Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Kings Arms and Royal Hotel – RelaxInnz

22 - 26 High Street, Godalming, GU7 1EB, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in Godalming

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 608 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Decent rooms above a pub in picturesque Godalming centre.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its an old pub so the rooms are a bit small and hallways a bit windy, but that is what I expected.

    The lady dealing with reception was great - she enabled me to arrive late and dealt with a troublesome fire alarm by standing by all night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    The locating was ideal, staff were friendly, room was clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flooring in the bedroom was very creaky, felt sorry for any one underneath us. The room was also very warm, could have done with a fan

    The locating was ideal, staff were friendly, room was clean and tidy, bed was very comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little tired and in need of some tlc No air con Grossly overpriced, more than double the price of a previous stay

    Great location Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooked breakfast as cook hadn't turned up for work! Continental breakfast, ham, bread, cheese etc wasn't covered so flies were dotted around and on the food!! Staff tried to take £110 from our bank acc even though we had paid our bill in full on arrival and didn't like the fact we'd questioned it. Very abrupt staff! Balcony needed cleaning and sweeping as it was filthy. Would not stay here again!

    large bedroom, good bathroom, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Served its purpose as a place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was over the longest heatwave we have had for over 40 years but the room was so hot, there is no air conditioning, not even a fan. I stayed for two nights and purposefully left the curtains closed to keep the Sun out, but these had been opened by the cleaners. It annoyed me. My room was clean, but small with no easy chair, the water was hot and plenty of it. There is no lift so you have to carry your cases, my room was on the second floor. I booked room only so cannot comment on the breakfast. When I left there was not a soul to be seen. All the doors were locked. I could have been the only person in the building. For the money charged I don't consider this good enough. However it's central situation was useful to me.g

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is 5 min walk to our daughters home, so perfectly placed for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the immediate area can be noisy but given that the football was on, it was very quiet

    We have been before, it could do with a lot up work and updating, the staff are friendly and the manager very pleasant, it is very convenient for where we visit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, ok stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't feel too welcomed by our hostess, the decor needs a bit of an update though that's not really a problem...parking is poor in that there are only 5 spaces, all of which were occupied when we stayed...fortunately there is a pay and display close by which is free between 6pm and 8am weekdays...

    Our room was clean and comfortable enough, the Kings Arms location is excellent for an evening in Godalming. Breakfast was ok, not great...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En-suite could do with an update or maybe a steam clean & new grout where the tiles are.

    Staff very friendly & helpful. The bed was very comfortable & we had a nice cooked breakfast, manage to get parking at the hotel which was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    NICE LOCATION JUST THE WRONG ROOM THINK YOU NEED BACK ROOM AWAY FROM THE HIGH STREET
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    DID NOT LIKE THE BED IT SQUEAKED LIKE MAD EVERY TIME WE MOVED THE NOISE FROM THE ROAD EARLY IN THE MORNING WAS MAD LORRY UNLOADING UNDER OUR WINDOW NOISE FROM THE STREET UNTIL 2AM NOT HAPPY

    BREAKFAST WAS VERY GOOD ROOM WAS VERY NICE AND CLEAN

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.4
    Fire alarm in room, roaming drunk, uninterested management! would you feel safe?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no one on reception of a night, no security, a drunk was allowed to walk the corridors at night unchallenged trying to get in the room! Fire alarm went off in the early hours of the morning and there were no staff or security to guide, advise or allay fears. Decor is very tired in the room, wardrobe door was literally hanging off when opened, bathroom although clean needs updating

    breakfast was good choice bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful staff in this lovely old building which just needs a little t.l.c.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You could feel the mattress springs at night. No lighting with a deep step down behind a heavily sprung door (up stairs, turn right, door immediately on your left).

    The staff were really helpful and welcoming. Great variety at breakfast. Interesting surroundings and leisurely atmosphere in the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Excellent for overnight stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was lovely. It was very comfortable and the staff were excellent. I was going to be a little late for checking in due to travel delays and they stayed behind so that I could still be checked in. Even though bar was closed they offered to get me a drink if I wanted which I thought was very kind of them. I thought prices were really good value and would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    A perfect stay. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a refurb. Lovely old building with some fantastic features. The bar area is beautiful.

    Really nice stay only here one night but in a great location. Really nice staff, very very helpful. It could benefit from a makeover but it didn’t spoil our stay. It was spotless. Would stay again and defo recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Friendly staff & excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger bath towels would have been nice.

    Clean comfortable room. Excellent pubs and restaurants nearby. Great breakfast options. The croissants were awesome. 😋

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was not cleaned so was given a different room which was lovely but was lacking towels, hotel is old and rustic but needs tlc, and cleaning is not a priority.

    location,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Very helpful friendly staff - called to check on my arrival...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs updating - price reflects this though

    Very helpful friendly staff - called to check on my arrival and took great trouble to direct me and find me a parking space - Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Location, plenty of walks along the river Wey and beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More than 3 coat hangers and some hooks on the back of the door and bathroom as there was nowhere to hang anything. Carpet hadn't been vacuumed for a while.

    Location, plenty of walks along the river Wey and beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms clean and tidy but in need of updating/attention in places. The reception is not open on Saturday/Sunday mornings so difficult to check out. Keys left on reception from those who have leftgive access to rooms to anyone walking in from street!

    Great location. Amazing historic building. On site parking. Staff we did see very friendly/helpful but seems to be one bar staff member doing everything at times!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.2
    Disgusting - never again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (19) was small, dark, old fashioned, dirty, mouldy and uncomfortable. The mattress for the (single!) bed was too long for the frame so sloped upwards at the foot. One of the curtain tie backs was torn open, the skirting board was falling apart, there was a considerable amount of mould on the tiles in the shower cubicle and the soap dish was hanging off the wall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    No sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from high street until 230am. Unable to close windows. Emailed my complaints(as left early), and didn't receive a reply

    Room was very nice, could do with some updating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    Not what I expected for 100£. Could have been much better with a little more effort.
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t appreciate that I was made to pay before I even saw my room. I was told that I had been upgraded but my room looked just like the one I booked. For what I was paying (100£ a night) for a double that only I was occupying, I thought breakfast was included. I was told that the room I was upgraded to cost 140£ a night which is very hard to believe. The carpet was filthy, as was the window out of which you could not enjoy the view of the high street. The glass bath/shower door had not been cleaned and there was no conditioner which is expected when paying 100£. Also there was a crusty brown mark around the base of the glass shower door. The shower towels were far too small. The manager, a scary French lady, did not aknolage me when I arrived and was very rude to my sister. There was nobody to speak to upon check out and had to leave my room key with a teenager who seemed to be collecting everybody’s keys. I wasn’t given my 10% booking reward at checkout.

    The bed was comfortable and Brenda, at check-in, was nice and smiley. I liked the tea and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    it was ok but I wont be re booking when we return to the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room faced the High Street and with no air con we had to have windows open which resulted in very disturbed `sleep` on first night (Sat) with noise from nearby pubs etc.

    very central location was convenient. good breakfast and friendly staff. easy parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.0
    Charming hotel in lovely position and great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the heat I had to have the window open which meant it was very noisy as a gorgeous night so lots of revellers out. The noise stopped at 2am but then traffic noise from 5.30am. Not the hotel's fault at all. Recommend asking for an even number room as they are on the back so should be quieter.

    The location, free parking, the charm of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    2.9
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not getting my money back

    I got ripped off for £99 and I’m still trying to get it back They told me the card I used failed and it didn’t Watch your transactions at this place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    excellent valuye for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very dates with slot machines , décor very tired and hallways smelt of damp and must !

    beautiful old pub in the heart of the town centre , great shower and comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only little fault was that they're starting to do the breakfast between 7:30 and 8:30 found it a bit early

    Have stayed here quite a few times now seeing family, the staff are always very friendly and got an upgrade room this time, which was very nice,the breakfast is very good,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    It provided basic accommodation which is what I was looking for on this occasion .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was travelling alone and I felt safe. All I needed was a bed with clean bed linen and a shower with clean towels. I was visiting family in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    Not great value for money, although potentially location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was shabby and well past its best, badly in need of refurbishment. There was a shortage of staff which meant that those who were there were under pressure. They were really doing their best under difficult circumstances and we appreciated the care they endeavoured to give.

    Our room was spacious, comfortable and full of character - a really good surprise as the rest of the hotel was rundown and shabby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Nothing not to like at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast 7.30 to 8.30 is earlier than I'd have liked. Ok if you're working but I was in holiday. Too early.

    Voucher offering 20% off dinner was welcome. Dinner itself was good, And breakfast! High quality sausage. Always a good indicator of a great breakfast and indeed it was very good indeed. Free parking round the back. Bang in the centre of town. Note. Ignore the road signs saying you can't enter the street to the hotel between 10 and 4. You can. You only have to drive 100yds down the 'no entry' bit and go through the archway and you are in the car park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed staying in Godalming, everyone was very friendly and helpful. We want to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that the cooked breakfast wasn't included in the price. It wasn't clear. The coffee could be better.

    The beds were comfortable. Very good shower. We appreciated the tea and biscuits in the room. Good TV Very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Hotel with tradition, even a tsar slept here :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Traditional older hotel with pub/simple restaurant in the town center. Even Tsar Peter the Great slept here :-). Rooms OK, very clean. In total nice location with parking in the rear. Very friendly service! Breakfast good. I liked it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.4
    Brilliant location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had a massive hole in the ceiling. The tea and coffee making facilities were appalling. The kettle was filthy. I took photographs of the ceiling and kettle. The bedding was very thin no spare blankets or duvet in the closet. The taps in the bathroom were not fitted to the basin properly. The carpet was very stained. The wall paper dated. For £82.00 a night it was definitely not value for money. I would not recommend. The state of my room should be reported to trading standards. I was in room 2.

    Brilliant location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.6
    Not worth £110 per night. Premier inn would have been better value. Cerya
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt as if we were an inconvenience to the staff. No food after 4pm on Sunday and breakfast not served after 8.30 on weekdays even though the food menu clearly indicates its served till 9.30

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, good selection at breakfast, central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with a deep clean. Remote control and radiator were incredibly dirty.

    Friendly staff, good selection at breakfast, central location, comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely Building, Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot, and boiler was noisy in the room.

    Lovely old building, central to the high street and all local amenities, comfy bed- had a really great stay ☺️

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed and unsatisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was other people's faeces on two of the toilet paper rolls in our bathroom that has already been used. The restaurant area was unbearably hot. When I tried to phone the day before arrival to check a couple of details no one answered my call in spite of several attempts. We would not stay here again. We have stayed a few times before as it is a convenient location to friends in the area but this time, it was awful. The toilet paper situation is unacceptable.

    Staff were fine and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Very good in general - would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast available on the day I left. Shower was a bit erratic in terms of pressure and temperature.

    Very pleasant room, good facilities,friendly staff and convenient location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good facilities but pity about the heating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room heating went off around 9.30am and didn't come on again until 3.30pm. It was a freezing cold weekend and we couldn't stay in such a cold room.

    Location is excellent and the room was a decent size. Good bed, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The top floor was quiet away from the bar areas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Amazing value in the heart of Godalming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little lumpy but not too bad. Next door's shower was very noisy - understandable probably in such an old building.

    Amazing value for money. Very clean. Incredibly old building with a lot of history - the floors were uneven and all the beams and period features were fascinating - you can read a potted history in the hallway. The breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Perfect. Happy to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having the kettle under the smoke alarm was a bit silly as I set it off just trying to make a cup of tea!

    We didn't eat breakfast. Staff were so lovely. Room was very nice; the bed was super comfy. Very quiet central location. Hotel quirky with loads of history. Would absolutely recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Excellent location in a charming historic Inn - great staff too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some crockery and breakfast items on the breakfast table weren't replenished (butter, side plates and teaspoons) however the lady was on her own and it was busy and she did bring the items out ASAP when asked for.

    Really lovely staff (Sarah) and very warm and cosy - very happy with our room - spacious and spotless with very comfy bed and crisp linen. Quality of bacon, eggs and sausage very, very good and plentiful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Good accommodation for business travellers
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good accommodation for business travellers, hotel called our office to ask what time my colleagues would be arriving so he could make sure their rooms were warm when they arrived.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.4
    Basic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen and towels were low quality. Bathroom was basic, and somewhat dated. Room was not thoroughly clean.

    Central Location, yet still quiet. Parking available

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.5
    Thanks to all the staff for making our short stay enjoyable. the breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred the option to eat at hotel during the evening but no food option on Sunday evenings

    Excellent room provided and very clean & comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    A warm, welcoming individualistic and atmospheric hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing....there is limited hotel parking but the public car park is just nearby and was free on the days we were there.

    The staff member was genuinly cheerful and went out of her way to serve breakfast the wsy we like it. Lovely Christmas morning start to the day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Very pleased that we choose this hotel for a one-nighter, excellent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really, only downside was the bar tariff seemed a little pricy.

    Very friendly welcome, managed to get us into our room before the usual check in time by allocating us an upgrade to a room that hadn't been used the previous night. Large and very comfy double bed and very large bathroom. Excellent location although a little difficult to find a route to it by car owing to the one- way system in Godalming town centre. Having said that though, once there it's in an excellent position in the High Street

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    4.2
    Some good, some bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid room nr 7, if you want a twin bed, but still sleep next to your partner!!! As some hotels have double beds that are merely a glorified single bed, we always book two single beds and in any other hotel the beds are next to each other, with a side table in between or not. This time we were lined up each side of the room with a large cabinet in the middle. At least tell people up front that they will in fact be sleeping apart if you can see that they are clearly partners! The breakfast should be improved. Part of it was very overcooked and other parts were undercooked.

    The beds were good and the linen was clean. There is a tile loose in the bathroom floor and it is time to replace the floor grouting which was not there and some of the sealing. The shower head needs to have a night in vinegar. But the bathroom was clean and so were the towels. The location is excellent and the heating was working properly on this cold night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Historic charm & comfortable accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing for me, however, it's an old building so there isn't a lift/elevator. You need to navigate stairs to get to all rooms. Additionally parking is available to the rear of the hotel but limited on a first come first served basis so you may need to use a public car park. There is a large car park a few minutes walk away.

    Located on the High Street of Godalming the hotel is in a perfect location close to the train station and bus services. Have been staying here for around 2 years now. It's a lovely old building so expect creaky floorboards, historic charm and quaint rooms that depict the age of the building. One of the rooms has the original stone fireplace, not working, but lovely nonetheless! The staff are welcoming, get to know you, always wanting to make sure you have a comfortable stay. Despite being central it's quiet at night so you can grab a decent sleep on comfortable beds with crisp linen. Showers are powerful, hot, plus toiletries are provided. The restaurant serves good pub grub and a decent traditional English breakfast or you can grab yoghurts, toast and cereals. Help yourself to teas and coffees. Not for everyone, but they have a nice bar that also shows the football. Plus a small outside patio with heaters.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    Room was good, breakfast good. Bar, table not cleared & glass not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too warm, like a sauna but I turned off radiators & opened windows that I could which made it bearable. When I mentioned this at the bar, the lady said thanks for letting her know as it had been very cold a few days earlier & she would need to adjust the thermostat.

    Nice clean bed sheets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs in bathroom, tv reception not good, tv slotted onto bracket but not secured could easily be knocked off by a child for example

    Very comfy bed, large room, very warm,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    If you love vintage you will love this hotel, we had a comfortable stay to remember.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot in the corridor outside the room.

    The furniture was lovely French reproduction vintage furniture. There was a balcony and a gorgeous claw footed bath and big shower. We had been upgraded as soon as we arrived due to an issue to occur the following morning, in addition we were given the continental breakfast of very fresh croissant, cereals, toast and yoghurt for free as the Full English was unavailable due to the same issue.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no cooked breakfast available and the bar closed early the day of arriving- all of which we only found out about upon arrival. This upset our plans which we would have changed had we known in advance.

    The central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soundproofing was poor. Could hear people talking and walking around in the room above. There was some noise from the high street. Shower could do with re-grouting.

    The room was spacious and had character. It was very warm, which we appreciated as it was a very cold night when we stayed. Bed was clean and comfortable. Hotel was well positioned on the high street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Excellent Service
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My Wife and I only stayed two nights would have liked to have stayed longer, nothing we did not like

    We were put in room 3 on the1st floor a lovely well furnished/equipped room warm and very comfortable, with a excellent shower plenty of hot water

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Will stay again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative was that the wooden coathangers kept falling out of the holders which ecame annoying! A box of wine glasses was thrown at my cat windscreen by persons unknown whilst parked in hotel car park but luckily no damage done. Reception advised.

    Lovely friendly staff. Comfortable room and quiet from outside noise. Good channel selection in room and Sky Sports in bar area which I watched a couple fo matches Super location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    Perfectly fine for our needs and in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't make the vanity light in the bathroom work (no bulb maybe) and the room bin had not been emptied from the previous guest. (In common with many hotels the bedside lights were far to bright so impossible for one to read and the other to sleep. However not too much of an issue in this instance.)

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.7
    probably won’t stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no-one available to check me in when I arrived so I had to wait for 20 minutes until the lady cane back. It made me late for my appiintment because just as she got back, another couple arrived to check in and they were checked in first, despite my being there first! I also asked for a quiet room if possible and they gave me one overlooking the main road! There was no food being served in the evening as there was a problrn with the gas and electric and breakfast was extra. The car park was full when I arrived, mainly with drinkers in the bar and worknen. They need to revise their ad re car parking for hotel guests are there are very few spaces!

    Rooom was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.5
    The situation and the style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad soundproofing beetween the rooms. I have told to the service that a lamp bulb was out in our bedroom. It has not been replaced.

    The situation and the style.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only able to review the staff as my business trip was cancelled. However staff have been incredibly helpful and friendly over the phone resolving all my issues with no fuss.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    A great place, good food and drink available. Warm and friendly staff, clean accomodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The room was clean and comfortable and a good sized wall mounted TV. All the cooked breakfast was hot. No traces of fat or grease. The bread available for toasting was soft, fresh and either home baked or from an artisan baker. I would stay there again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Godalming is a characterful town with charm and choice.
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed two rooms and, though we paid the same for each room, the quality was wildly different...... ranging from the sumptuous and classy overlooking the high street (though a bit noisy|) to a much less well furnished, smaller and minimal room overlooking the rear of the hotel (though much quieter). So ask for more information about the room you are given when booking.

    We stayed at the hotel and held a wake for my mother there. The wake was magnificently and generously catered for and a discrete space was set aside for our private use. We were very grateful for the sympathetic treatment we were given and the day went as well as we could expect. My mother would have been chuffed..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    very good location but desperately needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like having to pay on arrival normally card details are taken and pay on leaving the hotel decor is very tired.

    comfortable bed very good central location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.0
    The area is just amazing. This hotel needs to change if it’s going to last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor reception. Empty on arrival land no way to call for assistance. You have to make you way to the bar and ask for help. The staff are clearly fed up and through out the weekend we kept hearing of all the issues and problems behind the scenes. On asking the bar staff what wine they have we were informed it was red or white. Lovely customer care. We then needed a wine ice bucket, well this really caused a storm and it took a lot of searching to find the one bucket the hotel has. The staff are often in the garden area smoking and it’s just so unprofessional. On the Sunday morning you are met with a member of staff who can't be really bothered to welcome you. She’s obviously there to get the breakfast over and done with and of home again. She was slumped in a chair with her bag and jacket and again it’s just all very poor. This hotel is in need of some serious improvement with management and customer care. The bar area and culture needs changing. All the local bars and restaurants have a great reception and welcome. The bar here is for the drinkers of the town and on our stay full of men wth a pint and betting slips.

    This hotel is in a great place to visit the local area. But it’s has some very serious problems with customer care and clearly management problems behind the scenes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Excellent. We would recommend the hotel to others.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    One comfortable easy chair.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was extremely cosy and well equipped, with a lovely shower room; the only drawback was "no comfy chair" but we didn't necessarily expect that, in a room deal at this good price. We just needed a place to settle down for one night before attending a friend's funeral and the hotel was brilliantly placed in the heart of town, close to the church and to good restaurants, so it helped to make the occasion easy for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Hope to stay again sometime.
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chair in room rather than a stool. Excellent dressing table and lighting for computer work.

    Super helpful staff when I said I needed to leave before breakfast. Provided a breakfast tray.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    The nights were horrendous, but the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the room was far too high and there was no means of controlling it. The heating system was incredibly noisy, both inside and outside the window. The temperature and the heating noises meant I slept very poorly during the two nights I was there.

    The breakfast and the location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A friend from Godalming suggested this place due to location and for its history and we had a great experience. I’d highly suggest staying there to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Don't expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel in very poor condition , needs a fortune spending on it to bring it to a descent standard, paid a lot for a scruffy room

    liked the location and the age of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Friendly, comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is very tired but the bone structure is great - with a bit of a modern spruce-up it could be utterly stunning. The fact the bar closed at 8pm was a bit of a shame as we had planned to have a drink there.

    The staff went out of their way to be accommodating. The building has a ton of character. The location right on the high street was fab.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.2
    Very overpriced for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were stains on my bedsheets and duvet cover and the noise from some sort of generator at the back of the hotel kept me up all night. The room was stiflingly hot so having the window open was essential and the noise was really intrusive.

    Great location and quirky restaurant/bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    3.8
    I was not impressed with the hotel , the rooms were old and dated and looked and felt grotty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was supposed to be a superior double! There was paper hanging from the ceiling and the room had a musty odour about it. The room was old and tired and grotty. In my fathers room the bedspread had a hole in it and the room smelt.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Recommended
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The isolation was not so good thus cold air was coming in. Was a bit cold. And too many steep stairs up to the room.

    It's beautiful, has a great atmosphere, clean and well mentained. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Delightful period coaching inn smack in the middle of GODALMING high street perfectly placed for sho
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast and superb staff despite you booking us into room 8 which was a twin not a double as I had booked but the hotel sorted things out to our complete satisfaction

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Location, comfortable bed, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to park in nearby public car park but fortunately didn't have to pay from 6.30pm on Saturday night or Sunday.

    Location, comfortable bed, value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is difficult as they only have 7 spaces allocated for guests and people who use the bar and restaurant. No food on Sunday night, not even a sandwich!

    The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: