Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Wiltshire hotel reviews
  4. Seend hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Lamb on the Strand

Reviews of The Lamb on the Strand 4 stars

99 The Strand, Seend, BA14 6LL, United Kingdom

#3 of 4 hotels in Seend

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 76 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2018

    10
    Quaint, charming cottage. Would most certainly return if I was in the area! Close to Longleat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like!

    Loved everything about this lovely cottage! Décor, comfy beds, lovely layout, beautiful views and good amenities.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    7.9
    Good but didn’t appreciate the proximity and noise from busy road and lacking personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to very busy and noisy road. Pub was closed to meals night we stayed so we had to go elsewhere ( but Christmas time so to be expected ) Lacking of personal touch from owners in their contact and checking all ok

    Beautifully clean and comfortable stylish properties Proximity to the pub Clear instructions for keys etc Well stocked kitchen

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    9.2
    Excellent , well presented property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor niggle is checkout at 10am.

    Excellent , well presented property. Owners even gave us a bottle of prosec co because it was my wife's birthday! 😁 Would stay again. Pub next door lovely as well. Very good food.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.1
    comfortable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    front door didn't shut 100% so passing traffic was quite noisy.

    nice, modern and comfortable accomodation, nice to be able to take the dog with us and loved the sky lights

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Comfortable, perfect for self catering.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's close to the road, so traffic sounds start early.

    Loved the layout. Loads of space. Lovely view. Kitchen and lounge are upstairs and overlooks a field. Great decor, comfy bed, spa-like bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic property, with a super pub that had a lovely atmosphere and excellent range of food and drinks, would highly recommend for a short stay or an evening out if in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent property, good night sleep had by all - thank you 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we didn’t get an opportunity to enjoy the pub, my granddaughter did have a quick play in the pub playground and was very disappointed it didn’t have a swing she could go on, just a baby swing 🙁 She loved the climbing frame and slide though!

    The grandchildren thought the free cookies were amazing! We loved the decor and the clean fluffy towels. Would recommend the place to others and hopefully visit again in the future 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Service in the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excavation works on arrival made and builders on site first thing in the morning not ideal. Landlord offered free drink in restaurant but this was not given. Food in the restaurant mixed not as good as we were expecting.

    Service in the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    The combination with play area for kids , cottage , bar was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We can be less connected from network during the holiday. Felt some stress to do work , wifi was slow. Seemed like it this was a problem for whole area though...

    The combination with play area for kids , cottage , bar was perfect combination for me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Property was well-equipped, beautifully decorated and quiet.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Property was well-equipped, beautifully decorated and quiet. Restaurant food was delicious and staff courteous and helpful. Perfect for taking the dog!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Gorgeous cottage with all mod cons and great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful cottage set in a great location. Although next to a road you couldn’t hear the traffic. Clean and comfortable and the bathroom and kitchen facilities were more than satisfactory. Clean towels available and access to the cottage was easy. Contact from the owner was prompt giving detailed instructions to access the cottage. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    2night stay
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cottage was cosy and clean. It was perfectly situated for visiting our relatives. The food was wonderful we tried almost all the menu!! The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Definitely would rebook.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful clean cottage everything new, slightly further away from Melksham town than advised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we took a shower the water pressure kept dropping. The cottage was lovely but I feel slightly overpriced for a one night stay.

    The cottage was very cosy, had everything that you needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upstairs was a little hot and didn't dare open the windows as quite a few spiders visited! Stairs are a little tricky for tiny ones, so you would just need to keep watch.

    Beautiful property. Hosts very welcoming. Food at the pub was delicious. Lovely and clean. Fantastic views. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Lovely accommodation in an ideal location for exploring Wiltshire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean modern accommodation adjacent to the Lamb on the Strand. Beautiful views accross open countryside and we saw a deer in the field behind. It is in an ideal location for exploring the sights of Wiltshire. Stonehenge, Avebury, Lacock Abbey & Village, Longleat to name a few. The Lamb on the Strand is a quaint public house/restaurant offering a wide range of fine dining & wines. The staff are lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable and beautifully kitted out place but very close to road.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roadside location on busy A road woke us, with bin men, at 7.00pm. Lack of breakfast available at pub. A one night stay at this self-catering cottage needs a breakfast available either in the pub or a 'continental' left for guests in the kitchen. Late arrival meant restaraunt also not serving food when we arrived at 9.15pm. Felt pretty hungry. Staff very aplogetic but.......

    Beautiful large bedroom with countryside views. Great bathroom, kitchen and sitting room. Immaculate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay and owners just shame about the damp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful smell of damp downstairs by main bedroom. Clothes smelt of damp on return home.

    Main bed comfortable, good size, lovely bathroom, plenty of towels, good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful Stay in beautiful Wiltshire
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Guests must bring their own breakfast/food as the pub next door is not open in the morning and the local shops are a short drive away. The landlord is not always to hand, so there may be no one present when checking in or out of the property. A secure key box is available for collecting/ dropping off the key when arriving or leaving the premises.

    Clean, comfortable, fully equipped holiday cottage located next door to a friendly and cosy country pub. The views across the countryside were beautiful and it's a great location for exploring the Stonehenge and Avebury areas. The pub food was also good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Lovely pub accommodation in beautiful countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What isn't there to like? Tip. Take your own tea bags and basics then shop locally.

    This lovely, pretty accommodation is a cottage being one of two in the grounds of the pub. Beautiful location, it is self contained, with living room and kitchen on ground floor with spacious bedroom and en suite on the first floor. Very well equipped. Great traditional village pub providing excellent evening meal. Real ales of course. Garden area. On a bus route if you want to dump the car. Country walks and cycling.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Luxury accommodation in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything not to like

    Lovely accommodation, restaurant in attached pub excellent choice and quality. Owners very friendly and nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    The bedroom excellent, although no toiletries as promised in...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom excellent, although no toiletries as promised in advertising, not sure i liked that you had to walk through bedroom to get to bathroom, makes it award for any body not family. quite a noisy road. food in pub excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stop off on a long drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly, but not that efficient.

    The cottage was comfortable and well-equipped. Great countryside views. The restaurant was comfortable, the food good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Nice cottages
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know it was self catering, but some tea and coffee sachets in the property would have been very welcome - by the time we realised it was too late to go out and get any. Only a small thing but those details do make a difference.

    Simple and good value, we were down for one night for a wedding reception so exactly what we needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to drive everywhere, but is not a big problem.

    Lovely cottage, everything you need is there. Comfy bed, good little kitchen area all nice and clean. The pub food is very good, friendly owner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    property was excellent, everything we needed, very warm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, it was all excellent

    property was excellent, everything we needed, very warm and comfortable. food in pub was excellent worth every penny. thank you

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Great facitilies for us to enjoy a night away from home even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we hadn't arranged to stay longer!

    Great facitilies for us to enjoy a night away from home even with a young baby. A beautiful little cottage with lovely views across the countryside. We were able to order and enjoy a 'room service' meal from The Lamb once our baby was asleep.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation would recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of instructions as to how.to use the oven ( probably me!)

    The Upside down arrangement made the views accessible but such a lovely ambiance to the whole coottage- loved it and will certainly return, especially as the two cottages have interlocking doors, so would be ideal for family get togethers

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.5
    Nice location very spacious room, friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting some coffee and milk in the room. 10 % sub charge for food in the room was unnecessary, is not the cost ( I would have left it as a tip anyway) is the gesture. Most places offer incentives to their quest to eat at their restaurants

    Nice location very spacious room, friendly people.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    7.9
    I hope the owners read this....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get the heating to work so was cold, and it was cold outside at -3 Need to put in some system to play music, docking speaker, DVD player but nothing to watch. Emergency light shines in your face, headboard not attached to bed so makes noises when you move, kettle needs descaling!! Badly!

    Convience of property, nice pub, lovely meal.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    10
    A perfect getaway for our wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next time, we'll book a week rather than 4 days!

    Loved everything. Keen to go back. The food at The Lamb on the Strand was first class.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    10
    Bronia is a fantastic host.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flexible accommodation in great location

    Bronia is a fantastic host.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Great stay 👌🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant was a little slow

    The comfort and cleanliness was great , the shower was lovely as spacious and hot !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.1
    Nice reasonable priced cottage just needs a little bit more!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private garden for dogs and open plan stairs from lounge so needed a stairgate

    Pet Friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of space . Everything new and good quality . Your own parking space just in front of the property.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Excellent and exceptional accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    The cottage was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cows licking the window woke us up which lead to a poor nights sleep.

    The cottage was awesome

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it

    Clean tidy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable and cosy lovely place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    A very pleasant stay. The cottage was clean and tidy on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    We will be back :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfortable beds, wonderful staff and a lovely fully equipped property we

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good, highly recommend
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more toilet roles, its not something you would bring with you, and 4 adults???!

    Easy success, self contained, pub meal and service excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    The layout of the cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house was very hot.

    The layout of the cottage

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    A charming place away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window catches were insecure

    Very peaceful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.6
    used it to attend a funeral
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    with out a car its not a good place to stay

    nice romantic place if you just want to relax and do nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.7
    To many rules and regulations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    to many rules and regulations and no soap provided

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely helpful staff, the cottage was very clean and spacious. The food in the pub was excellent and very well priced 10/10!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.0
    Pub opening hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pub opening hours

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    Our second visit was as good as before.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very fast traffic going past making it difficult to cross the road.

    Comfort, space and able to take our dog.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Enjoyable self contained with pub next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy,maybe a little tea and coffee as a welcome pack might be nice.

    Comfortable well thought out accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Cost cottage in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows - barely any filling and gave no support whatsoever and prevented us from having a good night's sleep.

    Everything other than the pillows

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    A beautiful cottage lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not fault anything

    A lovely place to stay , A beautiful cottage.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location, although the road was a little noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, although the road was a little noisy. Lovely decor, idea for a get together with friends

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.8
    Privacy and it's a great space.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slow internet, couldn't find the remote to tv downstairs, kitchen roll is always useful for the kitchen space. Shower head would not stay up so very hard when washing hair. Bright green light when trying to sleep but I understand they need emergency lighting.

    Privacy and it's a great space. Warm and cosy, nice to have the feeling of your own apartment but at an affordable cost, having the pub so close was really nice, excellent choice of meals and very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    3.3
    I liked when we left
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Broken bed, uncomfortable nights sleep, property in a bad condition, holes in the walls, view out the rear was just mud, overal property finish very poor, skirting boards coming away from the walls, didn't see the hosts at all, appalling customer service, were totally ignored, breakfast was extra charge on top of the extortionate £170, incredibly bad value for money, infested with spiders, overpowering smell of manure from the fields, no welcome book, would neither recommend this place nor stay again. Couldn't wait to leave.

    I liked when we left

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.2
    Cottage was spacious, well decorated, homely and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It's on a busy road so we just needed to be very careful our dog was on a lead to and from the car.

    Cottage was spacious, well decorated, homely and very clean. Would definitely book again.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    10
    Cottage was very spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traffic noise at 7am. and floor of shower rather slippery.

    Cottage was very spacious and comfortable. Good to be able to bring our dog and also lovely food in the Pub. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful location great to have access as soon as I arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dark area with poor lighting over table to eat and cook in, no kitchen roll in the kitchen area to mop up anything spilt, needed a massive descaling of the kettles and plastic pieces by the sink area. new sponge for washing up would be nice. They have a fly sticky paper hanging in lounge which has left sticky stuff all down one wall and not cleaned up. The tv didn't work in the upstairs bedroom.

    Wonderful location great to have access as soon as I arrived and separate from pub. Lots of space, ideal if I need to stay there longer as it feels like your own place.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    7.1
    Dog friendly in the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No comfy area to sit after dinner. When we asked what time breakfast was the manager/barman said there's no breakfast but no explanation why so we had to grab a cold sandwich at the petrol station

    Dog friendly in the bar. The cottage we stayed in was roomy and well equipped and the food in the bar was very good at lunchtime and the evening

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful cottage with high quality furniture, fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    woken by the sound of crashing bottles and dustman at 06.00 Thursday morning, traffic noise

    Beautiful cottage with high quality furniture, fantastic nights sleep

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    Loved the accommodation,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would have loved a later check out after New Year's Eve Also couldn't find the bedding for the pull out beds in both cottages. Only realised at about 3am and realised then that we should have asked earlier!

    Loved the accommodation,

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.6
    The owner is great as are ll the staff, food fantastic.
    • Couple

    If you have a problem with road noise, there is bit, I don't and it was not an issue for us.

    The owner is great as are ll the staff, food fantastic. The opened the bar early for us to meet up with our friends. Great stay and highly recommended. Great accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    The layout and decor was outstanding of this self contained...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The layout and decor was outstanding of this self contained cottage, in the process of booking this cottage next year, Thank you to booking.com for letting me book this cottage..

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    Lovely cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely cottage. Everything provided for a comfortable stay. Excellent, will stay again if in the area. Also fab pub next door with great food and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    The accommodation was of a very high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Loved everything about it!

    The accommodation was of a very high standard. Lovely fluffy towells, plenty of hot water, clean throughout and very spacious. The food was great and the service from the staff was warm and friendly. Location was ideal for visiting longleat.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    Nice and clean cottages (we used both).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One can hear weak noises from the street traffic. For us this was not a problem.

    Nice and clean cottages (we used both). Enough space for children to play (inside the cottage and outside, on the playground).

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.2
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very clean. Lots of space for your money. Just a quick note Breakfast needs to be ordered and paid for by 7pm the night before. There is a menu that you choose options from, then the breakfast is delivered to your cottage. Didn't eat at the restaurant but it looked very nice. We would definitely return especially for a longer stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.5
    Lovely facilities and nice accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little impersonal and the cost of a breakfast was very high. I do appreciate though that the point of this accommodation is that it is intended more as a self catering facility rather than the one night of our stay.

    Lovely facilities and nice accommodation. Great food and service at the pub

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.1
    Spotlessly clean, well appointed, nice outlook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    However, double bed was narrow (standard uk 4'6" or 1.25m), quite a lot less than say a standard Premier Inn bed of 1.6m or 1.8m. I also found it not comfortable to sleep on. This is a big factor for me.

    Spotlessly clean, well appointed, nice outlook. Despite being on a main road the overnight traffic noise was acceptable.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    The hosts were brilliant, the cottages immaculate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have a car ai we were a little stranded, Wiltshire taxi prices are astronomical, however we will be back with use of a car!!!

    The hosts were brilliant, the cottages immaculate,comfortable and excellent value for money!! The food at the lamb was superb!!

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    Lovely surroundings, exceptional high standard of food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the wifi signal was very poor

    Lovely surroundings, exceptional high standard of food served, cottage was clean and welcoming, and staff were very friendly in the pub

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    7.5
    Nicely converted and fitted out, light and spacious, all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could do with a comfy sofa in lounge area - currently just one arm chair and a sofa bed which wasn't comfortable to sit on but plenty of space to put a mother sofa or chair. Isolated location so had to drive everywhere.

    Nicely converted and fitted out, light and spacious, all equipment needed for self catering. Pet friendly. Heating good and adjustable. Clean and new furniture and fittings. Pub next door for meals, key collect and drop off. Good and free wifi. Lots of good visitor locations nearby.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    Staff were so friendly and accommodating with regards to our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not really a big deal but it was a shame there wasn't a dishcloth as I felt bad we couldn't wipe everything down properly.

    Staff were so friendly and accommodating with regards to our one year old. They couldn't have been more helpful which makes a big difference when travelling with a little one. There was also a nice little play area. The food was fab :-)

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.2
    Great being next door to a quiet country pub, with lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great being next door to a quiet country pub, with lovely food and atmosphere. Our children enjoyed it too and were made welcome by the friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    8.3
    The pub was right next to the accommodation which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The sofa bed was not as comfortable as it could have been

    The pub was right next to the accommodation which was fantastic, the cottage was very comfortable and we all really enjoyed our stay.The food was amazing

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    6.3
    The bedroom was beautiful with good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Eat at the pub food warmed up from lunchtime even though it was 8 o clock at night poor value for money and lukewarm

    The bedroom was beautiful with good facilities

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: