Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lion Inn

Main Road, Chelmsford, CM3 3JA, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    A lovely old pub with lots of parking and comfortable bar...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to a main road and there was some constant road noise. Although the room was lovely there was not much room for two large suitcases. The hotel is not close to any amenities so a car is necessary or transport of some sort. It is a very popular pub and seems to be busy every night so can be difficult eating there without a booking.

    A lovely old pub with lots of parking and comfortable bar and eating area. The room was beautifully decorated with a very nice en-suite and was very comfortable. Breakfast was included and offered a good variety of cold and cooked options.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    It was very enjoyable and will go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was awful as our only window faced a skylight from the opposite building.

    Our dinner was amazing and a wide variety on the menu. The breakfast was average compared to the evening meal. I would be upset paying £13 for it. But as it was included in the price of the room. It was good value. The bed was great a good quality mattress which was lovely. My wife’s a professional cleaner and very particular. Noticed a few bits in the room which were not cleaned to her standards but all the same generally very clean. All the staff were very accommodating and couldn’t be more helpful. Nothing was a problem for them and made us feel very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    The Lion proved to be an excellent choice and we would not hesitate to recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's too far from Birmingham to enable us to visit regularly !!

    Everything. The staff were charming and efficient. Our room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Our dinner and breakfast were good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Couldn’t have wanted more, really pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect. Just had twins so enjoyed the peace and quiet

    The staff were extremely friendly, it was a surprise for my 30th birthday so really relaxing and in lovely surroundings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glasses of wine from a pump.

    Had overnight stay in basic double. Room was nicely decorated and air con worked quietly. Everything you needed was thought of. Had meal in the evening, which although restaurant was busy,did not feel we had to wait. Food good but would recommend if having wine to buy a bottle as a glass of wine I had earlier came from a pump and was not very nice. Hubby loved the craft beer. All staff friendly and efficient. All in all good place to stay to break a journey or have a nice meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice relaxing hotel with a nice restaurant and bar. Would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You order your food at the bar, which is fine, but then having to go up each time for drinks meant one of us was sat on their own for a time. The bar was busy as it was a Saturday night. Felt like restaurant prices with good food to match, but self service agro 😕

    Courtyard room was lovely and very quiet. Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant was really nice with a great atmosphere. Food was very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it fitted the bill and was great value for money.

    The room was perfect with a comfy bed and Air conditioning, the hotel was very well maintained with excellent attention to detail, the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    Too much money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of the room I expected a much larger room. The food wasn’t great to be honest, which surprised me because we love dining at the Lion Inn.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    A nice relaxing overnight stay with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was lovely but felt the room could be cleaner and the tv in room buffered a lot which I was surprised about.

    The food was lovely and was serviced piping hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant rooms and a great breakfast spread :-)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a long weekend skiing and a drive over from heathrow - a really comfy bed. Night porter was very welcoming and expected us by name which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Good bar the heating a locked fire escape in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locked fire door in my room, no food each air and no matter how low I turned the heater it was still very very hot in the room! The cooler/heater was very loud too

    The staff and food are amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Good but could do a lot better on the food side. The Restaurant guys are amazing. Like clockwork.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was RUBBISH. Please get a decent morning chef. I'm no cook but I could do better. Sorry you did ask.

    Restaurant food ok, restaurant staff fantastic, but maybe think about shielding the restaurant from the bar, spent quite a lot of time shouting instead talking.after a hour or so we were glad to get out of the Lion. So not the best experience to date.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    EVERYTHING WAS FAB!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    the bed was amazing very comfortable pillows. The food was out of this world. Staff very friendly and professional. My husband loved the breakfast and raved about it, he is a breakfast man and very fussy when it comes to his English breakfast, so it had to be outstanding for him to rave about it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a beautiful place to stay, modern, homely. Our room was beautiful and the bed was the best. It had all the extra’s in the bathroom which was nice, And to have bottled water as I did need a glass in the night was a lovely touch. Our view from our room wasn’t the best but you can’t have everything and we wasn’t bothered as we went and sat in the restaurant but an open fire. Would definitely go back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    One of Essex's best kept secrets, great comfort, great food and well placed for road links
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really without being supper picky. Nothing to fault about this hotel

    Bed room quality and comfort was better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed in. The attention to detail was excellent and colours subtle so made the room restful. One of the best stays we have had. I was concerned when booking that it would be noisy from the A12 over the next field but although you could hear it from the car park the rooms were very quiet and even with a packed restaurant. Also staying on Valentines day and the restaurant was very busy, we never felt rushed and the food was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent and cooked to order - 5 stars all round from us

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Bed was very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Continental selection for breakfast not great. No milk left in the room on second day.

    Bed was very comfy. Nice room and bathroom. Restaurant staff particularly friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    The room was spacious and nicely deco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault any of the visit

    The room was spacious and nicely deco. Staff amazingly helpful and friendly.food excellent.will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Best place I have ever stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like

    Fabulous accommodation which we couldn't fault at all. Very clean. Breakfast is amazing, wide variety of continental and cooked options. This was our 2nd stay there and we certainly weren't disappointed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. They couldn't have been any better. The food was excellent. The room beautiful. All and all perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a bottle of prosecco to be in the room on arrival, we were there when we said we would be, however it wasn’t in the room and had to go to reception to ask for it. It was supposed to be a surprise. I then got charged for 2 on checkout which I was disappointed with. The room was lovely but the cobwebs on the ceiling let it down. The breakfast was dry and looked like it was left on a hot plate and all dried out.

    The grounds were lovely, the rooms were nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.9
    Very happy, will stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was carnage, but this was due to Xmas parties at the site. I'm sure it isn't like this any other time of year.

    The reception staff were fantastic. My work colleague had booked the wrong date by mistake and there was no room for him when we arrived (and I didn't fancy sharing!), but she went the extra mile to phone round other hotels to find him somewhere. Didn't have to do that - it was his fault. Very much appreciated

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice place, comfortable rooms and very good staff, just the kitchen letting it down!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of show was made of the food being in the good food guide etc. However, when we arrived on the Sunday, our evening meal was very noisy and they were busy, a good thing for them. My only quibble was the food quality! The steak was absolutely superb, cooked properly, but the veg was very over cooked to the point of being limp and it was unseasoned. Even worse were the potatoes, cooked previously, cooled and then reheated. This is very poor for a top end kitchen! The second night all the food was hot and cooked properly, just because the place was busy on Sunday should not mean standards have to slip! For the breakfast, it was a little odd again, mostly good but the tomato was half cooked and contained a sprinkle of chopped onion/garlic which tasted strange. Why would you do that, it seems on the cooking front, the range of abilities need to be enhanced, which would give the end user a perfect impression!

    The staff were helpful and friendly, facilities good and parking adequate. We enjoyed the stay and extended it to a second night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    Modern hotel, good location, dinner was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant area very noisy for business meetings, no quiet areas available to cater for this. Heating was not working correctly in my room. Everything else was fine with this hotel.

    Modern hotel, good location, dinner was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice country hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Victim of their success, the restaurant is very loud. Also strange noises coming from the plumbing, from my own but also adjacent rooms.

    Very nice place, fine restaurant, cosy rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.5
    Pleasant relaxing break . Good value for money and a nice welcoming atmospheres
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in room could have been bigger but that is me just being picky and looking for something to find fault in . All in all an excellent find and would stay again

    Breakfasts were excellent. Superb meal on the night we arrived around 9.15 pm. Staff could not have been nicer when we phoned ahead before the kitchen closed. A mean lion Collins cocktail .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay couldn't fault anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic staff and great atmosphere. Breakfast was brilliant and the food area for dinner was also delicious. Plenty of parking even though there was a wedding on. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Suited our needs very well.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was rather noisy for our taste.

    The STAFF were especially accommodating and solicitous. There were no problems when we asked for a late checkout as we were to attend a funeral and wanted to change clothes before our journey home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I disliked

    Everything - the room was lovely staff were friendly and the food was so yummy actually the best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel - also considering the bar was busy and the inn is on a main road you can't hear any noise up in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable and enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it.

    A lovely pub/hotel. Friendly, welcoming staff, first rate food and a very comfortable, well furnished room. I was really impressed and very much enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with Earl Grey tea in room. More milk needed in room. Perhaps some biscuits? All very small points.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Bed very comfortable. Air conditioning works nicely. Good breakfast. Complementary bottled water in room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable place to stay for the event held nearby - easy walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect Location for the venue, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff - purpose was for an event nearby but would be a great place just to escape to for a day or so.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location for Chelmsford, one of the nicest places we have ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good!

    We had a fabulous room, really clean and comfortable. Staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was plentiful and of an excellent quality, we shall certainly be staying there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    the lion roared.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although not disabled we were given a disabled room which was comfy and spacious. However the wet room drain was partially blocked and subsequently flooded all of floor.

    Happy professional staff. Great food. Well positioned for rhs Hyde hall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation and welcoming team awaits
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Background noise in restaurant and constant alarms I believe for food

    Friendly, helpful team who for a traveller eating/drinking alone made me feel very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Very good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor point - could have had muesli as a cereal option.

    The aircon was particularly good and got the temperature down quickly on a hot and sultry night, I slept much better than I expected to! The food was very good, the restaurant was very popular. Breakfast was excellent with adventurous items such as eggs royale. The staff were particularly attentive, someone was even going round carefully clearing up some litter in the garden at 7.30 in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing break from the kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was the widow in the front door , the light woke us up very early. But a tiny thing to moan about :)

    Lovely afternoon in the garden, followed by a vey good evening meal. A nice buzzing atmosphere in the restaurant. Breakfast the next morning was very nice ( bacon was tough ) but the rest of it were good quality ingredients.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say about this hotel at all

    The hotel itself was absolutely beautiful my only regret is that I only stayed one night. The staff are amazing and all have a smile on their faces and seem genuinely happy with anything. The rooms with the gardens where I friend of mine stayed are a must recommend it really does make a huge difference, and my room didn't have a garden but even those standard rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely clean, love the dressing table and big Abiquiu looking full mirror and the fact that it came with a free breakfast is even better, plenty of parking spaces. It is a little further out than I'd of liked but to be honest waking up to fields and country vibes was really really nice. All and all iv give it top marks and recommend to anyone who is going to the area and I will certainly be visiting again xx

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, very clean, comfortable and stylish. Nice touch was face cloth as well as the usual toiletries (don't always see the these days). Functioning AC in the room which was welcome. Restaurant was very good; large portions, well cooked and well presented. Very good value. Breakfast was also very good. Would highly recommend. We did take a look at another hotel in the area but were pleased we chose the Lion Inn. We would go back without hesitation! Very popular dining venue which is a good indication

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    Very busy, a must booking place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The offer of nothing for being 8min late for breakfast.

    Breakfast is 7.30-9.30 we got down at 9.38 and was told breakfast is finished, but was not offered something even though I'd admit I was 8min late. Could of been offered something.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Chilled weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the dining area very packed & noisy so found yourself talking very loud to each other .

    Great friendly service & polite staff. Food excellent.lovely view from our room, more than happy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay and would return if in area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was too hot and towel rail would not switch off. Not enough milk supplied.

    The bed was very comfy. Iron and ironing board supplied. Nice supply of tea and coffee.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After lunch it would of been nice to sit down from the table and relax. The few comfortable seats available were taken with people waiting for a table.

    The breakfast was great and Sunday lunch excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went to check in at 15.30 (as was told check in from 3pm and left a nearby wedding to do so), but room was not ready then. Was invited to the bar area to wait (although we did not really want drinks, felt we had to buy them). Was then told at 15.50 our room was ready. It is quite a late check anyway, the room should have been ready! Some staff seemed not quite so pleasant!

    Our room was lovely, comfortable and clean. Breakfast, very good and good selection.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Efficient and friendly staff. Worth booking a meal in the restaurant prior to staying or visiting as can be very busy otherwise and could have to wait to be to be seated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Food was fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was fantastic. I didn't stay in the room personally I booked it for an American Bussiness client but he loved it and he got a free upgrade to the bridal suite so he said he's room was amazing he said it was just missing a bride ha ha. Thank you the lion for such great service I will be sure to use you again for future clients

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent city getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault much with this stay. Only minor fault was some of the refreshments (hot chocolate) was out of date.

    The rooms felt warm, cozy and overall inviting. The bed was very comfortable. The restaurant being attached was brilliant and had lovely food. Breakfast was included and was delicious also.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Noisy aircon in a hot room, reception were very apologetic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy aircon in a hot room, reception were very apologetic

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Had a very pleasant comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at reception was very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was very nice. Bed was very comfortable. Will recommend this place to others.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was of high quality

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Great style and features, well laid out and decorative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report.

    Great style and features, well laid out and decorative. Good value for money with excellent food, fully recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely superb. A hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some biscuits and more milk in the room would be nice but a minor detail.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    I didn’t know you could request smoking or non smoking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t know you could request smoking or non smoking during my booking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Atmosphere, good food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Atmosphere, good food and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    A great hotel that suited our overnight stay needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't find anything wrong

    Great location not far off the A12. Very busy hotel obviously used by local people.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Best Hotel in UK this year
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was perfect

    The room was luxury, I never have baths in hotels till this one. Food was excellent and service all round

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.4
    I will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a very enjoyable stay food great staff excellent and the room was very comfortable and this was my first time here and will stay here again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Very nice atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    This is a lovely place to stay and has the friendliest and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely place to stay and has the friendliest and most helpful employees I have ever met.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was golden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was lied to by booking.com about how far it was from another hotel that was fully booked

    Breakfast was golden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything it was welcoming, beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful the hotel room was very clean would recommend anyone I will surely be going again and the breakfast was fab

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.3
    This should just be pit stop and not hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are more interested in the restaurant than the hotel portion .

    The dood

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Modern clean quiet and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern clean quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Weekend stay for a wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well laid out. Food was awesome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Would strongly reccomend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception desk could have been better signposted from the car park.

    Everything was just lovely, it could hardly have been better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Welcome team was brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome team was brilliant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The Lion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was fantastic the staff more so Faye was absolutely brilliant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Anniversary celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was clean and fresh

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Fab hotel stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot find anything negative.

    Just a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent accomadation and food
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accomadation and food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Stayed for 4 nights while visiting family. Very good location,and excellent restaurant meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    enjoyed our stay

    Breakfast very good. Comfortable, clean room with very nice bathroom. On ground floor with nice courtyard and very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    You must go to the lion inn boreham!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    It was really stylish and beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place for a weddings there or nearbye.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay and will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little remote

    Room was great, high quality and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Top class venue
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top staff and service

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: