Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kings Arms Hotel 4 stars

29 Nevill Street, Abergavenny, NP7 5AA, United Kingdom

#7 of 23 hotels in Abergavenny

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 441 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisier than I expected on Monday morning with an early visit from the Refuse Truck.

    Great young staff team made us very welcome. Breakfast was good. Location good for exploring the Brecon Beacons. Lively pub with good live entertainment. Not as noisy as I expected in the evening for a pub with tables outside in some lovely weather.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was very noisy. our room faced out on the picnic tables and we were kept awake by drinkers outside until 12.45 am. the saniflow type plumbing system was also noisy and could be heard from other bedrooms.

    the staff and food served was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only thing that we didn't like was the bed was quite uncomfortable, in room 2, we did not complain though

    Staff and location excellent , also location, food very good and a lively pub atmosphere that we liked, would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Really can’t complain about anything

    The porridge was cold at breakfast but other than the food for my evening meal I as fantastic. Great hotel with really friendly and welcoming staff. Defiantly will be stopping again when I am in the area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room in which we stayed got a lot of noise from the bar below which meant we couldn't sleep until the pub was closed.

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little dry and wasn’t offered any brown or tomato sauce .

    Very good friendly staff , room was clean , superb location , will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about the whole experience

    The flexibility and friendliness of the staff. Their understanding to modify pre-printed menus. Nothing seemed too much trouble and every one of the 10 staff we met were smiling and accommodating. Would highly recommend **** five star

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing was the macerator in the shower room made a noise and gurgled every 8 minutes, which wasn't great in the night. I reported it and the Receptionist couldn't have been more apologetic and said it hadn't happened before.

    My daughter and I had a twin bedded room which was perfect for us and very comfortable; the food was excellent and the staff so helpful. The situation was ideal for the car parking and lovely small shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower could have been a little bigger, but as it's 16th century, getting any sort of en suite into a difficult area would always be a challenge

    Large comfortable room and love the 'sloping floors' nothing in a straight line, old quirky feel to the place. Great service and the food was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like?

    I really look forward to visiting here. The staff are always very accomadating to any request. This week I had requested a room with a bath but on arrival was allocated a room with a shower. No fuss or nonesence, straight away was given a change of room. The whole place has a great feel about it. Breakfast is fab and the location is perfect being so central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky characterful old inn with a welcoming relaxed atmosphere. l had to visit Newport and this was the nearest dog-friendly accommodation that l could find. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient in all areas. Reception staff even helped to collect luggage from my car and carry bags to the room. Breakfast was outstanding in choices, quality of ingredients, cooking and presentation. Even my dog was happy with the choice of treats at the bar and the welcome and attention he received from the staff. Far better atmosphere, food, bar prices and value for money than the usual iimpersonal chain hotel - and dog welcoming!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Everything was great. Been there several times and will continue to go to the King's Arms. Great location and everything is amazing. Room, food, staff are all superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It lists free parking but staff advised the only parking was a public car park opposite which you have to pay for. Rooms aren’t very sound proof so you can hear people walking past. Toilet flush is SO loud. It feels like the whole pub might fall down.

    Really nice breakfast, beautiful room, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m amazed a building that old can be so comfortable. I loved the short doors, slanted floor. These certainly give you a sense of the old world charm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told we had to leave the key at reception when we were leaving the building - however, as the reception was also the same place where they took bookings for the restaurant etc, we did sometimes have to wait to hand our key over when the staff were busy serving in the restaurant. The only other issue, which I admit I hadn’t considered before booking, was that being above a pub it would be very noisy. The night that we were there, there was a live musician in the front bar, and a disco at the back, plus we could hear people outside who were in the smoking area talking very loudly.

    Good location. The room itself was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure where to book in

    Staff were friendly although it was unclear where to go to book in at first . The room was amazing and had a huge jacuzzi bath . Best of all though was the food - best I’ve had in years . It was so full of taste and cooked to perfection .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room we had was noisy with ambient noise. The bed was a bit creeky. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, all the right ingredients but waited for ages and then overcooked

    Great location and had plenty of charm. The staff were attentive and polite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the location of the hotel and the nature of the business (it is a popular pub) there is a fair bit of noise especially on weekends however the hotel are thoughtful enough to supply ear plugs in all rooms

    Booked last minute and very glad I chose the Kings Arms. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms are comfortable and had a lot of character. Ate in the restaurant a few times and the food was excellent every time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy when we arrived, Wales were playing Ireland in the 6 nations, so to be expected really.

    Fabulous room 11. Really good Sunday lunch, excellent value. Superb breakfasts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not really set up for business use as I had to get an extension from reception to be able to plug in laptop at the desk in the bedroom.

    Charming, eccentric, Great location, cosy bar area, helpful and friendly staff and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs to the top floor might be tricky if you weren't good on your legs - though the member of staff talked us through the quirks of a very old building.

    I liked our cosy room on the top floor with its sloping ceiling and old beams. The bed was comfortable and the room and en suite had everything we needed. Our breakfast was great, especially the vegetarian option of Glamorgan sausage.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one problem in that It was noisy due to our room being right above the bar and Friday there was a singer/guitarist. We knew this when we booked, but it was abit noisier than expected. Earplugs were provided though but didn’t find them til next day. Saturday was a little quieter. Very popular with locals.

    Staff were really friendly. Hotel in a great location in Abergavenny and parking across the road at £4 per 24 hours. Room was lovely and bright and warm. The restaurant food was quite pricey but delicious. Full welsh breakfast very appetising.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A sign to show where the reception is and a bell would be helpful.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Food good variety and well prepared. Building , characterful and old. Room facilities ( tv, wifi, bathroom etc) good .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Such good value when my wife joined me outside after having checked out I went back inside fearing that we had been indercharged but no, total was much less than expected. Also in the morning they offered to set up a table for us in the bar so we could be with our dog. They didn't have to but this to me summarise the quality of the service provided by the team here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise level was an issue as their was live music BUT the management was so accommodating & moved us the last night after I mentioned it. Thank you!

    Amazing customer service!! A real family feel to this establishment. Lovely 16th century carriage house.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need new mattress and the noise when flushing the toilet, which made it impossible to do during the night with a baby in the room.

    Staff very friendly and location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Non-dining pub part could have been bigger

    Beautiful ancient building, really senistively modernised - retaining crankiness, but slipping in all the stuff that makes for a comfortable stay. Great food and beer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the room was precarious however both my partner and I are fit and healthy but mild concern at the very top of the stairs with nothing to hold on to. (Room 10) Although resident had been unable to book a table for dinner which was disappointing particularly for a 1 night stay and the reviews of good food

    Staff were very friendly Nice bar on site Very cosy room and attractively decorated Excellent quality food at breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely refurbished old inn with very friendly and efficient staff. Comfortable bar with good ambience. Excellent evening meal and very good breakfast. Room in the roof with old beams had character- but not so good if you are tall. Great for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed to obey the sign to duck or grouse ! I didn't and bumped my forehead.

    Upgrade to a superior room it's worth it. The quirky sloppy floor especially going round the corner at room 4. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen can't make toast to save their lives. Bed was very soft - not good for bad backs.

    Complimentary upgrade on the room was a nice touch - nice room. Restaurant dinner menu looked good but we were eating elsewhere. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being asked by locals in the bar area how long we were planning on staying in the leather chairs...8 different occasions. Infuriating and most unwelcoming, would not return because of this.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise in our bedroom coming from the bar was exceptionally high making it impossible to sleep until everyone left at about 11.45pm. This spoilt an otherwise nice hotel.

    Staff were very friendly and the food excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited choice of fresh fruit options at breakfast, but staff helped by getting grapes & prunes from kitchen.

    Friendly staff, big comfy room, very clean. We would return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here on two occasions, both being for business. The rooms are lovely and the staff are always willing to help. The bar in the evenings has a great atmosphere, always busy with the loveliest people. I would definitely recommended! p.s Get the breakfast, it is well worth it! (I would recommend the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very obliging helping us with luggage, food was excellent and location right in town centre. We arrived on Halloween and being a pub, we were warned it could be a bit noisy but all was peaceful by midnight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit too warm for me. Don’t think the bath in the room works as you can’t really use the shower without crouching in the bath and if you stand the water goes all over the carpet!

    Cosy room and excellent cooked breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive.

    Comfy bed - great bathroom- two sinks shower and a whirlpool bath. Big screen TV and lovely big tea cups with tasty tea. Sofa in room too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the rooms are impractical for older people with steep staircases and vaulted ceilings. However room rates don't reflect the worst rooms...which should carry a cheaper rate. The Hotel also attracts a lot of people to the outside areas which can be very noisy if your room is street side. Breakfast wasn't anything special.

    It was an old property and very central to the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My payment was doubled charged but i think was computer error.

    Hotel was beautiful with lots of character. Staff were friendly but unfortunately missed breakfast by 7mins, so could only get a cup of tea. Abergaveny was a stunning little town and would definitely come back and also stay in the hotel as it was perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking arrangements not clear before arriving.

    Loved the breakfast and the overall stay. Love the quirkiness of the hotel. One staff member offered to lend me her personal lighter for the evening when I asked if they had any. Thankfully I found d one in my bag so didn't have to but that is an example of going above and beyond. Excellent stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Atmospheric old pub in town centre, public rooms small and cosy, excellent service,we had a lovely spacious room, very comfy bed and linens, large bathroom with twin sinks, a shower and Jacuzzi bath.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The third bed in the room meant it was very crowded and not enough space for sitting/relaxing.

    I liked the old nature of the building but would have liked to read more historical information.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Use of public car park and having to pay for it.

    Nice clean,comfortable hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.Will not hesitate to use this hotel again and will let others know about it. Thanks to all at The Kings Arms Hotel.Abergavenney.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was within walking distance of the train station ( about 15 mins walk but probably quicker without children!). The staff were friendly, efficient and accommodating, the room was comfortable, breakfast was good and we enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing really we didn't like. Parking was in the adjoining public car park. That was free from 5pm till 9am the next day. There were plenty parking spaces and we could see the car from the window of our room if we leaned out.

    The room and bathroom were large and the bed was comfy. The room contained a sofa and bed so plenty of space to sit and chill. The TV had a big screen. The windows opened so we could control the temperature in the room. The food in this hotel was excellent with local, fresh ingredients well cooked and attractively served.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit expensive, we are lucky we could afford it, but it was worth every penny. Quite noisey with live bands playing, but the bands were excellent and we didn't mind listening to the music tucked up in bed.

    We stayed for 2 nights for a friend's wedding. On Friday we had a meal in the restaurant and both myself and my husband agreed it was the best food we had ever had, ever! I had the scallops followed by risotto, my husband had air dried beef followed by beef fillet burger. The food and the service and all the staff were absolutely fabulous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly noisy at night time as square outside so had to shut windows. Room then became hot (room in eaves of roof). Fan provided, but also quite loud.

    Great room. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed was facing the patio like space of the hotel's pub and some drunken lads was shouting loud til midnight. No tissue papers in the room.

    Everything was fine!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beams couldn't be altered but the room layout could. A little bit of thought would have given you a shower in the bathroom rather than the slipper bath in the main room.

    Room 11 is quirky but not really for people above 5ft tall lest you leave slightly concussed! The beams are lovely, but they make it particularly difficult to navigate when getting in and out of bed, and men need to be limbo dancers when visiting the toilet. The age of the building is one of it's charms, although the walk to the bedrooms could mean you get a feeling of vertigo! Bed was comfortable. Would benefit from a shower, the slipper bath looked lovely to relax in but was a little impractical if you wanted a morning shower

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant noise in the room from either a boiler or the antiquated toilet system. Bed was comfortable but very creaky. Breakfast was disappointing... orange juice not replenished, poor choice of cereal, full cooked breakfast was very snall with burnt toast. Cleaner had hoover lead trailing on the floors and was mopping around us whilst eating breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room with a free-standing bath in it, which is a nice feature, but quite impractical if you use the shower - water can go all over the room, onto the adjacent lamp, in power sockets etc. I expected that there may also be a shower cubicle in the bathroom, but there was just a toilet, bidet and hand basin. An infirm person would struggle with getting in and out of the bath, as it is quite high up and there aren't any hand rails I had to clean someone else's hair and detritus out of the bath before I could use it: not too appealing It would be good to make it clear in the room description about the free-standing bath being the only way to wash and that the room is up a rather steep, sloping flight of stairs from the first floor, which, again, would not be good for a more infirm person

    Warm welcome; good location of hotel in town centre; adjacent car parking (not the hotel's own car park); rustic charm of old building; large room; superb breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very limited but nice bar and restaurant facilities. Parking off site and a short walk away but free. Nearer parking is pay and display.

    Good breakfast and evening meal. Good central location and ambience. Room large and comfortable (Superior Room with view) with large well equipped bathroom. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is outside seating and the noise does carry up to the rooms at the front of the hotel. Just laughter & general chat but it is annoying when one wants to sleep.

    Delightful staff, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay at the Kings Arms Hotel was comfortable. We ate a tasty dinner and breakfast was good too. It had a small friendly bar that was good for a drink and a chat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because they took our food order late we hardly had time to finish our starter before the main course arrived.

    Unfortunately, we didn't find the exterior terribly inviting. It was the yellowy brown coloured pebble dash walls (needs to be white). But once we were inside the interior went to a higher level with old qwerky features and large oak floor boarded floors sloping in all directions. Our bedroom was large with a huge en-suite, which was very comfortable. We loved the dining room and the food was excellent. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower compartment was cramped and as a older person rather unsafe as there was nothing to hang on to as the floor was slippery

    The location was central - found this very useful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    On one of the hotter days of the year, and being on the top floor, ventillation could have been a little better.

    Great town centre location. Accomodation was excellent and staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a problem for us, but the public car park is just across the other side of the road from the hotel. £4 for 24hrs - good value.

    Food beautifully cooked and presented. Looked out over the square from a very pleasant comfy room. Rooms and landings a little uneven due to age of property, but part of the charm. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and the food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If only the staff had asked the folks sitting outside late at night to have a little consideration for those trying to sleep. That spoilt our stay.

    Clean and fairly friendly place..though I guess the heat was hassling everyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The management ceased to open the restaurant on a Sunday night from May 2017. I had specifically telephoned in early April before I booked on line to ask if they did food on a Sunday evening, it is important in small towns as alternate eating places are likely to be closed, and arriving early evening you need a meal on arrival. They did not bother to email upcoming guests to tell them of change of policy, very poor. As it happens we found an excellent “Gurkha Corner” restaurant just up the street, and I have to say that they cooked some of the best Indian subcontinent food I have ever had, at a reasonable price, and with charm and attention from the manager and staff that made the Kings Arms staff look like Woolworths check out girls. I have read all the minus points others have written about the Kings Arms, and none of them seem inaccurate or unfair to me. Insofar as they could have been corrected by the time we stayed, they had not been. I doubt the manager/owner reads the reviews and reacts to them. I am suspicious that the Kings Arms may have an investor/owner who has little hotel management skill, and has other interests, and leaves management to staff without real incentive to make the place really first class, for which it has much potential. There were lots of small points I did not like. One has to run the gauntlet of an internal courtyard to get to the rooms. Smokers in that area make the place unpleasant, and the smoke drifts up into the bedrooms if weather is such that windows should be open. There is a small no smoking notice, but strangely when we arrived I was under the distinct impression that the crowd occupying the area, and some smoking, were actually off duty staff or friends and family of an owner or management.

    The room we had, a twin room overlooking the street, was small but comfortable. The cooked breakfast was OK (but no better than one should expect). The location of the hotel was convenient to public car parks. On the hotel street frontage, at first-floor level, is a large and colourful plaster relief of King Charles II’s coat of arms. His father’s head rolled, I am sure the management will not forget that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The duvet was very thick and heavy, and we were both too warm during the night, otherwise nothing to complain about!

    The Kings Arms is centrally located in Abergavenny, and offers a good quality of accommodation. Being a 16th century inn the is plenty of character on show, but the fittings and furniture were modern where it mattered. The staff are excellent and everyone was friendly and made us feel very welcome. We were upgraded to a Superior double, which had a 4 Poster bed, so a great add to our experience. There was no food available on Sunday evening, however the breakfast next morning was great - good quality produce, well cooked. The bar is well stocked with 3 ales and plenty of other drinks on offer. all in all a place I am happy to recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a year earlier and asked for a low floor room as my husband has walking difficulties. Yet we only had an email a few days prior to say that they could not provide this. At this point as we were attending a wedding we had no hope of booking anything else.

    Great Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really, no complaints.

    The location was good, the staff was great, the food was delicious, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I would return in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location right near a lovely park, they welcomed our little dog. The evening meal was superb locally sourced food the breakfast excellent Room and bed warm and comfy Staff very professional and friendly We shall return and thoroughly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much!

    The breakfast was really great, and the staff were so helpful. They really made a fuss of penny out dog and also were very accommodating when we missed dinner. The surrounding are was great for hiking and being outdoors, the weather held up for us too. Daytime naps in the room were great too as there was hardly any external noise and the bath was much needed after days of hiking. The people of Abergavenny were so friendly too - they made us feel right at home!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not very comfortable, needs new mattress.Breakfast, table not laid out, no glass, sugar,salt and pepper, no butter with toast. Hotel was slightly noisy, difficult to sleep.

    Very friendly staff and accommodating.very quaint stunning historical features.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame to have to walk through the smokers area to get to the rooms. Parking only free if you want to walk a steep hill. Paid in full before arrival but staff had no record of payment, thankfully I had email receipt with me.

    Location is great. Parking nearby. Breakfast was lovely. I had smoked salmon & scrambled eggs, which was lovely and light. My husband had the full Welsh, he really enjoyed it, not at all greasy but seemed lighter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has an unusual layout. My room (7) had one small window. This was directly behind the bar with staff three feet from my window. I felt very exposed and had to close the blinds for privacy. The hotel was not full. So why choose to put a customer in that room? Disappointing. Because of this I cannot recommend the hotel. Arrival was confusing. It was not clear where in the pub to check in. I asked a staff member and was passed on to another twice.

    An interesting historic building, though the staff knew nothing about its past. Quality and presentation of breakfast. Room was pleasant and well decorated (but see dislikes).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking on site but there is a free car park at the bottom of the hill. TV didn't have many channels and no BBC channels due to a fault.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our beds ( room 5) was very un level . Although the floors and ceilings were all quirky which we loved as it gave the hotel it's charm the bed could be sorted for a better nights sleep. My husband felt like he was rolling out of it all night. So didn't have a restful sleep.

    Hotel was well placed for the theatre. (Reason for our visit) Breakfast was lovely. Staff very good. Overall lovely hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing that went wrong was the central heating was accidentally switched off one morning but overall it was great. Watch out for the lower beams that comes with these old taverns.

    Excellent and quant hotel. Rooms tastefully brought up to date yet still retain their old world character.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very disappointing food was dried up as if it had been kept warm for a long time service took ages had to ask them to take our order after 15 minutes of waiting

    Dinner in restaurant was amazing breakfast very disappointing room was lovely spacious and clean overall a great break would come again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half eaten brownie left in our room. Cobweb running half length of room. Bar and live band very noisy until 00:30 - we're old! If you want quiet break maybe midweek would be more suitable.

    Room was huge and comfortable. Food was superb. Food service excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife found problems in few difficult small areas without handrails which anyone with mobility problems could experience. Also, unfortunately we were there as the area right outside our room was being decorated and the smell of paint and white spirit was very strong.

    Probably the best food we have ever had in a UK hotel - the fish curry and the belly pork dishes were amazing. Disabled parking across the road.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: