will be happy to stay again. Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dark green walls were a bit oppressive. Central heating would have been great!

    Lovely friendly staff. Really comfortable bed. The continental breakfast was great and it's lovely to have everything provided in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice comfortable room but noisy in the early morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear conversation in next room very clearly from 7.30 am, when they finally left had to listed to room cleaning and loud telephone conversation from staff whilst trying to rest. This was Easter weekend holiday. Also booked on the day of arrival and was not informed or discounted for the fact that the kitchen was not operating. Was only advised of this at check in so plans to eat there had to be changed.

    ?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Romantic and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food a little fancy for my taste!

    Loved the quirky little breakfast of granola, yogurt, pan o chocolate, orange juice, tea and coffee. We needed a little more milk though. Food in pub very elaborate! Too rich for me however my partner loved it. No negatives in our 2 nights and 3 days stay. Beautiful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Great place, great staff, great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the decor. The staff was welcoming and efficient. Lovely and clean. We ate and the food was really good. The pub is busy but the room was very quite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.8
    NEVER AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are many thing we didn't appreciate: we have been asked to pay for our stay on our arrival (even before being given the key of the room and sitting down to have dinner), but later we understood why... The room was below our expectations, very small and dusty, only the bathroom was acceptable (that is why there are no pictures of the rooms of this structure...), but what made us feel really miserable was being told that we had to have our breakfast in that tiny room (look at the dimensions in the pictures...)and that we were only supposed to have what you can see in the pictures I enclose... (in the first picture you see fewer items since some of the ere in in minibar) I wonder why there are so few people complaining about it.., Since I immediately complained with the girl who helped us with the luggage, she went to see the manager who did not bother to come and see us ,but sent her back with a voucher for a 10% discount for a structure nearby. How can they even imagine we might accept such a treatment... having to pay again for a breakfast which was included in the price. Well in the morning I decided to have at least a cup of tea and UNBELIEVABLE... the milk had gone sour. (see the picture) so before leaving we gave the tiny bottle of sour milk to a girl and told her that we are not accustomed to use milk which had gone sour. We went to have breakfast at Patisserie Valerie in the city centre and we really enjoyed it I have traveled quite a lot, using Booking or contacting the structures directly and you can check it is the first time I leave a negative review.

    we only enjoyed our dinner at the pub on the evening of our arrival

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    A lovely leisure trip in a beautiful part of the country. Hotel was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our 3rd 4th visit. Never disappoints. Excellent venue. Food exceptionally good . Lovely atmosphere. Bedroom superb and comfortable. Continental breakfast in room already made up for the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    We had a great time relaxing in the pub having lunch and playing bar billiards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was missing would be some filter coffee of a coffee machine in the room

    We really enjoyed our stay at the King Alfred. The staff were fantastic,the food was great and the room and pub was a very nice place to stay. All good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    A really comfortable stay in a lovely pub, and great value for money!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little tricky as it was just street parking, which you do get a permit for but as we didn’t arrive until 7pm it was difficult to find a spot. We did get one in the next street along which wasn’t too far but made a bit trickier with the rain and lots of luggage! Also there wasn’t enough milk in our fridge for tea/coffee and granola for 2 people. But the staff were so friendly I’m sure they would have sorted it out if we needed it.

    A really lovely pub, which we were sad not to have more time to enjoy. The pub is tucked away from the city centre so there was no noise at night, and once we were up in the room you couldn’t hear anything from the pub downstairs. You also get separate access to the accommodation so you don’t have to go in and out through the pub and can come and go even when the pub is not open. The room was lovely and comfortable with characterful decor. The shower worked perfectly and was nice and hot! The cold breakfast in the fridge was a nice touch as well and there was plenty of tea and coffee. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and checkout was super easy! Still only a short (15 minute) walk to the high street. Great value for money!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable short stay and Good location for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in our room didn't work but the staff promptly brought us an electric heater

    Friendly and helpful staff. Interesting bar area comfortable and well furnished

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    A hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During food service - latest 10pm - some noise heard from kitchen exhaust. Not enough to distract from watching the TV - although this is a really minor point. We loved it and would happily stay in the room again!

    Cosy local with great beer and food - 10mins walk to city centre. Room was very comfortable - there was no noise from the bar - some from kitchen exhausts during food service (see below) but this only a minor thought. Had a great nights sleep on a very comfy bed. Breakfast wasn’t included, but room did come with a quirky; orange juice, granola, yoghurt and pastry continental and a voucher for money off at a sister pub (that did breakfast). Staff were great - attentive, friendly and really helpful. My thanks to the Manager for finding space to book us in for Mother’s Day Lunch despite being fully booked. This was a really nice touch and made the weekend! Lunch was great too. Some pubs with rooms don’t bridge the gap between being a pub and being a pub with staying guests - the Alfred did.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable, a characterful decors with a good atmosphere, and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street parking was a concern but we found a nearby parking space, and the area seemed safe enough to do this. A permit was provided by the hotel so parking was free but not guaranteed.

    Situated in a quiet leafy area near to a park. The staff were friendly and responsive to our needs. Meals were available over extensive hours, and were of a good standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    The location was good with parking on the street right...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was supposed to be some light breakfast, but I couldn't find anything at all.

    The location was good with parking on the street right outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good stay would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although breakfast was adequate- a cooked option would have been nice.

    Beds comfy, very clean, nice bed linen. Friendly staff. Parking permit meant we didn’t have to pay for city centre car parks. Taxi only £5 to centre of Winchester. Staff called the taxi for us. They also let us use one of the bedrooms early to get changed for a wedding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    When I left there was no one to speak to.I didn't feel anyone cared if I had a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold in the room and bathroom.The heater was off in the main bedroom for getting dressed in the morning.I was grateful for the rug as I wrapped it around me while watching TV and sleeping.

    The yogurt was really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location for the city facilities but just far enough away to be very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One very small criticism - the evening meal was excellent except that the bread and butter pudding was too firm and contained insufficient fruit.

    Everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    My kind of place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely quirky atmospheric pub, friendly staff, comfortable room, great location, and the dinner we had was delicious. Had to ring ahead to check room and parking access for my elderly parents, staff were helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Quirky authentic pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a little bit out of the way but still walkable from the town centre.

    This is a great little quirky pub. Really cosy. We were just planning on staying there, not particularly stopping for drinks. But was so nice we did end up downstairs in the bar. The breakfast idea is nice, a little fridge in the room that you can help yourself from. I enjoyed having my own little breakfast in bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely room;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater in my room didn't work. I didn't notice until I was about to go to bed and it was too late to do anything about it. The extra blanket in the wardrobe came in handy!

    Lovely room; well-decorated and quieter than expected. The bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Perfect hideaway close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful friendly staff. Food was great as was the attention to detail in the room. Location close to town. We loved it here and found it terrific value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Will certainly be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More attention to detail e.g. wobbly broken light fitting on bedside lamp. Remote for TV needed new batteries but by adjusting them we were able to get reception. Floppy shower head

    Friendly staff. Very quiet location. Permit parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Charming and elegant pub with excellent accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything. Served our needs.

    Quality pub and accommodation. We were approaching the culmination of a week long tour around the Home Counties and were hoping the Alfred would be a comfortable base to see Winchester. It exceeded our expectations. The pub itself is quirky but stylish. Professional staff and very helpful. I think we had the “small” room but it was hardly that. More than enough room. Clean, comfortable and quiet. We didn’t try the pubs fayre but the menu looked good and the place was still popular despite the time of year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Treat yourself.......
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all, I loved the pub and shall return soon hopefully.

    Beautiful old pub bursting with character, super friendly staff, great beers and wonderful food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too soft and squidgy for me - I woke up with a bad back. And the 'in room' breakfast was poor - granola and milk was ok, but the pastry thing was terrible and NO FRESH COFFEE! There were also no herbal teas, only builders tea. All in all, it was rather expensive for what you got.

    Nice room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    We won’t stay there again unless the rooms are refurbished and a decent breakfast available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed (room 4) was uncomfortable. The room had been painted but otherwise the same as before the new owner took over. No alternative mills available so we left hungry. Pastries looked dreadful. Instant coffee. No fan in the bathroom.

    The restaurant downstairs is very good and we liked the refurb of that part of the building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely clean room within walking distance from city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Green emergency exit light on bedroom ceiling lit the room throughout the night. Our bedroom was by the stairs which was noisy throughout night\morning.

    Great location. Very clean. Permit offered for street parking. Lovely pub lunch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Relaxing comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Friendly helpful staff food excellent room beautiful bar area very relaxing comfortable homely would definitely recommend to anyone

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    A good stay, in walking distance of the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough light to make the tea/coffee, had to use a phone as a torch. Some of the staff were a little too relaxed, barely acknowledged our presence at times.

    Comfortable bed, good shower, thick towels. Pretty good complementary continental breakfast (granola, yoghurt, milk, juice, brioche). Useful to have a fridge as we brought extra milk. Interesting eclectic decor in the room and the pub. We had a lovely meal (and very drinkable ales) in the comfortable pub, very relaxed ambiance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    A well-located pub/hotel which provided an excellent base for visiting the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all.

    We received a warm welcome from Jack on checking in and on a prior telephone call to clarify our arrival time. A mini-breakfast was included in the room rate and served our purposes well. The room and en-suite had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Really good location, staff very friendly & a lovely old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right next the stairs so very noisey when people were going up & down early in the morning. Also the shower had no door on it so when u had a shower the water went everywhere so made it very slippery

    Really good location, staff very friendly & a lovely old quirky pub just what we wanted

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    Location is five mins from town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little poor as it isn't fresh, it's in your room on arrival as the pub is not open in the early morning. On street parking (all there is) will be difficult if you turn up later in the evening.

    Location is five mins from town centre. Shower was great, dinner in the pub in the evening was tasty. Chatting to others in the pub was enjoyable. A very friendly place to be. I'd return no hesitation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    A pleasant stay in a pretty and characterful property.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark, which was fine except for getting ready in the morning. The mirror in the bathroom or the bedroom could really use a bright light overhead for doing make-up etc.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The building is beautifully decorated, as was our room. It was cosy and relaxing to be in. The shower was spacious and had good water pressure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Location was good for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. I would have liked a proper traditional breakfast -always a treat when staying in a B&B. My husband did like the breakfast - it was fresh and nicely presented.

    Location was good for us. The room and bathroom were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.0
    Over-priced for the facilities provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and much in need of a redecoration. The shower room was also small, lacking a shower door and in need of an upgrade. Safety light always switched on - far too bright. In-room, fridge-located breakfast of yoghurt, juice and muesli a poor offering. Not central: a good walk from the High Street - not too enjoyable in the rain.

    Quiet location, with no room impact from downstairs pub activities. Friendly staff in the pub.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location and lovely pub!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little too soft

    Although not included, the little breakfast laid out in the fridge was such a lovely touch. Great location in the middle of Winchester on a very quiet corner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Lovely place to spend the weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was a great stay.

    Great find on Booking.com. Lovely local pub with really comfortable rooms. Its a quirky building, decorated in a very eclectic way, really lovely and comfy. Highly recommend a stay there, it's close to town, parking permits provided for the roads close by. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Overall, the King Alfred is a very nice place to stay and dine. Would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner was the only meal served, but excellent food. Parking can be a challenge.

    Nice pub, good food, comfortable room, good beer, convenient walking distance to city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Was a nice place to stay after a night out.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no vegan options for food or no vegan milk so I had to bring my own food and milk.

    The person who checked us in was really helpful and showed us how to use the back entrance. They also checked to see if they had food that suits my diet. It is close to the station and town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast let them down

    Excellent staff very friendly my husband has walking difficulties and they were on hand to help with luggage etc

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: