Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lake Of Menteith Hotel 3 stars

Port Of Menteith, Aberfoyle, FK8 3RA, United Kingdom

#2 of 6 hotels in Aberfoyle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 389 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Lovely view from hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast being buffet much prefer freshly cooked to order, even if you have to wait!

    The evening meal were freshly cooked, good choice and portions. Breakfast was buffet, food warm not hot due to being kept warm over water. Thought for the price it was expensive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.0
    Absolutely delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Table service outside would’ve been nice

    Amazing Hotel - the staff were the friendliest I’ve ever had and I stay in ALOT of hotels! The food was excellent and not overpriced - the bed was comfortable and the views to die for - could not be more relaxing - Thankyou!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    beautiful location amd very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really fault it.

    Beautiful location overlooking the lake. The food was extremely good and the service excellent. Take insect spray though as the midges were out in force.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The Staff were brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worst bit of the whole stay, was when we had to leave.

    The Staff were brilliant. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed and were treated with old fashioned courtesy. The Lakeside location is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Homely and relaxed but at the same time luxurious - always a treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot fault the hotel at all but as we booked late for high season we had a small room. It was fine though and we will be back!

    We love the location and the view from the hotel. We like the feeling of being “at home” in this hotel, the relaxing atmosphere and the friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    pleasant overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff were rude, which spoilt our breakfast. This was reported and hopefully dealt with appropriately.

    Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.0
    Stunning location, especially on the terrace and in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a dividing door between us and the room next door, which made us a little wary of noise at night.

    Stunning location, especially on the terrace and in the restaurant overlooking the lake (as an added bonus we were treated to the sight of an osprey fishing for its dinner). Staff were excellent. We will no doubt visit again when in the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall an excellent experience largely due to excellent food and views from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower arrangement in our room was a bit bizarre and inconvenient although the shower functioned well.

    The food was excellent and the setting outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Genuine hospitality in magnificent surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all lovely.

    What a place! Like being welcomed into a stylish and cherished country house home by a large family of wonderful people who take great pleasure in hospitality. And the view across the lake is magical.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Delightfully relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The setting, the service, the food. Sitting out on the lawn overlooking the lake, having the complementary tea and scones with an osprey fishing on the water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Lovely location on the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, the hotel needs to be upgraded. Carpets are very worn throughout the hotel and decor very dated. The dining room has a lovely outlook but windowsills were not clean which was off putting. Dinner was nice but portions quite small given the price and three of the choices we made were not available. After dinner we sat in bar but no atmosphere, only one other table of guests there, some light music or something might have been nice. Expensive for Bed and Breakfast given the above.

    Lovely location on the lake. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing and captivating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything bad.

    It's a very good place for relaxing and disconecting. The people is very nice and they are always trying to help. The room is very confortable and the dinner was delicious I hope repeat in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location; a restful time away from the pressures of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems

    The food was splendid and well presented. Liked the scones and coffee. Service was pleasant and unobtrusive. I don't know their names, but a girl with light brown hair and a young man, probably African were especially helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Yet another great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at this hotel before and will return again ( already booked our next stay) The setting of the hotel is stunning. We were lucky to have fabulous weather during our stay and were able to sit outside for a few drinks. The food in the restaurant is also fabulous, not a big menu but the quality is great! The staff are friendly and helpful - what’s not to like about this wee hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Peaceful with lovely staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    V v small point. Would have preferred small cafetière and coffee instead of the coffee pod machine - and surely no need for single use plastic wrapped plastic glasses in bathroom? Both these points about the environment - otherwise such a nice place to stay

    Lovely welcome . Room ready whe we arrived as we had a wedding to go to at 13:00 - this was such a bonus . Receptionist was lovely and breakfast was excellent. High quality food and amazing view over lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful part of Scotland.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little hard for me.

    Great service and a very beautiful setting. Food was excellent and the free scones and coffee in the afternoon was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    A cozy stay in a charming comfortable lake-side hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses were a bit hard and our king bed was two twins pushed together - you could definitely feel the ridge. The breakfast was disappointing. The eggs were overcooked, the buffet limited, and there wasn't any staff around when we came down (there was just one waitress for the whole room).

    Lovely hotel right by a lake with a lot of charm. It's quiet and calm and feels like a big old house, warm and inviting. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The restaurant is cozy and inviting, with great views on the lake from a conservatory-like area. The staff is friendly and welcoming with good local knowledge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    peaceful, relaxing, business accomplished so all in all a win, win!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dont think there was anything we didnt like?

    this gem of a hotel sitting back off the main road is exquisite in its surroundings. Stunning scenery. Peaceful & relaxing atmosphere. Food is delightful. If you are in need of a complete chill, in a warm welcoming hotel this one is for you. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect setting with the added bonus of very good food at reasonable prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, on the first night, we had a loud neighbour who talked late and got up at 6am. The next night was blissfully quiet.

    The location is stunning and the view across the lake peaceful and beautiful. The food was vg, especially the 'specials' on the menu; the presentation was a delight to the eye and the tastes succulent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Idyllic Mother's Day/Birthday treat for my mum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism would be that the room had a bath only with a showe above which for myself was absolutely fine but I was with my elderly mother who found it difficult to access the shower. A walk in shower would have been preferable.

    The decor throughout the hotel was very tasteful. The bar area and the restruant had wonderful views of the lake. The food at dinner and breakfast was fantastic. We stayed in the Menteith room on the ground floor with a lake view. I was really delighted with the room as I only expected a view of the lake but there was a bay window and it actually had a French door which opened out to a shared private patio with the room next door. It had a gate which gave access out to the lake.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Exceptional hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location, facilities and most important the staff our outstanding - special thanks to Jean and Andy who went over and above to ensure our stay was superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea maker is hopeless. Just provide the normal kettle and cups. The bath was difficult to get into for someone with recent knee replacement. Needs a walk in shower.

    Loved the big double room and view of the lake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    The location is great although very rural.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only issue was the bathroom which is a bit tired.There also seemed a shortage of hot water ..

    The location is great although very rural.We were met with a warm welcome and still warm complimentary scones of every variety.The evening meal and breakfast were excellent matched only by the wonderful views from our room which was the Menteith. The hotel is also blessed with a well stocked whisky bar and very attentive staff..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    A great pre-Christmas break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor issues with the central heating, but the staff were great and supplied temporary heaters as required.

    Very nice, homely property with staff to match.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel. Don't miss it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one veggie choice on the menu

    Stunning location, family run with personal service. Gorgeous ambience, log fire, beautiful cream tea and excellent food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The food is fabulous and even more so that the menu so actively caters for gluten intolerant people like me! The rooms are very comfortable and cosy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Most enjoyable lakeside stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t great

    Lovely peaceful setting beside the lake friendy staff room compact but pleasant bathroom fine. Nice lounge bar area with log fire which is was great on a dark wet night . The whisky lounge is nice but could be improved with more comfortable chairs and sofas but still a pleasant area . Overall a most enjoyable stay and good general standard I hope to return .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    My working class money is as good as anyone elses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the staff were a bit stuck up to be honest and I did not get that friendly Scottish welcome that us Scots are so famous for. Rather lack lustre.

    The location is amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay for one night even saw fishermen on the lake catching fish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was not facing the lake but the church and cemetery

    It was a nice hotel on the lake typical Scottish style, good food at the restaurant . we also had a very good b'fast.staff is lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely views and food is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from room considering third time booked hotel. Floor boards above room creaked a lot considering the guests rose at 6ish in the morning. Disturbing our sleep.

    The food in restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    As soon as you walk through the front door, all stresses you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    As soon as you walk through the front door, all stresses you may have disappear and you are filled with a very comforting feeling of being wrapped in a warm blanket. Our 4th time there and won't be the last. The food is top class.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    First class but not long enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just me but I took ages trying to work the fancy machine for my cuppa in the morning , but the tea was far to strong had no access to boiled water. Perhaps it is just me. Just a wee bit old fashioned.

    Very friendly staff who took time to talk to clients. Food was amazing tasty and beautifully presented.Attention to detail. A bit disappointed no fish on the menu for breakfast. We had an amazing time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Location, staff and food excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Background music in restaurant and bar, would have made it more atmospheric and lights over the lake at night would have been nice. Handrail needed to get in and out of bath / shower

    Lovely location, peaceful and all you need at the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Would possibly return for a meal but not to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food for a veggie was very limited and my dinner was not good. I had told them in advance I was a veggie. No dairy alternatives at breakfast. Mattress was uncomfortable. Shower was really bad. Peeling paint in bathroom. The accommodation part of the hotel needs a face lift. There was no atmosphere in the bar after 10.30-11 on Saturday night so don’t go if you want a late night.

    The location is spectacular.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect setting for a relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    n/a

    Very friendly and warm welcome from all staff. Room was clean and comfortable, plus water and Tunnocks goodies supplied each day! Hotel is in a gorgeous setting and food in restaurant is delicious. Perfect place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Hidden gem in beautiful surroundings!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpeting should be replaced on stairwell & landing!!

    It was on a recommendation from a friend that I chose to book Lake of Menteith. My friend raves about the Hotel so I decided to book it for my husband & I. Well it did not disappoint...room was spacious and nicely decorated with the added bonus of coffee machine & selection of Tunnock's biscuits & bottled water. We had scones, cream & jam in the afternoon..which were delicious!! Nice touch!! Dinner was in main restaurant and food was amazing! Breakfast next day was superb!! Staff were ever so nice & all in all we had a lovely time!! Will return!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Location is beautiful - right on the edge of a lake - offers...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the property is nice, it is tired and in need of some renovations. The paint in the bathroom is chipping/cracking, the carpet in the hallway is quite worn.

    Location is beautiful - right on the edge of a lake - offers a quiet retreat. Plenty of parking. Wifi is fast and easy to connect. We at dinner at the restaurant and it was delicious as was breakfast. Lots of extra touches to make your trip more comfortable such as tea when you check in, coffee maker in room with chocolates.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    A very comfortable and friendly hotel in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in particular

    Location was lovely - and would have been even better with some sun! A very convenient base for the Trossachs and further into the Highlands. Dinner was excellent but menu might need more variation for a longer stay. Breakfast was excellent. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Delicious, delightful, definitely going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People walking in front of the window

    We stayed in one of the lakeside suites,which was well worth the extra. The breakfast was cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    too expensive for what has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    definatly the room need to be upgrade .the matress is old and not confortable .the bathroom needs new sanitary The manager should learn how to say hello and goodby to the guest .....!

    the view from the room was great .place is peaceful .The restaurant is actually very nice ,overlooking the lake .The staff at the restaurant very professional

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    great place a fantastic location with excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was small with no view- so reserve early ;-) and maybe not the cheapest room...

    This a great place. We got what appears to be the last room - no.4, which was rather small and with no nice view (just over the roof..). Otherwise the place was really great - nice dinner, nice breakfast. From the bar you can go to the lake -it is next to a nice old church and very quiet, cosy and relaxing. We stayed one night, but one could stay there for much longer- this is a really great place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Great views, dreadful food which really spoils the overall stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed as solid as a rock. Chef only understands one style of cooking - cremation! It's hard to understand how breakfast can be such a disaster; everything overcooked to a frazzle. They really do need to look at the food operation; it's not good enough.

    Fabulous location, staff charming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    fantastic location at the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bit hard. Some people like that, but we did not really.

    fantastic location at the lake. The food for dinner was excellent. Breakfast excellent as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was just what we hoped for.

    It is such a wonderful venue, it didn't even matter it was raining. Our Lake View room was big and luxurious with stunning views. Food was good and excellent value. The staff were friendly and helpful. Can't speak highly enough of it - a gem!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Reception very helpful, view from restaurant really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor first day - management attended to problem and removed breakfast charge from bill without question.

    Reception very helpful, view from restaurant really attractive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Two summer nights at Lake of Menteith
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom windows needed renewing as they were hard to open and the weather was warm. Hotel had no access onto the lake although there was a nice area to sit beside it.

    Location was wonderful. Food was good in the restaurant where we had dinner. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    The bedroom was excellent as was the food, beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the seating area outside the restaurant was quite dark, but that did not detract from the atmosphere of the hotel

    The bedroom was excellent as was the food, beautiful setting

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    like a lot of my school reports - could do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only a pod coffee tea machine in the room and as I have a medical requirement that needs boiled water this proved to be awkward as the machine eventually did produce hot water (but with coffee grinds included could not meet my needs). To be fair I was offered hot water brought up to the room but I prefer to cope with my condition when I need, sometimes this occurs in the middle of the night so a kettle in the room as is the norm in most hotels nowadays is easier for me to cope with. The breakfast selection was large but very poorly presented, mostly piled up in the middle of the plate which to be honest did put me off my breakfast, also why cook the bacon folded in half as this only leaves 1/2 cooked and 1/2 almost raw? and again served on a cold plate, chef please note the nice hot food cools down very quickly on a cold plate and is less appetising the colder it gets.

    nice location at the side of the lake, great friendly welcome on arrival. good food in the restaurant slightly spoilt by being served on a cold plate (personal bug bear - sorry) Great breakfast selection but see below. Would go back and give the hotel another go.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Remote and romantic location directly on the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel at a beautiful spot directly on the lake. Very nice interior design. Food at the restaurant was exceptional and the restaurant has a really nice view of lake. It was all great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Stunning location and great staff but overpriced with signs of wear and tear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small. The bed was made up of two mattresses which made for a gap in the middle of the bed. One bedside lamp was broken on the stem and could have caused a cut to the unwary. The bath panel was cracked. The television was as small as my laptop. Bedside table drawer wouldn't stay shut. The corridor floors were uneven and a potentional hazard.

    The staff were friendly and efficient. The location is the main attraction. The breakfasts were substantial.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Good location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the bathroom and non functioning shaver socket. A 2 pin adapter was provided once requested.

    The location. Staff were friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Another lovely stay on the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was very slow in the evening; perhaps due to the warm day (27 degrees) and the number of visitors? I am gluten intolerant and allergic to fish and there wasn't much choice on the menu for me this time (we have stayed before). What I had was ok but my husband really enjoyed his meal. This would not stop us returning as I know the menu changes. Oh...and baked beans as an option with the cooked breakfast would be nice!

    We were fortunate to get the last room available as it was a last minute decision to stay overnight. We were going to visit the nearby Inchmaholm priory on an island in the lake. The whole experience was wonderful. We had a beautiful day; enjoyed drinking on their terrace overlooking the loch and dining in the conservatory with the same view. The room was to the side of the hotel and overlooked the church. It was beautifully decorated and had a comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely lakeside getaway near Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame we could walk around the lake (no public access). Our room was a bit small.

    Great food, both for dinner and breakfast. Beautiful setting overlooking the lake and was a joy to sit in the sun drinking my wine on the terrace!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location for a holiday in the Trossachs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food was excellent (breakfast and dinner) - only let down by surprisingly ordinary toast for breakfast.

    Lake views from the bedroom and dining room were spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.If you need to chill out and relax in a serene location with sumptious cuisine friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere then the Hotel on Lake Menteith is for you, idyllic.

    Breakfasts were amazing, full Scottish breakfast was memorable.evening meal menu was varied plenty of choice haute cuisine beautifully presented.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    A special place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and caring staff. Exceptional food in a beautiful restaurant with stunning lake views. Extra touches such as complimentary scones on arrival.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    A good experience, especially gastronomically, to mark our fifty years together.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the bed was extremely comfortable, we felt that the room was a little disappointing. Only one easy chair, a rather cramped bathroom and a view only of the car park led us to think that the room was over-priced.

    The dinner was excellent. The courses were imaginative and well prepared and presented. The sorbet was unusually good. Breakfast, too, was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed was very comfy, also gave us complimentary scones and tea in the afternoon . Staff were all friendly with a ready smile. To save going out for a meal there was a bar and restaurant to eat in, lovely food with a view over the lake

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as good as previous visits. One member of staff ignored us while waiting to hand in key in the evening.

    Breakfast is fantastic and the kitchen relatively accommodating for gluten free.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Tranquil and scenic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little. If anyone was looking for faults some areas of décor could be updated.

    The setting of the hotel is superb. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. A very comfortable and relaxed feeling in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant with good food but a little faded and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold air coming through fire exit door which was aways ajar. Road signs to hotel wholly inadequate. Needs a large sign before and at the main road junction. Ugly headbord and wallpaper

    Big bed, lake view, key lime pie. Pleasant ambience and staff but cost too high for standard of hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    9.6
    Overnight at Lake of Menteith
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husbands only complaint was the cheese on the nachos( no mention on the menu)

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The complementary coffee and scones on arrival and all the extra touches like the bottled water, sewing kit etc in the bathroom were a lovely surprise.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    A stunning location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting system - the main bedroom light had to be on to get bathroom light on which was a problem in the middle of the night when one went to the bathroom the other person was wakened by having to put the main bedroom light on. A wider selection of fresh fruit for breakfast could have been better.

    Large bed,the lake view from the hotel was stunning, the staff were very polite and very helpful, the evening meals were good,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.3
    Weekend winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in our room was not that comfortable.

    Very friendly staff, a lovely location, which will be even better in the summer time when you can take a boat trip to the priory on the island.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing weekend in lovely country hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian evening meal was poor choice- raw garlic cloves in over baked pastry cheese tart! However, other menu items looked much better.

    Excellent location with spectacular view from dining room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful comfortable room, excellent staff. Great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok no complaints

    We liked that there were 2 comfy chairs in the room. It was great as we don't like to always have to sit on the bed. Much more comfy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.8
    It was really peaceful there and the view from the dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The open fire was left go out at 9pm and there was a chill in the dining room at all times , it was December so I would haved like it to be cosier.

    It was really peaceful there and the view from the dining room over the lake was beautiful The rooms were excellent. Food was delicious .A charming Hotel in a lovely setting. easy access by car to nearly towns and cities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    Fabulous lake side hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The full breakfast was a real disappointment after the excellent dinner the night before. Everything was over cooked and dried out. Not the best breakfast we've ever eaten.

    Absolutely fabulous location on the lake. Nice classic room and excellent dinner in the evening. Very impressed that the chef made gluten free muffins for my afternoon tea that was part of the bed and breakfast booking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    A LITTLE GEM OF A SCOTTISH HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not think of one thing that I would change or comment upon.

    Lunch, afternoon tea, evening meal, and without a doubt, the staff were faultless. An absolute pleasure to stay at this hotel. Lots of little extras to make your stay relaxing and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Superb lakeside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a little background music, very quiet at times, everyone could hear each other's conversations

    Location superb, food excellent, staff efficient and friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The midges on the patio but that's being really picky

    Hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the lake. The welcome and information provided about the hotel was excellent. Good service and excellent though limited menu.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    A Perfect Holiday Retreat !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The lounge area - although a small walk-through area it would be grately enhanced with comfortable sofas and chairs rather than the pretty but hard seats currently available. Sadly no WiFi .

    Fabulous relaxing view. Lovely helpful staff. A good tasty menu, too !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite hot (even without heating). We opened the window, but our room was facing a roof where the building ventilation could be heard the whole night. This was quite annoying.

    We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant. Delicious food, tasty wine and a really friendly waiter. The location right on the lake is unique.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Love at first sight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer!!!

    The location was absolutely glorious. Our room was tasteful and oh so comfortable. Both dinner and breakfast were gourmet quality. The whole experience exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Stunning location, friendly staff, omfortable room and quality food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The warmth of the staff and the superb location especially of the dining room and bar. It was like staying overnight with friends. Food both tasty and imaginative. We found this one of the most relaxing and characterful places we have ever stayed. Hopefully we'll make this a yearly visit

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: