Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lion Inn Gwytherin 4 stars

Gwytherin, Betws y Coed, Gwytherin, LL22 8UU, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Gwytherin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 73 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved it all

    The bed was comfy, the accommodation was absolutely spotless, the hosts incredibly friendly and knowledgable about the area and the food was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better, it exceeded our expectations

    Fi and Tim were fabulous hosts. The room was lovely, the food was delicious, the location was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a great find for this area. We were impressed with the attention to detail from the lovely double room we stayed in to the meals including the breakfasts which they cooked to perfection and precisely to your preference. For the dinner; I can recommend both the chicken breast and the lamb dish which we ordered and which was deliciously cooked by Fiona. The double aspect views from the room included the lovely hillside with the sheep and the rolling hills in the other window. The location was also very tranquil and quiet so perfect for a good nights rest. Also it's located close to the start of Snowdon mountain hikes via car. Tim and Fiona were both genuinely friendly, warm and generous hosts and I would not hesitate in recommending this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The personalities of our hosts, Tim and Fiona, shone through. Finest hospitality, our hosts had time for us and went the extra mile. The food was delicious with great attention to detail. We could not have had better service wherever we had stayed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    We loved everything about the Lion Inn. The room was very tasteful and immaculate. The bed very comfortable. The location was very peaceful. The hosts, Fiona & Tim were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. The breakfast and evening meal cooked by Fiona was wonderful. One of the nicest smaller hotels we have stayed at. We will definitely return in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy and nice family business. We got annex house which was very clean. Breakfast was included and they do dinner as well if you want to. Food was amazing. Would definitely recommend this place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts Fiona and Tim were superb, happy to do anything for you, very friendly, Made the stay very comfortable, food was excellent and happy to accommodate any dietary requirements.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an incredible gem of a hotel! We arrived to a very warm reception, a lovely immaculately clean room, a charming pub with wood fire and a fantastic meal. Fiona and Tim could not have been kinder, they make the stay in this beautiful hotel perfect. All the food was cooked to perfection with locally sourced ingredients. The steak I had one night was one of the best I have ever eaten. Overall this is a special and delightful hotel and I really hope we can return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing for us was the limited opening hours of the bar and no real ales.We however do understand why.

    Very clean and cosy accommodation.Fiona and Tim go out of there way to make you feel at home.The food is beautifully cooked and the best of quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay with Tim & Fi. Lovely property, spotlessly clean, lovely bed & crisp sheets. The food is amazing & they go out of their way to make your stay perfect in every way will be visiting again for sure!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not fault the lion inn. Tim & Fiona were absolutely wonderful hosts and the hotel is superb from the bedrooms to the bar and especially the food. Excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    I liked everything about this place! Tim and Fiona are so lovely. I have never met more hospitable hosts. I would love to return and explore a little more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the long winding lane to the nearest town

    the friendliness of the owners and the Full English Breakfasts. Evening meals were good too. Fi and Tim went out of their way to cater for any requests we had.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast menu was just a suggestion, they were willing to make you pretty much anything you wanted from the ingredients they had. Everything was fresh and local where possible. The evening meals were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tim and Fiona could not be more helpful. Put them selves out to offer advice on places to visit. Room was superb and spotlessly clean. Food excellent. Location is remote but wonderfully peaceful. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect from arrival to departure, Tim and Fiona are the perfect hosts, I can't recommend this place highly enough, just go and find out for yourself, you will not be disappointed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners were so welcoming and kind, Fiona makes the most delicious dinners and Tim had great suggestions and advice on things to do around Snowdonia. The whole atmosphere was very relaxing and we loved our stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hosts were very welcoming and the rooms were lovely and very cosy. The food, both breakfast and dinner, were superb. We had a wonderful stay and I highly recommend staying yourself.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic accommodation, very friendly hosts who couldn't have possibly done more to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. Food was amazing and location was perfect for sight seeing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little closer to a village, we found it just a bit too isolated, a three day stay was one day too much.

    Country vista, rolling hills farming area, very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was above the bar and was a little noisy in the evening, although the bar is not open every night.

    Tim and Elaine were very friendly, our room was very comfy, food was excellent, would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful, boutique b&b with such perfection to detail. The hosts were exceptionally welcoming and kind.The food was divine. We both just loved it. Couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat loose very very minor disuse forgot to report before we left.

    Tim and Fiona were great couldnt have been more helpful. Breakfast beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful location, isolated but well worth the drive. Accommodation stunning, well presented and nothing was too much trouble for Tim and Fiona. Food excellent, quiet bar in the evening and log fire also. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable. Everything was very clean,and well supplied with coffee and toiletries etc. The food was excellent, the breakfasts were cooked to order using local produce. The lion is situated in beautiful countryside.I could not fault our stay and would like to return again in the near future.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think off anything that I didn't like.

    People say , there is always room for improvement. Not here , everything was perfect. Tim & Fiona were great hosts & made you very welcome . The food was excellent , Fiona,s cooking was geogous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place to stay! Rooms were decorated lovely, bed very comfy and the whole history of the place was intriguing. All the characteristics of the lion inn are beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, all cooked to perfection and the owners are welcoming and helpful. Would love to go back soon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't stay longer 😢

    We were welcomed as if we were friends not as guests. The hospitality was without fault. Food was of the highest standard and made with the freshest of local produce. The locality is beautiful and perfect for a get away from it all stay. Gets 5 stars from us

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get on wifi in the room, only downstairs in the bar areas- but the owners did go out of their way to try and resolve this for us! Didn't really bother me but it may others!

    Lovely pub, great hosts who would go above and beyond for you. Amazing food, picturesque location, with walks right on the door step! Don't miss the historic church and ancient yew trees!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I honestly could find anything to say even if I wanted too....

    Whatever your standard,you would not be disappointed,this was such a lovely place,so clean and friendly with the most amazing hosts.The meals we had whether breakfast or evening were absolutely heavenly....for us everything was just perfect.......again many thanks

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hosts Tim & Fiona were extremely welcoming and could not have made our stay any better. The location is amazing. I cant reccomend the lion Inn any higher. Its well worth the visit.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly and welcoming and evening food highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hosts and Food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Was great with friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was fabulous and plenty of it. Nothing was to much trouble for our hosts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The home owners were very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean,very comfortable, lovley host's

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food, accommodating hosts

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far away

    Dinner and services

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful small Inn in quiet location. Excellent hosts and food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow roads and farmers not willing to give way.

    Top class food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tim and Fiona looked after us all very well and couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no dislikes

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely wonderful hosts, beautiful rooms and amazing quality food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything .... Staff bar bed food area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing x

    From the moment we arrived, everything was wonderful xx

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    It would be very difficult to fault the Lion

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food accommodation in a quite area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent food, very friendly hosts: the perfect setting for a country break.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hosts, lovely place, very clean,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    Very warm and welcoming hosts, cosy fire in bar area, fantastic food, peaceful location made for a relaxing stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Absolutely everything. Tim and Fiona are great hosts and Fiona's cooking is wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great Inn with lovely food and two wonderful hosts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hosts with wonderful food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hosts, superb food and a beautiful place, very peaceful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hosts and the food were second to none. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little isolated

    Excellent Accommodation, hosts and food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful peaceful location. Very welcoming hosts. Room was lovely and very comfortable. Lovely stay :)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    tim and fiona very friendly fresh breakfast very comfy bed and very clean will def stay again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I asked if Tim could source better mirrors for the rooms as the ones they had didn't make me look slim enough ! ( unfortunately I don't think these exist ! ) Joking aside everything was perfect. Perhaps my only reservation was the fact that it was so secluded that it was further off the beaten track than I had imagined.

    Lovely peaceful location, with a warm and friendly atmosphere . The room was lovely and Tim and Fiona made us feel really welcome. Much more personal than a larger hotel. Breakfast was excellent as was evening meal the night before. They really made an effort to make sure we had everything we needed and we would definitely go back !

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One and only thing was choice of draft beer! ;-) but... Everything else more than made up for this. Still 10/10!

    Superb hosts. High quality furnishings. Fantastic food.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This bit of North Wales appears to be 'the land that technology forgot' although that's not always a bad thing.

    A comfortable and cosy pub in a quiet, rural location. Tim and Fiona were very friendly and helpful hosts regularly checking that we had everything we needed. We didn't need lunch on either day after a superb breakfast and the evening meals were beautifully cooked. The Lion has a lovely balance of style and substance, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A great place to stay for a short break Tim and Fiona are wonderful hosts and make you feel very welcome. Our room was very comfortableand the food was excellent freshly prepared and cooked with local ingredients. Really glad we found this place.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a fabulous gem in the North Wales valleys! Fiona and Tim are wonderful hosts, preserving the essence of a village pub but adding a 5 star private hire feeling. Our every need was attended to, making us feel so at home. Upstairs and downstairs were beautifully decorated. And the food, my goodness, Fiona is an amazing chef!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a lovely room in a fabulous old pub. The village is easy to find but with no other amenities, the closest 'tourist' town is Betws Y Coed which is about 10 miles away but in an easy road to follow. It was a great location for a quiet stay, lovely rooms and the locals were lovely when chatting with them in the barea. Tim and Fiona were endlessly informative and helpful.. the food is absolutely out if this world and very reasonably priced at between £16 and £22 per maim course. Fiona is happy to cater for you individually if the offered menu doss not suit...she purchases all her ingredients locally and they are superb. Overall we have had a fabulous, relaxing stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No local shop to get a newspaper

    The friendliness of fiona and tim. Nothing was too much trouble.the room was cosy with more than enough tea and coffee.came as strangers left as friends

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - it was all great!

    We loved that the property was in a tiny village in the middle of nowhere but still easy to access climbing routes for Snowdon. Great food, really friendly hosts. Really big and comfortable bed and spotlessly clean room.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable and the food was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fiona and Tim were superb hosts and nothing was too much trouble,you were made to feel at home immediately. The food was excellent especially the breakfast and the Inn had a lovely atmosphere and it was nice to be able to chat with the locals. Will definitely be returning.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Tempremental radiator/noisy heating system. Sat in my room (Lavender suite) was like being sat in the bar, could here the noisy conversation/laughter of other guests through the ceiling (this is with tv on)!

    Hosts. Area. Attention to my diet (recently diagnosed with inflammatory stomach illness).

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing I didn't like - amazing stay.

    First and foremost, Fiona & Tim are two of the nicest people you could ever hope to host you at a B&B. The rooms are charming, the food is fantastic (both breakfast and dinner, which are filled with locally sourced ingredients, and cooked by Fiona - also vegetarian friendly if requested), and the quiet location all make for a wonderful stay. Close to Snowdon, etc.., but far enough away to avoid the crowds and feel like you're really away from it all (plus some beautiful hikes to take right from the Inn itself).

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good food and excellent bedroom

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More varied beer selection, bit heavy on the bitters

    Excellent food, comfy room, recently decorated

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place was nice and the food was very good.the owners were very friendley

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: