Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Spada Bed and Breakfast 3 stars

62-64 Front Street, Durham, DH1 5DE, United Kingdom

#14 of 15 B&Bs and Inns in Durham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 246 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was available only at the Bar area downstairs; it would be fantastic if available in the room as well. However, we can live without the internet for one day of course.

    The convenient location, friendly staff and the brilliant italian food at the restaurant downstairs!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at approximately 9pm had to wait 15 minutes to check in as the female member of staff had to deal with hotel check ins and issues within the restaurant,which was extremely busy on our arrival. We were told that breakfast would only be served between 9 am and 10 am as the chef would be working late the night before As we had to be away by 9 am it meant we would have to leave without breakfast . Our room was accessed by a separate front door next to the restaurant. The room was very cold and the smell of damp was very noticeable. The radiator was turned off so I turned it on but no heat came through it . The bedroom furniture was mismatched , poor quality and a hinge was broken on the wardrobe door.The bedding was awful . The pillows were lumpy and when I removed a pillowcase there were black spots consistent with mould marks .Generally the pillows didn't smell clean The duvet itself (not the cover) on my child's bed was stained . The mattress protectors looked worn and were not waterproof backed . The bathroom suite looked in need if replacing. I showed all these issues to the same female staff member , who thankfully gave us a refund. Unfortunately we then had to try and find alternative accommodation, late in the evening ,with a tired 8 year old on a very busy weekend in Durham

    The reception and restaurant areas are nicely decorated . When we arrived the restaurant was extremely busy . The female member of staff who attended to our check in appeared to be having to manage issues the restaurant as well as check ins but was extremely helpful . Similarly a male member of staff in the restaurant was very pleasant

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our fault for not asking soon enough but we couldn't get a table at the restaurant.

    Rooms were very clean and a good size which is handy considering 4 of us shared a family room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok, though we did book for a large double instead of the small double and the room we stayed in was a little on the small side still. TV in the room was also very small and we had to set it up ourselves upon arrival.

    The food was brilliant and the staff were all great, attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn’t spotless and there was dust in the bedroom. The TV was too small for the size of the room but that’s a minor point. Didn’t realise breakfast was an additional charge on top.

    The breakfast was amazing and the host very customer focused. Quick to replace lamps in bedroom. Beds v comfortable and warm. Nicely decorated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Good Location. Friendly staff.excellent accommodation. Clean, modern and quiet location. Would recommend for all ages. The restaurant attached for a traditional English breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was stunning, comfortable and stylish. The food downstairs was amazing and not too expensive, we all enjoyed our staff and will deffinately return

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The information was misleading as it's called LaSparda bed and breakfast and the breakfast is not included. There is nowhere in the information that says this.

    Staff were very friendly and the cooked breakfast was wonderful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location met all of our needs & the restaurant & staff were excellent value. Saturday dinner of mussels followed by a sirloin with a fine glass of red was delicious. Great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not extend our stay due to our work commitments. (not fault of la spada)

    We did not book breakfast at time of booking room. restaurant was very busy from our arrival at around 4.30pm arrival and yet staff found time to accommodate our arrival and subsequent breakfast booking. Breakfast was large and filling. Grandson was offered extra juice yogurt, fruit and an extra cookie for the journey home. Nice chat with the staff before we left. Family room (1 double 2 singles) had toilet and shower all spotlessly clean. Would I book again yes I would and so would my other half (whisper this) and she is hard to please.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very spacy and it is beautifully decorated. The onsite restaurant serves delicious Italian dishes and breakfast was good too. The staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are going to Durham for one night or longer I highly recommend Le Spada which lies about 2 miles outside the centre of the city. I knew it was going to be a good stay after having had a long drive from Cambridge and arriving at 22.30pm, the owner was warm and welcoming and made us sandwiches which was so welcome. Our room was clean, warm and very comfortable. It was my birthday and had booked the restaurant for Saturday evening. It was a good decision. Great atmosphere, lovely food and I was treated to an impromptu 'happy birthday' from the staff. Le Spada is a great place to stay because of it's owner. He took the place over about a year ago and brings his own style and warmth to every aspect of his business. He is that rare person. He actually really wants your stay to be happy and comfortable. Cannot recommend highly enough-GO!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were under the impression that we had booked 'bed and breakfast' with this 'bed and breakfast' establishment but on arrival were immediately told that breakfast was extra. We had a heated discussion with the owner who was adamant that breakfast was extra and I tried to explain that we had booked in good faith and that the booking should make it abundantly clear that when you are booking with this'bed and breakfast' establishment that breakfast is extra. It did say on the booking 'no meals booked' but as this was also a restaurant I presumed this meant we hadn't booked an evening meal. Our stay was expensive for a 'room only' deal so we only stayed one night instead of the intended three and when we left in the morning we had to see ourselves out - there was nobody there. We then booked into The Manor House near Durham where the premises were wonderful, the staff very pleasant and which cost less and included a superb breakfast.

    The room was clean and looked to have been recently decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives about the accommodation or staff

    The staff where extremely helpful. They wentoutof their way even parked our car for us. Ensured we received a phine call prior to arrival to check if there was anythibg ee required. Even though tge restaurant was closed at ten om they ensured we had our pizzas for when we arrived at nine minutes to eleven. The rooms lively and spacious the decor in the rooms are absolutely gorgeous. Staff are polite professional and friendly would recommend tgis accomodatiin to all my friends five star service ***** and so reasonably priced excellent value fir money would have paid more well worth it. The outside garden at the rear us lovely as well

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some people could find the road running by noisy.

    Very friendly staff who went out of their way to be helpful. The restaurant continental breakfast was more than adequate. I would recommend booking a meal at the restaurant too , the food is very good and good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all very friendly, the room was comfortable and the B&B is located on a bus route which only takes 10 minutes to get into the city centre; so no faffing about with driving and parking in Durham. After a long day in the city we booked a table in the restaurant and the meal was excellent. No problems at all and we would happily book again if we are in the area. I also liked that the bar was from the Olympic, the sister ship to the Titanic : nice extra touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With being comfortably looked after we did not want to leave La Spada.

    Excellent & friendly staff including the owner who goes that extra mile to look after his customers & guests. The family bedroom was hygienically clean, spacious and with luxurious surroundings. I highly recommend this accommodation as well as the fine dining italian restaurant that offers an extensive menu. I was very impressed by the service and professionalism of the polite staff here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We presumed that La Spada Bed And Breakfast we would get breakfast. Never stayed in a bed and breakfast before where you didn't get breakfast. Please read the small print if you book through booking.com No Internet

    The staff were very nice, and the restaurant food was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It appeared to be a old property that had been refurbished but still needed further work in our ensuite bathroom especially the old electric shower

    The Italian manager and staff were very friendly and accommodating. The Resturant appeared to be very popular (Saturday night) but did not have time to have a meal there ourselves

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for boiled eggs and toast. I was served with two b hard boiled eggs which had been sliced into quarter pieces with two slices of toast. Quiet acceptable bo but not whatI expected ! --- but not what I expe3ctexd

    food was o k

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone in the room. No immediate access to wifi. No booklet explaining anything.

    The restaurant is busy but you can't hear it from the rooms. The breakfast was great and the owner allowed my child to have pasta. We would definitely stay again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we only got to stay the one night!! Flying visit, had to get back for work. Otherwise, i can safely that there was nothing that we disliked.

    Very welcoming. Lovely room, comfy bed. It's situated in an ideal location for access to Durham, Newcastle & Beamish, to name a few places!! The food was tasty,with an extensive menu & we had a lovely breakfast. Got to mention our host Roberto, what a lovely man. He was very friendly, & helpful. He even managed to get our shy 6 yr old son to speak to him before we left. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took my mum for a nostalgic trip up to the Durham area as she hadn't been back up for over 50years. The staff and owner of La Spada were very friendly and helpful and we felt like we were long time friends or family and guests in their own home. The evening meal was excellent. Beautiful people and beautiful food! Local transport links right outside to take you to Durham or Newcastle were a great added bonus so there was never a need to take the car anywhere and worry about parking etc. Really impressed and would stay there again. Would highly recommend to any of my friends or family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were very comfortable. The staff really put themselves out for us, making sure we were fed and watered! They were great with the kids and were generally very flexible and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced. Blind in room stuck. Room superficially good but rough. Shower very difficult to operate. Floor creaked. Breakfast appalling. Noisy. Would not recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money, friendly staff. Looks decieving from the front of building. Recent refurb taken place and very nice decor and italian restaurant inside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needed a good clean. Dark curly hairs everywhere, easy to spot, not pleasant to see. No cups for Coffee. A little too basic. Didn't feel the price was justified, should have been half as much.

    Bed very good! Deco was lovely. Staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast needs improvement. This establishment is no longer The Lambton Hounds Inn. Had we not previously visited we would not have found it. The name on frontage is La Spada Restaurant.

    The restaurant in the evening

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, lovely accommodation, very clean and tidy .excellent location. Its no longer the lambton hounds inn. It has new owner's and is called LA SCADA.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, providing us with pleasant conversation whilst serving us and ensuring that our rooms were adequate for our needs. The rooms were well outfitted with comfy beds and good shower facilities. The food at the restaurant was brilliant value for money and was prepared to a quality standard. As we were leaving early in the morning we were provided with fruit and breakfast bars so that we wouldn't go hungry, which was extremely appreciated and displayed the staffs willingness to go the extra mile for their customers. It was clear that the owners were doing their very best to attend to the needs of their guests which made overall for a very pleasant stay. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little later than ideal for us (9am-10am). Marmalade or jam to spread on the toast would have been nice.

    Friendly reception, good value, well located for our needs. Recently refurbished to a good standard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. This has now been renovated into an Italian restaurant and we ate in there twice and the food was fresh and well priced. I would recommend the accommodation and restaurant to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most miserable cold damp unpleasant room I've ever stayed in.In an old house at end of block Attached to main pub/resteraunt

    Superb reseraunt

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we found that the lambton hounds inn has been bought out and is now a restaurant with the rooms still available to book. The restaurant has been refurbished to a vey high standard just a shame they had run out of money to complete the bedrooms. To be fair they were clean but a little cold and breakfast was better on the second day to the first. Value for money no it was extremely overpriced for two rooms for two nights it cost us £280 considering the standard of the rooms. Would I stay again only if they got refurbished to the standard of the hotel which I expect they will.

    Very accommodating staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    No heat on when we arrived bedroom freezing very poor facilities certainly not "hotel" standards of any kind..beds terrible springs coming through sheets not fitting beds properly..tea and coffee facilities a disgrace.. Back door of hotel open all night so security poor..a cheek to charge anyone to stay there

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Emailed after we had booked to say refurbishment going ahead but rooms unaffected?! Think it was the owner or builder? Met us on arrival but was only interested in us paying, they had no idea of area or where we could get a taxi into town, room was foistey and uninviting , would not recommend this hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    accommodation itself was very poor.saw staff when we arrived .and then no contact at all even when we left after phoning them.were told to leave key in room

    not to our satisfaction

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very basic with old ill fitting furniture. The TV didn't work and no one came to fix it. We didn't see a sole the two nights we were there. On the morning of our departure we just left the keys in the room and left.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old stale smell in the room, noisy uncomfortable beds, decor old and tired, shower had someone else's hair stuck to the tiles. Place felt unclean

    The room was big foe a family of 3 plus 2 dogs

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't in the main inn but an annexe a couple of doors down from the Inn. The entrance hall was run down and in need of refurbishment. The room was at the top of a steep flight of stairs,, not really suitable for the disabled member of the party. Our room was a good size but in desperate need of painting, new furniture, windows, toilet suite. The bedside lamp had a very worrying wiring set up, so I'm afraid we never switched it on,, thank goodness for the torch on our mobile phone. The lock on the door didn't feel very secure, we were glad we had the dogs with us. One of the reasons we picked here was the idea of having a relaxing drink and meal in the lounge bar with our dogs, unfortunately this wasn't an option as the restaurant was closed for a refit. I think we should have been told of this prior to our arrival. An email we received shortly after booking confirming the inn allowed dogs explained we could eat in the lounge bar with them but they weren't allowed in the restaurant. Why tell us this if they knew the restaurant would be closed?? It was really inconvenient trying to find somewhere to get food in a strange area after a long busy day. It felt expensive (£79 including a £10 charge for the dogs) to stay in what felt more like a HMO than 250 year old coaching inn.

    It was made of bricks, and the wolf couldn't blow it down.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked like the place needed modernising. The welcome in the bar was non- existent. In fact, I felt a little uncomfortable as if the staff would prefer no outsiders, just locals!

    The room was clean and comfortable. The lady that served breakfast was very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was varied and generous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place needs a lick of paint but it is a pub with rooms not a hotel so if you're expecting luxury for a budget price go elsewhere.

    Convenient position to get into Durham. Comfy bed and duvet was warm enough. Situated on a fairly busy road but no problems with noise at night. Good full English breakfast. Nice lounge bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed for refurbishment, so no evening meals. Decor and facilities a bit 'tired'.

    Excellent breakfast Staff very friendly and helpful Good parking Good location for touring Co.Durham, Northumberland and the N.Y.Ms. Dog friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had patches of damp, the shelf to put toothbrushes etc on was wonky so you had to keep your things somewhere else, very tired looking room that looked a bit grubby. Not possible to enjoy a drink at the bar as it was incredibly expensive (£7.75 for 2 drinks).

    The location, good parking and friendly staff. Breakfasts were nice and you could request food to be prepared the way you like.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signage to indicate where to check in or park, there is signage in the car park but doesn't signal that this is also for guests staying in the Inn.

    Excellent full continental and cooked breakfast breakfast and nice friendly staff. Also a bonus to have the pub downstairs to have a pint in the evening after a long day out. I recommend that you have access to a vehicle to drive here as its not too central to the city

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom toiletries (only shower gel and hand wash provided)Bed was way past its best.wrong wi fi address in welcom pack.no restaurant on Sunday and Monday

    Location very convenient for bus service to Durham.Jar of coffee provided much better than sachets

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were in was above the bar, so it was noisy late in the evening.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were very generous and prepared very quickly. Rooms were clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally indifferent waitress in the evening - she really looked as if she couldn't be bothered to serve us! Also the fact that we got it at a certain price through Booking.com meant we were only allowed to have Continental breakfast - whilst other tables around us tucked into a full English! ! The drinks were very expensive too.

    The cosy pub atmosphere and the beer garden. Tapas food was v good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stank of cigarette smoke, the bathroom shelf was slanted(no good) the toilet seat was broken. Breakfast was not good, orange juice had something mouldy floating which I took out with spoon and showed hostess...nothing was done to replace yuk! It was just unloved everywhere, by far the worst we have stayed in in last 5 weeks of travelling.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff seemed uninterested, did not make any efforts to chat due too these people selling up i think. Both pub n accommodation up for sale.Beverages very expensive, so we popped up the road to another pub and instead of 8 pounds around, it became 3.90!

    good breakfast in the morning,apart from the microwaved bacon! Just avoided that on the second day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old fashioned and dull

    I slept well. Lovely breakfast . Staff friendly and helpful. Place needs refurbishing and brightened up . Otherwise clean and impressed with the whiteness of the bedsheets ...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked into the hotel because it served real ales but the bar did not open until 2 on the Saturday by which time we'd already left for the wedding we were attending. Room was small and facilities basic. No evening meal on Friday - we had to go to the Premier Inn nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in a bad way. Dirty, tired, terrible mattresses, no hot water. I could go on. Don't stay here unless you are the type of person who can sleep standing up in the middle of a motorway.

    The woman who cooked breakfast was fast and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    All staff very friendly and the pub is convieniently close to open fields where you can walk your dog. Very good value for money in our opinion.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The business has fantastic potential. It appears that the tenants have, for whatever reason, failed to (re)invest. It is "tired" and dirty. Our room was in a terraced house next door but one. Even the Guinness pump was there for show, locals were drinking "bottled" beers.

    The location suited. Easy public transport into the city; easy access to major road network. We liked the idea of an old Inn with bar & restaurant providing family rooms where we could take our granddaughter BUT IT DID NOT DELIVER.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated and the mattress wasnt good

    The breakfast was really good but one member of the breakfast staff let the team down. The towels were clewn

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little further out of town Than I had first thought, but not a problem since we found that local buses ran regularly passed door

    Convenient to main road, and the service bus passed the door, no need to take car into town

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not in the pub as described but in a tatty terrace 2 doors down with no wifi, water run cold, bed headboard was old spong mattress, musty smell in the room, no hair dryer in room or milk to make a drink on arrival just tea,coffee,sugar ? breakfast was served in the pub and our worst ever,raw/microwaved bacon ? Cheap produce,cereal tasted stale,bread dry,fruit tinned we had to leave it and have breakfast on route.

    There was nothing to like about this place or the room , it was not as described at all. Nothing about this was B and B it was more like DSS or homeless accommodation just glad we only booked the 1 night and arrived late. Photo shows accommodation !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inn is in a suburb of Durham called Pity Me and that is a good description of the accommodation, though, of course, one should not expect too much for the price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms were very dated, and the breakfast was very average

    Staff were friendly Although we didn't have the chance to use the pub, it looked lovely, and food sounded great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful and friendly proprietors. Wonderful old inn with character. Needs a little refurbishment but very comfortable. We had a continental breakfast which was excellent and a wonderful cafetiere of good coffee! Rare!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meals served on Saterdays because restaurant was closed. Electrical 13 amp socket taped up with gaffer tape. Bedroom floor not cleaned under front of wardrobe.

    Food: A1 Staff: Very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water from the tap. Only hot water was from the shower. This made shaving a little difficult! Also no internet in our room but we could connect downstairs in the bar or even in the road in front of the building.

    The breakfast was really excellent! A FULL English with absolutely everything. The room was so reasonably priced for 3 of us with breakfast included. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was what it was, a grubby down market pub with tired accommodation. We hadn't been told that the doors into the pub / restaurant stuck so we thought the doors weren't open for breakfast. We had to hammer on the door to get in!

    The staff. The bedding was clean!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby room . Window tiny and far too small to exit incase of fire . Actually worried me as room down a corridor where light didnt work . It was a first floor room . Bed stood infront of fireplace , headboard unattached . Too much to describe but suffice to say decor about 50 years out of date .

    Not very much .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needed redecorating badly.Arrived down to breakfast to be told it was continental for us. No mention on the booking receipt. A large dog was allowed in the restaurant while we were at breakfast!! The waitress didn't make them put it outside but clapped it I hope she washed her hands again!

    Location to Durham

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought breakfast was included but had to pay extra for full English breakfast. No teaspoons in room for tea and coffee. Very noisy water system every time we turned on the taps!

    Nice room, comfy beds. Facilities were good. Evening meal was very nice. A great bar downstairs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was cramped but ok. The hot weather made the room temperature hot overnight.

    The cooked breakfast was very good and the staff were very nice. It was great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and damp, not what was shown or advertised! Dirty bed sheets and a general dirtiness to the room! took an age for the toilet to flush, the shower trickled and once was fed up of the shower we couldnt turn off the hot water tap. Very dissapointed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs updating. Room not very clean.TV did not work. The annexe smelt of damp.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Sheets and towels very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit stoory, not very good for asthmatics! Tea bags yellow and coffee jar disgusting! An old inn but could do with being freshened up.

    Ideal location as there was a bus stop just outside to get bus to Durham and breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in sink or bath, only in the shower. TV did not work.

    This accommodation was adequate for our short stay. Staff friendly and room clean, as was linen. For what we paid it was excellent value for money. We are pensioners and that was important.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was very basic. There were no bedside lamps and only one pillow each.

    the bed was very comfortable. the breakfast was excellent. Despite being on the main road there was no problem with traffic noise when the windows were closed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In dire need of refurbishment. Dirty bathroom. Dirty stain on sheets.Noise from live amplified music in the tiny back room of the pub made the room shake.Could feel vibrations on the bathroom floor and the mirror shook in the bedroom.This went on until11.30pm.Breakfast rather poor.Cheap bread used for toast which powdered upon biting into it. Nothing around the inn apart from takeaways.

    Quiet location with easy access into Durham. Regular bus which stopped very close to the inn. Really friendly and amenable breakfast staff.Very helpful and went out of her way to lend me an iPhone charger.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the whole house needs demolishing. it is not part of the pub but two doors down. I cannot express more fully to think that I paid £60 for a dirty distgusting room no breakfast and a sleepless night. no hot water the toilet did nt flush. no toiletries to wash with. What a way to welcome visitors to Durham

    dreadful it was like a doss house for tramps. I can say nothing about it should be taken off the web site.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: