Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lamb Inn 3 stars

Sheep Street, Burford, OX18 4LR, United Kingdom

#5 of 17 hotels in Burford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 332 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Great dinner, excellent restaurant staff, good breakfast too... but it isn't all about food.. the welcome, the "cosy" feeling, the lovely garden... we would go again and advise this hotel to others travelling in the area too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    . The hair dryer was too small at gardeners room. As well as the bathroom. The bar table was really dirty, sticky.

    Decoration was fabulous and lovely. The staff was wonderful. The breakfast, excellent. We will go again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that the room we had was not worth the money at all. The shower was tiny and the tiles are covered in damp and black mould marks. Cause we were paying so much per night our expectations were high especially when you look at the website which makes it amazing. It was one of those moments when you look forward to it so much and then when you are shown your room it’s a gasp of shock and deflation. £220/night

    The property is a beautiful building with an outstanding garden. Food was delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in newly decorated room... decor not great, but the sliding bathroom door noisy and kept sticking which was not good, especially in the night time!! Shower was very hot on the lowest heat setting and there was no ventilation in the bathroom, so the entire bathroom and bedroom steamed up when taking a shower despite having the bedroom window open.... waiting staff in dinning room very brisk!

    Fluffy pillows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect

    Especially the high standards of cleanliness and attention to detail such as coffee machines and home made biscuits in the rooms and molton brown products in the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bartender who was Romanian and called something that sounded Italian almost did not know how to make a Bloody Mary despite being instructed on several occasions - even put angostura bitters in mine and also proclaimed there was no kir for a Kir Royale despite the bottle being pointed out as being right in front of him by an English colleague and then not believing what he had been told unscrewed the top, smelled it and shrugged his shoulders. Does not like being told what to do for sure. Full of misinformation ranging from "there is only one church in Burford and it's Baptist [eye roll] - I told him that for sure there were more and he insisted I was wrong even though there is a Catholic one a few moments walk from the hotel uphill apparently. He should NOT be in the hospitality business! About as friendly as a rattle snake. We thanked him for working on Easter - he completely blanked us on that one. Abrupt and never smiling - he acted like he was doing us a favour in whatever he was asked to do. Other staff very, very good and helpful in the dining room area. Professional and pleasant and smiled.

    Extra comfy bed and spacious room - nice sheets and duvet, towels, Molton Brown products nice - White Company style bathrobes - very very very noisy room - am surprised you can let it out because of the noise from the room above. Forget sleeping in in the morning. It's on the ground floor and called Carvers or something. Beware! Carpets dirty and in need of a clean; mould beginning to grow in the shower - was not a twin bedded despite requesting three times. Turn down service which we decided on having initially rejected was a joke - bed not made properly - just sheets pulled up messily. Plenty of hangers and large well equipped closet with ironing board and iron but the hangers are of the sort that attach which is so naff it drives me insane.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small bathroom very small washbasin nowhere in the shower area to put anything so had to use the floor

    very nice ambiance, traditional comfort in the reception areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be an issue but we were advised to use the car park for the Bay Tree

    Lovely spacious bedroom with a huge comfy bed and great bathroom. Great breakfast and cosy fires.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Always an enjoyable experience staying at the Lamb Inn. In fact all the hotels in the group we've stayed at, either for business or pleasure are great value. Helpful, welcoming staff and great rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar doubles up as a reception desk, and when we tried to check in at 1800 hrs, the staff were very busy, and had no time to attend to us, merely telling us that they would "telephone a colleague". We were left standing in front of the bar with our cases, with nowhere to sit (all seats taken by "locals") until this colleague came 10 minutes later to check us in. There is no milk (fresh/powdered/creamer) in the rooms, just a card on the tea table asking us to ring reception for milk. We woke up at 0615, wanting a cup of tea, and had to ring twice for milk, this was brought one hour after it was requested. On politely asking the duty manager about this, he did not apologise, but merely stated that the hotel was unstaffed from 2300 to 0700, and that we should have requested milk the night before -- but nobody tells you about this when you check in!! Next morning at breakfast, we placed our orders, and 15 minutes later, a waitress came bringing something we hadn't ordered, which we did not accept. It took half an hour for someone to come out and tell us that an item we had ordered (vegetarian sausages) was out of stock. Pretty poor, considering that there were no more than 8-10 guests in the breakfast room at the time. All in all, really terrible service, considering the average price for dinner bed and breakfast is around £350 per night, including drinks.

    The Lamb Inn in Burford is a centuries old beautiful stone property, immaculately maintained. The decor is excellent, and the bedrooms are well-appointed and comfortable. The dining room and the public sitting rooms have an excellent ambience, and the food is delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was comfy, the bathroom very clean and well-provisioned. For a 'pet-friendly' room it was a little small. Our teenagers had a bigger room which would have been easier with the dog - though I understand that guests come before pets!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow service in restaurant, delay in ordered dish being delivered often with additional items missing. Small portions. Preferable for staff to ask if more coffee/tea/toast required rather than guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from room upstairs led to disturbed nights due to sound insulation. Noise from footsteps as people walked about and the shower and bath running was also noisy. Not much chance of a peaceful lay in. Otherwise very pleased. Would love to stay in a different room where perhaps this wouldn't have been an issue.

    Location within Burford perfect. Amenities and service provided and the sitting areas with log fires and comfy seating etc. were brilliant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking close by was easy, but it was January and not a peak time. Welcome was friendly and informative. The room, although small, was perfectly formed and everything worked. A very cosy stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was let down by the rude and unaccommodating staff, and this was echoed by other guests. We were really hoping to book a number/all of the rooms for a full weekend in 2019 for our wedding but they didn't seem that interested in accommodating it which was a real shame.

    The B&B itself is very nice and the rooms were lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire in lounge not working - technical problem. Staff appeared poorly trained/management not evident. Overall not good value for the price charged. We have regular visitors to The Lamb over many decades. We will not be back.

    Breakfasts were good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were attentive & polite nothing was too much trouble. Sitting round the log fire in the lounge having lunch was an absolute joy. The food was wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t get a table in the restaurant for our 2nd night which was to celebrate my husband’s birthday. Hadn’t been told that residents needed to book this in advance too.

    Loved the family suite we were given. Really enjoyed the cozy bar with log fires.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor points......had to return our meal as a side dish was delayed resulting in our meal going cold. Mosaic floor in bathroom needed re grouting as it looked scruffy.

    The staff were very attentive and made us feel important. Nothing was too much trouble. The ambience was cosy and relaxed and we were immediately at ease. Luxurious extras provided in our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in bar didn't speak English. We had to repeat almost everything 2 to 3 times... I actually felt bad, she was trying very hard- but just wasn't cutting it.

    Room was beautiful, we even had a private garden! Breakfast very good! Only negative was the bar staff didn't speak a word of English.. food quality was excellent, but staff really should be trained to speak the local language.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got used to hearing the creaky stairs and floorboards above as they’re part and parcel of this nice old building. There was a lot of through traffic in the main street which does detract from the ambiance of this little town but not a lot can be done about that.

    We liked all the staff we came into contact with. They all were very kind and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The bed was very comfortable, the room and en suite very clean and pleasant with lovely toiletries in the bathroom. We ate in the restaurant the 3 nights we stayed and the food and wine was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On this occasion, we cannot find a single negative point. (Note: If you've read some of my other reviews,

    Everything about the Lamb Inn has an air of quality and sheer luxury about it. The staff alone are everything you'd expect from a top rate establishment, and nothing is too much trouble. We chose a half board package, and the food was some of the best we've ever had. Our room was stunning, from the greeting flapjacks (wow), the Molton Brown toiletries and the stunning gardens, it's a perfect relaxing hideaway which we'll certainly be returning to...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bill. £450 for one night is top money for slightly above average food and accommodation. Granted £70 was on alcohol but the rest?

    Nice enough room but small bed and poor mattress. Average to good food and pleasant service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking near the hotel was a little challenging, especially on a Bank Holiday weekend.

    Friendly highly professional management and staff Lovely traditional historic inn Fabulous restaurant (and great bar food) Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a shame wonderful period features in the room, like oak beams and stonework around the windows had been 'painted over'! Lets hope the hotel get them sandblasted back to their original glory

    The hotel was in a great location, just off the main road, so no traffic noise. The food was fantastic and the staff were all very friendly. The hotel has a very nice feel about it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated and furnished . Great breakfasts ! Garden at the rear of the hotel is beautiful - lovely place to sit and relax . Location is excellent .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lighter weight duvet. Heavy duvet for the summer! You had to request a jug of milk the evening before for the early morning cup of tea and there was no fridge in the room to store it.

    The heated towel rail in the bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    The ye olde world style would appeal to youngsters but prices are very high. Ironically, the people who can afford The Lamb are the older generation but the steep twisting stairs , uneven floors, low ceilings are more likely to cause accidents and an avoidance of staying there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As elderly customers found the stairs difficult. Bathroom very slow water filling in basin. Bed not confortable

    Good location. Great atmosphere Evening meal in lounge was excellent in quality but perhaps a little short in quantity.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no private car parking. Had to wait until after 6pm to move the car nearer to the hotel.

    Very comfortable room with private garden which we and our dog loved! Amazing restaurant dinner in the evening and excellent cooked breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and staff were very polite and friendly. Great location to the town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tasting menu was enjoyable and full off unusual items that were appreciated. [The sommelier was left with a task and may not have known all his facts but he did his best and was most pleasant]

    The room was modest in size, but we are talking of a very old building with lots of character so we were perfectly happy. There was no TV but little room to put one if offered!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts v. good. Staff very sensitive to our needs, and very helpful when I left two items behind. Character of old building sensitively maintained.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred a bath and not just a shower but hotel was busy.

    We were there during a heatwave in the UK! So it was very hot but not the hotel's fault as it was unusual. We love the hotel and have been there more than 20 times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was absolutely tiny and in the bedroom at night you could hear some sort of fan or generator coming on and off very loudly so it woke me up. The service in the garden on Friday night was chaotic to say the least. They said we had to order all together rather than table by table - there were about 20 of us then it took over 2 hours for the food to come. We were told that it had to be one bill which we were happy with and we were going to split it and pay them all together but then we were told we had to all go up to the bar individually and pay for what we had!!! The food was excellent when it came. Also breakfast was very small and not worth the £16 charge to non residents.

    The reception staff were excellent, the garden was lovely and perfect situation parking is difficult but you can use the Bay Tree car park

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking outside the Lamb is always a bit of a lottery. Sometimes you could get a space really close and other times you had a bit of a trek. However, many of these old hotels were built long before cars were around and there is just no available space to fit a car park. That said, the fors definitely outweighed the againsts and we will be returning there sometime in the future.

    Nothing to dislike, it's a typical well run Cotswold hotel. The staff were friendly, the service was very good and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise .Nothing that they can do about it.

    Lovely,quirky cosy hotel. Staff excellent service Pretty gardens. Daily suggestions on local attractions posted under door each morning were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of a car park will mean that we will never book into this inn again. The stairs are a nightmare for the elderly (90)

    The excellence of the staff. The breakfast menu. The garden. However the space would be better used as a car park.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As always, full price is a bit high though I suppose in keeping with the area. Wait for a deal.

    I've reviewed The Lamb lots of times so no point in repeating myself. I love it. I note since my last review that they are in a program of refurbishment of the rooms which is good. Things that are consistent are the high quality and helpfulness of the staff, the wonderful garden, the great bar menu (when they go easy on the salt!) and the breakfast. And of course the location in Burford - my favourite Cotswold hideout.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking facilities. We did park on the street only because we were lucky someone was leaving at the time of our arrival

    The sevice was exemplary. The staff very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The property dates back to the 17thC and is in keeping with the Cotswold Cottage image.(Stone floors ,low beams ,small rooms.) Our room came complete with 4 poster bed ,plenty of space for 2 easychairs./tables and modern en-suite facilities with an excellent shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very noisey drone close to our room (The Tannery) around 7am. Sounded like a water pump or boiler

    Comfy bed. Friendly, lovely staff. Beautiful gardens. Excellent scallops. Delicious breakfast. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Burford is on a very busy route with too many H.G.V.. and other traffic Breakfasts ok but cooking poor,even with simple items like scrambled eggs or Omelets Sadly dinner was a disaster. Appalling slow service. Went in at 7 pm finished at 9.35 pm. ONly three courses in that time. Did not realise that "fine dining meant nouveau cuisine. Hence food presented as an art form rather than normal good quality such as meats or fish. A load of silly bits on each of thee plates. TRying to be like Masterchef!!

    The lamb is in good position in an interesting Cotswold town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park, although we did manage to park nearby

    The bedroom and bathroom were very roomy and comfortable, with good facilities. The food was also excellent with a great selection at breakfast, and very attentive service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit small

    Although we arrived quite late, the staff were very welcoming to us - and to the dogs! The room was pleasant with a lovely view of a side street of (old) Burford , home made biscuits and fresh milk on offer. Good service when we had a meal in the bar , service available in the very pretty garden as well Attractive dining room , good breakfast , again with good service Location is good , off the ( noisy) main street, and to have parking is important in Burford where public parking is very difficult It's (connected ) neighbour , The Bay Tree (where we have also stayed), is a little smarter , but the Lamb is nicer , and very dog friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our stay here was the last night of our month long trip and it finished on a very high note. Everything was wonderful. We were there in May and really enjoyed the beautiful garden but if you were there in the cooler months there are lovely welcoming common rooms to enjoy and a great bar. Would defiantly stay again if given the opportunity.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the rooms are ready for a bit of a decorative 'freshen-up' fairly soon.

    The garden was a real pleasure on this visit. All staff very friendly and attentive - Flora deserves special mention for her humour and patience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable room and good reasonably priced food available at the bar if not wanting full restaurant service. Breakfast was excellent with good range available if not having cooked but the cooked was also great quality. The best factor about the Lamb was excellent friendly service from all members of staff in every area. Attention in bar area particularly good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar meals were very poor, service shabby, waited eons, the bath very slippery, dangerously slippery, and cleaned for our second day.

    The bed was very comfortable, room clean and tidy, everything in order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    Everything was perfect. The staff were so friendly and approachable and you could have a laugh with them. The hotel was in a great location for the town of Burford and surrounding locations to visit

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cramped room.poor acoustic privacy from adjoins room and staff corridor,no layoff space in bathroom,heavy winter weight duvet made the bed too hot.No storage for luggage and safe inaccessible on floor inside a broom cupboard. Bar meal distinctly average.

    The off street car park and the central location in Burford.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing....

    We have stayed at the Lamb Inn on previous occasions and always found the hotel staff very efficient and friendly - the location is excellent for walking to into the main street and access to the outlying areas.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not one bad thing to say!

    I loved absolutely everything about the Lamb Inn, from the historic building to the beautifully decorated comfortable room, to the excellent meals, the cozy fireplace and the wonderfully accomodating staff. We will certainly go back here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time around, the charm only just compensated for the weak trickle coming out of the shower in the Stables room - I know the building is old and there are limits to what can be achieved with the plumbing but I really had to run around to catch the drops yesterday... And the food the last 2 nights was a bit over-salted - not great given it isn't cheap. If you can't get a price deal it's fairly expensive to stay here - so look out for one. But overall the good outweighs the less good.

    I love this place - it's an odd mixture of old Cotswold charm and frustrating staircases! It's an old building with lots of interesting little nooks and crannies; and a choice of places to sit and eat or drink. The garden is great - especially on a warm summer's evening. The food is usually of a high standard, whether in the bar or the restaurant. I keep coming back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very long wait in the dining room for our food to arrive on the Saturday night. The waiters were very attentive and brought us extra bread - but that still does not excuse the fact we were called through to the dining room after drinks and canapes in the bar, having given our dinner order - only to find we had to wait almost one hour for our first course to arrive.

    An overall relaxed stay - we thought the level of comfort and luxury was exceptional. We did have the best suite so do not know what the other bedrooms are like. The staff were all unfailingly helpful and polite. The weather was perfect for our stay so an early evening drink in the sunlit garden was a lovely start to the evening.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dressing table in the bedroom was a bit of a clutter, with all that it had on it, nespresso coffee machine, teal making kit, biscuits etc

    Great location, building with chunks of character and above all friendly, very helpful, knowledgeable and welcoming staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the road and noisy. Beds are small. Receptionist could have been more helpful and friendlier. We had an elderly person with us and the ground floor room request hadn't been taken on board. However it was sorted.

    Excellent breakfast choices and the manager was exceptional. Cosy bar area and loved the log fires. Lovely garden area and sandwiches divine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For me the food service was a little slower than would be my perfect. Having said that was so much better than being rushed (i'm being picky!) - didn't detract from our wonderful stay.

    The list is long. Very comfy bed. Great bath and separate shower. Very friendly and engaging staff. Delicious food. Great location. Fabulous garden for drinks or meal. Wonderful traditional feel but modern facilities. Very convenient to walk to main street running through Burford.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the second time my fiancée and I have stayed at this Inn and it is one of our favourites anywhere in the Cotswolds. Great atmosphere, lovely food and comfortable in every aspect. We will be staying again. Enjoy!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aconite Room Curtains in the bathroom were badly stained and therefore looked dirty. The bottom sheet had a hole in. The bed was too hard for us but that is just personal preference.

    The overall atmosphere and ambiance of the Lamb is wonderful. Lots of lovely seating and log fires. The Staff were super nothing to much trouble. The meal in the restaurant was outstanding. The bar meal was good too. A lovely place to chill and unwind.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi and phone signal were variable.

    Have wanted to stay here for a long time - and wasn't disappointed. Excellent menu in the dining room, and all served with style and a smile. Think this pub has the best open fires I've ever seen - making for a very cosy weekend retreat.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very tired throughout the hotel and the wallpaper was peeling in our room. It's very dark in some areas and some of the staff were rude, whilst some were very good. No-one explained that a key was for the front door or that the reception was not manned at night. When returning after hours to a locked hotel we had to wake someone up to gain entry. The hotel representative was far from impressed - he was downright rude and wholly unprofessional as he stomped around tutting us!

    The location, the food and the quaintness of the Inn.. Most staff were lovely.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that log fire unlit for dinner which was a celebration and log fires were a big attraction when we booked.

    The Inn is ancient and it feels like you're stepping back in time !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Cosiness created by fantastic logfires, rustic decor great food and excellent service. We've already booked to go back! A winter retreat that warms from within.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little outdated for tariff paid.

    Cosy room in courtyard. Very quiet,super breakfast next morning. A short stroll from main High Street for shops,restaurants etc.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were all very friendly especially the receptionist who made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room and bathroom were beautiful and the handmade flapjack treats in the room were a lovely touch. The bar and restaurant were lovely and cosy and the breakfast and lunch we had were great. We will be back again soon!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly attentive staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The Lamb is an old traditional building with plenty of history and character- low ceilings, stone floors etc. Food excellent. Burford has a range of shops to browse.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the bar and restaurant were NOT friendly. We asked for a wine list and the waiter simply replied with "I will just tell you all the wines on the list. Red, White, Rose" with a very rude tone. Obviously I wanted to look at the more extensive selection! I guess it was taking too much out of his time to grab the list for us.

    The location was premium, the room was beautiful, breakfast was a delight - literally everything was a dream except for the staff. I honestly would stay again, but avoid any contact with the staff!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tasting menu in the restaurant was a bit strange and not as good as two years previously (but still good fun to have all those courses and wine) also, could not get any fresh milk for tea before 7.30 in the morning (you are asked to request fresh milk from reception for tea and coffee in the room as no milk is provided unless you ask) I have never stayed in a hotel where you cannot get room service at all between 11pm and 7.30am.

    Very warm and comfy place to stay, very helpful and friendly staff who really make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit odd in that the staff put all the fires out, close the bar and leave the premises at 11pm. Dampening the atmosphere somewhat. The Room we had was very small with a terrible shower. I expected more for the amount we were paying. We had a Below average pub meal.

    Quirky building.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not a problem but my fried breakfast was brought to me before I had finished my porridge.

    The breakfast was very good with everything available that you require for breakfast. my wife enjoyed the fresh fruits and the porridge was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Lamb was superb. The perfect base for an Autumn visit - cosy, comfortable and characterful. Beautifully decorated. The staff were friendly and efficient. We would thoroughly recommend and look forward to making a return visit.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard double room too small especially with dog. Lounges cosy with log fires but too dark to read. Meals overpriced.Will return although a bit of a revamp needed.

    The Eggs Benedict & Royale. Hot bath! Dog allowed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere was warm and cosy. The food was superb, especially in the restaurant, although the bar food was very good too! The building was fabulous, very authentic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely ideal for us - very comfortable, lovely breakfast and very good bar meals. We were at a birthday party in Cheltenham on one day and it was a very easy - and beautiful- drive. Burford is lovely, though touristy. The church is stunning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The open fires - really made my eyes smart!

    The food wasn't cheap but was very good. Beautiful presentation. And the staff were all lovely. Very helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: