Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Kings Arms 4 stars

The Street, Didmarton, GL9 1DT, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Didmarton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 265 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 issue and I’m sure it must have cropped up before a terrible fishy smell from somewhere between the corridor leading to the rooms.

    Great staff - I needed to work in the morning after checking out and they were more than helpful in allowing helping me to set up laptop and work in bar area. food and atmosphere spot on

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice designing features such as lighting/desk etc.. but room could have been cleaner. Not the best room impression, and service at dinner could have been better. ALL ELSE VERY GOOD!

    Food was excellent, comfy bed with ensuites, nice location! Lovely feel to the bar with locals arriving!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first floor room - which was nonetheless quirky and nice, was effectively in the car park so not the best outlook. However, we had asked for a quiet room (ie not above kitchens etc) and we didn't experience any noise.

    Bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. Staff were really friendly and chatty and couldn't do enough for us. Food was fabulous. Beer garden was lovely to sit out in in the sunshine. Overall a really good experience whether or not you were accompanied by a four-legged friend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not a dog owner, but recently stayed at the Kings Head, and was very impressed, on how dog friendly the Hotel was, by providing a great welcome, and dog breakfasts, but their Friendliness did not just extend to the four-legged friend. I knew it would be a good stay, by the warmth of the welcome, and the friendliness continued throughout, the service was great, and all the staff came with a permanent smile which was genuine, and neither false or forced, and all the staff were keen to provide service. The room was good, en suite with a small sitting room, and a wonderfully tasty breakfast from local produce, overall excellent value for money. This is not a criticism of the Hotel, but why or why, when you have such a fabulous facility and welcome, do some customers abuse such a privilege. On the morning of our breakfast, an adjacent guest fed her pooch ON the table!!!! She may do it in her own house, but not in a hotel with other guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dark room with a view of the car park. Slow service at breakfast, and there was only 2 tables there! Poor selection on menu when we stayed as they only served pizza and salad on the Sunday evening, it would have been helpful to share this with us when we checked in. Most staff very nice, one quite rude. Location in a small village with no other amenities means there are no other options for food unless you want to drive or take a cab.

    Nice garden and decor. Room was big for the price paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a single room so expected it to be small, it felt very small though as it was painted beautifully but in a very dark shade of green.

    Staff were lovely especially at check out time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy beds that very in nice clean rooms. Staff were very friendly and helpful, when we were trying to find a walk to go on. Restaurant serves very nice food, with great service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very happy with the facilities provided. The kettle provided in the kitchen has not been descaled for years, no hot water in the bathroom ( not ideal when the weather is freezing and rainy), food taste was ok but no options at all for vegetarians- which is fine but we were charged a full price on the breakfast when all we had was coffee toasts and eggs!!! .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Cottage (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    a draft excluder for the cottage front door, as a slight draft was felt coming under the door. Although it was not an issue, but better/more lighting in the living room as it was quite dark which is nice if you want to relax with a glass of wine, but would make it harder to read a book.

    All beds were very comfortable, the Cottage was well maintained, with a modern spin on the traditional cottage appeal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a little more choice on the menu and a little less expensive

    Great breakfast really comfy bed and pillows Good service and lovely friendly staff Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay away a lot in hotels, pubs & b&b'S. This stay was up there in my top 3. Location perfect, bed was amazing! Staff we're everything and more and breakfast was divine. I am really looking forward to coming back soon :) !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Cottage (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the furniture in the room is a bit old and can do with a refresh. Not so good, if holiday with a crawling baby.

    Friendly staffs and beautiful buildings at a convenient location. Good, if having a holiday with friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a struggle to find somewhere dog friendly but this place was amazing! They made such a fuss of our little puppy. Also the food was out of this world and the wine and Gin selection was top notch. Can't wait to come back in the summer!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was great and I will certainly stay again and maybe next time with my dogs.

    The staff were very attentive and welcoming. They made me feel at home even though I was travelling on my own.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds for us were too soft, and duvet too warm

    Staff were very friendly and amazingly helpful Food was really, really good Nice rooms overall Nice location, which was easy to get everywhere we wanted to

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals a little on the pricey side for what you get.

    The bed was lovely and comfy, it had a small room in between the bedroom and bathroom with a chair and dressing table to do make up etc. The breakfast was fabulous!! The lady who owns it is very friendly and kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Cottage (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Total lack of maintenance and TLC -broken appliances in kitchen, dirt and cobwebs upstairs, oven and oven pan too dirty to use, insufficient lighting in the lounge, mould on bathroom tiles etc

    comfy beds; spacious, good quality linens, nice sofas

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website does not state rooms in an annexe. The window was so draft we didn’t sleep. Hospitality tray had out of date coffee. Shower gel only half full. Mirror light in bathroom not working. Shame.has

    The bed was comfy. Plenty of hot water. One meal was excellent. Friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like.

    Have visited this quirky Cotswold pub & B&B many times and my stay always welcomed by friendly helpful staff at all times, comfy room albeit small however room was catered for a single person, the room clean and comfy, bar area great atmosphere and great food once again also offering a variety of wines and spirits - staff attentive at all times.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark dingy room. Mould in bathroom. Staff untrained in how to greet and inform guests of facilities and breakfast times. Breakfast hours too early. Pub and restaurant side of this business seems to work OK but they don't really have any hotel skills.

    Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Food good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was quite bright due to the positioning of the spotlights and the room was very warm during the night

    Whole stay was comfortable and in a lovely picturesque and quiet location. The staff were friendly and chatty and offered us suggestions about where to visit in the area. The meal was really good and spent a lovely evening sitting by the fire. There was a high quality of coffee offered in the room, which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed frame was incredibly squeaky.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, food was brilliant. Room was very nice and clean. Nice and quiet but in a great location to visit many other towns.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What were the genius perks at the accommodation I was not aware there were any. Single room so dark and gloomy it was difficult to read. Bedside lamp very ineffectual a taller lamp which throws more light is needed. Furniture in the room very shabby and marked. No shower mat despite asking for one had to use hand towel on the floor. Tea bag tin not topped up so no breakfast tea. Have stayed at the pub for the last 6 years or so and feel the food has become very expensive and does not represent value for money. Also the wine is expensive particularly as a lone diner just wanting one glass, very overpriced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 3 lovely room but there colour was to dark to be on all walls a bit depressing some mould around shower furniture a bit worn and sheepskin on chair could do with a wash but all minor things

    Bed was lovely food was realy good but a bit expenssive and not a large choice in evening staff were very helpful and nothing was to much service was fast and meals were lovely and hot

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road-front appearance of this property is a rather dirty grey-washed pebble-dash and window sills with frames that could all do with a coat of paint.... Drive into the car-park and approach from the back and the picture is transformed to a pleasant beer garden and welcoming pub. Summary: don't let road-side appearances put you off!

    This is a fairly old pub with all the Character you would expect to go with that, food was excellent both dinner and breakfast, and a good variety of well-kept real ales on hand pump. We had a twin room across the car park in what I think was a renovated stable block and our room consisted of a small sitting room, twin bedroom and bathroom. Clean linen, towels with depth to them ... all very comfortable and amazing value for the £75 B&B price we paid

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not the cleanest. Many cobwebs at eye level (meaning they could be reached if cleaned!) dropped something so moved the bed and was horrified with the amount of dirt and dust underneath!

    Staff very friendly and chatty. Breakfast outstanding. Parking great. Lovely pub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charlie and all the staff were excellent, rooms comfortable and clean, bed was home from home. Breakfast best I've had for a few years ... delicious bacon! Well done all involved in making our stay truly enjoyable ... would definitely recommend A++++

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was extremely dark but extremely hot on both nights, the fan provided just blew more hot air around the room. I mentioned this when I paid my bill the reply was "yes it is a hot room"? Breakfast was not served until 0730, for a business traveller this is too late so i didn't get breakfast on either day, i may have missed this in the literature but i don't recall seeing it. The offer of a refund for breakfast costs would have been welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Cottage (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cottage was not in good rental conditions Lots of cobwebs and dusty Bathroom Tiles and bath not very clean shower controls broken Dishwasher not working Headboard missing in double room pillows kept falling behind the bed Only 3 chairs for 4 people cottage

    Staff Location Dinner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could benefit from a little update, but all in all they are beautifully appointed.

    Loved the place. Very cosy hotel/pub with a great atmosphere and good service. Excellent food mostly from local supplier. Nice village surrounded by fields, very cosy and quiet. Must be very nice to have a pint here in winter after a walk in the fields! Also, lots of respect for the pub landlord and landlady for working so hard!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Cottage (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't fault it.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, we were made to feel like old friends, not guests. The location is out of this world. The restaurant and accommodation were perfect for our needs. We loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing negative to report

    Bed was comfy, was a single room took me back to be at home in my own cosy safe bedroom ... though wish my old bedroom was so well decorated!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't really much choice for vegetarians, one dish on menu.

    Really dog friendly, staff very helpful and pleasant. Beds super comfortable, showers were powerful. Did I mention how dog friendly they are!!!. Really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very cosy; we found it too much so. It was quite dark and there was no bedside light so it was impossible to read in bed. There were also some niggles in the bathroom; the sink hot water tap rotated making it very difficult to turn off; the shower head was impossible to adjust and the shower temperature control similarly so. It was a comfortable stay but would have been so much better if these issues were seen to. I reported this all to the staff (our room was Sampson) so hopefully they will be in the near future!

    Friendly staff. The restaurant was good to very good; my burger was excellent though my wife's mushroom pasta dish was a bit greasy. The breakfast was excellent, however.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm used to living in an old farm house and something's been a little shabby but what it needed in bedrooms was a really good clean.

    The food and the ambience. The hotel was in village with interesting old houses.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed re-grouting and felt a little dirty. It was a very hot day/night so we needed the window open but unfortunately the road was very noisy which was a shame as it really disturbed my sleep - not a lot that can be done about that one though!

    Pleasant, welcoming and friendly staff. Nice size rooms. good coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were only there one night but if Im pushed to find anything it would be the dark decor but hey???!

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, everything had been thought of and the pub restaurant and food was outstanding, including breakfast. They are very well organised.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Cottage (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the cottage which was not particularly clean, the oven was disgusting and couldn't be used. The place is quite dark, made worse by a number of lights not working. There are two dressing tables but nothing to sit on to use them. We complained and did receive a reduction on our bill.

    The staff were excellent and the food is great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't book an extra night!!!

    The size of the room, attention to detail, so clean, the food was incredible!!!! The extra mile they go for pets. Our lil westie was given a doggie sausage for brekkie too!! Such a lovely place to stay with extremely lovely and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our ensuite worked fine but could have done with being updated. Also our TV signal didn't work so we had no television channels.

    What a fantastic country Inn! Nestled in the centre of the pretty little Cotswold village of Didmarton, this was a great find. Lovely sunny beer garden at the rear of the pub which was perfect for couples, families and dog owners alike. The decor of the pub was perfect, so cosy but with a cool design edge. Our room was large and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Wifi was free and easy to get logged on. We ate dinner in the restaurant and we were very impressed with the quality of the food. Breakfast was delicious too. The service was excellent throughout our stay. We were particularly impressed when the waitress brought a complimentary bottle of champagne to our table, as we were celebrating our anniversary. Such a lovely touch! Great base for exploring the Cotswolds. Highly recommended and would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little unsure when I booked this online and honestly driving up I didn't know what to expect. We were greeted in the cozy pub and quickly shown our room. We had the "cottage" which had three bedrooms. As soon as we walked in me and my husband felt right at home. It was warm and soooo cute. I love the way it was decorated and the colors and just about everything. It was perfect for four of us but we could have comfortably fit two more. We ate dinner there both nights (very good) and the staff was so helpful and kind. Our two year old was pretty loud and we asked if we could eat dinner in our room which they kindly brought over for us. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and look forward to returning one day when our children are older so they can appreciate the kind of experience it was. Thanks everyone!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little thing when having breakfast the cleaner was near by hovering which was loud and a bit intrusive while having your breakfast....

    Everything.....warm welcome and cosy stay always food and choice of wines excellent and great atmosphere in bar area the staff are attentive and helpful..this is my bolt hole...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Style of the place was really appealing to me. Very clean and cosy room. Food and drinks where just wonderful, great place for celebration or going for a meal with friends. Staff was helpful and very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little dark with the choice of bulbs Shower could do with re grouting

    WiFi was Ok at around 5meg Breafast was awesome, that bacon Evening meal was very nice Bed was comfy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far away from everything, too isolated There is a bigger village 6 miles away with a Tesco though, and a pub

    I changed from the large room I had booked to a small backside room and did not regret, it was silent and very comfortable. I liked the country style decoration

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More main light in the longer of the cottage.

    Everyone was very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent. The place was quiet even though on the Saturday as you would expect the bar was very busy. My daughter stayed in one of the cottages with their 2 children and that was lovely too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant closed without warning on our arrival and only limited menu on second night. Restaurant did not seem of award winning standard. All floors in pub very dirty.

    Lovely cozy cottage with good facilities and comfortable beds. Great atmosphere in the pub. Waitress exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very dark. No storage space for clothes, only two coat hangers for a double room! And tiny drawers in a dressing table Left most of our belongings in our suitcase

    Food and service was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy bed and breakfast with very comfy bed. The rooms were easy to warm with good radiators. Good showers too. Breakfast was very nice with local ingredients. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not very clean- very dusty, especially on the tv, carpets had not been hoovered, and hair in sink and bath. No toiletries provided, not even hand soap. Tea and kettle provided, but no milk. Dog upstairs barked for the majority of the night.

    Staff were excellent. Beds were comfortable and linen of a good quality. Food was great- both the dinner and the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the bathroom shower needed some attention - fittings a bit worn.

    Such a pleasing stay - comfortable, charming and cosy. Loved the little decor touches and breakfast delicious with supreme marmalade!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy shower - the only thing that let the room down. Could have perfected the little touches that one comes to expect such as tissues in the room and a cup by the sink for toothbrushes.

    Great breakfast. Lovely styling of the pub and rooms. Good food. Reasonable price. Easy parking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been useful if the cottages had some entertainment (board games etc).

    The staff were fantastic and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious especially the locally sourced meat. It was a great place to stay if visiting the Bath/Bristol/Cotswold area for a few days and preferring to stay in a small village.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in my room was somewhat dark...and traffic noise early mornings...as front bedroom...but otherwise spacious and cosy room along with comfortable bed.

    Location great..quaint cosy Cotswolds pub food excellent breakfast too and staff friendly and helpful..together with parking...great idea on Sat night offering "Gin Cocktails". Had a comfortable stay..will return

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When carrying suitcases, stairs are always a problem. This facility has them in spades, and narrow.

    Friendliness of staff. Well located for our purpose. Convenient location. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light in the bedroom ! Inadequate. Needs an optional stronger light to check one has not left anything behind. The shower room was fine.

    Food was very good. The overall antiquity. A typical old-English pub

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the road a bit noisy at night but that's only because I'm not used to it Had difficulty turning shower off - my grip is not too good.

    I loved the restaurant The staff throughout are so helpful Nice room Very comfy bed Big soft towels Great safe parking Easy to find Stunning breakfast It's worth staying just to sample the dinner menu Lovely atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from traffic although reasonably quiet through night. Dark interior but quite cosy

    Comfortable bed and excellent food. Breakfast superb but portions are huge

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very hot day when we came, and getting air to pass through was tricky. A fan might have helped to get air around, and made sleeping a bit more comfortable. What was with the purple knickers in one of the downstairs bedrooms?

    The room was lovely and big for all of us, home from home and the convenience of its location for our purpose was fantastic. We had a lovely stay, the welcome was good, the food in the pub great and all in all couldn't recommend it enough. Close to westonbirt arboretum - worth a visit too!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some decoration updates,could do with tiled walls in bathroom in Harrington room as there is water damage.

    Excellent food, good location and very comfy beds!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely polite, helpful and accessible. The dinning room was exceptional and exceeded our expectations. I would remcommend anyone to stay and dine there as it is a gem.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room overlooking the busy main road, we asked for another room which apparently was not available so we did not stay at this venue. I don't think it is a true representation of the website description and certainly the photos available are a misrepresentation.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the room very dark with poor lighting. Weather very hot and even with the window open was still uncomfortable. However on our third night we were after requesting a fan, this was supplied which helped immensely.

    Breakfast choice good and cooked breakfast well cooked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bathrooms wit 90's tiles are not consistent with the stylish rooms.

    Dinner, sleep in the large family room, run around the beer garden. All good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, shower dirty, rooms very dusty. Cooker dirty. Carpet on top of stairs dangerous, loose (trip hazard). Window bars not secure. Floor board not nailed down. Many many light bulbs missing.

    Very attentive staff. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast delicious. Staff very apologetic about the failings of the cottage and reduced our bill.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the main road and, as it was a hot day, the window had to be left open so it was noisy with traffic noise. A fan would have helped. The shower tiles were mouldy and needed cleaning.

    The bed and pillows were comfortable and overall the room, little dressing room and bathroom were clean, pleasant and fine for an overnight top. The breakfast was very good and staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very nicely decorated but there were a few missing touches, e.g. Not enough lighting in the sitting room or bedroom (no bedside lamps!), pillows weren't very comfy, not enough towel rails/hooks. Our bathroom was in need of refurbishment, although adequate for one night it wasn't to the same high standard as the rest of the accomodation.

    Stayed for one night en route to our holiday destination. Fantastic dinner and great breakfast, served by extremely friendly and helpful staff. The family accommodation was very convenient with a sitting area downstairs which came in very useful when the kids went to bed. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next time would prefer a room at the back of the pub as the early morning traffic, though not constant, was disturbing.

    The full English breakfast was great. The food was first class with a wide choice on the menu.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Cottage (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable accommodation and dog friendly. Stayed in a family apartment so had the added benefit of a small kitchen. Staff were very friendly and helpful too. The food served in the restaurant was of a very good standard.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little bit dark but still excellent

    Charming country inn, excellent location, accommodation, great garden for early evening drink followed by dinner and be prepared for a large english breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Cottage (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Milk in the fridge would have been a bonus for a cuppa in the cottage.

    Great little cottage which was lovely and comfy for a nights stay. Restaurant was great too with great service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I phoned the KIngs Arms to let them know that my flight was delayed and that I would be arriving at about midnight. They said that they would leave the room key for me in the door. However, the key was not left in the room and there was not one around. I therefore had to find somewhere else to stay. I would like a refund.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't very clean gruby shower dirty Windows and dusty. No milk in room had to go for some in the morning when we realised

    Friendly staff lovely food especially breakfast. Fabulous beer garden comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor - walls and ceilings dark grey - gloomy and depressing. Even with all the lights on, it was dark and not easy to read.

    Lovely fluffy and soft towels. Very comfortable beds + separate sitting area with settee and tv - really good!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry, it needs a good clean, and a bit of paint wouldn't go amiss. But I'll be back, as soon as I can !! Lovely

    What did I like !!, dinner, real ale, lovely atmosphere, breakfast, super bed, duvet and pillows. The staff were all lovely too !!

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Kings Arms traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: