Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Leonard Hotel 4 stars

15 Seymour Street, Westminster Borough, London, W1H 7JW, United Kingdom

#429 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1259 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    One thing that is perfect about this hotel is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is way too expensive. The hotel is worn out. We stayed in the Regent Suite (room no. 11), the decoration are artificial, some are broken, and not properly in place. Generally, the room feels unpleasantly old and a bit dark. The pictures in the hotel website certainly give some wrong impressions.

    One thing that is perfect about this hotel is the location. The service is also excellent. Everyone at the reception, and particularly a lady who served our breakfast at the restaurant, is very welcoming, nice, and helpful. The bed is comfortable enough for one night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    The only thing I enjoyed of the hotel was the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Almost everything could have been better

    The coffee bad, the bed not very comfy, the room with a staircase inside, the bed on one level and the very small place to store your belongings, 6 stairs below, so it was very unconfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Adequate but not sure I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A messy entrance, with strollers in the reception area and a messy, loud office open to reception. They need to tidy up a bit

    The hotel was a bit shabbier than it was in previous visits.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    A home away home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Charming ,a bit old-design hotel in a quiet street close to the vibrant centre. Oxford street with its shops, two parks Hyde and Reagent's are a step away. Many restaurants, pubs and cafes are located in this area. It's easy to reach famous tourist attractions by foot, bus or tube. The suits are very comfortable, especially if you are a family of 3. Thanks for upgrading to suit 37 - lovely! Reception staff is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!!! And ... we'll definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Relaxed, comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were made very welcome on arrival. Staff professional. The decor of the hotel gives it a very warm ambience. The room was first class with a most comfortable bed. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Lady at the reception not friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lady at the reception not friendly. Our key didn't work. We had to get new keys 3 times a day. I have stayed so many times at the Leonard but this time was my last time. It has become very outdated. Needs urgent refurbishment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    Dissatisfaction
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t travel with a bag because you won’t have where to open it, I paid $300 for a bed. Be careful when you wake up not to get hit by the wall. I don’t recommend this hotel.

    The location is ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Construction project next door made noise during the morning. No one helped with luggage as I left hotel - though I passed by employees I can handle my luggage myself but thought that was intresting.

    Shower leaked and I had to walk up a flight of stairs to get to my room which I hadn't been told about. It was but a surpris and would not work for someone elderly or infirm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Very old and rickety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything about it apart from he staff and location

    Very old and rickety. Needs a big renovation. Rooms very old. Some very small, can’t swing a cat! Would not stay here again, was quite disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    great location for a short trip!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening concierge wasn't very friendly, but then again it was 1am. No elevator to the 5th floor so had to carry suitcase up the stairs. Very loud fan in bathroom!

    Bed was super comfy and location is PRIME. Lovely living room and interior decorations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Bed is comfortable, and the location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms, and the room interior (eg. carpet can be removed, curtains, etc. are a little outdated) needs a little refresh.

    Bed is comfortable, and the location is great. The staff are helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    This is very helpful friendly hotel full of old world charm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is very helpful friendly hotel full of old world charm and respect . It is situated in a very good location with easy access to transport and attractions. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice location, make sure u get a big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room is way small beyond my imagination! They were so pushy for checking out and no one told us the check out time at 11, i didnt like their behaviour, the women kept calling us every 2 minutes and kept saying i will send to get your laggage ok? Ok? Are u ready?

    Staff were helpful regarding changing my room. I moved to the apartment across the street, very nice and convenient, i paid more for it. Location is great..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location and comfort for our family vacation !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The spacious suite was perfect for our large family. It had all of the comforts of home, with the character of a vacation spot. It was the perfect, convenient location for seeing the sights. We loved staying here !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, and good value for money. Excellent staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a bigger shower and a bit more hanging space.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the hotel was quiet, considering its central location.. The single room was, as expected small, but clean the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    The hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great. Good proximity to The Park, tube, shops and restaurants. I would say that the hotel restaurant had a great selection and we really good. We will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor could do with a change, especially curtains as they were outdated

    Walking distance to Oxford street and next to tube station. The staff are a credit to this hotel so helpful, all the ladies at the front desk were absolute gems

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    3.8
    Worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old fashioned and dated. Bed uncomfortable , sheets , pillows itchy . Wouldn’t recommend it . Asked reception to arrange a taxi for a early morning specified time , they assured me it would be arranged , however , they didn’t arrange it and I had to run round to the Raddisson to ask them to call a taxi ! Making me late for my meeting. Worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in .

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Clean and ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom fan was extremely loud and remained on for a full 8 minutes after you shut light. Very disturbing in the night. I spoke to receptionist on first day and asked about another room. Was told that it’s like that in all rooms I will never stay there again and you can blame it on the noisy long running fan. Also blow dryer didn’t work. Had to request another one. And a lightbulb right over full length mirror was out. You’d think housekeeping would see it every time they came in but no. Didn’t want to complain again. I’m really not a complainer and I seemed to be one here

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Old fashion hotel nice service and excelent location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A man who worked there wanted to charge 20£ for the electricity transformator (since we had european phone chargers we had to borrow one from hotel) although we said we will give it back once we pick up the bags nefore we go to the airport. No need for that kind of talk, first of all we returned it and second why would we take it since we cant use it at home, and third charging 20£ for something that cost 2£ Not nice impresion

    Helpful staff and very polite (young people who worked at the reception) Lobby of the hotel is so warm, with fireplace and sofa's .....great oldfashion style

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    English-style Boutique Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a bit thin so you could easily hear noises outside

    I’m not sure about other room types but the one I booked (i.e. the Deluxe) was quite big (with high ceiling) compared to other London hotels. Staff were friendly and helpful. Comfortable beds and good service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice, but imperfect in a few details
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Deficiencies are in the details: - the wall paper comes off at parts, - bathroom fan and air condition are very noisy - the bed was too soft - the (4) pillows were all the same, and this one model didn't work for me - the invoice had the wrong address and it took 10 minutes and 3 attempts to correct it

    A charming property with a very pleasant overall appearance. The location is in a very quiet side street, yet super close to Marble Arch and Oxford street. The size of my (upgraded) room was very good and it offered the expected amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.8
    The room was very very small, with a tiny bathroom and a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, it was way too small and not value for money.

    The room was very very small, with a tiny bathroom and a shower that was not even in the bathroom. I'm sure they have bigger rooms but maybe felt as I was on my own that this would do. As someone who has to travel to London bi-weekly, I would prefer a bigger room where I can work and relax.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.2
    The hotel is very old and poorly refurbished, some of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old and poorly refurbished, some of the furniture was broken and you could hear people walking because of poor sound isolation and the floor making sounds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Not bad but the room came no where near our expectations for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture was old and tatty, the room had an unclean fusty feel to it and smelled of cigarette smoke so as non smokers very offensive to us, the view out the window was round the back of the hotel overlooking lower roofing so poor. We were told we had been upgraded at no extra cost so makes me wonder what the original room was like, we thought this upgraded room overpriced for what we paid.

    Every member of staff excelled themselves to help us and make us feel welcome, the bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel if you're not in a hurry to leave!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ludicrous system at check out whereby I was asked to sit and wait while they checked the mini bar after asking if I'd used it. On refunding my £50 deposit after realising I had not used it, I was then asked to sign 2 pieces of paperwork 1 printed and then 1 hand written to say I had recieved it. Must be the slowest checkout system in London.

    Older style hotel, warm, welcoming and close to Oxford street and Mayfair. Upgraded to a large room with 2 double beds for only an extra £15.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls were very thin and we had noisy neighbours. Room was very warm even with the air conditioning on (which only seemed to recirculate air), so sleep was very broken. Also noisy neighbours woke us up. The room we had was dark and looked out over the back of the property.

    The location is very good and close to restaurants/bars and major attractions. Staff were helpful and friendly. Room (comfort double) was large and had very good facilities. Room and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Cozy and warm hotel in a perfect place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing.

    The hotel is so nice and cozy, so it gives you a warm feeling. It is decorated and furnished in a classic English style. Besides, the place of it is perfect too. It is 5 minutes by walking to Oxford Street, Hyde Park and metro station Marble Arch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Friendly & helpful staff ,clean bathrooms with toilet...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just small rooms & bathroom I think most of london hotels have the same problem

    Friendly & helpful staff ,clean bathrooms with toilet hoses ,Great location surrounded with everything you will need & very nice classic English design lobby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Classic hotel. Great location. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator only serves up to 4th floor. I've got room on 5th floor and had to climb the narrow & spiralling stairs with luggage bags.

    Location is so near to Marble Arch station and Oxford Street

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.8
    Staff nice, need to sort out the heating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing with no working heating. I was too exhausted on first night to complain and slept fully dressed. The bathroom was freezing with no solution being offered,

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The deluxe room was not as advertised on website, the bed was terrible, the bathroom had loose floor tiles, the breakfast in the room was incorrect, and had to be replaced. The TV in the room didn't work, when I called for assistance the staff member was trying to fix for over half hour, and still not working. No replacement, no refund, I did expect more from my stay, very disappointed indeed.

    The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No decent light for reading in either room.

    All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We got upgraded to a suite with kitchenette, which was very spacious, and the location is exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.0
    The couch was terribly uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything could have been better aside from the doormen.

    The couch was terribly uncomfortable. You sank toward the back of couch. The faucet leaked, the temperature could not be controlled properly in the room. Either too hot, or too cold. The bed was very hard as were the pillows. It was very difficult to arrive at your room, i.e. the corridors were very narrow and they wove around up and down stairs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Extremely friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms are a bit outdated (Suite 44). Suite 32 has a nice bathroom but the other rooms are filled with furniture on every square meter. No space for luggage.

    Extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    an excellent location and suite space was good except only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hotel charged the room charge twice on my credit card and the hotel denies and they said its not showing their system and till now no money back

    an excellent location and suite space was good except only one bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the overnight stay, will use again for short stay, Very pleasant staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    guess i'll have to say the view- just another London street

    lobby was ridiculously beautiful, especially as it was Xmas, it felt like a luxury home away from home. Just chilling with friends sipping fine Scottish single malt whiskey after dinner- sublime

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to complain (twice) one night about some noisy people in the room above, it would have been nice if someone had made a point of speaking to us about it.

    Love the decoration, it’s very warm and cosy. Room was fantastic, very big with a beautiful bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel.. Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is small and only reach to the 4th floor We were in the fifth

    The location is extraordinary The room was clean and large Small but Cozy lobby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.2
    Room in Hotel was missarable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too small on the fifth floor. The lifts only gaine you access to the 4th floor leaving you to take the stairs to the 5th. Very poor explained to the staff about a knee replacent this was ignored .We will not use this hotel for future visits .

    It was a favarable location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    See above - I will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    The staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was dealt with at once. I came to do Christmas shopping and left feeling that I had had a holiday where I had been totally cosseted.. the rooms were fine the bed was very comfortable, the hotel was quiet and peaceful - what more could you want?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.0
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a frequent traveller, I will rate this facility from two side, (1) my personal experience, and (2) direct observation. - location: excellent location, very close to the Marble Arch and Oxford street. - Facility: very nice facility (design wise), but poorly maintained. Very old furniture in the lobby and rooms. - Front desk: nice people - Room: relatively good size, when compared with other London hotels in downtown. The room has small kitchenette with some basic cutleries. The hot water kettle was old, not clean and need replacement.   We were provided with a sofa bed, which was very uncomfortable.  - Restaurant: didn't use - TV: was not working for 3 days. Connection problem. - Cleanness: although we evelauate any hotel facility based on location, services and hospitality, Cleanness remains the most important factor for any hotel. Any customer can forgive any shortfall in any service but not to enjoy and use a clean facility. I can say that this was the worst experience I ever had with a cleanness in any hotel I have been to. (I am attaching some pictures). My first night, I found the bed sheets and pillow covers never been changed with hair all over. Upon asking them to change the sheets and pillow covers, I discovered that the pillows (not the covers) are very dirty with bodily secretions all over. I was not sure how managemt would allow to keep such dirty pillows in circulation. Also, bathroom towels were very old and passed thier lifespan and need to be replaced. I feel bad for such a wonderful facility to be poorly managed like that. I will definitely not use this facility again as there are many better options in the same neighbourhood.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.0
    Despite the negative comments I would gladly stay at this hotel again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price, I did not want to buy the hotel, the price has increased by more than 75% since my last stay The food has increased in price, and breakfast has to be paid for separately which is an additional cost not taken into consideration when booking the hotel The TV Sky box was not working on arrival, it took circa 30 minutes and two staff to sort this out

    The staff were friendly and helpful, I have used this hotel on several occasions I have stayed in the Leonard with my wife and daughter and here partner and we have always liked the way we were treated

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous location, room and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping standards slipped after day 5 and we were staying for 11 nights. We had to speak to the concierge to get it up to standard once again.

    Room was a fantastic size for two people. Especially as rooms are small in London. Close to the tube, Oxford Street. Everything you need is in close proximity.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    It’s an excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasionally the floor above my room squeaked when people staying up there moved about.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, and professional- they basically helped me with everything. There’s a restaurant/bar to chill out; nice decoration as well. Great location - it’s in central London and very close to the tube station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tatty room

    Great location and staff were very helpful. Room was large and bed was very comfortable. Public rooms very nice, relaxed and informal. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Our superior room could do with a refurbishment as a bit tatty, skirting falling off, bathroom sink cracked, light in shower not working and paintwork in bathroom poor. For the price not really good enough. Having said this would certainly consider staying here again as location and staff overshadowed the small negatives.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Small quiet hotel with good service in very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no buffet breakfast (a la carte menu). The food served for breakfast was overall very good but the staff despite being very helpful and kind is not very efficient with order taking and serving. In my opinion the room was too much perfumed. Not everybody appreciates such smells, specially in 4 star hotels.

    Location of this hotel is great for Oxford Street shopping and for Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park (http://hydeparkwinterwonderland.com). Two minutes’ walk from Marble Arch station. Room we had was big, clean and quiet. Fantastic beds with loads of pillows. All the staff working at breakfast room, restaurant, reception and by the main door is helpful, polite and kind. I think this is one of few small hotels in this area, no crowds rushing by up and down with shopping bags all the time. Fantastic coffee and freshly squeezed juice at breakfast. And the breakfast is served from 7 to 11 which is appreciated. Also afternoon tea is served every day and it is great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    Will come back
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom amenities very poor, only sower gel and shampoo and far from enough for 5 pax, you can ask for more but with this kind of Hotel it should be in the room from the beginning. BerniTroll World🌎Wide Travel Experience

    This is a good Hotel, friendly staff and good location. Suite was good for us 5. You have a restaurant in the lower part witch is ok. I will come back to this Hotel when next in London. BerniTroll World🌎Wide Travel Experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.0
    Very neat n cosy hotel in good loacation for West End. Would re-visit and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a tad dark (for Mrs to "put her 'face' on" )

    Didn't take B'fast. Had very late meal one evening, which was good. Staff very accommodating and pleasant . Nice homely feel to the hotel and not too big. Comfortable room (suite) and bed. Feather pillow :).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.3
    Not sure if I would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an unclean shower and the single rooms were located next to the lift certainly not worth the price we paid. Dinner was very disappointing and the whole experience caused us to complain.

    Our complaint was resolved quickly when we approached reception and the staff very apologetic and helpful, we were given alternative rooms and the staff moved all our belongings for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was in need of an overhaul as the tiles around the bath were damaged and grout missing. The painteork was chipped and not clean. The coving was flaking and in need of repainting

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    Upsetting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eventhough I paid at the check in , my bank account was also charge with a 100.00 pounds as a deposit for any extras . They told me the money would be released in 48 hours after the check out . I have never encountered a situation at a hotel where one has to leave a deposit . Not happy with this .

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall a pleasurable experience
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It is a tad expensive. The staff whiles check in could have been more friendly and could have guided me better to charge my credit card in GBP and not Indian Rupees. I believe I was mislead on this issue.

    Overall, the stay was very good. The location is excellent and the property is very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got the room facing the street. It was noisy. Also, because of the old structure, you can really hear noises from the room above you.

    Good location. The staff was quite nice to allow me to early check-in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.4
    Conveniently located for a brief visit to London
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is excellent with good transport links nearby. What makes The Leonard special is it perfectly located for business or pleasure. Nearby restaurants, pubs and shops keeps your time in a taxi to a minimum. Want to shop? You can skip to Oxford St. I especially liked Hyde Park being within a few blocks allowing an escape from the crowds. The hotel interior is a bit dated, but the price appears to cover that sufficiently.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    At once luxurious and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place to stay. The room was luxurious and yet comfortable, very quiet, with lots of thoughtful, modern extras and a cozy and unique decor. The hotel has great character on the whole, and is yet modern and elegant. Very close to Marble Arch tube station and all the great restaurants and cafes of Marylebone. Staff was excellent and welcoming. Breakfast was very good with warm, cheerful service. Loved staying here and will definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We said the mini bar wasn't used, but they didn't trust us and went and checked anyway which was very untrusting.

    Nice relaxed atmosphere, very comfortable bed, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room (#12). It needs a total make-over!

    First we were placed in an poorly-colored room (dark colored wall paper and floors) but when we requested to be in a bright colored room (#21) we were lucky and placed in a much better room but we had to wait for 2 hours for cleaning. It was worth it, but we had to pay little extra.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    OK, but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    (1) Value for money, even though we got an upgrade. (2) 4 steep stairs in the corridor leading to our room. (3) There was no place to put the kettle due to the location of the sockets - we used the floor.

    We got an upgrade

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Staying one day at the leonard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the cleanliness of the room, the bed sheets and the towels, some you can clearly see the stains in it The corridors are to narrow can fit only one person and al ot of steps up and down

    I liked the location of the hotel which is near to oxford's street I liked the size of the room and the toilet facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    Wi fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Bed too old -You can hear everything in the hotel from the room -Room to small -no lift -phone is not working in the room -closet without shelfs !!! -

    Wi fi Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    Not a great place to stay, needs refurbishment all over
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was allocated a horrible room at the basement, did not have natural light at all as windows were blocked with some sticking vinyl apart from being really deep down, the carpet was horribly old and dirty as well as all the furnishing. The next day I was given a room on the 5th floor, at least it has light and a view but carpets and furnishings were also dirty and old, the room was big and the bathroom was fine

    Only the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.0
    There are much better hotels in the immediate vicinity at this price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, overcrowded with stuff and far too hot, even with a window open (I hate sleeping in air-conditioned rooms, it gives me a sore throat). On the second day i found that my coffee mug had not been washed, the coffee sachets had not been replaced, nor the toiletries. The duvet was tucked under the mattress, which means as soon as i tug it out ( in order to get into bed) it pulls the sheet out with it and I have to practically make the bed again myself. A regular complaint from me - I cannot understand why hotels do this. The breakfast was hit and miss: on the first morning i asked for a simple bacon sandwich and it arrived with toasted bread and on the second morning I was initially told they dont make sandwiches in the morning and then it came cut into 4 with each quarter skewered. Presumably the chef felt then need to justify the £12 price tag. Which is, quite frankly, daylight robbery.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. I liked the decor. I was able to check-in early. I was able to open my room windows. Coffee making facilities in the room. And free water

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.2
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They give me a room in the fifth floor and the lefts go only for the forth floor. I booked a double bed they had gave me a room with two single beds joined together

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.4
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bedroom and bathroom dirty. room needs a face lift. I was above kitchen so I could hear fan and smells from the kitchen. staff ask how first when I explain not happy. staff said that what all single rooms are like.

    putting in feather pillows for me. staff lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed soft and not comfortable, rooms are small, conecting door with the next room with no lock or key.

    Location , staff , internet, Water hose with a small shower next to the toilet seat in the bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    A friendly mini palace off Oxford Street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The continental breakfast had decline in quality slightly compared to my first visit three years ago but was still good value.

    Excellent palatially furnished hotel just around the corner from Marble Arch and Oxford Street. For the second time in three visits I was upgraded (this time to a suite). Unlike most London hotel rooms, you actually have room to move and there is the feeling that you are getting actual value of money thanks to the quality of decor and fittings. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    4.6
    I prefer to sleep on the street rather than sleep in palace which has thieves
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeper stole £300 from my bag, and the hotel manager promises me that he will solve this situation with in 2 days, but the didn't call me until now.it is not acceptable to be stolen from a 5 stars hotel where you pay almost £290 per day.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel in wonderful location, however some of the furnishings and facilities need updating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedside lamps only gave light on and above the wall behind them. It was impossible to use them for reading in bed. Coffee facilities: not properly arranged in one spot, i.e. kettle and cups in one location, tea and coffee in another. Cord of kettle so short that one had to crouch down on the floor to plug it in. This - for people over 80 like us - was most difficult and uncomfortable!

    Staff were very helpful and efficient. Atmosphere cosy and and comfortable. Food excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Loved the ornate details of this room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn't as convenient as other places, but the tube was easy to use.

    Loved the ornate details of this room. Queen sized bed was wonderful for couple after a long day of travel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Quaint hotel in top London location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos online were a little deceptive, the decor & the furniture in the room was dated which wasn't what I expected & a bit disappointing. Having said that, the bed was extremely comfortable & the suite was spacious.Hey darling, not going away this wknd now. Can u & Court come up Sat 4 the nite?

    Location Size of the suite Cafe across the road Friendliness & helpfulness of the staff Quaint & traditional London hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Check-in / Check-out easy and quick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was on the 5th floor and the elevator reaches only the 4th floor, we had to use the stairs from the 4th floor. the room was small and the wall was slanted

    Check-in / Check-out easy and quick. .Great location steps from Oxford Street and the metro station the view was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay. Wouldn't hesitate to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old property, so I was able to lie in bed and monitor the movements of the person/s in the room above by the floor board creaks emanating through the ceiling. He / she got up early.

    The food was delicious and the ALL staff extremely welcoming and genuinely so. Room well appointed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Just lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots odf little steps here and there throughout the building - however, it was built in 1780 so its to be expected that there will be a few "quirks" - so, if you book and you need specific access make sure you contact them to be sure of where your room is - otherwise it just adds to the character of the stay.

    Excellent staff - a warm welcome after a very long journey. Our room wasn't ready (we arrived earlier than expected) however, we left our cases and were pointed in the direction of some great restaurants for lunch. When we returned our bags were already in our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Great Staff; Shame About the Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly the shabbiness of the place is begining to out-run the chic and I struggle to remember a less comfortable hotel bed in all my years of travelling. DO NOT fork out the additional cost for breakfast; ours was distinctly unappetising and took an age to arrive (On the 2nd morning another guest had to get up and leave before his food emerged from the kitchen). There are a few pretty good places to get a much more appealing breakfast within a short walk, including the delightfully quirky Daisy Green just over the road.

    This place is in an excellent location and as other reviewers have pointed out, has an air of a family concern that gives it far more appeal than some of the antiseptic chain hotels that come in at around the same (Pretty expensive) price. The staff are among the most welcoming and friendly I have encountered in a London Hotel; undobtedly the Leonard's principle asset, they are crying out for a bit of hands-on management and direction to turn something distinctly average into what could be something wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Leonard Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: