Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lawn Guest House 4 stars

30 Massetts Road, Horley, RH6 7DF, United Kingdom

#11 of 23 hotels in Horley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 770 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to carry heavy luggage up the stairs.

    There was provision of facilities necessary for a night's stay before departure from London. Staff were friendly and made breakfast according to our liking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very charming guest house within easy reach of Gatwick. The owner was very hospitable and welcoming. Beds very comfy and rooms are well equipped. Loved the newly decorated breakfast room. The breakfast menu had a nice selection. The food was well presented and delicious. It was an easy walk from the guest house to town for our evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two steps down to en suite in the night was a potential hazard but we were told about it by the owner. Needs to get rid of the untidy car in the car park but can understand the difficulty.

    Very convenient to Gatwick and Reigate the latter being where we attended a wedding. Owner even took us to Reigate for small fee. Room to park the car for a small daily charge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location for Gatwick Airport. Room was nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. Bonus that car parking and transfers were available for a really reasonable price!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOT applicable!

    VERY friendly, welcoming, helpful staff. Clean, updated rooms with moern bathroom features, etc, yet the historic integrity of the building itself has been impeccably retained. Wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't figure out the fancy shower box, so our shower was a little awkward. Next time we'll ask when we get the room.

    The people were very friendly and the book they provided had a lot of great info, from good food near (complete with a map) to a very interesting history of the house. And the internet was actually very quick!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ground Floor Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    The whole property is very clean and well appointed. The owner has made a massive effort to create a high quality product and it shows. WiFi was good in the room and throughout the building. Breakfast was simple and tasty. The short walk to Horley was convenient for shops and pubs/restaurants. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We booked this for my son and daughter as they were off to Mexico on their honeymoon. Excellant clean accomodation. So close to Gatwick which was great as they had an early flight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, I would have liked to have seen a better cooked breakfast. Maybe beans, sausages, potatoes on the side. Cold breakfast was very good.

    Beds were comfortable. Location excellent, could walk to shops, very clean and staff excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Another staff member needed for checking in as no one available to let us in when we arrived. Very noisy thin walls had no sleep due to other guests. Not enough parking space. Asked twice for heating on in very cold rooms. Bathroom needs some maintenance and overall furnishings/bedding. Not enough tea/coffee etc in rooms for all guests. Decorating/maintenance on show through restaurant window when we arrived, put us off.

    Location. Furnishings and decoration in communal areas. Pleasant manager. Good selection of breakfast (cold food).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs! Travelling with my 88 year old Mother, I did not inquire about this prior so my mistake. We were up talking at about 11 pm and staff called to inform us we were too noisy for other patrons, ( good job we weren’t having sex, or partying!) haha

    Close to airport, decent parking, clean bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated and didn't live up to the photos. Breakfast choices were limited.

    The property was well presented, clean and a great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked more hot food options at breakfast. just Eggs on toast, or kippers was limited. Also proper filter coffee at breakfast would have been very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Qasim was friendly and welcoming. The house was well maintained and parts well preserved. Room was clean and tidy. Breakfast hit the spot. I enjoyed the scrambled eggs! Included a nice variety of breakfast items. Quasim and his family take a lot of pride in their business and work diligently to maintain high standards! I would definitely go back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not been told you had to PAY to park the car after booking, Bathroom needed attention, toilet not very clean. very limited breakfast only choice was how do you want your eggs.

    Bedroom very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast,a letdown,1 egg 1 round of unbuttered toast. Cereals OK coffee not hot felt as if it was done on a budget. Breakfast is part of the experience for me. Service quick and efficient otherwise.

    Room fab. Immaculately clean. Good shower 🚿. Lovely bed. Best room I've stayed in for the price decor rated a £150 room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard. However, I suppose this is a personal opinion

    Quasim, was very helpful and explained everything you needed to know. The hotel was very well located, excellent value for money and the Indian restaurant khashboo about a 10 minute walk away was also excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't realize hours of check-in and arrived late around 10:15pm from a train/ taxi journey. We also felt like we needed to be more quiet upon arrival that we would have liked because of the room configuration. We didn't want to bother anyone or keep them awake. I also don't believe there's wifi which we have become accustomed to expect all the time.

    Service was excellent, and breakfast and shuttle ride to the airport a nice touch and convenient while traveling as a family. The room was nicely decorated, and comfortable for our family of four. It's SUPER close to LGW and that was important for convenience to the airport for our international flight. The TV with cable/ movies is appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners of the house are so friendly and made my stay better than I anticipated. very close to Gatwick airport -- if you need to crash before or after a flight, I highly recommend. BONUS: it's an entirely non-smoking property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was close to inexistent, thank good I didn't have to wash my hair!

    Lovely staff - well decorated, comfortable and clean rooms - good location when you need to access the airport - very short walk to restaurants/pub

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arranged transfers to and from airport and were told it was £8 each way - normal taxi would be cheaper as it’s no more than 3 mile. The owners mum was leaving us to the airport in the morning and demanded £10 , not the £8 we had agreed? She demanded this before we even had our bags in the car , we said we will give it in a minute. She kept askin if we were sure we had cash , thought this was rude and far too expensive for the less than 5 minute journey with no help with bags etc. Arrange your own transfers.

    Clean and cosy , just what we needed after a long flight. Owner was polite and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the shower facilities in this room as much as the last one but we knew it was a different room and we had a choice.We were told this room is the next one to be refurbished so it will be even better when we go next time.

    We have stayed at The Lawn twice before and we will keep coming back. Qasim is brilliant! 😀

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the day it was a little loud (but that’s just due to old building and people talking, so to be expected), and the shower was difficult at first to understand. But that’s it!

    Overall, the stay was great! The bed was comfortable, the breakfast was delightful (and very fresh!), I also loved that Ithe door in front was locked (added security). It was great to be left alone just to read. It was quiet during the night as well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying at The Lawn Guest House was a lovely experience. They were very friendly. The room was very nice and clean. The Lawn is just minutes walk from the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Design of bathroom could be better with a door to the room instead of just to the W/C

    Great position for Gatwick airport, clean and well equipped room with a good local directory to eateries and shops

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable guest house, excellent location with easy access to airport, close to town centre with good selection of restaurants , very pleasant host and great poached eggs for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time is at 10am, but just after 8am my room door was opened by a man, who I just guess, is one of the cleaners. I was still undressed, just after shower, and instead of apologizing, he just stand there and start questioning me when do I gonna leave. Never did I had experienced my privacy been intruded like that in a hotel. Its a lovely looking b&b, but I would never be back there, just because of the incident like that

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi signal in the room was slow and spotty.

    The owner of the hotel was so friendly and accommodating, serving us a delicious breakfast and helping us arrange a shared cab with another guest to save us money. We checked in late using a keypad system, and it was very easy to use!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pay attention to the details to ensure the standards are maintained

    The bed was a little softer than I would have liked, that said the friendliness of the host made up for this. Plus the bonus of location to Gatwick made this the perfect selection

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    5 minutes from the Gatwick Airport. Old and beautiful house located in a lovely small town and close to the train station. Perfect if you have a flight very early in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ground Floor Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Erm... nothing!

    This shouldnt be 3 star... definitely a 4+... amazing staff and feels like home away from home. They strive to ensure customers are comfortable. Would visit again and recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was terrible, the breakfast awful , was a egg and one burn toast, with a powder coffee and you can not ask for extra egg or you will be charge a pound , we thought when the breakfast is included is included. The room had four beds and we were only two people , basically you can not move on around the room because is full of beds. The staff, only one person, was rude. I won’t recommend this place and I won’t back.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Rebooked for the following week.

    The hotel was very comfortable. Staff were great. Parking a little tight but ample. Didn’t have any problems getting out. Short walk to town with pubs and reastraynts. 5 mins.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great the breakfast could be better but overall great value!

    The decor was really nice and the owner was super friendly and helpful with suggestions and transfer to and from the guest house.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved, real pepper instead of powder (doesn’t taste very nice) tea and hot chocolate was very watery. Maybe adding croissants or something.

    Loved the cleanliness and the room was very nice, big and modern.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service horrible starting from the confirmation letter that basically instructed us not to bother them much as we would arrive after 10 pm. Breakfast below average to bad and the room was non functional and dirty with several maintenance issues.

    Location, but then again there are plenty more guest houses in the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather cold and took a while to heat up. It was however, a very cold day so under usual circumstances this probably wouldn’t be such an issue

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing. Instant coffee is unacceptable. Thin sliced white bread for toast.

    Welcoming host. Newly refurbished room was very comfortable. Well placed for Gatwick.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room a bit dark but maybe on the list for refurbishment

    Cosy clean warm room on a very cold winters evening. In process of refurb when finished will look very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spotlesslyclean,reallycomfortablepillows roomwaslovely andwarm, heatedtowel rail. Owner was really helpful and also let us into the room early after along flight as it was available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would've preferred more floor space for bigger luggage, but otherwise it was a very comfortable stay.

    The room has all the basic amenities you would need for a short stay. The bed is big enough for two people and very comfortable. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating and arranged a taxi for us to Gatwick airport at 6am. The town centre is a walkable distance away and has a variety of restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room listed as accessible is not. Be careful if in a wheelchair or a walker, the bathroom is very narrow, no railings and there are steps to get into the property. It is right by the front door with no sound insulation whatsoever so it is not conducive to restful sleep. In the evening it is cold as the heating is timed for mornings. There is no garden, the cramped gravel lot is used partly for long term Gatwick parking which leaves little space for guests. Tiring stay, all in all, breakfast paid for but unappealing in musty smelling dining room, ended up leaving after the 2nd night even though we had prepaid for longer. It’s a pity to leave a bad review but this is what we experienced.

    The person at the property who acted as housekeeper receptionist maintenance and cook was very kind and tried to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle was broken in the room and because we arrived late and left early morning we were all (including 3 children) thirsty. No water in the room or no mini bar. We could have walked to the city but we arrived after a flight from more than 11 hours and there was 8 hours time difference so we were too tired to do that. So maybe it would be nice to find some water in the room, we would be happy to pay for it.

    Really friendly host. He gave me enough information to go to the right bus stop where he would pick us up after a phone call. He arranged transportation for us for the next day, really early. A nice and really helpful man. The location was close to the airport so perfect for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived via train - it was about 10 min walk from the station (we had too much luggage though). The owner is very friendly and helpful, he even offered us a room on the ground floor because of the suitcases. Transport to the airport worked out perfectly fine - it is a less than 10 minutes ride. They are at the moment redecorating the house, so I guess it will be even nicer next year. I can absolutely recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was lovely although a little awkward at times but that's just me picking out one small negative, the main reason for staying is the property and the state of it and as I said it's very nice for the price. The Bed was a little on the small side I must point out however was reasonably comfortable.

    The property as a whole is lovely, if you like victorian era properties and styling this guest house is a must! On arrival it was clear the property was being renovated, I'd say they're half way through with the renovations, once complete it will perhaps be the best BB on the road. Rooms very nicely decorated, things like sash windows all restored back to their original state and fresh paint and carpet in the room we were in. Bathroom was spotless and again you could tell it was pretty much brand new for the price it was a very good nights stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt a little ripped off by the lady driving us to the airport. She didn't have the right change so we ended up paying more and then she gave me a Scottish 5 pound. Better to call a taxi yourself.

    Lovely room, very close to Horley centre where there are a few bars and restaurants. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place to stay, even though it was being decorated when we arrived our room was perfect and our host Kiseem was informative and welcoming.location is perfect as only a short drive to airport. Kiseem arranged our taxi which arrived right on time to take us to Gatwick. Look forward to staying here again and seeing the place finished. Highly recommended

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking in the large drive in front of the house. House still being updated but was told it would be done in a few weeks,so would go back again.

    The room we stayed had just had an extensive refit and was done to a very high standard. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a shower which was very good. Breakfast was a continental but you could have eggs on toast which was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful service by the staff, despite the start of renovation work to the office area. Great attention to detail, exceptionally helpful, and beautiful property in walking distance to town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was not thoroughly cleaned, but when I mentioned this to our host he was quickly on top of it. This was minor, and seems to be an anomaly, as everything else was great.

    The fellow who seems to run the place (I regret that I can't remember his name) is an excellent host. He was friendly, welcoming, and very helpful. He calculated when we should be eating breakfast and departing in time to catch our flight, and recommended several good places to eat and get a beer. The room was spacious and had been recently renovated. Can't beat the proximity to Gatwick, and the fact it is right in Horley. Has everything you need without the frills. Excellent service and value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our main concern was not with the hotel itself but the area. Being close to Gatwick but not close enough or convenient enough to use public transportation we took a taxi which was expensive considering the distance. Also the town of Horley was not very interesting - no fault of the owner's of the guest house. I believe next time we will book a hotel closer to the airport that has transportation included.

    We did not stay long at this location as we arrived late and had a very early plane to catch in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just called the owner of the B&B when we got into Gatwick and he was there to pick us up in about 5-10 minutes; he also drove us to the airport next morning. His breakfast was a delight. Our room was lovely and very clean and contemporary while maintaining something of the era in which the house was built. It was a short walk to the train station from where we travelled to Brighton for the afternoon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free shuttle?? But it was very reasonable Less than a cab

    Do cute we had upstairs attic room with ensuite. Well organized loved our host. Went off to the pub for dinner only a three minute walk as he said. Slept well on lovely sheets. Great breakfast in a true BAndB style room with other travellers. Will recommend to any of our friends going through Gatwick

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very cozy Victorian house and full of history (written in the welcome folder inside the room). Rooms are spacious and the owner is very accomodating. We checked in late at almost 12 in the morning and he just left us with very helpful instructions on how to get in at that wee hours. The next morning, he even personally took us to Gatwick airport with a minimal fee. Talking about convenience!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going up two flights of stairs to the room

    Comfortable and convenient for the airport.The owner was most helpful and answered all queries satisfactorily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say , everything enjoyable .

    Spotlessly clean , staff excellent ! Rearranged a room so I could have a bath instead of a shower ,nothing to much trouble . Breakfast was hot and very nice .Information on places to eat and local amenities in room .great value for money! Excellent stay will be returning ! 😄

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inaccuracy of the price; had to pay a little extra for parking, although this was not a lot of money, it was the principle. This was cleverly not mentioned in the price while booking. The mattress was slightly sloping As soon as I made the booking, the price went down by £12.00

    The cleanliness of the place Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a little bit dated and there was no wifi.

    Good location and the manager/owner is very nice, very friendly. It is a very quiet location and near a few restaurants up the road that are quite good, especially an Italian one that offers great pizza.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Ground Floor Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little limited as no full cooked breakfast option but the continental breakfast did include a choice of eggs and kippers which were lovely.

    I stayed in a newly refurbished room on the ground floor which was both modern and comfortable. The owner was very accommodating and made me feel welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated for our taste in communal areas including breakfast room but bedroom fresh and modern on the whole

    Availability of staff. Kettle was broken and staff replaced immediately when told.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a distinctive smell when entering the home and it really needs a good painting. Shower was very small and it was never explained on how to use it. I feel the web site needs to be more informative about ammenities around there location. Train station, map on line showing restaurants, shopping and even information like day trips to London, Brighton. Being from North America info sent ahead by email Pryor to arrival makes your stay more pleasant and removes the time wasted trying to figure things out. Saying that the owner was helpful when asked questions, but most people on vacation are on time limits and lime to plan ahead.

    It was well located for location to airport and centre of town of horley

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners tried to get in before we had even checked out in the morning!

    Very good location close to the airport, but very little flight noise heard in the room. Good sized room. Owner was very helpful at check in and good information about local amenities (restaurants, public transport etc) in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as the guest house is older, there is a lack of sound proofing so could hear other guests in the hallway. But still a great place to stay!

    room was cozy, clean, comfortable and the staff very accommodating and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although a friendly welcome, we was advised due to our early flight the dining room would be left open for us in the morning for continental breakfast, but when we got up we found the dining room locked, which was disappointing as we then had to purchase a rather expensive breakfast at the airport. Maybe a genuine mistake, but costly for us three.

    Friendly staff convinient location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was difficult to use. There were very few instructions for what I felt was a very complicated system. The only instructions I found were for turning it off and I wasn't able to make that work, I had to have someone else manually flip the switch outside the bathroom that cuts off the water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms aren't sound proofed like hotels, so you can hear groups leaving/arriving at all hours.

    Good location near airport and train station. Comfortable rooms, recently renovated bathroom. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little bit shabby chic. The continental breakfast might not suit everyone but there are lots of options nearby and it is only £5.00.

    The proprietor was great and was very keen to be helpful and obliging. It is handy for shops, pubs and a very nice Italian restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very conveniently located, a five minute taxi ride from gatwick and check in was very straightforward despite our arrival at 2am. Our room was perfect for the short overnight stay and breakfast in the morning plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests above us were a bit loud and for some reason decided to switch the telly on at about half past five in the morning for five minutes which spoiled what would have been a really nice stay, this may be because of the age of the property though. I would book again and use as long as I had a top floor room, although parking could be a problem

    Spacious room, comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was limited. Continental would normally mean. Croissants and pastries. Various cheeses boiled eggs etc.

    The proximity to the airport was the transfers if required. The family room was adequate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower very small

    friendly staff, late check in, the guy took me to the venue of the wedding as taxi companies were busy, very kind and helpful, he also picked us up and took us back even though it was late. very good service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very weak, pretty much non existent in our room.

    Food was great for breakfast, place was cozy and homey. The only thing to mention was that there was a complication with payment as their card machine broke but we managed it the next morning as it seemed to work again. Wifi did not reach our room however.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That transport to the airport wasn't provided in the price of the room

    Our room, beds and bathroom were VERY clean and comfortable. Late check in process was easy and straight forward

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horley High Street is only a five-minute walk, but you won't find much open after 7 pm. Not really a place to hang out. You can access more lively parts of the London outskirts by train, bus or taxi.

    I had an early flight from Gatwick airport the next morning. Less than ten minutes to drive there. The rooms are super clean and comfy, but not in a utilitarian way. I didn't have time for breakfast, so I can't comment on the food. My host was super helpful, even finding a calling a laundromat down the road so I could wash clothes before my flight. I would recommend this guest house for comfortable easy access before or after your flight.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast. The menu should be expanded. Where are beans, sausages and bacon??? Toast with some kind of egg is a callenge after some days with no/very few alternatives. Where are the salty alternatives???

    Excellent rooms for 2-3 persons. Some of the rooms are very nice. Good looking house. Friendly and helpful host/staff. Close to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Lawn Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: