Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kings Arms Hotel 3 stars

Market Square, Westerham, TN16 1AN, United Kingdom

#5 of 5 hotels in Westerham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 432 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dirty and tired. No lights working in bathroom. Hairs in Bath/shower. Windows broken, electrical sockets broken. Not worth £100 per night. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu was restricted to special fathers day offerings, 3 choices none of which were suitable.

    Beds comfortable room and en suite clean and airy breakfast excellent easy free car parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a good overall...dirty walls, paint peeling, TV remote not working, no saucers for the cups at breakfast although some tables had them. Generally shabby throughout, don't know why the superior room is so much money, no drinking water in the room

    Dinner although it took a long time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fire doors were all very stiff. Useful in case of fire but a struggle with a couple of cases. The staff were very good but clearly under pressure (and undermanned?) in the kitchen and restaurant with some long delays for food.

    There was free parking in the car park. A little difficult to get in and out but everywhere else in the town was jam packed for parking and so it was extremely useful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is very shabby, tired and looks and feels more like a transport café for bikers. Room 5 [Henry VIII] : terrible bathroom - peeling decor, shower too hot and cannot adjust, no towel rails, poor ventilation. Bedroom : poor ventilation, too noisy even with secondary glazing. Car park is pay and display and therefore not dedicated to residents and patrons, although free to residents if you can find a space. Tight entry and exit for large cars. Staff : on arrival, told that only 1 person would be manning the bar and food serving that evening, and could not use restaurant if I wanted to be served, despite booking. No apology nor evidence that Hotel was aware of bookings for 2 meals in restaurant. Promptly cancelled both and ate out in excellent restaurants very close to Hotel all 5 evenings - did not eat in Hotel at all, except for breakfast. Breakfast was ordinary. Breakfast table not kept stocked and watched croissants and pain et chocalat put out by hand without tongs or gloves used. Overall, I would not recommend this Hotel to any discerning customer.

    Very near to excellent Italian [Napoli], Indian [Tulsi] and Chinese [Chows] restaurants. Good location for National Trust, English heritage and other visits.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was old and dated and smelt too strong of disinfectant. The door leading to the bedroom was dirty and needed painting so did the doors in the corridor. Ordered some food on the Saturday potato and chips service was nearly an hour and I felt some of the stuff we are not that friendly towards customers

    The bed was very comfy and the room was nice and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly, especially Simon...he couldn’t do enough for us. Very funny man! Room was lovely, nice and spacious and the hotel was in such a beautiful location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sometimes noisy due to - an air shaft? An air conditioning system? - something like that located in one corner of the room. [room 8 since you ask..]

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service from the bar was inedible. Burger and fish pie not hot, barely warm, had to bin it. Was generally clean but was obviously once a lovely building which has been let go which is sad, e.g cracked walls, chipped bathroom, dated decor. Brewery/hotel should spend some money, it deserves it

    Staff, free parking and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No disabled parking space .. No sink plug and no face cloths available . Water/shower not very hot at 6.45am (early start)

    Spacious room .Very comfy beds , tea , coffee & biscuits provided ..Sufficient towels. Excellent breakfast , lots of choices, staff friendly & helpful. Disabled loo available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is from another century, impossible to have a shower without washing hair and no shower caps was provided, the sink taps cover fall off whenever you turn them on

    The toast was burned and there was no orange juice on the breakfast tray. Also, reception phone number needs to be clearly noted on the phone, it took us ages to find it on the hotel various and copious leaflets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beeing charged double at leaving and checking in. We allready payed for our stay through Paypal but we got charged when checking in, and again when we checked out.

    The food and breakfast were excelent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fabric of the hotel is rather old and frayed. Our bathroom furniture was in a fairly poor state

    The staff were very nice, polite, cheerful and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Peeling wallpaper, broken furniture in bedroom, hole in the ceiling and peeling paint in the bathroom. Used to be a nice hotel 5 years ago, lack of investment since then means I won't be back.

    Bar staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say :-)

    It took ages for me to choose between the Eggs Royale and the vegetarian full English - a lovely problem to have! And the blueberry muffin was AMAZING :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting could have been better for reading in bed! Bathroom looked a little 'tired' in terms of decor.

    Bedroom was roomy and comfortable. Nice selection of drinks and biscuits provided. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was excellent, with a good choice from the buffet and cooked meals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was too small but there was a separate bath and there are plans to install a walk in shower in the near future.

    Superb room with a four poster bed; breakfasts were excellent and the room very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t turn radiator off in bathroom Bathroom was very hot and really needs updating Once the whole property is updated it will be lovely

    Staff very friendly and helpful Food very good breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel needs refurbishing

    The first room I was given was absolutely awful. The staff really try hard to help and I was give nan alternative room that was good. The Hotel is very run down and needs completely refurbishing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing every was nice

    Very Handy, in middle of village. Easy to get to answer came from Shepherds Bush ,London. Will be back to go to Chartwell so stay at hotel over night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect for my short stay and I had a very quite room. Having a carpark on site was very handy for me. Breakfast was very nice, and every single staff member I came across was so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. They even charged my mobile phone as I had forgotten my charger in France . I will certainly book the hotel again if I need to stay in Westerham !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in room open and snowing outside.Radiators not on.Toilet not flushed and had been used.The floor in bathroom was very unstable.No hairdryer in room.

    Location and parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small; cramped, two floors upstairs and the toilet seat was balanced on the bowl, rather than attached to it!

    Food was beautiful, staff were great and there was very good live music.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible lighting. It was very hard to do make up as the light was from lamps only. Our room was not very clean and the bathroom needed a refurbishment.

    Full English was not greasy, plenty of it and good service. A brilliant band in the evening and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were so noisy to walk on and when anyone walked outside of our room you could hear them/woke us up. The bathroom did not have a light switch that was in the room or outside of the room which was very arkward in the dark. The toilet did not flush properly. The radiator in the bathroom did not have a TRV so it was on full blast making the whole room far too hot for sleeping in comfortably. Our bed was not overly comfortable. The breakfast staff were not at all attentive, no milk with coffee, took a long time to serve us. We were seated at a table by some external doors which would not close properly making us very cold whilst sitting at the table (it was snowing outside) when we asked a member of staff to close them she said she couldn’t as they were faulty and they were waiting for a maintenance man to attend and fix them! When we checked out we asked the member of staff if she could advise us how and when we paid and she said she couldn’t as the manager was not avaliable. Not the best of hotel stays.

    The cooked breakfast food was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place was very tired and in desperate need of refurbishment. Paint work hadn't been done in years, bedroom smelt like someone had smoked in it for years and bathroom had paintwork flaking off on the ceiling above the shower with mildew growing.

    Based in lovely little village.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself is a little tired and although the decoration was a little worn and need of some TLC our meal on the Sunday night with 6 friends was very acceptable for the price. Our room was clean and warm with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was included in our price and was of excellent quality, a "very English breakfast" The staff were welcoming and overall our one night stay was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    brilliant place, location fantastic, June on reception really helpful, give her a rise, room very comfortable, tv great, shower hot and fast, just the way we like them, breakfast what can I say scrummy, hard choice to make, def recommend this hotel and would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating wasn't on when we arrived, so the room was very cold. Bathroom very tired. Awful breakfast, inedible. Breakfast staff discussing fag breaks in front of customers etc. A bit unprofessional.

    Nice sized room, could control the heating, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really tired and the room facing the high street was noisy. Also very hot in the room and couldn’t leave the window open.

    The food was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One or two minor adjustments to radiator and tap in the bathroom.

    Very comfortable bed. Excellent food. Excellent service from friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Common parts a little scruffy. Didn't like seeing the waiting staff smoking out the back when we left!

    Comfy bed, lovely warm room and nice and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have been told when breakfast was being served. We couldn’t find the info anywhere and no staff around to ask.

    The bed was comfy. Generally a nice hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. It’s a bed and breakfast not a hotel. I have stayed it many hotels that didn’t even match to the cleanliness of this place.

    The atmosphere was great, and the food is lovely cooked just how you want it with no trouble at all. The family are really friendly who run the pub. I love how it is still a family run business and has been for 14yrs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in room 11 which looked like a dilapidated squat. Dirty curtains and marks on the walls paint peeling, corrosion on light fittings. Not fit for guests.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast would have been much better if the bacon had been cooked and not with raw fat on it. Bathroom very worn !!!! Also TV had a fault with picture on all channels.

    Evening meal was excellent from the Bar menu.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hair in bed, thick mould on bathroom ceiling, being told we couldnt have dinner in the restaurant as there was a function.

    Excellent breakfast served with a smile.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tired and the shower was hard to work out how to get hot water

    Food and staff were excellent. They had an entertainer who was brilliant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good light in the room to read by. Too dark.no shelves in large bathroom to put my stuff on. No towel rail. Breakfast was pretty ordinary.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No main ceiling light in the room, so you have to bumble around in the dark until you come across a lamp on the far side of the room. Too dark to do anything in the room: hair, makeup, shaving, reading; all impractical in the gloom. Staff pretty unprofessional at times. 35 minute wait for breakfast, but to be fair to the cook; it took 15 minutes for the very bored waitress to acknowledge my presence. So best to get up early.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am a well travelled individual and, sincerely cannot think of anything major to report! Oh just the wifi... the signal was a bit weak.

    The friendly staff made the check-in and check out process really pleasant. It is an "old English" style pub/inn. Great for discovering the Sevenoaks area and its rich history.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas a bit dated, especially the bathrooms. Only one major complaint, we were opposite a fire door which was broken. It wouldn't shut, we tried many times,the wood had swollen making it too big for the hole. We told almost every member of staff and even asked for a change of room, but this never happened. It was left open all night and it was the coldest night of the year so far. Not just the cold but security. Next morning we raised the issue again with the receptionist and she said it had been like that for a while.

    The bedrooms were big and lovely, comfortable nights sleep. Extra heater in rooms which we found to be a bonus. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good. Great location to visit various castles and stately homes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water and our toilet blocked...when we told reception who told a maid she questioned us about it as if we were exaggerating. No. The toilet was blocked and she had to go unblock it. The hotel is really desperate for a make over. The rooms are very tired and tatty and small. Mould in bathrooms, old furniture and no heating was on so was really cold. Nothing against staff or the food but £82.50 a night is absolutely not worth what you get in the rooms. Overall I booked this hotel for 9 people with an additional 4 people the night after and it really wasn't impressive considering this. Also I was assured through booking.com AND after a phonecall with management that the total price of rooms will not be taken until check in which did not happen and the whole amount was attempted to be taken prior which resulted in (luckily) my card declining.

    Breakfast is very good and dinner was amazing. Bar staff were friendly and chatty and helpful. Reception manager (I think) upgraded my room which was very kind and the waiter in the conservatory at breakfast was lovely too. Staff are very good and polite. Conservatory and restaurant and bar were in good condition and felt homey

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had bathroom separate down a flight of stairs dangerous at night especially when you end up on your back at the bottom of them, up to now a three week stay in two different hospitals. Trippers beware.

    Location was good,nice hotel,some of the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was strangely placed, e.g. not placed in the room as it had been designed for. For some reason the double bed had its headboard placed against the radiator under the main window. So now, across on the right hand wall was the main light switches and side lamp plugs designed to service the bed and directly across from that wall from that was the TV on. So why was the bed placed in such a strange position? The car park is pay and display £4 for all day. Dont buy a parking ticket, instead at check-in provide your car registration. Although we booked pay on check-in on this site, the hotel took the money on my card 2 months before our stay began without notice.

    The cooked full English breakfast was good and the serving staff were helpful and friendly. The boxed cereal selection was somewhat limited although there was loose muesli and dried fruits available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanses every day 2 nights was enough.

    Very dirty in bars and dining . Roomchips and good left from night before and very expensive for the dirty place would not go again had to change room very very . nosey

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit Fawlty Towers! Staff need training. Family room not ready for family, third bed not made up, insufficient towels, crockery for 3 people. Towels finally arrived at 22.30 after third ask. Breakfast a bit of a shambles, only 7 in and no teaspoons, cups filthy had to send them back to be washed, no fresh juice, out of date products in room i.e. sell by date of March on drinking chocolate (was end Oct).

    Area. Helpful barman/receptionist/restaurant waiter. Did his best to do all of these jobs but hotel not run efficiently. Wouldn't stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While it was interesting - in a romantically nostalgic way - to experience the delights of a bedroom with single glazing and no heating, it was more of a challenge to negotiate the absence of hot water for washing. In fairness, other guests complained of their bedroom being so hot that they had to open all the windows (in the depth of autumn) all of the time. So, 'Huzzah for the 1950s!' - but we were glad that it was only a very temporary visit to those days of post-war austerity plumbing and heating.

    The Kings Arms at Westerham proved to be ideally placed for exploring the Sevenoaks area. It was often difficult to find a member of staff but, once you found them, they were invariably friendly and helpful. Probably the 'pick of the crop' was Cherise, whose high quality, considerate waitressing in the restaurant was most impressive on our first evening there. Although the quality of the breakfasts varied over the three that we experienced, the 'pub grub' evening meals - available in the restaurant or the bar - proved excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downstairs furniture. Bit grim.

    The bed was very comfy. Excellent! Sadly the decor in the dining area is so dreary that street cred must be low. Some money needs to be spent. The staff did their very best in rather gloomy surroundings. Westerham is a trendy sort of place and the competition must be high. No surprises that the dining room was gloomily empty. Makeover required!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mould and flaking paint in the en-suite The whole hotel looked like it needed decorating Glasses in the bar were dirty and smeared And worst of all there was stale urine and a turd greeting us in the en-suite toilet when we arrived

    Leaving it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal in bar...cutlery in tub. Main course dry. Mayonnaise given in tube not bowl so no thought about service. Young bar staff novices, older ones rude.

    Bed huge, comfy, clean and excellent. Bathroom bland but ok. Towels changed daily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rather tired, needing a lick of paint and windows fixing, bathroom window wouldn't close, blind broken, breakfast service shambolic

    position very convenient,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and hotel in general needs an uplift.....carpets, furniture and paintwork all very 'tired'

    Bed was comfortable and the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mix up with booking,our room key had been given to other guests. Everywhere was dirty....carpets,table tops,cutlery,crockery Paint peeling off walls in bathroom This place needs a total refurbishment and deep clean!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bar - no port and barman couldn't prepare a drink from the bar menu. Cold coffee at breakfast. Don't expect a cup of coffee to be brought out from kitchen - should at least be a pot. Dinner was not very good - greasy starter and inedible Hollandaise sauce.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot unable to turn off radiator and window would'nt stay open. Staff not interested in guests. Breakfast room not cleaned, no spoon to serve chopped fruit, no cutlery on the table and none brought with breakfast until requested. The hotel needs a lot of attention and a good manager. The website leads you to believe it is a nice place to stay, it is not!!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    looking out from the bathroom window it looks like a dirty nappy on the window sill Basin plug was filthy

    breakfasts were good but badly presened.Cultery dirty & not properly polished.Juice glasses should be thrown out .....badly marked from dishwasher. Bed & linen was comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom we occupied requires refurbishing with light coloured decoration, a new ceiling light and bedside lights on both sides of the double bed. Much of the furniture is shabby and worn throughout the hotel. Overall the hotel and the rooms were brown and very shabby, very poor room lighting and excessively expensive for this type of hotel.

    Staff very helpful, but it appeared too few - certainly at breakfast time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bedroom was at best average, the bathroom taps were so coroded that it was difficult to turn them on and even harder to turn them off. The whole place seemed tired and in need of refurbishment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a room on or near the ground floor due to limited mobility but had to get up four flights of stairs which was difficult. There was no milk in the room for tea and coffee. The serving of sorbet in a knickerbocker glory glass, topped with cream and raspberry syrup was rather bizarre!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apart from reception there was nothing to like about the place. The rooms were dirty on arrival and after one night they hadnt cleaned the rooms and had to come back and do them when we complained. Breakfast was awful no orange juice or marmalade, cups on table were dirty, staff didnt know the difference between plates and saucers. Staff looked as if they had slept in the clothes they wore, food looked as if it had been cooked the day before. So bad we left a day early couldnt face another night there.

    The lady on reception was excellent, the only professional person working there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much cleaner& a massive update Breakfast very poor,only one staff on,cooked breakfast cold Premier inns are far superior

    Hotel very run down needs a big update,beds uncomfortable room very small Bathroom very old shower so small difficulty in getting in

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty. Hallways smelt like an old people's home and dust on ledges and back of toilet door etc. Don't think floor was hovered as there was a small child's toy at the end of bed and paper. Toilet seat fell off as I leaned over to get loo roll from the floor as the loo roll holder fell off the wall and it rolled across the room. Retrospectively funny

    The bed was really comfy actually and did have a good night sleep. Breakfast was really nice and set us up for the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet bowl could have been a bit cleaner. I wasn't all that fussed, but someone else could have been a bit sniffy about it. Hey ho, first world problems!

    The location, comfortable bed, friendliness of staff, a really good & varied breakfast, reasonable price for room. would use this hotel again. Receptionist took the trouble to arrange for a local taxi to take me to a venue.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints everything was ok and definitely value for money.

    I have to say having read some comments prior to my stay I was a little skeptical. I can only think that the complaints were from the serial moaners that you get i.e trying to get a discount on what they paid. I personally have no complaints, I got what I paid for.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    IT WAS VERY TIRED AND NEEDED SOME TLC AND NEW FURNITURE, PARTICULARLY IN THE RESTAURANT. IT WAS LACKING IN CLEANLINESS, EFFICIENCY AND CARING TOUCH.

    THE STAFF WERE POLITE. IT WAS A LOVELY BUILDING

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a good hotel but could be so much better if there was more care taken with the facilities. The 'garden' was a disgrace. Staff whilst friendly could do with looking more professional and not 'county pub style.

    Hotel chosen for its location. The staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was to some rubbish? The bathroom was clean but basic.

    The breakfast was really nice and the staff very friendly. The bed was comfortable and a nice size.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast felt a little like Fawlty Towers, and the portions were a tad miserly, but delicious nonetheless.

    The building has a great deal of character, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very tired decor with peeling paint and delaminating furniture, particularly in the bedroom. The bathroom reminded me of a hospital room from the mid 60's. Understaffed, Greene King should invest in both their staff and their property.

    The check-in was quick and easy (thanks Katy), the location is the best thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More staff,very disorganised management

    Rooms were very dated,beds uncomfortable. Breakfast took 45minutes to order,had to keep asking for tea/coffee/juices etc to be filled up Dead flowers on the table

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is filfthy and it needs a complete overhaul. Staff were trying their best to be helpful but were clearly out of their depth in certain areas of hotel management and bar keep etc. This is not necessarily their fault as it seems the 'hotel' has its own recent problems with staffing and resourcing. Cannot even begin to describe the breakfast, 'brown coloured' inedible poached eggs [apparently cooked in brown vinegar!], a sodden wet chair - presumably the remnants from the wedding party that had taken place in the same room the night before - wishy washy coffee with unidentified 'bits' floating in it, mouldy 'fresh fruit', only one option of juice from a 4-choice dispenser the rest contained water only. Our bathroom had remnants of previous guests' long dark hair on the bathroom walls, the outside of the room door was grubby and dirty and didn't look as if any cleaning agent had been near the room or its surroundings in a very long time. Our bedroom door rattled every time another door was opened / closed so much so, it felt as if someone was actually trying to get into the room !! Location wise, this is a perfectly positioned pub / hotel but to keep its charm, the Owners seriously need to rethink how they can make the most of an historic location and not at cheap / cheerful prices! A clean and tidy hotel, doesn't take much savvy or, basic hotel experience to get right !! A shame, I wish I could say better things but unfortunately not on this occasion!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet in our room was not functioning properly - even after complaining NO solution was provided! No place to put something aside in the bathroom. Paint is dirty and peeling off here and there. Carpets worn, not fresh. Fungus in bathroom. Sofa-bed was crooked. Staff not well-trained. Breakfast so-so. This hotel is certainly not as nice as Booking.com pictures pretend!

    Parking was easy, location is very nice in the middle of town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with a little TLC and be made more luxurious for the price we paid. The shower leaked and the ceiling was flaky with the lights hanging out of the spotlight holes. Tiny shower cubicle.

    The town and surrounding area is gorgeous. The staff were helpful apart from the member of staff who told us breakfast finished at 11 when it finished at 10. Comfy four poster bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was under staffed so took a long time to check in and order drinks. There were other waiting to be served In the restaurant for 20mins. Not all the staff were very friendly or welcoming The staff did not tell us what the wifi code was and it did not work in the room! The bathroom was damp and needed redecorating

    I found the bed comfortable and the room was a good size Breakfast had a good selection

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kings Arms Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: