Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Langham Hotel

4-5 Langham Place, Barrack Road, Northampton, NN2 6AA, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 1514 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall okay for tthe money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had no adjustment so couldn’t turn the temperature down was way too hot and couldn’t stand underneath it . I wanted a cool shower . we were in the middle of a hot summer and had travelled a long way

    The breakfast was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    2.5
    Booked in for one night, one night too many - Our advice, book elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to car park is via a narrow, waste bins and refuse bags littered, track and is totally inadequate for size of the hotel. Man at check in failed to inform us that car park is locked at night so when returning at approx 10pm, after having to manoeuvre a large car past the dustbins and rubbish bags plus a badly parked car belonging to the first residential house on the track immediately after getting round the corner, we found the car park locked so had to find alternate parking on the road out front. The hotel really needs a good clean, how anyone can honestly say the place is clean baffles us, it smells - maybe it was the heat bringing the bad smells out. Carpets were dirty/stained. Bedding -,throwover and top bedding was disgusting, looked dirty but perhaps it looked this way as it was so old. Mattress was squeaky and useable but not actually comfortable. The bathroom, what a state, health and safety issues are what first come to mind - I am attaching photos. Tiling in shower is dirty and cracked, the grouting is ingrained with dirt. There's no shower door and bits of what looks like wood on the deep step down from the shower cubicle - it's so bad that we couldn't bring ourselves to use it. Note on bathroom door stating they are aware of the door being broken but the door should be repaired prior to being rented out - that notice does not look new !!!!! The toilet didn't flush properly and it's too old to be water saving. Breakfast - Weetabix was obviously the suggested cereal as there were 2 on each plate, there were other cereals but only one of each, to be fair we didn't ask for any others to be duplicated. Toast arrived, medium bread so not fully toasted, it was accompanied by jam & marmalade and what appeared to be butter but was actually some cheap spread, it was just grease, not good.

    There's NOTHING to like so what we liked about The Langham Hotel was - CHECKING OUT. This hotel is deceiving as from the road it looks well kept. One reviewer says they paid £45 and doesn't know what people want for this price, my reply to that statement is this - We paid £53.33 for the one night, only booking via Booking.com, at lunchtime on the day we arrived and IRRESPECTIVE of price, what everyone expects and SHOULD get is clean, fresh smelling accommodation. Do like that this review will be accepted with no ratings for staff, facilities, cleanliness, comfort, value for money as to give ratings would be unfair, it gives a certain number of points and, in honesty, I can't give any points.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Good location with off road parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rough road up to the property

    Good location with off road parking. Staff could not be more helpful. Outstanding breakfast. Nice friendly people. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Good and calm.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though i specially mentioned i don't eat pork, there wasn't any other option in the breakfast for eg: chicken, but still adjustable.

    The ambience is peaceful and homely. Good choice with cheaper rate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    Dated B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The annex (at the rear) is not the best - feels like a cheap motel. Parking was limited and additional cars meant that once parked you could not get out later that night Not a very salubrious area.

    Great Breakfast included Dated B&B which reminds me of similar establishments I stayed in 30 years ago - and that means it has not moved on from that period. Budget price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the car parking is very difficult to find. We were really worried that our car will get bumped into either other cars or the gate. the staffs are not very friendly. the beds are not great to sleep but we are there only for a night.

    the location. the breakfast. reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was bit stuffy, it must be the cleaning products used in the bathroom., however after opening the window smell was gone.

    Breakfast was good and staff very helpful. Room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    It met our needs in terms of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is very dated and in need of some updating. The windows won't open, which was an issue given the heatwave, this is was apparently due to the hotel being in a conservation area - middle of Northampton??? No bedside lamps, TV didn't work in our room. £92.20 a night is too expensive for what this hotel offers. Dreadfully slow WiFi.

    It met our needs in terms of the location. the car parking was good and very secure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    A very jaded hotel that seems to put cost-cutting before the customer experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 We were originally put in a ground floor bedroom that overlooked the car park but the patio door didn't lock. The receptionist did move us straight away, telling us that he'd been been meaning to get his handyman to fix it. I wondered why he thought it acceptable to put us in this room in the first place. 2. I chose this hotel partly because it offered secure parking but it was difficult to access from the main road, the access road was full of large dips and potholes and cars were double parked there by the morning. We were awoken to the sounds of cars being moved at 7am, so that early checkouts could get out. 3. Breakfast was disappointing, after the good reviews I'd read. I always find it really off-putting when establishments don't offer the opportunity for guests to help themselves to juice, cereals etc. It smacks of penny pinching and doesn't look appealing when your allocated cereals and preservatives are already set out at your table. The cooked breakfast was missing two of the items offered and it looked like extra beans had been used to compensate, but it was cooked well. The coffee was instant but served in a coffee pot to raise hopes of fresh, filtered coffee!

    Nothing really stood out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    Pleasant staff but poor on comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpark was hard to access and limited. The bed was the most uncomfortable i had ever slept in. Definately a new mattress needed.

    The staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Adequate for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, tired , needs upgrading , had run out of maps, only have six per day!

    Very clean, breakfast good if you like the full English type, secure car park, quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Not be able to access car park easier as the road leading...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not be able to access car park easier as the road leading round was filled with pot holes and quite stony and get locked at 8 clock which means can't use car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.2
    It was functional - Not what one would call a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was shabby. The bathroom needed some serious work done - re grouting etc.. There was no safe nor did the hotel have facilities to leave valuables. We were told off for leaving our key in reception when we went out "because there might not be someone there when we returned to let us in" - even at 6:00 in the evening. The bar stocks were really depleted with very little choice

    The car park was secure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    This hotel is excellent value for money,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking can be a problem and the approach road (at the rear of the hotel) needs to be negotiated extremely carefully due to the fact that it is an unmade road with numerous large holes.

    The breakfast (included in the room rate) was excellent in both taste and quantity served by friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Our stay in the room was not very nice but the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old with cracks. The shower was coming off the wall and was too low. We could hear the people in the room next door using the toilet. We could feel the springs in the bed. Old and tired.

    Breakfast was great and the waitress was friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Things reported for fixing in room were not fixed when the staff said they would be. Patio door on ground floor did not lock. Television did not work properly. Breakfast did not excite!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Staff were friendly, secure car park.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price it was fine. All a bit dated and in need of redecoration as old fashioned and tatty around the edges but for a cheap place to stay when working away from home it was fine. Bed was comfy, shower fine, towels were big and linen was clean. You could pay double for something more modern but I’d rather save some money. I would stay again.

    Staff were friendly, secure car park. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was plentiful if a bit basic (cereals, toast, bacon eggs sausage and beans). Room was quiet (had a room at back of building) and convenient location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    All done somewhat on the cheap!
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a booking for 3 adults but there were only 2 mugs and a tiny cup. Two packets of biscuits and 2 chocolates! 3 bath sheets but no hand towels at all. There is not enough parking for all guests and the guy on reception said block someone in..it’s not a problem .. if someone wants to leave early I’ll call you! I replied that would be a problem for me on a Sunday morning!! Mind you breakfast finishes at 9:00.. on a Sunday! Breakfast itself failed to deliver the tomatoes and fried bread as promised and the toast was cut in a very rough way but then it was mainly too hard to eat anyway! Oh and if you want to take your car out on a Saturday night expect to get questioned about your return time as they close the gates at 8!

    The bed was comfy but would have been better without the hair in it! The bathroom was clean!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    VERY ACCEPTABLE FOR THE PRICE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    DIFFICULT TO LOCATE THE CAR PARK ENTRANCE AND LANE TO IT NEEDED REPAIR.THE MATTRESS WAS IN VERY POOR CONDITION.

    THE PRICE WAS EXTREMELY REASONABLE AND THE BREAKFAST EXCELLENT. THERE WAS PLENTY OF STORAGE FOR BELONGINGS IN THE BEDROOM.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels were somewhat hard.

    The hotel was ideal for a venue for a surprise birthday party only three miles away, the breakfast was tasty and everything more than met expectations for such a low cost overnight stay. Enjoyed the little touches of chocolates with your drink and the biscuits. Sadly now missing from a lot of premium hotels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rough track to the (sometimes overcrowded) car park. Prefer more variety at breakfast (e.g. porridge) and better quality bread.

    Cooked breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.5
    AS AN EX HOTELIER,,HAS SO MUCH POTENTIAL BUT SO MANY ASPECTS NEED TO BE ADDRESSED.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO BAR NOR RESTAURANT OTHER THAN FOR BREAKFAST - THE LATTER WAS REASONALBY GOOD. NOT EVEN A LOUNGE IN WHICH TO MEET / ENTERTAIN GUESTS. HAD TO SIT OUTSIDE WITH MY GUEST. DON'T THINK THE DUVET AND/OR BLANKETS HAVE BEEN CLEANED FOR AGES. VERY MUSTY SMELL IN ROOM ON ENTERING - ALTHOUGH ON THE GROUND FLOOR WITH A PATIO DOOR, THIS NEEDS TO BE OPENED DAILY SO AS TO CIRCULATE AND AIR THE ROOM. THE FAMILY RUN THE HOTEL - WELL 2 BROTHERS - AND IT APPEARS THEY ARE TOTALLY OVERSTRETCHED.

    LOCATION ONLY GOOD ASPECT

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Night away
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just like staying in my grandmothers old age home. It wasn't uncomfortable or unclean it was just a bit old and ugly and not very hotel like.

    It did the job. I slept, I showered and I ate a fairly good value for money breakfast. The staff in spite of very poor English really did try their best. It was for me a stop over spot, but if I had gone there for a romantic night away I would have been devastated. Its ok for what you need but nothing for what you imagine a night in a hotel should be...hostel would be more appropriate name for it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Stayed for one night as had a surprise party to go to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No iron and remote for tv needed new batteries. Whilst looking for an iron I moved out the ironing board and to my disgust found a small vibrator , which we threw it straight in the bin. Didn't report it to reception as only there for one night. Bathroom was shabby and shower not very powerful.

    Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice. Family room was spacious, had ironing board but no iron.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Facilities more than adequate for trades people and short stays.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were a little dated as were the bath/shower rooms, but as we were out working each day they were more than adequate for our needs. Access to the car park is behind the hotel down a very narrow, unsurfaced, potholed track wide enough for one vehicle only at a time.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff, clean, spacious room . tv, and hot drinks facilities in the room. Excellent cooked breakfasts. Plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Unbelievable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was behind the hotel and to get there you have to drive down a gravel roadway with terrible potholes. We were instantly depressed when we saw the back of the hotel. It wasn’t just dated and tired, but dirty and smelled of 1970s cooked breakfasts. The room was filled with furniture, but half of the drawers you couldn’t open because of other furniture in the way. The bed was uncomfortable and the bedspread smelled terrible. The windows were draughty and opened fully so were dangerous as we were on the second floor. The bathroom was dirty. I didn’t want to shower because I didn’t want to touch the handle! Breakfast was hilarious! All the packets of cereal were on each table with butter and jams so there was no room for much else. I thought it might be some sort of challenge to eat them all before your full English came! A huge milk jug with a tiny amount of milk, then a tiny teapot then toast were balanced on to the table next. Then two cooked breakfasts bearing no relation to what we had ordered arrived. Juggling to give the waiter the previous bowls and empty packets, we managed to squeeze them on. My partner had no idea how his eggs were cooked. They looked like poached but were swimming in oil?!? He tried to give me one which resulted in me having to quash some alarming violent feelings. After starting to laugh hysterically, we ran back to the room, packed our stuff up, loaded the car and drove away from the place at three miles an hour to prevent snapping the back axle of the car negotiating the enormous potholes. I have never been so relived to get away from a hotel in my life. Speeding away from Northampton cheered us up with every mile. And the thought that I don’t have to go back there ever again has made me quite giddy.

    It was cheap

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.6
    Not the best experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty - still toothpaste from previous guest in the sink. Tiles around the sink area not cleaned for a long time! Parking very limited. Parked in lane behind the hotel with managers consent. In the morning I had a letter left on my window with foul expletives in it from a resident. I didn’t know there were residential homes and the manager didn’t say. Wouldn’t stay again

    Good coffee

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Better instructions on where to park (behind hotel) went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better instructions on where to park (behind hotel) went past entrance to parking 3 times as down the road, also parking is limited and side path to parking is very tight to get car down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Will be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dated and window broken. Albeit there was a notice explaining they were is discussion to have these replaced (listed building)

    Value, location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely plesant stay the room had everything we needed and was comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful and the staff were welcoming. The hotel is quite dated but it is very clean and tidied and worth every penny!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Stayed for 1 night.
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was a nightmare to get to ended up parking somewhere else. Terrible access and wouldn't take any new car down there as your gonna ruin it as my car bottomed out on the hundreds of deep holes in the lane heading to the car park

    Stayed for 1 night. nice little family run hotel clean and tidy cheap and cheerful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant & Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a little springy.

    Location Suited - Clean & Comfortable - Breakfast super - Hard Working Management & Staff. We will definitely stay again if in the area as value for money goes a long way with off road parking a bonus although the access road was bumpy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.6
    I don't think I'd return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the bathroom could have been better: the floor tiles were grimy. The tv remote was sticky. The walls must be paper thin because I could hear all the bathroom activity from next door. I was in a ground floor room and there was no way to lock the windows in a safe open position, so I had to close them and roast in a stuffy room.

    Good breakfast, although the tomatoes and fried bread on the menu didn't make it onto my plate. Clean sheets and towels. Good, quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price low reflects in the fact the hotel is old so I won't rate the issues as negatives.

    This inexpensive hotel room rate means that many irritants can be excused as the price reflects the age-related problems. The room was large, had an en-suite, and a hearty full English breakfast is included in the rate. The towels were good, bed linen clean and excellent quality toilet paper was supplied. The carpets were newish and also clean throughout the hotel. The en-suite was clean (not mouldy). The exhaust fan was noisy but it worked. There was low water pressure in the top floor room. The double-hung windows are old and the PVC (plastic) frame breaking apart. The lower is screwed down to the frame to stop it breaking. However, the upper could be lowered to cool the room down. A management note in the room apologised for their state and explained their replacement progress. The curtains are not block-out. Mid-strength wifi signal in the top level room. The hotel car park has a limited number of spaces and access is through a lane running around and behind the block of terrace houses in a conservation area. That lane is shared by all these properties.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.8
    very disappointing. we checked out a day early
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower was scalding hot even on coldest setting, TV didn't work, hairdryer kept behind reception, no fridge, bathroom door had no lock or catch, parking and access bad

    cooked breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    3.8
    Dated, grubby and bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'hotel' is very dated and the room wasn't cleaned well; there was dust on the bedside lamp, dust in the corners of the carpet and a whole lot of long black hair still on the shower wall where it hadn't been cleaned properly. The decoration of the room was very old and worn. There was an illegal (possibly, I have reported it to Northampton Environmental Healthextension) extension plug on the table with 4 extension points the had two plugs plugged into it. This extension plug was right next to the kettle. I managed to slop a small amount of water near the plug so I unplugged it immediately. The time to arrive is shown as 13:30 but when we arrived we were told the room wouldn't be ready until 15:30 as they had been fully booked the previous night! The breakfast was ok but didn't arrive as ordered then the replacement breakfast still didn't have everything on the plate. The hotel is not cheap and is very bad value for money.

    The bed and pillows were comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Ouch watch out for the shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had no temperature control and was way too hot for me,so would have been unbearable for children.

    Bed was comfortable and so we're the pillows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating, hairdryer didn't work no one on reception to ask even when we left no one to hand keys to. If u are at front of hotel be aware very noisy rd if window open.

    Reasonably priced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.2
    good selection for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, tired looking in need of refurbishment and windows didn’t open much so room hot. Extractor fan in bathroom didn’t work.

    good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice clean B & B, decor and fixtures a little dated but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice clean B & B, decor and fixtures a little dated but great place to stay if on a budget and wanting something near town with parking and a hearty breakfast. Bedroom was large with fan and fridge provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Average.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not recommended. Car Park was full. Had to Park in very narrow area with pot holes at back of hotel. Worried about safety of my car. Bed was very hard. Bad smell in toilet area.

    Room was well equipped with good storage space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast and great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is probably overdue some improvements and updating including the windows which will be good as the noise from the road at the front can be a little intrusive.

    The best thing about the Langham is the excellent breakfast, but also the staff are friendly, it's good value and is located close to town. Not for a luxury weekend or anything, but for good value honest accommodation and a really good English breakfast it is spot on. Well done!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.2
    Don't even think about it
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to clean the shower before I could use it including shower head. Have they not heard of Legionnaires Disease.Mold all over the place even on the ceiling .Extract fan turned off in bathroom as it's blocked with dirt. If you are going to have electrical equipment PAT tested it should be up to date not in 2011 / 2013 / 2014 . And they had the cheek to accuse my employees of stealing a £53.00 remote for a old TV set which had allegedly been replaced the day before Oldest trick in the book that one .

    Breakfast was good though!! But the bar had no drinks except lager.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    superb value for money, friendly,clean, superb breakfast, would definitely go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bath in the room

    superb 2 night stay, staff so helpful and friendly, the room was comfortable, clean and spacious, it was a bonus having a fridge in the room. the breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    lovely
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i love the breakfast and the family was running the business and that's what makes it lovely because it is a very good team work being able to carry out everything nicely from accommodation to food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Beds were comfy, room was clean and the breakfast delicious
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows to the bedroom didnt open (there was an apology letter explaining the reson why) and it was really hot in the room with no way to cool down

    Beds were comfy, room was clean and the breakfast delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    My third year using this as a stop-off for playing in a National competition. More than adequate !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eggs were slightly underdone. One of the bed duvets smelled (I used the other one)

    The enormous breakfast great value as ever. The shower was easy to use and adjust temperature.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and breakfast whole hotel was excellent the only qwarm is the road at the back did no favours for our car very bumpy and exhaust got damaged

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable price but gives me no reason to stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpark became a problem. It’s not 24/7. We arrived around 2pm for check-in, and the carpark is still closed. My partner went to work instead and went back around 12mn. Again, he cannot park in the carpark because they said it is closed already. The road to the carpark is muddy and lot of potholes which could damage low cars. I am supposed to check-in at 2pm, but my room wasn’t ready when I arrived. I had to wait for more than an hour. There is no staff in the reception everytime. So if you have problems regarding your stay, you have to wait for somebody which takes up your time when you’re in a hurry.

    It has lots of facilities which includes the ironing, TV and fridge. Good value for money as well and it comes with breakfast. Great access for park and town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    A VERY PLEASANT SHORT STAY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SHOWER HEAD NEEDS DESCALING, EXTRACTOR FAN NEEDS DEFLUFFING.

    STAFF WERE EXCELLENT, CATERING EXCELLENT, ROOM CLEAN AND TIDY, BED A TRIFLE HARD BUT NOT UNCOMFORTABLE. WOULD STAY AGAIN.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    I was surprised for what you got for the price. I would definitely recommend to my work colleagues.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, you pay for what you get. The property internals is outdated but comfortable.

    Hotel was clean and staff welcoming, breakfast was excellent for what you pay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Langham hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Seemed to be a lot of electric extensions in toom. Tv remote didnt work but wasnt bothered,spent about 8 hrs or less in hotel

    Ok for what i wanted which was1 night near centre. Was clean did the job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    3.3
    Awful stay. Avoid!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so uncomfortable that it made my body ache. The walls were paper thin and there were loads of noisy guests. The people in the next room kept me awake until 2am and I had to be up for work at 5am. I never saw a member of staff once during our stay other than when we checked in. At one point the doors to the car park were locked and I couldn’t find a soul to get them open! This was during the day time. The shutters were down on reception and despite ringing the bell no one came. The bathroom was old and there was mould on the ceiling and the floor tiles were like the ones from the swimming pool in the 70’s.

    Nothing! If we weren’t desperate for somewhere to stay we’d have never chosen it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    3.8
    Rubbishs
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, dribble of a shower, window screwed together and couldn’t open, cob webs and general cleanliness. Oh and the hairs in my colleagues breakfast.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean, spacious motel-style accommodation ideally placed for central Northampton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access road to car park full of potholes so we parked next to park, which was fine.

    Clean, spacious room in ideal position for short walk into Northampton centre. Good WiFi, decent breakfast, good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    2.5
    Unless there is a drastic change to the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel, this hotel is DOOMED.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress uncomfortable. Dirty - toe nail clippings on floor, thrush cream by wardrobe. Milk off at breakfast. Sheets weren't clean.

    Nothing. We moved hotels after 1 night stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Handy for Town Centre, GOOD value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast stopped at 9am on a Sunday Morning... Although I was slightly late and they were happy to provide me with Breakfast, I think 9am on a weekend is too early, especially if people are in the area for a night out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    A "Classic" hotel interns of design, but a nice and equipped room with lovely cooked Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old school hotel (I didn't mind but my friends pointed many little things out) Beds that feel like they have been there a little too long. Lots of stairs to my room (No lift for heavy bags and suitcase)

    Good sized rooms Refrigerator included and appreciated Very tasty and quick complementary full English breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Just about bearable for one night, took several days to recover!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property was in terrible state of repair, toilet didn't work and window was a piece of perspex nailed to the window frame which did not fit, noisy all night. Room was not clean and decor was dirty.

    Staff were good and pleasant, location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    A slightly old-fashioned, value for money hotel in a practical location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The reduction in breakfast times at the weekends meant long waits.

    Value for money. The fixtures and fittings were a little tired, but everything worked. The view from my room across the racecourse (park).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    3.3
    It was horrible. I regrade booking that place. It's not up to the standard of calling it a hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very deity.The toilet was not clean,there was so many hair on the sink, toilet pot and floor,the table and cupboard was caver with dust.The inside of the kettle was not wash.The room was not clean at all.

    It's only the location of the house that's good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the hotel for the value I paid,staff very friendly and helpful.Excellent breakfast and coffee.Location was ok for the meeting I came for.That's an old hotel,don't expect '' Hilton'',even the bath and windows should be upgraded ,it was very clean.Beds are comfortable and that's all you need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    It was nice enough to stay for the purposes of our trip to Northampton
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel was nice and the staff friendly. The only issue we had was the route to access the rear car park. It was only just wide enough to drive the car through so you were stuck if you met another car coming in the opposite direction.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Glad it was only the one night we stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Condition of the rooms weren’t great, very dated and cobwebs in all rooms. Beds were very springy and didn’t get a great nights sleep.

    Service and breakfast was first class

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent budget hotel, beware of the road to the carpark
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dreadful road to the car park, if road is the right word. Don't bother with the official car park and find somewhere on the nearby roads. I'm surprised they don't get damage claims for the condition of the track!

    Great standard of budget hotel. Clean tidy, helpful staff. Good filling breakfast and plenty of coffee. Overall a good place to stay if you want to keep costs sensible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Very welcoming place, I left well rested.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in the rooms is dated and I could hear the sounds of traffic from the road, but for the money it's unbeatable value!

    Staff were very experienced, friendly and helpful. The bacon and sausages in the cooked breakfast were really good, much better than any other hotels I've stayed at.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    ok for overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very hot room and difficult to open the windows,parking is a nightmare if your in a van

    comfy beds,with plenty of pillows,good location just on the outskirts of the city centre.very nice breakfast with plenty of choice,very good staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it’s cheap rates me and my husband would prefer they up the price and buy some decent mattresses. We hardly slept at all. The mattress was so worn it had the ‘roll together effect’ I spent most of the night trying to keep to my side rather than myself and husband both rolling to the middle of the bed. We had a single bed in the room too that my husband tried out to see if that was any better but it was just as uncomfortable. Lovely staff. Friendly and clean but please invest in new beds/mattresses?

    Good location. Good choice of breakfast. Cheap rates.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    2.5
    The worst place we have ever stayed!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like giving negative reviews,but this was the worst place we have ever stayed in!!The bed had not been changed from the previous person and sheets and pillow case were covered in hair and the room was filthy!!!We asked if we could change room,but unfortunately that was not an option.We tried to find another place to stay,but it was too late.We did not try the breakfast!!

    Absolutely nothing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive to the hotel car park was filled with pot holes and large puddles as it had been raining. The bed was soft.

    Spacious room with ensuite, several sachets of coffee and tea in the room with kettle so it is possible make a drink. Appreciated the view from the back of the hotel over the local park, called the Racecourse. Cooked breakfast provided, along with cereals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    excellent,very clean and friendly,value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    potholes in car park need filling in

    close to town centre,very clean,polite staff,very good breakfast,very helpful and accommodating.would use this hotel again.help to make our stay a pleasure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park access. But in fairness it is a shared access

    Excellent value for money, quite location. Ideally located for city centre. Good breakfast selection to suit all tastes. Friendly staff. Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    We were dubious as the price was so cheap, but It was close to where we needed to be for a funeral.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in room meant we slept with a window wide open. There was no way to adjust radiator and I hate to see energy wasted. Minor gripe.

    The staff were lovely. Breakfast one of the best you'll get even in higher standard hotels. Thought bed might be uncomfortable but had a perfect night sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.6
    The room is spacious enough for the price and the facilities...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not so bad environment but the road from the main road is poor and bedding materials are not good at all the materass gave me very bad back.

    The room is spacious enough for the price and the facilities in the bedroom are ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.6
    Run down, shoddy and grubby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty cup marks on tables, blood on toilet seat. bed lumpy and sunken. Scary place to stay as a single woman. So not worth the £50 I paid.

    Free parking. Nice flowers out the front.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: