Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The King's Lodge Hotel 2 stars

Bridge Road, Kings Langley, WD4 8RF, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Kings Langley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 588 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite was dusty and had broken tiles at the back of the toilet cistern with discoloured grouting in the room we were given. It only contained a bath/shower and toilet with no toiletries but we did have one toilet roll, the sink was outside next to one of the single beds. The room also had a broken window pane with broken glass in it and an inner sliding screen which can be closed over. You could see gaps in the wall structure between wall and floor in the ensuite. The floor also creaks a lot and is a bit uneven. You can hear people move about in the rooms next to the one we are in. The room looked clean and tidy until you noticed there were stains on the bed throw on top of the duvets on the middle single bed and the one closest to the TV in the langebury room (think it was called something like this). General dust on door recesses and skirting boards. The bedding under the main top throws seemed clean but smelt a bit greasy to me so I slept on top of the bed all night. Me and my friend were only staying a night so I would have been more disappointed and exhusted if I had booked a longer stay and would have requested a partial refund as the listings for the hotel look lovely for a listed building from 1642 but the general house keeping in the room, the bar ladies toilets (spider, spider webs with dead flies, dirty floor) and dinning room (dust on window shelves, dead flies around tea pot display) is letting the hotel down even with what looks like a Skeleton staff running the place. You can hear trains throughout the night/ morning making sleeping difficult even with ear plugs. When the trains are not passing, the quiet area is lovely.

    The hotel has charm and history. We were provided plenty of tea, coffee, sugar and milk in the room with decent sized mugs to make drinks. They were able to accommodate giving us a room with single beds and decaffeinated tea for me as I am a chronic migraine sufferer so I could have a warm drink. The staff were very friendly. There was free parking in front and at the back of the property. The property was very close to Warner Bros Studios for the Harry Potter tour and a pint of strongbow was £3.00. The food and drinks are reasonable priced considering its London. For a very basic room without breakfast in London, £60 for a night isn't bad.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally very run down for the bedrooms and bathroom --- tiles off the wall, shower attachment faulty, trickle of water in the mornings. Beds, furniture and bed coverings all very old. No remote for the TV. Wi-fi difficult to access (used BT-Fon instead). Breakfast not until 9.00. Feels in need of significant investment which must be difficult at a time when so many such places are struggling.

    Cheerful and sincere welcome and generally a good atmosphere. Sheets on the bed were very clean. Very acceptable evening meal in the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff were so friendly and welcoming. The local community were also accepting and friendly too. It's a nice area just outside of London that's a little more like home. Would definitely go back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom window had no latch on it at all. It just pulled to. There was no hot water in the morning, so it was a tepid shower at absolute best. Overall, it was a very disappointing stay, apart from the very pleasant staff. They did not, however, make up for the accommodation's shortcomings!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff on arrival was particularly wonderful and stood out to us they went beyond the call and provided a delicious tasty cheese and biscuit platter after the kitchens had officially closed which was very much appreciated by a very tired family after a long day. We booked as we knew we would be tired after Harry potter and this lovely friendly hotel was just a few mins down the road from harry potter studios . Highly recommended and thanks to the lovely lady on duty again on our arrival . She was lovely with my children as she also does exam invigilating . I feel that the Kings Lodge was a really good find and they should really make more of their quirky rooms with the lovely wonky staircase and four poster beds it is a really nice extension of the Harry Potter Experience they could do some kind of Harry Potter Stay Package . Best wishes to all at The Kings Lodge . Meg and family

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a little dusty and the television did not have a remote control.

    Lots of character, quirky and great location. Evening food was good value for money and delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was hot when the temperature outside hit 28C that evening but cooled down in the night when the temperature dropped.

    Old lodge has character and we were assigned the corner room. The room was tilted but that was part of the appeal and fascinating to us. The 2 windows in the room gave ample lighting in the day. Comfortable beds. Sufficient room space for a night stay for 3 guests. The garden at the back of the lodge was a relaxing spot. Bonus if you catch the neighbour next door who plays the guitar and sings really well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue I picked up on was that it was a little bit dusty but to be honest for the price you’re paying I’d hardly complain about it.

    This hotel is great value for money. Lovely rooms and the restaurant was great ! It’s in a great location if you’re going to Harry Potter World as it is round the corner from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a very old building and it shows. The stairs to our room were dangerous at best and the entire room sloped in one direction. We think parts of the floor may have been held together by the carpet. Despite all of this, we had a wonderful stay and would recommend this hotel.

    Excellent character at this hotel. Good food and very friendly, helpful staff. It is a 45 minute walk from Harry Potter so you need to really enjoy walking if you want to save some money. The cab ride to/from Harry Potter is 5 pounds and only takes a few minutes and staff are good at assisting with directions, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in dire need of restoration and, through no fault of the hotel, there were workman with chainsaws outside from around midnight till gone 1am in the morning so I had a dreadful nights sleep.

    The location was perfect for what we needed and the food in the restaurant was absolutely lovely. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was awful, whole room on a wonk, springs sticking out of mattress, sunken mattress. Bed on the wonk. in pain in morning.

    Staff were brilliant, food and drink good and well priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear everything!! Phone ringing downstairs and it sounded just like it was ringing in our room it was that loud. People that were staying in the room next to us were very loud and there was only a thin door separating our rooms. They were playing music at 7 in the morning, luckily we were up! Bathroom was very dusty and had dead wasps and moths in the windows. Also no bins in the bathroom. Parking was abit of a nightmare round the back of the building, hardly no spaces and we got the before check in time.

    Price was good enough for one night for what we wanted. We were visiting Warner Bro Studios the next day so it was just really somewhere to sleep. We stayed in the Winchester room(I think that’s what it was called) room was generally ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very old, with a smell of humidity. The bathroom is in bad stake (stones missing, humidity). The linen were clean anyway. The breakfasts are served only from 9 during the week-end (too late) and too expansive for the quality delivered. The kitchen is dirty, which made us doubtfull.

    Good pub just underneath and well isolated (no noise) Harry potter studios are 8 minutes far away by car, so it can be the unique purpose of a visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, great facilities. Bar/restaurant is fantastic, got a lovely atmosphere along with great food/drinks and service. Beer garden is also extremely nice. We will 100% be returning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property maybe quaint, however, the room was out dated along with plumbing which was incredibly noisy when using bathroom facilities, the room was not clean with previously spilt coffee on the wall and cobwebs, the lock on door was not very secure either, and no previous mention of how many trains go past and how often. Unfortunately I didn't find this good value (breakfast not included or mentioned on check in) overall I would not stay again - I would have spoken directly with staff when handing in key but could not find anyone.

    Good location for Harry Potter studio and staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean & comfy but could just do with a quick lick of paint!

    Very friendly & helpful staff, brilliant location for visiting Harry Potter studios & a nice walk along the canal, & excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we could find to complain about.

    It was a really friendly place and we would definately visit again. It was situated 2 minutes from Harry Potter world which was perfect for us. The food was delicious during our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was dirty. Little flies flying round. Shower wouldn't work as knob to change from bath to shower was missing. Room too hot.

    Good price. Great staff. Quaint, full of history but room a little tired. Great sheets. Great warmth if very cold. Fabulous food, great waiter. Great location for Harry Potter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear very plainly our neighbours

    Built in 1645there were limitations to the rooms that could have proven difficult for some to cope with, ie the steep spiral staircase to the bathroom!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear conversations clearly from the adjoining room and the radiator rattle woke us up in the night a few times.

    The Kings Lodge is a great place to stay. The staff are very welcoming, food in the attached restaurant really good and the room size is good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was cold. The room heaters were broken. The door lock to the bedroom was askew.

    Food and service in the public areas was very good. Great atmosphere and very traditional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything that we didn't like apart from maybe the shower was not as powerful as we are used to but that is just part of the uniqueness of the property

    Our accommodation was very comfortable for an older property. We loved all the character features, so unique. The staff were all very friendly and offered very useful advise for our various trips out and about. The meals were very good with a varied choice on the menu to suit all tastes and the portion sizes, well ....... Overall we had a lovely, relaxed break and will be recommending the Kings Lodge to our family for their trips to the Warner Studios

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall our experience was very memorable if I'm being a little picky I would say that maybe some people would say it could do with a little modernising, I. E furniture and licks of paint in the rooms.. But in my opinion we loved every minute in the quaint 17th century building as that's what we like..

    The food and drink was excellent and very reasonably priced.. The room had tea making facilities and a very cosy feel to it warm and quite, along with freeview in the room gave it a modern twist . The staff were very inviting and gave a real homely feel to the place.. All in all very good experience and would recommend it.. Many thanks to all the staff made us feel very welcome.!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in the shower,very dirty bathroom, dust everywhere, no one take care about our complain, they just left us in the reception pointing the door to go to the room.

    The un ice thing I can say is that there were extra pillows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being shown to our room up a steep staircase with our big bag and then the member of staff finding out that it was not vacant. We were given a free meal, which was not that good, but it didn't really compensate for then having to drive 7 miles to the next hotel they were able to book us into.

    Nice old building. Very interesting interior with character. The staff were friendly and very helpful when they found they could not honour our booking as another couple had been allocated our room for a two night stay. They rang round and found us another hotel, paid the difference and gave us a free evening meal. Couldn't have been nicer in trying to rectify a very annoying error on their part.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was in the middle of a pub, the room was dirty, we had a door in our room that was locked but led to another room (it was our emergency exit) and they were very noisy. The heating came on in the middle of the night and was ridiculously noisy and also train line going past the window with trains passing every few minutes.

    It is the closest hotel to Harry Potter studios

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms really disappoint, not very clean,didnt want to attempt a shower as bathroom was full of damp and mold, if a bit of money was spent on the hotel it would be a bice little place

    Food is amazing and staff are friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not what we booked. We booked a double bed and two singles instead we got one double and a single. Rooms are in need of a serious revamp. We were only given two towels between 3 of us, shower was covered in mould

    Breakfast was delicious, great selection on the menu. Staff were really polite and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had quite a low ceiling. A bit of an issue if you’re over 6ft. Bathroom could have been a little cleaner - lots of toothpaste marks on the mirror and around the sink. Our room also had a door (locked) which lead on to what we assumed was another bathroom as could hear people flushing etc while lying in bed.

    Room was larger than expected, comfy bed, cheap food and drink, lots of vegetarian options, very close to Warner Bros tour. Overall, very worth the very cheap price of £60 a night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was of very poor quality. Requires well overdue refurbishment. Poor washroom facilities and an impossible to use shower that was warm only at best!

    Service, food and beverages were supurb. All staff were friendly, polite and accommodating to our family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about our stay was fantastic from the staff right up to the locals the room was clean and the food was amazing and everyone was warm and welcoming

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Split level room, stairs to bathroom were an accident waiting to happen. |Dirty t-shirt from previous occupant left in drawer. Breakfast served at 9am was far too late.

    Food served was fantastic value for money. Thickest, juiciest steak from a pub restaurant. Excellent location for visiting Warner Bros Studio Tour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great friendly welcome when we arrived. Whilst we waited for our rooms we had a drink in the lovely bar which was comfy and has a huge fireplace, packed full of character. The drinks were incredibly priced at £3 a pint! We ordered some lunch which again is amazing value for money. Rooms plenty big enough, clean and quirky (we had a 4 poster bed). Short (20 minute) walk to the train station and then only 30 mins to central London. Great location. Breakfast is priced at £5 for a full English to complete the incredible value for money in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in wasn’t the best, didn’t even mention breakfast until I asked, room was not great, dirty bathroom, skanky shower

    It was in a location that was good for me with off-road parking and the room had a bed and tv

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if I was to be picky it would be to update the décor in the rooms and a little general maintenance in the ensuite but this didn't affect my stay

    very pleasant and helpful staff beds comfy linen spotless, food gorgeous will definatly be staying again just 5 mins away from harry potter place which we were visiting

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the room was badly fitting and the lock was broken meaning I spent all night wondering if someone could enter the room. The bathroom door didn't shut properly. The room stank of cigarette smoke- I think this is because the window was broken and smokers grouped below the window. The covers on the beds were stained and ratty. The overall conditions of cleanlines of the room and bathroom were very poor, the taps in the bathroom were very dirty and the cold tap didn't turn without also turning the pipe.

    The staff were great. The breakfast was lovely and great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was lacking in facilities, no wardrobe, the carpet filthy, plaster falling from the walls , no headboard so the pillows kept falling off the bed, the door to the bathroom would not shut, the television did not work, the bathroom was cold and the shower did not work. Acces to the bathroom was via narrow stairs to an upper floor.

    the breakfast was excellent. However the dining room was bitterly cold and compelled us to leave somewhat rapidly. Additionally breakfast did not commence until 9 am.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Poor welcome from a staff member who seem more concerned about the pub bar than welcoming me and seemed quite surprised to see me? The shower didn't work, creaky floorboards and the lock was broken on my door. It also had numerous people walking up and down the corridor outside my room all night which was unnerving.

    Very little. Breakfast was at 9am which for business travellers is pretty useless.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room and bathroom was poor, lighting not working when arrived then flickered once a bulb was replaced. Kettle was not safe and sparks then wouldn’t switch off. No warm water from either the shower or sink throughout our stay. Gave up complaining.

    The beer was good and well located for the Harry Potter tour

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds themselves have various stains down the sides of them, one even looked like it was blood, they were also various body hairs in the beds and the lock on the door was so hard to open it was hurting our hand in the end. The window had a crack in the glass and the bathroom had cracks in the tiles.

    The food was wonderful. They have gluten free bread which many places still do not. The breakfast was amazing but they could have said that they charge for the tea, coffee and fruit juice before we helped ourselves.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was cold, TV did not work, shower was small and sealant was black mouldy. Rooms are in serious need of some TLC. Looked like it was last decorated in 1972.

    Convenient location for my work, free parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very pleased with the whole visit. Again, staff were very welcoming and we felt very looked after.

    Very welcoming. Lovely open fire in the bar. We are in the evening when we arrived and food was delicious and really generous portions. Bedroom was clean and beds were comfy. Shower was warm and powerful. We ate breakfast at an additional cost and it was worth it. Again very generous and delicious! Everything was a very reasonable price and we would definitely look to return! We were going to the Harry Potter Studios the following day and it is a 2 minute trip around the corner in the car. Great location for it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not have record of booking. Booked a family room, ended up in separate rooms far away from each other. 1 room had broken window latch so would not shut properly, door lock not fitted properly, bathroom tap not fitted properly. Other room smelt lick chip fat, very unclean behind draws, really noisey if someone was behind adjoining door, could hear every little human cough, and bodily function. Husban could not sleep there and one night ended up sleeping on floor in the other room. Blocked sink. Difficult to park as car park busy. They had private function in pub. This ment it was closed to general public, so we were told if we wanted a drink we could purchace on but needed to take it to our room (bearing in mind we are in seperate rooms, in different areas of pub, not close at all. This was also a pain because we booked for a family room we took shared shower gel, toothpaste etc.).

    Breakfast and staff were good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy whatsoever. Paper thin walls. Could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms. Kept me up until 6 in the morning. Room wasn’t clean, very bad smell throughout the whole building, carpet was filthy.

    Very close to the Warner Bros. Studios, only a few minutes by car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it to be very cosy, all staff were welcoming and happy to help. The food served was excellent. And great value, There was no need to eat anywhere else. The room was warm clean and comfortable. I would recommended anyone wishing to travel to London and wanting to stay outside the city. Great transport links to London. just a 1 mile walk away form the location, I have already rebooked in the new year for when we are going back to take the Harry Potter tour.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant think of anything. For the price and comfort it was an excellent stay.

    The staff were extremely friendly, my wife actually colluded with the two women in the bar to embarrass me by delivering me a cake and singing happy birthday. It made my wife's day. The food was excellent, no complaints about the portion sizes, especially the breakfast. Really enjoyed our two evenings there, The atmosphere was excellent. We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the area. Loved the music selection played in the bar. Our room was directly above the bar, which was crowded both nights, we did not hear anything to disturb our nights. We used the hotel as a base to visit the Warner Brothers studio for the Harry Potter exhibition, it was a very good decision, as it was only two minutes away in a car and very easy to find.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grubby, needs in depth cleaning. "Four Poster" was four posts with unwashed swags of netting. Fitting are old, outdated and in need of refurbishment. Even in the dining room under tables and chairs had not been dusted in a long time, just superficially cleaned at working level. Outside, in the rear car park, rubbish and used equipment were gathered in corners where litter was allowed to blow about.

    Food was plentiful but nothing special. Staff were doing their best but it all needs proper inspection. The location has nothing going for it being really a suburb of Watford near the railway and M1 junction.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old lodge, really old!! It´s from year 1642. Traditional, cousy, familiar and if the building, corridors and general structure of the house is that old, the beds are great, excellent night of sleep and everything works in the room. Really nice pub and restaurant. Everything was delicious and good price and I was very well taken care of by all the staff. Nothing special around to visit or take a walk in the park. It´s a is a very very old and conserved roadside lodge near a residential area. The train to London is a 10-minute drive by taxi or Uber.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room cleaning could stand improvement, and some of the fixtures in the bathroom were coming apart.

    The place has heaps of character. The bar downstairs is great, food is great. They've tried to keep most of the original character of the building where possible. Quite close to Warner Bros studios. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms seemed shabby and didn't look all that clean though the beds and the bathroom were very clean. It may just need a bit of TLC to improve it. Staircase steep and different heights - okay for the nimble.

    The breakfast was lovely. Portion sizes were generous and the tea and coffee was all freshly made. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coach house sits next to the main railway line and so it became apparent that high speed trains would speed past every few minutes. They became part of the background noise, but they run til late night and start again about half 5, so be warned if you are a light sleeper. The hotel have tried to lessen noise by the glazing, but the trains do affect with vibration too.(This is not the hotel's fault...think it's been there a lot longer than the railway!!) The central heating was also a bit noisy..radiators could do with bleeding!!

    The Staff were lovely and friendly, and the meals we had (evening meal and breakfast) were lovely and value for money. The location was a few miles from Watford town centre (easy to hop on a bus. The no 501 to Langlebury Church) and was close to Warner Brother studios by taxi (about £7) This venue is a very old coach house, hostelry, quirky and inclusive of wonky, squeaky floorboards..so don't expect spanking new and modern.it was also a bit dusty in the corners...but comfortable for an overnight stay. There is free wi-fi, and a hairdrier ( with nozzle!)for use.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor issues - bath didn’t have a plug so only shower was possible. The sink was slightly blocked. Also nowhere to hang clothes or put toiletries when in the bathroom. But these were only minor and the charm of the rooms and pub more than made up for it.

    Beautiful charming old building with bags of character. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good choice of food incl breakfast (not included in the price of the room). Bathroom was enormous!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was 'old' steep stairs and quite dangerous steps to bathroom above which was Spartan to say the least - not for elderly or infirm

    Breakfast good value

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The very, very minor detail I would have changed was that they would have offered breakfast at an earlier time, so we could have eaten there before going to the studios.

    For the cost of the room and the location to Harry Potter Studios, you couldn't ask for a better place to stay. The staff were fantastic, really helpful with directions and incredibly friendly. The food was homemade and terrific and I loved that the pub and the room was quirky and not your bog standard and boring chain hotel room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful,beds were comfortable and food delicious. The location is perfect for the Warner Brother’s Harry Potter Studio Tour

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough towels provided in room. Needed ear plugs to get to sleep because people in neighboring room were loud.

    Food was good. The people were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing negative about our stay

    This is a beautiful and wonderfully quirky little pub! It has an amazing oldy world feel to it! Fabulous original features and wonderful staff and regular customers who are extremely welcoming! The food is great and the drinks not overpriced! If visiting Harry Potter then this is the ideal place to stay as it has a magical feel to it! We loved our two night stay here and plan to return with our children. Would happily recommend the kings lodge!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The King's Lodge Hotel, Kings Langley My husband and I loved the quaint olde-style English Lodge which reminded us both of olde style Pubs that we have stayed in on our previous trips to UK. The staff were so welcoming and the food delicious plus our beds were very, very comfortable after our long day enjoying Warner Bros Harry Potter and Bretchley Park Tours. Would recommend to all Travellers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one thing that let this property down and that is you have to walk through the bar/restaurant to get to your room, as your an outsider in someone else village, you felt like you where being watch when you walked though to the door to get up to your room. Bathroom was a little small, but it did the trick!

    The bedroom was lovely, very homely, comfy bed, spacious room, would recommend if your where going to go to Harry Potter world, 20 Minutes walk away, they where very nice and friendly staff. Lovely stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could smell smoking in restaurant during dinner and throughout the evening. Room was very cold. The large radiator did not work - only heat was towel radiator in the shower room. Reported this - staff offered to leave heating on all night to help. Went to room after a lovely dinner room still cold. Reported to staff who tried hard to locate a heater for us but this was not found.

    Staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. They were a real team with respect and appreciation for one another which is good to see. The owner and chef were in extra early to accommodate our breakfast requirements and this was no trouble at all. The owner was jolly and welcoming and had a very good relationship with the whole team which was a pleasure. It truly felt like a little family and started our trip very positively.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel is very old and therefore allowances must be made, I feel that the cleanliness left something to be desired, including bedding etc.

    Staff were very nice and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial reception was brusk, one person person staffing the bar and reception. Room was tired in need of redecoration and grubby with hot water pipes running through it. TV was placed over a painting! Secondary glazing made it hard to ventilate. The next day the furniture was being moved out of all the rooms as the proprietor had sold or bought another pub! We were asked during breakfast if we had vacated our rooms yet, all a bit disconcerting. Rooms in this area are expensive and are never set at a level consummate with the condition.

    Breakfast was served by an attentive person who looked after us and was friendly. We are vegan and breakfast was OK, we had brought with us almond milk and soya spread, I can't think of anything else positive to say.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be difficult for anyone with mobility issues but it's an old building so difficult to adapt

    Friendly staff, lovely atmosphere. Genuine old building with loads of character.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing say 10/10

    Very nice staff, very helpful beautiful food very resonable prices for our stay as well as food and if you are traveling too harry potter land the hotel is located less than two mile from there would stay at hotel again .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fast trains on the viaduct alongside might not suit someone who wants zero noise sleeping overnight, but I already live near a railway so this was actually a familiar sound - fine for me !

    comfortable and good food and drink in the pub below. olde-world quirky rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection was available only in one area in the pub and wasn't available in rooms or garden.

    This property is in amazing location. Food that was served always fresh and totally delicious. Busy place that used by locals that shows quality of food and service. Pub looks and feels historical and magical - feels like going back in time. Our party with kids totally enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't stay because they don't cater on Sunday.This is not stated on your description.So lost my £60 and paid again to stay at another place nearby that did evening meals. Won't be using Booking.com anytime soon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cramped and poor quality furnishings. Definitely does not conform to fire safety regulations ( I am a retired FPO)

    Meals and drinks good value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were civil but not particulary warm. Check in was odd staff didnt really give any instruction about checking out or were the room was. The corridoor had aload of furniture in it. Shower attachment was broken and cups and bed throw overs dirty.

    Basic but clean property. Good location for harry potter studios.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For starters, the staff that checked us in walked too fast and tried to rush us, would not even let me unlock the door myself and seemed like she was in a hurry to go somewhere. Secondly, I specifically requested a double bed as I was with my partner but got 2 single beds instead. Maybe that is why she just said the room is upstairs and let us find it on our own. Thirdly, there is meant to round the clock customer service but I had to leave the keys in the room because there was noone to check us out at 5 a.m.

    The fact that I got a place to stay overnight

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young lady who checked us in was not welcoming, we explained that we had to be out by a certain time as we had a slot booked for Harry Potter world, she just said breakfasr is at 9am and didnt suggest that we may be able to get some at the Kings Lodge or any other places that we could try.

    Plenty parking and although breakfaat did not start until 9am we were able to have some breakfast at 8am which meant we didnt have to look around the area for somewhere to get breakfaat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't told before arriving that there was a party going on in the main pub, so no food available after a 5hr journey.kettles in both rooms had loads of scale in them, so didn't use them. In one room the single mattresses were way too big for the base so not a great sleep.

    Where we were put was quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we booked to stay at the lodge, it has a lot of history and very interesting. when we arrived we were told there was a party in the lodge so we had been put in the barn. the barn was down the street part of a boarded up pub. it was absolutely filthy, the carpets and walls were stained. the shower and toilet were so bad we could not use them. filth and dust behind the bed. skirting boards stained and filthy, NO FIRE ALARM OR FIRE EXIT. we complained but was told the landlord was away nothing could be done. we did email the landlord but in his opinion there was nothing wrong with the place.

    the indian restaurant next door

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have done with some touch ups in the room and bathroom although noticeable did not affect our stay and are easily rectifiable when they have the opportunity.

    I thoughly enjoyed staying at the Kings lodge hotel. We were met with a smile, and they were very accommodating by providing us with an early breakfast the morning we were visiting Harry Potter studios and even ordering a taxi. The food and drink was reasonably priced and the atmosphere was very relaxed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior of the room was rustic which was fine but did feel slightly cramped and could do with an update .

    Staff were really friendly and food was really nice ! Quite a quiet pub so we could get a good nights sleep . Very handy for the harry potter studios .

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The King's Lodge Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: