Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Limes Country Lodge Hotel 3 stars

Forshaw Heath Road, Solihull, B94 5JZ, United Kingdom

#14 of 19 hotels in Solihull

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 721 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice ground floor room, easy access to car. would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Morning breakfast ok.Although I personally prefer my tea in a cup rather than large thick mug provided..

    Slept well and pleased with room. and was impressed with cleanliness,Only there for one night, didn't use resteaurant except for breakfast(continental) enough for us.....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    Noisey, and u comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise we was about a disco our room had flashing lights all night and music was unacceptable with windows shut. The beds we booked a double and got two single. There was no soap in the bathroom. There was spiders and we’d all on ceiling up through hallway and above the door. Which made my partner very uncomfortable.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely place if there's no function on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to use the bar & restaurant because they were being used for a wedding.

    We stayed in room 12 above the reception, it was a well presented spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    spot on
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a few stray cobwebs in the room.

    Comfy bed, room vey well equipped for the business traveller, wifi, desk, iron and ironing board. Pub grub menu, served with elegance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    I walked out
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy. Hot. Narrow stairs. Deserted reception. Lackadaisical staff. A very loud wedding party made it impossible to rest or use the restaurant so I walked out when there was no-one on reception to ask when the noise would abate. I have never walked out of any hotel ever before. Big, big, thumbs down.

    Decor and cleanliness fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    We will return. Loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing. It was totally excellent!

    The whole experience. The staff. The rooms were clean and spacious. Friendly warm and welcoming.. Not too big.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    3.8
    Noisiest, smelliest uncomfortable hotel ever!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Raw sewage stink every time emptied the sink and shower. 2. No air conditioning nor fan to cool a room in the roof. 3. Double Room was very cramped for two people. 4. Despite requesting a quiet room we were subjected to a ridiculously loud disco below & outside our room all evening until midnight, then more loud noise from staff and revellers until gone 1am. Our "quiet" double aspect room had a window onto the rear grounds and a window onto the car park below. Although we closed windows it was nearly 30 deg C so had to open them or pass out!! NB. We were NOT notified of this corporate booking beforehand despite being told we should've been and apologies the day after are pointless. If we had've been told we would've cancelled. 5. The incessant taped music throughout the hotel & grounds both day & night when there was no functions. Why this need for so much noise in a quiet country setting? 6. The only toiletries provided were 2 bars of soap, no shower gel, no sani-bags nor tissues, the shaver socket did not work and only one bedside lamp. 7. Our room door was ill fitting, leaving gaps down the side and at the top despite it being a fire door and doubtful it would give us the statutory half hour safety. 8. Breakfast was not hot and uninspiring. 9. This place should decide if it's an hotel or a function venue as it is too small for both facilities. WE WILL NEVER BOOK HERE AGAIN & ADVISE EVERYONE NOT TO AS A HOTEL GUEST, UNLESS YOU'RE ATTENDING ONE OF THEIR NOISY FUNCTIONS.

    Attractive looking property in pleasant surroundings with friendly staff. However....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    We had a wedding there last year and on our anniversary we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wedding there last year and on our anniversary we went back back for the night. Unfortunately this coincided with a children’s leaving event and subsequently we were not allowed to sit outside on a lovely sunny afternoon from 5pm until the event had finished at 9pm, which was a shame- perhaps advance warning or signs would have been helpful as it was a bit uncomfortable being asked to move.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Okay stay but couldn’t relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’ve stayed before in the limes cottage upstairs with a seperate bath / shower and sofa which seemed more like an executive room than the one we stayed in / paid for (17). Little things like stains on the carpet and the toilet roll holder was hanging off and the shower didn’t seem clean (hair from the person before). The bed was also strange as it seemed like a pull down from the wall? We love staying at the limes so I’m sure it was just a one off? (I hope!) Also I received an email to say the restaurant would be closed due to a private event, which was a bit of a pain but fine as we then booked a table elsewhere once we were informed - but little did we know that it was a high school prom with music till late. We struggled to get off the parking due to cars and photographers for the prom and was late for our reservation. We came back early as I wasn’t feeling too good and when I fell asleep the fire alarms were triggered (about 11/12pm) We got up and exited the room but there wasn’t any staff about to guide us on where to go or what to do and the alarm went on for quite a while. Then early hours of Friday morning we could hear staff tidying / machinery. Didn’t feel relaxed at all which is a complete shame as we haven’t had a problem here before.

    patio area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Very nice place to stay for a relaxing time.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work properly and we could hear staff voices very early in morning.

    Lovely location and very nice grounds. Will come back one day and enjoy it properly rather than the rush we were in this time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall, very good
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived in time for evening meal and there were only 3 other people in the dining room, but the service was very slow. Also the helpings were ENORMOUS - not necessary for elderly people and very wasteful. The food was nice though, and I suppose I would have more to complain about if the helpings were small!

    Excellent value and nice surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Picturesque location but only a 15 minute drive into Solihul.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Picturesque location but only a 15 minute drive into Solihul. Rooms comfortable. Could be a bit more space in the toilet...no where to place my toiletry bag.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have made a bit more of an effort with the tables being wiped outside and cushions sorted on outside chairs as the weather was glorious when I stayed.

    Situation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.6
    2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we were allocated was on the ground floor facing the front courtyard. It was too small for 2 adults. There was no air conditioning. There were 2 cigarette bins either side on the outside wall which meant the areas were used as a smoking zone consequently the smoke filtered into the room. The bathroom was snug, the expell air worked via air flow so was slow to clear the steam. The bathroom mirror light did not work. The shower rail was coming away from the wall. There were only 4 hangers in the wardrobe. All of this was reported to reception.

    Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was not tidy, the plate and bowl were quite dirty. There was funny noise from the toilet in the room, it was quite load although you was not using it.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value, good stay at the Limes.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in room a little on the small size but fair to say i am not!

    Easy to find and close to M42 J3 on way to our ultimate venue. Room was good, good comfortable bed, tea and coffee in room, en suite, hot shower. Grounds are impressive. Good sized car park. Meal good drinks reasonable price. Breakfast good choice and value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    staff friendly and helpful - had problem with TV controller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise in morning from kitchen-Happened to be above it. Lot of noise from next room when they were using bathroom.

    staff friendly and helpful - had problem with TV controller. Comfy Beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely beautiful place, beautiful views, extremely clean...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't dislike anything, I liked it a lot

    Absolutely beautiful place, beautiful views, extremely clean , very comfortable. Friendly and the pizza 🍕 I ordered at the bar well the flavours and the freshness was to die for. It's definitely a Win Win for me

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    We booked this place for a night away as it wasn’t too far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could have been cleaned better, for someone who runs a hotel myself I know the standard they should be cleaned and didn’t think it was up to standard. They only served pizzas in the evening, which was fine by us but I don’t think everyone would have been happy with it. During breakfast in the morning there was no staff behind the bar or in the room where you ate breakfast and no breakfast menus.

    We booked this place for a night away as it wasn’t too far from bham airport and it was only half hour drive from go ape where we had been that day to pick someone up the following day, lovely staff and the gardens were lovely! They had a fun day on when we arrived and it looked pretty good, gutted we didn’t get there earlier to join the fun!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Always enjoy our stay here, will probably be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unusually we have been put in the same room on each visit so unable to comment on the rest of the hotel rooms! Apparently the rooms are being upgraded later this year which I feel will be a good thing. Our room was clean but the bathroom is due for an upgrade.

    We have stayed here 3 times now because we particularly like the location, it is rural but there is a train station close by, which we used to go to both Birmingham and Stratford upon Avon. The gardens at the rear are very peaceful and we enjoyed sitting there in the evening having a quiet drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe they can look at hookup for electric and hybrid cars.

    Very nice rural location, a few minutes from M42, not far to shops, South side of the city very accessible from here. Large carpark, good size rooms and bathrooms, piped music throughout the gardens, garden bar and seating, popular restaurant, good for a stroke around the garden or a start point for a country walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Quick over night stop, comfy bed, clean rooms-happy with experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cars parking right outside room window late at night and early morning-noisy. Never anyone at reception in the morning to book out, this is my 2nd visit and happened both times. I had to wait over 10mins- had to just leave keys in the end or I would have been late for my meeting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely venue greatly understaffed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival was greeted by the receptionist check in fine saw later on the receptionist was also the waitress. Maintenance on the room was poor at best. Cupboard in room 5 had things thrown in it. In general the room needs attention to detail a radiator in the bathroom was not straight etc etc. Breakfast was ok. 1 member of staff to run breakfast, reception and then start hoovering the bar area shows the hotel is run on a shoe string. She did her best was promised more coffee it didn’t arrive, ordered brown toast with my breakfast it didn’t arrive table was set for dinner so no cups for coffee which didn’t matter as there was no coffee! Beautiful private run hotel which shows as service standards need much improvement. How can you give customers great service when they are pulled from one job to another.

    Nice setting, nice decor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, nice gardens.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are hit and miss. Some very friendly gentlemen greet you as you go past, even if you don’t need them. Other members of staff are in a rush and make no effort to take the time to serve you. left stood at reception had to go find someone, left at the bar had to go find someone. Very low price, but would have rather of spent that bit more and had a little better service.

    Nice hotel, nice gardens. Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and pleasant but evening menu was dissappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner menu was surprisingly limited to 3 type of pizza and sandwiches.

    The hotel grounds are great. My room was large, comfortable and in good condition except for a sofa which seemed to have a broken back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Brilliant value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was only adequate (comfort wise) and the towels were a bit old and tired.

    Great price, well decorated, great shower and washroom. Really lovely location and grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location to rest your head, not for peace and quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall atmosphere and volume. Breakfast sub-par, accidental fire alarm at 8am. Customer service poor on all levels

    Great location, very pretty hotel and grounds, clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Ok stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets were not vacuumed. Macerator toilet

    The place is ok and was very reasonable in price the day I booked. It doesn’t deserve some of the bad reviews it’s had. Yes - if the people in the room next door are noisy then you could have a bad night but this wasn’t the case for me. A macerator toilet (hate those things) doesn’t help but overall was an ok stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    ok For overnight but wouldn’t stay any longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service wasn’t brilliant. Noise from next room. Could hear them going to the bathroom not very pleasant. Had to ask for tea and coffee as none in room. Sink plug was broken and shower wouldn’t adjust to higher setting as broken Had planned on eating in but menu was very basic so went out instead.

    Beds were comfy, room was clean. Nice big shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Value for money but Music incident disturbed our sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    music....

    All Ok and good value for money. Problem was that we were in an upstairs room which was hot when we arrived. On opening the windows for cool air we discovered the music had been left on in the hotel overnight. Had to stuff our ears with tissues to cut out the noise. at 2am tried to call the reception but no one on duty. Informed the desk next morning who said it will be sorted!! Would stay here again as this was the only negative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like booking in and asking what time the restaurant was open to be told sorry it’s closed for a private function. Then asked what time is the bar open, again told sorry bar is closed for a private function. But don’t worry it’s open again tomorrow. Great help I’ll just starve until tomorrow - pretty standard that if you book a room you’d expect to have something to eat and drink as well

    Lovely location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Expected a better service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window view in the room. Small loft type windows. Friend is claustrophobic and no other room available. Brochure of room shows windows in room Very noisy all night as there was a party and the room seemed directly below the room. Waited a few minutes at reception. No bell there to alert the staff. Breakfast is stated till 10am. At 9:20 we were informed that we had only 10 mins. Staff not very helpful. Went to have a look at the breakfast and no coffee available and no staff to be found. Left the lodge only to find we were charged for breakfast we didn’t have

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    The grounds were extremely attractive and had plenty of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if there had been a gym there, no matter how small. Unfortunately the valance on one of our single beds was stained and really needed replacing. Would have been nice to have had a headboard of some sort on the bed.

    The grounds were extremely attractive and had plenty of places to sit and enjoy them and being a wedding venue they were well kept. Food was attractively presented and enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Lovely location and very pretty garden area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a gap in the door. The bathroom sink smelled like drainage and there was a party being hosted there and it was on till very late and the guests were very loud when leaving at the end of the night. Couldn’t get a decent nights sleep.

    Lovely location and very pretty garden area. Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall we had a brilliant stay. Reception and breakfast ladies especially friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water heater over the sink was next to useless. The water came out as a drip!

    The beds were very comfortable. The staff were great especially the lady who served us breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't go here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are a couple of issues I wasn't happy about. Firstly if you are paying by card the system isn't one that inspires confidence. They don't have a card machine at the front desk, so they take your card and put your details into a PC. I wasn't happy that they took my card details and security code in this way, particularly as I have had my card cloned in the past. The sink in the shower room had a sewer smell emanating from the waste pipe. The smell filled the room and I had to sleep with the window open. Also the soundproofing was pretty poor and it sounded like the people in the room underneath me, were in the room with me to. This was particularly interesting when they decided to get it on, as I felt I was in a porn movie, given I could hear every grunt and grown. In summary the hotel was reasonably priced but could do with improving some physical elements and certainly some of their processes.

    The Hotel is situated very conveniently for access to the M42 Motorway, in a nice quiet spot. The hotel itself is fairly well presented for what it is.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Good locarion, beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one to check our too. Told I could not have an early breakfast on saturday despite it being in the room book. Poor quality food.

    Good locarion, beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place for a mid week stay that we needed in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 7 was very hot- faces the sun and we stayed during the hottest week of the year- towel rail was on in the bathroom making it even hotter.

    Perfect place for a mid week stay that we needed in the local area... bit of a find off the lanes but a hidden gem when you find it. Set back from the road you are bound to have a quiet nights sleep. Room had lots of little touches- the toiletries were fab- forgot to bring some shower gel and the hotel ones were great! We had 2 rooms for our stay.. room 7 and 3.. Rooms were clean and tidy and beds very comfy- everything you needed! We didn’t have breakfast or food at the hotel so cannot comment on that. Great stay overall! 😃 Would certainly book in again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    Won't be staying again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty non-hoovered carpets on stairs and bar, every day. Food - Carrots were uncooked and Mint mashed potato was uneatable due to the quantity of Mint sauce that had been added to it [ I would expect that Mint would have been fresh herb NOT out of a bottle, at the price charged]

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    3.8
    Do not feel that Booking.com should be promoting this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a room with a garden view but given a room which overlooked the disabled car park. The bedroom was very small and the bathroom was tiny. The shower was unusable as the head flopped down leaving water hitting the wall! At breakfast the service was extremely slow, the choices for the continental breakfast was very limited. Poor value for money and an extremely poor end to an enjoyable trip.

    The dining room seemed quite nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    We choose this hotel for the proximity of a funeral we had attendended.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 4 rooms in our family party, The rooms were vastly different in size and amminities and were all charged the same price ? My daughter had a 4 month baby with her and was given an upstairs room, i had asked for a cot , so they did know there was a baby arriving ? She had a very small room and the TV didn't work.

    The staff were very pleasant ,not very many of them! Very nice exterior and grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.4
    Good location, but not clean, chaotic breakfast and rude or poorly trained staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was brief: 10pm until after breakfast. There was nobody at reception, but we found someone at the bar who checked us in, and told us breakfast was 8.00-9.30. Earlier would have been better, to get off to the NEC, but 8.00 wasn't a disaster and their website says 8.00 as well. The room seemed fine, and we used the tea-cups and glasses from a tray in the room. It was only in daylight that we could see the tray was so thick it couldn't have been cleaned for months. (If you stay in room 11 and can read "clean me" in the dust you know it still hasn't been). The real disaster was breakfast. We arrived a couple of minutes after 8.00 to a room full of people who had also been told 8.00, but no breakfast available. We were told "We don't normally do breakfast until 8.30" implying it was our fault for being early. There seemed to be coffee available but having tried drinking it I think it was what they used to flush the machine through. Fresh coffee wasn't available until 8.25. The orange juice machine was empty and someone eventually brought out a large juice dispenser with only about half dozen glassfulls in it. There were cereals out but no bowls. Fruit was on the menu, but it was just a bowl of apple's and bananas, not the fruit salad that might have been expected. The menu said croissants included but they never appeared. We both ordered a cooked breakfast, and although we got what we ordered, they weren't on the right plates so we had to pass things to each other. We also requested brown toast about 8.15, and by 8.45, after several requests, got white toast. Overall it was just totally disorganised and the staff were badly trained, or just rude.

    We selected the Limes for its location - fairly convenient for the NEC and the motorway. It has a lot of potential as a country house hotel in its own grounds which look well maintained....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Cold room, service and food issues spoilt what could have been a nice stay at a pleasant venue.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main problem I had was the temperature of the room, it was freezing cold. The central heating radiator was not on even though it was early April and below normal temperatures. There was an electric heater as well which I put on but this had little effect. I reported it to reception and was told it was on a timer and would come on. I accepted this as I was quite early arriving. After another hour or so shivering with a fleece on trying to work I asked reception again and she said she would check. I decided to stay in the bar for a while which also was not very warm but better than the room. Went back up to find the room still cold, the radiator not on and the electric heater still not having much effect. I decided to go back down and have dinner. I then returned to find the same, so questioned reception about it again. I was told someone would come up and check it. No one appeared so wrapped up and went to bed. By the morning the electric heater had actually warmed the room up, but the toilet room was still freezing with condensation on the double glazing! The dinner menu looked appetising with a nice selection. I decided on the baked Salmon with watercress salad. I love Salmon, but as with all fish and meat I like them properly cooked. This piece was not well cooked with part being still slimey so I didn't enjoy it and had to cut some parts off. The waitress service was a bit random and at no time was I asked if everything was to my liking. The breakfast was decent, I asked for my sausages well cooked and they were. There was a selection of cereals and some yogurts, but no fresh fruit, so I missed having fruit and yogurt which I like. I would not choose to return, unless it was during warm weather perhaps.

    The appearance of the hotel is very nice, a cottagey feel and from the photos my expectations were high. Generally the decor is attractive and although generally basic has a nice old fashioned feel and so has the potential of a pleasant stay. The room was pleasant and clean with a decent TV, good supply of tea/coffee etc. and the usual toiletries. The toilet was decent size with a god shower. (However some other guests said their toilet was tiny and the shower didn't work - so facilities must vary.) Sorry, I didn't take any photos during my stay but there are plenty on the web site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast order muddled for son Noisy vent outside bedroom came on in morning Heating came on automatically - room too hot in the morning

    Friendly staff Good bright restaurant Room a good size Vege breakfast Parking safe and spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dirty on arrival. Which is a great shame because we booked it because it looks a lovely place to stay. Bedding not changed. Bathroom not cleaned. Rubbish in wardrobe and not been hoovered. Housekeeper was very helpful when complained about bedding and towels.

    The grounds were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    Rubbish
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was dirty not hoovered, there was urine in the toilet and toilet paper so obviously that it has not been cleaned! The bed sheet was covered in washing powder bits of powder all over it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing. Nxt tm I vst frnds in B47 I’ll lk for Prem’r Inn. No ofr of pond &fount’n but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The piped music everywhere means that I would NEVER come back or recommend. Trying to enjoy the fountain and rural location was a waste of time. Also did NOT appreciate “standards” of cleanliness. Staying with my son in a twin room we wanted to distance our beds. Moving beds unearthed a whole catelogue of very unclean areas...Previous guests in Room 19 had obviously spilled a cup of coffee or tea on the carpet. Inadvertently I stood on a wet horrible, cold bit of carpet. At breakfast, we waited 10 mins to be seated, (I had pre arranged). I was dismayed that the waitress, when setting the table, used her thumb inside the glass, to place the juice glasses on the table. May I also enquire why the 4 slice toaster only accommodates 2 slices? I have seen complaints going back for a while and this has been an issue raised previously. I would welcome your explanation as to why a malfunctioning toaster can’t be replaced after having had this brought to your attention? I would have very much liked to talk to you about my comments rather than use this rather faceless online manner for my comments. However, as I “checked out”, ie placed my key over the desk onto the keyboard in the work area as was nobody as Reception, I waited but couldn’t discuss my comments with any of your colleagues.

    Location is lovely, however......

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Adequate for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restaurant facility the night we stayed and we hadn't been informed prior to booking This was annoying as it is on quite an isolated spot. The breakfast was only available for one hour. There was s broken toilet seat in one of our rooms

    The staff were friendly and helpful. It was very picturesque. The lounge area was welcoming

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived to be given a twin room when we had paid for a double with garden view. Man on reception ungraciously offered another room. The alternative room was freezing cold, no heating on and had dirty cups and not overlooking the garden.

    Good breakfast. Clean and comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.0
    There was a wedding at the hotel that evening which we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding at the hotel that evening which we hadn't been told about. This meant we arrived ready for dinner at 7.30 pm to be told that the bar and restaurant weren't open for non wedding guests and the hotel has no room service. To top it all, they put my 13 year old son and myself in a room right above the wedding party so I had to ask to be moved at 10 pm because of the noise. The next room was a bit quieter. Really they shouldn't have taken our booking. It's given us a really bad impression. The only good thing was the location as we were going to Cadbury World the next day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.0
    The Solihull stopover 2nd week March
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable, could hear the people upstairs. There was a coffee machine in the room, there was no coffee pods to use.

    Some of the staff were professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Please upgrade your heating, otherwise fab breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating system is old storage heaters, when we got to room it was cold. Eventually I worked out how to turn on other electric heater in room and bathroom but had no control settings - either on or off. I would have expected a proper central heating system for a hotel like this.

    Great breakfast and nice grounds to walk around

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    Would certainly stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unprepossessing reception and communal areas but these belied the good room. A bit out of the way but handy for the M40.

    Good room, clean and comfortable. Large car park. Good WiFi. Certainly good for business travellers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    I’m a fan...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, quiet, nice shower just lovely and comfortable...

    This is a little gem, have passed it on to business contacts...definitely going to stay again...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent as far as meeting our simple needs were concerned. Would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough staff available. Had to telephone from room to reception using private phone as no phones in rooms. Staff promised to come back re query on 3 occasions and I had to go and see them personally to resolve.

    Convenience of property to motorway; food for family celebration (15 people) was excellent; helpfulness of staff; accessibility of room (husband is disabled). Agreed to allow us to stay an additional night (because of snow) in same room at same price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 1 and the cooking smell from the kitchen was a little too much, had we been staying more than 1 night we may have asked to swap rooms , but for 1 night it was ok

    Friendly staff, nice location , lovely place to stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable. Adequate for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was freezing, probably due to it being on an outside wall. The fridge clicking on and off was a distraction when trying to sleep. [I unplugged it on the second night!]. The outside door next to my room needed adjusting, as people kept trying to slam it to shut it! The owner returned form Cheltenham with a coach full of half drunk guests around 9pm. So I made a sharp exit.

    First time I have stayed here. I was allowed to check in early. Nice room, big enough for me on my own. Slept well. The staff were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Very good for what we needed in our brief visit, would return
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a small table and light by 2nd bed in twin room

    Location, easy to find, good parking. Room warm & everything we needed for a brief stay. We did not have food at property so cannot comment on that. Staff very friendly on arrival & checkout

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Sorry it was only one night
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit chilly and storage heaters in room not so efficient. Could do with some central heating but probably might be a problem given the age of the building.

    Quaint and smart with a cosy feel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.5
    The staff were very friendly and accommodating, as I have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The matressess are not very comfortable, mine had dips and was very lumpy, so could do with new ones.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating, as I have special dietary requirements, I brought my own breakfast which the chef was quite happy to prepare for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.5
    Disappointing find in a potential regular hotel stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrote to hotel via Bookings.com to see if I could postpone my reservation because of the Siberian weather conditions. Had no response to my request, and an e mail to confirm the hotel had taken from my account to cover the NO SHOW costs they didn’t respond too. This could be a fabulous and convenient hotel for me to stay at on a regular basis (as I have lots of friends in the area) but no response to my previous comments and no response to my request to postpone my booking likely means customers aren’t important!

    I was not able to make my night’s stay this week because of the Siberian weather (stayed the week before!) Good location and friendly staff the previous week.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel from the outside looked very nice but our room was freezing cold ! 2 radiators in room but only one working ! There was a horrible smell from the bathroom so had to keep door shut. Also hot water tap in sink was a very old fashion electric heater with a dribble of water and the rest leaking down the pipe! As for the shower!! Electric heater again that went from freezing to scalding with no reason! Also was more of a drip of water that I gave up trying to have a shower and definitely couldn’t wash my hair! During the night we could hear the people next door snoring and people upstairs walking around! I thought they were in our room!! Also toilet macerator making a noise every half hour

    Breakfast not included! talking to people the previous evening who had eaten in the restaurant I was glad I hadn’t booked for breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Great access, peaceful location, friendly efficient staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window blinds were a poor fit but that is really the only very minor point to make.

    I didn't take the option for breakfast so l can't comment on that. The location was superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    A functional room with very little comfort, virtually no sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed with mattress overlying solid wood - felt like sleeping on concrete, despite my request for a soft bed because of my severe arthritis! Upstairs room! Icy cold bathroom with cold cold floor tiles and a towel heater/radiator switched off. Long wait to check in as only one staff member available who was busy on the phone. And on leaving Fri am there were so many staff members all chatting to one another that no one bothered to ask how my stay was as they grabbed the keys from me! Poorly fitted blinds with no blackout curtains - with the bright winter sunshine flooding the room very early morning! Very little sleep all night - the purpose of my stay! Bathroom glazed windows in room - and therefore a room without a view - in a beautiful country lodge!

    Well appointed, clean room. Spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    It was a lovely celebration evening for us but the service was not good from the kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chef did not provide a starter pre-ordered (crab and prawn cakes) and the steaks were overcooked. The substitute starter of goats cheese was still frozen inside).

    The staff were very friendly and did the best they could. The room was comfortable and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in a clean hotel in a lovely convenient location with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    Lovely breakfast. The staff were helpful. The room was very clean and above our expectation. I have stayed in four start hotels which were not as good. The grounds are lovely. The location is very quiet and the other guests were considerate. Slept like a baby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Convenient for our purposes but disappointing service.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to venture outside for access to our rooms. Shower door was broken in one room. We asked at Reception if we would be able to get a meal in the evening and were told yes - we were offered pizzas only. Breakfast, the staff were not attentive and we had to wait a long time to be served. The Staff were heavily involved on the 14th with a Valentines Dinner and then the following morning obviously planning for a large presentation or wedding!

    The location was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Ok apart from 100% lack of facilities on Saturday night
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Saturday night when we arrived there was a private function so could not drink in the bar or eat in the restaurant This should have been advised to us at time of booking so we could have re-evaluated the venue

    Plenty of parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.3
    Was adequate for a one night stopover on our road trip and reasonable value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor and dirty carpets in bedroom and in communal areas, a lack of electrical sockets and one didn’t work. Very poor lighting in bedroom, a very small duvet wasn’t large enough to cover entire bed. Very cheap foam pillows, fortunately we had our own in the car to use.

    The location and parking were excellent for our requirements as we had a car full of luggage and needed somewhere fairly quiet. We could park outside our room and see the vehicle from our room. The car park also had CCTV

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Always a pleasant overnight stay at the Limes (I stay...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little to complain about really - all I would say is that it would be nice to have the chance to watch the TV in the lounge bar from time to time without having to look at the repetitive news feed, which seems to be on (in silence) 24-hours a day 🙂

    Always a pleasant overnight stay at the Limes (I stay regularly on business). Breakfast in particular is always good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Pleasantly surprised and great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is adequate but the restriction on pulling up to reception is unnecessary. the evening meal choice, whilst broad, isn't quite to my taste.

    The bar is well stocked and the choice at breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.3
    Poor Service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My van was broken into and the hotel manager was going to look at cctv footage and report back to myself. Nearly 3 weeks have passed and not heard anything from them. Poor service

    Comfortable and good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    Perfectly adequate at the price but could be so much better with just a little effort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Never enough staff to cover reception and bar, the shower was weak and small, room was in a noisy location and the continental breakfast selection was poor. The area in front of my door flooded and we had to walk on pallets and blocks to avoid feet getting wet. The parking area in front of my room was sign posted disabled only but everyone parked there which increased noise.

    The food was consistently good, very convenient for where I was working. Bar area cosy and comfortable, restaurant clean and tidy, garden to rear looks pretty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Sad I couldn't get in for the Sprîng Fair dates too!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service can be slow if you arrive early for dinner but the food makes up for it!

    Rm 18 is a super room, food there was great too, delicious and good value 😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location, great food, dinner & breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the hotel is in a quiet location, any noise that is around, like staff getting to the hotel, or people talking while taking a break can be heard especially late night or early morning. This can be rectified by reporting any noise to reception and they will respond. Not nice though when your woken up to that noise because of lack of thought.

    Restaurant and food were great value for money, and good quality.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: