Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The King's Head 3 stars

Thirlspot, Legburthwaite, CA12 4TN, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Legburthwaite

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 972 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were down in the area for a running event and they couldn't accommodate breakfast for us in the morning because it didn't get served until 08.15. We asked if the hotel could leave us out some cereal and a toaster so we could make our own breakfast in the morning as we were up early. They did offer us a pack lunch which consisted of a sandwich, apple and a drink in place of the breakfast but I didn't much fancy running an ultramarathon on a sandwich. The abruptness and the rudeness of the chef was unacceptable.. We were paying guests in their hotel and to be treated and spoken to like that in an aggressive manner was truly shocking. However when we got up in the morning the hotel had left us out some cereal but the damage had already been done...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices of meals.

    Great bedrooms and bedrooms, decorated and fitted out to a high standard. Fantastic breakfasts with a great choice on offer. Beautiful location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean Sheets/towels never changed on a 4 night stay Had to request toilet roll as never replaced A lot of hair and dust everywhere Staff not very helpful, poor service Food average quality and expensive

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the wardrobe was too small and not enough hangers for me and my partner. Also the bathroom sink was very small and unpractical. However do not let this negative put you off from deciding to stay.

    A nice pleasant comfortable hotel with friendly/attentive staff and a warm welcome from the Manager. Room was clean with a good en-suite shower. Lovely to see a good range of breakfast. Dinner was good at the restaurant and not expensive ( I had the steak and kidney pudding which was stacked full, no gaps and very filling!!) with chunky chips.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping needs 100% improvement, as upon arriving at the hotel the bed linen wasn't clean as the pillow cases had old make up stains on them. I had to complain as there was only one cup in the room no teaspoon, and only enough milk for one drink.

    The only thing good about this place was the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice was a bit limited.

    Room bright and comfortable but quite small. Newly refurbished with walk-in shower. Lovely beer and good food. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WFI the signal was intermittent especially at the weekend but should learn to do without it for a few days. Also no phone signal

    Newly renovated room very fresh and clean excellent value for money all the staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient . Breakfast was good quality with lots of choice including veggi option and pancakes large selection on breakfast buffet too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom did not have a shower but a dirty very old bath and the hand held shower attachment flooded the bathroom due to leaks. The taps were easy to turn on but next to impossible to turn off up to a point were you are afraid that you are going to break the taps off. The windows did not lock with one of them not even having a latch fitted, the room was full of flies/midges due to not being able to close the RHS window If they cut the price in half I still would feel that I was being over charged

    Food was great and the down stairs part of the property was very clean and tidy, however the room that we had (4) was in great need of a clean up and make over, really starting to show it’s age

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea making facilities a bit sparse. Bathroom would benefit from updating. Welcome was rushed and scripted. Wifi didn't work. Bed was very hot, still got winter bedding on in June! Food wasn't up to the price charged.

    Character of the property. Resident's lounge (to chat to people who where staying). Could not fault the service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We arrived late, due to traffic,and very tired dinner was already over. The staff were amazing,they went above and beyond to make sure we had dinner. Thank you very much!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing & enjoyable 3 day break last week. Location great & excellent for touring the Northern Lakes area. Wonderful breakfast choice & good value & tasty lunch & dinner menu. All staff were very welcoming and attentive. lounge areas cosy & quiet. Our room had all that was required and the bathroom had recently been refurbished to a high standard. We will certainly return again for the great value of this hotel. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel would benefit from a receptionist on duty. On a couple of occasions the Manager was manning the bar and reception and when manning the bar could not leave the bar for about 10 minutes to attend to reception and customers were kept waiting. My phone works on Microsoft and I could not connect to the wifi.

    The hotel was clean and tidy including the room. The staff are friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small room, tiny ill equipped shower room, no working public Wi-Fi, no mobile phone service (EE) and no room telephone, room properly serviced one day out of three (1st day nothing, 2nd day partly at 5pm after complaint, 3rd day OK).

    Breakfast excellent. Bar food very good. Lovely location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A charming hotel that fits perfectly in a beautiful setting between Lake Thirlmere and Mount Helvellyn. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, modern and comfortable with a lovely new en suite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are quite thin so heard quite a lot of noise in the corridor. This was due to other guests being too loud and going from room to room after midnight.. not the hotels fault. Also the room was very warm, had to have windows open and road outside was quite loud when cars went passed but not too busy so hearing a car during the night was rare.

    Great loacation. Great breakfast. Good selection of beers. Bath in Room 4 is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took about 30 minutes - no one at the front desk. I think they were likely understaffed. The bed and pillows were quite hard. The wifi didn’t work in our room.

    Just across the road (15 min walk) from the lake - we went there in the afternoon and had the whole lake to ourselves, amazing! The setting was lovely. The breakfast on offer was great, lots of options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the room was clean, however the radiator in the room didn't work, the hot water wasn't even warm enough to take a proper shower!! There was no room service the following day, not even some toilet paper! The bed was in such a state, kept making funny noises any time I moved, so it's fair enough to say I didn't get any sleep.

    The room was clean on our arrival. Also, at the bar I did have at least 2 choices for vegetarian/ pescatarian food, but there was no good value for money regarding the food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    According to my 6yr old son: WiFi should be better ;-) Probably caused by the location, WiFi itself was goods, but internetconnection slow to non-existent.

    Good location, nice staff, good breakfast and a very new room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi as good as non-existent. Room tiny, good enough for a single traveller though with a comfortable bed. Asked for a wake-up call in the morning, didn't get it. Not much choice to walk around. A bit expensive for all that.

    Bus stop right at the door. Note: if you choose this for your "base" and have no car, it's really good to buy a day's ticket in the first bus for 11.30 pounds and go to Kendal and back hopping on and off any of the (frequent) buses in any town of your choice along the way. Thus a great way to have a glimpse at the Lake District. Likewise easy to go to Keswick and on in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The King's Head feels a bit "in the middle of nowhere". It's on its own alongside a fairly busy A road with no obvious footpath which discouraged us from exploring the locality. This is a pity, because the location is beautiful.

    Our recently refurbished room was excellent and the en-suite was superb with the best shower I have had the pleasure to use. The breakfast was very good, with not just the usual UK expectations of juices, cereals, fruit, "full English", toast and coffee, but also a selection of cold meats and cheeses which one would find in Europe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived in our room there was a crisp on the floor and crumbs on the bed. We didn’t bother reporting it as it wasn’t a massive issue but otherwise the room was nice and the bed was comfortable.

    The property was ideally located for exploring the Lake District. The staff in the hotel were very helpful and very friendly, the restaurant was amazing and the burger was probably one of the best I’ve ever had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was free, but service was almost non-existent. We didn't try the restaurant, which was a bit pricier than the pub grub and breakfast fry-ups we would have preferred. As a result, we had to drive into Keswick for our meals.

    This Inn is full of tradition and character. It felt more like staying in an extra room at your great-aunt's house than a modern motel. It won't be everyone's cup of tea, but we found it charming. I noticed they were doing some refurbishing while we were there, which is good - it's a bit worn. But I hope they won't modernize too much, and that it will retain its old world charm. The mattresses were blessedly firm, and the shower stream was nice and strong. Nice little garden out front to have drinks in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room could have been better but apparently it's about to be upgraded. But it was comfortable enough.

    Lovely old pub with excellent food. We chose this location as we could walk up Helvellyn from the car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt it wasnt as good as previous stays the little things are missing such as biscuits with coffee and tea facilities . Also no beakers in bathroom .

    Location, food, views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was newly refurbished, which was lovely.The breakfast was freshly prepared ,hot and tasty ,and of a good quality. The gardens were great to sit in with a refreshing drink after a hike up Helvellyn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway decoration leading to the bedroom was looking rather tired however, I am assuming this will be redecorated once all the bedrooms have been refurbished.

    The bedroom was comfortable and clean following a recent refurbishment. The evening meal and breakfast were both excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs barking at each other in the bar. The staff were not very friendly. We sat in the residents lounge for an hours or so and they were walking past constantly liked they were flat out busy which they were not. A smile wouldn't go astray. The bed frame creaked every time you moved in bed.Wifi not available in rooms.

    The views from the renovated room were amazing. Bedroom had new furniture in it. Meals were nice. Room very warm. The fire in the residents lounge was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bedroom no 2 was not very clean when we arrived the toilet wouldn't flush properly, the shower was difficult to get going, the divan bed frame didn't even have a valance sheet on it to cover up the stains. the floor was not cleaned in the four days we stayed.

    bar meals were good and a good selection of beers

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom too small couldn't walk around bed to bathroom. Charged extra for dog expected room to be big enough to get bed on floor for dog and still to be able to open bathroom door.

    Excellent breakfast and very good bar meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely rooms in the refurbished wing, but the beds can be a little small. In particular we found that ours was a bit short - our feet were hanging out the bottom and we're hardly giants! (5'9" and 6'3")

    Great location and quiet spot - wonderful walking around Thirlmere (there are some great trails out the back) followed by a drink out the front. Lovely pub downstairs and rooms are freshly revamped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    A lovely fire, a cosy lounge, and a welcome drink after a full day walking the fells. The hotel is set back from the road so even with the bedroom window open, the night traffic was no problem at all. The bus stop just yards away was a real bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very spotty. I could get a wifi signal... barely. it dropped a lot.

    The place was just perfect. a lovely little hidden gem. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening meals were a bit pricey.

    Renovated room was beautiful. Good choices for breakfast and all were delicious. The character of the property, the front room with a fire was cozy, and the views were incredible. The shower was excellent. Great central location between Keswick and Ambleside. We will definitely try to stay here again and will recommend it without hesitation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I organised this trip for my partners birthday as a romantic get away. Our room no.5 was at the top of the stairs and the main route for all 20 odd bedrooms, the building is old with creaky floorboards so there was no way you could go to bed before about 11 and dont expect to lay in past 7.30! when people walked past our room it was so loud and the head board of the bed moved, moving it away from the wall did not help! Our room do not look as advertised, it was very dated. The manager let us know that we were in a dog friendly room and that the hotel was currently under re-furbishment. Essentially I think because we had our dogs with us we were in a room that hadn't been done up yet. Which was fine with us, just the noise was unbearable.

    The food, the bar, the 'chillout' areas and the location of the hotel was perfect. Driving distance to keswick and windermere, amazing walks just out the doorstep. Very dog friendly! we took our two dogs and only had to pay an extra £15 per dog for the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was too small, however when I commented about this on leaving I was told he agreed especially with the dog but that the room was to be changed at some point in the very near future to make into a suite by joining with the room adjacent Would consider a return visit with a larger room

    The staff were very friendly and we were able to take the dog

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the bar very expensive for what you get. Neighbouring farmer very rude when we went onto his land by mistake to walk our dogs. It wasn’t clear what field behind the hotel was for the guests use. Mattress very uncomfortable considering it was in a newly refurbished room.

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is undergoing refurbishment, which is causing inconvenience to some guests (noise, dust, wet paint, etc.). Not ideal for guests who are mobility challenged as there is no lift and all bedrooms are on the first floor.

    The establishment is dog-friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anything can always be improved on but there was absolutely nothing to complain about:-)

    The location the atmosphere the staff and service We have been before 2years or so ago now. And wanted to return because we were so pleased with it then and certainly wasn't disappointed this time :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with a genuine old lakes feel to the pub and restaurant. Room renovated to a high standard and very clean. Staff were excellent throughout but could have used an extra pair of hands at times. The food was good as was the ale. Goes to show you can have excellent service and quality food while keeping the 17century charm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't bring my dog to the newly refurbished family room which was disappointing but they did try to accommodate us at their smaller hotel down the road, this was not practical for us though. Food was great except the scallops were small and overpriced.

    There was a fantastic breakfast menu, very good, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dated, but all were being upgraded. Separate WiFi for residents would be a great addition.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful, very friendly and knowledgeable. They made our stay warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The King's Head met all my needs to make travelling on my own with a dog easy. There was no problem with dining in the bar and having a table for breakfast set up away from the restaurant. The staff were lovely and nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation ongoing so no gripe there.. The one and only down side of a great weekend was the polish cleaner had an immense amount of body odour and to walk into that circulating smell when going for breakfast wasn’t pleasant at all.

    Lovely breakfast..Great comfy lounge by real fire..Great traditional Hotel currently being renovated so should get better.. Perfect for Helvellyn

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet is virtually none existent and the is no mobile phone signal. I know this isn't the fault of the hotel but if you want to stay in touch with the outside world, you might struggle.

    The excellent food, the warm hospitality, the cosy guests lounge, the beautiful location and the old worldly charm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff could have been a little more friendly and helpful. The room was a bit noisy with people walking up and down the corridor.

    The wood burner in the lounge was very inviting when it was cold and frosty outside. The public bar is very friendly and has a good range of local bitters to choose from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds could be a little better. But a full refurbishment is taking place quietly and unobtrusively in the background. Already planning our next stay, & if we didn't our mad Husky would!

    Everything - we have stayed here several times previously. Thirlmere is a fantastic location at the foot of Helvellyn & the hotel is a short distance from the Lake. The staff and food, dog-friendliness, are really excellent. A very old coaching inn with fabulous features. Great selection of real ales, and Lakes Distillery spirits.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The english breakfast was stale to be honest. Other than that it was good.

    The hotel and bar were excellent, lovely location and very friendly staff. Our evening meal was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too hard for my back but that’s just a personal thing, some of the rooms are looking a little tired so the current re-furb is overdue.

    Great character hotel in a superb location, the staff are first class and The food is is very good. My wife and I have stayed at the kings head six times with and without our dog they strike a nice balance between accommodating guests with dogs and those with not.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room that could do with a bit of a stub down . Was quiet noisey and very warm ,we slept with the window open all night and it was a blizzard outside .£90 not justifiable

    Food is excellent and the included breakfast far exceeded other’s we have had. Staff also very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an old coach house and has real character - Lovely scenery and staff very friendly - Breakfast and evening food was excellent - Will definetely stay here again as loved it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo used on the page did not represent the room we stayed in. The room was very very small and the page shows a large spacious modern white room. However , the room was clean, comfortable and very warm due to the heating . We weren't staying in our room other than to sleep so this didn't make a difference to our stay.

    Food was incredable . Highly recommend the food! The location was stunning and we hope to return in the summer with the dog for the day . The location was dog friendly pub which is the best kind of place! The Log fire was on at night which was so comfortable ! The staff were brilliant. Perfect night away for two.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds for us hard ...very old windows letting in draft from outside.....however on the plus side had to turn radiators down a little

    Food good in hotel restaurant although a little pricey...breakfast good....think portion sizes not average...a little small

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was poor, uncomfortable bed, cold shower room and toilet, dated decor, the pelmet hanging off the rail and a constant barking dog until dark. The corridor, landing and cupboards tatty and looks like it hadn't been decorated for 25 years

    The staff were excellent and friendly, the food very good, the bar and lounges were great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy pub serving great food and drink, and good choice of breakfasts. Welcoming and helpful staff. Great central location for exploring the lakes, with Grasmere and lovely walks nearby! Pleased to hear they are planning to renovate and freshen up the pub and all of the bedrooms soon, so I’m sure we’ll be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is some road noise early in the morning. Otherwise the only downside was meeting probably the most obnoxious individual in the bar that I have come across in the last 40-years, but I doubt if he will be there very often.

    The location is fantastic right at the foot oh Helvellyn & a couple of hundred yards from lovely walks around Thirlmere. The staff are really helpful and pleasant, with really good reception rooms & a roaring log burner. Great selection of real ales, and stocks the full range of superlative Lakes Distillery products. We have stayed previously and will be staying again soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OK, so the bedrooms are small (and the bathrooms even smaller). But they have plans to change that. The good far outweighs the not-quite-so-good.

    The hospitality was great. We loved the roaring fire in the lounge (especially when sipping a glass of mulled cider!), the lovely old building, the views from the breakfast room, the friendly staff, and great food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did look a little tired but then we were told that the hotel was having renovations next year and everything was being updated, but to be honest I didn’t mind the homely feel it was very clean. The bathrooms could be bigger, but again as long as there was only one person in there it wasn’t to bad.

    Excellent customer service from the staff especially the manager who was very attentive and very friendly. The food exceeded our expectations with big portions and wonderful flavours. The full English breakfast was amazing cooked to perfection and enough to set you up for the day. Everything was reasonably priced and had a warm welcoming feel . We didn’t move from the coal fire in the residents lounge . Overall we would and will be returning the location is perfect for discovering the lakes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was another one of these properties that says they are dog friendly when really they just accept dogs because they have to with them being in th lakes district. There is a difference and not one member of staff stroked any of our dogs

    Great location for climbing helvellyn

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny, couldn't even sit on the loo properly, a lot of road noise, poor beer and food expensive and not great.

    Comfortable bed and good biscuits in room. Nice bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small and I couldn’t get the shower to work but I understand the rooms are being refurbished.

    Staff friendly, food lovely and a warm, welcoming place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't feel it was worth the amount of money we paid for the stay! The smallest of en suite too! Although my partners evening meal was excellent, mine was very poor , Sea Bass, definitely not worth the amount charged!

    Breakfast was very good with lots of choice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect place

    Loved the style of the hotel, lots of fascinating nooks and crannies, old world charm and atmosphere, period decor, roaring fire, comfortable rooms. Excellent restaurant, superb breakfast choices, helpful and courteous staff. Great location for accessing mountains.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The headrest on the bed would hit off the wall with the slightest movement of any person on the bed making a fairly loud knocking noise. (Room 2)

    Breakfast was fantastic! Couldn't imagine better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Overall, the impression of the hotel was very good. Staff were attentive, service & food were good, and the room too very practical. A very enjoyable visit

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were a little too hot for us personally

    Flexibility of the facilities allowing people with dogs to enjoy their stay without affecting the non pet owner residents/guests

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms rather small

    Very friendly excellent restaurant. Lovely log fire . Nice situation. Comfortable We were leaving very early before breakfast so they gave us a packed lunch - magic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room a bit tired and in need of upgrading - small area of carpet threadbare, wood furniture old (vintage?) and shabby, single chair past its best. Window very draughty and spilled cold air into the room. Taps in bathroom WH Basin need new washers (difficult to turn off fully). Shower controls very stiff. At dinner, burger was undercooked and was sent back - replacement okay (complementary beer given in reparation).

    Warm, friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Tea/coffee, good size F/S TV in room. Good breakfast with plenty of fresh coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything to complain about. If tall , the lavatory is not well positioned. (design fault}

    LOCATION. SUPERB. HELPFUL FRIENDLY STAFF. ONE DOUVET TOO HOT. Quickly changed to lower tog. GOOD MENU BREAKFAST AND EVENING. A Wonderful long weekend. Sunshine the whole time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff. I had left something behind on a previous visit to the bar, they had remembered the phone call of a month earlier and it was ready when I checked in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE ROOMS ARE VERY SMALL AND A BIT TIRED IN THE DECOR DEPARTMENT BUT ACTUALLY WE DIDN'T REALLY CARE

    FANTASTIC VEGETARIAN BREAKFAST AND MY MEAT EATING FRIENDS LOVED THEIRS TO. LOVELY WARM WELCOME, ROARING FIRE, GREAT EVENING MEAL, HOT POWERFUL SHOWER. AMAZING VIEWS ALL ROUND

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is intermittent and phone service absent, although both of these are good for getting away from it all!

    Probably the best location in the Lake District to climb Helvellyn, as a great walk starts literally at the back door. Staff are friendly and so helpful, particularly Rob, for whom nothing is too much trouble, and Brendan, who knows the walking country well. The rooms are quirky and in keeping with the age of the building, and have baths, very welcome after a day of walking! The food is good - breakfast great, dinner options good in the bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather small bathroom was very small and dated Could have been cleaner

    Friendly attentive staff Lovely breakfast good choice Nice and cosy with warm rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single room 10 was pokey and in need of attention. Shower in room 14 was small and difficult to access. Main courses in the bar averaged at 14.95.

    Hotel lounge was great with log fire and comfy chairs. Beer was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 2 nights had ok welcome.on first impressions looked great lovely warm feel but then was told we Carnt sit anywhere that has carpet as we have a dog so all the nice cosy chairs was out of bounds .just the bar or what was like a prison sell we could sit in.we never ate our evening meals there as there was nothing that we would eat . We went out for a walk on dropping our stuff off .went back to the room we’re I found lots of hairs and dust stuck to all the edges of the carpet and the shower was blocked so had to cut that short for fear of it over flowing.on leaving to go out to another pub to have a evening meal.I informed a member of staff about the problems. Next morning we went out early was out all day came back to the room we’re all the hair and dust was still there and still water in the shower drain so I went down and spoke to who I think was the manager .he came up said the house keeping had done it I showed him that it had not and I was concerned about having another shower he then turned around and said I told her to plunge it there is nothing more I can do and left with not a sorry or anything.the girl started to wipe around and I said to leave it as it needed a hoover not a cloth and it was late and I wanted to get ready to go out the manager was arrogant rude and very dismissive on leaving the next morning as I always do I stripped the bed to my horror the horrendous stains on the quilt I felt sick on checking out I informed the manager about it and he said ok and as for yesterday sorry but we are due a refurb soon hope you will come back still in a condescending manner All I will say is never ever will I go back there

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight issue of noise from road (no double glazing?) especially when room became so warm that we had to open the windows. Positioning of WC in bathroom rendered necessary "personal cleaning activities" virtually impossible, (In other words you couldn't wipe your behind without banging your head or doing contortions!!). Strange set-up (to us at least) regarding menus. It was also clearly assumed that people would eat dinner in the bar (no tablecloths, etc.) rather than the restaurant, despite the prices, once you'd unravelled the two menus, being very similar. Mobile Phone reception a bit iffy.

    Cosy lounge area, separate from bar (but might get crowded/claustrophobic with a full house). Food was simple and fairly unadventurous but nevertheless of good quality and extremely well prepared. Staff very pleasant and generally helpful. Room very clean. Good range of hand-pulled ales.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: